Free Shipping and BOPIS

John Deere

Model # BG20730

Internet # 204780472

Store SKU # 348099

D140 48 in. 22 HP V-Twin Hydrostatic Front-Engine Riding Mower

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$1,999.00 /each




Model # BG20730

Internet # 204780472

Store SKU # 348099

The John Deere D140 riding lawn tractor offers a wide 48 in. deck and 22 HP V-Twin engine. The hydrostatic transmission and 2 pedal foot control allows you to set your own pace while mowing forward and reverse with speeds up to 5.5 MPH. This tractor also delivers extra operator comfort with a high back seat, convenient cruise control and electronic blade engagement. The 48 in. deck will give you a superior cut quality and is ready to side discharge, bag, or mulch.

  • Most orders process within 3 business days, product is shipped to your local John Deere dealer who will professionally inspect and deliver the unit to you within 7-14 business days, at delivery the customer will be taught by John Deere how to operate and maintain the mower
  • 22 HP V-Twin John Deere branded engine for powerful performance
  • 48 in. deck offers a smooth underside to prevent grass buildup and the deep deck design lifts grass for a better cut, a wash port is included for your convenience cleaning the underside of the deck, the cut heights range from 1 in. to 4 in., in 1/4 in. increments
  • Full length welded steel frame and a cast iron front axle for added strength and long life
  • Hood is made of a UV-resistant John Deere Loy polymer that won’t fade, dent or rust, openings on side let in cooling air while keeping sound level low
  • High back seat easily adjusts while you are in the seat with travel of 5-1/2 in. and 10 different positions
  • Easy-to-use cruise control option maintains tractor’s speed for mowing larger areas
  • Several attachments available (sold separately) to help with projects around the yard: baggers, mulch plug, carts, aerators, spreaders, front blade and snow blowers
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.


Assembled Depth (in.) 
69.5 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
44.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
60 in 
Front wheel size (in.) 
Mower Deck Width 
Rear wheel size (in.) 
Size of Yard 
1 - 2 Acres 
Turning radius (in.) 
CA (CARB) Compliant 
Not CARB Compliant 
Commercial / Residential 
Cutting Width (in.) 
Drive type 
Rear-wheel Drive 
Engine Displacement (cc) 
Engine Make 
OEM Branded 
Cruise Control,Cup Holder,Deck cleanout,Headlights,Hour Meter,Keyed start 
Fuel tank capacity (gallons) 
Horsepower (hp) 
Engine oil 
Lawn Mower Type 
Front Motor Riding 
Maximum cutting height (in.) 
Maximum forward speed (mph) 
Maximum reverse speed (mph) 
Minimum cutting height (in.) 
Mulching Capability 
Number of Blades 
Number of Cylinders 
Twin Cylinder 
Number of deck wheels 
Oil capacity (oz.) 
Product Weight (lb.) 
479 lb 
Start Type 
Sloped with Obstacles 
Transmission Type 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Two years or 120 hours, whichever occurs first 


Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 234 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little mower Worked as design right from the start. I added a rear bagger (which I also recommend) and together they make mowing a large lawn easy. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful! We love our new mower! Our lawn is steeply sloped and is quite large. This new mower cuts our mowing time in half! It is a nice smooth ride and does a very nice job. I would definitely recommend this product! April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice mower Mower wouldn't start after using the first time. Took it right in to my local home depot they returned it, and gave me a brand new one. I fully expect many years of service from this machine. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First John Deere, hopefully my last I had a Sears LT1000 that I bought in 2001. While it was an OK machine, the blade shaft sheared off where the bolt met the blade and rather than spend more money on it, I decided to replace it. I was torn on buying the D140 or a smaller JD. The cost was the main factor but I had a friend who highly recommended any mower with the V twin Briggs and Straton engine. To make a longer story short, I bought the D140 and have already spent over an hour cutting my yard a couple of times. My first problem was the cutting deck wheels were not lowered so the first cut was very low. The front yard was originally sod and a different grass seed but the backyard is a combination and much thicker. Plus my two large dogs have spent the winter fertilizing then yard as well as any professional fertilizer service could ever dream of doing. My impressions? The mower is very, very smooth running. Lots of power but the accelerator pedal is something I am not crazy about. My old Craftsman had a hand lever to go forward and backwards on and I really like that feature. Using a pedal to control you forward motion takes some getting used to. Also, I have a bad knee and there is a little stress on my leg as the machine vibrates and I have to keep constant pressure on the pedal to go forward. To go in reverse is also something I wasn't prepared for. I am sure the Lawn and Garden manager told me how it worked, but when I got it home I turned it on and tried for several minutes before I had to turn it off and go find the instructions. Turns out there is a little pedal coming out of the main body right by your foot that has to be depressed for the mower to move backwards. To mow in reverse there is also a small yellow button that you have to hold down on in addition to the floor button. I suspect the government will call for more buttons to completely make the process as aggravating as possible. The mower does cut very well and has a very clean and even cut. My chief complaint is that the mower doesn't mulch the grass and I wound up using the mower to blow the grass in rows till it was against my fence. Once the grass dies I suspect the yard will look bad so I am planning on buying a bagger system and starting a compost pile to turn the clippings into dirt again. Its hard to give a complete review after just a short time so please take my review with a grain of salt. I am not an expert but this is my third riding mower. My first was a Honda back in early 90's and then my Craftsman in 2001. I am hoping this will be the last one I ever buy. Its too early to recommend this to any one but I am going to check the recommend button below because I would buy it again in a heart beat. I did get a 10% veterans discount so that knocked $200 off the price which was a great help,. I appreciate that Home Depot honors veterans with this discount and I plan to go back to local store many times and take advantage of their great customer service and product knowledge. They have these old handymen who know what they are talking about and they will sell you a $20 part to fix a problem rather than a $200 appliance that you don't need. That is a good thing and people need to trust these old guys who are experts at fixing "stuff". March 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Received excellent help from Patrick the Mgr at the Home Depot store in Mokena, IL. John Deere tractor D140 works great, has a 22 HP motor and 44 inch cutting deck. May 8, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by this is a light duty mower if you have Bahia grass in your lawn this mower is not for you. it will not handle Bahia very well at all. this is an average mower. spend a little more. wish I had! I have tried blades from home depot and from two local equipment shops. they did not make a difference. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful mower!! We got this new John Deere mower to replace a slightly smaller but much lighter duty mower- WOW! what a difference!!! This mower powers on through tall and thick grass without bogging down, turn sooo sharp I don't regret not getting a ZTR mower at all. Good smooth ride, comfortable seat which is important if you have to spend a couple hours at a time on it, nice cut. And cruise control, wasn't sure if I'd even use it but now I'm spoiled!! We haven't had it long, but so far it's love at first sight:) This mower has cut our time spent mowing by30% and gets significantly better gas mileage. Go, John Deere! April 20, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Now I am wondering I orriginally posted this review by accident on the Califonia Model.Since that post the tractor squeeks and got a flat tire.I called the J.D. Dealer that delivered it for Home Depot.They told me the tire was not undewr warranty and I had to bring it in for the squeaks.Maybe I should have bought from a servicing establishment.I may just return it I have 4 hours on the tractor. Here is my orriginal review. This is my 5th tractor in the last 20ish years.I had a Toro,2 craftsman a Cub Cadet and finally a Deere.It is amazing the speed of the deck.The clippings are finely chopped I have the bagger attachment.It cuts very evenly and hardly makes a dent on the lawn with the wheels like my previous tractors did.The Cub was an improvement over the others and the John Deere is a vast improvement over the Cub.Other reviews talk about chute clogging but this is no differnt than any of the others if you pick up the grass.Common sense prevails,don't plan on cutting 6" of wet grass real fast and not have a clog.I will say that the chute does not fit very well to the deck and grass clippings land on the top of the deck.It is installed correctly. July 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great machine. Love the mower. 48 inch gives you a huge cut. Very easy to operate. Don't need the bagger it evenly spreads grass right back into yard. I use the highest setting. Still a little short for me but I can live with it. July 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK, not excellent This is the 4th summer of using this mower. It does about 3 acres in 4 hours on one tank. Not too sure about reliability. Belt broke in year 2. Worried about reliability of engine, transmission, and electric clutch. Quite a bit of vibration and noisy (have to wear ear plugs). Starts easily. Uneven cut. Plenty of power to cut tall grass (2-3 feet) and weeds. I think this is their low end series with parts that are surely outsourced at this price. Too bad the differential can't be locked; wheels slip easily on the slightest incline. Keep an eye on the rpm. A previous "assembled by John Deere" tractor of ours lost the (internal!) governor, immediately went into redline territory and blew a valve. Took forever to get fixed, and why the heck was the governor internal and require total dis-assembly of the engine? Oh well, it's probably better than the other no-name mowers in this price range. September 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Recommended Junk!! Motor went just after warranty was up. John Deere blamed gas even though my other riding mower (not JD) has been using same gas for 10 years and never had problem March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dont Waste your Money! After 120 Hrs of use, all spindles and pulleys had to be replaced. Just out of warranty, John Deere covered HALF of the $350.00 cost for replacement, This year, at 150 Hrs, the spindles are making noise again. This machine is John Deeres answer to competing in the low cost lawn tractor market. Do yourself a favor, buy a CUB CADET. Hundreds less $$, family owned manufacturer, more features, and much more dependable. June 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It is a GOOD one. . .BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My Son (who knows a lot more than I do about riding mowers) said I got a 'smoking deal' on this one. His daughter (16) mowed the 2 acres across the street and it did a super job! Easy for her to use and never missed a lick. . .I have had a few riding mowers over time and this one is one of the best. The price is right and the machine is good. . .couldn't ask for more!!!!!!!! June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice mower, some comments What used to take half a day and a lot of effort (bear grass, uneven ground) was done in an hour! And it was wet/tall. The knob to enable the blades seems a little fragile to me. We'll see. The pedal for reverse is is kind of hard to actuate. April 30, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Transmission not built to last I bought the LA140. It appears to be the same mower as the D140. After 160 hours of use, the transmission has to be replaced at a cost of $1100. The transmission on all these John Deere mowers with hydrostatic drive is not designed to last. I won't buy another one in the future. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good mower It is the best mower I have used, but I would still have some changes. Not sure why in this day and age that riding mowers still make so much noise. I could care less for myself, as I have enough damage from heavy equipment, but a better muffler would be a good idea and would not take up much space. I also think the seat should be lowered, as I have hills and tend to slide out of the seat. I am glad for the bigger motor, and the wider mowing deck is easier to edge with. This model does not have the front bumper, and may make my own, would also like to add 12v power port for tools, chargers, maybe even gps? September 20, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Mower!! I have used this mower 4 or 5 times. The mowing in reverse button takes a few times to get used to, but don't let that steer you away. It's really not that big of a deal. Plenty of power and able to handle a rougher and uneven lawn like mine. I also bought the bumper for the front, which I recommend, to keep me from damaging the front end. Tony @ the Home Depot was awesome in helping me to choose the right one for my needs. April 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by engine smokes Cranks easily, but has initial smoke each time it is started. Hope rings will wear-in soon. Runs well with some vibration from mower. Have used one time, but seems to be very fuel efficient for a twin. Was already assembled when received. Not set up for my lawn as promised. All grease joints were not greased. Most features of mower were address only with my direct questions; so be ready. Reasonable fast with good handling. Cutting time was reduce from 1hr to 40 min ( old mower 42" 14.4hp 20 year old Poulan) while varying engine rpm since mower was new. Turning radius is better than Poulan. I would prefer the mower to have heavier transmission and have a higher top speed. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower The mower is awesome. It is much quieter, more powerful and smoother than my last mower. Steering is great as is the turning radius. Mower cuts evenly and the 48 inch deck has cut down on my mowing time. Not a real fan of the safety feature for reverse when you want to back up when the mower is engaged. But other than that, this is a great mower if you are cutting 1 - 2 acres. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use but little annoyances Mower is easy to operate: turns sharply and back up safety feature is easier to use than most mowers I've tried (I've owned four different brands). Decent power gets me through the tallest and tougest grass without bogging down. The depth selector is vulnerable to trees, brush, etc. catching it and moving it to the lowest position - happened twice resulting in my cutting way to low until I realized it happened. Every mower I've owned leaves a 6 inch row of semi-uncut grass in its path that needs to be mowed again and this one is no exception. Not sure what causes that. The mower comes with blades that are a compromise between mulching and bagging but does neither one very well. Reading the manual, it's clear that if you want to do one or the other well, you'll need to buy a new set of blades made for that purpose. As delivered, this mower had a broken hood hinge that I have not been able to get replaced. This hinge is made of plastic and is part of an entire assembly that costs over $200. Read more about my difficulties getting this fixed in the customer service section. June 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Belt broke after 3 or 4 times using it The belt broke after 2 months of owning it. It was a sunday and we could not contact the repair company about it. We were able to get a new belt and the Home Depot, but they did not tell us after expelling to them that we only had it for 2 months that the belt was under warranty, so we paid for the belt. We bought John Deere because we thought they were better then the other ones we have owned. Not to sure about that now. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by needed a rider great value and I am very happy with it. 19 horse was too small and did not want to pay the price for a 25 horse as it exceeded my needs. November 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does great for what I use it for I am very pleased with how well it cleans up our yard. I mowed some thick areas of tall grass and leaves, and it left no leaves behind and no blades of grass standing. It mulches very nicely too. The only criticism I have is that I have a steep hill in the yard (about 50% grade - 30 degrees to the horizontal), and it struggles to get up that hill (my old lawnmower was manual and crawled up that hill more easily). Overall, I am extremely pleased with it. February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Happy Bought this model recently and have used it three times. Wish the fuel tank was larger and ride was smoother. We have 2 acres with lots of uneven land and the jarring ride is tough on the body. Otherwise, cuts well and getting the free cart as part of the online special made it a good purchase. July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Watch out The mower seems to work fine, although the traction is not what I hoped. At ten hours of use, the dip stick vibrated out, unknown to me the oil sprayed underneath the hood, and the motor burned out. It cost me nearly $1,200 to get a new motor and John Deere refused to treat the problem as a warranty issue. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Have really enjoyed my new mower Love my new mower. Cuts great, turns much sharper than my old mower. Very pleased with the service I received at Home Depot March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My retirement lawn mower. I always was interested in a John Deere lawn mower. My neighbor told me he has not had a problem with the one he bought 20 years ago. So I decided to make the purchase to use in my retirement years. I do not want anything that will be expensive to keep up when I am on a fixed income. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower, could not be happier with it! Deliverd when expected. Fast, powerful, well built. Nothing runs like a Deere. Amazing price, bought nearly the same mower 8 years ago for $1600 more. June 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Purchase Excellent product at a fair price. This mower has saved me 1.5+ hours of cutting time, compared to my previous Honda rider. June 8, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Want run !!!!!!!! I got my first John Deere yesterday new-- bad pulley took back and got another today it want crank the store said he would pick it up and fix it so i dont know what all the green and yellow good is i never got to find out .John Deere 140 i hope u can do better than this for a new first time owner . Bad fuil pump he thinks we will see . September 24, 2012
  • 2015-10-01T11:50:44.987-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_234, tr_234
  • loc_en_US, sid_204780472, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>