0025417009149

Kidde

Model # 21008051

Internet # 100051755

Store SKU # 182262

Store SO SKU # 198092

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

$4.98 /each
  • Compact design
  • Test button
  • Ionization sensor

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Kidde i9040 Battery-Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is a single-station alarm with an early warning signal. This alarm utilizes ionization sensing technology to activate in the event of a smoke or fire incident and its compact, 4 in. design lends it a discreet profile in your home or business. Powered by a 9-Volt battery, this smoke alarm will protect you, your family and home during a power outage. When the battery begins to lose power, a low-battery alert will begin to chirp to notify you it is time to replace.

  • Utilizes ionization sensing technology to detect smoke or fire
  • Provides an early warning signal in the event of a smoke or fire incident
  • Wireless technology for easy installation
  • Low-battery indicator chirps to alert you to change the battery
  • Test button tests the unit's electronic circuitry, horn and battery function
  • Battery power means protection during power outages
  • 9-Volt battery included use Kidde power supply (205976052)
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Compact design for a low-profile presence


Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
Product Height (in.) 
1.5 
Product Width (in.) 
4.0625 

Details

Alarm Sensor Type 
Ionization 
Alarm Type 
Smoke 
Alarm/Detector Features 
No Additional Features 
Commercial / Residential 
Commercial / Residential 
Connector/Contact Type 
None 
Included 
Batteries 
Power Source 
Battery 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Voltage (volts) 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

15 Questions28 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
san clemente ca
Read all my Q&A
October 6, 2014
Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

looking for the least expensive Carbon Monoxide detector, need 20 for my apartments
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
No, have to get separate co detector. Our city code requires them to be in different places anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Elk Grove, Ca.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
No, this is a smoke alarm only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Torrington Ct
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
This product is just a smoke detector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. Its is smoke only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello. In response to your questions, this alarm is just a smoke alarm. our most basic smoke and carbon monoxide alarm is the KN-COSM-B, which is here on HomeDepot.com as $25.48 for 1, Internet # 100004653 Store SKU # 421846 , or $24.75 for 6, Internet # 100655554. If you have any questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
 
3 answers

How to disarm the smoke alarm

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Cedar Hill Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2016
Answer: 
fan the smoke away from the smoke alarm until the it stops beeping.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
Open a window or take out the battery til smoke clears.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

October 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello P3. I am not sure what you mean by disarming. Please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what type of battery does this take?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
tampa
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
9 volt
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
This unit uses a 9V battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product
Read More
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what is the life in years of the detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Dewey, Az
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
Battery operated so it depends on the battery. Replace the battery when needed. That's it.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is supposed to be 10 years. I replace mine every 6 years.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

July 28, 2014
Answer: 
It is recommended by the National Fire Protection Agency that smoke alarms be replaced every 10 years.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-07-22 T14:14:51.809-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 54 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good item fast shipping nice box very colorful good phone help March 1, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe I got a lemon......... but one of the tabs that hold the alarm to the backing plate broke off when I was trying to install it. It goes back for a refund. February 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as it should There is only so much to a smoke detector, so why spend a lot on it? Works, can't complain February 23, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Arrived on time and as advertised. These are a low cost item that we as a Fire Department can afford to handout to members of our community who lack smoke detectors. February 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good , reasonable and efficient Easy to install. I always choose Kidde for smoke detectors. January 27, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic smoke detector I use these in vacant homes and rental homes. Best to use a heavier grade screw to install on wall. Other than that this is simple and works fine. January 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bought second time Does the job for a great price. Was hoping the new would line up with the old but no luck. December 29, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by smoke & carbon alarm The product speaks for itself.. The product speaks for itself. The product speaks for itself December 22, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by smoke alarm Installation was easy and fast. Brand I always use. December 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value!!! I've only had them installed for about 2 weeks. Easy to install and tested loud enough, for the price I think they are a good deal. So now we just have to hope and pray that they work like they're supposed if we ever have a fire in our home. November 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works fine, low cost, smaller than old unit Only negative is that it doesn't cover the spot on the ceiling where the old one was. Wish they'd make it bigger. Obviously, it's a replacement so most people will have the same problem. But it works just fine. November 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by KiddeBattery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm Needed four smoke detectors for bedrooms. Found KiddeBattery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm at Home Depot site that were less than other sites. They were shipped to the store in my neighborhood on time. Installation was easy and they work as expected. October 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works perfctly for intended use Easy to install and others think it is loud when it goes-off, that's the point, it doesn't bother me at all. October 27, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SMALL This smoke alarm is SMALLER than the one that we had...THUS, there is a space between the alarm & the wall opening! Needs some sort of plate to go OVER it, to cover the opening. October 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap but you get what you pay for They literally do not work. Changed the batteries and still nothing. Pay a little more and get ones that work October 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Please Enjoy Flashing Red Light From the Manual: "FLASHING LED LIGHT: This smoke alarm is equipped with a flashing red indicator light. The light is located under the test button and will flash every 40 seconds to indicate that the smoke alarm is receiving power." September 9, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works well Worked well, shipped quick. No complaints !!!!!!!!! September 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Smoke alarm Excellent product, easy to install would recommend August 25, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by didn't work, came with dead battery The battery it came with was dead. When I tried a good battery, the little red light flashed, but the alarm didn't sound when the test button was held down. I'm returning it and will try another one, hoping I got a rare bad one. I'll not give it a third chance. July 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Install These smoke alarms replaced identical items, so I did not have to reinstall the bases. July 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy install Selling our home,we needed five smoke detectors. I went online and found them reasonably priced at Home Depot. Took a few days for them to be delivered to my nearest Home Depot. They were easy to install, less than 20 minutes. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Do the job - I think. Easy install with batteries included. Great value. May 26, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Deal The Smoke Alarms were a good deal, there are 2 for a great low price! May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great replacement for older smoke alarm Pickup them up at the customer service desk. Thanks for making this purchase so easy. April 10, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery Life Poor Purchased these units and installed them. The factory supplied batteries started chirping lasted only 3 months. Literature says 6 month recommended replacement. Replaced batteries with Duracell MN1604 which is the best recommended by the manufacturer. These batteries are also lasting only 3 months and began chirping, a hassle! Going to throw them out and buy a different brand! February 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It could save your life! I purchased these on an impulse buy. I was walking down the water heater isle and saw these at such a great price. I figure I should pick up a few and install them throughout the house. I install them that weekend and forget about them. A few months later, I'm in my bedroom and I hear a loud beeping coming from downstairs. I go to investigate and find my living room full of smoke. The smoke was caused by frayed wires on a home entertainment system. If it wasn't for this alarm, the smoke would go unnoticed leading to an actual fire. At this price, I would say to buy one for your friends and relatives as well. There aren't many gifts that you can give that can save someones life. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Filled my immediate needs Hope I never have to find out how well it works or not.... March 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to purchase online and pick up at store. Easy to install right out of the box. They came with abtteries. January 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product for the money! Easy to install and works perfectly. I highly recommend these small, attractive, and affordable smoke detectors. January 20, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great size, nice product, batteries were bad The smoke detector was small (which is great) and functional - plus inexpensive. They come with batteries. I bought four - from two different Home Depots - one set was perfect, the other, the batteries were bad, to the point that the one set were leaking. October 7, 2014
  • 2016-07-22 T14:21:33.891-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_54, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT