Model # 21008051

Internet #100051755

Store SKU #182262

Store SO SKU #198092

Kidde Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
0025417009149

Kidde

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

  • Compact design
  • Test button
  • Ionization sensor
$4.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Homedepot Image

The Kidde i9040 Battery-Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is a single-station alarm with an early warning signal. This alarm utilizes ionization sensing technology to activate in the event of a smoke or fire incident and its compact, 4 in. design lends it a discreet profile in your home or business. Powered by a 9-Volt battery, this smoke alarm will protect you, your family and home during a power outage. When the battery begins to lose power, a low-battery alert will begin to chirp to notify you it is time to replace.

  • Utilizes ionization sensor
  • Provides an early warning signal in the event of a smoke
  • Compact 4 inch Design
  • Low-battery indicator chirps to alert you to change the battery
  • Test button tests the unit's electronic circuitry, horn and battery function
  • Battery power means protection during power outages
  • 9-Volt battery included use Kidde power supply (205976052)
  • 9 Volt Zinc Battery Included
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

19 Questions35 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
san clemente ca
Read all my Q&A
October 6, 2014
Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

looking for the least expensive Carbon Monoxide detector, need 20 for my apartments
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
No, have to get separate co detector. Our city code requires them to be in different places anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Elk Grove, Ca.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
No, this is a smoke alarm only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Torrington Ct
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
This product is just a smoke detector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. Its is smoke only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello. In response to your questions, this alarm is just a smoke alarm. our most basic smoke and carbon monoxide alarm is the KN-COSM-B, which is here on HomeDepot.com as $25.48 for 1, Internet # 100004653 Store SKU # 421846 , or $24.75 for 6, Internet # 100655554. If you have any questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
 
4 answers

what is the life in years of the detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Colorado Springs, CO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 2, 2016
Answer: 
Product may say 10 yrs. but I had one go off for no reason after 8 yrs. so replaced batteries and the next week it went off again without reason so replaced alarm. When a CO alarm did the same thing two years ago we had the fire department come out and check for CO. The fire department told us replace these type of alarms every 5 years despite what the manufacturer states.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Dewey, Az
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
Battery operated so it depends on the battery. Replace the battery when needed. That's it.
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is supposed to be 10 years. I replace mine every 6 years.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

July 28, 2014
Answer: 
It is recommended by the National Fire Protection Agency that smoke alarms be replaced every 10 years.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How to disarm the smoke alarm

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Cedar Hill Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2016
Answer: 
fan the smoke away from the smoke alarm until the it stops beeping.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
Open a window or take out the battery til smoke clears.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

October 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello P3. I am not sure what you mean by disarming. Please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what type of battery does this take?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
tampa
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
9 volt
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
This unit uses a 9V battery.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product
Read More
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Read Less
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T16:22:18.601-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 70ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The gas/CO alarm was as described, its instructions were clear, and it installed quickly and easi... The gas/CO alarm was as described, its instructions were clear, and it installed quickly and easily. Fortunately, I haven't had a chance to determine how well it detects carbon monoxide; hence the "only 4 stars" rating-. The combined package with the smoke alarm turned out to cost less than the gas/CO alarm by itself, so what's not to like?
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why can't I give this zero stars? Nothing but false alarms for gas. Didn't work properly from day... Why can't I give this zero stars? Nothing but false alarms for gas. Didn't work properly from day one. The warranty is a joke: you have to pay return posatage, the replacement unit is only warranted for 6 months, and there is no cash refund option. Why would I want another piece of garbage like this?
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The package arrived in fine shape and the units were about the easiest thing ever to install...ju... The package arrived in fine shape and the units were about the easiest thing ever to install...just plug in. I can't actually review the units for the functionality since it is supposed to protect me from CO2 dangers and thankfully there have been none. Only had them about 30 days but so far so good.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent product. The end user MUST understand the locations to best place the unit d... This is an excellent product. The end user MUST understand the locations to best place the unit depending the type of gas used..Example propane sinks and natural gas rises. CO is near equal to air... also place it somewhat near "POINT OF POSSIBLE GAS LEAK." I noticed some reviews stated false alarms. In my opinion there is no such thing as a false alarm. User contaminated product with hair spray or something else, or the unit is broke, which is not a false alarm but rather notifying you of something wrong.... I love the installed extension cord which allows user to place unit in most practical position. ....place date of activation and date of replacement on unit. keep instruction book with unit. Educate the rest of the family! Test it as instructions say, And remember, There is no such thing as a false alarm! I am using 2 in my home and placed 2 in my 97 year old aunts home. I test them with her around so she gets used to the alarm if problems arise. Great product when used properly....
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smoke dector Much cheaper than any other detector on they market. Have used them for over 20 years.smoke detector Prices tripled after California changed laws pushed by manufacturers to increase their profits,which has tripled cost of any other dector
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I can't get the reset / test function to work. It just squeals loudly and won't shut off until I ... I can't get the reset / test function to work. It just squeals loudly and won't shut off until I disconnect the battery. Not sure if it is actually working correctly, just hope so. If I hadn't thrown away the packaging, I'd take it back.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light is flashing- must be working Economical , small unit with no frills does the job with no issues so far. Just what Is needed.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as it should There is only so much to a smoke detector, so why spend a lot on it? Works, can't complain
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second one we purchase in 8 yrs. and the old one simply stopped working and displayed... This is the second one we purchase in 8 yrs. and the old one simply stopped working and displayed a message that it was time to replace and that's exactly happened and also a very great product for any home owner.LJM
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you are looking for a basic, affordable and easy to install smoke detector, then this is the ... If you are looking for a basic, affordable and easy to install smoke detector, then this is the one. According to studies, the photoelectric is preferred, but I'm ok with the Ionization smoke alarm.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 3 of these in my home. They monitor 24 hours a day for carbon monoxide & also gas leaks. T... I have 3 of these in my home. They monitor 24 hours a day for carbon monoxide & also gas leaks. The 2 pack was more economical, and with free shipping I didn't even have to leave home.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for 10 Year old. Kidde is the only type of alarms I will put in my house. They are... Replacement for 10 Year old. Kidde is the only type of alarms I will put in my house. They are the best and I have 7 hard wired with 10 year batteries back up and 3 Combination .
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I recommend these, however, the packaging is misleading! It needs to be plugged in at all times t... I recommend these, however, the packaging is misleading! It needs to be plugged in at all times to work effectively, package indicates you can use battery or AC.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good value and it works I purchased this unit after my wife woke me up and told me she thought she smelled gas. After being up the rest of the night assuring her she didn’t I drove to Home Depot and picked up this combination Gas/Carbon Monoxide detector unit. I tested it with an open gas valve and it works well. The alarm emits a very loud piercing blast that is sure to wake up even the soundest sleeper. Having an alkaline 9 volt battery (included) backup; it can be unplugged and moved from room to room for testing. You can plug it right into a 110 volt outlet or slide out a built in stand and sit it on the counter. I have used a Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide detector for several years with no problems. In my opinion this combination unit is a very small price to pay for a good night of sleep.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product.... I have 4 of these Carbon Monoxide Detectors - One of each floor of my house. It is code to have one on each floor in Long Island, NY
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not tested yet. It is plugged in and so far working. Do not know how reliable would be until it comes to detecting the smoke and gas.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Tested it on our natural gas stove to see how well it would work and it detected gas in a couple of seconds.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gave several of these as gifts at Christmas time but,... Gave several of these as gifts at Christmas time but, found many of the batteries included to be dead.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vega sprinklers It's a product that every one should have..it can save your life..it's not expensive and reliable..
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ronniejoe Operation and installation of Gas/CO detector was very well outlined in enclosed instructions.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from will feel safer plug it in and feeling good Carbon monoxide is a silent killer,play safe install protection
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very easy to use; very flexible - installation is easy and can be located anywhere in the house. easy to use anywhere in the house. instructions were easy to follow... now there!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but a long as they do what they are supposed to do they are worth it. Expensive but a long as they do what they are supposed to do they are worth it.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well to keep people safe from natural gas or CO Works well and has a battery backup just in case of power outages@!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good deal Hung it up with the old ones hooks. Came with battery - love it.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works and serves purpose intended for with easy installation. Works and serves purpose intended for with easy installation.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product..just the right size,with good functionality. Great product..just the right size,with good functionality.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a replacement. Exactly the same as the old one. This was a replacement. Exactly the same as the old one.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Just put in backup battery and plug it in. Easy to use. Just put in backup battery and plug it in.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed and a good price. Exactly what I needed and a good price.
Date published: 2016-12-27
  • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_211
  • loc_, sid_100051755, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT