Model # 21008051

Internet #100051755

Store SKU #182262

Store SO SKU #198092

Kidde Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
0025417009149

Kidde

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

  • Compact design
  • Test button
  • Ionization sensor
$4.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Homedepot Image

The Kidde i9040 Battery-Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is a single-station alarm with an early warning signal. This alarm utilizes ionization sensing technology to activate in the event of a smoke or fire incident and its compact, 4 in. design lends it a discreet profile in your home or business. Powered by a 9-Volt battery, this smoke alarm will protect you, your family and home during a power outage. When the battery begins to lose power, a low-battery alert will begin to chirp to notify you it is time to replace.

  • Utilizes ionization sensor
  • Provides an early warning signal in the event of a smoke
  • Compact 4 inch Design
  • Low-battery indicator chirps to alert you to change the battery
  • Test button tests the unit's electronic circuitry, horn and battery function
  • Battery power means protection during power outages
  • 9-Volt battery included use Kidde power supply (205976052)
  • 9 Volt Zinc Battery Included
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How to disarm the smoke alarm

Asked by: P3
Open a window or take out the battery til smoke clears.
Answered by: Kdd999
Date published: 2016-10-23

How do you install it?

I am a novice
Asked by: BM
It is mounted on a bracket that is screwed into place.
Answered by: CommunityAnswer
Date published: 2016-08-06

Install it on the wall at eye level?

Can I attach this to the wall at eye level? Then if it chirp I could easily check it. No ladder would be required.
Asked by: Avi
Hello Avi. No. Smoke rises and pools on the ceiling. The smoke has to flow into the back side edges to detect smoke. The room would have to fill with smoke DOWN to the level of the alarm for the alarm to detect the smoke. The alarm should go on ceiling or, if the ceiling is flat, it can go on the wall within a foot of the ceiling. If it is a sloped or angled ceiling, smoke alarms in rooms with ceiling slopes greater than 1 foot in 8 feet (.3m in 2.4m) horizontally shall be located on the high side of the room. We can answer further questions about this at Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Answered by: Kidde Expert
Date published: 2015-10-13

What is the db level of this alarm?

Asked by: Susheel
Hello Susheel. Our alarms are 85 decibels at 10 feet. We are Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Answered by: Kidde Expert
Date published: 2016-06-09

Does this item comply with California codes for rental homes and homes for sale? A new California...

Does this item comply with California codes for rental homes and homes for sale? A new California Law, SB 745 has changed the rules regarding smoke alarms, and requirements for landlords. Starting July 1, 2014, any smoke alarm installed that is solely battery powered MUST contain a non-removable battery that is rated to last 10 years. An exemption exists for battery powered smoke alarm installed prior to July 1, 2014, but that expires on July 15, 2014. On July 1, 2015 ALL old smoke detectors that are solely powered by batteries must be replaced with those that contain a sealed battery that is rated to last 10 years. Effective July 1, 2015, all smoke alarms powered by 120 VAC or battery must comply with the provisions of having a label showing date of installation & manufacture. SB 745 also requires that for all dwelling units intended for human occupancy, for which a building permit is issued on or after January 1, 2014, for alterations, repairs, or additions exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), the permit issuer shall not sign off on the completion of work until the permittee demonstrates that all smoke alarms required for the dwelling unit are devices approved and listed by the Office of the State Fire Marshal pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 13114.
Asked by: Sunny
I live in Massachusetts you should tarket someone in California
Answered by: raj22
Date published: 2016-11-17

are these by code per the city of glendale?

Asked by: alex
Hello Alex. You will need to call your local authority having jurisdiction in your area for smoke alarms, usually the local fire marshal's office. We are Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Answered by: Kidde Expert
Date published: 2016-03-01

why are there answers and photos of a different alarm on here. the one we are looking at is a 5$ smoke detector

Asked by: donutlou
Hello Donutlou. The picture is correct. The questions for this alarm has gotten mixed with the questions for a different alarm, Model # KN-COEG-3, Internet #100003545, Store SKU #791898, Store SO SKU #198092 so the same questions are showing up on both pages here on Homedepot.com. The matter is being corrected and we hope it will be fixed within 2 weeks. Thank you for your help pointing this out. If we can help you further, we are Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Answered by: Kidde Expert
Date published: 2017-01-10

what does "ionization" mean?

Asked by: amt
Hello AMT. Ionization is a type of technology for detecting smoke. These alarms have a very tiny flake of slightly radioactive material between two metal plates in a sealed chamber with air slots. The radioactive material gives off ions. These ions hit the metal plates and creates a small electric charge between the two plates. When particles of smoke and combustion get into the alarm, they absorb the ions and keep them from hitting the metal plates. When this happens, the electrical charge is reduced or not created. The alarm detects this drop in charge and that's how it knows when to go off. This is Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Answered by: Kidde Expert
Date published: 2016-02-01
  • y_2017, m_2, d_16, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_75
  • loc_, sid_100051755, prod, sort_[]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 218.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple to Use Gas/Carbon Monoxide Detector with 9V Battery I wanted a simple to use and reliable gas/carbon monoxide detector with replaceable battery backup. The instructions were straight forward and understandable to setup and use. The provide a 9V battery which is nice. I did have some initial issues with false warnings and indicators that battery was low. The remedy is to remove the battery and re-install as required to eliminate the false warnings. It my case it was three times before success. I checked the battery with a meter which read correct voltage. It was not the battery.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It could save your life! I purchased these on an impulse buy. I was walking down the water heater isle and saw these at such a great price. I figure I should pick up a few and install them throughout the house. I install them that weekend and forget about them. A few months later, I'm in my bedroom and I hear a loud beeping coming from downstairs. I go to investigate and find my living room full of smoke. The smoke was caused by frayed wires on a home entertainment system. If it wasn't for this alarm, the smoke would go unnoticed leading to an actual fire. At this price, I would say to buy one for your friends and relatives as well. There aren't many gifts that you can give that can save someones life.
Date published: 2013-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The gas/CO alarm was as described, its instructions were clear, and it installed quickly and easi... The gas/CO alarm was as described, its instructions were clear, and it installed quickly and easily. Fortunately, I haven't had a chance to determine how well it detects carbon monoxide; hence the "only 4 stars" rating-. The combined package with the smoke alarm turned out to cost less than the gas/CO alarm by itself, so what's not to like?
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why can't I give this zero stars? Nothing but false alarms for gas. Didn't work properly from day... Why can't I give this zero stars? Nothing but false alarms for gas. Didn't work properly from day one. The warranty is a joke: you have to pay return posatage, the replacement unit is only warranted for 6 months, and there is no cash refund option. Why would I want another piece of garbage like this?
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The package arrived in fine shape and the units were about the easiest thing ever to install...ju... The package arrived in fine shape and the units were about the easiest thing ever to install...just plug in. I can't actually review the units for the functionality since it is supposed to protect me from CO2 dangers and thankfully there have been none. Only had them about 30 days but so far so good.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent product. The end user MUST understand the locations to best place the unit d... This is an excellent product. The end user MUST understand the locations to best place the unit depending the type of gas used..Example propane sinks and natural gas rises. CO is near equal to air... also place it somewhat near "POINT OF POSSIBLE GAS LEAK." I noticed some reviews stated false alarms. In my opinion there is no such thing as a false alarm. User contaminated product with hair spray or something else, or the unit is broke, which is not a false alarm but rather notifying you of something wrong.... I love the installed extension cord which allows user to place unit in most practical position. ....place date of activation and date of replacement on unit. keep instruction book with unit. Educate the rest of the family! Test it as instructions say, And remember, There is no such thing as a false alarm! I am using 2 in my home and placed 2 in my 97 year old aunts home. I test them with her around so she gets used to the alarm if problems arise. Great product when used properly....
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I can't get the reset / test function to work. It just squeals loudly and won't shut off until I ... I can't get the reset / test function to work. It just squeals loudly and won't shut off until I disconnect the battery. Not sure if it is actually working correctly, just hope so. If I hadn't thrown away the packaging, I'd take it back.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light is flashing- must be working Economical , small unit with no frills does the job with no issues so far. Just what Is needed.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as it should There is only so much to a smoke detector, so why spend a lot on it? Works, can't complain
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second one we purchase in 8 yrs. and the old one simply stopped working and displayed... This is the second one we purchase in 8 yrs. and the old one simply stopped working and displayed a message that it was time to replace and that's exactly happened and also a very great product for any home owner.LJM
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 3 of these in my home. They monitor 24 hours a day for carbon monoxide & also gas leaks. T... I have 3 of these in my home. They monitor 24 hours a day for carbon monoxide & also gas leaks. The 2 pack was more economical, and with free shipping I didn't even have to leave home.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for 10 Year old. Kidde is the only type of alarms I will put in my house. They are... Replacement for 10 Year old. Kidde is the only type of alarms I will put in my house. They are the best and I have 7 hard wired with 10 year batteries back up and 3 Combination .
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I recommend these, however, the packaging is misleading! It needs to be plugged in at all times t... I recommend these, however, the packaging is misleading! It needs to be plugged in at all times to work effectively, package indicates you can use battery or AC.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I got this product to prepare an apartment to cualifide for a goverment agency for renting purposes and it did the work ..good product and excellent price
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good value and it works I purchased this unit after my wife woke me up and told me she thought she smelled gas. After being up the rest of the night assuring her she didn’t I drove to Home Depot and picked up this combination Gas/Carbon Monoxide detector unit. I tested it with an open gas valve and it works well. The alarm emits a very loud piercing blast that is sure to wake up even the soundest sleeper. Having an alkaline 9 volt battery (included) backup; it can be unplugged and moved from room to room for testing. You can plug it right into a 110 volt outlet or slide out a built in stand and sit it on the counter. I have used a Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide detector for several years with no problems. In my opinion this combination unit is a very small price to pay for a good night of sleep.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product.... I have 4 of these Carbon Monoxide Detectors - One of each floor of my house. It is code to have one on each floor in Long Island, NY
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not tested yet. It is plugged in and so far working. Do not know how reliable would be until it comes to detecting the smoke and gas.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Tested it on our natural gas stove to see how well it would work and it detected gas in a couple of seconds.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gave several of these as gifts at Christmas time but,... Gave several of these as gifts at Christmas time but, found many of the batteries included to be dead.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Vega sprinklers It's a product that every one should have..it can save your life..it's not expensive and reliable..
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ronniejoe Operation and installation of Gas/CO detector was very well outlined in enclosed instructions.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Package battery NG - Device defective in operation with new battery. Returning to store ! Package battery NG - Device defective in operation with new battery. Returning to store !
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very easy to use; very flexible - installation is easy and can be located anywhere in the house. easy to use anywhere in the house. instructions were easy to follow... now there!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive but a long as they do what they are supposed to do they are worth it. Expensive but a long as they do what they are supposed to do they are worth it.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well to keep people safe from natural gas or CO Works well and has a battery backup just in case of power outages@!
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works and serves purpose intended for with easy installation. Works and serves purpose intended for with easy installation.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product..just the right size,with good functionality. Great product..just the right size,with good functionality.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a replacement. Exactly the same as the old one. This was a replacement. Exactly the same as the old one.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Just put in backup battery and plug it in. Easy to use. Just put in backup battery and plug it in.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed and a good price. Exactly what I needed and a good price.
Date published: 2016-12-27
  • y_2017, m_2, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_216
  • loc_, sid_100051755, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT