Model # 21008051

Internet #100051755

Store SKU #182262

Store SO SKU #198092

Kidde Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
0025417009149

Kidde

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

  • Compact design
  • Test button
  • Ionization sensor
$4.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Homedepot Image

The Kidde i9040 Battery-Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is a single-station alarm with an early warning signal. This alarm utilizes ionization sensing technology to activate in the event of a smoke or fire incident and its compact, 4 in. design lends it a discreet profile in your home or business. Powered by a 9-Volt battery, this smoke alarm will protect you, your family and home during a power outage. When the battery begins to lose power, a low-battery alert will begin to chirp to notify you it is time to replace.

  • Utilizes ionization sensor
  • Provides an early warning signal in the event of a smoke
  • Compact 4 inch Design
  • Low-battery indicator chirps to alert you to change the battery
  • Test button tests the unit's electronic circuitry, horn and battery function
  • Battery power means protection during power outages
  • 9-Volt battery included use Kidde power supply (205976052)
  • 9 Volt Zinc Battery Included
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

19 Questions35 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
san clemente ca
Read all my Q&A
October 6, 2014
Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

looking for the least expensive Carbon Monoxide detector, need 20 for my apartments
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
No, have to get separate co detector. Our city code requires them to be in different places anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Elk Grove, Ca.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
No, this is a smoke alarm only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Torrington Ct
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
This product is just a smoke detector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. Its is smoke only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello. In response to your questions, this alarm is just a smoke alarm. our most basic smoke and carbon monoxide alarm is the KN-COSM-B, which is here on HomeDepot.com as $25.48 for 1, Internet # 100004653 Store SKU # 421846 , or $24.75 for 6, Internet # 100655554. If you have any questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
 
4 answers

what is the life in years of the detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Colorado Springs, CO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 2, 2016
Answer: 
Product may say 10 yrs. but I had one go off for no reason after 8 yrs. so replaced batteries and the next week it went off again without reason so replaced alarm. When a CO alarm did the same thing two years ago we had the fire department come out and check for CO. The fire department told us replace these type of alarms every 5 years despite what the manufacturer states.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Dewey, Az
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
Battery operated so it depends on the battery. Replace the battery when needed. That's it.
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is supposed to be 10 years. I replace mine every 6 years.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

July 28, 2014
Answer: 
It is recommended by the National Fire Protection Agency that smoke alarms be replaced every 10 years.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How to disarm the smoke alarm

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Cedar Hill Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2016
Answer: 
fan the smoke away from the smoke alarm until the it stops beeping.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
Open a window or take out the battery til smoke clears.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

October 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello P3. I am not sure what you mean by disarming. Please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what type of battery does this take?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
tampa
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
9 volt
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
This unit uses a 9V battery.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product
Read More
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Read Less
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T16:22:18.601-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 211.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact size low cost Compact size low cost
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! We've had ours installed for about 2 weeks, which comes with lots and lots of peace of mind because we recently had a gas leak in our house and never knew we needed a gas detector instead of just a carbon monoxide detector. The price is high, but you can't put a price on peace of mind. We haven't had any false alarms yet like other reviewers have complained about. We also haven't had any issues with the 9 volt backup battery like others have. Seems to be a good product so far! EVERYONE WHO HAS GAS RUN TO THEIR HOUSE NEEDS TO HAVE ONE OF THESE! We had a low level gas leak in our house that was making me sick, so I will never ever live without one of these again.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Arrived on time and as advertised. These are a low cost item that we as a Fire Department can afford to handout to members of our community who lack smoke detectors.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price Works fine. No fancy frills, but who needs them? At the price, you can afford to put more of them around the house.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoke detector Smoke detector.Easy to install,works great.Price was right as well.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOOKS GREAT I NEEDED THEM TO SELL MY HOUSE AND THEY LOOK GREAT AND WORK
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I have installed more than 10 of these in several locations and they have been in service for over a year now. These run on single 9V battery which is included with the package. These are UL listed so meet the required standards. I really don't see the point in buying the more expensive ones unless you need dual power supply i.e. the 120V and 9V.
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent unit - no issues after several years of continuous use We purchased this detector a few years ago, and have had no issues with it since. Last night, the gas detector went off. I couldn't smell the odorant in the leaking gas, but I still shut off the flow and called the gas company. They found two small leaks, and were surprised that the unit detected the gas levels found. I previously owned a Nighthawk CO detector (no gas detctor), and it performed quite well.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked when I needed it to. This alarm went off twice and both times it detected a very small gas leak in the old house we were living in. The gas leak was small, and the gas specialist assured us that it was so small it wouldn't even have been an issue, but the fact is, this detector caught it. I've been happy with it and it makes me feel safer. I have a First Alert detector as well, and that one didn't go off when the Kidde Nighthawk did.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!` This was bought to replace an ancient Nighthawk that we bought back in the late 90s early 2000s. The explosive gas detection helped with peace of mind when we bought and moved an old farm house and were not sure the old appliances were safe. Great device!
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maybe I got a lemon......... but one of the tabs that hold the alarm to the backing plate broke off when I was trying to install it. It goes back for a refund.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to work I had one of these years ago that worked very well. This one works so far, at least when near my stove.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality A great item that will last 10 years! Quick and easy to install.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good , reasonable and efficient Easy to install. I always choose Kidde for smoke detectors.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good item fast shipping nice box very colorful good phone help
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money Bought this because my boys bedroom was being built close to the furnace. Didn't expect it to go off the minute I plugged it in. Turns out there was an issue with the furnace. Awesome product, a true life saver.
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is a must have. The product has Night Hawk technology which our fire dept suggest a carbon monoxide alarm have. It is easy to read, has a battery back up and is reasonably priced. We have one in our lower level, main level and upstairs level of our home. The carbon monoxide/gas alarm combination is the best way to go.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kidde CO Detector with Battery Back-Up Very easy to install, just plug into an outlet. The first one we purchased was defective. The alarm would constantly go off even when the digital display said zero and no carbon monoxide was in the air. We knew there was no carbon monoxide present because we had another CO detector that did not go off. The alarm is a very high pitched sound that awakens you immediately. We know because it would often sound in the middle of the night. We finally called the manufacturer and they asked us for the serial number. They said it was defective and told us to throw it away. They sent us a new one that we have had no problems with.
Date published: 2006-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Product Saved Our Lives!!! Recently, our home was hit by lightning. The lightning ran along the ductwork in the house and punctured holes in the adjacent flexible gas lines. Without this detector, we wouldn't have known so quickly that there was explosive gas filling the basement, and we could have had a very bad outcome. There is no doubt in our minds that this product saved our lives. If you have any gas appliances in your home, this is a must!
Date published: 2006-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Size doesn't matter. The description clearly states "compact design". It works just as well (maybe better) as larger units but requires less space to install. It's a smoke detector, not a manhole cover. I have several of these in my home and have no complaints. They are easy to install and maintain. Battery life has been satisfactory. No surprises.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value/quality Picked up one of these today for a bedroom in a small 3 bedroom (occupant sleeps with door closed) ranch house today. It currently accompanies two First Alert units in the beginning/end of the hallway (photoelectric near kitchen/livingroom and ionization at the end towards the 3 rooms). This smoke alarm is just as well built as any comparable First Alert and has a small footprint while being lightweight which makes it a perfect candidate for a ceiling mount unit. The installation was cake, drill two holes, mount the bracket, and make sure battery is installed and away you go! While being a basic/entry level smoke alarm it has some decent features such as a hush button, a safety tab mechanism that insures the battery is installed (or unit will not lock into bracket), and my personal favorite an led that blinks every 40 seconds to insure the unit is receiving power. At 5 dollars, this is a very solid smoke alarm that just works. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic ionization smoke alarm to supplement other units for added safety.
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! A no frills smoke alarm that installs in just a couple of minutes and has a great price. I got this for our camper and it's perfect. A little smaller than the old one and it comes with a battery as well. Awesome value.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good. So I just bought a few of these-one for each floor of my house and they were easy to install. I have had no problems, I love the price, they seem to be good, basic smoke detectors that will get the job done. There is an extensive direction pamphlet that tells you where is optimal for placement, and I think that is where others went wrong. I can't comment on the battery life, but I imagine if there were a problem I could simply buy a new one.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best This is my second one. Very reliable, I had it go off on two occasions over the past few years and may have saved us both times. Once CO alarm Once LP gas.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoke detector Excellent product! Highly recommended for every room in the house.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect alert system for the home The all explosive gas detection sold me on this product
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great! I did test the unit. works just great. intall just plug in and use small propane tank to test
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase/working good Everyone should have one/two in their home to monitor gas/carbon dioxide. This gives you peace of mind.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product We just purchased this detector about 4 weeks ago and it was proved to be a life-saving decision. My wife had just started baking some blueberry muffins and went to answer the phone. There was a fluxuation in the gas pressure and the oven burners went out. She had only been out of the kitchen for about 2 minutes when the GAS alarm went off. She was able to immediately take action. This item is well worth getting.
Date published: 2007-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sensitive and makes me feel very safe I would recommend this detector to anyone that wants to keep their family safe. It has gone off a couple of times when my wife burnt some food on the stove. It even surprisingly went off once when the family cat passed gas right under where it was plugged in. That was not expected, but shows how good it is at detecting gas leaks.
Date published: 2008-08-29
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_209
  • loc_, sid_100051755, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT