0025417009149

Kidde

Model # 21008051

Internet # 100051755

Store SKU # 182262

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

$4.98 /each
  • Compact design
  • Test button
  • Ionization sensor

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 21008051

Internet # 100051755

Store SKU # 182262

Store SO SKU # 198092

The Kidde i9040 Battery-Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm is a single-station alarm with an early warning signal. This alarm utilizes ionization sensing technology to activate in the event of a smoke or fire incident and its compact, 4 in. design lends it a discreet profile in your home or business. Powered by a 9-Volt battery, this smoke alarm will protect you, your family and home during a power outage. When the battery begins to lose power, a low-battery alert will begin to chirp to notify you it is time to replace.

  • Utilizes ionization sensing technology to detect smoke or fire
  • Provides an early warning signal in the event of a smoke or fire incident
  • Wireless technology for easy installation
  • Low-battery indicator chirps to alert you to change the battery
  • Test button tests the unit's electronic circuitry, horn and battery function
  • Battery power means protection during power outages
  • 9-Volt battery included use Kidde power supply (205976052)
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Compact design for a low-profile presence


Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
Product Height (in.) 
1.5 
Product Width (in.) 
4.0625 
Details
Alarm Sensor Type 
Ionization 
Alarm Type 
Smoke 
Alarm/Detector Features 
No Additional Features 
Commercial / Residential 
Commercial / Residential 
Connector/Contact Type 
None 
Included 
Batteries 
Power Source 
Battery 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Voltage (volts) 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Alarm Sensor Type: Ionization
Alarm/Detector Features: No Additional Features
Brand: Kidde
Power Source: Battery
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Price: $0 - $10
Search
15 Questions28 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
san clemente ca
Read all my Q&A
October 6, 2014
Is this a smoke alarm and Carbon Monoxide detector?

looking for the least expensive Carbon Monoxide detector, need 20 for my apartments
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
No, have to get separate co detector. Our city code requires them to be in different places anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Elk Grove, Ca.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 12, 2015
Answer: 
No, this is a smoke alarm only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Torrington Ct
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
This product is just a smoke detector.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. Its is smoke only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello. In response to your questions, this alarm is just a smoke alarm. our most basic smoke and carbon monoxide alarm is the KN-COSM-B, which is here on HomeDepot.com as $25.48 for 1, Internet # 100004653 Store SKU # 421846 , or $24.75 for 6, Internet # 100655554. If you have any questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
 
3 answers

How to disarm the smoke alarm

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Cedar Hill Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 12, 2016
Answer: 
fan the smoke away from the smoke alarm until the it stops beeping.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
long beach, ca
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
Open a window or take out the battery til smoke clears.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

October 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello P3. I am not sure what you mean by disarming. Please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what type of battery does this take?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
tampa
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
9 volt
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
This unit uses a 9V battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

July 21, 2015
Answer: 
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product
Read More
Hello James. In reference to your question, use only the following 9 volt batteries for battery replacement: Carbon-zinc 9 volt models EVEREADY 1222, GOLD PEAK 1604P and GOLD PEAK 1604S; Alkaline 9 volt models ENERGIZER 522, DURACELL MN1604, Duracell MX1604,GOLD PEAK 1604A, and PANASONIC models 6AM6, 6AM-6,
6AM-6PI, 6AM6X, AND 6LR61. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest.
Read Less
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
 
3 answers

what is the life in years of the detector?

This question is from Battery Operated Ionization Smoke Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Dewey, Az
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2015
Answer: 
Battery operated so it depends on the battery. Replace the battery when needed. That's it.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is supposed to be 10 years. I replace mine every 6 years.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

July 28, 2014
Answer: 
It is recommended by the National Fire Protection Agency that smoke alarms be replaced every 10 years.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-06-25 T16:30:39.333-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 1103ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice! A no frills smoke alarm that installs in just a couple of minutes and has a great price. I got this for our camper and it's perfect. A little smaller than the old one and it comes with a battery as well. Awesome value. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Why can't these things ever chirp during the day? I've had many of these in multiple houses, and it's amazing that when the batteries need replacing, they never start chirping in the daytime. It's always 3am on a weekday when I have to work the next day. Seriously, if they weren't so cheap I'd swear there was special circuitry in them to ensure they only chirp when you're trying to sleep. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by safety item This is a name brand quality item necessary to residential safety and known to be reliable. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So far so good. So I just bought a few of these-one for each floor of my house and they were easy to install. I have had no problems, I love the price, they seem to be good, basic smoke detectors that will get the job done. There is an extensive direction pamphlet that tells you where is optimal for placement, and I think that is where others went wrong. I can't comment on the battery life, but I imagine if there were a problem I could simply buy a new one. April 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Size doesn't matter. The description clearly states "compact design". It works just as well (maybe better) as larger units but requires less space to install. It's a smoke detector, not a manhole cover. I have several of these in my home and have no complaints. They are easy to install and maintain. Battery life has been satisfactory. No surprises. January 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for. I bought these for my house less then a year ago and batteries are going fast, I should have bought the 10yr life ones but I wanted to save some money, now I will have to take them back and hope for my money back so I can buy some real smock detectors. You get what you pay for, don't go cheap on smock detectors. I will update after I take these back. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for what I needed Customer service was awesome! Installation was easy and fun. Customer service was great and easy March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Product great price I have these in my house, the battery lasts about 1 year, you must use good brands such as Duracell, a time ago my wife started cooking and forgot to turn it off the smoke detector started ringing, it was just a scare through the detector. I recommend it. When the battery is finishing the detector alerts you with a beep. November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Is perfect for my business!!!! I very convenient and easy to install. I needed it for my business and works perfectly. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Beat It For The Price So far no false positives. I tested the alarm and the sound was sufficiently loud. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value I have installed more than 10 of these in several locations and they have been in service for over a year now. These run on single 9V battery which is included with the package. These are UL listed so meet the required standards. I really don't see the point in buying the more expensive ones unless you need dual power supply i.e. the 120V and 9V. July 16, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by too small of a smoke detector Picked up 9 of the smoke detectors at the store, and immediately returned them. They are micro and miniature in size. These are not standard size smoke detectors. I wish the online description would clearly state that this item is MICRO. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Smoke Alarm Great value for the money. Small enough to put anywhere. Loud enough to wake you through a thunderstorm. Great item!!!!!! June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value/quality Picked up one of these today for a bedroom in a small 3 bedroom (occupant sleeps with door closed) ranch house today. It currently accompanies two First Alert units in the beginning/end of the hallway (photoelectric near kitchen/livingroom and ionization at the end towards the 3 rooms). This smoke alarm is just as well built as any comparable First Alert and has a small footprint while being lightweight which makes it a perfect candidate for a ceiling mount unit. The installation was cake, drill two holes, mount the bracket, and make sure battery is installed and away you go! While being a basic/entry level smoke alarm it has some decent features such as a hush button, a safety tab mechanism that insures the battery is installed (or unit will not lock into bracket), and my personal favorite an led that blinks every 40 seconds to insure the unit is receiving power. At 5 dollars, this is a very solid smoke alarm that just works. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic ionization smoke alarm to supplement other units for added safety. July 2, 2012
  • 2016-06-25 T17:22:26.874-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_52, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_100051755, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 335ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT