Model # KN-COPP-3

Internet #100045210

Store SKU #201001

Store SO SKU #198092

Kidde Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
0784908007605

Kidde

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Digital read out
  • Battery back up
$43.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Silent Killer: Potential Carbon Monoxide, Sources in Your Home
Potential Causes of CO 2

The digital readout of the Kidde Plug-In Digital Carbon Monoxide Alarm with 9-Volt Backup continuously displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 parts per million (PPM) and will sound an 85 dB alarm when dangerous levels are reached. The carbon monoxide level sensed is continuously displayed and updated every 15 seconds, and the peak level memory shows the highest level of carbon monoxide present since the last time the unit was reset or unplugged. Protection continues during power outages thanks to a 9-volt battery backup.

  • Plug-in carbon monoxide detector with digital readout
  • 85 dB alarm sounds when carbon monoxide reaches dangerous levels so you can protect your family
  • Test/reset button to check for proper operation and reset the unit
  • 9-volt battery backup provides protection during power outages
  • Displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 PPM
  • Updates digital reading every 15 seconds
  • Peak level memory displays highest carbon monoxide level recorded since previous reset or unplugging
  • Plugs into AC receptacles
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

17 Questions29 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Does this ever need to be replaced?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
It won't stop beeping like every 30 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Ridgefield, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2015
Answer: 
One important point not mentioned in the Home Depot description: these units have an internal clock that limits their life to 7 years from the date of initial power-up. In 7 years, the unit starts beeping every 30 seconds or so and cannot be shut off, except by removal of the battery and unplugging the unit - making it non-operational. In other words, count on replacing the entire unit every 7 years!
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
lapeer michigan
Read all my Q&A
June 24, 2014
Answer: 
hopefully not for a long time
-8points
1out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful9

Asked by
Kasilof, AK, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, most CO Detectors (alarms) have a three to five year life. The Nighthawk has a 5 year manufacture warranty.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. About every 7 years.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
The battery needs to be replaced.
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
 
3 answers

I have LP propane gas heat in my house. Will this detector sense any a gas leak near the unit?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
louisville, KY
Read all my Q&A
March 29, 2015
I have LP gas. Would this sensor pick up if there is any leakage of gas in the area? I don't know if the off put of LP gas is carbon Monoxide.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Ridgefield CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 23, 2015
Answer: 
Revised answer to this question: Kidde now makes a combination carbon monoxide and flammable gas (propane or natural gas) detector, Model #KN-COEG-3, also sold at Home Depot and costing less(?) than the older carbon monoxide detector. At Home Depot today, it was being sold for $39.88. If you type "Kidde Combination Detector" on the Home Depot site you should find it and a detailed description.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Ridgefield, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2015
Answer: 
The unit is designed to detect toxic carbon monoxide, which results from the incomplete burning of wood, charcoal, natural gas or even LPG - but not propane gas itself! Thus, a gas leak from your propane lines, fittings or valves will not be detected! If the flue pipe from a propane fireplace becomes blocked or you try to use a gas grill indoors (extremely unwise) it may detect carbon monoxide generated Read More
The unit is designed to detect toxic carbon monoxide, which results from the incomplete burning of wood, charcoal, natural gas or even LPG - but not propane gas itself! Thus, a gas leak from your propane lines, fittings or valves will not be detected! If the flue pipe from a propane fireplace becomes blocked or you try to use a gas grill indoors (extremely unwise) it may detect carbon monoxide generated from the incomplete burning of the propane. When any fossil fuel burns cleanly, it produces carbon dioxide, which is relatively harmless. When they burn incompletely (too little combustion air, for example), they output the dangerous carbon monoxide, which units like this detect. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello. In reference to your question, no. This unit only detects carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide is created when something is burned, like natural gas or propane or coal or gasoline, and it is not burned hot enough. It is an invisible odorless gas in the exhaust and smoke and is a silent killer. You will desire an explosive gas detector. We make an explosive gas and carbon monoxide detector, model Read More
Hello. In reference to your question, no. This unit only detects carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide is created when something is burned, like natural gas or propane or coal or gasoline, and it is not burned hot enough. It is an invisible odorless gas in the exhaust and smoke and is a silent killer. You will desire an explosive gas detector. We make an explosive gas and carbon monoxide detector, model KN-COEG-3, Internet # 100003545, Store SKU # 791898. This detector has two different sensors and will, if properly installed, detect both propane and natural gas as well as carbon monoxide. If you have any further questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788 and we would be happy to help you. Thank you for your interest. Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

When does the it alarm? Does detector alarm once it is above 1?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Brooklyn, NY
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

May 20, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Shirs. The alarm is time weighted. In response to your email, first, this alarm is time weighted. The way a time weighted alarm works is it measures the build up in a house. It is not an instantaneous alarm. At 70 PPM (parts of CO per a million parts of air), it will sound after 1 to 4 hours of exposure. At 150 ppm, it will alarm after 10 to 50 minutes of exposure. At a level of 400 PPM, the Read More
Hello Shirs. The alarm is time weighted. In response to your email, first, this alarm is time weighted. The way a time weighted alarm works is it measures the build up in a house. It is not an instantaneous alarm. At 70 PPM (parts of CO per a million parts of air), it will sound after 1 to 4 hours of exposure. At 150 ppm, it will alarm after 10 to 50 minutes of exposure. At a level of 400 PPM, the alarm will come on within 4 to 15 minutes.. So the higher the reading the quicker the response is on the alarm. It takes a few minutes for the alarm to get a good reading. We are Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The alarm is time-weighted and goes off when CO has been present at a specific harmful level for a certain amount of time. CO at higher levels will sound the alarm more quickly. The manual states that 50 to 100 PPM is moderate levels that can be dangerous over time, and 100 PPM is an urgent situation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

It always reads 0. Is that normal or is it not functioning properly?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 22, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 22, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, it should read 0. Anything above that and you're getting CO from somewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 25, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Sue, The zero is normal and there should also be a blinking dot beside the zero. Be sure to test the alarm on a regular basis as well. If you have any additional questions, please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:14:37.352-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100045210, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Seems to be working, and doing its job. Not sure what else I can add, I have only had it for a month or so. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Value! Used in my generator shed, bright clear display, audible warning a plus. . October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Product Second one I have owned. The first one lasted 10 years without any problems at all. Just remember to change the battery backup when you change the batteries in your smoke detectors or it will start beeping. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved my butt I bought a Nighthawk plug in in 1996. It's now 2012 and I never realized it need to be replaced. OMG, it just went off at 5:00AM this morning. I found that the side venting furnace had a large hole on the top side of the duct due to rust. CM was leaking into the basement and carried up stairs. My wife had complained about headaches, but we never connected the dots until the alarm went off. Needless to say I'm buying 3 more today! Thanks, NH January 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exactly what I needed! Simple to install. . .works as advertised! You can count on Home Depot for the right product at a fair price. Staff are always knowledgable, friendly and helpful. . .i am a happy HD customer. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best product with right features. Third and fourth units we've had in homes. Both previous units lasted 10 years and performed perfectly. Features AC power, 9v battery back-up for power outages, loud alarm, easy to test, easy to read digital display, ability to monitor low CO levels and re-set. Competitive price. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great! Worked exactly like advertised and met my requirements. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by i cannot find anything wrong with this product. I was told by the furnace repairman that I should invest in a carbon monoxide alarm because my furnace was old. I found what I needed on line and picked it up at the store near me. The instruction were easy to follow, the product seems to be well made and I have not experience any difficulty with this product. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide Detector I bought two of these 8 years ago. One the same day, eight years later, BOTh units displayed an ERR msg which indicates they no longer work and need to be replaced. They obviously have some sort of "self destruct" built in. I don't believe it's a coincidence they died on the same day. Needless to say, it's a necessary item and worked fine for 8 years, so I'll likely buy two more. January 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Read instructions carefully. Works very well I needed a carbon monoxide detective alarm and this one fit the bill. Reasonably priced a good value for the money. I have recommended this product to my family and friends. Some have already purchased. March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Standard CO Alarm This is the standard that others are judged by. It has battery backup and peak level readout. it should last more than 5 years, and could very well be the thing that saves your life. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Owned two of these prior to purchasing the same model for replacements. An excellent choice May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe and Sound Decision I have owned this product for many years now and have purchased another to take it's place since the original has reached the End Of Life. I have peace of mind and a sense of security that this device protects my family and I from this silent, odorless lethal killer. It's a small price to pay for a life saving device. You won't be sorry if you purchase one, you may be sorry if you don't. November 30, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed - save your receipt Unit malfunctioned after 3 yrs. Of course I don't still have the receipt. Regardless, read all you have to do to invoke the warranty! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and reliable The product is as described on the packaging. Easy to install. Power Cord with battery backup means never having to be worried about being without protection. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Plug in is Easy To Install No special tools or batteries needed. Bring it home and plug it in... That works for me! April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product as always. Thought the new CO detectors only can with a direct plug-in but found this Kidde with a detachable plug. Works great as a direct replacement for my other 10 year old CO detector . February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great!! I purchased this alarm to replace the same thing that I've had for ten years. it beeped telling me that it was time to replace!!! February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price for Product Provides desired protection from Carbon Monoxide. We got one for each level of our house. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Product was just what I thought it would be. I needed the Nighthawk Carbon Monoxide alarm and the product was received in good condition and was just what I needed. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Trouble free Does what it's supposed to do. Good battery life although unit will shut down automatically after about 8 years February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install. Instructions have good information. Seems to be good. Instructions have good information about CO poisoning and what to do. Easy to install. Internet or ding was easy and free shipping. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Works well Works well but is quite expensive for a carbon monoxide alarm January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product has a nice compact design. Nice design to sit out on table in clear view and easy to read LED read out January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sets up easy... good construction Easy to setup.... I guess you really don't know how good it is until the time comes for the alarm should go off. Construction is solid and actually identical to the unit I bought 9 yrs ago. So, I can only imagine that it's a proven design. February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 7 year life I finallly got an error message and the manual said to call the company. They asked me for the manufacturing date, which was 8 years ago (which is probably how long I've had it), and said it is simply time to be replaced. I plan on buying another one just like it. February 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as sensitive its Okay, not as sensitive as i though i would be. Battery include but ran short. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy This detector just plugs into any wall outlet in your house. So simple to use. I have it near the gas fireplace in the den and it is very easy to see but it is not obtrusive. It also allows me an additional discount on my home owner's insurance. October 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable CO Detector Have faithfully used this alarm for seven years. Like its ability to indicate the amount of carbon dioxide in the air. When needed, was able to obtain help from the listed 800 phone number. When and if this detector fails, I would not hesitate to replace it with the same model. February 15, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better Safe Than Sorry!! This alarm is very easy to install especially that you can remove the plug and hang the alarm on the wall adjacent to the plug. Battery back up is a plus as is the LCD readout. I just replaced my old Kiddie alarms. I trust Kiddie with the lives of my family. VinnyA February 21, 2012
  • 2016-10-30 T17:37:41.075-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_100045210, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT