Model # KN-COPP-3

Internet #100045210

Store SKU #201001

Store SO SKU #198092

Kidde Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
0784908007605

Kidde

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Digital read out
  • Battery back up
$43.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Silent Killer: Potential Carbon Monoxide, Sources in Your Home
Potential Causes of CO 2

The digital readout of the Kidde Plug-In Digital Carbon Monoxide Alarm with 9-Volt Backup continuously displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 parts per million (PPM) and will sound an 85 dB alarm when dangerous levels are reached. The carbon monoxide level sensed is continuously displayed and updated every 15 seconds, and the peak level memory shows the highest level of carbon monoxide present since the last time the unit was reset or unplugged. Protection continues during power outages thanks to a 9-volt battery backup.

  • Plug-in carbon monoxide detector with digital readout
  • 85 dB alarm sounds when carbon monoxide reaches dangerous levels so you can protect your family
  • Test/reset button to check for proper operation and reset the unit
  • 9-volt battery backup provides protection during power outages
  • Displays carbon monoxide levels from 30 to 999 PPM
  • Updates digital reading every 15 seconds
  • Peak level memory displays highest carbon monoxide level recorded since previous reset or unplugging
  • Plugs into AC receptacles
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

17 Questions29 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
5 answers

Does this ever need to be replaced?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
It won't stop beeping like every 30 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Ridgefield, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2015
Answer: 
One important point not mentioned in the Home Depot description: these units have an internal clock that limits their life to 7 years from the date of initial power-up. In 7 years, the unit starts beeping every 30 seconds or so and cannot be shut off, except by removal of the battery and unplugging the unit - making it non-operational. In other words, count on replacing the entire unit every 7 years!
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
lapeer michigan
Read all my Q&A
June 24, 2014
Answer: 
hopefully not for a long time
-8points
1out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful9

Asked by
Kasilof, AK, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, most CO Detectors (alarms) have a three to five year life. The Nighthawk has a 5 year manufacture warranty.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. About every 7 years.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
The battery needs to be replaced.
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
 
3 answers

I have LP propane gas heat in my house. Will this detector sense any a gas leak near the unit?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
louisville, KY
Read all my Q&A
March 29, 2015
I have LP gas. Would this sensor pick up if there is any leakage of gas in the area? I don't know if the off put of LP gas is carbon Monoxide.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Ridgefield CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 23, 2015
Answer: 
Revised answer to this question: Kidde now makes a combination carbon monoxide and flammable gas (propane or natural gas) detector, Model #KN-COEG-3, also sold at Home Depot and costing less(?) than the older carbon monoxide detector. At Home Depot today, it was being sold for $39.88. If you type "Kidde Combination Detector" on the Home Depot site you should find it and a detailed description.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Ridgefield, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 21, 2015
Answer: 
The unit is designed to detect toxic carbon monoxide, which results from the incomplete burning of wood, charcoal, natural gas or even LPG - but not propane gas itself! Thus, a gas leak from your propane lines, fittings or valves will not be detected! If the flue pipe from a propane fireplace becomes blocked or you try to use a gas grill indoors (extremely unwise) it may detect carbon monoxide generated Read More
The unit is designed to detect toxic carbon monoxide, which results from the incomplete burning of wood, charcoal, natural gas or even LPG - but not propane gas itself! Thus, a gas leak from your propane lines, fittings or valves will not be detected! If the flue pipe from a propane fireplace becomes blocked or you try to use a gas grill indoors (extremely unwise) it may detect carbon monoxide generated from the incomplete burning of the propane. When any fossil fuel burns cleanly, it produces carbon dioxide, which is relatively harmless. When they burn incompletely (too little combustion air, for example), they output the dangerous carbon monoxide, which units like this detect. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Hello. In reference to your question, no. This unit only detects carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide is created when something is burned, like natural gas or propane or coal or gasoline, and it is not burned hot enough. It is an invisible odorless gas in the exhaust and smoke and is a silent killer. You will desire an explosive gas detector. We make an explosive gas and carbon monoxide detector, model Read More
Hello. In reference to your question, no. This unit only detects carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide is created when something is burned, like natural gas or propane or coal or gasoline, and it is not burned hot enough. It is an invisible odorless gas in the exhaust and smoke and is a silent killer. You will desire an explosive gas detector. We make an explosive gas and carbon monoxide detector, model KN-COEG-3, Internet # 100003545, Store SKU # 791898. This detector has two different sensors and will, if properly installed, detect both propane and natural gas as well as carbon monoxide. If you have any further questions, you can call us at 1-800-880-6788 and we would be happy to help you. Thank you for your interest. Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

When does the it alarm? Does detector alarm once it is above 1?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Brooklyn, NY
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

May 20, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Shirs. The alarm is time weighted. In response to your email, first, this alarm is time weighted. The way a time weighted alarm works is it measures the build up in a house. It is not an instantaneous alarm. At 70 PPM (parts of CO per a million parts of air), it will sound after 1 to 4 hours of exposure. At 150 ppm, it will alarm after 10 to 50 minutes of exposure. At a level of 400 PPM, the Read More
Hello Shirs. The alarm is time weighted. In response to your email, first, this alarm is time weighted. The way a time weighted alarm works is it measures the build up in a house. It is not an instantaneous alarm. At 70 PPM (parts of CO per a million parts of air), it will sound after 1 to 4 hours of exposure. At 150 ppm, it will alarm after 10 to 50 minutes of exposure. At a level of 400 PPM, the alarm will come on within 4 to 15 minutes.. So the higher the reading the quicker the response is on the alarm. It takes a few minutes for the alarm to get a good reading. We are Kidde Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your interest. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The alarm is time-weighted and goes off when CO has been present at a specific harmful level for a certain amount of time. CO at higher levels will sound the alarm more quickly. The manual states that 50 to 100 PPM is moderate levels that can be dangerous over time, and 100 PPM is an urgent situation.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

It always reads 0. Is that normal or is it not functioning properly?

This question is from Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Digital Display and 9-Volt Backup
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 22, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 22, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, it should read 0. Anything above that and you're getting CO from somewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 25, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Sue, The zero is normal and there should also be a blinking dot beside the zero. Be sure to test the alarm on a regular basis as well. If you have any additional questions, please call Product Support at 1-800-880-6788. Thank you for your question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:14:37.352-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100045210, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product is a good value for the price Well made, good value. Would recommend this product. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use After 10 years went into replacement mode.Plugs into wall outlet.Really like product.The read out display is great so you know what the CO level is June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like the battery backup Our previous CO detector lasted for seven years and we bought this one as a replacement. We have it plugged in, but am glad that it has a battery backup. This would be an ideal gift for a new home owner. September 4, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and easy to install Highly rated product, easy to install and forget. The LED indicator is easy to see and always registers a safe number making me feel safe in my home. April 30, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Protection I found it easy to setup and am comfortable in the knowledge that we are protected. You can depend on Home Depot. November 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING We had this product for many years, and when it came time to replace it there was only one choice for us. Protecting your life and your home with quality is always important. November 16, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Plug-In Carbon Monoxide Detector The one I had needed to be replaced so I found they still made it . This kind of product you can't really say that much since it's a safety device for your home & family . February 19, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleased with the product. The product was exactly what i was expecting. It was shipped and received in a timely manner. February 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install Love the digital read-out, sleek look of this detector. May 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far so good I've had this for approximately 2 months and have had no issues. February 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to set up and just plug in. This is the first carbon monoxide alarm we've bought. So far, so good. July 23, 2011
  • 2016-10-30 T17:11:30.005-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_80, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_100045210, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 128ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT