LG Electronics Front Control Dishwasher in Stainless Steel with Stainless Steel Tub-LDS5040ST - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

LG Electronics

Model # LDS5040ST

Internet # 202864027

Front Control Dishwasher in Stainless Steel with Stainless Steel Tub

LG Electronics Front Control Dishwasher in Stainless Steel with Stainless Steel Tub
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.
Please select another option below.

Was   $699.00
$538.20 / each

Save $160.80 (23%) through 06/02/2015

Price includes Special Buy and 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 05/14/2015 - 06/02/2015
Price includes Special Buy and 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.

10% off Appliances Offer ends June 3rd. Promotion end date shown is earlier of Special Buy or 10% off end date. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer. Visit "http://www.homedepot.com/c/AP_Appliance_Offers" for 10% off Appliance Offer details.
  • 10-Year Limited Warranty on Inverter Direct Drive Motor
  • EasyRack™ can shift to handle any challenge your dishes can serve
  • SmartDiagnosis™ helps diagnose any issue quickly
CHECK EARLIEST DELIVERY DATE
FREE Home Delivery

Order Online or In Store

Contact your local store for pricing and to place orders in the following state(s): AK,GU,HI,PR,VI

Close  X

Enter Your ZIP Code


All Major Appliances within a single order must be delivered to the same address.


If you change the ZIP code:
Appliances may be unavailable for delivery in the new ZIP code

If you already have appliances in your shopping cart, any existing selections of parts, services, or Home Depot Protection Plans will be reset to the default selections

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # LDS5040ST

Internet # 202864027

Store SO SKU # 637616

The LG Electronics 24 in. Built-In Tall Tub Dishwasher Energy Star in Stainless Steel features a semi-integrated electronic panel with a digital display that helps keep you informed of the cycle status. Energy Star qualified for year-round energy and money savings, this efficient dishwasher uses a hybrid condensing drying system to offer fast drying reduced spotting and great energy efficiency. The upper rack easily adjusts up and down as needed, while the lower rack features a 3-in-1 cutlery basket for flexible loading.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Semi- Integrated electronic controls with LED Display maintains the overall appearance of the exterior and the tall tub design provides a generously sized interior to accommodate up to 14 place settings in a variety of sizes
  • LGs technological advances, like the Inverter DirectDrive motor and the advancedself-cleaning filtration system, were designed with quiet in mind. At (50 dBA), this dishwasher is among the quietest dishwashers in its class
  • Generously sized interior provides the space and loading flexibility necessary to accommodate 14 place settings
  • 5 wash cycles and 5 wash levels for flexible cleaning options, including Upper Only Cycle. SenseClean Wash system - A sensor measures the level of soil in the water and then automatically adjusts the cycle for precise cleaning performances while optimizing water and energy consumption
  • Among the most energy-efficient dishwashers in its class, for year-round energy and money savings
  • Stainless steel tub gives a premium look and resists corrosion, With the help of LG's Hybrid Condensing Drying system, that circulates air from outside the dishwasher through the tub. The stainless Steel tub also assists to deliver outstanding drying performance by providing higher heat retention
  • Newly-enhanced EasyRack Plus system provides outstanding flexibility and convenience, adjusting to just about any load of dishes to insure optimal cleaning performance
  • Adjustable upper rack with fold-down tines allows stacking of dishes and is designed to easily move up, down and disagnolly to maximize loading flexibility
  • Versatile lower rack with fold-down tines easily accommodates bowls and large dishes
  • 3 Spray arms deliver complete cleaning coverage, even when the dishwasher is fully loaded. Silverware basket to easily organize utensils and provide superior cleaning
  • Sanitary (160 degree) rinse cycle reduces germs and bacteria to help your family stay safe Upper only wash mode. Want clean dishes but don't want to wait for a full load. This feature saves water and energy by letting you wash only items in the upper rack, saving water and energy
  • Upper only wash mode. Want clean dishes but don't want to wait for a full load. This feature saves water and energy by letting you wash only items in the upper rack, saving water and energy
  • New dishwasher connection kit is required for installation and will be offered during appliance checkout
  • Dishwasher installation availability varies by location and can vary based on your home’s plumbing, Click Here for details

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

The Home Depot Protection Plan

  • If we can't repair it, we'll replace it - with a fast, Home Depot eGift Card
  • Food loss reimbursement up to $300 per claim on refrigerators and freezers
  • 25% reimbursement on parts for preventative maintenance
  • No lemon policy
  • No deductibles on repairs
Compare Plans

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Cut-Out Front to Back Depth (in.) 
25 in 
Cut-Out Height (in.) 
34 in 
Cut-Out Left to Right Width (in.) 
24 in 
Depth - Door Shut (with Handle) (in.) 
25 
Depth - Door Shut (without Handle) (in.) 
24.63 
Depth With Door Open 90 Degrees (In) 
53.12 
Dishwasher Size 
24 In. 
Height - Maximum (in) 
33.5 
Height - Minimum (in) 
33.5 
Product Depth (in.) 
24.63 
Product Height (in.) 
33.63 
Product Width (in.) 
23.75 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
15 
Appliance Type 
Dishwasher 
Color/Finish 
Stainless Steel 
Color/Finish Family 
Stainless 
Control Type 
Digital 
Custom Door Panel Ready 
No 
Decibel Rating 
50 dBA 
Delay Start Option 
Yes 
Dishwasher Cycles 
Half Load,Pots and Pans,Rinse and Hold,Sanitize 
Dishwasher Features 
Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Status Lights,Delay Start Option,Hard Food Disposer,High Temperature Wash Option,Self-Cleaning Filter,Sound Reduction System 
Dishwasher Rack Configuration 
Lower Rack- Fold Down Tines,Lower Rack- Removable,Lower Rack- Silverware Basket,Removable Silverware Basket,Upper Rack- Adjustable,Upper Rack- Fold Down Tines,Upper Rack- Removable,Utensil Separator 
Door Style 
Front Control 
Energy Consumption (kWh/year) 
279 
Energy Efficiency Tier Rating 
Tier I 
Estimated Yearly Operating Cost ($) 
27 
Hard Food Disposer or Filtration 
Hard Food Disposer 
Number of Cycles 
Number of Place Settings 
14 
Product Weight (lb.) 
108 lb 
Rack Material 
Nylon 
Returnable 
Non-Returnable 
Silverware Basket Location 
In Rack 
Sound Rating Range (Decibels) 
Quietest 0-50 dBA 
Steam Function 
No 
Tall Tub 
Yes 
Tub Material 
Stainless Steel 
Voltage (volts) 
120 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
ENERGY STAR Certified 
Yes 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 Year Labor, 2 years parts, 10 years Limited on slim Inverter Direct Drive Motor, 5 Years Limited on Control Board and Rack parts, Lifetime on Stainless Steel tub and Liner 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 328 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WORST PURCHASE EVER!! I have had this dishwasher for 4 years and have had nothing but problems. The rollers on the upper rack continually break causing the basket to fall off the arms. On a regular basis, the soap dispenser does not open so I have to run the dishwasher a second time. The rubber that fits between the door and the frame of the dishwasher constantly comes loose and at this very moment the machine, after having to start it a second time because the soap dispenser didn't open, is making a horrendous grinding noise. Wish I would have read a few of these reviews before making my purchase. Very disappointed in my LG Dishwasher. July 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible quality. Don't buy The dishwasher started falling apart 3 days after it was installed. The unit has poor quality of construction and it does not clean very well. December 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor cleaning. Long cycle. Some nice features The first load in this machine came out filthy. Most dishes had goop remaining on them even though we pre-washed them. Several utensils had food scraps that had been moved from dishes on them. After several loads like this, I called LG Customer Support. They said they could send someone out but there would be costs involved so I said no. He asked if I had tried Power Scrub which I hadn't. I came very close to jerking this machine out and leaving it at the doorstep at H.D. but decided to try the Power Scrub and hope for the best. Now I use a pre-wash liquid and Power Scrub for all loads and the cleaning is much better. However, my old cheap dishwasher that I replaced with this expensive unit cleaned just as good and it only took 40 minutes for a cycle. This machine takes two hours longer for a normal cycle. That can't be more energy efficient than my old machine. With my old machine I could hear the water being powered around inside the machine - a bit noisy - but it cleaned the dishes. The water in the LG unit sounds like it is barely sloshing around...maybe that's why it takes so long for a cycle and doesn't clean well. The wires on the racks that hold the dishes up are too short. The plates and bowls lean over and can nest, which will keep them from getting clean. Also, the instructions say to place the silverware with the tines upward in the utensil tray. I've found that they do not get clean that way because there is no water being sprayed on them directly. They get much cleaner with the tines downward in the tray...that way they are sprayed directly with the lower spray arm. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far so good. We've had it about a month, and have no negative issues at this point. It is a very quiet dishwasher which was important to us. January 27, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, very quiet Looks great, nice and quiet, solid construction. Very well designed product. Seems to clean dishes very well. January 25, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy "LG inverter direct drive" dishwasher This dishwasher is very annoying to use. It is made so that you can completely remove the bottom rack (which is not a feature I would ever use). The result is that it frequently gets off track so that you cannot slide it back and close the door. Almost every time we use it, we have to lift the bottom rack and try to get it back on track, which is difficult to do when it is heavy and full of dishes. It also concerns me that the dishes will shift while I am lifting the rack, and possibly fall against each other and chip. The dishes do get clean, and it the unit is quiet, but this one flaw is bad enough to make it not worth the hassle. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This Dishwasher CLEANS dishes So far after installing this dishwasher myself and using it I can report that it cleans dishes very well and leaves them dry (even the plastics which used to be soaking wet) and without using a heating element. I do not immediatly empty the dishwasher for several hours because of the schedual we work. We are very happy with it so far and it is so quiet that there is no need to turn up TV or run it when we leave the house like we did with the old dishwasher. The Home Depot delivery guys were prompt and very helpful and careful in bringing in the new dishwasher and taking out the old one. The price was very competitive as well and I did a lot of research on the different products offered out there and I made a sound choice. January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Looks very nice and cleans very well - worrying customer service This dishwasher is very quiet and cleans pretty well. For us, it is a problem free appliance. My only complaint is against LG: it took us ages to figure out how to get the feet higher. The picture on the installation manual did not match at all our dishwasher. We called LG and the person on the phone keeps repeating the same useless instructions. The thing is that it appears that there are lots of threads on the internet about this issue and I am disappointed that LG had not bothered to update its installation manual, hence the four stars. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied with this purchase Very quiet operation. Checked Consumer's Digest for 2015 and this got 5 stars across the board. Bought it on sale. Features used have done an excellent job. December 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible I love the features on this dishwasher. When it works, that is. The main board went out a few months ago, and it took close to a month to get it fixed because the board isn't available locally. And the pump needed to be replaced at the same time. It worked for 4 months, and now the board has gone out again and it will be at least 2 weeks before the board will be here and a service guy can fix it. We have thrown much time and money at this appliance. The last repair cost around $300. This one will probably be around $150. We could've bought a new dishwasher for that amount. To top it off, the it has only worked 70% of the time the last 6 months. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great dishwasher! This unit is everything we need and great value for the money. It has simple, uncluttered controls that perform the basic tasks any dishwasher should and has nice clean lines. One minor negative - the crew who installed it moved so fast that they didn't get it exactly square in the counter cabinet. It sticks out about 1/4" more on the left side than on the right. December 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Rack System This is the worst dishwasher I've ever owned. The rack system is awful. None of my dishes or bowls fit well in any configuration I try. The dishes move around when I push the bottom rack inside the dishwasher. As far as cleaning, it does not clean all that well and it has no Eco setting. I would not recommend this dishwasher!! October 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bottom basket falls out of grooves Have used this for 4 months and consistently the bottom basket when pulled out onto the turned down door is troublesome to push back into the dishwasher. I have even had others do this to see if I was pulling it out too far or at some odd angle and they too concur that it's a design flaw. The tines on the bottom basket do not stay in the upright position very well. Additionally I had no idea the wash cycles would be so lengthy. 2+ hrs to do a normal load is unacceptable in my opinion. I would not recommend this to anyone for the money you spend. November 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not childproof! Love this dishwasher and it is super quiet but one major flaw! The child lock does not lock the power button. I can't tell you how many times I've reran the load because my 1-1/2 year old has done his favorite activity of pushing buttons.... What were the designers thinking?!? March 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dishwasher We bought this dishwasher to replace a 16 year old Maytag. We purchased this on sale for $498 amazingly quiet, long cycle time but a great dishwasher, Very easy to install,.if you have basic knowledge of these things. Only negative is power cord, manufacturer uses a standard plug, for under counter unit they should use a flat plug. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievably quiet dishwasher. I've always hated the loudness of a dishwasher but this particular model is AWESOME. So quiet you can carry on a conversation standing in front of it while it washes without missing a word. Would definitely buy again. Very easy to install too. December 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy this dishwasher We purchased this dishwasher when it was around $700.00, chose it over a Bosch because of the style. There are only 2 of us at home so we use it daily but it is not over-used, yet after 18months the heater element burned out. It does not heat water or dry and the only cycle that works is the 'Quick cycle'. Our dishes come out wet and not entirely clean. Big mistake buying this. Around the same time we also purchased an LG big screen TV, it had defective audio and speakers. Will never buy another LG product. This dishwasher is a real disappointment. December 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product is very quiet. This Dishwasher is very quiet I have to be standing next to it to hear it run. I love the deep bottom rack is hold a lot more dishes then my old machine. It does have a long washing cycle but that does not bother me. Everything comes out sparkling clean with no water spots. You do have to make sure you use the clips so it does not fall forward when you open the door. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of about 15 loads in the 1st month, every dish has come out spotless except one, and it was a test case! We normally use the Pot Scrubbing and Normal cycles, though it has other cycles, and we are very pleased with all results. The loudest feature of this dishwasher is the happy tune it plays when the cycle is finished. It has a smartphone app for troubleshooting if that should become necessary. I installed it, and all parts were included and there were no surprises. Overall, love it. January 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good, but not great I bought this to replace a basic GE dishwasher. In comparison this cleans better and hold significantly more dishes. It is also more quite and I like the hard food disposer. The downside is that it takes a lot longer for a load to wash and I am always having issues with the bottom rack coming off track when heavy dishes are loaded. It drives me crazy!! I wasn't there during the install, but the installer put it in crooked and said he had to because of the cord placement in the back. This is not true. Also, the paint on the control panel is rubbing off on the corners. LG gave me the option to have the unit replaced or to take a credit. I opted for the credit since it isn't that noticeable, unless you get really close, and I have had issues with replacement of other goods purchased and didn't want the headache. I love the half load option, but wouldn't let that sway my decision to buy a different brand next time. November 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beauty is only skin deep Installed in September 2013. Unit is very quiet and cleans dishes quite well. Use of a drying agent is a must to keep spots minimized. The problem is the quality. After only 5 months of use (we use about 3 times per week) I started getting the IE inlet error and the unit would not finish its cycle. This is when the nightmare started. LG customer DIS-service directed me to use Best Servicers of America to perform the warranty repair. I've come to learn now that Best Servicers gets an F rating from the BBB. The "technician" they sent came totally unprepared--he was borrowing MY TOOLS!!! He damaged the mounting ears on the frame of the unit because he was unaware that dishwashers are screwed into the cabinet walls with granite countertops. More tools borrowed, he proceeded to tip the dishwasher onto my brand new Pergo Slate flooring and water poured out; under the cabinets, under the fridge. Now I have water under my Pergo flooring, a damaged and unrepaired dishwasher, and I'm having to argue with LG AND Best Servicers about who is responsible for making this situation right. To LG: your reputation is only as good as your support for warranty issues. To everyone purchasing LG products: DO NOT allow Best Servicers to work on your appliances. Tell LG you want a reputable service company, and CHECK THEM at BBB before allowing them into your home. March 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor customer service I bought this about a month ago and it arived with a faulty main board. After a week to get the lg service guy out he told me it would take 2-4 weeks to get the part in. I called lg back and they said they would get me a new one just submit proof of purchace etc. I complied then called back after a few days to be told it takes 2-3 bussiness day to process. I call again after a week and they say it will be another week to approve the process. Save yourself the headache and choose another brand. July 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I absolutely would not recommend this dishwasher. I have trouble getting the lower rack back in its position especially after it has been loaded. The wheels are not correctly sized for the washer making it almost impossible to push it back in place. I have broken several dishes just trying to do so. The wheels on the lower rack really needs to be corrected by the manufacturer. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The dishwasher fit perfectly and has great features The dishwasher was easy to install fitting perfectly in the place the old one was removed. The stainless steel tub and outside surface is durable and attractive. It is very quiet when running and it is very good in cleaning all dishes, pots and pans, etc. We are extremely satisfied with the dishwasher. January 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what i thought The inside is terrible the plates fall over each other and so do the glasses and they don't get clean. The normal cycle takes 21/2 hrs. The inside is poorly designed. I wish I had read the reviews before I bought it. November 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst purchase ever I bought this dishwasher new. It lasted three years and is now ready for pick up by waste management because the repair would require a complete tear down. We thought it was the electronic boards but it wasn't nor was it the power control board. The dishes never got really clean and always had to use extra spot remover. My repair person said by a Bosch instead. November 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Going to replace 3 years later... If you want to throw away a dishwasher 3 years after you buy it, then maybe this one is for you. There are a few things a dishwasher should do. One is wash dishes, which this one does not. So, if you pretty much want to wash your dishes before placing in dishwasher, then this one may be a good choice. The other thing that helps is when you push the power button, the dishwasher turns on. Nope, 3 yrs later this piece of junk won't turn on reliably. Anyways, I'm going to have it replaced, bc it isn't worth the repair cost. Also, I personally feel a 2 hour cycle is long (esp since most of the plates will have food on them when the cycle is over). June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love my dishwasher Has adjustable top shelf for high items placed in the top. Super quiet. Love it!! December 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst dishwasher It just doesn't get things clean, especially silverware. It's very quiet but I wish I still had my old loud dishwasher that got things cleaner. Don't buy it. November 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No drying We are regretting this purchase as it doesn't dry the dishes. November 11, 2014
  • 2015-05-28T10:44:24.565-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_328, tr_328
  • loc_en_US, sid_202864027, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>