Model # K2515-1

Internet #100670932

Store SKU #463643

Store SO SKU #463643

Lincoln Electric Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
0015082664965

Lincoln Electric

Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder

  • 230-Volt input, wide 30-180 Amp welding output range
  • Welds up to 1/2 in. mild steel using flux-cored wire without gas
  • MIG weld up to 3/16 in. in a single pass with gas
$634.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Get it done with the Weld-Pak 180HD for farm, light fabrication, auto or home projects. If you have access to industrial 208/230-Volt input power, you can weld on thicker material - up to 3/16 in. with MIG welding and 1/2 in. with gas-less flux-cored welding. Simple 2 knob tapped control makes it easy to tackle thin steel, stainless or aluminum sheet metal with MIG or thicker steel with flux-cored welding. Compare the precise drive, rugged construction and full list of standard accessories. Lincoln Weld-Pak is an excellent choice.

  • Wide 30-180 Amp welding output range - use 0.025 in. wire on the thinnest sheet metal up to 0.045 in. flux-cored wire on thick plate
  • MIG weld 24-Gauge up to 3/16 in. sheet metal in a single pass; weld up to 1/2 in. steel using self-shielded Lincoln inner shield wire (FCAW-S)
  • Spool gun ready add the optional magnum 100SG spool gun for reliable operation at the high wire feed speeds aluminum welding demands; no expensive outboard modules required
  • 3-year Lincoln warranty/90 days on gun and cable assembly
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

42 Questions87 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
 
7 answers

will this weld 1/8 inch thick aluminum

This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Asked by
jghill
yrtle beach
April 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2016
Answer: 
You'll need the optional spool set up and a lot of practice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
ROWLETT TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 22, 2013
Answer: 
i can help you there the welder 180 hd Wide 30-180 amp welding
output range.
– MIG weld 24 gauge up to 3/16 in.
(4.8 mm) sheet metal in a single
pass. Weld up to 1/2 in. (12.7 mm)
steel using self-shielded
Lincoln Electric Innershield
-7points
2out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful9

Asked by
VT
Read all my Q&A
July 28, 2013
Answer: 
You will need the Lincoln Electric Magnum Spool gun. Not 100% sure the welding capacity but the spool gun kit is for the 180HD and should work well. Might be worth a quick call to lincoln or go to the lincoln welding site for accurate information. The spool gun kit should be fine for 1/8 inch but verify, don't take my word for it!
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
central jersey
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes,it can. You will have to get a bottle of gas,and a different liner for the machine. if its a big project,it would also be worth it to get the magnum pro spool gun thats available. the gas ,liner,and spool gun can be purchased at your local welding supply shop.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 25, 2013
Answer: 
You would have to buy a magnum 100sg spool gun to use with this welder to weld aluminum. You will need to use pure argon gas. It will work.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Carriere ms
Read all my Q&A
April 24, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it will weld aluminum but u have to buy the spool gun separate its about 230$
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Marilyn
Cleveland
April 24, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it will weld up to 3/16 and you should be using Superglaze 4043 (ED030308) for aluminum.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
 
7 answers

Does this welder plug into a standard outlet or does it have to be wire into big power? If not, which welder could I get to plug into a 110 outlet?

This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Asked by
Paul
February 13, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 7, 2015
Answer: 
no it can not . I would recommend the Hobart 210 mvp.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
ROWLETT TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 22, 2013
Answer: 
the weld 180hd use 208v/220v. the welder 140hd use 120v 20amps an the welder 125hd use 120v 20amps.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
VT
Read all my Q&A
July 28, 2013
Answer: 
The 180HD is 230 volt, it uses a similar plug to that of a electric stove or dryer.
You want to go with a 115volt welder if you only have a standard outlet to use. Be sure the outlet you plan to use has a 20 amp service and is safe to draw power through. I think you may be happy with the 140 size welder?
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2013
Answer: 
This is a 220 volt unit. I made a cord for mine that plugs into an old 220 electric dryer outlet in my garage. If you need a 110 volt unit, look into the Weldpack 140. I have a friend who is in the iron gate business and swears by it. Good luck.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Traverse City, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2013
Answer: 
This welder does require 220v 40amp per owners manual. The largest Lincoln makes in 120v is the lincoln Migpak 140 and this requires 120v outlet with a 20amp breaker.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Cleveland
Read all my Q&A
February 14, 2013
Answer: 
Paul, no this Weld Pak 180 requires 220 volts and cannot be converted. The Weld Pak HD, Weld Pak 125 HD and Weld Pak 140 HD all operate on 120 volts, which I believe you are referring to. Those (3) welders are all available on Home Depot dotcom.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 13, 2013
Answer: 
This welder needs big power. 208/230 volt [ at least 20 amp breaker ] . The 140 amp welder plugs into house voltage [ 110/120 ] you will still need a 20 amp breaker or larger. I would suggest going with the HD-180 welder. It welds thicker steel and does a better job. Most houses have a clothes dryer, that is 208/220 volt . some people use this plugin for the welder. I hope this helps you.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
 
5 answers

What's the duty cycle on this thing?

This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Asked by
kwhit190211
Duquesne, Pa. 15110
December 21, 2012
I don't know why you guys don't include the duty cycle of the welders you have listed in your specs. That is some very important imformation to know before I buy a welder or not.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 27, 2016
Answer: 
A duty cycle is in a 10 minute interval. So if the duty cycle is 30% that would translate to 3 minutes in a 10 minute time period. 40%DC (duty cycle) =4 min
100% DC=non stop welding.
Welders should come with the specs/ & duty cycle/amperage rating specs. Good machines have heat over load protection to shut off the machine to cool.
Hope this helps!
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
new orleans
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 16, 2016
Answer: 
what does duty cycle mean for a welder?
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4

Asked by
central jersey
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2013
Answer: 
30 perccent
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

December 27, 2012
Answer: 
Hello,
We are in the process of ensuring all spec sheets for our machines are uploaded on Home Depot.com. I apologize for the missing information.
The duty cycle on this machine is 30% @ 130amps.
Please let me know if you have any other questions.
Thanks,
Lincoln Electric
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
December 21, 2012
Answer: 
30 % duty cycle
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
 
4 answers

Can you weld stick with lincoln electric weld pak 180 or is it just for wire feed only.

This question is from Weld Pak 180 HD Wire Feed Welder
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Oregon
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
Answer: 
I don't think you could stick weld with this welder because of the circuitry.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Carefree
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Wire feed only. MIG.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
Nope. Unfortunately you cannot. However, I've owned this one for three or four years and love it. Since I got this machine, I haven't stick-welded anything. You can use flux core wire or mig if you get an argon or co2 bottle.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Norton Vermont
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
NO, it is only wire. You can use both regular wire and the flux core though so the flux core doesn't need the gas.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T22:29:17.643-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100670932, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best MIG in your home garage I'm a welder my self and I'm surprised to see this welding machine function the way I weld at my shop. I bought this to build my Honda ruckus. I bought the 75/25 gas mixture hooked it up and went on to welding. There's different settings to get the perfect weld. I set it up at 3 C AND GAS AT 10. All around best setting for any thickness. Just remember to have the ground on negative and whip on positive. October 18, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very good machine This is not a cheap low quality machine. I bought mine almost a year ago and have used it on my hot rod chassis and suspension as well as all other fabrication work. Many items with HD on the name usually imply Heavy Duty. In this case the HD means Home Depot. This means that the HD model is slightly different than what you'd get at a welding supply store. On the HD model, many of the interior workings are plastic, not aluminum. If you intend to use it professionally, get the other. If you are a weekend warrior like me, buy the "HD". The 100 to 150 bucks you save will buy a lot of grinding discs. Either way, it's a great machine. March 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Versatile and easy adjustments I have owned this welder for over a year now and had great success making solid clean welds. I am using shielding gas to aid in the process. I am not an expert welder, but my career is in the weld inspection field. I know what a good weld should look like! I have found the instructions easy to follow when changing settings for different materials and thicknesses. Their table inside the cover gives great starting points for setting the controls on the system. You may have to make minor adjustments to get the best welding performance out of the system. It has been a solid performer with no issues in the year + I have owned and used it. September 18, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High Quality Unit MIG welders are a total joy to use and it's easy to understand why they've replaced most of the stick welders. I added an 87 cubic-foot tank of argon/CO2 and a cart. The unit arrived set up for flux-core welding wire and I needed to change gun tip, feed roller, and polarity for use with gas. The gun has a nice 10-foot lead. You will soon need a 10 or 12 pound spool of wire, but the sample roll is certainly enough to use the first day or so. This is a high quality machine for home use with accessories and parts available. I asked several professional welders and they recommended this 220 Volt machine. December 4, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by You can't plug it into existing 220 outlets. It's extremely unlikely you will already have a proper power receptacle. Just bought the 180 welder to finish some urgent work. I won't be welding anytime soon because the plug won't fit any of the three types of 220 outlets in my garage or workshop. I can't plug it into my 220v 20A or my 220v 50A outlets in my shop, even though I had those outlets installed specifically for a welder when I had the shop built. You can't plug it into a dryer outlet either. You can buy an adapter from a welding supply. They're expensive. Cheapest I've found was $35. Most were around $60, up to around $120. Or, you could pay for the permit, the electrician and inspector to install a receptacle. (You give your homeowners an excuse not to pay a fire claim if you change the outlet yourself without a permit and inspection.) September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welder I purchased this welder 3 years ago and have used it much more then expected. I have had no problems with it nor has there been a problem with the welding wires I have used. I do not have a gas tank for it yet, but with the flux wire I really don't need it for the work I do. The only thing I would do differently is to get a traditional type of helmet instead of the auto darkening one I have. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I should have bought this a long time ago. I love my new Lincoln wire feed welder, it was very easy to setup with the easy to follow instructions. I've been welding with it for several weeks now and it performs great. I have several welding projects lined up and this welder will make my projects a lot easier. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressed I set this welder up and within minutes was able to adjust the speed and temps with ease. I am hooked up to argon and very impressed with the bead quality and penetration this small unit gives me. Good job Lincoln July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Welder + Great Price= Good Sense After doing a bit of research we found that this was the best for the average do it yourselfer. It's a great package for the occassional welder. Looking forward to getting many past due jobs done. I feel that I am going to get great performance with this Lincoln Welder. Have a Lincoln stick welder for years and it works great still. I would suggest this welder to anyone that is need a good dependable welder at a great price. Happy Welding!!! February 20, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality unit Seems great! Would recommend! Lincoln electric quality for an affordable price! August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welder!! Just got this welder, I was a little skeptical as it is a lot cheaper than something like a Miller of the same size. I didn't have time to get the argon but had a project to do. Ran the .035 flux wire. I had to weld some 1/4 inch and some sheet metal. It did both with ease!! Very easy welder to use, works flawlessly! Perfect for home projects, car repairs,etc. Great deal!! July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is one great little welding machine I've been a welder/fabrication mechanic for over 25 years,and have used quite a few welding machines,and this machine is ,for the price,the best machine out there. I bought this one to replace the Lincoln 175 hd,that I bought,brand new,7 years ago. That one still works,but i wanted to do aluminum,so i needed more heat. This truly is one great little machine. April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welder and customer service through HD Excellent welder for light to moderate welding. Previously had a 120v 100amp mig welder. While the 120v worked great on fixing light metal like cracks on mower decks, light brackets, etc. it lacked the punch to weld deep enough to get a strong hold on thicker metal or anything that received any significant stress. In comes the lincoln 180. I had a crack in my trailer that the weld consistently broke from my 100a. I fired up my new lincoln and put it on it's second to highest setting and got a deep burn and fantastic pooling using flux on 1/4 steel. I finally have a weld I feel confident that will hold. Fantastic welder, I finally have a welder strong enough to fix frames or breaks on any of my farm implements. Also kudos to HD customer service, The original purchased unit had a broken amperage knob. Took it back to HD and exchanged for a new one no questions asked. Was in and out of the store in less than 5 minutes. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by powerful yet compact I purchased this welder when my 20 year old Lincoln 140 gave up the ghost. Every aspect of the welder has been improved, I'm happy to say. The arc starts faster and smoother, the wire feed mechanism is easier to use and has a more positive feed, and the unit has sufficient power to easily weld 1/4 inch stock, with excellent penetration. (I've sawed welds in half to check that). The regulator supplied also functions quite well. In making the sculpture pictured I had to attach 700 3/8" diameter14 gauge wire rings to the tentacles; that went quite smoothly, despite the fact that the tentacles are 3/8 inch steel. The power cord is flimsier than I would like, and the placement of the power switch could be better. I may swap out the cord to a heavier gauge. Other than than that I'm extremely satisfied. The price was lower than any other dealer or E-Bay seller, and I was able to pick it up at my local store the same day, which was a great convenience March 6, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good welder BUT.... This machine welds steel without missing a beat. It will not weld aluminum out of the box. you need to buy the additional 200$ spool gun to go with it. That little piece of information is not provided. Lincoln advertises it will do it all out of the weld pack box. Tack on another 200$ more it will. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by reviews are important did not believe that reviews are real but here i am writing one so anyway.... i wish they could make a 120 volt model this stong it never over heated and i welded some perty long beads... i have no regets..... when this one goes out ill buy one just like it... i have no use for anything stronger the 180 is great July 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great [ small ] welder . This welder is limited to how thick of steel it will weld. For its size . it works well. I need to buy a larger mig welder for the stuff I weld. This is portable and lite. I will keep it. I am still shopping for a bigger one [ 250 amp mig]. October 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welder I have been a welder for 20 years. This is a great little welder, it will handle all you home task and lite industrial.It is a very good price and a very good welder, works great with the gassless wire too. I would not hesitate buying another one just like it. It does a superburb job. December 28, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by After researching several welders, I purchased this welder for my husband as a gift. He LOVES it!! So many outdoor projects have been completed with the help of this welder!! Great product with a great price!! Good for the experienced welder or the beginning welder!! September 18, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time welder and I love it. I bought this as an all purpose welder for my property. I have already used it to repair a fender on my log splitter and to fix a broken hinge on my hydraulic landscaping trailer. I have yet to get to all the features but have had great results with what I have done. September 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great welder I bought the lincolin 180hd its a great mochine to use also easy to use my wife can even weld with it April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Welder Works great, easy to use. Since I purchased it I've made a 7x14 trailer with it and have had no problems. Makes welding 1/4" steel together easy, July 10, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works very well The welder took some getting use to but after a few test welds I was able to adjust it so everything works great now. February 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little welder I have been welding for ten years and have owned many welders. This one performs well right out of the box, easy to set up and makes a good clean weld. July 5, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Works very well, priced the best of any I could find, and delivered very quickly. May 13, 2012
  • 2016-10-30 T12:46:49.565-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_100670932, prod, sort_default
<<2
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 126ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT