0027557000086

Lutron

Model CTCL-153PDH-WH

Internet #202517700

Store SKU #267858

Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

$21.97 /each
Color/Finish: White
  • Almond
  • Black
  • Brown
  • Gray
  • Ivory
  • Light Almond
  • White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Contour C.L dimmer provides optimal dimming performance of LED bulbs. This dimmer works with up to 150-Watt of dimmable LED/CFL or 600-Watt of incandescent/halogen, allowing you to control multiple bulb types on the same circuit. It is designed to control a broad range of dimmable LED and CFL bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, Cree, GE, EcoSmart and Lighting Science. The Contour dimmer features a smooth slide, captive knob to adjust your light to any activity. Use the rocker switch to turn your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Coordinating Claro wall plate sold separately.

  • For use with up to 150-Watt of LED and CFL bulbs (please see compatible bulb list under specifications)
  • Also controls up to 600-Watt of incandescent and halogen bulbs
  • Can be used in single pole or 3-way applications
  • Features a captive knob to adjust lights and a rocker switch to turn lights on/off or to preset level
  • Coordinating wall plates sold separately
  • Contour design with a smooth-slide captive knob for precise lighting control
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

13 Questions28 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
 
5 answers

Will this one dimmer handle 6 65 W equivalent bulbs?

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 7, 2015
I have used this dimmer on 2 other set ups but they do not have 6 bulbs---only 4.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
las vegas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
as long as they are already on same cuiscuit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Toronto
Read all my Q&A
June 18, 2015
Answer: 
None of these replies are correct when it comes to LED lamps. I.E. they are wrong.
Yes, dimmers have a max load rating, Yes LED lamps are in the 6-10 watt "rating". And this rating is correct when they are running. However, none of the previous replies reference "inrush current".
I am a LED fixture and bulb manufacturer. I am also a Lutron OEM supplier. I have been after Lutron to give us a max lamp per
Read More
None of these replies are correct when it comes to LED lamps. I.E. they are wrong.
Yes, dimmers have a max load rating, Yes LED lamps are in the 6-10 watt "rating". And this rating is correct when they are running. However, none of the previous replies reference "inrush current".
I am a LED fixture and bulb manufacturer. I am also a Lutron OEM supplier. I have been after Lutron to give us a max lamp per dimmer figure for over a year, and they have yet to come up with it.
That being said, inrush current in lay terms is the momentary power rush used by an LED lamp. It plays havoc with ALL makes of dimmers (not switches) and causes a multitude of problems.
Buy a good dimmer from a vendor with a good warranty. Don't think of overloading the dimmer.
Have look at this cross reference if you like http://www.liteline.com/product_other/LED_Compatible_Dimmers.pdf
Read Less
+6points
12out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful6

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 11, 2015
Answer: 
This dimmer would not go by the equivalent wattage, but instead the actual wattage of the CFL or LED bulbs being used. So for example if the 65W equivalent bulb only used 8W of energy, you would use the 8W instead of the 65W. As long as the total is under the 150W maximum, you should not have any problem with 6 bulbs however you will still want to make sure the bulbs being used are on Lutron’s approved Read More
This dimmer would not go by the equivalent wattage, but instead the actual wattage of the CFL or LED bulbs being used. So for example if the 65W equivalent bulb only used 8W of energy, you would use the 8W instead of the 65W. As long as the total is under the 150W maximum, you should not have any problem with 6 bulbs however you will still want to make sure the bulbs being used are on Lutron’s approved LED list. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2015
Answer: 
You SHOULD be able to. This dimmer is rated for 150W. So if you want to put six bulbs on it, they will each have to be less than 25W (150W / 6 bulbs). A typical 60W equivalent CFL bulb is actually 13W. A typical 60W equivalent LED bulb is closer to 10W. So you SHOULD be okay. However, please double check the actual wattage of the bulbs that you plan to use and make sure they are less than 25W each.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 9, 2015
Answer: 
add up the total number of watts for your bulbs.The max wattage is 150 W for CFL/LED, or 600 W Incandescent/Halogen. For the Incandescent/Halogen the max number of watts must be reduced if any of the side fins are removed on the switch. Here is the website for the spec sheet. http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocumentLibrary/369-334A.pdf
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
 
4 answers

Will these switches flicker at low settings with GE LED 10w dimmable recessed downlights (model # 14812)?

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 23, 2014
I currently have two sets of 3 of these downlights installed. When they are dimmed, they flicker badly. I don't know the brand of the dimmable switch currently installed (but I know it's not Lutron). The box for these lights lists the Skylark Contour CTCL-153P as a compatible dimmer. I don't want to go to the trouble of changing the switches if they are still going to flicker at the lower settings.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
The Motor City
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 10, 2015
Answer: 
When I installed a couple of these newer Skylar Contour units, I found that they are equipped with a feature that specifically is intended to address the low-setting flicker problem. They have an adjustment feature that is to be set when installing the dimmer (face plate covers the adjustment control) that allows three choices for the lowest dim level so that flicker can be eliminated. I played with it a Read More
When I installed a couple of these newer Skylar Contour units, I found that they are equipped with a feature that specifically is intended to address the low-setting flicker problem. They have an adjustment feature that is to be set when installing the dimmer (face plate covers the adjustment control) that allows three choices for the lowest dim level so that flicker can be eliminated. I played with it a bit and it worked easily for my halogen incandescent lamps. I will likely need to re-adjust it when I switch to LED lamps in the near future. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Bridgewater, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
I would say most likely yes.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
East Setauket, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2014
Answer: 
In my very short experience (one night), the answer is NO.
There is no flicker at all, even when dimming (5) LEDs to only about 15% of full brightness setting (85% dimmed). There is only some very faint flickering in (1) LED when the dimmer is set to minimum (I guess that is equivalent to less than 10% maximum, or 90% dimmed).
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 25, 2014
Answer: 
It is difficult to say as all LEDs are manufactured differently. Some LEDs may have trouble staying stable at low light levels. The CTCL-153PDH-WH is designed to handle LEDs at lower light levels but we would not be able to say how low the dimmer can take it before the bulb is unable to stay stable. That being said, one advantage to the CTCL-153PDH dimmer is that there is a low end trim adjustment, so if Read More
It is difficult to say as all LEDs are manufactured differently. Some LEDs may have trouble staying stable at low light levels. The CTCL-153PDH-WH is designed to handle LEDs at lower light levels but we would not be able to say how low the dimmer can take it before the bulb is unable to stay stable. That being said, one advantage to the CTCL-153PDH dimmer is that there is a low end trim adjustment, so if you do get down to a specific level and the LED begins flickering, you can turn the wheel and adjust how low the dimmer will go, and in turn cancel out the levels where the bulb is unstable. Read Less
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
 
3 answers

Does this switch have a night light when it is off?

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Putnam county NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2016
Answer: 
No, this specific model does not. They make a pretty wide range though, and I'll bet you would be able to find one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Shingle Springs, CA
Read all my Q&A
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
There is no night-light on this switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 6, 2016
Answer: 
No, this product does not have a night light when off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
 
2 answers

Can i use this switch for a ceiling fan with lights?

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

August 15, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the switch can be used for a ceiling fan with lights.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2016
Answer: 
You can use this product to dim the lights on a ceiling fan if the lights are controlled separately from the fan but this product is not rated to control a fan directly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T13:08:07.098-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202517700, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fits the bill Needed this for an LED light - specified by the manufacturer. It does the job and looks good - but I thought they were a bit pricey. August 2, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by About half right. Installed fairly easily, seems to be of good construction. However, it does not dim the LED light regularly. It works 'properly' about 50% of the time. The other times, it causes the blinking/ strobe effect which some of these products do. I tried it with several compatible bulbs (you do have to make sure the switch is used with the correct type of bulb), same outcome each time. The draw of the LED bulb is very small, which may affect the dimmer. It was attempted on a single fixture with a single bulb in it. I'll probably have to either go back to a standard switch in this room, or change out the fixture and dimmer switch. No worries Home Depot has a reasonable return policy! : ) June 15, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works great, but should have push-in connections Works great, but should have push in connects or quick connects August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Well made quality dimmer switch that will handle dimming your new LED light bulbs! July 26, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD DIMMER FOR THE PRICE I AM PLEASED WITH THIS KIND OF DIMMER I INSTALL THEM FREQUENTLY WITH THE LED RECESSED LIGHTS June 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dimmer Switch Was able to convert my standard light switch to a dimmer switch with little problem. June 1, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3 way led dimmer Product is good for use in small business and home May 31, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High quality This works well for LEDs. You can adjust it so the lowest setting is very dim. May 3, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great switch Easy install. Works great. Long slide to adjust light. Also can be wired with a regular threeway switch. May 10, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by flickers with commercial electric Purchased this dimmer because the 4" commercial electric LED's I purchased identify this as a compatible dimmer. Well, I installed it and had an instant light show. All 6 of my LED's were flickering. I adjusted the light amount and double checked my wiring and still got flickering. Could be a bad dimmer? Will be returning. April 20, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase, i would recommend it to a friend The installation was easy as well as the manuel, i took about 10 minutes to install April 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works well Instructions were simple and easy to follow. The switch works well and looks good. July 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dimmer for LED Lights The Skylark LED Dimmer Lights Switch was affordable, easy to install and works great. February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Light the Way My kitchen has six ceiling lights that could land airplanes because they are so bright. The Lutron dimmer did the trick! It was an easy install, and took only about 20 minutes. March 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dimmer Very easy to install and the switch works perfectly March 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dimmer Switch I like the design of the modern dimmer switch. It gives the room a modern touch. It works with LED Bulbs or regular bulbs. February 23, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for dimable light bulbs It does not work that good with dimable light bulb it starts flickering i would not recommend February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by dimmer switches works great. The old dimmers didn't work with the new LED bulbs. Look good too. I am glad I bought these. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product was easy to install and looks great in our home. Photo of installed dimmable switch with unbreakable nylon plate cover. Easy to follow installation instructions in package, stylish design. A nice, easy and modern upgrade to our older home. I have replaced all my old dimmer switches with the model. Very satisfied. Only downside is the switches are a little expensive. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Product It was difficult to find bathroom lights that were not too bright. This dimmer switch was an easy way to control the light in my bathroom. It fit the existing junction box. I did have to buy a new face plate, and I choose a metal plate for extra strength. So far it works fine. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one switch for all I bought this switch - and in a 3pack (to save on cost) - to replace all my older halogen dimmer switches. So far, so good. I am replacing halogens with LEDS, and my old switches did not support the LEDS. This supports everything, and can handle all the various hook up options. I am saving money already with my LEDS too. January 26, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good dimmer with very good switch layout. Easy to install. Good profile for an older box. Very good layout of switch and dimmer control. February 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looks Good & Works Flawlessly First of all, I checked the Lutron website and confirmed that my LED lamps were compatible with this dimmer. I purchased the dimmer at our local Home Depot, which had a nice display with the various Lutron products (I originally went in the store and was going to buy the Lutron Maestro but the Skylark worked out better for my needs). I installed the dimmer, which took all of about 5 minutes, and Yes you must turn off the the circuit breaker to avoid damaging the dimmer switch. And now my LED lamps are working GREAT, they dim very low with the slide all the way down. Absolutely No Flickering, No Humming/Buzzing. Very Happy with this purchase. My LED lights are Feit brand, BR30 style. November 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as advertised, great value! I purchased 2 of these dimmers and have each controlling 6 Ecosmart 6" LED retrofits ECO-575L. I am extremely happy with their performance and can honestly say that it is a good product. Like another reviewer said, there is an adjustment wheel, and it all depends on the dimming ability of your bulbs. March 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dimmer Dimmer can be used for CFL or LED bulbs either as single or 3-way switch. I like the fact that toggle switch portion is separate from dimmer, which is a slider. December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and very user friendly. Very easy installation, easy to follow instructions. December 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Dimmer I have in the house The Dimmer was easy to install. Being able to use LED lights with a dimmer is great. December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dimmer Easy install flush mount! Item can either be push connected or wire capped! Very adjustable dimmer better than many slight dimmjng boxes December 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's just a dimmer switch I needed a dimmer switch for an office reception area, we had more lighting installed and it was a bit brighter than expected. While the added brightness was okay, we decided to put some control to it so the times when all the brightness wasn't needed we could 'dim' the light given by the new lights. The solution was naturally a dimmer switch, it installed easily and does what it was intended, dims and brightens at the 'slide of a switch', and there's a flip of the switch available when we want to turn off the lights w/o moving the dim slider from it's desired set position. The dimmer switch did the trick, but then, it's just a dimmer switch. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it Using it in a chandelier with an LED bulb. Works great. Quick and Easy to install. Replaced a 30 year old dial dimmer. November 13, 2015
  • 2016-09-08 T14:44:53.158-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_129, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_202517700, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5 6 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT