0027557000086

Lutron

Model # CTCL-153PDH-WH

Internet # 202517700

Store SKU # 267858

Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

$21.97 /each
Color/Finish: White
  • Almond
  • Black
  • Brown
  • Gray
  • Ivory
  • Light Almond
  • White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Contour C.L dimmer provides optimal dimming performance of LED bulbs. This dimmer works with up to 150-Watt of dimmable LED/CFL or 600-Watt of incandescent/halogen, allowing you to control multiple bulb types on the same circuit. It is designed to control a broad range of dimmable LED and CFL bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, Cree, GE, EcoSmart and Lighting Science. The Contour dimmer features a smooth slide, captive knob to adjust your light to any activity. Use the rocker switch to turn your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Coordinating Claro wall plate sold separately.

  • For use with up to 150-Watt of LED and CFL bulbs (please see compatible bulb list under specifications)
  • Also controls up to 600-Watt of incandescent and halogen bulbs
  • Can be used in single pole or 3-way applications
  • Features a captive knob to adjust lights and a rocker switch to turn lights on/off or to preset level
  • Coordinating wall plates sold separately
  • Contour design with a smooth-slide captive knob for precise lighting control

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
1.75 
Product Height (in.) 
Product Width (in.) 

Details

Amperage (amps) 
1.25 
Color Family 
White 
Color/Finish 
White 
Electrical Features 
LED/CFL Compatible,Programmable 
Electrical Product Type 
Dimmer 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Voltage (volts) 
120 
Wall Plate Included 
No 
Wattage (watts) 
150 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 Year 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

14 Questions27 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
2 answers

Lights flicker

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
May 22, 2016
I have 4 lights on this switch. Occasionally they will flicker on and off. Is that because of the 150 Watts for LED lights. If I am reading the description correctly they only draw 17 Watts per Bulb or a total of 68 watts

I have two identical sets in two different rooms and they both flicker occasionally

Bulbs are Sylvania T64T007540
LED 17PAR 38/DIM/850/FL40?W 120Vac 60 HZ 147mA 17WSH1423 1300 Lumens 5000k 40"
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Putnam county NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2016
Answer: 
I had similar problem, with several different bulb makes/ models. I did eventually try a Phillips 60 watt equivalent Soft White dimmable LED bulb which has worked flawlessly. I am operating a single fixture only however, but might be worth a try in your setup.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 31, 2016
Answer: 
Flickering lights are normally a sign of incompatibility between the dimmer and the LED lights that you are working with since at this time, there are no manufacturing standards for LED bulbs. The best way to find a proper dimmer for your lights would be to contact the manufacture of the bulbs or if you would like to find lights that work well with the Lutron dimmer, you can use their tool at Read More
Flickering lights are normally a sign of incompatibility between the dimmer and the LED lights that you are working with since at this time, there are no manufacturing standards for LED bulbs. The best way to find a proper dimmer for your lights would be to contact the manufacture of the bulbs or if you would like to find lights that work well with the Lutron dimmer, you can use their tool at lutron.com/ledtool. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

Can you use two dimmers in a three way circuit

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
With this product line it is not possible to use two dimmers in a three way together. Instead you could use our Maestro products which use master and companion dimmers so you can have multiple dimmers in a circuit together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What LED light fixture will work with this dimmer switch and not cause flicker. I have epilepsy and get migraines

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Topeka, KS
Read all my Q&A
April 12, 2016
We installed a Commercial Electric LED 9 " round light (no bulbs required) and installed the Lutron Skylark Contour dimmer today. I notice it flickers whether it's on low light or high light. Hubby noticed it, but I'm more aware of it because of my neurologically different brain activity.
We installed in daughter's room because I'm noticing she's sleeping with the light on and figured if the light was at least dimmed she might get a better sleep (she's a toddler on the spectrum and I don't want her having a lamp or night light that she could mess with) .
Anyhow, tomorrow I'm thinking I need to remove the light fixture and replace with another that takes bulbs (my original choice anyway), but which light fixtures are compatible? Or will they all flicker on a dimmer switch? Hubby seems to think so, which would be incredibly disappointing if we have to return both the fixture and the dimmer switch.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 20, 2016
Answer: 
There are light fixtures that would be compatible with this dimmer and would stop the flickering from occurring. Unfortunately though there is no manufacturing standard for dimming LED lights at this time which can lead to varying quality of LED products. Lutron has done extensive testing with LED products to find the best bulbs for our dimmers and has created a website devoted to helping customers find Read More
There are light fixtures that would be compatible with this dimmer and would stop the flickering from occurring. Unfortunately though there is no manufacturing standard for dimming LED lights at this time which can lead to varying quality of LED products. Lutron has done extensive testing with LED products to find the best bulbs for our dimmers and has created a website devoted to helping customers find the best LED bulbs and fixtures for our products. This information can be found here, http://www.lutron.com/en-US/Education-Training/Pages/LCE/DimmingCFLsandLEDs.aspx. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Does this switch have a night light when it is off?

This question is from Skylark Contour 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Putnam county NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2016
Answer: 
No, this specific model does not. They make a pretty wide range though, and I'll bet you would be able to find one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Shingle Springs, CA
Read all my Q&A
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
There is no night-light on this switch.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 6, 2016
Answer: 
No, this product does not have a night light when off.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-07-25 T20:08:56.257-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202517700, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 158 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Life Expectancy Bought this product in April 2012 so basically 2 1/2 years ago. Just died today..can see why they have a 1 year warranty! Besides -- the price is now almost 33% higher than it was then. Nothing fancy in terms of bulbs either...basic incandescent indoor flood lightbulb. Limited sample size..but my guess is that if it stops working after only 2 1/2 years for me...many others will have experienced the same problem. December 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too many problems We renovated and added about 18 of these dimmers. We ended up returning about 5 of them as they were defective. I bought them because Lutron is supposed to be a reputable brand, and they were not the best value. With a 27% failure rate is not acceptable from any company! Not happy with them, but we are to far into the process of he renovation to change them out at this point. December 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They work with my LED track lights. Initially, there was some flickering. However, when I mixed LEDs and Halogens on the same track, the flickering went away. June 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by There is a delay with my 2 incandescent bulbs I replaced a working switch in my bathroom with this switch because I wanted a dimmer switch. I chose this one because I am gradually replacing the incandescent bulbs in my house with LEDs. There is just one switch in the circuit and this is it. There are just 2 incandescent light bulbs. That is it. It is tough to miswire that. There is an appreciable delay between when I throw the rocker switch and when the bulbs light up. It is the only switch inside my house or outside that does this. I hate it. I have never gotten over the delay. It may work OK for CFLs and LEDs. It does not work well with my 2 incandescent bulbs. Just for the sake of discussion, my two light bulbs are about 200 watts total. That is well below the 600 watts for incandescent bulbs that this switch is rated for. Here is switch that does not work well with incandescents. Who knew? October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant product Usual Lutron high quality.Can be matched to non-cfl /led dimmer of same design. April 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lutron dimmer This dimmer does indeed control LED lamps, and the design fits in with decor switches. January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It does the job It controlled the LED bulbs without them flickering. February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install Works like i expected and was easy to install. I would recommend. Will not work with some type bulbs January 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Flickers Doesn't work well with LED's. Flickers when you dim lights at any level. January 22, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Limited Dimming Range This switch has a very limiting CFL Bulb dimming range. You can adjust this range by using the small color coded "lower" dimming wheel (read install instructions with switch). The default setting is green (limited Low Dim Range). When you try using the next 3 settings- Blue- Orange-Purple-, you get lamp flicker, and extreme slider control sensitivity. Also, when CFL bulbs are dimmed, you get a rather annoying, loud, "HUMMM" from the CFL Bulbs. Lucky for me Home Depot has a great product return policy. This product does not work well with CFL Lamps (bulbs). March 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dimmer Switch Installation went well, but the instructions need to be simplified in order for an 'electrical' novice to get the wiring correct the first time through. If the wiring colors mentioned in the instructions do not match, then you have a second issue to deal with. I am basing these comments off the fact that I had a fairly good idea as to what I was doing. Other than that, things went well and the unit works fine. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not compatable with Utilitech LED G2560F-WW I have 4 LED blubs in the bathroom fixture, and this dimmer works very poorly. Utilitech 40-Watt LA19DM/LED don't work either. My other Lutron dimmer (from another store) works much better with 3 different brands of LED bulbs. It only blinks a little, when set for 75% max brightness. The bathroom LEDs will work fine for a while, then later they won't come on until they blink for a few minutes.. Or, won't come on at all, with the slider down all the way. It seems like the dimmer doesn't work with a light load. (low amps). Maybe it's very sensitive to any change in line voltage, when the LEDs are only drawing a few watts of power? If I replace one of the LEDs with a 30w incandescent blub, it works MUCH better. Seems like a max 32w load is not enough for this dimmer. I guess it must be rated for about 600w max and 32w is about 5% of 600w.. Seems like lower LED power use has made this dimmer obsolete.. Precise setting the low limit adjustment isn't possible. Each time I cycle the LEDs off and back on, they will turn on at a different brightness level. Now, we are using it with two incandescent blubs in the middle, with two LED blubs on the ends of the light fixture. Pretty lame.. My wife hates LED lights now. She is furious that I have wasted so much money on LED blubs! At least the other LEDs in the house are working pretty well. October 20, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice look, still buzzes when light dimmed This dimmer was supposed to work fine with the Consumer Electric LED light fixture I purchased, according to Lutron's "approved" list of fixtures. However, it still buzzes quite a bit, which was the problem I had trying to use a non-LED dimmer. This may not be the fault of the dimmer, but of the fixture, which is why I gave it average ratings. I am going to try a different dimmer to see if the results are different. I called Lutron directly and they were very polite and didn't talk down to me. The customer service rep checked with their engineering dept. and said that there would probably not be a way to tell if it was the dimmer without trying it on another device and/or trying a different dimmer with the particular fixture I have. I give Lutron customer service a high rating for the interaction. They also have a good website. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product This switch was easy to install and works great. We liked the look of this switch when compared to the ones that were on display. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works well with Philips AmbientLED Bulbs I was looking for a dimmer switch to power my Philips Ambient LED bulbs in my dining room, since my old dimmer was 30 years old and did not work correctly with LED bulbs. This switch has performed flawlessly for me. During installation, there's a small dial to turn (which is mentioned in the instructions) to set the minimum acceptable brightness for the bulbs. Now, my Philips bulbs have excellent range from very dim to 100% power. I highly recommend this switch for those looking to power LED light bulbs. December 2, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3 way dimmer Works fine, directions were OK for most DIYers. I do wish the connections were by terminal screws, instead of the design for wire nuts only. Maybe I'm just overly cautious. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good energy saver As an electrician I am glad to see the addition of LED/flourescent dimmers to the market. Make sure the flourescent lamps you get are labeled "dimmable". By using these you can save energy by using long long lasting and cool operating lamps that draw less power, and still have the option to adjust the light level. This type lighting also saves energy because it doesn't generate as much heat, saving on A/C costs. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worked but Unintended Consequences Apparently they don't offer the newer switch designs in ivory. The switches work and dim fine with three LEDs in a single circuit. However, when they dim I found that they degraded my internet performance -even through wired Ethernet connections. This must be through some high frequency noise imposed on the power line. They do not seem to have a material impact except when dimming. September 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality Installed the first one and it didn't work (I installed 2 matching). Replaced it and now after a week the second one doesn't work. March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Switches (2) were easy to install. The enclosed directions were good but, with a consumer oriented editor they could be improved. Dimmer control is intuitive to use and works smoothly. These switches were an upgrade along with dimmer friendly LED bulbs. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works with led This is a great dimmer , slowly brings up brightness and same going down. Good feel to slide switch. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by easy to install easy to install and color was exactly what we were looking for April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I needed This is the second one of these dimmers that I've purchased and Home Depot and it is exactly what I needed and the right color. Thanks! January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product. Easy to install. Clear directions. No problems. Works as it should. I installed it over a kitchen breakfast counter with 2 LED lights. December 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Has the common issues with LED bulbs Used with Cree LED bulbs that were on Lutrons approved list. No flickering, but there is still a constant annoying hum. Sure looks nice though. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I am very pleased with this dimmer switch. I recently bought a house built in 1938 and I had to find a brown dimmer switch to match the rest of the decor. Home Depot was the only one who carried them. Thank you Home Depot! April 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Does not work with disklight I bought Commercial Electric 6 in. LED Disk Light For Recessed Can Lighting Model # CED6 WW 120 WH Internet # 202823462 Store SKU # 636840 for use with this dimmer. It did not work. The dimmer may work ok with other lights. It is bulky and doesn't fit well in surface mount wiremold boxes. December 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by it what it is! Nothing special or fancy about this product. Easy to install and matches one we previously owned. We like the big button to dim as it is easy to navigate in the dark while dealing with a baby February 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Magnetic Dimmer, but pricey Works great, but cost more than I thought it would. April 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not for use with the Philips 3.5w DecoLED Bulbs I purchased 8 Philips bulbs at Home Depot (the bulbs are not on this site yet). The bulbs are the Philips DecoLED 3.5w Candles that puts out 150 lumens. I think they are pretty new as I haven't seen these around much. I have a levitron dimmer (HD internet #202051119) installed and notice a slight flicker at certain dim settings. Overall, the dimmer worked pretty well and would dim these bulbs to a very, very low light. I started to read about this Lutron dimmer and how it promised to work better with LED lights. I went to the Lutron site and noticed that my bulbs (and most Philips bulbs) aren't on their qualified list. I thought i would give it a try anyway. Installation was simple and straightforward. It's bascially the same size as the Levitron dimmer. Once I turned on the dimmer the bulbs had a constant flickering. It was so bad that it was basically unusable. I tried it at the highest setting and still flickered. I put it to the lowest setting and it only dimmed the bulbs to about 60% of full brightness. This dimmer had alot less dimming capability than the Levitron. I then tried to play with the minimum dimming dial on the dimmer to see if i could adjust it to lower light. It didn't make it dim any lower. The dimmer also doesn't have the glow light when the light is shut off. A really nice touch on the Levitron This dimmer may work well for other LED's but not the Philips bulbs I purchased. January 9, 2012
  • 2016-07-24 T17:27:54.850-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_158, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_202517700, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT