0088381084352
Discontinued

Makita

Model # BMR100W

Internet # 202213953

18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # BMR100W

Internet # 202213953

Makita's 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless FM/AM Job Site Radio delivers big sound wherever the job takes you. The BMR100W is compact, durable and compatible for iPod and MP3 players. It delivers rich stereo sound from two powerful 3.25 in. side-firing speakers and will run 8 hours from an 18-Volt Compact lithium-Ion battery. For longer run time, the full-size 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion battery can also be used. The BMR100W is part of Makita’s growing 18-Volt LXT cordless line-up, with 65+ tools powered by one 18-Volt Lithium-Ion battery that reaches a full charge in only 30 minutes.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) FM/AM job site radio (BMR100W), (1) A/C adaptor (SE00000077), (1) antenna (SE00000033), (1) AA battery for clock
  • Runs 16 hours from an 18-Volt LXT lithium-ion battery and 8 hours from an 18-Volt compact lithium-ion battery
  • Protective bumper design for added durability
  • Compatible with Makita 9.6-Volt - 24-Volt slide-style and pod-style batteries
  • LXT lithium-ion battery and rapid optimum charger produces 430% total lifetime work with 3x more cycles
  • Accepts Makita 18-Volt LXT lithium-ion battery for even longer run time
  • 3 year warranty
  • Compatible batteries and chargers: BL1830, BL1830-2, DC18SE, DC18RA, DC18RC
  • Battery and charger sold separately
  • Delivers rich stereo sound from two powerful 3-1/4 in. side-firing speakers

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
10.25 
Product Height (in.) 
12 
Product Width (in.) 
6.5 
Details
Battery Life (hours) 
Power Tool Accessory Type 
Other Accessory 
Power Tool Product Type 
Power Tool Accessory 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Safety & Security Product Type 
Weather Radio 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Brand: Makita
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Search
25 Questions72 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)
18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
8 answers

will the radio charge a battery when plugged in?:

This question is from 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)
Asked by
shawn
Salm NH
December 27, 2011
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
murrells inlet sc
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
will not charge battery when plugged in
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
West Berlin, Berlin Township, NJ 08091, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
No. Uses ONLY Makita tool batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester NY
Read all my Q&A
August 1, 2013
Answer: 
No? At least mine did not
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 10, 2012
Answer: 
No it will not. DeWalt until recently had an exclusive patent on this feature. I can tell you from experience, however, that radios with built-in chargers are highly overrated. First, they are notorious for having bad feedback when charging batteries. Second, when you're charging the batteries, the radio has to be plugged into the wall, taking away completely the benefits of a portable radio. Third, Read More
No it will not. DeWalt until recently had an exclusive patent on this feature. I can tell you from experience, however, that radios with built-in chargers are highly overrated. First, they are notorious for having bad feedback when charging batteries. Second, when you're charging the batteries, the radio has to be plugged into the wall, taking away completely the benefits of a portable radio. Third, adding that feature would drastically add to the size, weight, and cost of the radio. As long as you have any Makita tools and batteries, this is a MUCH better radio! Read Less
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
up state NY
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2012
Answer: 
unfortunatly it won't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2012
Answer: 
No. None of Makita's job site radios – including the BMR100 and BMR100W – are equipped to charge batteries. The job site radios include an AC adapter and can also run on pod style or slide style Makita batteries, from 9.6V to 18V.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Schaumburg, IL
Read all my Q&A
December 30, 2011
Answer: 
Hello Shawn, I’m Newf from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.
This radio does not act as a charger. However, the radio can be operated off either the 120 volt cord or any of a variety of Makita batteries.
I hope this helps,
Newf.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
7 answers

WILL THIS RADIO RUN ON THE 12V LI-ION BATTERIES I HAVE FOR MY 12V DRILL/DRIVER?

This question is from 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)
Asked by
SHIFTY250
November 29, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
murrells inlet sc
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
West Berlin, Berlin Township, NJ 08091, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, this radio will run on most Makita batteries, but the batteries do NOT charge inside the radio.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester NY
Read all my Q&A
August 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes Accepts all Makita Batteries But Does not charge them
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, uses both.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 30, 2012
Answer: 
The BMR100W 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless FM/AM Job Site Radio is compatible with Makita 9.6V - 24V slide-Style and pod-style batteries (Ni-Cd and Ni-MH) and the 18 volt Lithium-Ion batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lynn, MA, USA
Read all my Q&A
November 29, 2012
Answer: 
No sorry. Only 18 volt.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

November 29, 2012
Answer: 
If you mean the 12V Max lithium ion, no. It will run on the older style ni-cad or ni-mh pod batteries though. They have a new radio on the Makita website that takes the 12V Max lithium. Should just be a matter of time before its available at homedepot.com
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
7 answers

is the makta radio has an audio in for ipod?

This question is from 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)
Asked by
jojo
April 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
murrells inlet sc
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
West Berlin, Berlin Township, NJ 08091, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Standard mini stereo AUX input. You can use this as a PC speaker.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester NY
Read all my Q&A
August 1, 2013
Answer: 
Standard headphone port yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

October 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, it actually has 2 AUX inputs (one on the front, one inside the battery compartment). Any device with a headphone jack can be plugged into and played through the radio with an AUX cable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
up state NY
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2012
Answer: 
It actually has 2 one on the outside and one inside the storage area where the battery goes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the BMR100W is compatible for iPod.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Does the Radio come with a battery or do you have to buy it separate?

This question is from 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Sunshine
Tennessee
December 10, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Indiana
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
Answer: 
must buy battery separate but does work off plug-in or slide on Makita batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
West Berlin, Berlin Township, NJ 08091, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
If you want a battery, you have to use Makita's tool batteries and charge them with the Makita charger. This is another expense if you don't use Makita tools, but you could wire in a small 12 Volt DC sealed Lead-Acid battery and charge it in the radio if you know what you're doing. However, this will void the warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester NY
Read all my Q&A
August 1, 2013
Answer: 
Separate both power and clock AA batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
no battery, and unlike some it will not charge a battery when plugged in.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

December 11, 2012
Answer: 
There is no battery with the radio. It will run off of pretty much any Makita battery, or the included AC adaptor.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 11, 2012
Answer: 
The BMR100W 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless FM/AM Job Site Radio can be powered by a Makita 18-Volt LXT or 18-Volt Compact Lithium-Ion Battery (sold separately).
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-04-21 T21:22:16.139-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202213953, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 241ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 37 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor quality radio It only has two small speakers that are on the side of it which direct the sound away from where you are and if you turn the sound all the to the max, which is only 25, the music blasts and you can't understand anything. I do not recommend this product. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jobsite Radio, Tool Only i love this radio, we really got it for ease and being able to carry around wherever we want to.It runs on drill batteries and works well. September 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Jobsite Radio Overall the radio sounds great, compact, and works with tool batteries., Seems very durable. The problem is why I bought it, for use with an ipod on the jobsite. You can't put an mp3, or ipod inside and plug it in. The aux 2 jack is right behind where the battery slides in and you can't plug the cord in and put the battery in. I called makita and they said plug it in the front, this defeats the purpose of protecting your ipod on the jobsite. Thought about taking it apare and drilling another hole to move the jack. Going to take it back and find another one. April 13, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very sturdy radio. The Makita jobsite radio is built to take jobsite conditions. It has good sound and plenty of volume. the only downside is that batteries don't last very long, If you are running only on batteries, keep a charger and a spare handy so you can have continuous radio. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by made well The radio is made well and does not take up very much room when traveling. The radio is not very loud, but I think if the speaker was bigger and on the front I would not be returning it. :( I love the price of it and that was one of the reasons i bought it. I had high hopes but I am a little let down. But I have to say that I bought this to take on the beach and hang out at the pool, so maybe in a workshop or around the grill it is perfect when there is not so much backgroung noise to compete with. Battery lasts a very long time and are quick to charge but the radio will not charge them. so I keep a spare always charged. When plugged in it automaticly stops using the battery. Overall it is a well made radio and does its job it just was not loud enough for what I was wanting it for. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great outdoor radio Easy to use, durable, good reception and great value! July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great sound. This product has great sound and seems to be very durable. It has excellent features. The port to plug in a music device and I like how it runs off the battery without draining the power fast.I would recommend this to others looking for a work radio like I was.five stars for real. March 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Do your research. This is Not a battery charger. This radio/MP3 player sounds pretty good but the volume does not go up high enough for a job site. I thought I would be able to charge my batteries while listening to music but I guess I didn't do enough research. Now I have a $100.00 MP3 player in my garage. March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It did the job well I purchased this for an on site job. It was portable, did the job it was designed to do and I am pleased with my purchase. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product has great features Batteries last a long time. Has a good heavy duty handle. Has an ac adapter. Has storeage for the ac adapter.Has pre set station buttons. Has an impact resistance housing. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yachty - St. George, Utah When I first saw this Makita Radio I was excited. First it was a Makita, so I knew it was quality & really liked it compact size. I replaced a old clock radio on my work bench, boy was the sound a quality improvement. The radio works off 3 different power sources. I can just plug in my Makita battery & its good for around 16 hours, which is great when I am out side working on a project. Makita radio is great & not a bad price. i April 1, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great looks performance a four star signal not good some times January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good radio PROs: Does the job it's supposed to do. Having different battery options makes it versatile. Good sound. Light weight. 5 AM and 5 FM presets (says there's more than one set of presets for FM, but I haven't found how to switch them yet). CONs: HD's advertising of this as being MP3 ready ACTUALLY means it has 2 AUX inputs so you can plug an MP3 player into it. Gets a little distorted at high volume levels, but sound is still pretty decent. AC cord is flimsy and will quickly get destroyed on a job site and there's also no place to store it except in the battery compartment. Thoughts: It's a good radio. The pros outweigh the cons, IMO, especially the size and weight. Being able to run this off a battery is another reason I bought it. Would have been nice if HD's advertisement of being MP3-ready meant you could play MP3s with it, but it's hardly all that big of a deal. December 11, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by pretty good radio Had a couple issues with reception, but other than that works great. The large knob makes it easy to use when wearing gloves. The aux input is nice when I want to listen to Pandora off my phone. The rubber around the edges does a pretty good job of protecting the casing. Its smaller than most, but also makes it easy to move and still sounds great. January 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great radio just wish it charged batteries as well This radio has great sound, reception is excelent and the 2 input jacks for i pods is nice especially if the weather is bad you can put your i pod in the storage area so it stays dry. I wish it charged batteries also like the Dewalt radio but i'm not about to change from makita tools just for a radio that charges batteries. Overall good radio and a nice size. July 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great radio, great sound But...make sure you get the right battery and the right battery charger when you buy this. It comes with neither. Otherwise, it's a great radio. July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I could return it Mine came with no antennae so wont receive well. It is not loud enough for construction site noise. No USB Port. Does not charge batteries? August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great purchase Looks nice, good sound, heavy duty, match perfect for a driver. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not versatile Bass is way to high. Cant adjust. Wont get very loud either. It does last about 20+ hours though. WHY WONT MAKITA PUT A USB PORT ON THIS!!!! Now looking at bosch..... June 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Doesn't charge the battery I like the size of the radio, and it sounds good. But $99 for the radio and $80 for the battery . Now I have to buy $99 charger if I want to use it cordless . I don't think it's worth it , most likely I will return the radio and battery , and get the dewalt work radio. It charges , and has 3 outlets on it. January 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product this is a great product for a great price.. cant go wrong. the sound is great.. June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Radio! I bought the Makita Radio the other day. I have to say I am blown away by the sound this thing produces. I got about 7 1/2 hours out of an 18 volt battery. (Battery is a few years old) It's the perfect size and built very well. Great Purchase! November 6, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good radio what I like the most is the compact size, I bring the radio to beach, camping, etc. and it doesn't take to much space. Volume is not that bad considering the size. July 25, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wish it would charge Mikita batteries while plugged in. Over-all a good work radio, great sound. I think it should last a long time. My work radios usually take a beating. May 28, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great radio great reception and sound. Does not have CD but if you are only looking for a great shop or jobsite radio there is no reason to spend more. November 29, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great compact radio Great compact radio, I like the idea of no cords!!!! July 31, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great radio! Bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it! It works great! Reception is great! January 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad Like others said, wish it would charge batteries. Other than that, it's a solid little radio February 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Radio, Clear Sound I've had this radio for a couple of years and love it. It's a great compact size, has a large, clear display (which is very well protected by the metal bars!), and nice sound quality. As the listing shows, it has 2 AUX inputs, 1 on the front, and one inside the battery compartment, which is 5-minute rain resistant. The AUX inputs mean you can plug pretty much anything with a headphone jack into it. No, it won't charge or control an I-Pod, which is fine, because those cables are expensive. The trick with the AUX input in the battery compartment is that it's right by where the lithium batteries go in. All you need to do is get a right angle AUX cord, and it will fit fine. I also love that it uses 2 AA batteries to store the clock and radio presets. It's annoying on other radios that you lose that stuff when you take the batteries out. I like to look at the other reviews on here, to see what other people didn't like about it. More than anything else, they say it doesn't charge batteries. A couple of points on that: first, nowhere does it say or imply it does--don't knock something for a feature only 1 radio has due to a patent on the feature--if you need a charger, use a separate one, or get a radio with a charger. Second, have you ever used a radio with a built-in charger? They've gotten better, but you still get bad sound and horrible interference/noise. Plus, when you're charging a battery, the radio has to be plugged in, defeating the purpose of buying a cordless/portable radio. For the customer who was upset about the lack or a charger due to having to buy a separate battery and charger, my suggestion is buy a radio that runs on C or D batteries. The whole point of buying a specific tool-brand radio is that you already have the tools, and therefore, the requisite batteries and chargers to make it run. Keep in mind the compact size, light weight, and low price of this radio. It is so much more portable than what else is out there, and for the cost savings over the monster radio with the charger, you could darn near buy an additional charger, which by the way charges bigger batteries in half the time! Plug in the charger and charge your batteries by the wall, then take the radio wherever you want to go! Cut the cord!!! October 10, 2012
  • 2016-04-22 T10:50:40.435-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_37, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_202213953, prod, sort_default
<<2
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT