Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

Martha Stewart Living

Model # W1

Internet # 202060751

Store SKU # 298592

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.
Please select another option below.

$159.00 /  each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # W1

Internet # 202060751

Store SKU # 298592

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Total weight capacity of 1200 lbs. (when evenly distributed)
  • Durable, scratch-resistant melamine surface that ensures long-lasting beauty
  • Combination of 3 shelves and 5 hanging bars to provide a variety of storage options
  • Included hardware and easy-to-follow instructions
  • Classic white finish that goes with any color scheme
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
14 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
72 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
96 in 
Details
Color Family 
White 
Color/Finish 
White 
Included 
Hardware 
Material 
Medium Density Fiberboard (MDF) 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Storage Product Type 
Closet Kits 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
10 Year Limited Warranty 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 426 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased Bought 3 starter sets for our new master closet. All boxes arrived by UPS in excellent condition. Very easy to assemble and very sturdy. Only thing that could be improved upon is the hanging rod. There is no soft barrier between the two rods so hangers get caught up on it. Other than that the systems are wonderful and hold so much. August 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Looks Great! Easy installation. Looks Great. Easy renovation to bring up the value of your home. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy online closet configuration tool. Bset part was that it has very easy online closet configuration tool. After configuring it, you can either order online or simply print the list to pick up the individual items from the homedepot store. I was able to install the product in 3 to 5 hours for each closet. December 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, Flexible Design, Some Flaws I purchased this closet kit for a 4½ft wide closet, knowing that I would have to likely customize it to fit. I was able to make it work using the 'center' section on one side with hanger bars on the other. My only complaint is that some of the 'hanger bars' had rust on them while others had some mysterious white powder on them. The white powder was easily removed, while I had to turn the bars in different directions so the oxidation wasn't visible on the others. November 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install. Easy to install. Had my 16 yr old install the system. Only drawback is a lack of "top" to the unit, which would allow for additional shelving. I purchased a 15" wide shelf from a competitor since Home doesn't sell wide enough shelving, cut it to to 14" width and the length needed for the closet. Now I have a place to store additional items. Added three drawers to the unit. Had to purchase additional shelving for above the drawers. April 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy with this system I'm very happy with this product. I almost spent double on another brand but thought I'd try to save money here. It was crazy easy to assemble. I just recommend you have a stud finder. That made all the difference and they are super cheap. I'm not handy and neither is my husband but this was super easy. It looks. Nice too!! What a difference it makes! Highly recommend. November 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great idea. But....... The quality of the product is horrible. It was chipped up right out of the box. Installation is troublesome. When the design a more durable finish it will be good. Step up the quality. February 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Install 1 of 2 units today and it looks GOOD. I think they should do a better job with the packaging because a corner piece was damaged a little. I was amazed that the metal wall strip is keeping the entire unit up. Great value. Hope it last well in the long term. Love that the unit is off the floor. June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty easy to install... The only complaint I have would be the lack of "shelf" for the top... I was able to buy it at, you guessed it, Home Depot with no problem though... Really looks nice. Also, to those of you at HD or MSL, I was amazed that the contents of the box were not damaged given how rough the delivery appeared to be... June 14, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Attractive, functional, and easily installed. At its price point, the closet starter set plus the other items purchased made an attractive, functional organizer that was easily installed. Despite being double-packaged, one piece arrived with impact damage that required painting. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent quality and value The closet kits and various pieces were easy to install and build the ideal custom closet. The boards have clean lines and the drawers have a nice auto-close mechanism. It was even easy to trim off pieces to fit my oddly cornered closet. I did one closet with this product to test it out --- and then did 2 more. My only negative comment is that I was not happy about having to order it online because they did not carry the white version in-stock; only the brown. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product - even better customer service! Love the closet kit for organizing an unruly closet. Direct shipped to my home, the two large vertical boards were snapped. (got me out of installing that weekend). Called HD who filed a damage report. A day later, got a call from the manufacturer in MI, who 2nd day shipped the replacement parts so I could get it installed the following weekend. Good quality, Great customer service. Thanks, HD! September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic kit Good basic closet kit. Easy install. I picked it up at the store to try to avoid shipping damage. No issues. October 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product for the money Easy to assemble. Product received in good condtion. Nice design. Heavy to lift onto track. October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The product is excellent. It was easy to install and looks great. The planning tool on the website is misleading. It does not allow for space on the side walls between the system on the back wall. In my design I had two 'dressers' side by side. The design tool allowed for this but did not add the additional long vertical in the ordering. It also did not account for the additional width of a long vertical. I had to adjust my plan when installing. I was unable to include one whole section. Therefore I had many extra pieces. Mostly shelves. This was not a cheap mistake. That is the ONLY reason why I rated the value so low. So my recommendation is marked no because I want others to be aware of how much extra using the online planning tool could cost you. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Terrible product. Cheap material. Horrible assembly process. 3 of the 5 drawers we received were broken. Starter-Kit purchased was missing all hardware. They provided a piece of paper you had to cut to use a template in order to mount drawer hard ware (rather than pre-drill pilot holes to ensure correct alignment) Nearly impossible to use templates and assemble drawers so there were no gaps/holes between drawers. They should take lessons from IKEA or Closet Maid. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT September 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Challenging to work with Home Depot I would have liked the product to include a top piece for the closet organizer to utilize the top part of the closet for more storage, if it came with one it was not included or suggested in the design phase. September 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Arrived Broken This closet system is easy to install and you get what you pay for....Cheap pressboard so make sure you install it right because taken screws in and out just shreds the pressboard....When it arrived it was snapped in half because of the flimsy construction March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for the price I've had my closet in for 2 months now and couldn't be happier with the product. It was so simple to plan out my closet for our needs with Martha Stewart's online closet tool. The closet assembly came together really great too. I was able to do 99% of it myself, only needing my husband to help lift it onto the track. The end result looks custom and expensive and we haven't had one problem with it. Couldn't be happier with the quality and price. February 28, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by What a hassle I bought 2 of these organizers, they arrived with no hardware & no instructions & parts list. one had 4 poles (need 5), the other had none, also one had a crack in one of the tall upright boards Later when I got the parts I needed to put them together, I discovered another tall upright had a crack, didn't even call, hope it holds! Even after all this, there is a good side to the story, the people I deal with from Home Depot were VERY helpful & polite & easy to deal with. In summary, I would never buy the Martha Stewart brand again, but I certainly would buy from Home Depot again. July 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shoddy workmanship Numerous components were broken or damaged. Additionally some components were poorly manufactured and required substantial repair. I am very disappointed overall in the lack of quality in this item and recommend all to simply skip this purchase and seek alternatives. February 19, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy this is a flexible system; bought many of of the pieces online and redid my walk-in closet by myself. Delivery a bit slow, but otherwise ok. Now, must say disappointed with quality of melamine, at least Classic White version; some parts arrived flaking/chipped, even with good packing. it's paper thin and brittle, will chip at the slightest little bump, be extra careful installing. Thought quality would be better, my other gripe is spray painted silver metal rods, they're NOT cool looking as chrome would be to give the closet high end look. Overall satisfied, but system could use more shelf size choices, goes from 12 to 35". March 17, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to put together. Easy to put together. One thing... the pic is a bit misleading... it looks like there are shelves across the top. there are not. Those you would purchase separately and will need to cut to the correct length. This took us just a couple of hours to install. February 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! The quality was much better than I even expected. I put this in my guest room as a test and am now planning to install in multiple closets within my home. I had worked with other closet design systems and this is by far the best value and quality. March 20, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but customized design requires you to determine install steps I bought a whole host of different items from the Martha Stewart closet line to do a large walk-in closet. I liked the online design and customization tool and felt it allowed me more flexibility than many of the other online design tools. The only drawback to the custom design is that they sell you "kits" to make your design but not precisely whet you need. In fact I'm likely going to have enough pieces left over to add a closet organizer to another small walk-in closet in the house. Install is not difficult but can be time consuming, particularly when you're overly analytical like me. You have the option of screwing shelves in for rigidity of using the little pegs to suspend the shelf for flexibility. If you use screws the whole unit will be more rigid but it becomes a larger task if you want to move the shelf later. Also, if you screw a shelf at a certain level in one section you cannot put a shelf in the adjacent section at the same height partially limiting your shelf placement. Recommended heights for the hanging bars would be welcome as well as a recommendation as to how much room to leave above and below hanging bars before installing a shelf. These recommendations would have simply saved me time. If you purchase and install the drawers they can be time consuming to assemble. Once you've assembled a couple of them they go much quicker. Also, the holes through the drawer that are used to attach the drawer face are not precision milled. The holes are much wider than the screws, but this allows you to align the drawer faces for a more polished look instead of having varying gap width and angles between the stacked drawer faces. Note, if you have 2 sections of drawer next to one another (side by side) you will need 2 vertical pieces where those 2 section meet otherwise the drawer faces from the adjacent sections may hit one another (I was aware of this prior to starting the project). Some of the smaller kits come with a 36" hanging bracket instead of a 48". I'd prefer to have a 48" bracket and cut it shorter than have to cobble together multiple 36" brackets. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by for a walk in dressing room It is amazing. Took less than an hour for handy man to put together. Very spacious product. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Little Pricey for what it is but if that doesnt bother you then its GREAT This product looks and works Great. the only issue i have with it is the price. It did not seem like it needed to the this much money. this is the "starter kit" so if you want more shelving at all its even more. Like the 3 corner shelves by martha Stuart? good idea but for 3 peices of woods its $80! i could cut those myself! other than that i love this product especially because you secure just the shelf part in the middle and both sides the the unit with rods attatched to them can adjust back and forth with just a push or pull. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product, slightly priced high. This product greatly increased the usable space in my closet. The organizer was very easy to install, the only tools required was a screw driver and level. March 6, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unless you are the hulk don't order online What to do when the UPS guy leaves the 70 lb., 8 ft. package that is this product in the lobby of your apt. building and you have to carry it up 5 flights of stairs? Or worse yet, find the drawers are so small to be useless and you are forced to either pay for the return shipping (not to mention figure out to carry that monster to the UPS store to ship) or if you don't want to pay shipping on a 70 lb. package figure out how to get the 70 lb. package back to the Home Depot store. Bottom line: Don't order this online. Get it in the store and have it delivered April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slightly damaged upon receipt, but fairly easy to install It took two of us and luckily my husband is handy with tools because some of the pieces needed to be sawed down. (Which would have stopped me in my tracks if I were solo!) We also ended up changing the design during the install process to make sure that the space was best utilized and accessed. But relatively easy to put together and looks pretty solid. We did have some damage on a couple of the pieces, but unfortunately because they weren't available locally and needed to be shipped, it would have been a pain to exchange. So we just powered thru with a couple pieces nicked. Kinda hard to start with something damaged, but not the end of the world. Next time, I would encourage them to be packaged more carefully. May 20, 2014
  • 2015-05-28T11:00:08.164-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_426, tr_426
  • loc_en_US, sid_202060751, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.