Model # W1

Internet #202060751

Store SKU #298592

Martha Stewart Living 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
0018098988544

Martha Stewart Living

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

  • Wall-mounted system keeps everything organized & off the floor
  • Adjustable rods and shelves provide variety of storage options
  • Installs easily: sturdy closet organizer hangs on steel track
$159.00 /each
Color/Finish: White
  • Espresso
  • White
  • Wild Cherry

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Total weight capacity of 1200 lbs. (when evenly distributed)
  • Durable, scratch-resistant melamine surface that ensures long-lasting beauty
  • Combination of 3 shelves and 5 hanging bars to provide a variety of storage options
  • Included hardware and easy-to-follow instructions
  • Classic white finish that goes with any color scheme
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the Martha Stewart 4 ft-8 ft deluxe starter closet kit come in white?

Asked by: Anonymous
all the fixtures come with this unit as a packge? does this unit hang on the wall with the hanging bracket that is on the wall
Answered by: boston
Date published: 2017-01-24

are you saying this whole close is 4 ft by 8ft an order the drawers separate?? I see ne depth size??

are you saying this whole close is 4 ft by 8ft an order the drawers separate?? I see ne depth size??
Asked by: kay
The depth has to be no less than 22 but can be up to 19. Be careful as I had an issue with big hangers and had to use plastic ones to make it fit.
Answered by: newcloset
Date published: 2017-03-06

Do the rodds need to be screwed into the side pieces, or can the be screwed directly into the wall?

Asked by: Hayhay
Both options are possible but the wall would need backing or substantial support if the rod is screwed directly to it.
Answered by: GreasedLightning
Date published: 2017-02-08

What material are the rods made of?

Asked by: TF816
Painted tube steel that slide together for adjustable widths.
Answered by: GreasedLightning
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_40
  • loc_, sid_202060751, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 23ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 562.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We installed this closet kit two weeks now. It went up really fast with no problem. I bought two... We installed this closet kit two weeks now. It went up really fast with no problem. I bought two kits & am very happy with them & they look great! I would recommend this product~
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Was a very easy assembly and every thing fit as it should. Had one problem and e-mailed Home Depot and a guy named Luke was the most helpful person I have ever dealt with.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Closet Success This is the fifth closet we have built using Martha Stewart components. Each is better than the last. Given an other opportunity, I would use the products again.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was easy to assemble. Unfortunately there were multiple broken... It was easy to assemble. Unfortunately there were multiple broken pieces. I returned it and the replacement also had broken pieces but I was able to repair them.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was easy to install and will help in organization in our closet. Package was damaged in delivery... Was easy to install and will help in organization in our closet. Package was damaged in delivery, but we were able to piece it together to make it work.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look, easy to install. Works beautifully. Added drawers and slide rods for a custom look. T... Great look, easy to install. Works beautifully. Added drawers and slide rods for a custom look. This is the second house I have used this system.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The organizer was simple to install and minor alterations were easily made to make the unit fit t... The organizer was simple to install and minor alterations were easily made to make the unit fit the space perfectly. Love my new closet!
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not all there It shows there are 5 rods included in the sets but only received 3. Otherwise it's easy to install and looks good
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Easy to install. Strong. Just what i wanted. Suprised my wife with her own dressing room. She loved it
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was incredibly easy to install and customize to fit the... Was incredibly easy to install and customize to fit the closet and our needs. Would recommend this.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is the same product offered at HOME DEPOT. I payed for Martha Stewarts name on the box! This is the same product offered at HOME DEPOT. I payed for Martha Stewarts name on the box!
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, made closets look like a professional installer did the work. GREAT !!! Easy to install, made closets look like a professional installer did the work. GREAT !!!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & spacious Love this! We put it in our master bedroom and I can actually fit all my clothes now.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied with this product and it was perfect for... Very satisfied with this product and it was perfect for our space!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The unit exceeded expectations. Extremely ... The unit exceeded expectations. Extremely easy to assemble
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 48" panels should include 'L' brackets for more support ... 48" panels should include 'L' brackets for more support
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Easy to install. Looks great. Good value. We love it.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, was easy to install, may be a hour.... Works great, was easy to install, may be a hour.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a rather simple set to put together. ... This was a rather simple set to put together.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality and very easy to assemble! High Quality and very easy to assemble!
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, likes great!... Easy to install, likes great!
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is an excellent way to build out a closet at an affordable price with modular control in your ... It is an excellent way to build out a closet at an affordable price with modular control in your design. Some things to note and the reason for not a 5 star. The tops of multi segments won't necessarily align unless you opt to just place one on the pins instead of screwing it. So that in the pic they don't show a top shelf, but it is provided and seems an obvious necessary piece. You will want to put rarely used large items up there, but if there are 3 sections as in the starter kit the center top will need to be placed in there as a shelf on the pins. I would have preferred a design that incorporates dowels. Instructions on this essentially don't exist. Online and CS phone support did answer this quickly. Cutting the sizes down for anything custom requires nice clean straight cuts, so know a neighbor with a table saw if you don't have one. The rod also need cutting, but can be done with a cheapo hand hacksaw. Finally the lower corners of the midsize side panels need the corners shaved off. They are simply too sharp and dangerous to leave that that height. I have a hole in my backside to prove it. A good electric sander will do it in seconds, or by hand in 10 minutes. This pieces should come rounded by design since there is already a front and back to those pieces due to the hole pattern. Those nitpick aside it was a bigger success than we expected to make use of the small space we had.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value, looks great in my walk in closet! We purchased two of these deluxe starter kits, plus corner shelves, slanted shoe shelves, and drawers, to turn a small room off our master bedroom into a walk in closet. It took my husband about 4 hours to install it by himself, and he had no complaints. It looks great, I am very pleased. The only thing is, I wish there were panels to cover the top, and panels going all the way to the floor, which would give it a more custom, built in look. All in all it looks beautiful & so far is holding up well.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets!! This is the second home in which we've installed a Martha Stewart Closet system, and we love it. This house had an odd-shaped closet, so we used the online design tool which was fantastic! We were able to maximize the rod space that we needed for shorter items, and allow a smaller section for long items, and added more shelves to the shelving units. The design tool calculated exactly what "kits" we needed, and the order was delivered free to our home in short order. We had exactly what we needed. The instructions were good, and there are videos online with even more hints. We love our closet!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy install!!!!! My 10 year old daughter and I put this together, just the 2 of us. I went online to a Martha Stewert website and the design was quite easy. Just select you closet type and add the dimesions. The design gives you lots of choices between drawers, shelves or hanging bars. We spent about 3 days on the install. The first day was to assemble the drawers, about 2 hours. The second day we put up the hanging rack and mounted it to the studs, about 1 hour. The third day we hung up the panels and installed the drawers, hanging bars and shelves, about 3-4 hours. All in all this was easy and fun. Great instructions.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my new closet system! I absolutely love the finished product of this Martha Stewart closet system. I used the online design tool and custom-designed two long sides of a walk-in closet. The end result is beautiful and super functional. Here is the downside - the boxes came on a pallet and the shipping company was technically not even supposed to get it past my driveway. All in all the entire shipment weighed 700 pounds. I have no idea how Home Depot expected me to move 700 pounds worth of closet equipment? Also, I hired two construction workers who were doing other work on my house to move and install it, and it took them 6 straight hours to do it. Just be forewarned that it's not as easy as it looks! Other than that, it's a perfect system and I'm super happy with it!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy and easily adjustable I chose this product because it is completely wall supported and does not touch the floor. It took 2 people about 4 hours to assemble in our 8' x 9' closet. The system is very sturdy and the hardware that comes with it is high quality. The shelves are particle board, but they look high end.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maximized our closet's efficiency Our non-walk-in closet originally had a single hang bar with a shelf above it, and we thought we needed a bigger closet. That is, until we found the Martha Stewart closet organizer at Home Depot. We can now hang almost twice as many garments in our closet, and we have more shelving. There is now no wasted space! It looks great as well!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, Great price. I purchased an entire master closet full of this stuff, and paid a friend to install it. I watched him do most of it, and it looked pretty easy. This product is just a laminate on top of particle board, but it's pretty sturdy. We purchased it in the 'espresso' color, which is a dark brown. We were most impressed by how professional it looked with the corner shelves and drawers; those dressed it up the most. You can buy the D1 or D2 kits as your base, and then add on pieces as needed. Just draw out your dimenions on paper, and make a list. I found a coupon online that saved a bunch, plus it had free shipping. Beats driving to the store and hauling it all home. Some tips: 1.) we hung ours 8 inches off the floor (everything hangs on a metal horizontal bracket that you mount first, which is why the rest is pretty easy). That still allowed my wife to reach the top hanging rods, and also left us room on the floor to sweep and/or put shoes. 2.) In the picture, the D1 and D2 kits appear to have a top shelf. They DO NOT. The top piece you see is the closet rod, and the 2nd horizontal item is the mounting bracket. We knew this, so I ordered extra shelving in either 24 or 36 inches, and my friend installed a top shelf all around the top of the closet; gives you LOTS more storage for bins on top, etc. Also note: in the D1 and D2 kits, the middle section has vertical pieces that are full-height, but the sides do not. If you plan to buy several kits or place some side by side, you may need to purchase adt'l 48 inch vertical pieces if your adjacent section will have shelves or drawers in the lower half. That's what we did and it worked fine. 3.) The drawers fit in the 24 inch width areas (and 2 depths of drawers are available. Get the 8 inch. The smaller ones won't hold much). The hanging rods can go all the way to about 35 inches, at which they rate the load at a max of 35 lbs. I just started hanging clothes, and it appears it will handle at least that much. You can beef up the mounting if you need to, for the rods. 4.) The price seems really cheap, until you actually total the complete list for a decent size closet. However, it is STILL much cheaper than having a professional company install it, even when paying a friend to install it. Do it yourself and save even more. 5.) I had some vertical sections that I wanted, that had drawers side-by-side (3 drawers in a 24 inch section right beside another section of 3 drawers). I had to have each section have its OWN vertical side piece in order to make the drawers be at the exact same height, side-by-side. If you only use one piece of vertical wood as the middle piece, because of the holes required to mount drawers, they would have been one hole higher or lower for the adjacent section (you can't use the same hole in just one piece of wood to mount the same thing, at the same height, on both sides of the board). Just a note; if you want a professional installed look, make sure to have enough vertical pieces (which have holes for the pegs or mounting screws up the entire length). 6.) Overall, I'm very impressed. We did a lot of research, at several stores and calling custom closet companies. I knew my friend was very capable of installing them, and it is saving me a lot of time. The product is as-described, is a good value for the money, and in this color, really looks impressive. I would recommend it and will probably buy more for the kids' closets. Again, to make it really look nice, add some corner shelves (which have a rounded edge at the inside corner; look at a picture) or at least some drawers. The drawer fronts are really good looking and come with nice metal pulls in a sort of pewter look. Regarding the whole thing: My wife said 'it's awesome', which pretty much is the best endorsement I can provide.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad after all Ordered the whole walk in closet organizer from the design your own closet section. I learned a few lessons along the way during the install. The shelves come in pre-cut lengths so when your setting the vertical panels your locked in to those dimensions. Then have to cut shelves for out of the standard lengths. And you can't put the top shelves all at the same level with screws because once you've screwed the first one in you can't use the same hole for the next shelve. It sounds like I'm unhappy with the finished product which I am not but just talking about some of the short comings I encountered. the unit looks good and really was able to make the space much more efficent.
Date published: 2016-04-12
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_561
  • loc_, sid_202060751, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT