0018098988544

Martha Stewart Living

Model W1

Internet #202060751

Store SKU #298592

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

$159.00 /each
  • Wall-mounted system keeps everything organized & off the floor
  • Adjustable rods and shelves provide variety of storage options
  • Installs easily: sturdy closet organizer hangs on steel track
Color/Finish: White
  • Espresso
  • White
  • Wild Cherry

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Total weight capacity of 1200 lbs. (when evenly distributed)
  • Durable, scratch-resistant melamine surface that ensures long-lasting beauty
  • Combination of 3 shelves and 5 hanging bars to provide a variety of storage options
  • Included hardware and easy-to-follow instructions
  • Classic white finish that goes with any color scheme
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions17 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
5 answers

Can you install the hanging rods at any height you want (for instance, if on one side I want one dress-length pole instead of two short-hang poles)?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, you can install in any of the pre-drilled holes which range from top to bottom of the side panel. I did this and the only "problem" is that you end up with an extra pole if you only do one rod instead of two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, using the holes provided. However, the recommendations for most closets (via web search) is for double pole configurations is 80" and 40". The Martha Stuart closet instructions put the top of the cabinets at 84" which will support the recommended heights. However, if you are a tall person 6ft+ you will want the poles generally taller and I suggest coming above 84 Inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Centreville VA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
Answer: 
Yes you can, very easily! You just leave the bottom rod out, and hang the top rod at whatever height you want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
birmingham, al
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you can put the hanging rods anywhere you want to, or exclude them all together if you dont want to use them all.
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0

Asked by
Oceanside CA
Read all my Q&A
April 8, 2015
Answer: 
Anywhere there is a peg hole the rods can be installed.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

How many inches does this unit stick out from the wall once hung?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
CA
Read all my Q&A
October 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
14 inches. Also, if you are using the clothes poles the clothes and hangers will extend beyond that
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 17, 2016
Answer: 
This item is flush mounted and is 14 inches in depth.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

Can this kit be installed on a wall?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Charlotte, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2015
I really love this closet kit but I don't have an actual closet in my room. Can it be on a wall ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
you could but really see this unit for being behind doors sounds like your looking self standing closet like the Ikea units
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Darien, IL
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Unless this is different than the product I bought 10 years ago, no. It needs the side walls of the closet to be stable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

Has anyone used this to build a home office?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2015
I'm looking at converting a guest-room into a home office. Has anyone had any success/challenges with doing that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Augusta, Georgia
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
I waited a couple of weeks after it was installed to test it out before I reviewed it .... and I love it!
However, I had purchased two of the starter kits and ended up using the long side from the second kit so that the system reached low enough for me to get the desk height where I wanted it. The handyman installed the metal cross rails at the specified height but where the computer desktop was too Read More
I waited a couple of weeks after it was installed to test it out before I reviewed it .... and I love it!
However, I had purchased two of the starter kits and ended up using the long side from the second kit so that the system reached low enough for me to get the desk height where I wanted it. The handyman installed the metal cross rails at the specified height but where the computer desktop was too high for me to sit at comfortably, so I had him cut the other kits long side boards to the right height for me.
NOTE: The metal railing (used to connect the system too at the top) could have been installed lower but I didn't think of that until later. So be sure to mark the top of the desk height where you will be most comfortable working and then measure upward to determine the place to install the top (white) metal railing.
I bought the Martha Stewart storage bins to hide the white metal railing.
I am very happy with the results. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Augusta, Georgia
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2015
Answer: 
My handyman is installing it this week. When he has completed it, I will take pictures and post any issues or helpful notes that we have learned from the installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T12:13:01.562-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202060751, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 45ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product, easy to install, better quality than expected We have a large step in closet and ordered 5 different pieces and felt a little overwhelmed before opening boxes and installing, but with a little patience it went smoother than expected. There were 3 pieces missing from one of the configurations. I called the toll free number on the packing slip and no questions asked. We received the missing parts within a few days to complete the project. It was a little inconvenient to have to wait until Monday to call for parts and then a few days for parts to arrive. We would have liked to finish the closet that same day. We have another closet to build and we will definitely be ordering this product again. August 4, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Organizer I looked at these for several years. Our closet is odd shaped and the online tool would say we didn't have enough. I finally figured out you can now adjust the measurement in the tool instead of using what it auto figures for you. I really, REALLY, like my finished closet. So much so we've now doe others. They are easy to install. And look really nice. I wish I'd installed them sooner. I have so much more storage space now. December 12, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great product poor quality service A great product poor quality service, shelves, bars and wood were delivered damaged January 12, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Recommend Parts were missing, pieces were broken. I was lucky the person who installed was able to construct new pieces. I would not recommend. January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great investment excellent value. Was up in no time. Converted a small laundry room into a walk-in closet. Package very heavy. December 8, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Difficult to assemble You need to be very handy to install this (I am about average). Installing the hanging bar on the wall was quite a task made complicated in that the instructions are for a simple layout and we bought the 'deluxe closet kit' which has a different layout which is not covered in the instructions. October 6, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by More than doubled closet space My parents moved into a retirement cottage where the 12' closet had only one wire shelf. After a Saturday afternoon we were able to double the closet space with both hanging rails and shelves. It is more organized and we set it up for different heights. The white color helped to brighten the closet for seniors with failing vision. The kit came complete with drywall bolts and wood screws. September 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Closets Closets look great, saved a ton of money over the pricey custom options and it looks just as good if not better. September 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Closet System for the Price This a great system for the price! We put this in our nursery room closet to get more shelving and it's been perfect for what we need. It's pretty sturdy and looks good. The white is a true white and it looks very clean. My husband was able to easily install it and cut down the sections to customize it to our closet, maximizing the space. It's made of particle board so I'm sure it won't last forever, but for the price, I think we got a great deal and exactly what we needed. I would definitely recommend it. June 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality but came damaged. I assembled an entire Martha Stewart custom closet for my walk in closet by myself (95%) when I was 7 months pregnant. Assembly is highly manageable if you have the right tools. My closet looks great! It was way better than paying more than double to have someone come in and do it for me. The only negative I had was that the long panels came damaged with a crack in them. I know I could have returned them to get replaced, but when you're knee deep in a huge project, the last thing you want to do is wait another few weeks to finish it. Hopefully the closet will hold despite the cracks! March 27, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Closet Kit Check your product when you first open it. I had damage to some of the pieces from the staples they used to close up the box. Throw the instructions out the window, they are no help at all. If you put systems like this together before you will have no problem, but if you tend to struggle with assembly have a friend help you. August 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easier than I thought it was going to be The deluxe starter kit with the rails that attach to the wall was a little intimidating when I first laid everything out. Then I discovered that all of the parts were not with my kit! I called the customer service line and they were able to overnight the missing parts to me. I was able to get the kit installed that day. Not hard and looks great I must say. Installed this in my son's closet and he really likes it. June 23, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Missing Parts and Terrible Instructions We bought the starter kit and 6 extra shelves to organize and maximize space for our soon to be born baby's bedroom closet. The instructions were difficult to follow. When we finished measuring and were ready to assemble, we realized the starter kit had absolutely NO HARDWARE and was MISSING 3 RODS for hanging clothes. It was extremely disappointing after I spent a while customizing the closet online and wasted time waiting for it to be delivered. I don't want to be hassled waiting for the missing parts, etc. We ended up buying a Rubbermaid custom closet from Lowes and although not as nice looking, it was easy to assemble, well-made, and seems very easy to add on/adjust in the future. Turns out we made a better choice in the end. January 31, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product I used these sets in a walk in closet and a regular closet. I really like how you can customize them depending on what you need. i.e. shelving or hanging space One set came without hardware but I just called and they sent it out quickly. Take the time to measure and plan out what you want and order extra shelves if you need them. I went through my existing closets and measured my hanging items. I found I didn't need as many hanging rods so I bought additional shelves. In the walk in closet I had an L shape and was going to use the corner pieces but it was less expensive to just order a set for each wall. I then hung items that I rarely wear way back in the corner so that worked out well. The instructions were easy to follow. Once you get the support bar up, the rest is easy. March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as easy as it looks Put this system in two sides of the closet with corner shelves. As is fairly common with most houses, the closet was not completely square. This led to the need to use screws to stabilize the system on one wall. These were not in the predrilled holes. In addition, you cannot buy the 72 inch panels separately, leading for us to buy an extra closet set to get enough pieces for the corner sections. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and Easy My wife and I just finished building our "dream home". The builder had budgeted money to put wire shelving throughout the house which I was not a fan of at all. I was offered that same amount on an allowance to go out and get my own stuff which I decided to do. I chose two of these units for my son's bedrooms. All I can say is that installation is easy and finished product looks great. I would strongly suggest this over wire. I have seen complaints about this not being sturdy and I couldn't disagree more. If installed correctly, the hanging bars create enough counter pressure and stability to fill all of the hanging racks and this unit still won't budge. February 1, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst experience ever! Home depot was such a disappointment when ordering closet. No one in 2 different stores could help. So I did closet I online as suggested. There were no assembly instructions. The manufacturer was off on all their measurements & didn't include enough parts or correct parts. Manufacturers didn't design closet with standard wall stud measurements. We were lucky to assemble some sort of closet. May 11, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy this is a flexible system; bought many of of the pieces online and redid my walk-in closet by myself. Delivery a bit slow, but otherwise ok. Now, must say disappointed with quality of melamine, at least Classic White version; some parts arrived flaking/chipped, even with good packing. it's paper thin and brittle, will chip at the slightest little bump, be extra careful installing. Thought quality would be better, my other gripe is spray painted silver metal rods, they're NOT cool looking as chrome would be to give the closet high end look. Overall satisfied, but system could use more shelf size choices, goes from 12 to 35". March 17, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love these closet systems! We have purchased four of these systems for our various closets. The installation is not complicated and the quality of the product is very good. Truly appreciate the online design tool that allowed us to model our closet layouts so we knew exactly what to expect. Highly recommend watching the installation video prior to starting! Martha Stewart's team once again creates a great product at a great value. Kudos! March 3, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great walk in closet Nice quality, easy to install. I'm very pleased with the end result. June 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just assembled--no durability comment I did a good deal of homework on this prior to buying, and I think it is a very good value option. Custom work done for me was quoted at $1600; other DIY packages were around $1000; I did the closet (a deep reach-in w/ a 5' back wall) for $500. It's 5/8" melamine-covered PDF (vs some other offerings of 3/4"--not sure what the extra 1/8" really gets you). Probably not for the DIY'er who has never swung a hammer, but a solid option for those with a little experience. February 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice looking.good value We are happy. David was our assoicate who was very helpful in helping us design our new closet space did an excellent job all the boxes arrived at our home and we had all the parts we needed.I was able to return some extra shelves and rail for a refund too.The room looks great we did use an installer recommened by the store and he was reasonable.Finished project in about 3 hours we did a whole room 2 full walls of glorious closet space.We are very happy so far. March 4, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by What a hassle I bought 2 of these organizers, they arrived with no hardware & no instructions & parts list. one had 4 poles (need 5), the other had none, also one had a crack in one of the tall upright boards Later when I got the parts I needed to put them together, I discovered another tall upright had a crack, didn't even call, hope it holds! Even after all this, there is a good side to the story, the people I deal with from Home Depot were VERY helpful & polite & easy to deal with. In summary, I would never buy the Martha Stewart brand again, but I certainly would buy from Home Depot again. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love it - it surpassed my expectations My closet was literally jammed pack and had sweaters and sweatshirs piled up on the floor. I can't believe this system held all my clothes and sweaters on hangers and I still have room for more. I have sweatshirts stacked neatly on one of the shelves and a basket full of pocketbooks on another shelf and an empty basked on the bottom shelf. I was really amazed. It was an all day project when you consider taking out all the clothes and putting them back. As well, my husband who installed it, reinforced it somewhat better than the directions said - only because he reinforces everything and knows how many clothes I have. Thinking of buying one for each double closet we have. August 6, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The product is excellent. It was easy to install and looks great. The planning tool on the website is misleading. It does not allow for space on the side walls between the system on the back wall. In my design I had two 'dressers' side by side. The design tool allowed for this but did not add the additional long vertical in the ordering. It also did not account for the additional width of a long vertical. I had to adjust my plan when installing. I was unable to include one whole section. Therefore I had many extra pieces. Mostly shelves. This was not a cheap mistake. That is the ONLY reason why I rated the value so low. So my recommendation is marked no because I want others to be aware of how much extra using the online planning tool could cost you. July 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Product had a lot of damage We returned this because it had a lot of damage. Some of which was due to shipping. Some of which looked like it was existing. Instructions to install were pretty confusing as well. We returned to Home Depot and purchased a similar setup from Closet Maid that seemed much higher quality and was cheaper. March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slightly damaged upon receipt, but fairly easy to install It took two of us and luckily my husband is handy with tools because some of the pieces needed to be sawed down. (Which would have stopped me in my tracks if I were solo!) We also ended up changing the design during the install process to make sure that the space was best utilized and accessed. But relatively easy to put together and looks pretty solid. We did have some damage on a couple of the pieces, but unfortunately because they weren't available locally and needed to be shipped, it would have been a pain to exchange. So we just powered thru with a couple pieces nicked. Kinda hard to start with something damaged, but not the end of the world. Next time, I would encourage them to be packaged more carefully. May 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible! I was very disappointed with the Martha Stewart Starter Closet Kit. It arrived to my house broken and missing pieces. I purchased this same kit but in espresso and the quality was completely different. March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good looked complicated to assemble at the start but once all layed out it was quite easy to install March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple and visually attractive So simple to install and assemble, once you acquire everything needed. It looks great in my closet, plenty of space, and better looking than the wire shelf and bar rack that was in there. Only complaint is, I was actually expecting solid wood quality, not particle board. February 21, 2015
  • 2016-09-08 T14:33:21.460-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_212, tr_212
  • loc_en_US, sid_202060751, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 106ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT