0018098988544

Martha Stewart Living

Model W1

Internet #202060751

Store SKU #298592

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

$159.00 /each
  • Wall-mounted system keeps everything organized & off the floor
  • Adjustable rods and shelves provide variety of storage options
  • Installs easily: sturdy closet organizer hangs on steel track
Color/Finish: White
  • Espresso
  • White
  • Wild Cherry

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Total weight capacity of 1200 lbs. (when evenly distributed)
  • Durable, scratch-resistant melamine surface that ensures long-lasting beauty
  • Combination of 3 shelves and 5 hanging bars to provide a variety of storage options
  • Included hardware and easy-to-follow instructions
  • Classic white finish that goes with any color scheme
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions17 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
5 answers

Can you install the hanging rods at any height you want (for instance, if on one side I want one dress-length pole instead of two short-hang poles)?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, you can install in any of the pre-drilled holes which range from top to bottom of the side panel. I did this and the only "problem" is that you end up with an extra pole if you only do one rod instead of two.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, using the holes provided. However, the recommendations for most closets (via web search) is for double pole configurations is 80" and 40". The Martha Stuart closet instructions put the top of the cabinets at 84" which will support the recommended heights. However, if you are a tall person 6ft+ you will want the poles generally taller and I suggest coming above 84 Inches.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Centreville VA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
Answer: 
Yes you can, very easily! You just leave the bottom rod out, and hang the top rod at whatever height you want.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
birmingham, al
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you can put the hanging rods anywhere you want to, or exclude them all together if you dont want to use them all.
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0

Asked by
Oceanside CA
Read all my Q&A
April 8, 2015
Answer: 
Anywhere there is a peg hole the rods can be installed.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

How many inches does this unit stick out from the wall once hung?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
CA
Read all my Q&A
October 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
14 inches. Also, if you are using the clothes poles the clothes and hangers will extend beyond that
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 17, 2016
Answer: 
This item is flush mounted and is 14 inches in depth.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

Can this kit be installed on a wall?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Charlotte, NC
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2015
I really love this closet kit but I don't have an actual closet in my room. Can it be on a wall ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Pepperell, MA
Read all my Q&A
April 3, 2016
Answer: 
you could but really see this unit for being behind doors sounds like your looking self standing closet like the Ikea units
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Darien, IL
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Unless this is different than the product I bought 10 years ago, no. It needs the side walls of the closet to be stable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
 
2 answers

Has anyone used this to build a home office?

This question is from 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2015
I'm looking at converting a guest-room into a home office. Has anyone had any success/challenges with doing that?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Augusta, Georgia
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
I waited a couple of weeks after it was installed to test it out before I reviewed it .... and I love it!
However, I had purchased two of the starter kits and ended up using the long side from the second kit so that the system reached low enough for me to get the desk height where I wanted it. The handyman installed the metal cross rails at the specified height but where the computer desktop was too Read More
I waited a couple of weeks after it was installed to test it out before I reviewed it .... and I love it!
However, I had purchased two of the starter kits and ended up using the long side from the second kit so that the system reached low enough for me to get the desk height where I wanted it. The handyman installed the metal cross rails at the specified height but where the computer desktop was too high for me to sit at comfortably, so I had him cut the other kits long side boards to the right height for me.
NOTE: The metal railing (used to connect the system too at the top) could have been installed lower but I didn't think of that until later. So be sure to mark the top of the desk height where you will be most comfortable working and then measure upward to determine the place to install the top (white) metal railing.
I bought the Martha Stewart storage bins to hide the white metal railing.
I am very happy with the results. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Augusta, Georgia
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2015
Answer: 
My handyman is installing it this week. When he has completed it, I will take pictures and post any issues or helpful notes that we have learned from the installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T12:13:01.562-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202060751, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 38ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product Went together easy and it's decent quality for the price. April 7, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Looks like a million bucks Ripped out our wire closets and upgraded with these. They really improve the look and value of our home. Installation wise, the key is getting the metal hangers secured to the wall. They provide plastic toggle bolts which work well in the drywall, but I save these for other projects and screw the hangers right into the studs....no problem. We do an upgrade on the rods from the gray metal rods provided to chrome rods...really snaps it up! December 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Closet starter kit Easy to install and does a good job organizing with the starter kit April 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great product I love the closet. the only thing is that we had to bring back some of the items because it was damaged when we opened it. However Home Depot was great, they switched out the damaged items and replaced it with good ones. Also, it was a bit confusing at first when we installed the closet. It came with generic instructions but the original design that I made did not come in the package. I forgot what the design looked like so we winged it. The closet came out looking great and it gave lots room for my close. I like that fact that we can add or take out shelves, drawers, etc. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Martha Stewart Closet Organizer Product functions as advertised. It is well designed and easy to install. March 15, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Terrible product. Cheap material. Horrible assembly process. 3 of the 5 drawers we received were broken. Starter-Kit purchased was missing all hardware. They provided a piece of paper you had to cut to use a template in order to mount drawer hard ware (rather than pre-drill pilot holes to ensure correct alignment) Nearly impossible to use templates and assemble drawers so there were no gaps/holes between drawers. They should take lessons from IKEA or Closet Maid. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Little Pricey for what it is but if that doesnt bother you then its GREAT This product looks and works Great. the only issue i have with it is the price. It did not seem like it needed to the this much money. this is the "starter kit" so if you want more shelving at all its even more. Like the 3 corner shelves by martha Stuart? good idea but for 3 peices of woods its $80! i could cut those myself! other than that i love this product especially because you secure just the shelf part in the middle and both sides the the unit with rods attatched to them can adjust back and forth with just a push or pull. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this closet I used the Martha Stewart Design Team to help me with my plans, the project shipped to me with in days! They were so helpful and were able to manipulate the system to get me my perfect closet, in a very imperfect closet space. My husband and myself were literally shocked with how simple this was to install. We installed about 200 inches of closet in 2 hours. I would recommend this closet and using the MS Team to help advise you. A huge plus was shipping was free, and free return lables if you were to need them. Thank you Home Depot and the Martha Stewart Closet Team! August 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Want one for every closet in the house! great quality. Easy to put together and looks like it was professionally fit for the closet. February 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience Good Product, WONDERFUL purchase experience. HOME DEPOT Rocks. February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent quality and value The closet kits and various pieces were easy to install and build the ideal custom closet. The boards have clean lines and the drawers have a nice auto-close mechanism. It was even easy to trim off pieces to fit my oddly cornered closet. I did one closet with this product to test it out --- and then did 2 more. My only negative comment is that I was not happy about having to order it online because they did not carry the white version in-stock; only the brown. September 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unless you are the hulk don't order online What to do when the UPS guy leaves the 70 lb., 8 ft. package that is this product in the lobby of your apt. building and you have to carry it up 5 flights of stairs? Or worse yet, find the drawers are so small to be useless and you are forced to either pay for the return shipping (not to mention figure out to carry that monster to the UPS store to ship) or if you don't want to pay shipping on a 70 lb. package figure out how to get the 70 lb. package back to the Home Depot store. Bottom line: Don't order this online. Get it in the store and have it delivered April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy with this system I'm very happy with this product. I almost spent double on another brand but thought I'd try to save money here. It was crazy easy to assemble. I just recommend you have a stud finder. That made all the difference and they are super cheap. I'm not handy and neither is my husband but this was super easy. It looks. Nice too!! What a difference it makes! Highly recommend. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great solution for closet organization Great product and easy to install. Offers great options for all types of closets. One area where it would be nice to see more reinforcement on the stationary shelves. If you have multiple segments,you cannot attach the shelves in each at the same level (you have to do one peg up or down). I had to do some pocket hole screws to attach them in that instance. Otherwise great product for the value compared to other options on the market. It took about a half day to complete the install July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good with limitations We had to outfit our new 7x10 closet and chose two of these systems to do it. The process was very quick and the smooth, but you do have to settle for the permanent gray bar at eye height with this unit. Assembly also requires a stud finder to work right, we used a magnetic finder that found the screws in the studs (which has been largely more efficient for us than the digital stud finders) and was only $4. Strongly suggest picking one up with this project. You will also likely need more shelving or drawers with this set...very sparse, but great overall system. August 20, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy online closet configuration tool. Bset part was that it has very easy online closet configuration tool. After configuring it, you can either order online or simply print the list to pick up the individual items from the homedepot store. I was able to install the product in 3 to 5 hours for each closet. December 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product - even better customer service! Love the closet kit for organizing an unruly closet. Direct shipped to my home, the two large vertical boards were snapped. (got me out of installing that weekend). Called HD who filed a damage report. A day later, got a call from the manufacturer in MI, who 2nd day shipped the replacement parts so I could get it installed the following weekend. Good quality, Great customer service. Thanks, HD! September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Product for the Money Quality product for the money. Simple fix to our closets that created a lot of room. Liked the fact that it came with side panels that you could then screw into the wall if needed, rather than trying to find a stud for the hanging rods like most organizers. Also very adjustable should our space needs change in the future and shelves need to be added or moved. Only con would be that it is made from particle board rather than hardwood, but we knew that upfront and is reflected in the price. A guest would be hard pressed to tell the difference though. March 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality The "wood" of the shelves cracks and the hanging bar is located on the same holes that doesn't make sense December 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Closet Space Saver Good start for a close space saver. No shelving to put on the top to put shoes, hat boxes, etc. December 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding!!! Before purchasing this closet organizer system, we looked at every do-it-yourself system out there... and even had some well known closet companies come in to bid the job. We have a huge walk-in master closet and bought the dark brown system for in there... it was so easy to install, so easy to customize, very sturdy and looks stunning. I was so happy about the outcome of that closet I decided to buy the white ones for all the other reach-in closets in my home. You cannot go wrong with this system! It's stylish, durable, customizeable with so many options, and basically the best organizing purchase I've made. I highly recommend these to everyone and get compliments from everyone who now sees my previously cluttered closets completely organized. October 11, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Challenging to work with Home Depot I would have liked the product to include a top piece for the closet organizer to utilize the top part of the closet for more storage, if it came with one it was not included or suggested in the design phase. September 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly not a great product Product not well manufactured. Chips on finished edges. Additional brackets were required to secure to the wall. Easy to assemble and works but don't think its worth the money. December 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good basic kit Good basic closet kit. Easy install. I picked it up at the store to try to avoid shipping damage. No issues. October 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love our organized closet! This closet organization system is fantastic. You can fit soooooo much more in your closet, but at the same time it will look less cluttered. The Martha Stewart system worked great for us. We had no problems with delivery, quality of product or installation. It is much admired by everyone we show it off to. Note - after you rip out your old closet shelf you will need to paint the walls before installing this. No one told us when we did our first closet. So expect to add another day of work to this project. June 1, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Starter Kit is great and a fun project I like the kit, it was just what I was looking for. I purchased two of these and I was glad I did. no regrets! These are perfect one-man assemble units. it took longer to find the studs then to hang the unit. I used the recommended height and found then to be the right height, for two rows of storage. I would give the product a 10 + except for the shipping process which is poor. May 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by This product functions very well. The product worked properly as it was intended. There were some design flaws that I didn't realize were there until we started putting it together. Some of the screws were not able to go through the wall b/c with the slghtest bit of strength on them, the heads stripped. Since the product only came with one cleat for the closet, we had to make some more cleats to keep up the other ends of the structure. We wanted to make sure nothing fell down. The track that everything is held on to, isn't a very durable metal. I would fix that all of the screws & track that come with the product be more durable to accomadate all different types of walls & tools that could be used to put together this product. Eventually I was able to put the system in my closet but there were quite a bit of problems alon the way. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product for the money Easy to assemble. Product received in good condtion. Nice design. Heavy to lift onto track. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great item! Great item for the money. It's easy to put together, looks good and is functional. I ordered 2 of these in white and they fit perfectly in my two walk-in closets in my basement. I had to order these online since the stores only carry the "wood looking" organizers. The only drawback is there aren't shelves above the closet rods. Of course I didn't think to order any and you can't get white ones in the stores...so I had to buy them at another store. I had to cut them to fit but I have plenty of tools to do that! The only other complaint is that they sent me wood grained screw covers. I can't imagine who thought that would be a good substitution, but it's such a minor detail it's hardly worth mentioning. You really can't see the screws anyway. I would definitely purchase these again! November 24, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Product helped a great deal with little closet space The shipping box was very heavy due to the MDF shelving and "legs" but the components were well packed and protected. There is some real assembly required and one needs a number of tools and ability to gauge where the studs are in the wall. Some slight modification to a few components may be required depending on closet size. But, the end result is what we expected to receive and it is maximizing all our available space. December 17, 2013
  • 2016-09-08 T11:54:35.981-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_212, tr_212
  • loc_en_US, sid_202060751, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 8 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT