Model # W1

Internet #202060751

Store SKU #298592

Martha Stewart Living 4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit
0018098988544

Martha Stewart Living

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit

  • Wall-mounted system keeps everything organized & off the floor
  • Adjustable rods and shelves provide variety of storage options
  • Installs easily: sturdy closet organizer hangs on steel track
$15900 /each

Choose Your Options

White
  • Espresso
  • White
  • Wild Cherry
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

A perfect start to complete closet organization, this smart, versatile design fits any closet 4-8 ft. wide. You can easily add drawers, shoe shelves, baskets and accessories (all sold separately) to this starter kit to build the closet you've always wanted. This organizational solution will allow you to keep all your personal items off the floor and out of your way.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Total weight capacity of 1200 lbs. (when evenly distributed)
  • Durable, scratch-resistant melamine surface that ensures long-lasting beauty
  • Combination of 3 shelves and 5 hanging bars to provide a variety of storage options
  • Included hardware and easy-to-follow instructions
  • Classic white finish that goes with any color scheme
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
14 in
Assembled Height (in.)
72 in
Assembled Width (in.)
96 in
Product Depth (in.)
14
Shelf Weight Capacity (lb)
65

Details

Closet Storage Features
Adjustable shelves
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Included
Hardware
Material
Wood
Mount Type
Wall Mount
Number of Shelves
3
Returnable
90-Day
Storage Product Type
Closet Kits

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
10 Year Limited Warranty

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the Martha Stewart 4 ft-8 ft deluxe starter closet kit come in white?

Asked by: Anonymous
all the fixtures come with this unit as a packge? does this unit hang on the wall with the hanging bracket that is on the wall
Answered by: boston
Date published: 2017-01-24

are you saying this whole close is 4 ft by 8ft an order the drawers separate?? I see ne depth size??

are you saying this whole close is 4 ft by 8ft an order the drawers separate?? I see ne depth size??
Asked by: kay
The depth has to be no less than 22 but can be up to 19. Be careful as I had an issue with big hangers and had to use plastic ones to make it fit.
Answered by: newcloset
Date published: 2017-03-06

Do the rodds need to be screwed into the side pieces, or can the be screwed directly into the wall?

Asked by: Hayhay
Both options are possible but the wall would need backing or substantial support if the rod is screwed directly to it.
Answered by: GreasedLightning
Date published: 2017-02-08

What material are the rods made of?

Asked by: TF816
Painted tube steel that slide together for adjustable widths.
Answered by: GreasedLightning
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_47
  • loc_, sid_202060751, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 97ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4 ft. - 8 ft. Classic White Deluxe Starter Closet Kit is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 616.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Missing 4 closet bars and hardware....... Missing 4 closet bars and hardware....
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went together very well. Good quality. Went together very well. Good quality.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went together great. Nice quality ... Went together great. Nice quality
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality and easy install. Good quality and easy install.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, likes great!... Easy to install, likes great!
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to assembal ... easy to assembal
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to install easy to install
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product... Good product
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We lik... We lik
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is an excellent way to build out a closet at an affordable price with modular control in your ... It is an excellent way to build out a closet at an affordable price with modular control in your design. Some things to note and the reason for not a 5 star. The tops of multi segments won't necessarily align unless you opt to just place one on the pins instead of screwing it. So that in the pic they don't show a top shelf, but it is provided and seems an obvious necessary piece. You will want to put rarely used large items up there, but if there are 3 sections as in the starter kit the center top will need to be placed in there as a shelf on the pins. I would have preferred a design that incorporates dowels. Instructions on this essentially don't exist. Online and CS phone support did answer this quickly. Cutting the sizes down for anything custom requires nice clean straight cuts, so know a neighbor with a table saw if you don't have one. The rod also need cutting, but can be done with a cheapo hand hacksaw. Finally the lower corners of the midsize side panels need the corners shaved off. They are simply too sharp and dangerous to leave that that height. I have a hole in my backside to prove it. A good electric sander will do it in seconds, or by hand in 10 minutes. This pieces should come rounded by design since there is already a front and back to those pieces due to the hole pattern. Those nitpick aside it was a bigger success than we expected to make use of the small space we had.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value, looks great in my walk in closet! We purchased two of these deluxe starter kits, plus corner shelves, slanted shoe shelves, and drawers, to turn a small room off our master bedroom into a walk in closet. It took my husband about 4 hours to install it by himself, and he had no complaints. It looks great, I am very pleased. The only thing is, I wish there were panels to cover the top, and panels going all the way to the floor, which would give it a more custom, built in look. All in all it looks beautiful & so far is holding up well.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets!! This is the second home in which we've installed a Martha Stewart Closet system, and we love it. This house had an odd-shaped closet, so we used the online design tool which was fantastic! We were able to maximize the rod space that we needed for shorter items, and allow a smaller section for long items, and added more shelves to the shelving units. The design tool calculated exactly what "kits" we needed, and the order was delivered free to our home in short order. We had exactly what we needed. The instructions were good, and there are videos online with even more hints. We love our closet!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy install!!!!! My 10 year old daughter and I put this together, just the 2 of us. I went online to a Martha Stewert website and the design was quite easy. Just select you closet type and add the dimesions. The design gives you lots of choices between drawers, shelves or hanging bars. We spent about 3 days on the install. The first day was to assemble the drawers, about 2 hours. The second day we put up the hanging rack and mounted it to the studs, about 1 hour. The third day we hung up the panels and installed the drawers, hanging bars and shelves, about 3-4 hours. All in all this was easy and fun. Great instructions.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible closet system This was a nightmare! It is not custom by any means. We entered the dimensions of our closet and let Martha Stewart closets create the recommended configuration ... Problem is still all are items are sent in standard sizes. After over 40 boxes were dropped on our front door we learned EVERYTHING had to be cut down with saw equipment that the average household does not have. The entire system hangs on a single track system that we bolted into the studs, and it still fell in the middle of the night. My husband is still mad we kept this and didn't return.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my new closet system! I absolutely love the finished product of this Martha Stewart closet system. I used the online design tool and custom-designed two long sides of a walk-in closet. The end result is beautiful and super functional. Here is the downside - the boxes came on a pallet and the shipping company was technically not even supposed to get it past my driveway. All in all the entire shipment weighed 700 pounds. I have no idea how Home Depot expected me to move 700 pounds worth of closet equipment? Also, I hired two construction workers who were doing other work on my house to move and install it, and it took them 6 straight hours to do it. Just be forewarned that it's not as easy as it looks! Other than that, it's a perfect system and I'm super happy with it!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to Install, but boatds are damage I appreciated the ability to design closet online with tool and the pieces coming directly to my home. The closet components were easy to install with a partner. However, just about every board had some level of damage ranging from a 4 inch chunk to chips. Since this is in a closet I opted to work around the issues instead of contacting the store. I didn't want the hassle of lugging the heavy boards back and forth. I used the screw cover up circles to hide the smaller imperfections and darkened the rest with furniture coloring. I put the board with the large defect against the wall. I expected more from Martha Stewart products.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy and easily adjustable I chose this product because it is completely wall supported and does not touch the floor. It took 2 people about 4 hours to assemble in our 8' x 9' closet. The system is very sturdy and the hardware that comes with it is high quality. The shelves are particle board, but they look high end.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maximized our closet's efficiency Our non-walk-in closet originally had a single hang bar with a shelf above it, and we thought we needed a bigger closet. That is, until we found the Martha Stewart closet organizer at Home Depot. We can now hang almost twice as many garments in our closet, and we have more shelving. There is now no wasted space! It looks great as well!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, Great price. I purchased an entire master closet full of this stuff, and paid a friend to install it. I watched him do most of it, and it looked pretty easy. This product is just a laminate on top of particle board, but it's pretty sturdy. We purchased it in the 'espresso' color, which is a dark brown. We were most impressed by how professional it looked with the corner shelves and drawers; those dressed it up the most. You can buy the D1 or D2 kits as your base, and then add on pieces as needed. Just draw out your dimenions on paper, and make a list. I found a coupon online that saved a bunch, plus it had free shipping. Beats driving to the store and hauling it all home. Some tips: 1.) we hung ours 8 inches off the floor (everything hangs on a metal horizontal bracket that you mount first, which is why the rest is pretty easy). That still allowed my wife to reach the top hanging rods, and also left us room on the floor to sweep and/or put shoes. 2.) In the picture, the D1 and D2 kits appear to have a top shelf. They DO NOT. The top piece you see is the closet rod, and the 2nd horizontal item is the mounting bracket. We knew this, so I ordered extra shelving in either 24 or 36 inches, and my friend installed a top shelf all around the top of the closet; gives you LOTS more storage for bins on top, etc. Also note: in the D1 and D2 kits, the middle section has vertical pieces that are full-height, but the sides do not. If you plan to buy several kits or place some side by side, you may need to purchase adt'l 48 inch vertical pieces if your adjacent section will have shelves or drawers in the lower half. That's what we did and it worked fine. 3.) The drawers fit in the 24 inch width areas (and 2 depths of drawers are available. Get the 8 inch. The smaller ones won't hold much). The hanging rods can go all the way to about 35 inches, at which they rate the load at a max of 35 lbs. I just started hanging clothes, and it appears it will handle at least that much. You can beef up the mounting if you need to, for the rods. 4.) The price seems really cheap, until you actually total the complete list for a decent size closet. However, it is STILL much cheaper than having a professional company install it, even when paying a friend to install it. Do it yourself and save even more. 5.) I had some vertical sections that I wanted, that had drawers side-by-side (3 drawers in a 24 inch section right beside another section of 3 drawers). I had to have each section have its OWN vertical side piece in order to make the drawers be at the exact same height, side-by-side. If you only use one piece of vertical wood as the middle piece, because of the holes required to mount drawers, they would have been one hole higher or lower for the adjacent section (you can't use the same hole in just one piece of wood to mount the same thing, at the same height, on both sides of the board). Just a note; if you want a professional installed look, make sure to have enough vertical pieces (which have holes for the pegs or mounting screws up the entire length). 6.) Overall, I'm very impressed. We did a lot of research, at several stores and calling custom closet companies. I knew my friend was very capable of installing them, and it is saving me a lot of time. The product is as-described, is a good value for the money, and in this color, really looks impressive. I would recommend it and will probably buy more for the kids' closets. Again, to make it really look nice, add some corner shelves (which have a rounded edge at the inside corner; look at a picture) or at least some drawers. The drawer fronts are really good looking and come with nice metal pulls in a sort of pewter look. Regarding the whole thing: My wife said 'it's awesome', which pretty much is the best endorsement I can provide.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built, looks high end once installed. Love the Martha Stewart closet system. We purchased many of the different pieces to fill a 15 foot walk-in (30 feet of closet components). The kit went together easy and was fairly simple to install. The only complaint I have is that the closet design tool is misleading. You cannot install two sections next to each other that contain drawers but the design tool lets you design your closet that way. However, my closet looks amazing and looks like I spent much more than I did.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This has transformed my 9.5 foot closet. I did order an additional piece to add to the basic set. What great it how you can change the configuration. I needed two sets of double hangers at 35" , one 24" six shelves and 17" hanger. It took about 2 1/2 hours to install. Directions were good all the parts where included. Only cons are I didn't received all the boxes at the same time which made it a two day project and there was no way to have everything expressed shipped which I would have paid since the cheap wire rack I had was already broken with my clothes all over the floor. One extra thing we did was install 1x1 cleats in each area for added support in addition to the one cleat provided.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really disappointed I ordered this closet system online. The pieces for the starter kit when combined in one box are very heavy and they are very poorly packaged for shipping. I had to return the first shipment I received due to excessive damage. I had the second shipment sent directly to the store and there was still damage but far less so I decided to keep it despite the damage. The instructions are a little vague but there are videos online which are helpful. If I had looked into this system further I would have realized that the support angle on which all the units hang is exposed after installation. It is mostly hidden once clothing is hung but it is very unattractive. My biggest complaint is the damage to the pieces, many chips and dents that are highly visible with a white finish. I must say however that Home Depot was great about refunding and returning the first shipment, their customer service was fantastic.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Martha Stewart Closet Organizer The closet organizer looks nice in photos but is very low quality. It is constructed out of particle board, which anyone who knows anything about carpentry knows particle board is cheap and not fun to work with. This organizer does not provide a sturdy construction due to the track mount system the entire assembly is hung from. Also, the price for this closet organizer is fairly high for just some cheap particle board. For the price you would think it would be made from actual hardwood.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, flexible storage solution My daughter and I install.ed this easily in my granddaughter's closet. Provides plenty of hanging space and we opted for additional shelves. Be sure to use the online tool to design your closet, then modify each section as you want it. I eliminated the expensive options for now and kept it basic. It definitely will help if you have two people, especially when it comes to lifting the center section into place.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Organizer. Goes Together Easily To finish out a new closet, I bought the deluxe starter set, a couple partial started sets and many extra shelves (24" and 36"). Finish is nice and it went together well. My only complaint is that they do not offer 48" shelves. I added shelves at the top (10 foot ceilings) and over the lower hanging bars plus other shelves to create non-hanging storage space. In my design, I had over 36 inches in a couple of cases. Because they don't offer 48" shelves, I had to find some online from another company. Wood matched reasonable well - but a little frustrating that 48" shelves are not offered for an organizer designed for 4 to 8 feet in width.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really pleased We purchased a full closet system from this line complete with drawers, shoe shelving, hanging space, etc. We're really pleased with it. We like that it's a hanging wall mount instead of on the floor and we feel like it's sturdy and able to hold plenty of weight. It looks really nice also, a big upgrade from the wire racks we inherited when we bought the house. The drawers are sturdy and open all the way. My husband said the install was not difficult but is time consuming.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! It organized all my clothes perfectly! I love it. My only recommendation is to pick up this item in store and not have it shipped to your house. I originally had it shipped to my house but was badly damaged when it arrived. It came in one 90 lb package that was very beat up. The one that I exchange in the store was in perfect condition. Home Depot's customer service was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-12-20
  • y_2017, m_7, d_23, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_615
  • loc_, sid_202060751, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 251ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT