The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
  • Maytag
  • Model MVWB835DW
  • Internet #205875252
  • Store SO SKU #1001358543

5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Was  $899.00
Special Buy  $708.00
$63720 /each

Save $261.80 (29%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # MVWB880BW

Internet #204307083

Store SO SKU #1000020986

Maytag Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
0883049285757

Discontinued Maytag

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Experience a whole new level of clean with this Maytag brand premium top load washer. In addition to a generous 4.8 cu. ft. capacity, this Bravos XL High Efficiency top load washer uses the Cold Wash cycle to help power out tough stains in cold water using extra cleaning action and the Active Soak setting. Plus, it delivers the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by the PowerWash system. The PowerWash system uses our unique PowerSpray technology, optimal dispensers and the PowerWash cycle to help remove even the toughest stains. This washer comes with a solid, 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket. And because it is designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A., you can buy this Bravos XL model with genuine American Pride.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Maytag brand's largest capacity washer ever. At 4.8 cu. ft. of capacity this washer can clean up to 21 towels in a single load
  • Stainless steel wash basket that adds a polished, premium look and feel. It resists odors, rust and chipping and the smooth surface helps protect delicate fabrics from snagging
  • Allergen Cycle: proven to eliminate 95 percent of common allergens, such as dust mites and pet dander, from fabrics
  • PowerWash system provides the best cleaning in the industry with extra cleaning action and a thorough rinse
  • 13 wash cycles include: Allergen, Whites (cotton), Power Wash, Heavy Duty, Bulky, Normal, Cold Wash, Sheets, Colors/Towels, Rapid Wash, Delicate/Handwash, Rinse/Drain & Spin to handle everything from delicate synthetics to heavyweight cotton
  • ENERGY STAR qualified with a CEE Tier III rating: this washer is among the most efficient washers in the industry
  • Rear panel controls provide convenient access to all cycle and option selections
  • Adjustable soil, water temperature and spin speed settings allow you to customize wash cycles to provide the exceptional fabric care
  • Automatic water level sensors detect the load size and automatically adjust water usage, which helps save resources
  • Rapid Wash cycle combines high-speed wash action and high-speed spin for the optimal cleaning and shortened dry times
  • SmoothClose lid hinge design closes the washer lid slowly, helping with loading and unloading
  • Quiet Series sound package: specially designed sound absorbers and dampeners reduce noise for quieter operation and less household disruption
  • IntelliClean Impeller: the wash plate continuously moves clothes through the water to clean more gently than a traditional agitator, and takes up less space, which maximizes the washer's capacity
  • With a 10-year limited parts warranty on the wash basket and motor, you can look forward to years of worry-free, dependable cleaning
  • Washer requires use of high-efficiency detergent
  • The Home Depot will not hook up your washer with used fill hoses; new fill hoses will be offered during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $799.00
Special Buy $643.00
$578.70 /each
Save $220.30 (28%)
$899.00 /each
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Name 4.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with PowerWash Cycle in White Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR 4.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam and TurboWash in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand Maytag Maytag LG Electronics
Ratings (1251) (1444) (64)
High Efficiency Washer Yes Yes Yes
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 4.7 4.8 4.9
Washer Features Cycle Time Remaining Display,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal Add Garment (pause),Cycle Time Remaining Display,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Out-of-Balance Detection,Soft Close Lid Add Garment (pause),Built-in Water Heater,Control Lockout,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control,Out-of-Balance Detection,Soft Close Lid,Steam Function
Color/Finish Family White White White
Savings Center Special Buys
Steam Function No No Yes
Product Depth (in.) 27 in 27.63 28.38
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- --
View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

What is the "clean washer" feature?

I've been comparing Maytag washers and this model has a "clean Washer" feature. What exactly is that and how does it work? Thanks.
Asked by: Anniem
You buy these little packs that look like dishwasher soap and they clean your washer. I do not feel it is necessary as frequently because after each load, I leave the lid open and keep it aired out. I use it though because like every mechanical thing you should have a cleaner -think sink disposal, dishwasher, coffee pot, oil change (too far?) and even your shower head. All those things get gunky so why not use it? Just my 2 cents.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

small loads

Does this machine have the ability to do small loads? I have a high efficiency top loader now but it does not do small loads.
Asked by: helicopter
I'm pretty sure it doesn't have a small load but I do believe it only uses as much water as the load dictates. The time of the load is the same but water needed is adjusted. I thought I read that somewhere. I hope that helps.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does this machine self balance?

I notice this machine has a self balance detector? Does it self balance or do I have to do it? If so, how?
Asked by: KAMcMillion
The machine screen will have a UL appear to show the load is not level. In my experience it will beep a few times then if you don't show up it will add water and the agitator and tub will try to jiggle it in place -not sure if this ever works because I'm not standing there watching it all the time. When I noticed the UL, I tried to rearrange then hit start and if that didn't work after a few tries I would hit cancel load where it then drains. I would run the rinse cycle if I notice suds or rinse cycle to only spin. I hope that made sense.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

does this machine have a permanent press cycle?

In picture of dials I do not see a permanent press cycle. What settings would I use to wash permanent press clothes?
Asked by: jayjay
No permanent press. I think I would use the delicate.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1444.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ooh la la When I first got these delivered, I was scrambling around the house trying to find things to wash. All of the settings are so useful, I love that there is a setting for towels and sheets so that the machine does not get off balance. It is easy to maintain and use, the integrated display gives a nice high tech touch to your laundry room. The drum is huge!! I can fit 2 loads where in my old one I could only fit one.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase! I was hesitant about buying this washer due to its "high tech" features and price, however, after using it for three months, I absolutely love it!! I love it's sleek look , the numerous settings, reminder when to clean, and how quiet it is. The only thing I'm still getting used to is the sounds when you open the door, change settings, etc-- it's a little different. I also purchased the matching dryer and love it. I would purchase again without thinking twice!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT PURCHASE MAYTAG BRAVOS XL PUTS HOLES IN YOUR CLOTHES AND DESTROYS THEM. NO MATTER WHAT CYCLE I USE, WHAT GUIDELINE THEY TELL ME TO FOLLOW - IT CONTINUES TO DESTROY MY FAMILIES CLOTHES BY PUTTING SMALL HOLES IN THEM. MAYTAG REFUSES TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBLITY. TOLD BY OTHERS THAT IS DUE TO IT BEING SUCKED INTO THE HOLES INTHE SIDES OF THE MACHINE AND THAT IS ABOUT WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE. MAYTAG REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE OR REPAIR THE PROBLEM. STAY AWAY FROM MAYTAG BRAVOS!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy and makes a grinding noise under load!! I bought this washer on recommendation of store employee and for the size. My wife washed our comforter and it sounded like a gear was stripping out. Initially we thought that we had it set on the wrong setting but we washed another blanket and it still makes the same noise! Frustrated!!
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my washer I wanted high efficiency but did not want front load and pedestals. I love this washer. My water bill dropped $40 the first full month I had it. That is HUGE. Clothes come out great and I love that I can select amount of spin dry. This has been a great investment. My other set was only 5 yrs old but facing the 3rd repair I was done and decided to buy a new set. I compared a lot of sets and selected this brand and style based on reviews and incentives.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I bought this washer to replace another older model that took a nose dive! ... So glad I did! ... It's so quiet. I especially like the Power Wash cycle when used with Tide detergent and Tide Boost gets out the oil from my bowling ball shirts each and every time.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but complicated and not great. Using this washer is not exactly intuitive (especially for the older folks in my family). It cleans clothes well enough, but the regular rinse cycle is not sufficient. I have to use the extra rinse or my clothes are itchy (no, I do not have sensitive skin). I would rather have more control over individual features instead of being locked into certain programs, but the variety of programs is sufficient enough that its not a big deal. It appears to be very well made, but only time will tell.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Family Advice When the bearings went out in the Front loader, another brand, I contacted my daughter, who just purchased a set Maytag's several months earlier. She likes the capacity, quietness and she just loves them. I already had the best advice and review possible.
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer! So far this is a great washer. It can hold tons of clothes and I even washed a bulky quilt that I was dreading taking to the laundry mat. This washer looks great and offers many different settings. It is in my basement so it is quiet enough for me. The clothes come out looking good. I was afraid that these washers would be rough on clothing but that has not been the case. I also have no had any problems so far with smells or mold and I keep the lid open when not in use.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was a little leary but works great! I had read a lot of reviews that there wasn't enough water to get the clothes wet etc. Happy to report that it does wash different but clothes come out clean each time.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I took some getting used to. We read many on line reviews and found conflicting opinions. What we found is that this machine is a new way of cleaning and that we had to throw out our old understanding of how a washing machine worked. We read the cycle descriptions several times in order to understand how to use this machine. How to load it, how to place the items in the basket and how to sort the items before loading. We love it now.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive tearing up cloths comforters I bought this a year and and a half ago and the upper plastic ring is breaking apart I will update later after I call maytag customer service.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally love it! Bought this washer after we returned home from vacation and washer was broke. All that dirty laundry to be washed had to decide quick. Checked Consumer Reports and suggested Maytag Bravos XL so after looking I decided on it. Have totally love it! Went from a small front load that I hated to a gigantic top load. Only downfall has been clothes seem to be more wrinkly but I attribute that to them sitting on top of each other. Other than that completely love!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to read instructions, the end wash job is teriffic. I am so happy that I chose Maytag appliances, I will never purchase any other kind of washer and dryer .
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Washer I have owned this terrific washer for a month, and love it. Everything about its capabilities is a plus.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent washer This washer is by far the best washer we have ever owned. We have gone with some of the most expensive washers in the past and they all came up short on quality, life expectancy and durability. This washer is fabulous. Washer holds a ton of clothes and can even wash my King Size thick comforter very well. We are so happy with this purchase, our only regret was that we didn't buy it sooner.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from East This washing machine is so easy to use. Our items have never come out so clean.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HARD WORKING APPLIANCE. We use this washer at our animal hospital in Jefferson City, MO. We haven't had it for very long but the amount of time we have had it has worked great for us. It has a large loader and doesn't seem to stall at all with all the amounts of hair and feces that get put into it with our boarding linens. We would def recommend this machine to any others with big families or businesses.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from May tag It already broke Repair Man coming tomorrow Haven't even had it a month
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from maytag washer Do not like my new maytag washer first of all it leaves white spots of residue on all my clothes that are black when I wash them. Since it does not have a agaiter all the clothes get stuck to one side and the machine shuts down and then I have to open it up and fix all the clothes and run the rinse cycle again. Also when I open the machine it make some kind of sound /music which is VERY ANNOYING. It does not have a delay feature on it and it leaves my clothes all wrinkled. Before this machine I had a whirpool which was also a piece of junk and only lasted 4 years before I replaced it with the maytag. I think this machine is also a piece of junk.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best washer ever I brought this washer to replace a fairy new front loader and it was the best thing I ever did. I have done heavy loads in it as well as reg loads and.never have any vibrations when washing. Clothes come.out spotless and you.have so many options to pick from. My biggest mistake was I should have bought the Maytag brand years ago and.not wasted my time and.money on.other Brands
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good features Very happy with the washer. I enjoyed using the machine.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Washer My wife and I love this washing machine for it's design, ease of use and BIG tub. It really handles large load wonderfully. Our only complaint would be that on the final spin the water pump is noisier than our Whirlpool Cabrio. Our washer and dryer are in a small closet in the kitchen area with two bi-fold doors. But this is a very small complaint; you get used to it
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purely Remarkable! We recently purchased a Maytag washer & dryer. My old Maytag set was still working great but I felt I needed an update. I truly love my new laundry set. I am using less water and I find that all those loads I used hot water in.... are a waste in my new machine. I can use the cold water cycle and my whites are just as white as the hot cycle in my old unit. I always purchase Maytag and have never had a complaint - I love the Maytag Brand.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So pleased! Did considerable research before deciding to purchase this particular washer about a month ago. We are very pleased with our decision. The washer performs so much better than our previous one, washing large loads efficiently under an hour with low water usage and clean clothes that dry quickly. Also appreciate the clear control panel and see-through top.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome performance I bought this to replace a front loader. This machine has every feature you can imagine and they all work. I must admit you have to get use to the lower water levels, but it does an excellent job cleaning. This machine may not be for the very short lady (it is deep)...but I am so happy to be rid of the smells in the front loader...the depth is worth it.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent capacity Does a fantastic job so far. We have pets and between the washer and dryer, any pet hair is dealt with and clothes are cleaned thoroughly. Had a couple wash cycles where maybe used too much detergent and went through the "suds" cycle and took longer, but that was user error and still getting used to not having to use so much detergent.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Features/Gentle on Clothes This is a fine machine. It does a good job of cleaning clothes and it is gentle. Our old machine generated so much lint in the discharge hose filter that the filters needed to be changed after every 4-5 loads. We have run about 80 loads since purchasing the machine and the lint filter is only about 1/4 full. The machine is not silent, but much quieter than the previous machine. We are very satisfied with this machine.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HE is the Way to Go We would never buy any other brand than Maytag. We had not had high-efficiency appliances before, but we liked the look of the Bravos XL HE washer and matching dryer. What a delightful surprise! This washer is quiet, efficient (obviously), and nice looking. The display is user-friendly and intuitive. We couldn't be more pleased.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so many options I love the fact that there is a setting for almost anything. Whites, bulk, sheets, whatever i am washing there is a setting. I wish the alarm sound when it was done was a little louder but so far that is my only complaint. Basket is large enough to hold a bunch of cloths without overloading and everything comes out clean.
Date published: 2014-10-15
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1444
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 232ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT