The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
  • Maytag
  • Model MVWB835DW
  • Internet #205875252
  • Store SO SKU #1001358543

5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Was  $899.00
Special Buy  $721.00
$648.90 /each

Save $250.10 (28%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # MVWB880BW

Internet #204307083

Store SO SKU #1000020986

Maytag Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
0883049285757

Discontinued Maytag

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Experience a whole new level of clean with this Maytag brand premium top load washer. In addition to a generous 4.8 cu. ft. capacity, this Bravos XL High Efficiency top load washer uses the Cold Wash cycle to help power out tough stains in cold water using extra cleaning action and the Active Soak setting. Plus, it delivers the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by the PowerWash system. The PowerWash system uses our unique PowerSpray technology, optimal dispensers and the PowerWash cycle to help remove even the toughest stains. This washer comes with a solid, 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket. And because it is designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A., you can buy this Bravos XL model with genuine American Pride.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Maytag brand's largest capacity washer ever. At 4.8 cu. ft. of capacity this washer can clean up to 21 towels in a single load
  • Stainless steel wash basket that adds a polished, premium look and feel. It resists odors, rust and chipping and the smooth surface helps protect delicate fabrics from snagging
  • Allergen Cycle: proven to eliminate 95 percent of common allergens, such as dust mites and pet dander, from fabrics
  • PowerWash system provides the best cleaning in the industry with extra cleaning action and a thorough rinse
  • 13 wash cycles include: Allergen, Whites (cotton), Power Wash, Heavy Duty, Bulky, Normal, Cold Wash, Sheets, Colors/Towels, Rapid Wash, Delicate/Handwash, Rinse/Drain & Spin to handle everything from delicate synthetics to heavyweight cotton
  • ENERGY STAR qualified with a CEE Tier III rating: this washer is among the most efficient washers in the industry
  • Rear panel controls provide convenient access to all cycle and option selections
  • Adjustable soil, water temperature and spin speed settings allow you to customize wash cycles to provide the exceptional fabric care
  • Automatic water level sensors detect the load size and automatically adjust water usage, which helps save resources
  • Rapid Wash cycle combines high-speed wash action and high-speed spin for the optimal cleaning and shortened dry times
  • SmoothClose lid hinge design closes the washer lid slowly, helping with loading and unloading
  • Quiet Series sound package: specially designed sound absorbers and dampeners reduce noise for quieter operation and less household disruption
  • IntelliClean Impeller: the wash plate continuously moves clothes through the water to clean more gently than a traditional agitator, and takes up less space, which maximizes the washer's capacity
  • With a 10-year limited parts warranty on the wash basket and motor, you can look forward to years of worry-free, dependable cleaning
  • Washer requires use of high-efficiency detergent
  • The Home Depot will not hook up your washer with used fill hoses; new fill hoses will be offered during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
$899.00 /each
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Name 5.1 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR 4.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam and TurboWash in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE Maytag LG Electronics
Ratings (234) (1444) (64)
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 5.1 4.8 4.9
Color/Finish Family White White White
High Efficiency Washer Yes Yes Yes
Product Depth (in.) 29 27.63 28.38
Washer Features Built-in Water Heater,Control Lockout,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Interior Light,Out-of-Balance Detection,Soft Close Lid Add Garment (pause),Cycle Time Remaining Display,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Out-of-Balance Detection,Soft Close Lid Add Garment (pause),Built-in Water Heater,Control Lockout,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control,Out-of-Balance Detection,Soft Close Lid,Steam Function
Steam Function No No Yes
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- --
View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

What is the "clean washer" feature?

I've been comparing Maytag washers and this model has a "clean Washer" feature. What exactly is that and how does it work? Thanks.
Asked by: Anniem
You buy these little packs that look like dishwasher soap and they clean your washer. I do not feel it is necessary as frequently because after each load, I leave the lid open and keep it aired out. I use it though because like every mechanical thing you should have a cleaner -think sink disposal, dishwasher, coffee pot, oil change (too far?) and even your shower head. All those things get gunky so why not use it? Just my 2 cents.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

small loads

Does this machine have the ability to do small loads? I have a high efficiency top loader now but it does not do small loads.
Asked by: helicopter
I'm pretty sure it doesn't have a small load but I do believe it only uses as much water as the load dictates. The time of the load is the same but water needed is adjusted. I thought I read that somewhere. I hope that helps.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does this machine self balance?

I notice this machine has a self balance detector? Does it self balance or do I have to do it? If so, how?
Asked by: KAMcMillion
The machine screen will have a UL appear to show the load is not level. In my experience it will beep a few times then if you don't show up it will add water and the agitator and tub will try to jiggle it in place -not sure if this ever works because I'm not standing there watching it all the time. When I noticed the UL, I tried to rearrange then hit start and if that didn't work after a few tries I would hit cancel load where it then drains. I would run the rinse cycle if I notice suds or rinse cycle to only spin. I hope that made sense.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

does this machine have a permanent press cycle?

In picture of dials I do not see a permanent press cycle. What settings would I use to wash permanent press clothes?
Asked by: jayjay
No permanent press. I think I would use the delicate.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1444.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer! I have had this washer for about one month and I am very pleased with how it cleans my clothes. I had never used a HE washer so I was not sure if I'd be satisfied; however the salesman assured me I could bring it back if I did not like it. I use much less detergent and the time in the dryer is less since everything is spun so well. The machine is quiet. The capacity is so large I can wash sleeping bags or coveralls without any problem. Glad I went with this maytag- I will not need to return it!
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it I bought this because I can wash a comforter in it. The size is great. I like the different wash options. My clothes do come out more wrinkled after wash cycle and I don't dry most of my shirts. I did notice a dirt stain still on my pants after they had been washed so I am concerned that maybe my clothes aren't getting as clean. I did rewash my pants and the stain was gone. I will put down that I will recommend to a friend but I am undecided at this time.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but complicated and not great. Using this washer is not exactly intuitive (especially for the older folks in my family). It cleans clothes well enough, but the regular rinse cycle is not sufficient. I have to use the extra rinse or my clothes are itchy (no, I do not have sensitive skin). I would rather have more control over individual features instead of being locked into certain programs, but the variety of programs is sufficient enough that its not a big deal. It appears to be very well made, but only time will tell.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First ever washer purchase. We've been using our new washer for about 3 months. The variety of settings is and it's nice thatgreat for ease of use, and you can tweek them to your liking. I have found that laundering heavily soiled clothes such as jeans and tees worn while doing dirty yard work really does require a long washing time. I'm still getting used to not having an agitator or the pulverization of a front loader... Overall I am very satisfied with this purchase/
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ZERO STARS 1 star is too high of a rating. Please do your research and save yourself the headache!! Our washer drain pump has been replaced twice after it failed and starting filling up the pan every time it did a wash. Now the drum seal has gone on it! It's less than 5 years old. I literally want to throw it out of a window. I am going back to an old school washer and can't wait!! Most repair people I called wouldn't even touch my maytag bravos. It really is a horrible piece of equipment!!!
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy I have had this new washer for a few months now. I hate it. Rarely is there a load that I can put in and walk away from. It is constantly unbalanced, I have to actually turn the thing off and start over. It is very difficult to balance again. Also, the clothes get twisted up so bad that my grandsons little arm and leg pieces are actually tied in a knot. It wrinkles the clothes so bad that they stay wrinkled even after untangling them and putting them in the dryer. And lastly, the wash time is much longer than my older traditional washer. Probably 3 times as long. Now I need 2 days to do laundry instead of 1 for a household of 3 people. NOt happy with this washer.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty Cleaner I bought this washer simply because my old one finally wore itself out. I decide to keep up with the times amd buy a high efficiency washer. I work in construction with concrete patches and moratar all day. I am fairly clean at work but in the off chance i get something on my clothes i want something to get it off. I set my washing machine to the normal setting with a heavy duty soil level. Takes everything right out leaving little residue if any. I am Maytag for life!!!!!
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HE is the Way to Go We would never buy any other brand than Maytag. We had not had high-efficiency appliances before, but we liked the look of the Bravos XL HE washer and matching dryer. What a delightful surprise! This washer is quiet, efficient (obviously), and nice looking. The display is user-friendly and intuitive. We couldn't be more pleased.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so many options I love the fact that there is a setting for almost anything. Whites, bulk, sheets, whatever i am washing there is a setting. I wish the alarm sound when it was done was a little louder but so far that is my only complaint. Basket is large enough to hold a bunch of cloths without overloading and everything comes out clean.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and capacity Loved it! It is packed with some awesome features like the lid lock when the machine is in use (I personally found it awesome as I have a curious toddler in my home) and the spray water cycle which makes it truly energy efficient. There's a wash option for all the needs one can have from delicates to heavy loads.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Contemporary, svelt washer does almost everything well We've had our washer about 2 or 3 months, and I've got to rave about the water savings vs. our 20 year old washer. Our water/sewer utility bill has decreased by almost 20%, and the new washer is the only change in our house. It is super quiet, and we love how it gently sounds like a very quiet supersonic jet entering the stratosphere. There's lots of good, adaptable cycles, and amazingly, somehow the spray technology (as opposed to the traditional tons-of-water) actually gets stuff clean. And I sure was happy I could turn off the out-of-tune chime that attempts to play a major chord, that sounds when the lid is opened/closed. The only thing I really miss is the ability to put soaking wet items I've hand washed into the machine and have it spin them dry; you just can't do that on this machine. All else is very good, though.
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ooh la la When I first got these delivered, I was scrambling around the house trying to find things to wash. All of the settings are so useful, I love that there is a setting for towels and sheets so that the machine does not get off balance. It is easy to maintain and use, the integrated display gives a nice high tech touch to your laundry room. The drum is huge!! I can fit 2 loads where in my old one I could only fit one.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase! I was hesitant about buying this washer due to its "high tech" features and price, however, after using it for three months, I absolutely love it!! I love it's sleek look , the numerous settings, reminder when to clean, and how quiet it is. The only thing I'm still getting used to is the sounds when you open the door, change settings, etc-- it's a little different. I also purchased the matching dryer and love it. I would purchase again without thinking twice!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT PURCHASE MAYTAG BRAVOS XL PUTS HOLES IN YOUR CLOTHES AND DESTROYS THEM. NO MATTER WHAT CYCLE I USE, WHAT GUIDELINE THEY TELL ME TO FOLLOW - IT CONTINUES TO DESTROY MY FAMILIES CLOTHES BY PUTTING SMALL HOLES IN THEM. MAYTAG REFUSES TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBLITY. TOLD BY OTHERS THAT IS DUE TO IT BEING SUCKED INTO THE HOLES INTHE SIDES OF THE MACHINE AND THAT IS ABOUT WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE. MAYTAG REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE OR REPAIR THE PROBLEM. STAY AWAY FROM MAYTAG BRAVOS!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Noisy and makes a grinding noise under load!! I bought this washer on recommendation of store employee and for the size. My wife washed our comforter and it sounded like a gear was stripping out. Initially we thought that we had it set on the wrong setting but we washed another blanket and it still makes the same noise! Frustrated!!
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my washer I wanted high efficiency but did not want front load and pedestals. I love this washer. My water bill dropped $40 the first full month I had it. That is HUGE. Clothes come out great and I love that I can select amount of spin dry. This has been a great investment. My other set was only 5 yrs old but facing the 3rd repair I was done and decided to buy a new set. I compared a lot of sets and selected this brand and style based on reviews and incentives.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money saver I purchased this washer about 1 1/2 months ago. It has already saved money on utility bills. I can wash much larger loads and my clothes are coming out so much cleaner. Uses less soap water and energy. I love how quite it is and the great job it does for me and my family.
Date published: 2014-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all the features! This is my first HE washer. Took a little getting used to, but really like it now. Especially the fact that it uses so much less water and still does a great job of cleaning my clothes. Never has a washer that I could chose the spin speed. Just another great feature.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I bought this washer to replace another older model that took a nose dive! ... So glad I did! ... It's so quiet. I especially like the Power Wash cycle when used with Tide detergent and Tide Boost gets out the oil from my bowling ball shirts each and every time.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purely Remarkable! We recently purchased a Maytag washer & dryer. My old Maytag set was still working great but I felt I needed an update. I truly love my new laundry set. I am using less water and I find that all those loads I used hot water in.... are a waste in my new machine. I can use the cold water cycle and my whites are just as white as the hot cycle in my old unit. I always purchase Maytag and have never had a complaint - I love the Maytag Brand.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No complaints I thought this washer was a good value for an HE appliance. The wash cycles take way longer than the 23-year-old unit it replaced, but apparently that is price of HE. Since I often do my laundry overnight or as I leave for work, this is not an issue. It does a great job, however much time it takes. I like that there are lots of settings for different load types. As for the HE side of things, I think where it really saves me energy is the fact that it spins a LOT more water out of the loads, leaving the dryer to run less. My dryer probably runs half the time it used to. The unit seems well built. I will reserve comment on its reliability as I've only owned it for 3 months.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Love It! I purchased a month ago. I've never owned an HE washer before and after reading several reviews I was skeptical. This top Loader does all it says and more. Super Quiet, Rinses clothes clean. I also love the see through glass lid.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and all that you would need. I bought this washer about 2 months ago. It replaced a Sears Kenmore Elite. I absolutely hated the Kenmore washer. It was always unlevel, no matter what we did.This Maytag makes my wash day really fast, unlike the Kenmore.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from huge loads! So far after about 4 months our water bill has gone down n we only have had to buy one jug of laundry soap...cleans great...never had a better washer...removed a pet stain out of a white towel with out even any odor...
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I bought this washer after doing comparisons with other brands. It is very quiet. My white clothes are whiter and the colors are bright. All the cycles on this washer work perfectly. I am glad I purchased this washer
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features I bought this washer a month ago. It's so easy to use and has great capacity. Washes those bulky bedspreads, etc. easily and well. I'm also looking forward to the savings in my water bill!
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer! So far this is a great washer. It can hold tons of clothes and I even washed a bulky quilt that I was dreading taking to the laundry mat. This washer looks great and offers many different settings. It is in my basement so it is quiet enough for me. The clothes come out looking good. I was afraid that these washers would be rough on clothing but that has not been the case. I also have no had any problems so far with smells or mold and I keep the lid open when not in use.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was a little leary but works great! I had read a lot of reviews that there wasn't enough water to get the clothes wet etc. Happy to report that it does wash different but clothes come out clean each time.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love My New Maytag I purchased my new Maytag washer and Dryer several months ago and it is awesome. My clothes are so cleaned and smell so good! I will always buy Maytag!
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive tearing up cloths comforters I bought this a year and and a half ago and the upper plastic ring is breaking apart I will update later after I call maytag customer service.
Date published: 2014-12-14
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1444
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT