0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Model FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Wireless Driveway Alarm

$59.97 /each
  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

48 Questions100 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
Plugs into any standard wall plug.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

i have a Mighty Mule and I love it! I have had it for a while and it worked perfectly. Now it goes off for no reason. what do I do.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Clarendon, Texas
Read all my Q&A
July 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Anderson, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2016
Answer: 
Try turning down the sensitivity - it's located on the transmitter. Also, make sure you have a good battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
We had an issue with it going off at 5 am. Turns out our neighbor liked ours so much he installed one as well and we were being chimed when he left for work. We changed our dips switches to another setting and it solved the issue
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandy Station, VA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
This might be a stupid question, but did you change the batteries in the transmitter? Also, has the ground been disturbed around where you buried the sensor recently due to heavy rain or landscaping?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Traverse City, MI
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
After I installed mine it would go off a lot with out a car passing over it. I adjusted the sensor down a little and it has worked great ever since. I don't get any false alarms anymore. You might want to change the battery too. I'm sure the stock battery that is sent may not be the best on the market. Good Luck!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Is it sensitive to deer and butterflies...this was my problem with the last one we had...everytime a deer walked by, the alarm went off

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Waldorf, MD
Read all my Q&A
July 3, 2014
The last alarm we had was another brand and it picked up on any motion
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 15, 2016
Answer: 
This alarm has a magnetic field, so only something with metal I it will trigger the alarm.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 27, 2015
Answer: 
Only if it has metal on its collar (or a person with a cell phone in their pocket).
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Brandy Station, VA
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
We have a lot of wildlife but this thing is awesome. .. Only picks up vehicles, or anything metal (tractors, etc).
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
Hi RMKR,
I'm Travis from The Home Depot. Thanks for visiting our site.
This driveway alarm uses a moving metal sensor that detects vehicles, not animals. The electromagnetic in-ground sensor reduces the likelihood of false detection.
It sounds like your previous detector was motion activated, resulting in false alarms.
Thank you for asking,
-Travis
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the Mighty Mule driveway alarm require a line of sight from the transmitter to the receiver

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Blitz
February 12, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (4)

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, or it does not work. Need to point it through the trees. If you have hills, does not work.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2

Asked by
Lafayette, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, it does not. The transmitter works up to 400 ft. away from the receiver. It senses magnetic disturbances & does not need to be in a line of sight with the receiver.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Rural Missouri
Read all my Q&A
February 14, 2013
Answer: 
No, ours goes thru 2 walls.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Port Angeles, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 13, 2013
Answer: 
I'd say no, because it works upstairs in a back bedroom where there is no line of sight from one to the other. Hope that helps. My transmitter is in a bush, which has been cut back. This summer I am going to find out if it needs to be trimmed down again or if the bush doesn't affect it.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-09-30 T22:55:27.096-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 393ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 236 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great, long range, long battery life I bought this a year ago and immediately installed it. Using the manufacturer's specs, I wasn't hopeful that it would work near the end of our drive -- about 350 feet but direct line of sight. I installed the sensor very shallow, about 2-3" deep right next to the driveway. I zip tied the transmitter to a shrub as high as possible. I am on the original set of batteries (Duracell) and it has been working very well. It has not gone off maybe once or twice. We live on the end of a cul-de-sac and if someone swings wide close to our driveway when turning around, we sometimes get an alert. My wife was very skeptical at first but now she loves it. Very happy with it. Now I am about to hack into it and run the beeper leads to a Wemo Maker so we can automate it. Should be a fun experiment with home automation. September 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Driveway alarm Works great, had the last one three years no problems until the wire I didn’t ever bury got hit by a lawn mower, totally my fault. Lowes has consistently had the best price and shipping is fast. September 20, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cable is WAY too short!!! Not cool that the cable between the transmitor and magnet is so short that the transmitor has to be right in the grass. Have to mow around it because it won't reach over to any shrub or post. May 21, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Why didn't I buy this sooner?! Easy install. No false alarms. Very robust sensor. Wish it came with a decorative cover. September 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it Put it close to the house near the drive way so no one could run over it or have a problem mowing the grass, so far it's great September 13, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed so far... Unit worked fine at first but since has been working sporadically. At the moment it signals when a car leaves our property but does not signal when a car arrives. That isn't very helpful. It may be that when going in one direction the vehicle blocks the signal. Unfortunately need to experiment more with sensor, transmitter and receiver placement. August 22, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Product I had looked at different types of these products. Some of the products were motion sensitive. Reviews indicated there were many false alarms. This product eliminates this. I would like to see a higher volume control. It is difficult to hear it at the other end of the house. I place it in the kitchen during the day. Move it near my bedroom at night. August 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product This is my second unit. Cut the wire on my old unit. Now I have 2 base units in different parts of the house! Works great! August 16, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Can work well but... It has nowhere near the 400 ft. range advertised. Place it in an application less than 100 ft and you have a good chance of having a reliable alarm system. April 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and set up. This product was very easy to install and set up. The alarm sound is not too loud and can be heard throughout the house. August 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Install instructions were simply, product does exactly what is says it will do August 7, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway Alarm This unit is very limited in range. 400 feet doesn't mean much if you have to have a clear unobstructed view. By the time a car triggers the unit it can already be heard and seen coming up the driveway. May be useful in some situation. Save your money and buy a similar unit on line that has a half mile range. Works much better. The price is more, but less expensive than buy one that doesn't work well and then buying the other one. The unit does not have additional outputs for a relay or additional alerts. July 12, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Does Not Work I followed the directions for installation, but I have not yet been able to get this device to work. I would not recommend it. August 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as advertised.Great! Very simple sensitivity adjustment. Works even better than the "Mighty Mule" company claimed August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Alert We live in the countryside with a 400'+ long driveway. The house is situated such that the most used rooms do not have a good view of the driveway. The sensor is placed more than 150 feet from the house. The sensor picks up entry of any vehicle. It gives us an audible alert that can be heard anywhere on the main floor of the house. It gives us a sense of security and warning of someone entering the property. We hid the transmitter in bushes, so it is not visible, even if anyone would know what it was. November 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Returned it Returned after 2 weeks. Have a long treed driveway and the receiver must be in view of sensor.. It worked great for two days then it stopped working July 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Follow the directions and.... I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue. The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal. I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc. Thanks for a nice, affordable system. February 21, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great driveway system we live in the woods and were looking for somethine that critters and leaves would not set off. This unit is perfect. other than digging a foot down for 5 feet in Missouri rock/clay (we're in our 60's) bottom line is IT WORKS.................so far never failed just keep it far enough from the road cause it is sensitive, mail truck or folks turning around will set it off too. we put it @ 45 ft up the drive. a little expensive but we have tried cheap and it just is not worth it....Get this one if you want one that works...................... November 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Effective Driveway Alarm When you live back in the woods, it can be scary to hear a surprise knock at your door when you are not expecting company. Now that I have this driveway alarm, I can be alerted when they pull up and be ready for them before they even get to the door which is awesome! The sensor it about 150ft. away from the house and has worked 100% of the time (that I know of) with no false positives. The only thing that I would recommend changing about this product is that the alarm is not a pleasant sound. It sounds a bit like a smoke alarm and would be nice if there was a setting for a nice chime similar to a door bell. May 17, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good item. Working well so far, wish the cord was longer. Tone is loud enough to hear well. June 28, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm Does not work... all the fixes recommended do not work. It just alarms for no reason. Would not recommend to buy July 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one of my best purchases ever this product is really good. if this one ever quits, i will immediately purchase another one... follow the directions to install and it works like you want it to.... June 28, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works well enough Works almost all of the time. My sensor is about 200ft from the receiver and it senses vehicles about 90% of the time. There are a couple of walls in the way. If there was a direct line of sight I would expect it to work all the time. The volume for the chime can get pretty loud, so we can hear it throughout the entire house when someone arrives. I'm glad to have found a magnetic sensor as opposed to a motion sensor since all I care about is knowing when vehicles arrive and leave through my driveway. June 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best driveway alarm for the money. Affordable, well made and dependable, this Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm magnetically triggers on metal objects, so no false alarms from deer in the middle of the night or branches waving on a windy day. If you install the remote transformer so it has a clear shot at the receiver (no trees or thick brush in the way) you get a good, dependable alarm that works in all weather conditions, including -20 temps, without a fault. Much better than my experiences with the Motion Detector style of alarms. May 31, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm Power cord never worked for the receiver when I received it, but after ordering a new power cord off eBay the driveway alarm has been working very well. No false alarms and loud enough to here the alarm throughout the house whe someone does come up the driveway. June 11, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't live without one We always know when someone is driving in our yard. My husband damage the first one when fixing our lamp post, that's why we ordered another one. June 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and worked perfectly as advertised Alarm came on time, after reading instructions, installation was easy, (trenching to bury sensor and cable was anticipated) and it worked properly at 330 ft from the receiver. No more false alarms from deer and picks up vehicles without problems. One month in and so far no false alarms. Definitely better solution than the infrared alarm we using previously. May 24, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't Work as described This product didn't live up to the advertisements at all. I returned it. It did the opposite of what it was supposed to do. It would not detect a vehicle even when the transmitter and receiver were only 50 ft from one another. on the other hand the thing would go off like crazy when my dog would pass by it. after several failed attempts to get the unit work I returned it to Home depot in disgust. I will do some more research and purchase a higher quality product. May 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works really well -- so far I was a little leery of this product after reading some of the negative reviews, but it has worked well for me in the 4 days I've had it. I mounted the probe approximately 330 ft from the house down a slight hill from my house and the receiver picks up the signal well from the front of my house. When I had the probe closer to the house I could put the receiver anywhere, including the kitchen, but we prefer the probe as far out as possible and the receiver works best near front of house which is fine. I did mount the whole thing in a tree both to help in sending the signal and to keep it out of the ground where hopefully lightening won't destroy it like it has the previous two more expensive units I lost. It's early but so far it always alerts me when a vehicle passes by and I've had no false alerts. I'll be completely satisfied if it will last for at least a couple of years. The alarm is plenty loud enough for us but sound carries well in our home (hardwood throughout) and we have good hearing. September 14, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by First one worked, Second one didn't. Was happy with the first one although I thought it would have lasted longer than a couple of years. Bought a replacement and right out of the box it wouldn't work. The three boxes on the shelf at the Blairsville, GA Home Depot looked beat up so they could have been returns. If this is the case I hate that Mighty Mule will have to pay the price, but .................. May 28, 2016
  • 2016-09-30 T14:53:54.742-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_236, tr_236
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 631ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT