Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

48 Questions106 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
5 answers

i have a Mighty Mule and I love it! I have had it for a while and it worked perfectly. Now it goes off for no reason. what do I do.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Clarendon, Texas
Read all my Q&A
July 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Have you tried changing the batteries?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anderson, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2016
Answer: 
Try turning down the sensitivity - it's located on the transmitter. Also, make sure you have a good battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
We had an issue with it going off at 5 am. Turns out our neighbor liked ours so much he installed one as well and we were being chimed when he left for work. We changed our dips switches to another setting and it solved the issue
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandy Station, VA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
This might be a stupid question, but did you change the batteries in the transmitter? Also, has the ground been disturbed around where you buried the sensor recently due to heavy rain or landscaping?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Traverse City, MI
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
After I installed mine it would go off a lot with out a car passing over it. I adjusted the sensor down a little and it has worked great ever since. I don't get any false alarms anymore. You might want to change the battery too. I'm sure the stock battery that is sent may not be the best on the market. Good Luck!
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
Plugs into any standard wall plug.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes. Turn off or turn down the volume on the base inside the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2016
Answer: 
no it doesnt. i bought a $5 outlet timer and programmed mine so the receiver doesnt have power for 30 mins in the early morning when i go to work, so it wont wake up the fam.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
Sorry no.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
Answer: 
Pdgreer,
The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm does not offer the feature you are referring to. You could simply unplug the indoor base station before you left your property, so the alarm would not go off. Thank you,
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marceline Mo.
Read all my Q&A
September 27, 2016
Answer: 
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
No, the wireless is just how the sensor sends signals to the base in your house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 22, 2015
Answer: 
Hello Ah,
Thank you for posting your question. You do not need internet for this item to work. The electromagnetic sensor detects vehicles in motion and sends a signal to the indoor
receiver. The indoor receiver will chime when it receives the signal, letting you know someone has just come on your property.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:21:43.403-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 117ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 251.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drive way alert easy to install, takes a few minutes with a shovel. not sure how long the AAA batteries will last. No false alarms, will pick up riding mower to large delivery truck. easily turned on/off whenever necessary. inside house. Follow directions.. TEST BEFORE YOU BURY UNIT.. am in the country so no danger of picking up neighbors and am way off highway. You can turn up/down sensitivity (outside sending unit) and volume up/down from receiver inside house . So far great investment. This is much better than the infrared sensors, had nothing but trouble with those.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cable is WAY too short!!! Not cool that the cable between the transmitor and magnet is so short that the transmitor has to be right in the grass. Have to mow around it because it won't reach over to any shrub or post.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the alarm works extremely well. we have a very long driveway and have had visitors (some not inv... the alarm works extremely well. we have a very long driveway and have had visitors (some not invited) show up at our door with no warning. I feel better now that my wife and daughter are alerted when someone drives up. we have had it about a month and we are very pleased with it. the only drawback that I experienced is the cable that connects the sensor with the transmitter is not long enough for placing it in my preferred location.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gate alarm The alarm was easy to install, works like I expected. It detects large metal objects like cars and does not respond to things like animals, birds or blowing leaves. I purchased this one as a replacement for one we've been using for three years. The transmitter stopped working. Possibly due to the excessive rain we've been experiencing. We used the full extender poles provided with it this time to lift it higher off the ground.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I had looked at different types of these products. Some of the products were motion sensitive. Reviews indicated there were many false alarms. This product eliminates this. I would like to see a higher volume control. It is difficult to hear it at the other end of the house. I place it in the kitchen during the day. Move it near my bedroom at night.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed so far... Unit worked fine at first but since has been working sporadically. At the moment it signals when a car leaves our property but does not signal when a car arrives. That isn't very helpful. It may be that when going in one direction the vehicle blocks the signal. Unfortunately need to experiment more with sensor, transmitter and receiver placement.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor I bought this for my dad and he was thrilled. We decided not set next to the road, as it would go off all the time - so it was set half way up the driveway. It goes off all the time for no reason, I'm pretty upset about this purchase. I'd recommend putting money into a different brand.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy to follow directions. Works wonderfully.. A few false alarms from heavy trucks going by, but then we are on a State highway and the sensor is 15 feet from the road. Might try to bury it deeper or move it further from the road to eliminate the minor inconvenience.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves this!! We recently moved to a secluded house with a long driveway. My wife was tired of being surprised by people walking around the house without her knowing it. I found this, ordered it and installed it in a half hour. It works flawlessly and no more surprises!!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this product! We have multiple animals that roam the yard and live up against a busy road. This sensor only gave a couple of false alarms and it was easily stopped by adjusting the sensitivity. Wish we would have bought this awhile ago!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sensor alarm signal is very low-it can be hard to hear above normal home ambient noise -cable fro... sensor alarm signal is very low-it can be hard to hear above normal home ambient noise -cable fro driveway sensor to transmitter is short 6-8 feet -double that and it would have many more applications-would make a good product great -
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have worked on relocating device and have called the manufacturer. The alarm goes off when ther... I have worked on relocating device and have called the manufacturer. The alarm goes off when there is no one there and fails to go off when vehicles enter. It is worthless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Driveway alarm Works great, had the last one three years no problems until the wire I didn’t ever bury got hit by a lawn mower, totally my fault. Lowes has consistently had the best price and shipping is fast.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from alerts every time with no false alarms installed almost a year ago because we can not see the driveway from our back patio. its a little work to install but definitely adds a level of security to a long driveway.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It did not work. Second one purchased, first one worked for a little over a year but then slowly ... It did not work. Second one purchased, first one worked for a little over a year but then slowly became spotty till finally it quit working altogether .
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Work I followed the directions for installation, but I have not yet been able to get this device to work. I would not recommend it.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Put it close to the house near the drive way so no one could run over it or have a problem mowing the grass, so far it's great
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second one This is my second one and I love it! My only complaint is mounting the transmitter into the ground with out damaging the cord.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is my second unit. Cut the wire on my old unit. Now I have 2 base units in different parts of the house! Works great!
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and set up. This product was very easy to install and set up. The alarm sound is not too loud and can be heard throughout the house.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The installation of this alarm system was easy, since this was my third such alarm system. It wo... The installation of this alarm system was easy, since this was my third such alarm system. It works as expected.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised.Great! Very simple sensitivity adjustment. Works even better than the "Mighty Mule" company claimed
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I buy this sooner?! Easy install. No false alarms. Very robust sensor. Wish it came with a decorative cover.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drive way notification device. It works great, we are enjoying knowing when someone is coming in so we can greet them.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Install instructions were simply, product does exactly what is says it will do
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great by for the price. I have the receiver about 350 feet from my house, and it works like a ch... Great by for the price. I have the receiver about 350 feet from my house, and it works like a champ. It is SO nice to be able to know if someone is approaching my house so that I can get my dogs contained in a place so they are away from where a car would park. I will be looking to add another receiver in my garage so that when I'm not in my house, that I still get the benefit of having notice that someone is on my driveway. Install was VERY easy. I didn't dig a trench or anything like that, as the installation instructions say to do. I just put it under some ground cover, and turned it one, and it was operational. I believe that the unit I bought was a return, as the box was in pretty bad shape, one of the tube sections was missing, and the plug that goes to the wall has to be hanging out of the plug a bit for it to work (probably the reason it was returned). This was the only box they had in my store, so I just don't have it plugged in all the way, but that is no biggie to me. I would definitely recommend. Easy install, the price and effectiveness are what drove me to purchase and keep. I would have given it 5 stars had the plug worked like it should and if all the tubes were in the box. I attribute the missing parts to Home Depot, and not the manufacturer.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised The alarm has never failed to alert us when a vehicle enters or leaves the driveway. It does however go off two or three times a week by itself. I did place far it enough down the driveway so it would not detect road traffic. This is a minor issue that we have accepted.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm installagion not alarming Installation of the driveway alarm was very simple. The only problem was that I had to wait for the ground to thaw to bury it. Works great. Had the same unit in our previous home and decided to but one for our current home.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great driveway system we live in the woods and were looking for somethine that critters and leaves would not set off. This unit is perfect. other than digging a foot down for 5 feet in Missouri rock/clay (we're in our 60's) bottom line is IT WORKS.................so far never failed just keep it far enough from the road cause it is sensitive, mail truck or folks turning around will set it off too. we put it @ 45 ft up the drive. a little expensive but we have tried cheap and it just is not worth it....Get this one if you want one that works......................
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait so long?! This product was super easy to install and works great. I'm on 5 acres with a wide open panoramic view from a full glass living room and entry. Unfortunately, my long side driveway is not visible from most of the house. Before I installed this unit I didn't know anyone was even on my property until they were right at my door looking in. Kind of creeped me out--especially at night. Well, no more of that. I've got my privacy back! The tone from this unit can be heard throughout the house and gives ample time to decide whether or not I'm "at home" :o) Why did I wait so long to buy this simple, reliable, inexpensive product? Beats the heck out of me.
Date published: 2012-02-07
  • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_251
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT