0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Model FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Wireless Driveway Alarm

$59.97 /each
  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

46 Questions92 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
Plugs into any standard wall plug.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the Mighty Mule driveway alarm require a line of sight from the transmitter to the receiver

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Blitz
February 12, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (4)

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, or it does not work. Need to point it through the trees. If you have hills, does not work.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2

Asked by
Lafayette, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, it does not. The transmitter works up to 400 ft. away from the receiver. It senses magnetic disturbances & does not need to be in a line of sight with the receiver.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful0

Asked by
Rural Missouri
Read all my Q&A
February 14, 2013
Answer: 
No, ours goes thru 2 walls.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Port Angeles, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 13, 2013
Answer: 
I'd say no, because it works upstairs in a back bedroom where there is no line of sight from one to the other. Hope that helps. My transmitter is in a bush, which has been cut back. This summer I am going to find out if it needs to be trimmed down again or if the bush doesn't affect it.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
3 answers

Does this detect animals

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Bristol Tn
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
No. It keys on a magnetic field which is broken when a vehicle crosses through it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 22, 2016
Answer: 
No it will NOT detect animals. It is made to detect moving metal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 15, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the alarm will detect animals.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
3 answers

Is it hard to install?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 5, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 19, 2016
Answer: 
no , very easy to install. Just bury the small probe and line under the ground next to your driveway so you don`t hit it with your mower. Plug in the control box in at your house and your ready to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
You have to dig a 2 foot deep hole to bury a foot long piece of pipe that senses the cars. Thats the hardest part.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Martha,
The Mighty Mule FM231WB Wireless Driveway Alarm features easy DIY installation for your property. Simply bury the included sensor next to your driveway approximately 1 ft. deep, flat and parallel. Then secure the included transmitter on the supplied 3 piece PVC pipe by burying the bottom third of the pipe in the soil. Secure the transmitter mounting post in the ground so that the Read More
Hello Martha,
The Mighty Mule FM231WB Wireless Driveway Alarm features easy DIY installation for your property. Simply bury the included sensor next to your driveway approximately 1 ft. deep, flat and parallel. Then secure the included transmitter on the supplied 3 piece PVC pipe by burying the bottom third of the pipe in the soil. Secure the transmitter mounting post in the ground so that the transmitter is upright and approximately 1 ft. above ground. Last place the indoor receiver in a convenient location in your home. For further more detailed installation instructions please refer to the "Installation Guide" located under "Info & Guides" on the FM231WB product page on HomeDepot.com. Thank you! Read Less
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-08-24 T11:59:46.239-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 439ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm Does not work... all the fixes recommended do not work. It just alarms for no reason. Would not recommend to buy July 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Effective Driveway Alarm When you live back in the woods, it can be scary to hear a surprise knock at your door when you are not expecting company. Now that I have this driveway alarm, I can be alerted when they pull up and be ready for them before they even get to the door which is awesome! The sensor it about 150ft. away from the house and has worked 100% of the time (that I know of) with no false positives. The only thing that I would recommend changing about this product is that the alarm is not a pleasant sound. It sounds a bit like a smoke alarm and would be nice if there was a setting for a nice chime similar to a door bell. May 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Alert We live in the countryside with a 400'+ long driveway. The house is situated such that the most used rooms do not have a good view of the driveway. The sensor is placed more than 150 feet from the house. The sensor picks up entry of any vehicle. It gives us an audible alert that can be heard anywhere on the main floor of the house. It gives us a sense of security and warning of someone entering the property. We hid the transmitter in bushes, so it is not visible, even if anyone would know what it was. November 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one of my best purchases ever this product is really good. if this one ever quits, i will immediately purchase another one... follow the directions to install and it works like you want it to.... June 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great driveway system we live in the woods and were looking for somethine that critters and leaves would not set off. This unit is perfect. other than digging a foot down for 5 feet in Missouri rock/clay (we're in our 60's) bottom line is IT WORKS.................so far never failed just keep it far enough from the road cause it is sensitive, mail truck or folks turning around will set it off too. we put it @ 45 ft up the drive. a little expensive but we have tried cheap and it just is not worth it....Get this one if you want one that works...................... November 3, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works well enough Works almost all of the time. My sensor is about 200ft from the receiver and it senses vehicles about 90% of the time. There are a couple of walls in the way. If there was a direct line of sight I would expect it to work all the time. The volume for the chime can get pretty loud, so we can hear it throughout the entire house when someone arrives. I'm glad to have found a magnetic sensor as opposed to a motion sensor since all I care about is knowing when vehicles arrive and leave through my driveway. June 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best driveway alarm for the money. Affordable, well made and dependable, this Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm magnetically triggers on metal objects, so no false alarms from deer in the middle of the night or branches waving on a windy day. If you install the remote transformer so it has a clear shot at the receiver (no trees or thick brush in the way) you get a good, dependable alarm that works in all weather conditions, including -20 temps, without a fault. Much better than my experiences with the Motion Detector style of alarms. May 31, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm Power cord never worked for the receiver when I received it, but after ordering a new power cord off eBay the driveway alarm has been working very well. No false alarms and loud enough to here the alarm throughout the house whe someone does come up the driveway. June 11, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wouldn't live without one We always know when someone is driving in our yard. My husband damage the first one when fixing our lamp post, that's why we ordered another one. June 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and worked perfectly as advertised Alarm came on time, after reading instructions, installation was easy, (trenching to bury sensor and cable was anticipated) and it worked properly at 330 ft from the receiver. No more false alarms from deer and picks up vehicles without problems. One month in and so far no false alarms. Definitely better solution than the infrared alarm we using previously. May 24, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't Work as described This product didn't live up to the advertisements at all. I returned it. It did the opposite of what it was supposed to do. It would not detect a vehicle even when the transmitter and receiver were only 50 ft from one another. on the other hand the thing would go off like crazy when my dog would pass by it. after several failed attempts to get the unit work I returned it to Home depot in disgust. I will do some more research and purchase a higher quality product. May 24, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by First one worked, Second one didn't. Was happy with the first one although I thought it would have lasted longer than a couple of years. Bought a replacement and right out of the box it wouldn't work. The three boxes on the shelf at the Blairsville, GA Home Depot looked beat up so they could have been returns. If this is the case I hate that Mighty Mule will have to pay the price, but .................. May 28, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Still looking for better solution This product looks solid, but not working on 10' wide driveway, product was returned to local store. May 31, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK with Reservations It works. The indoor receiver gives only one "beep" which is easy to miss if there are other noises around, even with the volume turned up to maximum. We may have to buy another receiver for another room where we spend some time, since we can't always hear the first receiver. The sensitivity is tricky to adjust: at maximum, it picks up traffic on the main roadway over 25 feet away, the distance shown in the instructions as safe; at lower settings, it fails to pick up driveway traffic less than 15 feet away. May 10, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Remote sensor Dont buy this. I had one of these before and it worked fine for about 2 years. So I bought another and this one doesn't work out of the box. Too bad for me as I really like the first one. May 21, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing but problems My parents have one of these and it works great. I have moved this alarm 6 times and it still continues to go off about 30 times a day without any vehicles coming up my driveway. I followed the directions to the t. I measured the distance and it's not even close to the max. May 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does the job! Easy to install, Blends in with the landscaping. Does the job we needed it to do. May 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works really well -- so far I was a little leery of this product after reading some of the negative reviews, but it has worked well for me in the 4 days I've had it. I mounted the probe approximately 330 ft from the house down a slight hill from my house and the receiver picks up the signal well from the front of my house. When I had the probe closer to the house I could put the receiver anywhere, including the kitchen, but we prefer the probe as far out as possible and the receiver works best near front of house which is fine. I did mount the whole thing in a tree both to help in sending the signal and to keep it out of the ground where hopefully lightening won't destroy it like it has the previous two more expensive units I lost. It's early but so far it always alerts me when a vehicle passes by and I've had no false alerts. I'll be completely satisfied if it will last for at least a couple of years. The alarm is plenty loud enough for us but sound carries well in our home (hardwood throughout) and we have good hearing. September 14, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not loud enough The alarm works close to the range posted. However the probe connection was extremely loose and constant vibration from wind could cause connection to come loose. I fixed this with tape. My biggest complaint is the alarm is not loud enough to wake me up. I moved it to the den and with the tv on I did not here the alarm sound. April 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wireless driver alarm Very good product. Needs to be able to turn the volume up a little more April 26, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Doesn't work - will be returning Didn't work contacted manufacturer no reply returning April 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase The sensor, transmitter, and receivers were easy to install (we purchased an extra one for the bedroom)l. They work great, at least so far (I have had them in place for about a week now). They provide a much needed warning for cars coming up our driveway. I'm very happy with it. April 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm Have owned this product before. Have several family members purchase it from my recommendation. It is working great. Thanks March 29, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cant go wrong Cant go wrong for the price, easy to install. Mine is about 250 feet away from the receiver and works good. Only downside is that the volume is not that loud so it has to be placed centrally in the home to hear it well. The tone is a little annoying too, sort of a mid high pitch beep beep beep. My Dakota has a louder selectable tone that is pleasing. Overall it works well March 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great This alarm works great! I really like it! It was easy to set up too March 22, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works as advertised The alarm has never failed to alert us when a vehicle enters or leaves the driveway. It does however go off two or three times a week by itself. I did place far it enough down the driveway so it would not detect road traffic. This is a minor issue that we have accepted. March 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value auto detector I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue. The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal. I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc. Thanks for a nice, affordable system. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm installagion not alarming Installation of the driveway alarm was very simple. The only problem was that I had to wait for the ground to thaw to bury it. Works great. Had the same unit in our previous home and decided to but one for our current home. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product. Very easy to install and so handy to let you know someone has entered your driveway. March 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great These work wonderful. I got them as Christmas presents this year for family. I have had one on my own driveway for several years. When you live in the country you don't know someone is here till they knock. This gives you advance warning. The ones I just got have a new tone sound from my old one, if the company reads this, I like the old tones better. Be ready to dig a hole 2 feet deep for the sensor, then a trench a few inches deep for the 5 feet of wire. I have a bridge at my house and that worked perfectly for me mounting it under the bridge. January 10, 2016
  • 2016-08-20 T10:38:31.343-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_219, tr_219
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT