Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How is the transmitter powered?

Asked by: audiogrotto
2 AA batteries.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08

Is it hard to install?

Asked by: Martha
This hardest thing about installation was just digging the 1ft deep trench to bury the cord and receiver in the ground. We had it installed in about 15 min.
Answered by: Robin
Date published: 2017-01-24

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

Asked by: Pdgreer
No, not that I'm aware of.
Answered by: SDA
Date published: 2017-01-31

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

Asked by: Ah
No. The connection is between the receiver and transmitter only. It uses its own code/frequency.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 52ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 261.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well enough Works almost all of the time. My sensor is about 200ft from the receiver and it senses vehicles about 90% of the time. There are a couple of walls in the way. If there was a direct line of sight I would expect it to work all the time. The volume for the chime can get pretty loud, so we can hear it throughout the entire house when someone arrives. I'm glad to have found a magnetic sensor as opposed to a motion sensor since all I care about is knowing when vehicles arrive and leave through my driveway.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and worked perfectly as advertised Alarm came on time, after reading instructions, installation was easy, (trenching to bury sensor and cable was anticipated) and it worked properly at 330 ft from the receiver. No more false alarms from deer and picks up vehicles without problems. One month in and so far no false alarms. Definitely better solution than the infrared alarm we using previously.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good driveway alarm Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind. This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't live without one We always know when someone is driving in our yard. My husband damage the first one when fixing our lamp post, that's why we ordered another one.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still looking for better solution This product looks solid, but not working on 10' wide driveway, product was returned to local store.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well My Mighty Mule has been installed for a couple of months now and is performing its job very well. The only difficulty I've experienced is not being able to hear the receiver if I don't happen to be close by when the alert tone sounds. The tone is fine if you happen to be in the same or adjacent room with the receiver, but otherwise, you still won't know if a vehicle is approaching. It would be very helpful to have multiple receivers and/or other options (perhaps WiFi) for communicating the alarm to other areas. Amazon lists extra receivers for $50, which seems high since I only paid $60 for the complete kit. I might do better to install a second alarm and use the same pin settings on both.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can work well but... It has nowhere near the 400 ft. range advertised. Place it in an application less than 100 ft and you have a good chance of having a reliable alarm system.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK with Reservations It works. The indoor receiver gives only one "beep" which is easy to miss if there are other noises around, even with the volume turned up to maximum. We may have to buy another receiver for another room where we spend some time, since we can't always hear the first receiver. The sensitivity is tricky to adjust: at maximum, it picks up traffic on the main roadway over 25 feet away, the distance shown in the instructions as safe; at lower settings, it fails to pick up driveway traffic less than 15 feet away.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from short Cable - odd tone So far it seems to work ok - but as mentioned in other reviews, the cable is WAY to short. If you are comfortable splicing you can use cat5 to extend it to the length you need - we used direct burial cat5 (gel filled) and telephone button splices (also gel filled) to add 15' to the line. Most installations don't require that much, but you'll find you wish you had at least 3-4 more feet. Cable does have a standard USB plug on the end, but keep in mind, USB is not water tight, so you cannot just add an extension and bury the connector without some creative thinking. The tone is just plan odd. It's defiantly not a "happy" tone, and it's not a chime other - honestly I would have given this 5 stars if I could change the tone - as the splicing Idid above was not an issue for me.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paranoid in the country Takes some work to install, after that it has worked flawlessly for 5yrs. Only replace batteries once a year in the spring. Have the distance maxed out at about 425ft. Wish it had an add on capability. Would love to be able to turn the front porch light on each time it goes off. Plan on getting an addional receiver for the work shop.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well -- so far I was a little leery of this product after reading some of the negative reviews, but it has worked well for me in the 4 days I've had it. I mounted the probe approximately 330 ft from the house down a slight hill from my house and the receiver picks up the signal well from the front of my house. When I had the probe closer to the house I could put the receiver anywhere, including the kitchen, but we prefer the probe as far out as possible and the receiver works best near front of house which is fine. I did mount the whole thing in a tree both to help in sending the signal and to keep it out of the ground where hopefully lightening won't destroy it like it has the previous two more expensive units I lost. It's early but so far it always alerts me when a vehicle passes by and I've had no false alerts. I'll be completely satisfied if it will last for at least a couple of years. The alarm is plenty loud enough for us but sound carries well in our home (hardwood throughout) and we have good hearing.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant go wrong Cant go wrong for the price, easy to install. Mine is about 250 feet away from the receiver and works good. Only downside is that the volume is not that loud so it has to be placed centrally in the home to hear it well. The tone is a little annoying too, sort of a mid high pitch beep beep beep. My Dakota has a louder selectable tone that is pleasing. Overall it works well
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First one worked, Second one didn't. Was happy with the first one although I thought it would have lasted longer than a couple of years. Bought a replacement and right out of the box it wouldn't work. The three boxes on the shelf at the Blairsville, GA Home Depot looked beat up so they could have been returns. If this is the case I hate that Mighty Mule will have to pay the price, but ..................
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very weak transmitter The first one I had sent all kinds of false alarms and many times I had people show up at my door, and there was their car in my driveway, but no alert! The replaced it so now this detects and alerts about 1 out of four times. And I have done everything to a "T". The ONLY time it worked like it was supposed to I had to take the receiver outside and plug it in.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not loud enough The alarm works close to the range posted. However the probe connection was extremely loose and constant vibration from wind could cause connection to come loose. I fixed this with tape. My biggest complaint is the alarm is not loud enough to wake me up. I moved it to the den and with the tv on I did not here the alarm sound.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase The sensor, transmitter, and receivers were easy to install (we purchased an extra one for the bedroom)l. They work great, at least so far (I have had them in place for about a week now). They provide a much needed warning for cars coming up our driveway. I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nothing but problems My parents have one of these and it works great. I have moved this alarm 6 times and it still continues to go off about 30 times a day without any vehicles coming up my driveway. I followed the directions to the t. I measured the distance and it's not even close to the max.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Remote sensor Dont buy this. I had one of these before and it worked fine for about 2 years. So I bought another and this one doesn't work out of the box. Too bad for me as I really like the first one.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no not buy yes easy to install but it said it had a 400 ft range if I move it more than 200 ft it did not work so pay more and get something that works.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Price is Right Installed and had it working in 15min. 15' from mailbox and adjusted the sensativity for 13'. I know when the mail is delvered and when cars come into the driveway. Does not false alarm like Photoeye or Motion detector. I studied driveway detectors for 2 weeks and chose the Mighty Mule. The receiver sound is adaquite, wish it was a little louder or had relay output to interface to door bell or security system. Performs as I expected 5 stars. Good Value and a Good Price. I recommend this product
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Worked for about twelve and one-half months and started not working after the warrantywas up.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alarm is hard to hear Product installed and works flawlessly but I should have believed other reviews that said the audible alarm was low. Even with the volume turned all the way up on the monitor, you get one tiny tweet that I only hear if no tvs are on and I am close to the monitor. Would not recommend for seniors.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This alarm works great! I really like it! It was easy to set up too
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised The alarm has never failed to alert us when a vehicle enters or leaves the driveway. It does however go off two or three times a week by itself. I did place far it enough down the driveway so it would not detect road traffic. This is a minor issue that we have accepted.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm installagion not alarming Installation of the driveway alarm was very simple. The only problem was that I had to wait for the ground to thaw to bury it. Works great. Had the same unit in our previous home and decided to but one for our current home.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best I bought one last week I installed it and at first it wasn't working and constantly going off every two seconds. Then I whipped out the manual after I tried a few other things on my own witch didn't work. First off my driveway is a eighth of a mile long but I wasn't placing it at then end just down from the house to where I was comfortable putting it. Well I seen it had the range on 400ft. depending on obstacles in the line of sight. So I went and measured and I was at 1,200ft. Way over the limit. So I measured to the 400ft then back10ft and placed it so I'm at 390ft. That's going thru two walls and some trees. From then on it has been working great and I have had no problems. Very easy to setup and to get going.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value auto detector I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue. The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal. I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc. Thanks for a nice, affordable system.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow the directions and.... I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue. The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal. I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc. Thanks for a nice, affordable system.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Mighty Mule- Mutley Mule The detector itself works great and have it 400 feet from reciever. I had a false alarm in the middle of night last week. The beeping of the alarm is not mighty-- it sounds more like a mouse squeak rather than an alarm. They should invest more in a louder speaker to make an alarm noise not a mouse squeak
Date published: 2010-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Work as described This product didn't live up to the advertisements at all. I returned it. It did the opposite of what it was supposed to do. It would not detect a vehicle even when the transmitter and receiver were only 50 ft from one another. on the other hand the thing would go off like crazy when my dog would pass by it. after several failed attempts to get the unit work I returned it to Home depot in disgust. I will do some more research and purchase a higher quality product.
Date published: 2016-05-24
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_261
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 167ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT