Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How is the transmitter powered?

Asked by: audiogrotto
2 AA batteries.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08

Is it hard to install?

Asked by: Martha
This hardest thing about installation was just digging the 1ft deep trench to bury the cord and receiver in the ground. We had it installed in about 15 min.
Answered by: Robin
Date published: 2017-01-24

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

Asked by: Pdgreer
No, not that I'm aware of.
Answered by: SDA
Date published: 2017-01-31

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

Asked by: Ah
No. The connection is between the receiver and transmitter only. It uses its own code/frequency.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 260.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant product I'm writing this to help address other reviewers concerns. About volume, this product has a volume switch on the side. Mine is plenty loud at high volume. About false alarms, I had some at first. I changed the dip switch settings from the factory default values and have had no false alarms in over a year. Also, great price at the Home Depot. Enjoy this product.
Date published: 2011-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of 3 brands purchased Priced right, super easy to install and no false alarms like with motion type alarms. Battery life is excellent.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wireless Driveway Alarm Had the alarm about 4 months now. No complaints, works great. Great price compared to others. I have the sensor about 250 feet from the receiver. The volume is plenty loud also. I would not be without an alarm anymore. I hope this helps in your decision on an alarm.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm My house is 500' from the road so we lke to have an alarm to let us know when someone comes on our property. Like this better than infrared alarms I've used that can be set off by deer, rabbits and other animals. Only goes off when cars, trucks and other large metal objects cross its path. But I found they were a little off on some of their distance claims. I had to bury the sensor wand within a foot of the edge of the driveway. The 12' circle they claimed didn't work for me. they also say it works up to 400' feet away. I first had the sending unit 300' from receiver and it didn't work, had to move it to 200'. Would like to have a softer alarm sound but guess you can't have everything.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless, returned. I worked hard to install this device exactly according to the directions and it never worked. I thought I spent enough but clearly not -- ended up buying a unit from Amazon that was almost $300!
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lifespan about a year I've bought two of these things. They are better than the $15-$20 ones you get. When it works it works good but none of the ones I got lasted much longer than a year.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality monitor was kind of doubtful at first digging a hole to put the bar in. but it works beautifully just as the reviews stated. has worked 100% so far..and reasonably priced.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work. Huge disappointment. Just flat out doesn't work. Tried 2 of them. Constant false alarms and missed events. Both units had a mind of their own. I took both back to the store on separate occasions and the clerk said something to the extent of "we see a LOT of these items coming back" and was very familiar wit the problems. Ordered a competing product online (for about 3x the price, FYI) and it works flawlessly.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth it Read the reviews and thought this was what we wanted. We checked to make sure it was going to work before covering it up, it did a relatively good job. Didn't always signal each time the vehicle went past while testing, but I could live with it. We took the alarm out of the trench to purchase some PVC pipe for the wire (so no varmints could chew through it while in the ground), we thought the PVC pipe going to the alarm was a good idea so we wanted the entire wire in PVC. When we put it back in the ground it wouldn't work. Took the PVC pipe off - still wouldn't work. Ended up returning it to Home Depot for a refund. I then ordered a Chamberlain Wireless Motion Alert. This one works great - even detects people walking up the drive.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work - will be returning Didn't work contacted manufacturer no reply returning
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great with limitations Had it located 25' from the street. Kept getting false alarms. I turned the sensitivity down to stop the false alarms, then it would not pick up anything. I moved it 100' feet from the road, turned up the sensitivity 100% and it works great. I would have liked to have it closer to the road but the next tree was 100' away. The other draw back is the cable is too short, I had to mount the transmitter closer to the driveway that I wanted. A 30' cord would have worked much better for me. I would buy it again.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Driveway Alarm This unit is very limited in range. 400 feet doesn't mean much if you have to have a clear unobstructed view. By the time a car triggers the unit it can already be heard and seen coming up the driveway. May be useful in some situation. Save your money and buy a similar unit on line that has a half mile range. Works much better. The price is more, but less expensive than buy one that doesn't work well and then buying the other one. The unit does not have additional outputs for a relay or additional alerts.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great These work wonderful. I got them as Christmas presents this year for family. I have had one on my own driveway for several years. When you live in the country you don't know someone is here till they knock. This gives you advance warning. The ones I just got have a new tone sound from my old one, if the company reads this, I like the old tones better. Be ready to dig a hole 2 feet deep for the sensor, then a trench a few inches deep for the 5 feet of wire. I have a bridge at my house and that worked perfectly for me mounting it under the bridge.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than 3 no more than 4 stars I bought this unit for my seasonal business. I have it located about 75 feet from the highway. Overall it is pretty decent. Pros: I am located inside a metal building and do not have any problems receiving a signal. Cons: It does receive false readings every few hours when there are no vehicles going by. I have noticed when large trucks that vibrate the ground go by on the highway it sometimes goes my go off. My unit does not detect new Camaros or some small cars. I guess there is not enough metal mass there for the unit to pick up. It is probably a better unit than the motion sensor types but just a little bit more on the pricier side.
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Limited reliability This is my second Mighty Mule driveway alarm. The first stopped working after three years and I wanted to replace it with the latest model. Upon receiving the new one, I was disappointed to find that the wire between the sensor probe and the transmitter is now much shorter (less then 10 feet) . The shorter wire prohibited me from hiding the transmitter in a nearby tree and eliminating the need to mow around it. I have been using my new driveway alarm for about three weeks now and am finding that it only senses a vehicle about 50% of the time. I have replaced the batteries and re-positioned the probe, but nothing seems to help. The old model was much more reliable.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I had looked at different types of these products. Some of the products were motion sensitive. Reviews indicated there were many false alarms. This product eliminates this. I would like to see a higher volume control. It is difficult to hear it at the other end of the house. I place it in the kitchen during the day. Move it near my bedroom at night.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed so far... Unit worked fine at first but since has been working sporadically. At the moment it signals when a car leaves our property but does not signal when a car arrives. That isn't very helpful. It may be that when going in one direction the vehicle blocks the signal. Unfortunately need to experiment more with sensor, transmitter and receiver placement.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I tried and just couldnt get it to work I followed the instructions to a tee. I even moved it to different locations, put in new batteries. It constantly false alarms.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mighty mule Have had mighty mule for over six months. have gotten false alarms sence I put it out. I have moved it and changed code more than once. I would not recommend.
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm Power cord never worked for the receiver when I received it, but after ordering a new power cord off eBay the driveway alarm has been working very well. No false alarms and loud enough to here the alarm throughout the house whe someone does come up the driveway.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of my best purchases ever this product is really good. if this one ever quits, i will immediately purchase another one... follow the directions to install and it works like you want it to....
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Returned it Returned after 2 weeks. Have a long treed driveway and the receiver must be in view of sensor.. It worked great for two days then it stopped working
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Work I followed the directions for installation, but I have not yet been able to get this device to work. I would not recommend it.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm Have owned this product before. Have several family members purchase it from my recommendation. It is working great. Thanks
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is my second unit. Cut the wire on my old unit. Now I have 2 base units in different parts of the house! Works great!
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and set up. This product was very easy to install and set up. The alarm sound is not too loud and can be heard throughout the house.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm Does not work... all the fixes recommended do not work. It just alarms for no reason. Would not recommend to buy
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised.Great! Very simple sensitivity adjustment. Works even better than the "Mighty Mule" company claimed
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job! Easy to install, Blends in with the landscaping. Does the job we needed it to do.
Date published: 2016-05-24
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_260
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 184ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT