Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

48 Questions106 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
5 answers

i have a Mighty Mule and I love it! I have had it for a while and it worked perfectly. Now it goes off for no reason. what do I do.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Clarendon, Texas
Read all my Q&A
July 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Have you tried changing the batteries?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anderson, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2016
Answer: 
Try turning down the sensitivity - it's located on the transmitter. Also, make sure you have a good battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
We had an issue with it going off at 5 am. Turns out our neighbor liked ours so much he installed one as well and we were being chimed when he left for work. We changed our dips switches to another setting and it solved the issue
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandy Station, VA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
This might be a stupid question, but did you change the batteries in the transmitter? Also, has the ground been disturbed around where you buried the sensor recently due to heavy rain or landscaping?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Traverse City, MI
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
After I installed mine it would go off a lot with out a car passing over it. I adjusted the sensor down a little and it has worked great ever since. I don't get any false alarms anymore. You might want to change the battery too. I'm sure the stock battery that is sent may not be the best on the market. Good Luck!
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
Plugs into any standard wall plug.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes. Turn off or turn down the volume on the base inside the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2016
Answer: 
no it doesnt. i bought a $5 outlet timer and programmed mine so the receiver doesnt have power for 30 mins in the early morning when i go to work, so it wont wake up the fam.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
Sorry no.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
Answer: 
Pdgreer,
The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm does not offer the feature you are referring to. You could simply unplug the indoor base station before you left your property, so the alarm would not go off. Thank you,
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marceline Mo.
Read all my Q&A
September 27, 2016
Answer: 
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
No, the wireless is just how the sensor sends signals to the base in your house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 22, 2015
Answer: 
Hello Ah,
Thank you for posting your question. You do not need internet for this item to work. The electromagnetic sensor detects vehicles in motion and sends a signal to the indoor
receiver. The indoor receiver will chime when it receives the signal, letting you know someone has just come on your property.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:21:43.403-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 368ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 251.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Driveway alarm I attempted to install this alarm and it did not work properly. This appears to be a product I would like if it does work, so I will order a new one and try again. I suspect the big magnet needs to be replaced. When I placed alarm "trigger" on the ground I had to drive within one foot to trigger the alarm. It did not work when I placed it in the open one foot deep hole.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product did not work. I followed all instructions and was within the range specified by the manufacturer, but could not get the signal to transmit. Tried again from very close range, and still would not work. My first Mighty Mule worked for about one year, then failed. This one didn't even get started. I'm giving up on the product.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAKES ME FEEL MORE SECURE Since I live alone, up in the mountains, and my driveway is partly obscured from the house, this alert gives me so much peace of mind. I am alerted someone is on the property and can be sure who it is before they are close to the house. Love it, wouldn't be without it.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great at first I have had this alarm for a year now. After making sensitivity adjustments, it worked great for last fall and winter. Starting in the spring, had to re-adjustment the sensitivity. It was working fine but now, it works for some cars and not others.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This driveway alarm works perfectly, no false alarms, no missed vehicles, its worth the money.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we can easily hear the chime throughout the house and now know when people drive into the driveway. we really like being able to know when someone is driving into the driveway now. The chime is plenty loud enough to hear everywhere throughout the house. A good product- thinking of giving it for a Christmas gift as well.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works and inexpensive I have a long drive back in the woods and set this up about 100 yards from my house. Was very easy to set up and have not had any false alarms. Now we can hear when someone drives in our drive, even 4 wheeler's.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressive The alarm goes off periodically when there are no visitors at the gate. It must detect very large vehicles such a bus passing by. Annoying during these false readings.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Detection / Short Range This monitor works very well at detecting all types of vehicles. Other monitors I've tried would miss small or fast moving vehicles. This monitor sees them all. The only complaint I have is the range. In order to get a consistent signal, I had to move the sending unit to within 250 ft. Other than that, this is a very good product.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for the money Easy to install and use. Good range. Wish there were a multiple receiver option so I could place one up and down stairs. Sometimes (rarely) doesn't always seem to work in some conditions, like ground very wet-or perhaps it is an placement issue in my situation. Otherwise, wish I had found this device a long time ago.
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I have a really long winding driveway in the woods. This really works . Very simple to install.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from designed for application needed to alert us when vehicle enter drive way 300 ft easy installation approx. 30 min digging trench for sensor
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There is no MIGHTY in mighty mule! Home Depot did a great job getting the product to me and giving me a full refund when I returned it. The product did not work. I tested it as directed. I drove past it with two different cars. It only worked sporadically with one and not at all with the other. When it did detect an automobile going past it, the sound coming from the reciever set at full volume was barely audible in the room it was in and impossible to hear in most of the rest of the house. The alarm only sounded for for the length of four short tones. I have since purchased another brand product from another source and am totally satisfied.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works well & looks great on driveway. The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great My husband is hard of hearing and this really works well when someone comes into the driveway he now knows. Before they could come and think no one was home and leave and he wouldn't hear them. I love it.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Installation was pretty easy. We put the outdoor sensor about 40 yards from our house. We had to move the internal base around in the house a little so it would transmit correctly. We thought we had to reset the internal base every time a car came through (because a red light would come on and stay on), but that wasn't the case. It will still alert you every time a car comes in or out without resetting the internal base. So far it has worked every time a car comes in or out. The chime is okay, but would like to have a choice of a different chime.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work. I have reset. Moved closer to transmitter. Unit works when it wants too. Think I will return it. Unreliable.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not great quality Transmitter was a lot smaller than the picture made it look. it was intermittent at 350' i had to return it.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm Purchased this and worked well for 6 months then started to alarm every minute on the minute. Contacted customer service returned and sent new one to replace. Worked for one week. Customer service was no help with trouble shooting. Will return and not purchase same.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Drive way alarm Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried. Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worthless - never worked farther than 5 feet between transmitter and receiver Of course I followed the instructions to the letter as everyone before stated to do - I started testing the range with only 25 feet clear line of sight and nothing! So, went to the trouble shooting page of the manual and re-read it over and over - guess what? The troubleshooting guide tells you what to check - but not what to do to solve the issue. So thinking I just might not be doing something right I closed the distance between the receiver and transmitter to see if it worked at all. I tried 20 feet then 15 feet, then 10 feet , and it finally worked at 5 feet. What a joke! This has to go back the only issue now is the closest Home Depot is 70 miles away.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this alarm I am on my second Mighty Mule alarm, the first one was not reliable, some times it worked & some times it didn't. After a few months it quit completely, installing new batteries did not solve the problem. The unit was returned for a replacement and again it's not reliable. The alarm sounds occasionally but is usually silent. Both units were installed strictly in accordance with the instructions provided and have clear line of sight to the receive which is approximately 85' away. I would not recommend this alarm to anyone.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps tremendously I can't hear vehicles coming down my drive. So, the driveway alarm is wonderful. I have it approximately 200 feet from the front door, but we have a lot of trees to contend with. It has given a couple false alarms since purchased (March 2011), but a false alarm is better than no alarm. But the false alarm is why I gave it a "4". Otherwise, I'm tremendously happy with the product. I only worry if my distance will be efficient enough when all of the trees grow their leaves back... we shall see.
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works great We needed a detector to alert us that someone was entering our driveway. I installed the sensor about 50 feet from a highway. (the instructions say 25 feet from a roadway). The installation was easy. I placed the receiver in a window sill facing the driveway, about 200 feet away. The dogs have rapidly learned to associate the sound with the arrival of someone in the driveway. So we have a secondary announcement. It has false alarmed a couple times. I have identified the cause as large flatbed trucks carrying heavy equipment, such as a tractor or grader. I have turned the sensitivity down but still will detect these type vehicles on the highway. I believe further reduction of the sensitivity could eliminate these alarms but they are rare and not a problem for us. This product works!!
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me Maybe mine was a location that wouldn't work with this unit, but it would either false alarm repeatedly or not respond unless a car was 3 feet away. Multiple adjustments were made from high to low and everywhere in between, but it was not reliable enough, so I returned it.
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We have a long driveway that we can't see from inside our house. We installed the mighty mule driveway alarm so we would know when we had guests. Now, when ride-sharing with others, they don't have to get out of their car and walk to our front door because the alarm notifies us that they have arrived and we meet them at their car. No false alarms. It senses vehicles only. Easy to install and hardly noticeable agaist our fence.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mighty mule wireless driveway alarm The word alarm is so misleading. The tone is about 1/2 as loud as a finger snap; you can barely hear the tone and only if you are standing beside the receiver. Even in the same room if there is a radio or TV on, you will not heard this tone. Two dings, that's its! Not 1/10 as loud as a phone ring. It is totally worthless. If you can't hear an automobile drive up, you sure as heck won't hear this alarm--Ding!! Don't waste the money; this is a total piece of junk!!
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS GREAT! Easy to set up. Did have some phantom alarms at first, but found the sensitivity was turned to the Max. Put it at the half way mark and it works every time with no "phantom" alarms going off. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Driveway alarm works great! We live out in the country with a long driveway, so needed this to alert if someone pulls in. I dug holes, laid out the alarm to where we wanted it, and buried it myself. My husband provided the test vehicle to ensure it was set properly. We have 4 wheelers go past the end of the driveway but these don't set the alarm off, only what pulls up the driveway. Works great and I would recommend it.
Date published: 2011-12-06
  • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_251
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 92ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT