Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How is the transmitter powered?

Asked by: audiogrotto
2 AA batteries.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08

Is it hard to install?

Asked by: Martha
This hardest thing about installation was just digging the 1ft deep trench to bury the cord and receiver in the ground. We had it installed in about 15 min.
Answered by: Robin
Date published: 2017-01-24

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

Asked by: Pdgreer
No, not that I'm aware of.
Answered by: SDA
Date published: 2017-01-31

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

Asked by: Ah
No. The connection is between the receiver and transmitter only. It uses its own code/frequency.
Answered by: Bennygirl
Date published: 2016-11-08
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_53
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 265.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good item. Working well so far, wish the cord was longer. Tone is loud enough to hear well.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Install instructions were simply, product does exactly what is says it will do
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Arrived a day before promised. Ground frozen. Could not dig, so placed sensor beside ditch at base of tree, covered it with leaves and pine needles. Attached transmitter to nearby sapling with batteries installed. Plugged in receiver in living room ( about 150 ft from transmitter) and it works perfectly. Very impressed. Now, if it would only activate a surveillance camera I wouldn't have to get out of my chair too see who is coming. Don
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wireless driver alarm Very good product. Needs to be able to turn the volume up a little more
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Very disappointed installed it stopped working after dropping under 30 degrees, And i just about wore out a pair of shoes running back and forth to the window, it was going off so often so I just unplugged it waste of money I guess I can I return it I had thrown the Box away... customer service is no help they don't accept phone calls just email.... so don't waste your time or money Thank you and have a wonderful day
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly performing product. I purchased the driveway alarm thinking it would probably work well out to at least 300 feet since the product was touted to work out to 400 - 450 feet depending on obstructions. Unfortunately I never could get it to function properly out beyond 150 feet which was not far enough for my needs. I tried changing the 'dip switch' settings and varying the sensitivity settings to no avail. I returned the detector because it falls well short of being a reliable detection device.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant go wrong Cant go wrong for the price, easy to install. Mine is about 250 feet away from the receiver and works good. Only downside is that the volume is not that loud so it has to be placed centrally in the home to hear it well. The tone is a little annoying too, sort of a mid high pitch beep beep beep. My Dakota has a louder selectable tone that is pleasing. Overall it works well
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Driveway alarm I attempted to install this alarm and it did not work properly. This appears to be a product I would like if it does work, so I will order a new one and try again. I suspect the big magnet needs to be replaced. When I placed alarm "trigger" on the ground I had to drive within one foot to trigger the alarm. It did not work when I placed it in the open one foot deep hole.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for a magnetic driveway sensor The alarm sensor was easy to set up and reliably detects vehicles. The receiver is about 100' from the detector and works fine, except, the alarm could be a little longer and louder.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless, returned. I worked hard to install this device exactly according to the directions and it never worked. I thought I spent enough but clearly not -- ended up buying a unit from Amazon that was almost $300!
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than advertised. This product advertises a 400 foot maximum range. We are getting about 800+ feet out of ours. I decided to start 25' from the intersection of our driveway and road and work my way toward the house until I got in range. It worked in the first location I tried -- at least 800' from the house. It does NOT have direct line of sight with the receiver but I did put it in a small shrub so it is about 5' above the ground. There are only trees and shrubs between the transmitter and receiver. I placed the receiver in the closest window in the house to the transmitter. It is loud enough to be heard throughout the house with the volume all the way up. I did read the instructions and waited to put the batteries in until I had the transmitter in the desired location. The instructions specifically tell you to wait to do this so it calibrates properly. It appears to be excellent quality but we have only used it a couple of days. Potentiometer is rugged and seems sturdy. The transmitter housing is black plastic so we'll see how it holds up in direct 100* sunlight. I just wish they had a solar charged transmitter unit.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lifespan about a year I've bought two of these things. They are better than the $15-$20 ones you get. When it works it works good but none of the ones I got lasted much longer than a year.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAKES ME FEEL MORE SECURE Since I live alone, up in the mountains, and my driveway is partly obscured from the house, this alert gives me so much peace of mind. I am alerted someone is on the property and can be sure who it is before they are close to the house. Love it, wouldn't be without it.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great at first I have had this alarm for a year now. After making sensitivity adjustments, it worked great for last fall and winter. Starting in the spring, had to re-adjustment the sensitivity. It was working fine but now, it works for some cars and not others.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works and inexpensive I have a long drive back in the woods and set this up about 100 yards from my house. Was very easy to set up and have not had any false alarms. Now we can hear when someone drives in our drive, even 4 wheeler's.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product did not work. I followed all instructions and was within the range specified by the manufacturer, but could not get the signal to transmit. Tried again from very close range, and still would not work. My first Mighty Mule worked for about one year, then failed. This one didn't even get started. I'm giving up on the product.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressive The alarm goes off periodically when there are no visitors at the gate. It must detect very large vehicles such a bus passing by. Annoying during these false readings.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Detection / Short Range This monitor works very well at detecting all types of vehicles. Other monitors I've tried would miss small or fast moving vehicles. This monitor sees them all. The only complaint I have is the range. In order to get a consistent signal, I had to move the sending unit to within 250 ft. Other than that, this is a very good product.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for the money Easy to install and use. Good range. Wish there were a multiple receiver option so I could place one up and down stairs. Sometimes (rarely) doesn't always seem to work in some conditions, like ground very wet-or perhaps it is an placement issue in my situation. Otherwise, wish I had found this device a long time ago.
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well So far the alarm is working very well, instructions are easy to understand.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This alarm works great! I really like it! It was easy to set up too
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from designed for application needed to alert us when vehicle enter drive way 300 ft easy installation approx. 30 min digging trench for sensor
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There is no MIGHTY in mighty mule! Home Depot did a great job getting the product to me and giving me a full refund when I returned it. The product did not work. I tested it as directed. I drove past it with two different cars. It only worked sporadically with one and not at all with the other. When it did detect an automobile going past it, the sound coming from the reciever set at full volume was barely audible in the room it was in and impossible to hear in most of the rest of the house. The alarm only sounded for for the length of four short tones. I have since purchased another brand product from another source and am totally satisfied.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works well & looks great on driveway. The products works very well & I like the way it looks on the driveway. It has a very professional look to it.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great My husband is hard of hearing and this really works well when someone comes into the driveway he now knows. Before they could come and think no one was home and leave and he wouldn't hear them. I love it.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Installation was pretty easy. We put the outdoor sensor about 40 yards from our house. We had to move the internal base around in the house a little so it would transmit correctly. We thought we had to reset the internal base every time a car came through (because a red light would come on and stay on), but that wasn't the case. It will still alert you every time a car comes in or out without resetting the internal base. So far it has worked every time a car comes in or out. The chime is okay, but would like to have a choice of a different chime.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work. I have reset. Moved closer to transmitter. Unit works when it wants too. Think I will return it. Unreliable.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not great quality Transmitter was a lot smaller than the picture made it look. it was intermittent at 350' i had to return it.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mighty Mule Drive way alarm Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried. Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway.
Date published: 2015-01-13
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_265
  • loc_, sid_202072041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT