0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Model # FM231WB

Internet # 202072041

Store SKU # 653097

Wireless Driveway Alarm

$59.97 /each
  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # FM231WB

Internet # 202072041

Store SKU # 653097

Store SO SKU # 1000110108

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
5.25 
Product Height (in.) 
Product Width (in.) 
13.5 
Details
Brand/Model Compatibility 
Mighty Mule 
Commercial/Residential Use 
Residential 
Fencing Product Type 
Gate Opener Part/Accessory 
Part/accessory type 
Other 
Product Weight (lb.) 
3 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Price: $50 - $100
Brand: Mighty Mule
Review Rating: 3 & Up
Search
40 Questions84 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the Mighty Mule driveway alarm require a line of sight from the transmitter to the receiver

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Blitz
February 12, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (4)

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, or it does not work. Need to point it through the trees. If you have hills, does not work.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Lafayette, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, it does not. The transmitter works up to 400 ft. away from the receiver. It senses magnetic disturbances & does not need to be in a line of sight with the receiver.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Rural Missouri
Read all my Q&A
February 14, 2013
Answer: 
No, ours goes thru 2 walls.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Port Angeles, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 13, 2013
Answer: 
I'd say no, because it works upstairs in a back bedroom where there is no line of sight from one to the other. Hope that helps. My transmitter is in a bush, which has been cut back. This summer I am going to find out if it needs to be trimmed down again or if the bush doesn't affect it.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
3 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
3 answers

Is it hard to install?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 5, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 19, 2016
Answer: 
no , very easy to install. Just bury the small probe and line under the ground next to your driveway so you don`t hit it with your mower. Plug in the control box in at your house and your ready to go.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
You have to dig a 2 foot deep hole to bury a foot long piece of pipe that senses the cars. Thats the hardest part.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Martha,
The Mighty Mule FM231WB Wireless Driveway Alarm features easy DIY installation for your property. Simply bury the included sensor next to your driveway approximately 1 ft. deep, flat and parallel. Then secure the included transmitter on the supplied 3 piece PVC pipe by burying the bottom third of the pipe in the soil. Secure the transmitter mounting post in the ground so that the Read More
Hello Martha,
The Mighty Mule FM231WB Wireless Driveway Alarm features easy DIY installation for your property. Simply bury the included sensor next to your driveway approximately 1 ft. deep, flat and parallel. Then secure the included transmitter on the supplied 3 piece PVC pipe by burying the bottom third of the pipe in the soil. Secure the transmitter mounting post in the ground so that the transmitter is upright and approximately 1 ft. above ground. Last place the indoor receiver in a convenient location in your home. For further more detailed installation instructions please refer to the "Installation Guide" located under "Info & Guides" on the FM231WB product page on HomeDepot.com. Thank you! Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
3 answers

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2016
Answer: 
no it doesnt. i bought a $5 outlet timer and programmed mine so the receiver doesnt have power for 30 mins in the early morning when i go to work, so it wont wake up the fam.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
Sorry no.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
Answer: 
Pdgreer,
The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm does not offer the feature you are referring to. You could simply unplug the indoor base station before you left your property, so the alarm would not go off. Thank you,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-05-24 T13:27:16.306-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 42ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 202 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mighty mule wireless driveway alarm The alarm works only for metal in drive, no shadows or birds set off alarm. Very dependable, works every time. This is second one bought as the first was run over by mower, which was difficult to do as it protrudes above ground 24 inches.. wish there were parts to order.. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! We have been using this system on our 285 foot long driveway for 4 years now. It has never failed. Using Duracell AA batteries, it lasts for over one-year on a single set of 4 batteries. July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far it works as stated and we're happy. We have one driveway sensor aprox 75' from two different receivers. We needed a warning in 2 separate buildings and putting both receivers and the one driveway sensor/transmitter on the same ID code works flawlessly. The buildings are at right angles to each other and about 40' apart. The receivers are in "line of sight" of the transmitter so I don't know how they would work if any obstructions were in place. The system has been installed about 3 months and no problems so far including still working under a foot of snow. December 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This driveway alarm works wery good this is the second one i have purchased. i got this one for friend her husband passed away and wanted to help her to feel safer. They work great and very pleased with July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product Product works great it every vehicle that went past it has been accounted for which is nice since our driveway is long and can't see from the house. We have people coming to our barn to leave equipment or product for our farm and its nice to know when there here or when anyone is here. We have wild animals like deer and it doesnt set it off or when walking by just vehicles and lawn mower. The dinger from it you can change volume of it not too annoying loud enough to hear from all over house. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product I loved this product so much I purchased another for a second property. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple and Efficient Literally took 5 minutes to install. Works flawlessly! July 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Difficult to get working I was pleased by the quality of the product for the price, it went together without problems. The issue I have is I have yet to get it to work. As you may imagine, it is difficult to place the sensor, turn on the receiver, run to the car, drive by and run back to the receiver to see if it worked. I am resorting to taking a video recording of the receiver. Very tough by yourself. I have put two hours into it without success - yet. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product, Price is Right Installed and had it working in 15min. 15' from mailbox and adjusted the sensativity for 13'. I know when the mail is delvered and when cars come into the driveway. Does not false alarm like Photoeye or Motion detector. I studied driveway detectors for 2 weeks and chose the Mighty Mule. The receiver sound is adaquite, wish it was a little louder or had relay output to interface to door bell or security system. Performs as I expected 5 stars. Good Value and a Good Price. I recommend this product June 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WORKS GREAT! Easy to set up. Did have some phantom alarms at first, but found the sensitivity was turned to the Max. Put it at the half way mark and it works every time with no "phantom" alarms going off. Highly recommend this product. May 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The concept of the product is good but the operation is terrible. This is not the first time I have purchased this product. The concept of having a device to indicate when someone is coming in your driveway is very good. However, I feel someone needs to go back to the drawing board to improve it. Unfortunately, the first one I bought only lasted about 6 months. And so far this one will only work sometimes. I've changed the batteries because I thought they were defective, but apparently that is not the problem. I will not be purchasing this product again. December 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! This was easy to install, works great. Its loud enough that we hear people coming up the driveway (its barely visible from the house) but it doesnt really bother guests already visiting. This is so great we purchased one for our in-laws who just moved into a house that has a long driveway that is not visible from most of the house. January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product. I purchased one for myself about 1 year ago. This one I purchased for my mother. She liked mine so well she wanted one. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helps tremendously I can't hear vehicles coming down my drive. So, the driveway alarm is wonderful. I have it approximately 200 feet from the front door, but we have a lot of trees to contend with. It has given a couple false alarms since purchased (March 2011), but a false alarm is better than no alarm. But the false alarm is why I gave it a "4". Otherwise, I'm tremendously happy with the product. I only worry if my distance will be efficient enough when all of the trees grow their leaves back... we shall see. May 3, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the $$$ It's great when it works...it doesn't always go off when it is supposed to... May 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poorly performing product. I purchased the driveway alarm thinking it would probably work well out to at least 300 feet since the product was touted to work out to 400 - 450 feet depending on obstructions. Unfortunately I never could get it to function properly out beyond 150 feet which was not far enough for my needs. I tried changing the 'dip switch' settings and varying the sensitivity settings to no avail. I returned the detector because it falls well short of being a reliable detection device. July 9, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for a small investment Bought this product after an increase in breakin atempts in my rual neighborhood. Instant peace of mind after installing the FM231 (only took 30 min) and it works great! The alarm can be heard quite clearly from anywhere inside my 2500 Sq Ft house. Located the transmitter 300' from my house and the reception is good. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an easy fix to a simular problem. February 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The product did not work. I followed all instructions and was within the range specified by the manufacturer, but could not get the signal to transmit. Tried again from very close range, and still would not work. My first Mighty Mule worked for about one year, then failed. This one didn't even get started. I'm giving up on the product. September 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We are enjoying knowing when someone pulls in to our driveway. We will be happy with this purchase as soon as we get the sensitivity set correctly. The alarm sounds periodically now when there is nothing there. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works almost flawlessly Easy to install. Works perfectly except that in the last three months is went off erroneously for no reason five or six times when I was home. Overall, it's well worth the price. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The door bell sound is perfect. This alarm goes off with the vibration of vehicle. I like that it is NOT visual type sensor. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy installation, works well but requires tweaking We have a 250' driveway and occassionally have deliveries, visitors and contractors show up unexpectedly. We have the alarm set up to alert us of vehicles at the bottom of the driveway when they first start coming up. It provides a loud clear beep sequence that is easy to recognize. We have a clear path between the receiver and transmitter and so far it's worked well but we do have the occassional false alarm or missed alarm. I've adjusted the sensativity a few times but I probably need further tuning of the placement and sensativity to further reduce false/missed alarms. I originally was looking to use one of the cheaper motion activated sensors but most of the reviews from them say they have a lot more false alarms from wind, leaves, temperature fluxations, etc. so I went with this one instead. Even thought it's not 100% perfect, overall I'm satisfied with its operation. January 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product for the money I'm very happy with the wireless driveway alarm. It was easy to install and works great. The chime is plenty loud for me although not the most pleasant sound. Mine is only about 90' away but I do not have line of sight and it works great. I does not work for people, and usually misses golf carts and motorcycles. -Cheers June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent alarm! We love this product. We live in the woods with a long driveway, and it is nice to have an alert when guests arrive or family arrive home. It works very well. We have had a false alarm very rarely, but truly that has not been an issue. Bought one for my parents too, and they love it. My brother-in-law bought one too when he saw how it worked at their house! December 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by its just ok The product works fine. I have had it a month now. The problem I had was the cord that runs from the sensor bar to the transmitter is only 15 feet. In the instruction manual it says if you need a longer cord contact coustomer service. I did and they said oh that's a miss print... so now the sensor is just sitting right out in the open. Not hap py about that would like it hidden or next to a tree. February 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm works great! We live out in the country with a long driveway, so needed this to alert if someone pulls in. I dug holes, laid out the alarm to where we wanted it, and buried it myself. My husband provided the test vehicle to ensure it was set properly. We have 4 wheelers go past the end of the driveway but these don't set the alarm off, only what pulls up the driveway. Works great and I would recommend it. December 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does the job! Works extremely well at the end of my long graveled drive. The sound of the indoor 'alarm' is great and can be heard throughout the house. Setup and installation was a breeze. I only regret I didn't purchase it sooner. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm Bought this because I've had people in my driveway and yard without knowing it. Works great for the cars in the driveway but sometimes picks up cars or school buses in the roadway. I would put in at least 40 feet from the road. Mine is 35 feet away but sometimes it picks up cars that are close to my side of the road. It does NOT pick up animals or people which is great! December 13, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love the mule We love our Mighty Mule wireless driveway alarm. We live in a wooded, rural area with a hidden drive. We do not get a lot of visitors and so the Mighty Mule provides early announcement of someone coming to our property. Installation was quick and easy and performance has been perfect. May 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Home Depot should stop selling this. As far as driveway alarms go, this unit is terrible. Home Depot is a great company and most of their products are excellent, but they should really stop selling this product and start carrying better driveway alarms like the Mier DA-500 or Dakota Alert's. July 9, 2013
  • 2016-05-24 T12:28:38.016-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_202, tr_202
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7 8 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 111ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT