Model # FM231WB

Internet #202072041

Store SKU #653097

Store SO SKU #1000110108

Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm
0090835001501

Mighty Mule

Wireless Driveway Alarm

  • Alerts you with a chime when your visitors enter your driveway
  • Up to a 400 ft. wireless range from transmitter to receiver
  • Multiple indoor receivers can be added
$59.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm alerts you when a guest enters your driveway. The alarm uses reliable electromagnetic vehicle detection to sense when a vehicle is passing through your driveway. With electromagnetic technology, the Wireless Driveway Alarm avoids false alarms from an animal or person. With an extensive reception range of 400 ft. it adds security and convenience to your property.

  • Electromagnetic technology that detects and alerts vehicle(s) moving within a 3 - 12 ft. radius of the sensor
  • Easy DIY (do it yourself) installation for your property
  • Alerts you with a chime to your indoor receiver when visitors approach
  • The alarm features a sensitivity adjustment to adjust to your comfort
  • Backed by a 12 month Mighty Mule warranty and technical support
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

48 Questions106 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wireless Driveway Alarm
Wireless Driveway Alarm

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
5 answers

i have a Mighty Mule and I love it! I have had it for a while and it worked perfectly. Now it goes off for no reason. what do I do.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Clarendon, Texas
Read all my Q&A
July 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Have you tried changing the batteries?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anderson, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 6, 2016
Answer: 
Try turning down the sensitivity - it's located on the transmitter. Also, make sure you have a good battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
We had an issue with it going off at 5 am. Turns out our neighbor liked ours so much he installed one as well and we were being chimed when he left for work. We changed our dips switches to another setting and it solved the issue
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandy Station, VA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
This might be a stupid question, but did you change the batteries in the transmitter? Also, has the ground been disturbed around where you buried the sensor recently due to heavy rain or landscaping?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Traverse City, MI
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
After I installed mine it would go off a lot with out a car passing over it. I adjusted the sensor down a little and it has worked great ever since. I don't get any false alarms anymore. You might want to change the battery too. I'm sure the stock battery that is sent may not be the best on the market. Good Luck!
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

How is the transmitter powered?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Hill Country, Texas
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Missouri
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2016
Answer: 
Plugs into any standard wall plug.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Tampa FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 23, 2016
Answer: 
2 "AA" batteries power the transmitter. The receiver is powered by a small wall wart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

January 30, 2016
Answer: 
The transmitter uses 2 AA batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
Hello audiogrotto,
Thank you for taking the time to post your question. The transmitter of the wireless driveway alarm is powered by two "AA" batteries. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Does the night mule have a feature to allow you to leave quietly from your house without alerting anyone in the house.

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes. Turn off or turn down the volume on the base inside the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2016
Answer: 
no it doesnt. i bought a $5 outlet timer and programmed mine so the receiver doesnt have power for 30 mins in the early morning when i go to work, so it wont wake up the fam.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
Sorry no.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
Answer: 
Pdgreer,
The Mighty Mule Wireless Driveway Alarm does not offer the feature you are referring to. You could simply unplug the indoor base station before you left your property, so the alarm would not go off. Thank you,
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
 
4 answers

Since this is wireless, do you need Internet for this to work?

This question is from Wireless Driveway Alarm
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marceline Mo.
Read all my Q&A
September 27, 2016
Answer: 
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 10, 2016
Answer: 
No, the wireless is just how the sensor sends signals to the base in your house.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 22, 2015
Answer: 
Hello Ah,
Thank you for posting your question. You do not need internet for this item to work. The electromagnetic sensor detects vehicles in motion and sends a signal to the indoor
receiver. The indoor receiver will chime when it receives the signal, letting you know someone has just come on your property.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:21:43.403-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 116ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 239 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good product was able to set it up without any assistance. It is a very good product. I follow the instructions provided ans so far, I have experienced no problem. June 17, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your money I was excited to purchase this alarm because our previous driveway alarm was very sensitive to people and animals crossing the path. The Mighty Mouse uses electromatic sensors that are only supposed to alarm when a car passes. We tried it out with 4 different cars, and the alarm failed to go off each time. We tried changing the sensitivity and moving it, but we never got it to work when cars drove past it. So, we will be returning it and going with the kind we used to have, which is basically a motion sensor for anything crossing the alarm's path. Not really what I wanted, but at least those are reliable. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule wireless driveway alarm The unit works well easy to install Need to adjust the sensitivity when installed near a Metal building June 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent equipment Received timely. Easy to follow instructions. Excellent product. This device reacts magnetically to vehicles passing rather than the motion sensor types that respond to animals, people, and wind. May 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wireless Driveway Alarm works well This product works very well at alerting us of vehicles coming into the driveway. The wireless signal is strong and could interfere with wireless doorbell as it does ours. However, We really like this product and wished we have done this sooner! June 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Driveway alarm that works Very easy to set up and works as expected. The alarm sounds in the house whenever a vehicle comes up our driveway. June 16, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule Driveway Alarm It worked, but I returned it because the volume is too soft even at the loudest setting. It was difficult to hear the alarm over ambient noise in the home such as over a TV , stereo, washing machine, etc.. Even during the dead of night it would be doubtful the alarm would wake someone from sleep. May 2, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by mighty mule wireless driveway alarm The word alarm is so misleading. The tone is about 1/2 as loud as a finger snap; you can barely hear the tone and only if you are standing beside the receiver. Even in the same room if there is a radio or TV on, you will not heard this tone. Two dings, that's its! Not 1/10 as loud as a phone ring. It is totally worthless. If you can't hear an automobile drive up, you sure as heck won't hear this alarm--Ding!! Don't waste the money; this is a total piece of junk!! February 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product This is much better than a motion sensor alert. I have gotten a few false alarms, even tho I have it about 40 feet from the road way, but iI wouldn't trade it for motion sensor. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works Well The Driveway alarm is very easy to install and I have it working at over 300 feet between the transmitter and receiver. The only con is that the alarm alerts when entering and leaving the driveway. This would be very ideal for U type driveways where you enter and exit from different locations so you would get one alert. The instructions contradict themselves where it states on one page that you do not have to reset the transmitter unit once the alarm is set off and another page that says you have to reset the transmitter. Overall a good product. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Paranoid in the country Takes some work to install, after that it has worked flawlessly for 5yrs. Only replace batteries once a year in the spring. Have the distance maxed out at about 425ft. Wish it had an add on capability. Would love to be able to turn the front porch light on each time it goes off. Plan on getting an addional receiver for the work shop. March 9, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy this alarm I am on my second Mighty Mule alarm, the first one was not reliable, some times it worked & some times it didn't. After a few months it quit completely, installing new batteries did not solve the problem. The unit was returned for a replacement and again it's not reliable. The alarm sounds occasionally but is usually silent. Both units were installed strictly in accordance with the instructions provided and have clear line of sight to the receive which is approximately 85' away. I would not recommend this alarm to anyone. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good for its purpose I have a 500'+ driveway and wanted to have something that would alert us when visitors came unannounced. Other solutions that I investigated cost much more than this alarm, so I figured I would give it a try. Installation was a snap, and once I got the transmitter installed it has worked well. Two things: First, I couldn't reach the max distance (400', I believe, was what the manufacturer touted) with my unit even though I have a clear line of sight to my house from the transmitter's location, but I probably have it 300' away. Second, the transmitter is mounted on gray PVC and is just a little less sturdy than I had hoped, though it seems to be satisfactory. All-in-all, I can recommend this product to do what it says. January 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wireless driveway alarm Honestly I have not been able to try this product yet because it requires some digging to place the sensor underground and our ground is currently frozen solid and will be for a couple months yet. I can say that a friend highly recommended this alarm and that is the reason for me buying it. February 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mighty Mule Drive way alarm Excellent product and easy for a single "mature" woman to install herself. Just be careful and leave sufficient cord in the transistor tube so it does not pull out when everything gets buried. Works nicely part way along my 600 ft driveway. January 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product This driveway alarm works perfectly, no false alarms, no missed vehicles, its worth the money. April 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I would have made this purchase long ago. Really helps to know when someone is on site. This was very easy to install, took just a few minutes. Works very well and the alarm is loud enough to hear throughout the house. March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product Installation was pretty easy. We put the outdoor sensor about 40 yards from our house. We had to move the internal base around in the house a little so it would transmit correctly. We thought we had to reset the internal base every time a car came through (because a red light would come on and stay on), but that wasn't the case. It will still alert you every time a car comes in or out without resetting the internal base. So far it has worked every time a car comes in or out. The chime is okay, but would like to have a choice of a different chime. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works well, no significant issues. Installation requires digging a couple of good sized holes and a trench to connect them, but it's easily within the capability of most DIY'ers. Our sensor is 50-75 feet from the house, and it's been very reliable so far. There have been a few times where the alarm failed to sound, and false alarms are common during electrical storms, but this has not been a significant problem. I wish it was solar powered rather than using two AA batteries, but we've had it installed for several months now and haven't needed to change the batteries yet. This is a great value! September 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A product we needed. Our driveway is 500 ft. long not visible from our living room. Now, I know who is within 30 ft. of our house when they come up the driveway. No unexpected people coming up in the night time now. February 10, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by better than a doorbell to let you know someone is coming assembly is quick, a little bit of digging and your done. March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We've bought 3, will buy 1 or 2 more We bought 2 of these shortly after moving to our remote home 8 months ago. We wanted to know when people &/or cars came to our part of the road and driveway so we put one at the road about 500 feet from the kitchen window. The 2nd is located on our gravel driveway and the alarm is in our bedroom window. When either goes off, we look out the front of the house to assess the situation or greet guests or the UPS driver. They both fail occasionally--possibly because the car happens to be hugging the other side of the lane. They have gone off a very few times with nothing seeming to be around--possibly caused by a stray dog wearing a collar. We set them off when we walk by with a cell phone in our pocket so I'm comforted that most people will be picked up by the sensors. We have not replaced any batteries yet. We bought a 3rd for another access route and I plan to buy 2 more for the dock path and an unused lane very close to our home. I was not comfortable living here without these wireless alarms but with these in place, I know when our house is being approached. January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good driveway alarm Driveway alarms have gotten better and cheaper over the last 10 years. There are basically 2 kinds; the magnetic sensor (like this one for vehicles) and the motion sensor, for people, animals, vehicles and anything that moves. Motion sensors tend to give more false alarms do to branches or brush moving in the wind. This one has been working very good for me. I found a spot about 150 feet away with a pretty clear view of the receiver to mount the transmitter. I slid the sensor in a 3" PVC culvert that ran under the driveway, it even picks up my bicycle when I ride over that spot. Keep in mind the line of sight from the spot where you mount the transmitter to the receiver in your home and try to avoid obstacles that will block the signal. The 400 foot (listed) range would only be for optimal placement without any signal interference, 250 feet is more realistic. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Takes the place of a doorbell Our house can't have a doorbell due to the thick stone and brick wall so this alarm provides that function and I know when guest get here and when they leave. February 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far it works as stated and we're happy. We have one driveway sensor aprox 75' from two different receivers. We needed a warning in 2 separate buildings and putting both receivers and the one driveway sensor/transmitter on the same ID code works flawlessly. The buildings are at right angles to each other and about 40' apart. The receivers are in "line of sight" of the transmitter so I don't know how they would work if any obstructions were in place. The system has been installed about 3 months and no problems so far including still working under a foot of snow. December 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WORKS GREAT I have a 250 foot driveway and have this system installed for 1.5 years now. It has never failed me and havent had to change the batteries yet. Simple set up. Great for the pizza delivery too. No one ever get to the door bell here im out fast once alarm goes off and the dogs are at the gate once they here it. Has volume control but if you want on high I can hear it from the other side of my 2500 square foot ranch. At the time home depot sold them for 49.99 but even at 65 well worth it has stood up and worked in any weather. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product Product works great it every vehicle that went past it has been accounted for which is nice since our driveway is long and can't see from the house. We have people coming to our barn to leave equipment or product for our farm and its nice to know when there here or when anyone is here. We have wild animals like deer and it doesnt set it off or when walking by just vehicles and lawn mower. The dinger from it you can change volume of it not too annoying loud enough to hear from all over house. April 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works great with limitations Had it located 25' from the street. Kept getting false alarms. I turned the sensitivity down to stop the false alarms, then it would not pick up anything. I moved it 100' feet from the road, turned up the sensitivity 100% and it works great. I would have liked to have it closer to the road but the next tree was 100' away. The other draw back is the cable is too short, I had to mount the transmitter closer to the driveway that I wanted. A 30' cord would have worked much better for me. I would buy it again. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best of 3 brands purchased Priced right, super easy to install and no false alarms like with motion type alarms. Battery life is excellent. December 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by a waste of time and money! The wireless driveway alarm was easy to install but only works about 1 out of 10 times. It was definitely a wast of my money! December 17, 2014
  • 2016-10-31 T04:32:56.222-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_239, tr_239
  • loc_en_US, sid_202072041, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 179ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT