Model # 48-89-2800

Internet #100670144

Milwaukee Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
0045242167227

Milwaukee

Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)

  • Thunderbolt web design provides longer life and faster drilling
  • 3-Flat Secure Grip shank reduces bit slipping in the chuck
  • Accurate and clean drilling holes
$12.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Milwaukee Black Oxide Drill Bit Set includes 14 pieces of the most common bit sizes, ranging from 1/16 in. to 1/2 in. The bits are equipped with the Thunderbolt tapered web design to resist breaking and are ideal for drilling in wood, metal and plastic. The 135-degree split-point design facilitates precision starts with no walking.

  • Includes 14 popular sizes for working with wood, metal and plastic
  • Black oxide coating provides lubricity and resists corrosion of the bit
  • Thunderbolt tapered web design resists breakage from side-load pressure
  • 135-degree split-point design enables precision starts with no walking
  • 3-Flat Secure-Grip shank design prevents the bits from slipping in the chuck
  • Compact, heavy-duty storage case offers added convenience

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

4 Questions14 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
8 answers

what is the largest bit size in this kit? model#48-89-2800

This question is from Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
Asked by
geo
roch, ny
July 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Hobart Indiana
Read all my Q&A
November 4, 2015
Answer: 
1/2" is the largest in the set>
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Midlothian, IL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 6, 2015
Answer: 
1/2 inch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Palm Bay, FL
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
1/2 inch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Hill, Florida
Read all my Q&A
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
The sizes start at 1/16 to the largest 1/2 inch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Puerto Rico
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
1/2 is the bigger Drill Bit on this set.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lancaster, PA
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
The largest size drill bit in this set is 1/2 inch -- with a shank turned down to 3/8 inch.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Peoria,AZ
Read all my Q&A
September 24, 2013
Answer: 
1/2 inch Diameter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
1/2 inch
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Where's the info on what material these bits are made for

This question is from Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
Asked by
san diego
Read all my Q&A
January 19, 2015
I need to drill for glas and resin and I was doing research and comparisons between the other Home Depot drill bits.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Hobart Indiana
Read all my Q&A
November 4, 2015
Answer: 
these bits are for wood and and steel only. your looking for a carbide bit for ceramics and resin. Glass is a whole nether story depending on its type. diamond tip for pyrex and type A glass
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Midlothian, IL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 6, 2015
Answer: 
These are general use bits, you can use them on wood, plastic, metal, just not concrete.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Goleta, California
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
Mild steel, plastic and wood.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
2 answers

Do these drill bits work with any drill?

This question is from Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
Asked by
Chicago, IL
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2015
I have a very basic black & decker drill that I use for very small home projects like installing coat hooks, curtains, etc. Several of the original drill bits have gone missing and I want to replace them. Will this set work with a black and decker?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

December 21, 2015
Answer: 
Yes. These drill bits will work with any standard drill/driver unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Hobart Indiana
Read all my Q&A
November 4, 2015
Answer: 
you didn't say the chuck size of your drill? this set goes up to a 1/2" bit that requires a 1/2" chuck on your drill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What are the sizes included? I need a 11/16"

This question is from Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece)
Asked by
Ogden Utah
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

March 19, 2016
Answer: 
The set Includes: (1) 1/16",(1) 5/64", (1) 3/32", (1) 7/64", (2) 1/8", (1) 9/64", (1) 5/32", (1) 3/16", (1) 7/32", (1) 1/4", (1) 5/16", (1) 3/8", (1) 1/2".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-31 T01:38:41.701-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100670144, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years and have not broken one yet. 3 years of use and they still drill just fine. The case is very handy and rugged. Easy to see what bit needs to go back in. Have not lost a bit yet either
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best drill set value Drill set included up to a 1/2 bit. Bits easily cut 8 holes in 1/4 in steel needed for lawn mower project. Quality + value = satisfied home owner!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First bit set This is perfect for the projects I am doing!! This is perfect in size and power and the cost was just right! I love this set!!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black Oxide Drill Bit Set (14-Piece) There is nothing quite like having the right sharp drill bit when you need it.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I bought these bits based on the overwhelming positive reviews. Having used these bits just once so far, about all I can truly say is that these drill bits seem to do what drill bits are supposed to do -- drill a hole, while not breaking. For me, only time will tell if these black oxide drill bits (by Milwaukee) are as durable and long-lasting as other reviewers have claimed. Frankly, I sure hope so ....I'm keeping my fingers crossed!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit set for my plastic garden pots project Sharp, sturdy bit, works great with my Black Decker drill.
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sharp at the beginning dulls very fast I bought this because I needed to drill quite a few different materials. First I had to drill a 1/2 inch hole through 1/4 inch metal. The 1/2 inch bit did a fantastic job and has done a fantastic job to this day. The rest of the bits must have missed the quality control aspect and are complete junk after a few uses. I have had 4 different bits shear off on me halfway through drilling into a stud and another bit get dull as soon as it hit a nail in the stud. I attempted to drill out a stripped bolt with the 1/4 bit and it did a fantastic job. The next bolt it lost its edge and became rounded. I would say that the only good bit in this deal is the 1/2 inch bit as it has done everything I asked it to and stays sharp. Overall a mediocre product at best
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Set Bought a bit set like this for myself, over a year ago. It has served me time and time again. they all are great bits and I have not come across a project tha cant handle(Wood, Plastic, Composites or Metal even). The smaller bits do tend to crack and break over time but the case is great for just pulling out the broken one and replacing it with some of the replacement bits in my Bit Drawer. The heavier sizes are beasts and will last forever it seems. Still as sharp and clean a cut as the day I bought them, even after drilling through a few dozen steel drum walls.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Might be low in price but high in performance. I was drilling into a treated 2x4 the other night with a new bit from a black and decker set. Thought something was wrong with my Milwaukee m12 drill-it took 20 seconds to penetrate. Then I bought this set, drilled another pilot hole into the same 2x4 and wallah! took 2-3 seconds to penetrate the entire board. The black oxide bit tore through the wood like butter. I'm sold!
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dull bits I have two of these sets and with both sets the small drill bits are dull. Once you get up to 3/16 and above the bits are very sharp.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drill Power I haven't used all of the bits, but I used a few and it did the job I expected in a good amount of time. I also compared them to the titanium bits that another coworker of mine purchased and mine had the same performance as theirs.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strong and sharp Purchased these drill bits to fit into a work pouch. Like the slender case and the bits drill true and straight no matter if in metal or wood. Good product for the money.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid drill set Just needed some good drill bits and these did the trick and then some. Extremely sharp for good clean drilling and at a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and super performance Perfect to replace all of my old bits. Especially since getting my M12.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good set - wide range of bit sizes When you only have room to carry a small case, this a good one to have.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value excellent set of bits the quality you would expect from Milwaukee
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 14 Piece Milwaukee Drill Bit Set I have been very pleased with my past Milwaukee Drill Bit sets. I bought this set to replace a similar set I purchased about five years ago. Over time several bits broke in heavy use (smaller diameter) or have just gotten dull from extended use. It was more economically feasible to buy a whole new set than to try to replace just the individual bits that I needed. The set is a pretty good value for the price and the bits are of excellent quality. The Milwaukee drill cases I have had in the past have a space designed to hold the bit case. My new Milwaukee18V Hammer Drill csse does not have a dedicated space for the drill bit kit, which I find disappointing. The 2604-22 Hammer Drill is an excellent product, but the molded case is not as well engineered as my previous cases. I would recommend the drill bit kit and the hammer drill without reservation.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Drill Bits for Steel! I work with steel. After I got my Ryobi 10 inch drill press, I also got the Ridgid 14 pc Coldfire cobalt drill bit set. It did not work. It was soft metal with a cobalt coating. Frustrated, I returned those drill bits and bought this set. The high quality steel cuts through high carbon steel like a hot knife through butter, and I had no problems with overheating. It has all the popular sizes I will ever need!
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst bits I have used - very dull Thought I had a problem with my drill; every hole I drilled took forever, and the bits started smoking instead of making a hole; had to stop and let bits cool 5-10 times while trying to drill a single 1/8 inch hole into 2x4 framing. Finally I tried a different manufacturer's set of bits, and it was a huge difference - hole that had taken 5 minutes with these took less than 5 seconds with other bits! I own several Milwaukee power tools and love them, excellent quality; but they sure misfired on these drill bits - turned out to be a total waste of money and more importantly, my time.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal I went in to buy a few small bits and found the Milwaukee drill set cheaper then the bits. They work very well but are a little hard to remove from the holder.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD SET OF DRILL BITS Drill bits are a good bargain. Cut mild steel very well and even better with lighter gauge materials. They also seam to keep a good edge for a long time.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought because it was a better value, looking for a specific drill bit size. This is an average product for the money. I needed a specific bit for a project, figured it wouldn't hurt to have some extra bits as well. The bit I needed worked fine. Have noticed some wear after very limited use. Would recommend for small projects, not to be used frequently.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from holds up well!!! great drill bits for their price, been drilling stainless and holding up well. use lots of cutting oil and low speed.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these bits They may not be the best money could by, however, these bits always get the job done for me at a great price!!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good price Nice bits they work very well I only use Milwaukee drill bits they are the best
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from drill bit ezt is easy to find nice rugged case seem to be sharp
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Milwaukee drill bits Great set of drill bits at a wonderful price point
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome I haven't used these a whole lot yet. But the few times I drilled it proved itself. I don't think these will dull any time soon. What's extra benefit is the cool and funcitonal container which I will keep even when the bits go out.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Milwaukee14-Piece Black Oxide Drill Bit Set The bits are sharp and have a good point, they don't walk on you. However, this is a budget set and I don't expect much from them.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bits won't stay in their hole when the case is upside down If the case is inverted (which often happens in a tool chest), the next time you open the case many of the drill bits have fallen out of their sockets and spill out of the case when opened.
Date published: 2015-07-20
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_, sid_100670144, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT