Model # 63333444

Internet #202061476

Store SKU #404748

Minwax 1 qt. Satin Polycrylic Protective Finish
0027426633339

Minwax

1 qt. Satin Polycrylic Protective Finish

  • Provides a protective top-coat for interior wood surfaces
  • Resists damage from scuffing, chipping, water and other chemicals
  • Highly rated for ease of application (see reviews)
$17.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Minwax Polycrylic Protective Finish is a protective top-coat for use on interior wood surfaces including furniture, trim, doors and cabinets. It can be used over bare wood and both oil-based and water-based stains. Polycrylic can be recoated in only 2 hours. Minwax Polycrylic resists damage from abrasion, scuffing, chipping, water, alcohol and other common household chemicals.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Crystal clear finish is ideal for use over light woods like maple, ash and birch as well as over Minwax water based wood stains
  • Covers 125 sq. ft. of wood
  • Satin finish
  • Protects and adds beauty to interior wood surfaces including woodwork, furniture, doors and cabinets
  • 3 Hour dry time
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Easy water clean up
  • Online Price includes Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, MN, OR, RI, VT

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Can I use it on painted (not stained) wood?

Can I use it on painted (not stained) wood?
Asked by: Abe
Hello. Yes, we agree. Polycrylic can be used over paint. However, latex paint needs to be cured for 30m days, oil-based paint, 7 days. If the paint has any sheen or is chalking, it will need to be dull (220 is an ideal grit), make sure the paint is dry and is clean, and is not flaking or peeling. Regards, Minwax Customer Service
Answered by: MINWAX
Date published: 2017-03-15

Does temperature affect drying time?

Asked by: Polly
Hello, Actual drying time of our products is based on 77 degrees and relative humidity of 50%. Cooler temperatures will extend the drying and curing times of our products. Regards, Minwax Customer Service
Answered by: MINWAX
Date published: 2017-02-20

Can I use this over oil base stain on my dining table top?

Asked by: AGA
I just used MINWAX brand STAIN on my kitchen island top, an oil based stain. It says on the can that MINWAX product Polycrilic can be applied over it. so YES for sure if you use Minwax oil based stain. I would wait 24 hours to allow stain to dry before using the Polycrylic.
Answered by: missy
Date published: 2017-03-15

Does this product come in a gallon can?

Asked by: TIm
Yes. Best way to buy unless you are only doing a very small project.
Answered by: remskm
Date published: 2016-07-20
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_32
  • loc_, sid_202061476, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

1 qt. Satin Polycrylic Protective Finish is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat it I love using this stuff. It's easy to apply, cleans up with soap and water, and it dries extremely fast which is probably the best part..... It may not be quite as durable as regular polyurethane, but I've never had a problem with it. I've covered wood by my pool which constantly gets wet and it hasn't failed in 3 years. As you may know, working with the regular polyurethane is a real pain. It dries very, very slowly... and picks up every piece of dust and lint floating by while you wait to re-coat your piece. This stuff isn't like that at all... It works great!
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Reclaimed Wood Projects This is an ideal finish for a variety of projects. It works really well for any kind of wood project that uses pallet or reclaimed wood. If you like the existing color and texture of the wood, but want to give it some protection, this is the product you want. My most recent application was applying a couple coats over a hand-painted sign made out of reclaimed pallet wood. I was happy with the color and texture of the wood, but I wanted to protect the paint from chipping – it worked perfectly. It protects the paint and gives the wood a little bit of polish without making it glossy. Two thumbs up!
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salvaged a bad table top. I ordered a table on-line and when it arrived the table top was worn and in need of refinishing. I used Minwax stain to give it a consistent color, then used multiple coats of Minwax Polyacrylic protective finish, sanding with 220 sandpaper between coats. The table top looks great.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't do woodwork without it! I have used this product for years and I wouldn't do woodwork without it! Good instructions, if you read them. Water cleanup. Helps make any project look professional.
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not dry clear Dont use this unless your base coat is white or cream. I bought this product as a top coat for a dresser I painted black. It left a white tint on the dresser. I had to gently sand the finish off. I ended up using a spray can of polyurethane. I painted bifold doors a light cream and used this product and the finish turned out fine.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy This product is so easy to work with, water clean up. It dries clear and quickly. Only time will tell if it lasts. I painted an outdoor sign and used this product because it dries clear.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Being water based was essential. First off, The product works well. Covers nice, Dries fast, Nice sheen to it. Easy cleanup is an understatement. Had an entire can spill all over me. Cleaned up fast, No toxic fumes, And it even washed out of my pants (Mostly) A little pricey, But worth it.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seals glitter Used it to seal glitter spray paint. Tried the companion glitter sealant spray but I was still getting flaking. One coat of the poly and it's staying stuck where intended. It dried clear and didn't affect the shine of the glitter.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Front Door protection in brutal elements Sanded down a front door, then stained followed by protection with this product. Easy to use, clear, and beautiful. For maintenance, the directions state a fine sanding and recoating is all that is needed. The finish is still excellent after a year but tested the claim on a superficial scratch left by shears. Dabbed a little of the polycrylic on and the scratch disappeared, Impressive!
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dried white This product did not dry clear for me, the area still has a whitish film coat over it. It was applied evenly, and I have used similar products before, so I blame the product. Now the whole project has to be redone. Waste of money!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating to apply I have tried this polycrylic on many painted wood projects. The results are inconsistent. It is difficult to get even coverage. No matter how much or how little I load my brush, there are stoke marks and drips. I constantly have to watch for drips. Thankfully it all looks better when dry, but what an unnerving application process. I love to paint and refinish furniture, until I get to this step. Maybe I should try the wipe-on. I honestly haven't decided if the protection is adequate.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked over white paint I used the satin on a Pinterest idea to make a laundry counter out of a hollow core door. I painted the door with Glidden satin paint and primer combo, let it dry several days, then used the satin polycrilic. I had read some people had trouble with it yellowing over certain paints, but I had no such trouble. Looks beautiful.
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible, Attracts every little thing in the air My surface was super clean, free of dust, oils, etc. Went to go apply and after a couple of strokes, hair follicles and anything else in the air gets pulled into the finish. So now I have to go sand off the finish. I was using a very good brush that Home Depot Recommended. Its very possible the finish was contaminated.... This item is terrible! Stay away.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turns Yellow I used this to protect a painted laminate countertop, and after just a couple of weeks, the "clear" finish developed a deep yellow tinge, like it's urine-stained. Do NOT use this product unless you're prepared to have all your hard work ruined. My freshly painted countertop no longer matches my bathroom and in fact looks very dirty and old.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not dry clear as advertised. Yellowed wood immediaely Really disappointed and upset with this product. After the 1st application, my table has turned an ugly yellow tint and ruined all my hard work. I purchased this product specifically because it stated it would dry clear and the finish would not yellow over time like traditional polyurethane. That’s correct it won’t yellow overtime because it did it immediately. Do not buy this product.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible this stuff is awful... and a terrible substitute for polyurethane. didnt seem to want to stick to the surface, and did not dry to a high gloss per the label. huge waste of time and money, and ruined my handmade item.
Date published: 2013-12-24
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_, sid_202061476, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 123ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT