Model # 182281

Internet #100591641

Store SO SKU #1000112239

Mohawk Home Frise Shag Starch 3 ft. 4 in. x 5 ft. Area Rug
0086093182281

Discontinued Mohawk Home

Frise Shag Starch 3 ft. 4 in. x 5 ft. Area Rug

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

An ideal choice for your space, the Mohawk Home Frise Shag Starch 3 ft. 4 in. x 5 ft. Area Rug features a contemporary shag design and 100% Olefin construction. Designed for indoor areas, this rug is stain resistant and easy to clean. Regularly vacuum and spot clean the rug for easy maintenance and long life. This beautiful, beige rug.

  • 100% Olefin
  • Rug gripper recommended and extends the life of your rug, prevents shifting and sliding and protects hardwood flooring from scratches
  • Machine Made
  • Naturally stain-resistant and resists fading
  • Rotate your rug periodically; (special care should be taken if the rug has a fringe area, as vacuuming with a beater bar can catch and pull the fringe, causing separation)
  • Create a dramatic room by using this rug as inspiration
  • Please Note: The digital images and product dimensions on our website are as accurate as possible. Due to differences in computer monitors, some rug colors may vary slightly. Lengths and widths may vary from the published dimensions. We do our best to provide you with an exact measurement, but please be advised that some variation exists. Patterns may vary slightly according to shape and size selected.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Is the white rug a true white or an off white?

The online picture color indicates white and I need white, not off white.
Asked by: Anonymous
Definitely an off white/ivory color.
Answered by: Scarlett
Date published: 2015-09-20

is it a yellow cream color

my walls and floor board is white with a dark maple floor wondering if it will match.
Asked by: mare
'Starch' is a vague name, and the pic that HD used is very misleading (it looks light brown in the online swatch, almost like a mushroom shade)... so it helps to have a common language for what cream, ivory, off-white and beige refer to: I define cream as having a very slight peachy undertone, just like cream paperstock does, while ivory paperstock has a yellow undertone, taking its name from actual ivory (as in ivory tusks, piano keys, bones, naturally yellowed teeth, etc.). Off-white and beige tend to lean to brownish or grayish neutrals, and often veer to a somewhat darker tone than cream or ivory rugs do. This rug, to me, is somewhere in a range between ivory and cream in its very slight undertone – bearing in mind that anything other than pure white is going to have *some* color in it – and is nicely light in tone, without actually being white-ish. But if the main concern is whether this comes across as yellow (or peach or brown) the answer is mostly no; it has a generally neutral quality, or else I'd be unable to place my weathered woods and caramel furniture elements on it without it clashing weirdly. The pic below shows it in morning light, just before a dark gray sofa was delivered. Fantastic rug, amazing price. Mine is the 8x10.
Answered by: Mia
Date published: 2016-08-06

Does this rug have a rubber backing?

Asked by: Anonymous
No. It doesn't look or feel like it. It's sturdy, doesn't move around or curl. i own 3
Answered by: LoveRugs
Date published: 2015-09-20

How thick is the shag pile and total rug thickness? Rug pad recommendation?

The description gives 2 different thicknesses - one description says .39 thick and the other says 1.375 thick. What is the correct thickness of the shag pile and the overall rug thickness? Also what type of pad do you suggest using with this rug on a tile floor? Thank you!
Asked by: nkp1
It's about an inch thick. I didn't need a pad since mine is under my sofa.
Answered by: Scarlett
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_, sid_100591641, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Frise Shag Starch 3 ft. 4 in. x 5 ft. Area Rug is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 316.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks nice, but back flakes off badly This rug always looked nice in our house (especially for the price) but from day one the back flaked off heavily. Despite the look for the price I would not recommend this rug because of all the dust the back kicked off. There was a lot of extra vacuuming and I have included a picture of what the floor underneath looked like when we replaced the rug.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than i ever expectecd i purchased two of these carpets to fill my living room area, they look amazing and for the price they are for better than i ever expected. the color is perfect and reminds me of a sort of painters canvas drop cloth color, off white or cream.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rug at a great price! I love frieze carpet - it's a little bit longer than standard carpet (a cross between plush and 1960's sh*g carpet). We needed an area rug to sit on the hardwood floor in the living room. I was a little nervous buying online without being able to see the actual color, but the 20 percent off sale and free shipping made the price only $70, which couldn't be beat!! So I took a chance and ordered it. The rug is a beautiful burgundy wine color. I haven't had any problems with it slipping on the hardwoods either and it's much softer on the feet than the hardwood! Overall it's a great rug if you're looking for a single color rug that's a bit modern & trendy yet some how sophisticated at the same time!
Date published: 2009-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bargain! This was well worth the money. It looks beautiful in our home. The carpet is thicker than I would have thought. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the backing seems to flake off quite a bit.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product looks great and feels great This is the second rug that we have purchased from Home Depot and we are very satisfied with the quality and the look of the rug it is a perfect addition to our home. I would highly recommend purchasing rugs from the store or online, the service is wonderful and the product was easy to install. We ordered online for both rugs and was very pleased at the quality and value.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I am very happy with my new Frise Shag Starch Rug. I bought an 8'x8' square for my 10'x10' small guest room. The color is a nice cream and I feel like it makes the room look clean and modern. (I also purchased an 8'x8' "deluxe" rug pad.) You can't beat the price although truthfully, I would have paid more for a hand-tufted rug, but this one is the one that caught my eye and matched the style of the room the best. I read the reviews before I purchased and even though they were all good, I was still worried it might seem cheap due to the price, but I'm very happy with it. I've vacuumed it and noticed no shedding. Another plus, it was made in the USA, not China. I love my new guest room ... maybe I'll sleep in there instead!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my senior dog My big senior dog has a hard time getting up from the hardwood and tile floors. I was happy to find these rugs to help him. Being rubber backed makes sure they don't slip. I like that the kingsgold color blends nicely with the hardwood floors. My boy seems to understand that lying on the rugs makes his life easier - I just wish he would use them all the time. Since I've purchased 4 3'x5' rugs, the price is affordable. I just ordered 2 2'x3' rugs for the other spots he likes to be.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, adds so much to our home. This rug is pretty fantastic, we live in an apt w/ great acoustics & it really helps to buffer the noise. We got the off white/cream shag rug (does not shed) and have had a couple of spills but the rug cleans up beautifuly w/ a little soap and water, w/o absorbing to much and causing stains. Would definitley recommend this to others looking for an area rug.
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent price, excellent product Our condo is garden level, and we have endured 3 floods in 4 years. We recently installed the "wood look" tile planks throughout our home. Unfortunately, with 3 little girls, that left very little soft surfaces for general tomfoolery and rough housing. We bought this rug to complement our living area and provide a plush place for our girls to play. It is perfect for this-the shag is the perfect length, the rug is soft enough for tumbles, and the color complements our dark floor to perfection. Now just to keep it clean with three, soon to be four, little ones underfoot.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovin it! This rug is great, I am loving it and it's so big! Makes my living room look so put together. Planning on getting another one. And you can't beat the price.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Classy Carpet!! This rug is absolutely beautiful! I have hardwood floors throughout my home, and they just make the rooms feel so cozy. The are contemporary as well as comfortable. Perfect!! IThe light color against my dark floors is a great contrast. I also have lighter wood downstairs, and the look perfect with them as well!! I am very happy with this purchase!!
Date published: 2007-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rug is great value for the price I bought the 3x5 size in starch (very light biege) for a spare bedroom. I like the rubber backing which keeps it in place without having to buy a rug gripper. It's easy to vacuum and fluffs up nicely. For the price this rug is great value and is well made.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT shag rug After reading the reviews I was skeptical on the color but found that it IS a true cream, almost white....not sand or dingy. The pile was much thicker and softer than the last shag I bought elsewhere. My cat barfed on it GRRR and I cleaned it right away by patting after removal and then spraying with cleaner. There was still a darker spot so I was sad but then a few days later it was GONE...and I mean gone gone...so good scotch guarding done as well. GREAT price, HIGHLY recommend, although someone always raises the price with good reviews so I was reluctant to give it.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was pleased with item, not with customer service. For the price, rug is better quality than I was expecting since I could only see an online visual. It is more thick and plush than I thought it would be. However, since this product was only available on-line, the bag was torn on the end and the cream color rug was very dirty. Nothing was done by customer service to fix the issue, offer to order a new one or give a discount. Took me a few times of scrubbing to get it clean.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the job! Purchased this rug as a gift for my college freshman niece to use in her dorm room - just the right size, great neutral color, and a good value for the dollar. Added a warm, homey feel to what always starts out as industrial grade dorm room floors. Living in a different state ordered on line and picked up at the store by school - no problems!
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the money. This is not an expensive rug and is basically like having thin carpet on the floor. I have ordered this several times for my sisters and really needed a new rug for my NYC apt. I love it. It is the perfect size and if it is worn out in two years, who cares? I can buy a new one. It is really excellent value for the money plus shipping was free! You really can't beat that! I Delivered right to my door. did not get a pad to put underneath but the pad was almost the same price as the carpet so why bother?. It might be more luxurious if a carpet pad was underneath it, but I LOVE it and am so glad I bought one for myself. I will buy this brand of rug again and again.
Date published: 2011-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the New Color Was time to replace my dining room carpet and hallway runners. These shag carpets are perfect. I had the cream color ones before but the gold (more peanut butter) were a perfect replacement. They look very rich against the dark hardwood floors.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This rug ties the whole room together We love this rug. It ties the whole room together. Perfect throw rug. Really adds to the warmth and coziness of the room. Love it. Sturdy. Great value.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pop of Color... Great Price The color is rich and the quality of is awesome!! I love my purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shag 8 x 8 rug I love this rug. I had searched all over for a rug this size. I love the color. It is in my dining room and perfect size for table and chairs to sit on with out the chairs being half on and half off the rug. I bought this because there were so many good reviews and I am really happy to contribute another five star review. Will probably buy another one for a bedroom. Free shipping to home was great because it would have been next to impossible for me to get it in and out of my car.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from price and color perfect I had two of the cream colored runners over my Pergo. They cover the smudges and dogs can run in and out of house without sliding. These rugs have a good backing and do not slip. I bought the darker runners for the winter - sort of a carmel brown. Matches the light oak wood floor color perfectly and I'll use them in the winter when the dogs come in with wet feet. Good quality, free shipping and hands down the lowest price I've seen.
Date published: 2011-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Happy I tried this Out! I was unsure of the color. I would love this in white and was worried about how beige this shade of starch might be. (I am someone who does not like beige at all lol, so if you are the same and wonder, read on) I think another reviewer who stated it is a sandy color is spot on. I would say it is a light beach sand color or cooked oatmeal color. A true lightest beige tone. I found it compliments shades of white well adding a bit of warmth against bright white. I bought this for my entrance hallway and hoped the lighter color would brighten up the darker colored wood flooring, and low-light space. When it arrived, I found a folded up (not rolled) rug in a plastic bag and immediately thought, oh noooo, it looks like a cheap bathroom mat! But what a nice surprise it turned out to be!!!! I laid it down, and ran my fingers through the matted shag to rake it up and wow, its so soft! I did note that unlike a thick wool rug, this shag carpet has less fibers overall, so it does nto stand up packed tight and plush like a wool .5 inch rug will - but that is the nature of a shag rug. Its twisted fibers are meant to flop around in different directions as you walk on it, lending more to its textural look. The vacuum brings it all up nicely again without losing many fibers like a wool rug. Also, the latex firm backing is dark brown, so again at first I was concerned I would see it through the Starch colored, more spaced out fibers, but no -- once the shag was raked up and afterwards when, as a shag does, mat down as you walk on it, it hides the backing properly and also provides its own type of plush feel. You would have to get on your hands and knees and seperate the hair to see the backing. The fibers are very soft, cushiony, and provide a cozy, textural, plush look of its own. If you are deciding between colors I would say the crimson adds even a more luxurious rich plush look (I ordered the crimson in a 5 x 8 and wow! does it look amazing!), however this starch color is fantastic for a cottage, beach style home, great for any casual space where you wish to add some cozy factor to aoften a room, or as it did in my more formal hardwood floor nyc apt entrance way, running alongside a 1950's style mod white china cabinet, it brought a feel of luxurious welcoming comfort upon entering the home. But just remember, it will not be densly packed stand up fibers. As a shag, with its longer fibers, it flops over (so yes, more casual in style but depending on your decor can also be casual chic in nature) and offers its own cushioning in doing so. (but not equal to a thick high-pile wool rug). I only wish they offered this in a pure white -- it would be even more of a wow factor! (like the Crimson) This is machine washable if you have a machine that would fit a runner. Lastly I found the runner to be trimmable. Unfortunately It was about 10 inches too long for my space, blocking my front door from opening properly, so I had to cut one end, losing my nice surged finished edging there, however it is the side which hits up to a closet door floor moulding, so looks wise its not noticed, and because the fibers seem to be attached in little sprouts or clusters to the backing, once cut, the fibers along the edge seem to stay intact, (its not weaved into a backing so doesnt keep unraveling if cut) and the shag flopping over actually comes in handy to disguise even more the cut edge. I gave this 5 stars because it was a great buy at this price! and gave me the clean, light, modern, plush look I wanted in a runner, for my front hallway. It would also feel great underfoot in a bathroom or by the side of a bed too! Both my cat and I love it. Its so inviting and fresh looking, I often stop to sit down on it and play with my cat, which is something i never had the urge to do in my slender front hallway before I got this rug, so it is that inviting!
Date published: 2011-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This rug is a very good value and quality for what I needed! I read the reviews prior to purchasing this rug and was a bit hesitant due to negative reviews regarding its quality. I'm very happy to say that I'm totally satisfied with this rug and its quality! In fact, every time I walk on it, I say to myself, "I love this rug!". It feels great under my bare feet, and holds the warmth of my tiled/radiant heated floor. I don't have a pad under it. I got it to add warmth and comfort for my 14-1/2 y.o. dog who sleeps on an elevated bed in front of the rug. When she wakes up and climbs off her bed onto this rug, she happily stands there, does her downward facing dog stretch (lol) and waits for me to go out of the room. Previous to buying this rug, she just left the room and went into the dining room where there's another Home Depot rug. I feel that the quality is exactly if not a bit more worth the price. It's not a tightly woven shag that would be thicker than this one, but if it were, the price would need to be increased by a lot. I like it so much, that I'm going to buy the 2x8 runner for the hallway. I recommended this to friends.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice I bought 2 of these because the price is so great. Purchased 8 ft runners, beige and crismson. They look great. No need for a rug pad. I have 2 large dogs and they run across it all of the time and it stays in place, keeping the dogs from sliding on the hard floors. Nice that you can through it in the washer and hang to dry.
Date published: 2011-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I wanted a long shag rug for under counters in kitchen. This fit the bill - It looks great and I don't have to keep 2-3 small rugs together for the span. It is also washable. I ordered one for under other counters also.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed in this rug After reading many favorable reviews of this rug I chose to buy it online. The size was perfect for the room but the quality was disappointing. The rug looked very cheap and when I started to unroll it the backing shed everywhere. I returned it to the store the same day i received it.
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product was exactly what was expected Looks and feels great. Lightweight yet durable enough to handle moderate to heavy foot traffic.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The color matched the advertised picture. I ordered this rug in different sizes and all of the colors were the same. Very comfortable to walk on and vacuum nicely.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rug. Everyone comments on it. We have these rugs in several sizes and we love them.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rug I just wanted an accent rug to place under my coffee table, this worked perfect! Color is a true ivory and was exactly what I had expected plus excellent value!
Date published: 2011-10-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_314
  • loc_, sid_100591641, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT