Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8 Panels)-GD01 - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

Owens Corning

Model # GD01

Internet # 202257272

Store SKU # 744925

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8 Panels)

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8 Panels)
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$75.95 / each
  • Install in less than 1-hour
  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car un-insulated garage door
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # GD01

Internet # 202257272

Store SKU # 744925

Store SO SKU # 583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is comprised of eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. The kit comes with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. Each kit provides enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 feet wide.  The kit also includes latex gloves and repair tape. Designed for use on uninsulated metal garage doors, each of the 8 panels in the kit are designed to cover up to a 22” by 54” opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The Garage Door Insulation Kit can be installed in less than 1 hour. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions:  2.25in. x 22in. x 54in., 8 pieces (Vinyl Faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of un-insulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • The insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: This product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
54 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
2.375 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
22 in 
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 
66 
Product Length (ft.) 
4.16 ft 
Product Thickness (in.) 
2.375 in 
Details
Faced or Unfaced 
Faced 
Formaldehyde Free 
Yes 
Insulation Application Type 
Garage 
Insulation Type 
Fiberglass 
Product Weight (lb.) 
16 lb 
R Value 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Roll or Batt 
Roll 
Vapor Retardent 
Yes 
Warranty / Certifications
ENERGY STAR Certified 
Yes 
Warranty Information 
N/A 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Retainer clips fail after 3 years This was a wonderful product for the first 2 years. After that, the retainer clips that secure the insulation to the door loosened and began to fall out one by one. The stick pads held, but the plastic must have warped and the two clips no longer clamp together tightly in about half of the clip pairs. Over the next 2 years, fallen clips were lost or run over until now, 4 years out, I have only half of my clips and the insulation falls off when the door opens. I would recommend this if you were to do something fairly simple. After 2 years, push back the insulation at the retainer clip and wrap a wire twist tie around the stem of the clip (with both clips engaged with each other). This will hold the teeth of the two clips together and they will stay together. I'm trying this now, so I don't know if it is a long term solution. December 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy to install The box contains I believe 8 pieces of insulation, each on will need to be cut to fit the squares of the inside of the garage door..... very easy. There are white stick on clips you stick to the inside of the door (two clips be section).... place the piece of insulation that you cut up to it and feel where the clip is at, cut a small slit on the insulation for both clips and push the insulation through........... place two other clips on top of the original ones that you just pushed through. Easy to do, keeps the garage a little warmer (about 15 degrees warmer in the 25 degree weather we have right now in Michigan. One good thing, is it makes the door going up and down so much more quieter. But, to get the whole effect of insulation...... you need walls done, and attic above garage (that would be well over $1000 February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by East to install East to install and great value. Already can feel the difference. April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Garage Door Installation Kit Each piece had to be but and installed in each of the panels. I have a two car garage. Took a few hours over multiple days. The garage operation is quieter and the garage is cooler. I would recommend this product. April 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic! I am not a Do-It-Yourself type of woman, but I completely installed my garage door insulation all by myself. It was extremely easy, and best of all, my garage stays just about the same temperature as the inside of my home. What a difference this made. This is a very easy product to install. I wish I had done this sooner. December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best purchase I've made in years This kit is very user friendly and does an amazing job. Not only with the insulating factor but also noise reduction. Before, I had a 20 degree fluctuation in temperature and instantly cut it in half. Barely have a 10 degree fluctuation now. Well worth the money and time. Bought a total of 3 kits to do a double car garage door and a single garage door. Would also recommend duct taping all the edges for an even better seal. Used white scotch duct tape and did the job well and looks great. March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good purchase for the money It took a little while to figure out the best way to install the panels. The individual panels on my door were half the width of the insulation so I had to cut each one. I got a system down by putting locking tabs on each panel and cutting a hole in the insulation to push the other tab through securing the panels. Since it has been so hot in Florida, I'm not sure how well the panels work. I'm sure in a few weeks I will have a better idea. The only thing I'm not pleased with is that the panels don't stay tight against the metal side brackets. As it gets cooler they may contract some and stay in better. It was not a difficult job for a female senior citizen. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install I like the product. Easy to install on my 8 x 9 garage door without cutting. My only advise is wait till warm weather before installing. The double sided tape won't adhere in the cold. I would have given a five star rating if the instructions advised mounting in warm weather. January 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Went up quick, very good potential. I literally just installed this. Cuts like normal insulation - so have a hard surface, straight edge, and sharp knife. I'm usually more inclined to do things overkill, so instead of trusting just the double sided tape, I put everything up, then added spray adhesive behind everything. Only spraying half a sheet at a time. I really doubt that will ever move. November 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install i installed 2 of these kits on my 18' wide garage door! My door has 8 windows in it. I bought a Gila Mirror window tint kit and covered windows prior to insulating. Insulation is helping keep my wood shop temperature and humidity in control. April 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works like a champ! It does what it should and it’s easy to install. Great product! January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made a world of difference I settled on the Corning garage door insulation kit because of the higher insulation value (R8) compared to other rigid insulation solutions that only achieved R4. This kit consists of eight fiberglass insulation panels with plastic facing on one side and fittings to hold them in place. To insulate all the panels in my three garage doors (10 panels each) required four kits. The panels are cut to size using a razor knife (wear the gloves provided with the kit). All the required materials are included: insulation, fittings & gloves. The only tools required were a straight edge, tape measure, sharpie, and razor knife. Plenty of extra fittings and gloves were included. My Air Conditioning/Heater contractor did the installation--they hadn't installed this solution before and it was an eye-opener for them. Prior to doing the installation, they said that it would only take about an hour to perform the installation on my three garage doors. Five hours later the job was done. I'm glad I had a tradesman do the work, it came out better with less waste than if I had done the job myself. The cooling effect on my Eastward facing garage doors is outstanding and is definitely reducing my electricity bill while keeping my garage from being a sauna whenever the temperature got above 80 degrees. Unexpected Pro: Reduces street noise. Unexpected Con: Added weight taxes my garage door opener. April 7, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great product but does not address doors with windows Just picked up three kits and installed one on the single garage door it was a very easy installation until I got to the upper panel which has glass windows I had to cut it down to 4 inches wide on the top and bottom and have to put white duct tape to tape it to the window frame, there was no flange to tuck it into. The same problem happened on the center joist there is a flange on one side the other was flush so another duct tape job I think it would have been nice to throw in a roll of vinyl tape not the 10 inch piece they give you for repairs, other than that it really is a great product September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product I've had this up for 3 mos and it's been great, so far. No problems putting it up, but the gloves are too small and it made for an itchy job. March 29, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Works Well for Me Bought a house with a climate controlled detached garage with an uninsulated door....obviously not a real good idea. This product fixed that problem. Obviously cuts down on heat transmission into the building from the sun, and in the winter one load of wood through the woodstove keeps the garage warm for hours. Certainly alot cheaper than replaceing a non-insulated door with an insulated one. Make sure to use rubbing alcohol or some other solvent to clean the inside of the door prior to attached the sticky side of the clips or else they won't stick. I used metal tape to secure the edges of the insulation to the edges of the door. Helps keep things neat. It will fall down if you cycle the door alot. July 10, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Garage Door Insulation Kit The panels were easy to trim and install. Hopefully the double sided tape that us used to attach the hold-down clips to the metal door will prove to be long lasting. The improvement in terms of temperature and noise reduction in the garage is as expected. March 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and works great Relatively easy to install and definitely helped keep my garage warmer when I'm heating it. Also, the doors are more quiet when opening and closing. January 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product for a basic metal door I had a basic metal door which attracted a lot of heat from the sun baking on it all day. While only 70-80 degrees outside, the garage was at least 10-15 degress warmer and you could just feel the heat as you walked closer to the door from the inside. We got this because our dog uses the garage as her room and we keep her in there when we leave. The difference is night and day. I decided to get a roll of white masking tape and tape all the edges to the door and any seems. This was because all the movement of the door would create fiberglass particles floating in the air which you could see from the sunlight. Now it is completely sealed, no more fiberglass specs floating, and it matches perfectly with the white facing of the insulation and is much more secure than just using the clips provided. I absolutely recommend doing this when installing this product, yes it doubles the install time, but still a 2 car garage door using 2 of these boxes will take less than 2 hours and it is worth it if your door faces the sun. July 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Money well spent. I had to cut to fit my doors because I have a six panel door. But other than that, it was an easy install. I do wish it had more attachments for my project. January 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product, works great I bought two kits for my two car garage and all went as planned according to instructions. It would have gone even quicker had I done all my cuts first, but still took less than two hours. My garage is much less cold and since two bedrooms sit directly above they are warmer as well. The even makes less noise opening and closing. Really happy about this purchase. The only mod I made was to buy some matching white duct tape. Some of the edges weren't able to be tucked in because of the way my garage is made. When the garage door is up the insulation would show from gravity pulling it down. A couple strips of the tape and it all looks great. NOTE: if you have an automatic garage door opener make sure and get the spring adjusted after installation. As my door is for a two car garage adding the insulation doubled the weight of the door. December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy installation The product was easy to install, the insulation comes in pre-cut sheets that conveniently were the exact dimensions required for my garage door panels. One of my panels had a tear in the vinyl backing on opening but the kit comes with a segment of repair tape. Overall happy with the product. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and worth it 2.5 hours, wear gloves and face mask. My garage ceiling is insulated, and insulating the door lowered the temp by 15 degrees in the garage, even though the walls are not insulated. Dramatically reduced the street noise, more weight on the door. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Owens corning Great product stopped the cold very well however I went on a 3 hour round trip to 2 different Home Depots to find out that for some reason it's only available online which is sort of a hassle . I needed it that day although when I ordered it, it showed up in 2 days March 11, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home Depot had what I needed, the other guy didn't. An great product for what I needed. Your local store had what I needed available and in stock. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DIY Insulation in a box! It is seriously easy to put up in an 1-2 hour. Looking forward to the heating/cooling savings! December 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy install The product was easy to install . I did my double garage door in about 2 hours. It seems to be making a significant difference in retaining heat during cold weather and repelling heat in hot weather. The extra weight required me to get the door springs tightened to suspend the doors weight and not over tax the electric opener. March 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another buffer of insulation Installed this product on a new non-insulated garage door. Installs easily and quickly. Even had latex gloves to use while handling the insulation material. Garage is definitely warmer and expect summer time to be cooler. It has helped control heating costs. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Garage door insulation Very easy to understand and install. Extremely useful product. Even quiets the opening and closing of the garage door. Would highly recommend this to anyone. December 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The right option Much better than having Styrofoam panels. Garage already just feels more cozy. I did have to cut the width by about 6 inches, but I just used household scissors so it wasn't a great line. Luckily most of the imperfections in cutting gets tucked into the door panel so it doesn't show, but a good straight edge and box cutter or something would have felt like a better job. Superior "R" rating compared to the competition. Nice to have the vinyl outside coating to not worry about the kids brushing up against fiberglass too much. Though, it does look 'pillowy' when installed and my boy wants to lay on it:). The plastic clips didn't really seem to fit together snugly with a nice 'click' sound, but they seem to be staying ok so far. Neighbor was a construction project manager and had an extra wall heater and put it in my garage and boy, the garage keeps the heat in WELL and could be used as a 'man cave' or great place to work on your vehicle. Before installing the insulation, I figured that the extra weight, and being over 10 years old, I thought I would have to upgrade my Extension Springs on the garage doors anyway because they had been acting up and making noises, I bought a set of 90lb replacement springs here. When I installed them, and disconnected the opener, the door dropped fast and nearly caused some damage. The originals that I removed were (light blue) 90lb springs as well. I did weigh my doors with the opener disconnected and it was well under 90lbs. So, I bought a set of 110lb springs (from the other box store) and installed them because I didn't trust the makers of the first 90lb set I tried and thought I might have to also upgrade the weight. Well, the 110lb springs kind of pull the door up a bit, but not too substantially so I'll keep them, but word of note, the other store springs are much better and I'm sure a 100lb or even 90lb springs would have sufficed and done fine. So, if your door doesn't fall when you disconnect your opener, I don't think you have to worry to much about the added weight from the insulation from this product. But, if you do upgrade your springs at the same time, keep in mind that where you get the springs, may have different results. Nice going to the garage for something in the garage fridge and not feeling cold. (even without the heater on it's ok). December 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy I bought 2 of these and made sure they were cut to the right size before I installed them. The ends keep falling out when the door is open. I usually have to push several ends in a couple of times a week. February 16, 2015
  • 2015-05-04T11:10:25.418-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.