Model # GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
0047563700275

Owens Corning

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car uninsulated garage door
  • Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
$89.95 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8-pieces (vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: this product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

24 Questions70 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
November 21, 2014
If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Las Vegas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2016
Answer: 
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now Read More
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now IT wants to slam to the ground under all the added weight!!!! I'm not happy. THE WEIGHT WILL DESTROY your garage door motor over time ! It MUST be re adjusted by a professional. Read Less
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes fiberglass is much heavier than the Reach Barrier Kit
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Orange County, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
I have a 2 car garage with a metal roll up door and a very weak 1/3 hp motor and the addition of the insulation doesn't seem to have affected the performance of the opener other than it maybe takes a couple seconds longer to open the door.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
February 10, 2015
Answer: 
I have noticed that it slowed down the garage door going up quite a bit. I don't know if it is doing any harm to it, just has made it heavier.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
I doubled the weight of my two car garage door. I went on Groupon and got a good price on a tune up to adjust the spring.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Northern Virginia
Read all my Q&A
December 14, 2014
Answer: 
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade Read More
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade my garage extension springs at all (even though I did, to 110 lbs, now my garage springs up when I disengage the opener). So, I don't think you have to worry too much about the added weight, unless, when you currently disengage your opener your door closes. Where, in that case, I'd probably to to an extra 10-20lb spring. I went from a 90lb to 110lb spring which was a little overkill on a typical post-1995 home, thin metal door. Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

December 2, 2014
Answer: 
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to Read More
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to purchasing the insulation product, in order to see if they have any information on this subject. Thank you for your inquiry. Read Less
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
The SunshineState
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
No issues with weight and 2 kits were used on our 2 car garage door.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and
Read More
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and stop it an any point along the track and let it hang there. Many garage doors aren't adjusted properly to begin with and already need the spring tightened.
You can find garage door tune-up services for about $75-$150 (I've seen coupons for it as low as $20). This should include spring tensioning, but also track adjustment and roller grease. It's possible you may need to get your springs replaced though, so don't be surprised if they tell you to do this. Depending on the age of your springs, they may already be worn out. Add an extra $100-$150 if this is the case.
Read Less
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
 
9 answers

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
bradenton fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 4, 2016
Answer: 
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped Read More
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped insertion adds. The 4th side is on the right.
Thanks Stew. You solved a big problem for me.
Read Less
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
RSM, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 2, 2016
Answer: 
Contact the company. They will send extra out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NY
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
I've been waiting for over a month to get more clips and adhesive patches from Owens Corning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
My open box was void of fasteners. One call to Owens-Corning and they sent me a full set that arrived in about 3 days. Customer rep said they are still looking at getting them into the stores as extras or replacements for hose who may need them for whatever situation that comes up.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Loomis, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2015
Answer: 
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and
Read More
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and droop. Not acceptable. So, I came up with my own solution. I hope it will help you, and it was cheap, max of $10. I went back to Home Depot and bought L shaped flashing in 10' lengths. I found it with the roofing stuff, as its actual manufactured use is as a drip roof edge flashing. Using tin snips, I cut them into 20" segments, and tucked them into the top and bottom recesses. Thus, this created an additional vertical cavity to tuck in the insulation. I think that the tension of the insulation would most likely hold it in place, however, I secured it with some 1/2" self tapping sheet metal screws. Not necessary, but I liked it better. I also picked up a $0.97 can of white spray paint to match (sort of) the interior of the door.
Regards,
BDC6868
Read Less
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
san diego, ca.
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2014
Answer: 
If you contact Owens-Corning they can supply you with extra holders. You can also use double stick tape on the backing.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dunwoody, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Answer: 
call the manufacturer at 1-800-Get-Pink and ask for them,
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Davenport fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hi
I had sufficient fasteners to complete the job. I bought 9 boxes to complete 3 installs on 3 doors.
I did find you need to measure carefully where the insulation needs to go and stick the fasteners so that it supports the insulation, which in my case it did perfectly.
I would assume that HomeDepot could source some extra fasteners if not contact the manufacturer.
sorry I cant help more
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
burnsville, minnesota.
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2014
is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Just buy multiple kits
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
IMO, I just pulled out the fiberglass yesterday due to it holding rodents and bough the reach barrier, no fiberglass, less cost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2016
Answer: 
This kit will work great for that door. You'll just need two of them to cover the entire door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Irving, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 27, 2015
Answer: 
I only found the 8-panel kit at my Home Depot ($75). I bought 2 kits for my 7x16 door, and it worked well. I had to trim each panel a bit but there wasn't that much waste. And, I actually had a use for the cut pieces...
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Dublin Oho
Read all my Q&A
February 16, 2015
Answer: 
Buy 2
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

November 4, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your inquiry. We currently only have one kit available for a . 9 ft. single-car un-insulated garage door. Thank you.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
 
4 answers

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Sarasota, Fl
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
These come in precut sizes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
As long as the individual panels fit you just have to purchase additional kits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pensacola, fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
You cut it to fit, consider the weight to the door, adjusting the spring is not the best option for safety and the life of your door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Each kit provides enough material to
insulate a single car, garage door
up to 9 feet wide.
The Garage Door Insulation Kit
is designed for use on uninsulated
metal garage doors. Each of the 8
panels in the kit are designed to
cover up to a 22” by 54” opening
and fi t neatly into the exposed
channel of the door.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:23:23.136-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels) is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product,Great Value I have used Owens Corning insulation for many years and on many projects. You could not ask for a better product, or a better price at Home Depot.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Garage Door Installation Kit Each piece had to be but and installed in each of the panels. I have a two car garage. Took a few hours over multiple days. The garage operation is quieter and the garage is cooler. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit pricey, but worth it. My wife picked it out because our in-laws have it and recommended it. Our garage door is the type this insulation is specifically made for, no cutting required. Your garage door may require doing some cutting to fit. Know that ahead of time. My wife installed it while I was at work. She had watched the video that I found on YouTube, found by searching for "garage door insulation Owings Corning". It took her longer than the average, more like 2-1/2 hours, though it was not difficult, she says. We had purchased a roll of white duct tape for securing some of the edges, recommended by some of the reviews. Wear the gloves included in the box. Also, open the box before you take it home and make sure everything is there (this was recommended by one review, and we did, and everything was there in the box when we picked it up). The result? It works very well. We heat with a wood stove which is in the garage, and we can tell a big difference in the winter. It's a light color and this makes the garage brighter. It is fairly expensive and you could probably jerry-rig something which would work as well (you can find those solutions on You Tube as well), but the extra cost for the convenience is worth it, we feel.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Design/Quality Control Issues Bought three to insulate a double car and single car garage doors. Had to go to two Home Depot stores to find. And then back to the second to return, and then to a third to replace an incomplete kit. Simple, easy to install. Poor quality control with kit contents. Only one kit had the required tape for the double car door. Worse, one kit did not contain the adhesive pads required to fasten the insultation to the door. Had to return the third box, and then go to another store to obtain a replacement. All three stores I went to had these kits in different locations. Had to find and ask store personnel in each where they were located. With better quality control ensuring all of the required parts, this would be an excellent product.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and worth it 2.5 hours, wear gloves and face mask. My garage ceiling is insulated, and insulating the door lowered the temp by 15 degrees in the garage, even though the walls are not insulated. Dramatically reduced the street noise, more weight on the door.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, works great I bought two kits for my two car garage and all went as planned according to instructions. It would have gone even quicker had I done all my cuts first, but still took less than two hours. My garage is much less cold and since two bedrooms sit directly above they are warmer as well. The even makes less noise opening and closing. Really happy about this purchase. The only mod I made was to buy some matching white duct tape. Some of the edges weren't able to be tucked in because of the way my garage is made. When the garage door is up the insulation would show from gravity pulling it down. A couple strips of the tape and it all looks great. NOTE: if you have an automatic garage door opener make sure and get the spring adjusted after installation. As my door is for a two car garage adding the insulation doubled the weight of the door.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Reasonable to install Needed a little reinforcement with some white duct tape Door opens/closes quieter Garage temperatures better maintained Pricey for what you get
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product It works good and it was easy to install. I did used some adhesives to make sure it stay up.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessary if you live in a hot a sunny climate. The product was wasy to install and seems already to be reducing the temperature in the garage. A surprise benefit was the significant noise reduction while raising and lowering the door. Because we are in Florida, we have a lot of extra bracing on our garage door which meant we had to cut half the sections in half. We have a two car garage (single door) so we needed two kits with 16 pieces of insulation. 8 of the sections we placed as is. 8 of the panels had to be cut in half to fit the sections which were divided due to hurricane bracing. I wouldn't have wanted to cut all the pieces to size and I like having the vinyl on the facing side. Obviously, I thought the product was worth the price charged because I bought it but the manufacturer is making a killing on this product The cat loves sleeping on my car so I'm sure she will be pleased we have put up the insulation!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product and easy installation this product was very easy to install and it looks good. Used a heat gun to warm the door so adhesive pads would stick better. I'm concerned about how well the ends will stay in place, I'm thinking of adding metal strips at ends for added security. Made my door sound quiter and has greatly reduced the echo element.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I am not a Do-It-Yourself type of woman, but I completely installed my garage door insulation all by myself. It was extremely easy, and best of all, my garage stays just about the same temperature as the inside of my home. What a difference this made. This is a very easy product to install. I wish I had done this sooner.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty good This was pretty simple to install. I have a two car garage so I bought two kits. It was not enough for all panels though, the bottom row of the garage door was not able to be done. It does make a temperature difference.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and great value I purchased this for my Florida garage. Before installing this, my garage would get extremely hot in the summer and extremely cold in the winter. Since installing this on my hurricane garage door, the temperatures are more moderate and I can actually work in the garage without the need to open the garage door. Due to the hurricane braces on the door, I didn't use the clips and have had no problems at all. I can see the clips being necessary for flat garage doors where there is nothing to tuck the insulation in.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install I like the product. Easy to install on my 8 x 9 garage door without cutting. My only advise is wait till warm weather before installing. The double sided tape won't adhere in the cold. I would have given a five star rating if the instructions advised mounting in warm weather.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not happy Purchased 2 boxes of this insulation for our two-car garage door. Installation was relatively easy. Cutting it was a bit tricky due to it's thickness, which is a plus. On 3 of 4 sides of each panel of our garage door, there was a little lip where the insulation could be tucked behind. On the 4th side there was nothing to hold it in. The only way provided in the box to secure the insulation is 2 circular tabs (per panel) that snap together to hold it in place. Definitely not enough to secure the insulation properly and one side of the panel keeps coming out of place, often triggering the safety feature on our garage door opener so that our garage won't shut. We often have to get out of the car to fix the issue so the door will close. Super annoying. The insulation has been effective as far as preventing extreme temps in our garage, but I wouldn't buy it again. Getting ready to spend more money on a better product, that actually costs less!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big impact from something so simple. Had to buy two of these kits for our 2-car garage door. The company has an installation video on Youtube, but the actual process of installing is simple enough to figure out on your own. A tip for those looking to install: when you measure the panels to cut the roll, add an additional 1.5IN - 2IN to the measurement. This will ensure it is a snug fit, and helps if you messed up the cut and the edge isn't exactly straight ;) . It took me about 3 hours to finish installing. After it was installed I noticed an immediate change in ambient temperature in the garage. Outside temp with heat index was 101F, but inside the garage was reading 85F. Prior to the insulation, the garage was unbearable to be in without having the door open. The white vinyl makes the garage brighter when the door is down and the light is on, but it is not a very big difference. The most surprising thing was the reduction in noise. Outside noises are much quieter and there is less echo overall. The noise of the garage door as it opens and closes is *significantly* less. I'm most happy about the effect this has had on the temperature of the rest of the house. Our garage is built into the house (that is, it's not a separate structure) so most rooms border the garage in some way. One bedroom and most of the loft , which are directly above the garage, are noticeably cooler and the AC doesn't run as nearly as often upstairs. With the AC turned off, the ambient temperature downstairs is a full 2 degrees cooler than it was prior to installation. All this, just from insulating the garage door! Why isn't this a standard practice with new homes?! As far as home efficiency upgrades go, this is probably one of the easiest and most cost-effective. More importantly, the reward is immediate and noticeable. There are some cheaper kits available (the other one I saw was made with hard foam) which will probably work just as well, but this is a very good product even if it is a little more expensive.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Product EVER The product started to sag when the door was up--tried to Tape edge where there was no overlap on my door. The heat prevented the tape from staying and it began to sag badly. Called customer service for Owens-Corning and they said they would send me additional clips to hold in place. That was over a month ago--no clips--there are not enough clips to hold it in place if your door has no edge to tuck behind. I am removing this product from my door today!!!!
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy & Quick Installation It took only 30 minutes per door panel to install 3 kits. Very easy instructions and on line video make it quick. Suggest cutting all lengths before you start. Only issue was a I had a kit that was missing the double sided adhesives so had to go back to Home Depot and they replaced box quickly. Hopefully will help tile floor above garage to not be as cold during the winter.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a champ! It does what it should and it’s easy to install. Great product!
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy install Product very easy to work with and install. Insulated my three car garage in two hours. Worth the price for sure.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install But read all the instructions. The sticky patches that go on the door are for the plastic tabs that go on before the insulation. Then the other tab connects through the insulation. Easy, but we got ahead of ourselves.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went up quick, very good potential. I literally just installed this. Cuts like normal insulation - so have a hard surface, straight edge, and sharp knife. I'm usually more inclined to do things overkill, so instead of trusting just the double sided tape, I put everything up, then added spray adhesive behind everything. Only spraying half a sheet at a time. I really doubt that will ever move.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy installation The product was easy to install, the insulation comes in pre-cut sheets that conveniently were the exact dimensions required for my garage door panels. One of my panels had a tear in the vinyl backing on opening but the kit comes with a segment of repair tape. Overall happy with the product.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insulation kit for your garage doors!! This insulation for your garage kit from Owens Corning is a breeze to install. The insulation panels are pre-cut so it makes installation go by pretty quick. There is some trimming required depending on the dimensions of the panels of your garage door. The insulation panels are held in place with these plastic pins that you apply to your garage door panels. You place 2 pins equidistant apart from each other. You place your insulation panel onto the garage door panel. You will need some scissors or a utility knife to cut a slit for the pin to come through the panel. There is a corresponding pin that you slide onto it to secure the panel to the door. I installed this kit on a single garage door. It took me about 45 minutes because I wanted the fit to be exact. So I trimmed the panels to fit on my garage door. This will make the interior of the door look better. I also recommend buying aluminum foil tape that is used to tape HVAC ducts. Some of the panels may sag away from the door. Just tape those panels to the aluminum frame of your garage door. I would definitely buy this product again!!
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Money well spent. I had to cut to fit my doors because I have a six panel door. But other than that, it was an easy install. I do wish it had more attachments for my project.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Home Depot had what I needed, the other guy didn't. An great product for what I needed. Your local store had what I needed available and in stock.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right option Much better than having Styrofoam panels. Garage already just feels more cozy. I did have to cut the width by about 6 inches, but I just used household scissors so it wasn't a great line. Luckily most of the imperfections in cutting gets tucked into the door panel so it doesn't show, but a good straight edge and box cutter or something would have felt like a better job. Superior "R" rating compared to the competition. Nice to have the vinyl outside coating to not worry about the kids brushing up against fiberglass too much. Though, it does look 'pillowy' when installed and my boy wants to lay on it:). The plastic clips didn't really seem to fit together snugly with a nice 'click' sound, but they seem to be staying ok so far. Neighbor was a construction project manager and had an extra wall heater and put it in my garage and boy, the garage keeps the heat in WELL and could be used as a 'man cave' or great place to work on your vehicle. Before installing the insulation, I figured that the extra weight, and being over 10 years old, I thought I would have to upgrade my Extension Springs on the garage doors anyway because they had been acting up and making noises, I bought a set of 90lb replacement springs here. When I installed them, and disconnected the opener, the door dropped fast and nearly caused some damage. The originals that I removed were (light blue) 90lb springs as well. I did weigh my doors with the opener disconnected and it was well under 90lbs. So, I bought a set of 110lb springs (from the other box store) and installed them because I didn't trust the makers of the first 90lb set I tried and thought I might have to also upgrade the weight. Well, the 110lb springs kind of pull the door up a bit, but not too substantially so I'll keep them, but word of note, the other store springs are much better and I'm sure a 100lb or even 90lb springs would have sufficed and done fine. So, if your door doesn't fall when you disconnect your opener, I don't think you have to worry to much about the added weight from the insulation from this product. But, if you do upgrade your springs at the same time, keep in mind that where you get the springs, may have different results. Nice going to the garage for something in the garage fridge and not feeling cold. (even without the heater on it's ok).
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive and easy to install. This was very easy to install and I have noticed a lower noise level from the street outside and also a warmer temperature in the garage during cold weather.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As simple as it gets Bought this kit after looking at several other options and I'm very pleased with the decision. Install took about 30 minutes and could not be any easier. Temperature in garage already seems cooler and the noise from the door being opened and closed is noticeably less. Very curious to see how this will play out when the cold weather comes back around. Although I'm pleased with this purchase, it seems to be a bit pricey for the actual item itself, even with the Home Depot Military discount (thank you). Overall, amounts to what is slightly more than a $1 per square foot of insulation. In comparison, I re-insulated my garage with R-30 rolls and R-13 batts for less than this kit cost. Whatever keeps the garage and bedroom above it comfortable is worth the investment and it looks pretty darn cool as well. In the end, I would recommend this kit.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garage problems & solutions I was hesitant on the cost but other products I researched don't deliver a high enough R-value. I had problems and needed solutions: Problem 1 - room above garage was terribly hot. Solution 1 - prevent heat from collecting and rising through garage. Problem 2 - garage (my shop) too hot to work in. Solution 2 - keep it cooler. Problem 3 - Noise reduction (I didn't even know this was a problem until I had this product installed). Solution 3 - killed the noisy, squeaky garage door sounds. This kit reduced my garage temp about 12-15 degrees. My take is that it deadened the sun's heat as it radiated through my metal door. It also helped drop the temp of my master bedroom (above garage) by about 4 degrees! Huge win for night time comfort! Unexpectedly my wife and I noticed that when the other person came home through the garage we'd scare each other because we could no longer hear the garage door opening from the kitchen or our bedroom...this was actually kind of hilarious at times :) A bit costly, need two kits for a double-metal door. Took 2-3 hours. Less than paying for an insulated garage door from a manufacturer though and a pretty good after-market solution to the issues we had in our garage.
Date published: 2014-07-17
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_107
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT