Model # GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
0047563700275

Owens Corning

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car uninsulated garage door
  • Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
$89.95 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8 pieces (Vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: This product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • The right insulation can save on energy and heating and cooling bills. Check out our Buying Guide for helpful tips.
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Buying guide and insulation calculator:

    insulation buying guide
    Insulation calculator button

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
Asked by: kevin
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now IT wants to slam to the ground under all the added weight!!!! I'm not happy. THE WEIGHT WILL DESTROY your garage door motor over time ! It MUST be re adjusted by a professional.
Answered by: AnnShamrock
Date published: 2017-01-02

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

Asked by: stew
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
Answered by: Vern
Date published: 2016-10-11

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
Asked by: superdave
Just buy multiple kits
Answered by: FLLDIVER
Date published: 2016-08-04

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

Asked by: DK1117
These come in precut sizes
Answered by: FLLDIVER
Date published: 2016-08-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_29
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 51ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels) is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 109.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best purchase I've made in years This kit is very user friendly and does an amazing job. Not only with the insulating factor but also noise reduction. Before, I had a 20 degree fluctuation in temperature and instantly cut it in half. Barely have a 10 degree fluctuation now. Well worth the money and time. Bought a total of 3 kits to do a double car garage door and a single garage door. Would also recommend duct taping all the edges for an even better seal. Used white scotch duct tape and did the job well and looks great.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product,Great Value I have used Owens Corning insulation for many years and on many projects. You could not ask for a better product, or a better price at Home Depot.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Garage Door Installation Kit Each piece had to be but and installed in each of the panels. I have a two car garage. Took a few hours over multiple days. The garage operation is quieter and the garage is cooler. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit pricey, but worth it. My wife picked it out because our in-laws have it and recommended it. Our garage door is the type this insulation is specifically made for, no cutting required. Your garage door may require doing some cutting to fit. Know that ahead of time. My wife installed it while I was at work. She had watched the video that I found on YouTube, found by searching for "garage door insulation Owings Corning". It took her longer than the average, more like 2-1/2 hours, though it was not difficult, she says. We had purchased a roll of white duct tape for securing some of the edges, recommended by some of the reviews. Wear the gloves included in the box. Also, open the box before you take it home and make sure everything is there (this was recommended by one review, and we did, and everything was there in the box when we picked it up). The result? It works very well. We heat with a wood stove which is in the garage, and we can tell a big difference in the winter. It's a light color and this makes the garage brighter. It is fairly expensive and you could probably jerry-rig something which would work as well (you can find those solutions on You Tube as well), but the extra cost for the convenience is worth it, we feel.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product Design/Quality Control Issues Bought three to insulate a double car and single car garage doors. Had to go to two Home Depot stores to find. And then back to the second to return, and then to a third to replace an incomplete kit. Simple, easy to install. Poor quality control with kit contents. Only one kit had the required tape for the double car door. Worse, one kit did not contain the adhesive pads required to fasten the insultation to the door. Had to return the third box, and then go to another store to obtain a replacement. All three stores I went to had these kits in different locations. Had to find and ask store personnel in each where they were located. With better quality control ensuring all of the required parts, this would be an excellent product.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and worth it 2.5 hours, wear gloves and face mask. My garage ceiling is insulated, and insulating the door lowered the temp by 15 degrees in the garage, even though the walls are not insulated. Dramatically reduced the street noise, more weight on the door.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, works great I bought two kits for my two car garage and all went as planned according to instructions. It would have gone even quicker had I done all my cuts first, but still took less than two hours. My garage is much less cold and since two bedrooms sit directly above they are warmer as well. The even makes less noise opening and closing. Really happy about this purchase. The only mod I made was to buy some matching white duct tape. Some of the edges weren't able to be tucked in because of the way my garage is made. When the garage door is up the insulation would show from gravity pulling it down. A couple strips of the tape and it all looks great. NOTE: if you have an automatic garage door opener make sure and get the spring adjusted after installation. As my door is for a two car garage adding the insulation doubled the weight of the door.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Reasonable to install Needed a little reinforcement with some white duct tape Door opens/closes quieter Garage temperatures better maintained Pricey for what you get
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product It works good and it was easy to install. I did used some adhesives to make sure it stay up.
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessary if you live in a hot a sunny climate. The product was wasy to install and seems already to be reducing the temperature in the garage. A surprise benefit was the significant noise reduction while raising and lowering the door. Because we are in Florida, we have a lot of extra bracing on our garage door which meant we had to cut half the sections in half. We have a two car garage (single door) so we needed two kits with 16 pieces of insulation. 8 of the sections we placed as is. 8 of the panels had to be cut in half to fit the sections which were divided due to hurricane bracing. I wouldn't have wanted to cut all the pieces to size and I like having the vinyl on the facing side. Obviously, I thought the product was worth the price charged because I bought it but the manufacturer is making a killing on this product The cat loves sleeping on my car so I'm sure she will be pleased we have put up the insulation!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product and easy installation this product was very easy to install and it looks good. Used a heat gun to warm the door so adhesive pads would stick better. I'm concerned about how well the ends will stay in place, I'm thinking of adding metal strips at ends for added security. Made my door sound quiter and has greatly reduced the echo element.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I am not a Do-It-Yourself type of woman, but I completely installed my garage door insulation all by myself. It was extremely easy, and best of all, my garage stays just about the same temperature as the inside of my home. What a difference this made. This is a very easy product to install. I wish I had done this sooner.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty good This was pretty simple to install. I have a two car garage so I bought two kits. It was not enough for all panels though, the bottom row of the garage door was not able to be done. It does make a temperature difference.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and great value I purchased this for my Florida garage. Before installing this, my garage would get extremely hot in the summer and extremely cold in the winter. Since installing this on my hurricane garage door, the temperatures are more moderate and I can actually work in the garage without the need to open the garage door. Due to the hurricane braces on the door, I didn't use the clips and have had no problems at all. I can see the clips being necessary for flat garage doors where there is nothing to tuck the insulation in.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not happy Purchased 2 boxes of this insulation for our two-car garage door. Installation was relatively easy. Cutting it was a bit tricky due to it's thickness, which is a plus. On 3 of 4 sides of each panel of our garage door, there was a little lip where the insulation could be tucked behind. On the 4th side there was nothing to hold it in. The only way provided in the box to secure the insulation is 2 circular tabs (per panel) that snap together to hold it in place. Definitely not enough to secure the insulation properly and one side of the panel keeps coming out of place, often triggering the safety feature on our garage door opener so that our garage won't shut. We often have to get out of the car to fix the issue so the door will close. Super annoying. The insulation has been effective as far as preventing extreme temps in our garage, but I wouldn't buy it again. Getting ready to spend more money on a better product, that actually costs less!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big impact from something so simple. Had to buy two of these kits for our 2-car garage door. The company has an installation video on Youtube, but the actual process of installing is simple enough to figure out on your own. A tip for those looking to install: when you measure the panels to cut the roll, add an additional 1.5IN - 2IN to the measurement. This will ensure it is a snug fit, and helps if you messed up the cut and the edge isn't exactly straight ;) . It took me about 3 hours to finish installing. After it was installed I noticed an immediate change in ambient temperature in the garage. Outside temp with heat index was 101F, but inside the garage was reading 85F. Prior to the insulation, the garage was unbearable to be in without having the door open. The white vinyl makes the garage brighter when the door is down and the light is on, but it is not a very big difference. The most surprising thing was the reduction in noise. Outside noises are much quieter and there is less echo overall. The noise of the garage door as it opens and closes is *significantly* less. I'm most happy about the effect this has had on the temperature of the rest of the house. Our garage is built into the house (that is, it's not a separate structure) so most rooms border the garage in some way. One bedroom and most of the loft , which are directly above the garage, are noticeably cooler and the AC doesn't run as nearly as often upstairs. With the AC turned off, the ambient temperature downstairs is a full 2 degrees cooler than it was prior to installation. All this, just from insulating the garage door! Why isn't this a standard practice with new homes?! As far as home efficiency upgrades go, this is probably one of the easiest and most cost-effective. More importantly, the reward is immediate and noticeable. There are some cheaper kits available (the other one I saw was made with hard foam) which will probably work just as well, but this is a very good product even if it is a little more expensive.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Product EVER The product started to sag when the door was up--tried to Tape edge where there was no overlap on my door. The heat prevented the tape from staying and it began to sag badly. Called customer service for Owens-Corning and they said they would send me additional clips to hold in place. That was over a month ago--no clips--there are not enough clips to hold it in place if your door has no edge to tuck behind. I am removing this product from my door today!!!!
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy & Quick Installation It took only 30 minutes per door panel to install 3 kits. Very easy instructions and on line video make it quick. Suggest cutting all lengths before you start. Only issue was a I had a kit that was missing the double sided adhesives so had to go back to Home Depot and they replaced box quickly. Hopefully will help tile floor above garage to not be as cold during the winter.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value for my money i bought this on a sale and installed it myself, it was so easy to install and it was very quite when opening/closing the door....
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy install Product very easy to work with and install. Insulated my three car garage in two hours. Worth the price for sure.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install But read all the instructions. The sticky patches that go on the door are for the plastic tabs that go on before the insulation. Then the other tab connects through the insulation. Easy, but we got ahead of ourselves.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went up quick, very good potential. I literally just installed this. Cuts like normal insulation - so have a hard surface, straight edge, and sharp knife. I'm usually more inclined to do things overkill, so instead of trusting just the double sided tape, I put everything up, then added spray adhesive behind everything. Only spraying half a sheet at a time. I really doubt that will ever move.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy installation The product was easy to install, the insulation comes in pre-cut sheets that conveniently were the exact dimensions required for my garage door panels. One of my panels had a tear in the vinyl backing on opening but the kit comes with a segment of repair tape. Overall happy with the product.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install I like the product. Easy to install on my 8 x 9 garage door without cutting. My only advise is wait till warm weather before installing. The double sided tape won't adhere in the cold. I would have given a five star rating if the instructions advised mounting in warm weather.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Money well spent. I had to cut to fit my doors because I have a six panel door. But other than that, it was an easy install. I do wish it had more attachments for my project.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Home Depot had what I needed, the other guy didn't. An great product for what I needed. Your local store had what I needed available and in stock.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a champ! It does what it should and it’s easy to install. Great product!
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right option Much better than having Styrofoam panels. Garage already just feels more cozy. I did have to cut the width by about 6 inches, but I just used household scissors so it wasn't a great line. Luckily most of the imperfections in cutting gets tucked into the door panel so it doesn't show, but a good straight edge and box cutter or something would have felt like a better job. Superior "R" rating compared to the competition. Nice to have the vinyl outside coating to not worry about the kids brushing up against fiberglass too much. Though, it does look 'pillowy' when installed and my boy wants to lay on it:). The plastic clips didn't really seem to fit together snugly with a nice 'click' sound, but they seem to be staying ok so far. Neighbor was a construction project manager and had an extra wall heater and put it in my garage and boy, the garage keeps the heat in WELL and could be used as a 'man cave' or great place to work on your vehicle. Before installing the insulation, I figured that the extra weight, and being over 10 years old, I thought I would have to upgrade my Extension Springs on the garage doors anyway because they had been acting up and making noises, I bought a set of 90lb replacement springs here. When I installed them, and disconnected the opener, the door dropped fast and nearly caused some damage. The originals that I removed were (light blue) 90lb springs as well. I did weigh my doors with the opener disconnected and it was well under 90lbs. So, I bought a set of 110lb springs (from the other box store) and installed them because I didn't trust the makers of the first 90lb set I tried and thought I might have to also upgrade the weight. Well, the 110lb springs kind of pull the door up a bit, but not too substantially so I'll keep them, but word of note, the other store springs are much better and I'm sure a 100lb or even 90lb springs would have sufficed and done fine. So, if your door doesn't fall when you disconnect your opener, I don't think you have to worry to much about the added weight from the insulation from this product. But, if you do upgrade your springs at the same time, keep in mind that where you get the springs, may have different results. Nice going to the garage for something in the garage fridge and not feeling cold. (even without the heater on it's ok).
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great insulation kit for your garage doors!! This insulation for your garage kit from Owens Corning is a breeze to install. The insulation panels are pre-cut so it makes installation go by pretty quick. There is some trimming required depending on the dimensions of the panels of your garage door. The insulation panels are held in place with these plastic pins that you apply to your garage door panels. You place 2 pins equidistant apart from each other. You place your insulation panel onto the garage door panel. You will need some scissors or a utility knife to cut a slit for the pin to come through the panel. There is a corresponding pin that you slide onto it to secure the panel to the door. I installed this kit on a single garage door. It took me about 45 minutes because I wanted the fit to be exact. So I trimmed the panels to fit on my garage door. This will make the interior of the door look better. I also recommend buying aluminum foil tape that is used to tape HVAC ducts. Some of the panels may sag away from the door. Just tape those panels to the aluminum frame of your garage door. I would definitely buy this product again!!
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive and easy to install. This was very easy to install and I have noticed a lower noise level from the street outside and also a warmer temperature in the garage during cold weather.
Date published: 2011-11-30
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_109
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT