Model # GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
0047563700275

Owens Corning

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car uninsulated garage door
  • Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
$75.95 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8-pieces (vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: this product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

24 Questions70 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
November 21, 2014
If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Las Vegas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2016
Answer: 
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now Read More
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now IT wants to slam to the ground under all the added weight!!!! I'm not happy. THE WEIGHT WILL DESTROY your garage door motor over time ! It MUST be re adjusted by a professional. Read Less
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes fiberglass is much heavier than the Reach Barrier Kit
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Orange County, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
I have a 2 car garage with a metal roll up door and a very weak 1/3 hp motor and the addition of the insulation doesn't seem to have affected the performance of the opener other than it maybe takes a couple seconds longer to open the door.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
February 10, 2015
Answer: 
I have noticed that it slowed down the garage door going up quite a bit. I don't know if it is doing any harm to it, just has made it heavier.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
I doubled the weight of my two car garage door. I went on Groupon and got a good price on a tune up to adjust the spring.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Northern Virginia
Read all my Q&A
December 14, 2014
Answer: 
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade Read More
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade my garage extension springs at all (even though I did, to 110 lbs, now my garage springs up when I disengage the opener). So, I don't think you have to worry too much about the added weight, unless, when you currently disengage your opener your door closes. Where, in that case, I'd probably to to an extra 10-20lb spring. I went from a 90lb to 110lb spring which was a little overkill on a typical post-1995 home, thin metal door. Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

December 2, 2014
Answer: 
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to Read More
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to purchasing the insulation product, in order to see if they have any information on this subject. Thank you for your inquiry. Read Less
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
The SunshineState
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
No issues with weight and 2 kits were used on our 2 car garage door.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and
Read More
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and stop it an any point along the track and let it hang there. Many garage doors aren't adjusted properly to begin with and already need the spring tightened.
You can find garage door tune-up services for about $75-$150 (I've seen coupons for it as low as $20). This should include spring tensioning, but also track adjustment and roller grease. It's possible you may need to get your springs replaced though, so don't be surprised if they tell you to do this. Depending on the age of your springs, they may already be worn out. Add an extra $100-$150 if this is the case.
Read Less
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
 
9 answers

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
bradenton fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 4, 2016
Answer: 
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped Read More
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped insertion adds. The 4th side is on the right.
Thanks Stew. You solved a big problem for me.
Read Less
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
RSM, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 2, 2016
Answer: 
Contact the company. They will send extra out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NY
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
I've been waiting for over a month to get more clips and adhesive patches from Owens Corning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
My open box was void of fasteners. One call to Owens-Corning and they sent me a full set that arrived in about 3 days. Customer rep said they are still looking at getting them into the stores as extras or replacements for hose who may need them for whatever situation that comes up.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Loomis, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2015
Answer: 
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and
Read More
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and droop. Not acceptable. So, I came up with my own solution. I hope it will help you, and it was cheap, max of $10. I went back to Home Depot and bought L shaped flashing in 10' lengths. I found it with the roofing stuff, as its actual manufactured use is as a drip roof edge flashing. Using tin snips, I cut them into 20" segments, and tucked them into the top and bottom recesses. Thus, this created an additional vertical cavity to tuck in the insulation. I think that the tension of the insulation would most likely hold it in place, however, I secured it with some 1/2" self tapping sheet metal screws. Not necessary, but I liked it better. I also picked up a $0.97 can of white spray paint to match (sort of) the interior of the door.
Regards,
BDC6868
Read Less
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
san diego, ca.
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2014
Answer: 
If you contact Owens-Corning they can supply you with extra holders. You can also use double stick tape on the backing.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dunwoody, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Answer: 
call the manufacturer at 1-800-Get-Pink and ask for them,
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Davenport fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hi
I had sufficient fasteners to complete the job. I bought 9 boxes to complete 3 installs on 3 doors.
I did find you need to measure carefully where the insulation needs to go and stick the fasteners so that it supports the insulation, which in my case it did perfectly.
I would assume that HomeDepot could source some extra fasteners if not contact the manufacturer.
sorry I cant help more
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
burnsville, minnesota.
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2014
is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Just buy multiple kits
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
IMO, I just pulled out the fiberglass yesterday due to it holding rodents and bough the reach barrier, no fiberglass, less cost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2016
Answer: 
This kit will work great for that door. You'll just need two of them to cover the entire door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Irving, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 27, 2015
Answer: 
I only found the 8-panel kit at my Home Depot ($75). I bought 2 kits for my 7x16 door, and it worked well. I had to trim each panel a bit but there wasn't that much waste. And, I actually had a use for the cut pieces...
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Dublin Oho
Read all my Q&A
February 16, 2015
Answer: 
Buy 2
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

November 4, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your inquiry. We currently only have one kit available for a . 9 ft. single-car un-insulated garage door. Thank you.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
 
4 answers

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Sarasota, Fl
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
These come in precut sizes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
As long as the individual panels fit you just have to purchase additional kits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pensacola, fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
You cut it to fit, consider the weight to the door, adjusting the spring is not the best option for safety and the life of your door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Each kit provides enough material to
insulate a single car, garage door
up to 9 feet wide.
The Garage Door Insulation Kit
is designed for use on uninsulated
metal garage doors. Each of the 8
panels in the kit are designed to
cover up to a 22” by 54” opening
and fi t neatly into the exposed
channel of the door.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:23:23.136-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Works Well for Me Bought a house with a climate controlled detached garage with an uninsulated door....obviously not a real good idea. This product fixed that problem. Obviously cuts down on heat transmission into the building from the sun, and in the winter one load of wood through the woodstove keeps the garage warm for hours. Certainly alot cheaper than replaceing a non-insulated door with an insulated one. Make sure to use rubbing alcohol or some other solvent to clean the inside of the door prior to attached the sticky side of the clips or else they won't stick. I used metal tape to secure the edges of the insulation to the edges of the door. Helps keep things neat. It will fall down if you cycle the door alot. July 10, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy install The product was easy to install . I did my double garage door in about 2 hours. It seems to be making a significant difference in retaining heat during cold weather and repelling heat in hot weather. The extra weight required me to get the door springs tightened to suspend the doors weight and not over tax the electric opener. March 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by East to install East to install and great value. Already can feel the difference. April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Garage Door Insulation Kit The panels were easy to trim and install. Hopefully the double sided tape that us used to attach the hold-down clips to the metal door will prove to be long lasting. The improvement in terms of temperature and noise reduction in the garage is as expected. March 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Owens corning Great product stopped the cold very well however I went on a 3 hour round trip to 2 different Home Depots to find out that for some reason it's only available online which is sort of a hassle . I needed it that day although when I ordered it, it showed up in 2 days March 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product I've had this up for 3 mos and it's been great, so far. No problems putting it up, but the gloves are too small and it made for an itchy job. March 29, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Product EVER The product started to sag when the door was up--tried to Tape edge where there was no overlap on my door. The heat prevented the tape from staying and it began to sag badly. Called customer service for Owens-Corning and they said they would send me additional clips to hold in place. That was over a month ago--no clips--there are not enough clips to hold it in place if your door has no edge to tuck behind. I am removing this product from my door today!!!! October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made a world of difference I settled on the Corning garage door insulation kit because of the higher insulation value (R8) compared to other rigid insulation solutions that only achieved R4. This kit consists of eight fiberglass insulation panels with plastic facing on one side and fittings to hold them in place. To insulate all the panels in my three garage doors (10 panels each) required four kits. The panels are cut to size using a razor knife (wear the gloves provided with the kit). All the required materials are included: insulation, fittings & gloves. The only tools required were a straight edge, tape measure, sharpie, and razor knife. Plenty of extra fittings and gloves were included. My Air Conditioning/Heater contractor did the installation--they hadn't installed this solution before and it was an eye-opener for them. Prior to doing the installation, they said that it would only take about an hour to perform the installation on my three garage doors. Five hours later the job was done. I'm glad I had a tradesman do the work, it came out better with less waste than if I had done the job myself. The cooling effect on my Eastward facing garage doors is outstanding and is definitely reducing my electricity bill while keeping my garage from being a sauna whenever the temperature got above 80 degrees. Unexpected Pro: Reduces street noise. Unexpected Con: Added weight taxes my garage door opener. April 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Fell off in one day Double sided tape provided in package to hold on fasteners to door. Tape came loose on one panel before insulation was complete. Tape on all fasteners failed within a day. February 7, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy I bought 2 of these and made sure they were cut to the right size before I installed them. The ends keep falling out when the door is open. I usually have to push several ends in a couple of times a week. February 16, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install I like the product. Easy to install on my 8 x 9 garage door without cutting. My only advise is wait till warm weather before installing. The double sided tape won't adhere in the cold. I would have given a five star rating if the instructions advised mounting in warm weather. January 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic! I am not a Do-It-Yourself type of woman, but I completely installed my garage door insulation all by myself. It was extremely easy, and best of all, my garage stays just about the same temperature as the inside of my home. What a difference this made. This is a very easy product to install. I wish I had done this sooner. December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy installation The product was easy to install, the insulation comes in pre-cut sheets that conveniently were the exact dimensions required for my garage door panels. One of my panels had a tear in the vinyl backing on opening but the kit comes with a segment of repair tape. Overall happy with the product. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Went up quick, very good potential. I literally just installed this. Cuts like normal insulation - so have a hard surface, straight edge, and sharp knife. I'm usually more inclined to do things overkill, so instead of trusting just the double sided tape, I put everything up, then added spray adhesive behind everything. Only spraying half a sheet at a time. I really doubt that will ever move. November 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works like a champ! It does what it should and it’s easy to install. Great product! January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and works great Relatively easy to install and definitely helped keep my garage warmer when I'm heating it. Also, the doors are more quiet when opening and closing. January 13, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Money well spent. I had to cut to fit my doors because I have a six panel door. But other than that, it was an easy install. I do wish it had more attachments for my project. January 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 16 panel isntalled First time installed really have no clues how the clips and double side tape work, have to go on youtube and look for the instructions. The pkg did not have a clear instructions until you watch youtube video. The foam need trim a little to fit the panel, Other than that it's all good... November 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit I received all the fasteners, but there was no plastic repair tape in two boxes as stated on boxes. My particular door in the middle has no recessed areas to slide insulation in to; therefore, we needed the tape. I phoned 3 times and, hopefully, it's on its way. The door is so much quitier going up and down and faces the west, so it's not as hot in garage either. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Garage insulation Easy to install. The instructions were clearly written. I own a one car garage and there was no need to resize the pre cut sheets. They fit perfectly in my unit! December 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home Depot had what I needed, the other guy didn't. An great product for what I needed. Your local store had what I needed available and in stock. December 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Would not buy again. I live in Ohio so the summer heat on the door is not as bad as in a southern state. The plastic retaining clips all lost their shape from the summer heat on the door. When that happened, they sprung loose and could not be re-used. They were then useless. I searched the internet but can't find replacements. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy install Installation was very easy and straight forward. This not only helps the garage temperature in winter, but it reduces the door noise when opening and closing. My only wish is that this product was also available for 10 foot wide doors, not just 8 and 9 ft. I don't want to have to buy a whole new kit just to complete a 10 foot door. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit pricey, but worth it. My wife picked it out because our in-laws have it and recommended it. Our garage door is the type this insulation is specifically made for, no cutting required. Your garage door may require doing some cutting to fit. Know that ahead of time. My wife installed it while I was at work. She had watched the video that I found on YouTube, found by searching for "garage door insulation Owings Corning". It took her longer than the average, more like 2-1/2 hours, though it was not difficult, she says. We had purchased a roll of white duct tape for securing some of the edges, recommended by some of the reviews. Wear the gloves included in the box. Also, open the box before you take it home and make sure everything is there (this was recommended by one review, and we did, and everything was there in the box when we picked it up). The result? It works very well. We heat with a wood stove which is in the garage, and we can tell a big difference in the winter. It's a light color and this makes the garage brighter. It is fairly expensive and you could probably jerry-rig something which would work as well (you can find those solutions on You Tube as well), but the extra cost for the convenience is worth it, we feel. December 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Garage door insulation Very easy to understand and install. Extremely useful product. Even quiets the opening and closing of the garage door. Would highly recommend this to anyone. December 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DIY Insulation in a box! It is seriously easy to put up in an 1-2 hour. Looking forward to the heating/cooling savings! December 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product Had my grand children do the install under my supervision and it was super easy. I can tell the difference when it is in the 30's. December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, easy install The kit contains all that you need to insulate a 9' door. The instructions are easily understood and the install should go smoothly if you follow the instructions. Very satisfied with the completed project. After you install the first half of a double wide door, you'll be able to do the second kit in half the time. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and great value I purchased this for my Florida garage. Before installing this, my garage would get extremely hot in the summer and extremely cold in the winter. Since installing this on my hurricane garage door, the temperatures are more moderate and I can actually work in the garage without the need to open the garage door. Due to the hurricane braces on the door, I didn't use the clips and have had no problems at all. I can see the clips being necessary for flat garage doors where there is nothing to tuck the insulation in. February 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Buy ! GREAT Product ! Easy to install and VERY Effective !! December 10, 2014
  • 2016-10-30 T17:47:14.365-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 222ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT