0047563700275

Owens Corning

Model GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

$75.95 /each
  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car uninsulated garage door
  • Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8-pieces (vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: this product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

23 Questions68 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
bradenton fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 4, 2016
Answer: 
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped Read More
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped insertion adds. The 4th side is on the right.
Thanks Stew. You solved a big problem for me.
Read Less
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
RSM, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 2, 2016
Answer: 
Contact the company. They will send extra out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NY
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
I've been waiting for over a month to get more clips and adhesive patches from Owens Corning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
My open box was void of fasteners. One call to Owens-Corning and they sent me a full set that arrived in about 3 days. Customer rep said they are still looking at getting them into the stores as extras or replacements for hose who may need them for whatever situation that comes up.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Loomis, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2015
Answer: 
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and
Read More
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and droop. Not acceptable. So, I came up with my own solution. I hope it will help you, and it was cheap, max of $10. I went back to Home Depot and bought L shaped flashing in 10' lengths. I found it with the roofing stuff, as its actual manufactured use is as a drip roof edge flashing. Using tin snips, I cut them into 20" segments, and tucked them into the top and bottom recesses. Thus, this created an additional vertical cavity to tuck in the insulation. I think that the tension of the insulation would most likely hold it in place, however, I secured it with some 1/2" self tapping sheet metal screws. Not necessary, but I liked it better. I also picked up a $0.97 can of white spray paint to match (sort of) the interior of the door.
Regards,
BDC6868
Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
san diego, ca.
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2014
Answer: 
If you contact Owens-Corning they can supply you with extra holders. You can also use double stick tape on the backing.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Dunwoody, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Answer: 
call the manufacturer at 1-800-Get-Pink and ask for them,
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Davenport fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hi
I had sufficient fasteners to complete the job. I bought 9 boxes to complete 3 installs on 3 doors.
I did find you need to measure carefully where the insulation needs to go and stick the fasteners so that it supports the insulation, which in my case it did perfectly.
I would assume that HomeDepot could source some extra fasteners if not contact the manufacturer.
sorry I cant help more
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
8 answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
November 21, 2014
If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes fiberglass is much heavier than the Reach Barrier Kit
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Orange County, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
I have a 2 car garage with a metal roll up door and a very weak 1/3 hp motor and the addition of the insulation doesn't seem to have affected the performance of the opener other than it maybe takes a couple seconds longer to open the door.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
February 10, 2015
Answer: 
I have noticed that it slowed down the garage door going up quite a bit. I don't know if it is doing any harm to it, just has made it heavier.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
I doubled the weight of my two car garage door. I went on Groupon and got a good price on a tune up to adjust the spring.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Northern Virginia
Read all my Q&A
December 14, 2014
Answer: 
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade Read More
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade my garage extension springs at all (even though I did, to 110 lbs, now my garage springs up when I disengage the opener). So, I don't think you have to worry too much about the added weight, unless, when you currently disengage your opener your door closes. Where, in that case, I'd probably to to an extra 10-20lb spring. I went from a 90lb to 110lb spring which was a little overkill on a typical post-1995 home, thin metal door. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

December 2, 2014
Answer: 
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to Read More
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to purchasing the insulation product, in order to see if they have any information on this subject. Thank you for your inquiry. Read Less
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
The SunshineState
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
No issues with weight and 2 kits were used on our 2 car garage door.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and
Read More
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and stop it an any point along the track and let it hang there. Many garage doors aren't adjusted properly to begin with and already need the spring tightened.
You can find garage door tune-up services for about $75-$150 (I've seen coupons for it as low as $20). This should include spring tensioning, but also track adjustment and roller grease. It's possible you may need to get your springs replaced though, so don't be surprised if they tell you to do this. Depending on the age of your springs, they may already be worn out. Add an extra $100-$150 if this is the case.
Read Less
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
 
6 answers

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
burnsville, minnesota.
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2014
is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Just buy multiple kits
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
IMO, I just pulled out the fiberglass yesterday due to it holding rodents and bough the reach barrier, no fiberglass, less cost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2016
Answer: 
This kit will work great for that door. You'll just need two of them to cover the entire door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Irving, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 27, 2015
Answer: 
I only found the 8-panel kit at my Home Depot ($75). I bought 2 kits for my 7x16 door, and it worked well. I had to trim each panel a bit but there wasn't that much waste. And, I actually had a use for the cut pieces...
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Dublin Oho
Read all my Q&A
February 16, 2015
Answer: 
Buy 2
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

November 4, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your inquiry. We currently only have one kit available for a . 9 ft. single-car un-insulated garage door. Thank you.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
 
4 answers

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Sarasota, Fl
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
These come in precut sizes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
As long as the individual panels fit you just have to purchase additional kits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pensacola, fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
You cut it to fit, consider the weight to the door, adjusting the spring is not the best option for safety and the life of your door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Each kit provides enough material to
insulate a single car, garage door
up to 9 feet wide.
The Garage Door Insulation Kit
is designed for use on uninsulated
metal garage doors. Each of the 8
panels in the kit are designed to
cover up to a 22” by 54” opening
and fi t neatly into the exposed
channel of the door.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-08-29 T13:50:10.491-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 97ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warmth After installing the panels into the garage door...WARMTH! Bedroom over the garage is nice and toasty! Thanks Home Depot!! November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Insulation Kit Review The product does as it says, though there are a couple refinements I would make. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Insulation kit Very great insulation kit for the garage door easy to install November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The right option Much better than having Styrofoam panels. Garage already just feels more cozy. I did have to cut the width by about 6 inches, but I just used household scissors so it wasn't a great line. Luckily most of the imperfections in cutting gets tucked into the door panel so it doesn't show, but a good straight edge and box cutter or something would have felt like a better job. Superior "R" rating compared to the competition. Nice to have the vinyl outside coating to not worry about the kids brushing up against fiberglass too much. Though, it does look 'pillowy' when installed and my boy wants to lay on it:). The plastic clips didn't really seem to fit together snugly with a nice 'click' sound, but they seem to be staying ok so far. Neighbor was a construction project manager and had an extra wall heater and put it in my garage and boy, the garage keeps the heat in WELL and could be used as a 'man cave' or great place to work on your vehicle. Before installing the insulation, I figured that the extra weight, and being over 10 years old, I thought I would have to upgrade my Extension Springs on the garage doors anyway because they had been acting up and making noises, I bought a set of 90lb replacement springs here. When I installed them, and disconnected the opener, the door dropped fast and nearly caused some damage. The originals that I removed were (light blue) 90lb springs as well. I did weigh my doors with the opener disconnected and it was well under 90lbs. So, I bought a set of 110lb springs (from the other box store) and installed them because I didn't trust the makers of the first 90lb set I tried and thought I might have to also upgrade the weight. Well, the 110lb springs kind of pull the door up a bit, but not too substantially so I'll keep them, but word of note, the other store springs are much better and I'm sure a 100lb or even 90lb springs would have sufficed and done fine. So, if your door doesn't fall when you disconnect your opener, I don't think you have to worry to much about the added weight from the insulation from this product. But, if you do upgrade your springs at the same time, keep in mind that where you get the springs, may have different results. Nice going to the garage for something in the garage fridge and not feeling cold. (even without the heater on it's ok). December 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great insulation kit for your garage doors!! This insulation for your garage kit from Owens Corning is a breeze to install. The insulation panels are pre-cut so it makes installation go by pretty quick. There is some trimming required depending on the dimensions of the panels of your garage door. The insulation panels are held in place with these plastic pins that you apply to your garage door panels. You place 2 pins equidistant apart from each other. You place your insulation panel onto the garage door panel. You will need some scissors or a utility knife to cut a slit for the pin to come through the panel. There is a corresponding pin that you slide onto it to secure the panel to the door. I installed this kit on a single garage door. It took me about 45 minutes because I wanted the fit to be exact. So I trimmed the panels to fit on my garage door. This will make the interior of the door look better. I also recommend buying aluminum foil tape that is used to tape HVAC ducts. Some of the panels may sag away from the door. Just tape those panels to the aluminum frame of your garage door. I would definitely buy this product again!! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and great value I purchased this for my Florida garage. Before installing this, my garage would get extremely hot in the summer and extremely cold in the winter. Since installing this on my hurricane garage door, the temperatures are more moderate and I can actually work in the garage without the need to open the garage door. Due to the hurricane braces on the door, I didn't use the clips and have had no problems at all. I can see the clips being necessary for flat garage doors where there is nothing to tuck the insulation in. February 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy to install Just about anyone can do this project, no degree in brain surgery required. I had minimum cutting of pieces. The only issue is the retainer clips are worthless! They don't fit together well. Owens-Corning should try and improve with this with a nail-type anchor and a capture washer. Other than that it went fine, did a three car garage door in just over a hour. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as Promised Insulation works as promised. Will require some measuring and prep time before installation. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best thing I've done to the garage Real simple to do and well worth the $75.00 or $125.00. Kept the garage warm in winter and cool in summer. I did this 1 year ago and the panels still look good. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and worth it 2.5 hours, wear gloves and face mask. My garage ceiling is insulated, and insulating the door lowered the temp by 15 degrees in the garage, even though the walls are not insulated. Dramatically reduced the street noise, more weight on the door. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I Like It. Easy To Install Took me a couple hours to install one door. Took me more time to tape the edges and insulate around the windows than anything else. I used the loctite glue in addition to the adhesive pads to secure the tabs. All I needed to do was cut for length. The tabs feel secure when I snapped them together. When done its looks good. One more door to go. Will precut the pieces this time and should go faster. Lets see how long it all holds together. Was easy to install! September 30, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Garage problems & solutions I was hesitant on the cost but other products I researched don't deliver a high enough R-value. I had problems and needed solutions: Problem 1 - room above garage was terribly hot. Solution 1 - prevent heat from collecting and rising through garage. Problem 2 - garage (my shop) too hot to work in. Solution 2 - keep it cooler. Problem 3 - Noise reduction (I didn't even know this was a problem until I had this product installed). Solution 3 - killed the noisy, squeaky garage door sounds. This kit reduced my garage temp about 12-15 degrees. My take is that it deadened the sun's heat as it radiated through my metal door. It also helped drop the temp of my master bedroom (above garage) by about 4 degrees! Huge win for night time comfort! Unexpectedly my wife and I noticed that when the other person came home through the garage we'd scare each other because we could no longer hear the garage door opening from the kitchen or our bedroom...this was actually kind of hilarious at times :) A bit costly, need two kits for a double-metal door. Took 2-3 hours. Less than paying for an insulated garage door from a manufacturer though and a pretty good after-market solution to the issues we had in our garage. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great insulation I have now fitted this product on three different occasions on three different sets of garage doors and it works great. We have seen a reduction in heat in our garage after using this. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another buffer of insulation Installed this product on a new non-insulated garage door. Installs easily and quickly. Even had latex gloves to use while handling the insulation material. Garage is definitely warmer and expect summer time to be cooler. It has helped control heating costs. March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product It works good and it was easy to install. I did used some adhesives to make sure it stay up. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big impact from something so simple. Had to buy two of these kits for our 2-car garage door. The company has an installation video on Youtube, but the actual process of installing is simple enough to figure out on your own. A tip for those looking to install: when you measure the panels to cut the roll, add an additional 1.5IN - 2IN to the measurement. This will ensure it is a snug fit, and helps if you messed up the cut and the edge isn't exactly straight ;) . It took me about 3 hours to finish installing. After it was installed I noticed an immediate change in ambient temperature in the garage. Outside temp with heat index was 101F, but inside the garage was reading 85F. Prior to the insulation, the garage was unbearable to be in without having the door open. The white vinyl makes the garage brighter when the door is down and the light is on, but it is not a very big difference. The most surprising thing was the reduction in noise. Outside noises are much quieter and there is less echo overall. The noise of the garage door as it opens and closes is *significantly* less. I'm most happy about the effect this has had on the temperature of the rest of the house. Our garage is built into the house (that is, it's not a separate structure) so most rooms border the garage in some way. One bedroom and most of the loft , which are directly above the garage, are noticeably cooler and the AC doesn't run as nearly as often upstairs. With the AC turned off, the ambient temperature downstairs is a full 2 degrees cooler than it was prior to installation. All this, just from insulating the garage door! Why isn't this a standard practice with new homes?! As far as home efficiency upgrades go, this is probably one of the easiest and most cost-effective. More importantly, the reward is immediate and noticeable. There are some cheaper kits available (the other one I saw was made with hard foam) which will probably work just as well, but this is a very good product even if it is a little more expensive. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does the job Reasonable to install Needed a little reinforcement with some white duct tape Door opens/closes quieter Garage temperatures better maintained Pricey for what you get April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Heavy Excellent product and easy to install just make sure your garage door opener can handle the added weight, I had problems with my door after installing this kit and had to hunt down the trouble shooting guide that told me how to adjut the unit for extra weight. I also had to adjust the tension rod spring and that is something better left to door technicians because that thing can hurt you if you mess up. September 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product,Great Value I have used Owens Corning insulation for many years and on many projects. You could not ask for a better product, or a better price at Home Depot. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by easy to install This product is very easy to install. I did find out however that this is designed for an 8 panel garage door (half a typical 2 car) I have a single car garage and it has ten panels so I was two panels short (1 if I taped a bunch of little cut pieces together) Overall it was easy to install, about and hour and helps keep the garage warmer in the winter and cooler in the summer. December 23, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Easy & Quick Installation It took only 30 minutes per door panel to install 3 kits. Very easy instructions and on line video make it quick. Suggest cutting all lengths before you start. Only issue was a I had a kit that was missing the double sided adhesives so had to go back to Home Depot and they replaced box quickly. Hopefully will help tile floor above garage to not be as cold during the winter. January 15, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Complaint Two hours and not one panel installed. Instructed to add 1" to each vertical and horizontal measurement was bad advice; panel was then too big. Measuring to reduce width was too time consuming since panels were not cut straight--as much as 5/8" off at one end. Sides weren't cut straight--zigzagged--so couldn't mark a straight line to cut from. February 18, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Missing Parts in 2 Boxes Purchased two kits for my double garage door. The first box is missing the two sided tape. The second box is missing the two-sided tape and retainer clips. These parts are critical to installing the insulation. Before you buy your kit, open it at the store and make sure it has everything the box lists. Make sure it has the two-sided tape. January 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product and easy installation this product was very easy to install and it looks good. Used a heat gun to warm the door so adhesive pads would stick better. I'm concerned about how well the ends will stay in place, I'm thinking of adding metal strips at ends for added security. Made my door sound quiter and has greatly reduced the echo element. November 3, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I needed This product was just what I was looking for to insulate my garage door. Unfortunately, there weren't any instructions included inside or on the box. Once I watched the YouTube video I understood how to install it. It when up quickly and easily. I have been satisfied with the results. January 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product for a basic metal door I had a basic metal door which attracted a lot of heat from the sun baking on it all day. While only 70-80 degrees outside, the garage was at least 10-15 degress warmer and you could just feel the heat as you walked closer to the door from the inside. We got this because our dog uses the garage as her room and we keep her in there when we leave. The difference is night and day. I decided to get a roll of white masking tape and tape all the edges to the door and any seems. This was because all the movement of the door would create fiberglass particles floating in the air which you could see from the sunlight. Now it is completely sealed, no more fiberglass specs floating, and it matches perfectly with the white facing of the insulation and is much more secure than just using the clips provided. I absolutely recommend doing this when installing this product, yes it doubles the install time, but still a 2 car garage door using 2 of these boxes will take less than 2 hours and it is worth it if your door faces the sun. July 1, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair to good winter will tell One thing that they do not tell you is that you have to tape the edges to keep in the garage slots and adds to weight of the door which may affect the power of the garage door opener which we are having to replace to lift the additional weight August 31, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Install I bought two kits as I have a 2 car garage. I found the insulation kit very easy to install and installed it totally by myself in approximately 2 hours. Not bad for a woman. I am looking foward to the savings benefits of having the door insulated. September 10, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product!!!!! Needed to put some insulation on the garage doors? Thought of a couple was to do it! When it came down to TIME and $, this is the BEST solution!! Wow it really does help and EASY to install. Buy the way, this is hands down best $$$!!! December 21, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Worked OK... Product is overpriced for what you get. It will not fit most doors and will require multipule cuts and wasted material. I would have given it another star had it included some good tape to seal the edges. August 14, 2012
  • 2016-08-28 T21:22:28.606-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_104, tr_104
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 111ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT