Model # GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
0047563700275

Owens Corning

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Application:  9 ft. single-car uninsulated garage door
  • Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
$89.95 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8-pieces (vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: this product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

24 Questions70 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
November 21, 2014
If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Las Vegas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 29, 2016
Answer: 
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now Read More
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now IT wants to slam to the ground under all the added weight!!!! I'm not happy. THE WEIGHT WILL DESTROY your garage door motor over time ! It MUST be re adjusted by a professional. Read Less
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Yes fiberglass is much heavier than the Reach Barrier Kit
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Orange County, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 9, 2015
Answer: 
I have a 2 car garage with a metal roll up door and a very weak 1/3 hp motor and the addition of the insulation doesn't seem to have affected the performance of the opener other than it maybe takes a couple seconds longer to open the door.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
February 10, 2015
Answer: 
I have noticed that it slowed down the garage door going up quite a bit. I don't know if it is doing any harm to it, just has made it heavier.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
I doubled the weight of my two car garage door. I went on Groupon and got a good price on a tune up to adjust the spring.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Northern Virginia
Read all my Q&A
December 14, 2014
Answer: 
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade Read More
I waited 14 years to finally get insulation put on my doors. I looked at the Styrofoam panels you can get, and batting, etc. Styrofoam kind of was inadequate and only about an R value of something like 3. I hadn't looked in a few years and this Owens Corning product is exactly what I wanted long ago. The Styrofoam could probably be lighter, but this is only about 15lbs and I didn't really need to upgrade my garage extension springs at all (even though I did, to 110 lbs, now my garage springs up when I disengage the opener). So, I don't think you have to worry too much about the added weight, unless, when you currently disengage your opener your door closes. Where, in that case, I'd probably to to an extra 10-20lb spring. I went from a 90lb to 110lb spring which was a little overkill on a typical post-1995 home, thin metal door. Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

December 2, 2014
Answer: 
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to Read More
The Insulation panels weigh less than 0.15 pounds per square foot. Each panel weighs about .75 lbs or a total of 6 lbs for a single car garage door. I cannot say for sure whether or not you will need to make a slight adjustment for your garage door opener becuase there are multiple factors that will determine that such as the HP your opener has, etc. I would double check the specs on your opener prior to purchasing the insulation product, in order to see if they have any information on this subject. Thank you for your inquiry. Read Less
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
The SunshineState
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
No issues with weight and 2 kits were used on our 2 car garage door.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and
Read More
The benefit of this brand of insulation vs. others is the increased R value. This has an R-9 insulation value, so has the ability to hold in or block more heat. The bad part is its heavier than other, similar products. But in general it's not THAT heavy.
A garage door spring is meant to be a perfect counterbalance to the weight of your door. You should be able to pick the door up with a single finger and stop it an any point along the track and let it hang there. Many garage doors aren't adjusted properly to begin with and already need the spring tightened.
You can find garage door tune-up services for about $75-$150 (I've seen coupons for it as low as $20). This should include spring tensioning, but also track adjustment and roller grease. It's possible you may need to get your springs replaced though, so don't be surprised if they tell you to do this. Depending on the age of your springs, they may already be worn out. Add an extra $100-$150 if this is the case.
Read Less
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
 
9 answers

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
bradenton fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brownsville, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 4, 2016
Answer: 
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped Read More
Stew's creative idea of using L-Shaped flashing is the best for the 4th side that has no retaining channel. Very creative. It is adequate, economical, and easy. I did not use the screws nor the white paint that he used in his project. 20" lengths also worked in my panels. I am attaching pictures of my success using his ideas. Click on the tumbnail of the single panel to see what the inserted L-shaped insertion adds. The 4th side is on the right.
Thanks Stew. You solved a big problem for me.
Read Less
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
RSM, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 2, 2016
Answer: 
Contact the company. They will send extra out
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NY
Read all my Q&A
January 21, 2016
Answer: 
I've been waiting for over a month to get more clips and adhesive patches from Owens Corning.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
My open box was void of fasteners. One call to Owens-Corning and they sent me a full set that arrived in about 3 days. Customer rep said they are still looking at getting them into the stores as extras or replacements for hose who may need them for whatever situation that comes up.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Loomis, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 25, 2015
Answer: 
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and
Read More
Stew,
When installing the insulation in each section rectangle, I only had three sides (top, bottom, and either left or right) with recesses/cavities to tuck in the insulation. Knowing most doors are like this, it would be nice if Owens Corning made some sort of vertical retaining clip for that fourth side. After it was done, I noticed that the side that did not have a recess started to show pink, and droop. Not acceptable. So, I came up with my own solution. I hope it will help you, and it was cheap, max of $10. I went back to Home Depot and bought L shaped flashing in 10' lengths. I found it with the roofing stuff, as its actual manufactured use is as a drip roof edge flashing. Using tin snips, I cut them into 20" segments, and tucked them into the top and bottom recesses. Thus, this created an additional vertical cavity to tuck in the insulation. I think that the tension of the insulation would most likely hold it in place, however, I secured it with some 1/2" self tapping sheet metal screws. Not necessary, but I liked it better. I also picked up a $0.97 can of white spray paint to match (sort of) the interior of the door.
Regards,
BDC6868
Read Less
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
san diego, ca.
Read all my Q&A
August 15, 2014
Answer: 
If you contact Owens-Corning they can supply you with extra holders. You can also use double stick tape on the backing.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dunwoody, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Answer: 
call the manufacturer at 1-800-Get-Pink and ask for them,
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Davenport fl
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hi
I had sufficient fasteners to complete the job. I bought 9 boxes to complete 3 installs on 3 doors.
I did find you need to measure carefully where the insulation needs to go and stick the fasteners so that it supports the insulation, which in my case it did perfectly.
I would assume that HomeDepot could source some extra fasteners if not contact the manufacturer.
sorry I cant help more
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
burnsville, minnesota.
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2014
is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
Just buy multiple kits
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
IMO, I just pulled out the fiberglass yesterday due to it holding rodents and bough the reach barrier, no fiberglass, less cost
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 4, 2016
Answer: 
This kit will work great for that door. You'll just need two of them to cover the entire door.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Irving, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
June 27, 2015
Answer: 
I only found the 8-panel kit at my Home Depot ($75). I bought 2 kits for my 7x16 door, and it worked well. I had to trim each panel a bit but there wasn't that much waste. And, I actually had a use for the cut pieces...
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Dublin Oho
Read all my Q&A
February 16, 2015
Answer: 
Buy 2
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

November 4, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your inquiry. We currently only have one kit available for a . 9 ft. single-car un-insulated garage door. Thank you.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
 
4 answers

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

This question is from Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
Asked by
Sarasota, Fl
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
NAPLES, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
These come in precut sizes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
As long as the individual panels fit you just have to purchase additional kits.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Pensacola, fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
You cut it to fit, consider the weight to the door, adjusting the spring is not the best option for safety and the life of your door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Each kit provides enough material to
insulate a single car, garage door
up to 9 feet wide.
The Garage Door Insulation Kit
is designed for use on uninsulated
metal garage doors. Each of the 8
panels in the kit are designed to
cover up to a 22” by 54” opening
and fi t neatly into the exposed
channel of the door.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:23:23.136-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202257272, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 75ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels) is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 107.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This product was just what I was looking for to insulate my garage door. Unfortunately, there weren't any instructions included inside or on the box. Once I watched the YouTube video I understood how to install it. It when up quickly and easily. I have been satisfied with the results.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install The product was easy to install . I did my double garage door in about 2 hours. It seems to be making a significant difference in retaining heat during cold weather and repelling heat in hot weather. The extra weight required me to get the door springs tightened to suspend the doors weight and not over tax the electric opener.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from East to install East to install and great value. Already can feel the difference.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install I bought two kits as I have a 2 car garage. I found the insulation kit very easy to install and installed it totally by myself in approximately 2 hours. Not bad for a woman. I am looking foward to the savings benefits of having the door insulated.
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value, easy install The kit contains all that you need to insulate a 9' door. The instructions are easily understood and the install should go smoothly if you follow the instructions. Very satisfied with the completed project. After you install the first half of a double wide door, you'll be able to do the second kit in half the time.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16 panel isntalled First time installed really have no clues how the clips and double side tape work, have to go on youtube and look for the instructions. The pkg did not have a clear instructions until you watch youtube video. The foam need trim a little to fit the panel, Other than that it's all good...
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garage insulation Easy to install. The instructions were clearly written. I own a one car garage and there was no need to resize the pre cut sheets. They fit perfectly in my unit!
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garage door insulation Very easy to understand and install. Extremely useful product. Even quiets the opening and closing of the garage door. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works great Relatively easy to install and definitely helped keep my garage warmer when I'm heating it. Also, the doors are more quiet when opening and closing.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmth After installing the panels into the garage door...WARMTH! Bedroom over the garage is nice and toasty! Thanks Home Depot!!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulation Kit Review The product does as it says, though there are a couple refinements I would make.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy Excellent product and easy to install just make sure your garage door opener can handle the added weight, I had problems with my door after installing this kit and had to hunt down the trouble shooting guide that told me how to adjut the unit for extra weight. I also had to adjust the tension rod spring and that is something better left to door technicians because that thing can hurt you if you mess up.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIY Insulation in a box! It is seriously easy to put up in an 1-2 hour. Looking forward to the heating/cooling savings!
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Promised Insulation works as promised. Will require some measuring and prep time before installation.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulation kit Very great insulation kit for the garage door easy to install
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair to good winter will tell One thing that they do not tell you is that you have to tape the edges to keep in the garage slots and adds to weight of the door which may affect the power of the garage door opener which we are having to replace to lift the additional weight
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money or product We live in Arizona so the garage gets just as hot as the outside.My wife bought the two boxes recommended for our size of garage door. First I noticed that the length was to short, then the plastic clips were of cheap quality, the first panel went into place with no problems. Once in place I notice that the center was drooping. I tried to pull the insulation tight and repositioned the clip but it still sagged. I noticed in the directions that the pictures of the garage door had some lips and mine did not. In the pictures these lips held the insulation panels better to the garage door panel. I installed all the insulation onto the garage door and could not get them tight enough to keep them sagging. I used the tape on the seams and it still looks like bad. Its been about month and i don't notice any difference in temperature but I notice that my garage door does not look neat. My wife says she spent close to 200$ for this kit so I don't have the heart to take it down and toss it in the garbage. Installation was easy but the clips are cheap way of attaching the insulation to the door. Glue would be out of the question because someone would probably want to remove it later or the glue would not hold it. Maybe some semi flexible ribs on the outer layer would help. i used on and a half sheets of the insulation per panel and i have four.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Like It. Easy To Install Took me a couple hours to install one door. Took me more time to tape the edges and insulate around the windows than anything else. I used the loctite glue in addition to the adhesive pads to secure the tabs. All I needed to do was cut for length. The tabs feel secure when I snapped them together. When done its looks good. One more door to go. Will precut the pieces this time and should go faster. Lets see how long it all holds together. Was easy to install!
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell off in one day Double sided tape provided in package to hold on fasteners to door. Tape came loose on one panel before insulation was complete. Tape on all fasteners failed within a day.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS Very good product !!! easy to install !!! keep the hot weather away from my garage !!!
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't buy I bought 2 of these and made sure they were cut to the right size before I installed them. The ends keep falling out when the door is open. I usually have to push several ends in a couple of times a week.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Owens corning Great product stopped the cold very well however I went on a 3 hour round trip to 2 different Home Depots to find out that for some reason it's only available online which is sort of a hassle . I needed it that day although when I ordered it, it showed up in 2 days
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Garage Door Insulation Kit The panels were easy to trim and install. Hopefully the double sided tape that us used to attach the hold-down clips to the metal door will prove to be long lasting. The improvement in terms of temperature and noise reduction in the garage is as expected.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install i installed 2 of these kits on my 18' wide garage door! My door has 8 windows in it. I bought a Gila Mirror window tint kit and covered windows prior to insulating. Insulation is helping keep my wood shop temperature and humidity in control.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I've had this up for 3 mos and it's been great, so far. No problems putting it up, but the gloves are too small and it made for an itchy job.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a world of difference I settled on the Corning garage door insulation kit because of the higher insulation value (R8) compared to other rigid insulation solutions that only achieved R4. This kit consists of eight fiberglass insulation panels with plastic facing on one side and fittings to hold them in place. To insulate all the panels in my three garage doors (10 panels each) required four kits. The panels are cut to size using a razor knife (wear the gloves provided with the kit). All the required materials are included: insulation, fittings & gloves. The only tools required were a straight edge, tape measure, sharpie, and razor knife. Plenty of extra fittings and gloves were included. My Air Conditioning/Heater contractor did the installation--they hadn't installed this solution before and it was an eye-opener for them. Prior to doing the installation, they said that it would only take about an hour to perform the installation on my three garage doors. Five hours later the job was done. I'm glad I had a tradesman do the work, it came out better with less waste than if I had done the job myself. The cooling effect on my Eastward facing garage doors is outstanding and is definitely reducing my electricity bill while keeping my garage from being a sauna whenever the temperature got above 80 degrees. Unexpected Pro: Reduces street noise. Unexpected Con: Added weight taxes my garage door opener.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!!!! Needed to put some insulation on the garage doors? Thought of a couple was to do it! When it came down to TIME and $, this is the BEST solution!! Wow it really does help and EASY to install. Buy the way, this is hands down best $$$!!!
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is great This is a great way to help cut down heating and cooling bills and was very easy to install.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to install and a complete project in no time at all. Worth every penny and a complete easy to install kit. Nice looking and even has extra parts and a repair kit if needed.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product. could use a facing on the raw side to improve cutting
Date published: 2012-01-10
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_107
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT