Model # GD01

Internet #202257272

Store SKU #744925

Store SO SKU #583042

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)
0047563700275

Owens Corning

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels)

  • R-8 insulation with a durable, washable white vinyl facing
  • Big performance in a small package
  • Simply measure, mark, trim and install
$8995 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Choosing The Right Insulation

Faced Insulation

Faced

Face insulation uses kraft paper vapor barrier to control moisture transmission between 
walls and floors 

*Check your local building code for requirements
Unfaced Insulation

Unfaced

Unfaced insulation does not have a vapor barrier; used over existing insulation in the attic, or where moisture control is not needed

Rolls Insulation

Rolls

Continuous rolls are easy to transport and can be cut to length; great for large areas

Batts Insulation

Batts

Come in pre-cut lengths for faster installation and each package contains more square feet than rolls; ideal for framed cavities

Blow-In Insulation

Blow-In Insulation

Installed using blowing machines, best for adding additional insulation in attic

Regional R-Values

Regional R-Values Map

The Department of Energy recommends different insulation
levels based on regional climate zones to increase energy efficiency

Map key with insulation type based on region

Owens Corning Garage Door Insulation Kit is ideal for use on uninsulated metal garage doors. The kit comes with eight fiberglass insulation panels with a durable, washable white vinyl facing. Also included are latex gloves and repair tape, along with retainer clips and a self-adhesive fastening system that provides a quick and secure method to hold the panels in place. The kit includes enough material to insulate a single car garage door up to 9 ft. wide. The panels can cover up to a 22 in. x 54 in. opening and fit neatly into the exposed channel of the door. The kit takes less than an hour to install. The only tools needed to complete the installation are a tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and a marker. Simply measure, mark, trim and install. Detailed instructions are on the side panel of the box.

  • Dimensions: 2.25 in. x 22 in. x 54 in., 8 pieces (Vinyl faced)
  • 2 kits complete a double garage door (18 ft.)
  • Product fits between the steel channels of uninsulated metal garage doors
  • Product can be easily trimmed to fit smaller door panels if needed
  • Insulation is secured with retainer clips that adhere to the door to hold the panels in place
  • NOTE: This product is not for pre-insulated doors, wood doors or doors without channels
  • The right insulation can save on energy and heating and cooling bills. Check out our Buying Guide for helpful tips.
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Buying guide and insulation calculator:

    insulation buying guide
    Insulation calculator button

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does any one have issue/suggestion about the door's weight increased?

If i install the kits, is it have to be make the adjust on the garage door? I am wondering if this is worth to spend almost $200 plus i don't know how much it costs for the garage door adjustment. Thanks
Asked by: kevin
HECK YES!!! I just installed it. (16 panels) and MY GARAGE DOOR WEIGHS A TON NOW!! I need to spend even MORE MONEY to get my garage door springs re calibrated. To test this. I unlocked the latch and tried to lift the door by hand. ITS SO HEAVY NOW!!! and as another comment said, a door should be able to hang 1/2 way on its own and you should be able to lift it with your fingers. . Well, mine used to. Now IT wants to slam to the ground under all the added weight!!!! I'm not happy. THE WEIGHT WILL DESTROY your garage door motor over time ! It MUST be re adjusted by a professional.
Answered by: AnnShamrock
Date published: 2017-07-02

were can i get extra fastners to hold the insulation in place?

Asked by: stew
I misread and for my post, I confused Stew with BDC6868. It was BDC6868 that actually furnished the great advice. Please forgive the mistake.
Answered by: Vern
Date published: 2016-10-11

i have a 7x16 foot door, what kit should i get?

is there a kit for a 7x16 foot door ?
Asked by: superdave
Just buy multiple kits
Answered by: FLLDIVER
Date published: 2016-08-04

Is there a size and can I get them to fit my door; 19" X 43".

Asked by: DK1117
These come in precut sizes
Answered by: FLLDIVER
Date published: 2016-08-05
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 30ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Garage Door Insulation Kit (8-Panels) is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 113.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garage problems & solutions I was hesitant on the cost but other products I researched don't deliver a high enough R-value. I had problems and needed solutions: Problem 1 - room above garage was terribly hot. Solution 1 - prevent heat from collecting and rising through garage. Problem 2 - garage (my shop) too hot to work in. Solution 2 - keep it cooler. Problem 3 - Noise reduction (I didn't even know this was a problem until I had this product installed). Solution 3 - killed the noisy, squeaky garage door sounds. This kit reduced my garage temp about 12-15 degrees. My take is that it deadened the sun's heat as it radiated through my metal door. It also helped drop the temp of my master bedroom (above garage) by about 4 degrees! Huge win for night time comfort! Unexpectedly my wife and I noticed that when the other person came home through the garage we'd scare each other because we could no longer hear the garage door opening from the kitchen or our bedroom...this was actually kind of hilarious at times :) A bit costly, need two kits for a double-metal door. Took 2-3 hours. Less than paying for an insulated garage door from a manufacturer though and a pretty good after-market solution to the issues we had in our garage.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not happy Purchased 2 boxes of this insulation for our two-car garage door. Installation was relatively easy. Cutting it was a bit tricky due to it's thickness, which is a plus. On 3 of 4 sides of each panel of our garage door, there was a little lip where the insulation could be tucked behind. On the 4th side there was nothing to hold it in. The only way provided in the box to secure the insulation is 2 circular tabs (per panel) that snap together to hold it in place. Definitely not enough to secure the insulation properly and one side of the panel keeps coming out of place, often triggering the safety feature on our garage door opener so that our garage won't shut. We often have to get out of the car to fix the issue so the door will close. Super annoying. The insulation has been effective as far as preventing extreme temps in our garage, but I wouldn't buy it again. Getting ready to spend more money on a better product, that actually costs less!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right option Much better than having Styrofoam panels. Garage already just feels more cozy. I did have to cut the width by about 6 inches, but I just used household scissors so it wasn't a great line. Luckily most of the imperfections in cutting gets tucked into the door panel so it doesn't show, but a good straight edge and box cutter or something would have felt like a better job. Superior "R" rating compared to the competition. Nice to have the vinyl outside coating to not worry about the kids brushing up against fiberglass too much. Though, it does look 'pillowy' when installed and my boy wants to lay on it:). The plastic clips didn't really seem to fit together snugly with a nice 'click' sound, but they seem to be staying ok so far. Neighbor was a construction project manager and had an extra wall heater and put it in my garage and boy, the garage keeps the heat in WELL and could be used as a 'man cave' or great place to work on your vehicle. Before installing the insulation, I figured that the extra weight, and being over 10 years old, I thought I would have to upgrade my Extension Springs on the garage doors anyway because they had been acting up and making noises, I bought a set of 90lb replacement springs here. When I installed them, and disconnected the opener, the door dropped fast and nearly caused some damage. The originals that I removed were (light blue) 90lb springs as well. I did weigh my doors with the opener disconnected and it was well under 90lbs. So, I bought a set of 110lb springs (from the other box store) and installed them because I didn't trust the makers of the first 90lb set I tried and thought I might have to also upgrade the weight. Well, the 110lb springs kind of pull the door up a bit, but not too substantially so I'll keep them, but word of note, the other store springs are much better and I'm sure a 100lb or even 90lb springs would have sufficed and done fine. So, if your door doesn't fall when you disconnect your opener, I don't think you have to worry to much about the added weight from the insulation from this product. But, if you do upgrade your springs at the same time, keep in mind that where you get the springs, may have different results. Nice going to the garage for something in the garage fridge and not feeling cold. (even without the heater on it's ok).
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy install Product very easy to work with and install. Insulated my three car garage in two hours. Worth the price for sure.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install I bought two kits as I have a 2 car garage. I found the insulation kit very easy to install and installed it totally by myself in approximately 2 hours. Not bad for a woman. I am looking foward to the savings benefits of having the door insulated.
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As simple as it gets Bought this kit after looking at several other options and I'm very pleased with the decision. Install took about 30 minutes and could not be any easier. Temperature in garage already seems cooler and the noise from the door being opened and closed is noticeably less. Very curious to see how this will play out when the cold weather comes back around. Although I'm pleased with this purchase, it seems to be a bit pricey for the actual item itself, even with the Home Depot Military discount (thank you). Overall, amounts to what is slightly more than a $1 per square foot of insulation. In comparison, I re-insulated my garage with R-30 rolls and R-13 batts for less than this kit cost. Whatever keeps the garage and bedroom above it comfortable is worth the investment and it looks pretty darn cool as well. In the end, I would recommend this kit.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install The product was easy to install . I did my double garage door in about 2 hours. It seems to be making a significant difference in retaining heat during cold weather and repelling heat in hot weather. The extra weight required me to get the door springs tightened to suspend the doors weight and not over tax the electric opener.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Necessary if you live in a hot a sunny climate. The product was wasy to install and seems already to be reducing the temperature in the garage. A surprise benefit was the significant noise reduction while raising and lowering the door. Because we are in Florida, we have a lot of extra bracing on our garage door which meant we had to cut half the sections in half. We have a two car garage (single door) so we needed two kits with 16 pieces of insulation. 8 of the sections we placed as is. 8 of the panels had to be cut in half to fit the sections which were divided due to hurricane bracing. I wouldn't have wanted to cut all the pieces to size and I like having the vinyl on the facing side. Obviously, I thought the product was worth the price charged because I bought it but the manufacturer is making a killing on this product The cat loves sleeping on my car so I'm sure she will be pleased we have put up the insulation!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from East to install East to install and great value. Already can feel the difference.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy Excellent product and easy to install just make sure your garage door opener can handle the added weight, I had problems with my door after installing this kit and had to hunt down the trouble shooting guide that told me how to adjut the unit for extra weight. I also had to adjust the tension rod spring and that is something better left to door technicians because that thing can hurt you if you mess up.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair to good winter will tell One thing that they do not tell you is that you have to tape the edges to keep in the garage slots and adds to weight of the door which may affect the power of the garage door opener which we are having to replace to lift the additional weight
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty good This was pretty simple to install. I have a two car garage so I bought two kits. It was not enough for all panels though, the bottom row of the garage door was not able to be done. It does make a temperature difference.
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value, easy install The kit contains all that you need to insulate a 9' door. The instructions are easily understood and the install should go smoothly if you follow the instructions. Very satisfied with the completed project. After you install the first half of a double wide door, you'll be able to do the second kit in half the time.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Like It. Easy To Install Took me a couple hours to install one door. Took me more time to tape the edges and insulate around the windows than anything else. I used the loctite glue in addition to the adhesive pads to secure the tabs. All I needed to do was cut for length. The tabs feel secure when I snapped them together. When done its looks good. One more door to go. Will precut the pieces this time and should go faster. Lets see how long it all holds together. Was easy to install!
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16 panel isntalled First time installed really have no clues how the clips and double side tape work, have to go on youtube and look for the instructions. The pkg did not have a clear instructions until you watch youtube video. The foam need trim a little to fit the panel, Other than that it's all good...
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garage insulation Easy to install. The instructions were clearly written. I own a one car garage and there was no need to resize the pre cut sheets. They fit perfectly in my unit!
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garage door insulation Very easy to understand and install. Extremely useful product. Even quiets the opening and closing of the garage door. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works great Relatively easy to install and definitely helped keep my garage warmer when I'm heating it. Also, the doors are more quiet when opening and closing.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmth After installing the panels into the garage door...WARMTH! Bedroom over the garage is nice and toasty! Thanks Home Depot!!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulation Kit Review The product does as it says, though there are a couple refinements I would make.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIY Insulation in a box! It is seriously easy to put up in an 1-2 hour. Looking forward to the heating/cooling savings!
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as Promised Insulation works as promised. Will require some measuring and prep time before installation.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insulation kit Very great insulation kit for the garage door easy to install
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money or product We live in Arizona so the garage gets just as hot as the outside.My wife bought the two boxes recommended for our size of garage door. First I noticed that the length was to short, then the plastic clips were of cheap quality, the first panel went into place with no problems. Once in place I notice that the center was drooping. I tried to pull the insulation tight and repositioned the clip but it still sagged. I noticed in the directions that the pictures of the garage door had some lips and mine did not. In the pictures these lips held the insulation panels better to the garage door panel. I installed all the insulation onto the garage door and could not get them tight enough to keep them sagging. I used the tape on the seams and it still looks like bad. Its been about month and i don't notice any difference in temperature but I notice that my garage door does not look neat. My wife says she spent close to 200$ for this kit so I don't have the heart to take it down and toss it in the garbage. Installation was easy but the clips are cheap way of attaching the insulation to the door. Glue would be out of the question because someone would probably want to remove it later or the glue would not hold it. Maybe some semi flexible ribs on the outer layer would help. i used on and a half sheets of the insulation per panel and i have four.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS Very good product !!! easy to install !!! keep the hot weather away from my garage !!!
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell off in one day Double sided tape provided in package to hold on fasteners to door. Tape came loose on one panel before insulation was complete. Tape on all fasteners failed within a day.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't buy I bought 2 of these and made sure they were cut to the right size before I installed them. The ends keep falling out when the door is open. I usually have to push several ends in a couple of times a week.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!!!! Needed to put some insulation on the garage doors? Thought of a couple was to do it! When it came down to TIME and $, this is the BEST solution!! Wow it really does help and EASY to install. Buy the way, this is hands down best $$$!!!
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is great This is a great way to help cut down heating and cooling bills and was very easy to install.
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to install and a complete project in no time at all. Worth every penny and a complete easy to install kit. Nice looking and even has extra parts and a repair kit if needed.
Date published: 2012-01-15
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_113
  • loc_, sid_202257272, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 80ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT