Model # HO-0218H

Internet #202295910

Store SKU #682101

Pelonis 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater


1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

  • Easy to use thermostat
  • Auto shut-off safety feature
  • Casters for easy mobility
$39.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Pelonis 1,500-Watt Portable Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Heater has 3-heat settings for different comfort options. The heater features a built-in overheat protection device and an automatic cut-off for safe home use. It has a built-in carry handle and all-direction casters for mobility.

  • Electric, oil-filled heater with 600-Watt, 900-Watt and 1,500-Watt settings for different comfort options
  • Heats up to 150 sq. ft.
  • Rotary thermostat switch for easy control
  • Built-in overheat protection device and an automatic cut-off for safe home use
  • Steel construction
  • Built-in carry handle and all-direction casters for mobility
  • ETL listed
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Quiet operation for bedroom
  • Safety over heat protection for auto shut-off
  • Note: Product may vary by store.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.




Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features


Customer Questions & Answers

1 Question1 Answer

Customer Questions & Answers

1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

Clear Search Term
1 answer

Does this product run out of oil? And if it does, can I refill it or do I need to dispose of the heater?

This question is from 1,500-Watt Electric Oil-Filled Radiant Portable Heater
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2016
A friend gave me this heater when I ran out of heating oil last year and said this heater would warm up the place until I could get my oil refilled. I don't have the manual for it and I would like to know if it would be safe to use again this year.
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Johnstown, PA
Read all my Q&A
October 11, 2016
No, they do not run out.
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-23 T12:22:19.755-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202295910, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 312 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by no complaints! I purchased this heater because of a non insulated house. Very surprised on how warm it kept our bedroom. We actually had to put it on a lower setting this thing gets hot! After about 3 months of use the control knob broke, but if you take the knob off with pliers and a paint scraper, you can turn the metal knob inside with the pliers. Not that big of a deal for the price. It has kept our electric bill as it normally would be definitely no increase. I would recommend this item to anyone that needs to stay warm without increasing electric bill. I would say that it is pretty safe because if it Is too hot it shuts off to a lower setting. No complaints I love this heater. March 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little heater I bought this heater to use in an efficiency apartment. It's an old apartment and the heater isn't very efficient and it's very noisy. To top that off, the apartment is NOT energy efficient. One can feel a breeze coming in the door when it's windy. This little radiant heater puts out so much heat it is amazing. I don't need to turn it up very high and it heats the two rooms I have very nicely. I got it because I know people who heat a large house with two like this one. They blow fans on the heater to distribute the heat. I would definitely recommend this item for anyone who is looking for a heater! January 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Another broken switch: waste of money Had this heater about six weeks (long enough to have misplaced/thrown away the receipt, apparently) when the switch failed -- first, the heater would simply not turn off (though it could be turned down, just not off), and shortly thereafter the heater would not heat at all. A heater that won't heat isn't worth it at any price. Buy something else if you want to remain warm reliably for any length of time (especially considering a company whose warranty conveniently won't cover it's product's primary defect). Teaches me to buy anything in-store without researching it online and elsewhere first. December 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Buy this product-oil leaks out I bought this space heater last year at Walmart it looks like it's about the same price as Home Depot. I used it a few times and then put it in the closet during the summer. We've had a few cold nights here in Florida so I took it out just to warm up one room a little bit-I did not want to put on the heating system. Well, I shut the heater off and went to bed and this morning I woke up to a circle of oil on my carpet. It seems that this product leaks oil. I was talking to a neighbor who is a contractor and he said these units are known for leaking.....I wish I had known this before :-( December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by another good pick I wanted to try two different heaters because I recently moved into a drafty but wonderful historic building. This is a more economical version of a radiant heater. Its not programmable but the price makes it well worth it. As with other radiant heaters this throws heat in all directions including the floor, so use caution in operation, though I have not had problems. It is not as steady as a larger heater but was simple to put together. I like it and feel buying two of these for the price of one of the others would be well worth it, and lessen drafts throughout an apartment. January 22, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Warranty The heater worked, as advertised, last winter (2.5 months). Since I started using it this fall it seeps oil from the bottom of one of the fins. Since it is still within the warranty period (one year) I contacted them about an adjustment/ partial credit or refund. So far I have called them 5 times, they promise to respond, nothing as of 12/1/12. I'll post an update when contacted but I'm not holding my breath at this point.( And no, there's no evidence of dents or corrosion). Maybe store warranties aren't such a bad idea after all and I recommend the heater with reservations December 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It's OK,,,,but... We had borrowed a similar type unit from our kids,,and that unite REALLY put out some heat. We decided to get one to try downstairs. Saw the Pelonis model at a fair price at Home Depot and tried it. While I cannot say anything really bad about it (overall quality,construction and so on), but it puts out nowhere near the heat that the other one does. We bought a second one to see if maybe this one was sub par,but it performed the same. The two together barely matched the output of the other. Summery,, Ok,,but not impressive. I am undecided as to wether I would recommend it. December 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great compliants Our bedroom has always been a little cold and recently colder than usual. I did some research online and almost everyone said this cheaper model worked as well as other high-end models, so we decided to make the purchase. The heater warms our bedroom and even our large living room. Additionally, the heater doesn't get as warm as I was expected, which is great because we have curious cats. Only thing to worry about is Home Depot will change the brand of this product and maintain the same SKU, so all these reviews might not be for the same model. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty impressive I am using this heater on a 40' sailboat. I also have the Pelonis ceramic heater, however, I was concerned as heaters with fans tend to be the ones which start fires, so I bought this one thinking it would be safer, particularly if left unattended for short jaunts. So far it is pretty impressive, it is quiet, (it makes some oil sounds when first started), and heats as well as its ceramic sister unit. As there are no moving parts it seems there is little to go wrong. Keeping in mind that my boat is in 32 degree water, during winter, this unit heats pretty darn well. December 31, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great heater for a great price This is a fraction of what you would pay for a DeLonghi radiator heater but works equally as well. I own several DeLonghi radiators(drafty home!) and wanted something to keep in the kids' bathroom. Obviously, it is a small space and it keeps it as warm as a sauna, but can see it working well to heat an average size bedroom. The thing that people need to know about radiator heaters is that it takes a long time to heat up and once heated to a desired temperature, they can turn down the heat BUT must keep it on at all times and keep the door closed or you will lose heat. I've only had this heater for this winter so Im curious to see how long it will last but I'm optimistic (plus it was a great price so I won't be too upset if something goes wrong) February 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Keeps my room warm with no insulation I recently moved in to a small old house. There is no insulation in the walls and no heating. I bought this heater to keep my room warm, it is probably a 10x11 with two windows, one small and one large. They don't keep out much cold. I only have the small window covered with a thermal back curtain. Regardless of all the ways heat can escape this heater has worked very well. Fist I turn it on high for about an hour. Then I can keep it on low the rest of the time. Have no idea how energy efficient it really is because there are other people living in the house with different heating elements. It is easy to use, and after the first two times of using it, the new oil smell dissipated. I have been using it for two months. February 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time User of Oil- Filled Radiators I loved this Oil Filled Heater Last Winter, and it really cut both the gas and electricity bill. I used it in a large back bedroom which gets little air-flow. It does take a period of time to obtain heat with the doors closed, but it maintains the heat nicely after it is turned off. The thermostat was easy to use. I never expected to rate a heater, but this one was really good. I might just never order another portable fan blower type again. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Electricity is only cheaper than natural gas up to a point... It's been a very cold winter in Colorado! I rent what I now know is a poorly designed house - it stays cold or hot depending on the season. Purchased two of these heaters to keep in 2 cold spots in the house: kitchen filled with windows and a cavernous bathroom. For a month I had them both going 24/7 on low with the heat dial less than halfway turned - just enough to act like a buffer against the chill and perhaps reduce my natural gas (furnace) use. My electric bill skyrocketed - up by at least $50, and my gas use stayed the same. This month I only used the heaters during a couple of multi-day cold snaps, and my utility bill is much improved: gas the same again, electricity down from the high to only $20 more than usual. Hope this helps someone :) February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good, cheap, safe heater. Good little heaters, a ton safer than any open element heater made. They can be tipped over and won't start a fire in a room. We use these for preventing freezing water pipes in our tank house. Used in a dry location, you can expect several years of good use out of them. In a damp location, they only last a year or two. Unlike open element heaters, these take a lot longer to heat up but the tradeoff is much more even heat cycling. They have to warm up, not instant on but still give off a lot of heat once turned off. Much less hot/cold, more warmth than hot/cold like a blower heater.. In the end, these always die due to cheesy switches and the bi-metal thermostat. But while they last, they are great little room heaters. November 19, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great heater, no complaints! I've had a few of these style heaters and for the price, I think this one is really great. It heats up quickly, no odor, I feel safe with it on, and it rarely makes noise. If I haven't used it in a while sometimes there is a crackly noise when the oil is heating up, but this is not unusual for these style heaters. $40 is a steal, this model costs almost $80 on amazon. The only thing I dislike is there aren't handles on both sides so steering it around my apartment is sometimes a little challenging. Still, for the price, worth the challenge. November 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend and a good value. Works very well. Totally silent operation except for a slight click when it cycles off/on. Energy saving in that you can turn the heat to high and the output at 1500 watts to get heat quickly at the maximum output, but then can lower wattage to 900 or 600 to save money and also adjust the heat output to suit your comfort level. I would definitely buy this heater again. I also found the price to be a very good value and I shopped around quite a bit. I have had no problems with the heater at all over the three seasons I've used it. January 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by lasted half a season. poorly assembled bought it to keep the garage above freezing toward end of last winter. pulled it out this season, used for about a week, and it started leaking oil out of the heating element. closer inspection reveals that during assembly a screw that is used inside to hold a thermal fuse against the outside rim of the element was tightened too far down, bending the crimped lip of where the element seals against the housing. a wonder it lasted as long as it did. you get what you pay for. wish I still had the receipt from last year. March 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Switch Broke After Six Months I bought this heater six months ago to help heat my small space. It did well, but took a long time to heat up. You would need to have this on for at least 2 hours before feeling the effects in a normal sized bedroom. Unfortunately the switch broke after six months of normal use, I only used it for colder days. The one year warranty does not cover the switch, and even if it did, you have to pay the postage to send the heater to the manufacturer before they will consider a repair. So this will end up being sent to the landfill. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Impressed! I am very amazed and impressed by this heater. Our master bathroom doesn't seem to have much insulation in it, so it's cold all the time. We put this heater in there, set it on medium and the dial about half-way. It's heated the bathroom and I think it even helps out heating the bedroom, since we've had to turn down the setting on that heater.. Even in the coldest days we've had so far, I've not ever had to turn it up to high. For how well it works it's really worth the money! As crazy of a winter as this has been so far, I could not even begin to guess if it helps out on saving on your electric bill. I'm not impressed by many products these days, but I have been impressed by this one so far, I've even recommended it to family. February 10, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cheaply Made- Poor Customer SVC (MFG) I actually have the HO-0225- not much difference. Knobs are cheap plastic and break easy. When I called to buy a replacement I was told that it was a "safety hazard" to replace the cheap plastic knob. I explained with no lack of detail that I was talking about the plastic cover to the switch that turned the thing on and that no internal mechanisms were involved. No good. They don't stand by their product and obviously don't care about their customers. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Quiet, Works Great! I got this heater as an exchange for my faulty Warmwave 18" Oscillating Ceramic Tower Heater. I read the reviews prior to the purchase which were very positive. It really warms a large room surprisingly better than I expected. It is very quiet since there is no fan. Its sort of like a mini fireplace with no fire. The smell that some mention is not oil ,but is "that new heater smell" or the break-in of the new paint being heated for the first time. It will go away after it breaks-in. I really like this heater and would certainly buy another one. January 2, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works great A little slow warming up at times, but does a great job at keeping the room warm. More efficient than space heaters. Easy to set up, easy to use, fairly mobile. We have several. One did die after just one season or so which I had to replace. Just bought a 2nd one and decided to spend the extra few bucks on the protection plan. Good bang for your buck. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best heater for the $ I bought two heaters the same day - this oil filled radiator and an old fashioned radiant heat one. I ended up returning the radiant heater and buying another of these radiators. It was slow to warm but once it got there, it really kept the whole space toasty. I even had to turn it down. Since there was no fan blowing, it was really quiet and good to use in the bedroom. My husband was afraid that it would smell like oil - it doesn't. The oil is sealed inside and you would never know if the box didn't tell you. I highly recommend this product. November 29, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works really well. Facing an incoming Northern Winter (Sandpoint Idaho) and the 20's have already arrived this fall. Went out and bought this at a local Home Depot as I was curious to its performance. Brought it home, plugged it in, turned the ceiling fan on low, and successfully heated the dining room, Living room, and kitchen area of the Apartment in no time. Will be buying another for the main bedroom. This will save costs on using Central Heating, and two, Maybe three oil heaters should be enough to warm our apartment of a 1,000 Sqf comfortably. October 25, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Energy Hog We spend all our time at one end of the house and have been using a ceramic heater to just heat that end. Our energy usage with that ceramic heater has been averaging 16.2 kWh per day. I picked up this oil-filled radiator heater and we've been using it in the same way for several days. Our overall energy usage has soared to an average 27.3 kWh per day. Needless to say, we were shocked about how much electricity it was sucking and am not happy with it. We're going back to the ceramic heater. October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Heat that works! I brought the first one back in 2006, the second one in 2009 the third in 2013 now the fourth one today. These items work well for me cause I dont choose to heat the whole house, just the room I'm in if I need it. I use the wood burning stove in the living room and basement, so if the room I'm in is chilly, I add these heaters. It works for me! Don't have large rediculous home heating fuel bills anymore!!! Yipeeeeeeee! They are small compact and easy to carry and always reliable. January 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does the job This is a great heater for the money. It heats my office 10' x 12' very well. The trick is to set the power switch to High and move the thermostat all the way to the right when you first switch it on. Once the room reaches the desired temp move the thermostat to the left until you hear a click, that is the setting that you want. You can also switch the power switch to medium for the most efficient. I have had this heater for 4 years of trouble free use. I recently bought another two for my work site and they are equally as good. February 19, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Died on me Bought this in Jan. 2011 and it is now mid Dec. 2011 and it has simply died. No accidents, no power surges, nothing...just won't turn on. Has one year warranty but I would have to mail this 20 lb thing to Texas on my own dime the company said. Don't want to spend $15 dollars on postage for a $30 item. Also it from day one would make any annoying clicking sound in the oil once every 5 minutes when it was heating up. I'm going to buy something of better quality. Bought this since it had so many good reviews. Disappointment. December 12, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet heater Good and warm heater for living room. You'll need to use fan to make the room warmer quicker. This is my second one, the switch melted on the first one after 5 months on daily use. The switch is low quality November 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the price Bought this as a temporary heat source while we were doing work on our forced air system. It was a great temporary heat source for a single room and I'll continue to use it for other spaces. It doesn't throw off a lot of heat, but for one room it does the trick. October 28, 2014
  • 2016-10-23 T12:28:40.634-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_312, tr_312
  • loc_en_US, sid_202295910, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 127ms