Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

Store SKU #323986

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $179.00
$169.00 /each
Save $10.00 (6%)
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$379.00 /each
Save $20.00 (5%)
$399.00 /each
Name 15-Amp 10 in. Sliding Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity
Brand Ryobi RIDGID DEWALT RIDGID
Ratings (212) (163) (65) (77)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Blade Diameter 10 10 in 12 12
Bevel Type Single Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Positive Stops Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 9.5 4
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

54 Questions144 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
10 answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
TG
March 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2015
Answer: 
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Table saw. It's much easier to cut the dados for the shelves on table saw. You may also be ripping lumber to different widths provided you don't use off the shelf pre-milled lumber which I do not recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw Read More
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw safely. A miter saw is potentially much safer than a table saw, but it will not replace all of the functions that a table saw will do. If you are cross cutting on table saw, you need to do it correctly to avoid kickback. If you are ripping, you have to feed the stock correctly and keep your hands out of the blade. A table saw is a better bet especially for shelving and especially if you need to rip. A table saw is more useful for more tasks. My vote would be for the Table Saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
Table saw. With a CSMS(Compound sliding miter saw) you are limited to 12 to 14 inch cuts. With a table saw you can make any length of rip needed. The CSMS is ideal for cross cutting so if you expect that to be your primary type of cut then the CSMS is idea. Though you can do almost anything with a table saw that you can do with a CSMS. It just takes a higher skill level to do.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Tough question to answer. If you are cutting lengths of shelving narrow enough to be cut on a sliding miter, then it will suffice. A miter saw makes short work of accurate cross cuts, but cannot make any rip cuts. You will have problems making accurate miter cuts on an inexpensive, portable table saw. They are two really different tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
karl
May 8, 2013
Answer: 
I advise you buy a table saw so that you can cut the any width wood what you want.Although for a beginer,the miter saw maybe preformance better when you use it than the table saw.This is only for your reference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
A sliding miter saw would be better as long as you don't plan to make the shelves more than 12" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
If the wood you are using is already cut to width. Say 1x12 for example you would not need a table saw. A table saw is used for cutting down the width of a board a miter saw is used for cutting the length of a board. If you are using premade trim to finish off your bookcase you NEED the miter saw
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 5, 2013
Answer: 
There is no right or wrong answer to this question; it is a matter of personal preference. Factors to consider include the design of the bookcase and type of joints you intend to use. Generally speaking the slidder will handle long stock cross cuts better and safer than a table saw so for a less intricate design with simple joints most would probably be more comfortable with the slidder.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2013
Answer: 
Without any doubt at all - a table saw. The 10" sliding miter saw can only cut up to a width of 12", and a 12" is only a little more than that - 13.5". You will usually need to be able to cut a much higher width than that, and often you'll need to trim a piece lengthways too.
The table saw is your only option for those sorts of uses.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
10 answers

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Undone
Clayton, iN
February 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Houston, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2016
Answer: 
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. However I feel a table saw is much more dependable for this task.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. It's not exactly great. You have to be careful to apply the same down pressure every time and avoid the inclination to press down harder over time. The stop mechanism flexes under pressure and can give you cuts of varying depths if you are not careful. I would have preferred something a bit more substantial. But it does have one and if you pay attention it does work.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. I used mine the other day; worked great. Use a straight piece of scrap wood between your wood and the fence so the blade can go through the entire length of your piece.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has a stop depth setting. But there is no scale with it. To determine the depth you need to measure from the base to the bottom of the blade to get the correct adjustment. Awkward, but it has the capability.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes there is a depth stop setting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it can be set with the bolt on the right side of the saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw Read More
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw with a dado blade otherwise there could be injury due to contact of the blade and saw guards. Read Less
-2points
4out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful6

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
We do not make or support this model, please contact the manufacturer, Chevron 866-974-3443
-30points
2out of 34found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful32
 
7 answers

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Don
June 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to Read More
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rocklin, CA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Buy the Ridgid Mitre Saw Utility Vehicle. It's simple, portable and heavy duty. A great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2013
Answer: 
It will work on any stand. They are all universal. Including the ridgid stand
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 19, 2013
Answer: 
See related products below, an excellent stand that makes the saw more mobile, provide support for long stock and allows the saw to be store vertically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2012
Answer: 
I know this will fit right on the new AC9945 folding stand and I ma sure the older Ac9944. The dewalt DWX723 and DW725 will handle this as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Sacramento Ca
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
I bought the RIDGID Mobile Miter Saw Stand
Model # AC9945 for this saw. It was worth the investment.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2012
Answer: 
This saw does fit a specific Ridgid stand. It’s the Ridgid mobile miter saw stand (Home Depot sku 984-386).
Thank you
Miter Saw Customer Service
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
5 answers

Does the saw have soft start?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Narberth,PA
Read all my Q&A
July 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne ,California
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bradenton FL
Read all my Q&A
May 24, 2016
Answer: 
Yes it has a soft start. Takes a little time to get use to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Montgomery, AL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.
Yes the Ridgid MS255SR has a soft start.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:23:44.905-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great purchase Everything came as requested, easy to assemble and ready to use April 14, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love this saw and stand Very sturdy heavy duty and easy to use. Love the led light and lasers on it. Cuts great. Absolutely love this saw. The stand is a must too. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Versitle Slidng compound miter saw at a reasonable price. Many times I need to cut a short 12 inch shelf....and this does the job. The light and dual laser are accurate once aligned. The miter cuts are great and the noise level is low for this tool. March 22, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As a home handyman I love this saw I love this saw, yes - as other reviewers have noted the lasers are wider than the kerf and sometimes need adjusting from the factory. Maybe I don't have the experience to know any better, but I just did some practice cuts before relying on the laser position and adjusted my expectations based on where the cut was relative to the laser. At least the lasers are WIDER than the kerf, so you can always second-cut if you've left too much on your first cut. The lasers were visibile outside for me (not in full sunlight, but who wants to leave their saw in full sunlight all day?) and easy to align and use. The saw was (relatively) quiet and cut straight and easily every time. Not a big deal because it's easy to add later, but having the Diablo blade as standard equipment is awesome. It's an amazing blade and made short work of my fossilized bamboo. The sawdust bag gets caught when sliding the saw sometimes, but I had hooked up a vac pretty soon after starting my project anyway. January 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't buy! I purchased this saw a month ago based on my needs, the performance and abilities described and the lifetime warranty. The saw cuts well. Has the power I need to cut the materials I use. The laser is not accurate. It is adjustable, but only from the left to right. It is out of alignment from 90 degrees from the fence. It is out of alignment about 2 degrees. On a wide piece it does not indicate where the blade will begin to cut. This is a design issue and could be easily resolved with a redesign of the adjustments for the laser. The dust collector is useless, but then again, aren't they all. Some people have commented that the start up of the blade is slow. The blade does take a second to get to full speed. However, for the price I have no issue here. Overall the saw is well built. I do wish they had included a depth gauge. The saw can be adjusted to set a depth, but with no gauge you must measure from the bottom of the blade and adjust accordingly. Doable, but cumbersome. I also wish they included a bevel lock detent for the common bevel angles. Due to the Laser issue and the lack of a depth gauge I have given quality a 4. Due to other issues I have given the value a 1 and would not recommend this product. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw Love this saw,works good for my woodworking.nice even cuts. March 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Did a lot of research, chose Ridgid Purchased in mid-December 2015. I lucked out (maybe?) and found that my local HD was selling their floor model at a steep discount. Even though it is sold as-is without the Diablo blade, I reasoned that the tool had never really been used so all should be in order. I take it home and familiarize myself with the operations, and it works a treat! After taking it home I noticed that the handle at the rear of the sliders had been damaged, no doubt by people testing the slider and hitting it against the back of the shelf in the store. It was also missing the slide lock knob. I immediately called up Ridgid customer support and gave them the part numbers, and they had the parts to me that same work week! That's some golden customer service. December 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall purchase good product & good features and good construction. February 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality tool at a good price Bought this saw as a home owner mainly for trim work and crown moldings. This saw replaced a basic $100 10" miter saw and there is a world of difference in the quality and features. I did a lot of shopping around before this purchase and this saw has the same features or more than saws that cost $100-$200 more. Hopefully this saw will provide years of service. January 31, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Miter Saw! I had borrowed a miter saw before purchasing this one. This is hands down a great saw. The front locks are very convenient, the laser is dead-on, and the blade that comes with the saw is the same as one of the better after-market blades--extremely smooth cut. The handle is able to be gripped with either hand and provides good control of the saw. I wish that I had this saw when I started my flooring project instead of purchasing half-way through. December 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Upgraded to this saw from a 10" Delta. I'm very happy with it so far. I do find that the dual laser is pretty much useless because it's set wider than the blade. The dust bag does not do a very good job either. Other than that, it's smooth and easy to use! January 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like it Works great. Good saw all around. I wish i would have purchased it sooner January 4, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ok Price is in direct relationship to the quality.. ! January 11, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth It This saw is a workhorse and just what I hoped for in an advanced contractor tool . . . it is accurate, has a firmt platform, and the gentle-start is a bonus . . . no wonder this saw came highly recommended . . . the the price, it might be the best saw in its class. December 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accurate and easy to set up I bought this to do a pine siding project for my wood shop. Being square is very important, and I could easily dial in the angles and make it perfect. Using knotty pine is tough as there is a lot of movement in the wood, and getting it to lay flat can be a problem. But with the laser it was easy. I used only 90 and 45 degree cuts, but switching back and forth between the two was easy. I did all my cutting outside, and used the included bag for dust collection, I would estimate it picked up about 85% of it. I did not try to set up my shop-vac so I cannot comment on that. September 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ssw I use this saw every day in my business can't beat it. December 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw Great saw, cuts anything perfectly straight. Highly recommend. December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best saw I bought a ryobi before buying this saw. I was disappointed with my purchase the the bolt to adjust the laser broke. Took it back and bought this saw and it was the best purchase ever. exact cuts from the start didn't have to make any adjustments to the saw. December 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good saw for the money As a weekend DIY-er, I am very pleased with this saw thus far. Went through the adjustments first thing, and the saw was true right out of the box. Others had complained about the quality of the cuts. I'm installing the wide MDF trim and all the cuts were very smooth. Finished my first room of replacing the trim, and the cuts were all very clean and accurate. I haven't worried about the laser guides yet. The dust collector is worth a hoot. If that's a deal breaker for you, this is not the saw you want. October 13, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 10 IN. SLIDING COMPOUND MITER SAW WITH DUAL LASER GUIDE This saw is a good tool for do it yourself projects around the homestead. I recommend this product for work that requires a lot of angle cutting for roofs and interior work. December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw Had this saw for some time now and love it. Locks in place at the presets and the angles are dead on. Dust collection is about what I expect from this type of saw. December 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Sliding Compound Miter I love the upfront bevel controls. Makes cutting crown molding a breeze. Was setup perfectly right out of the box. The LED gravity light. The duel cut lines. The fact they are not powered by battery, you don't worry about dead batteries at the next job. The soft start is nice, but you have to wait just a bit for the blade to reach full speed before cutting. The saw dust bag actually collects saw dust. Sure maybe not all but way way better than any other that I've used. A lot of extra features that you would pay more for on a major name brand are on this saw. I am from Canada and they do not sell this saw here. What a shame. Home Depot Canada, if you're reading this, look into getting this one on your shelves. I don't need a 12" saw, too big, bulky and heavy. While in the states this summer I picked this one up. October 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent Much better than older generations of both hitachi and ridgid. Also have an older 12" Ridgid December 8, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Putting it back in the box I can not imagine where all these positive reviews came from. The saw was slow to build up rpms. Laser was not visible. Dust collector must be there for looks. Sorry, Rigid. Time to go back to the drawing board. November 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings The bad: Out of the box experience was rocky. The miter lock was inoperative. I called Ridgid and they passed me off to a company called Chevron. The woman was very nice but unhelpful. She told me to return it for another. I was skeptical based on I went to the store and the Demo unit had the same issue. It is a long drive and a lot of work to box it up. My miter lock rod was dangling and wouldn't stay in place. I couldn't see how it was supposed to be held in place. I finally took it apart and found out the piece that is supposed to follow the rod was bound up. I lightly polished the fitting and lubed it. Works like a champ now. The laser is not very bright compared to my other miter saw. You can't see it when you are outside. The warranty is not able to be done completely online. You still have to send in all your documentation VIA snail mail. The good: The blade it comes with cuts well and accurate. The saw out of the box was pretty well tuned for accuracy. October 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this saw! I have done several projects with this saw and absolutely love it. I was concerned that the lower speed of the blade would be a problem. Now that I have used it, I prefer the lower speed. This saw has been a great tool for me. October 21, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Satisfied I rated this product with 4 stars because I've only been using it for a week and I don't know what long term use of the saw will be like. With that being said, I have to say that so far this is a great saw. I tried to get away with a less expensive saw like Ryobi and Kobalt but was concerned that it would not provide the straight cutting quality that I want. I'm just a home owner but I enjoy doing projects around the home and helping out friends. When I first set the saw up the 45 degree settings were perfect but for a straight cut, the blade was skewed slightly to the right compared to the fence. After adjust the fence, it is spot on! I checked the alignment of the laser guides and they are perfect. They line up perfectly with the Diablo blade provided with the saw. It is the first saw that I've had with a laser so I wasn't sure how accurate they would be but I can say that it is super nice. Not only is there a laser but there are two! One on each side of the blade. I change the blade to a higher count blade so the Laser is not lined up the same but it provides a great reference point. Pro's: - the safety switches on the handle, one on each side. Makes it very easy to use regardless of which side of the saw I'm cutting from. - Smooth accurate cut. I have had no problems with it getting out of square - Power, it's got plenty of power to cut through oak - There is a white LED light to light up the table, a very nice and helpful touch - Quick-release miter and bevel lock. This makes it really easy to set the lock to hold the material down to the table - Bevel and miter controls are all up front, very convenient - The motor is tucked up and out of the way Con's: None that I can think of at this point The Ryobi was pretty nice and cost effective. It was also lighter and smaller but the reviews that I read and videos that I saw indicated that it was pretty good all-around but that it is not a precision cutting machine. I actually purchase one and used it for a day and found that it is a pretty nice saw. One thing that I really didn't like about it was that the motor stuck out on the right side of the saw. It makes it difficult to see where I want to cut sometimes. It is a single bevel but that didn't bother me. I also purchased the Kobalt 12-in 15-Amp Dual Bevel Sliding Laser Compound Miter Saw from Lowe's . . all I can say is stay away. When rotating the table to make a miter cut, no matter what stop I went to there was always slop. In other words, if I wanted to make a 45 degree cut and moved the arm to 45 degrees, I could wiggle the arm back and forth and it would move. It didn't move much, maybe 1/16th either way but there is no way to get accurate cuts with the much play. November 12, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Fence issues Purchased this saw for a job a few years ago and never ended up using it, so it sat in the toolshed. Brought it out when I started a new job. Made a couple cuts and was stoked. Everything was good after a few minutes learning the bevel lock. Was using the saw when I had a kickback, nothing major, just enough to startle. Every cut I made after that was totally angled. I tried to resquare the blade when I realized the fence itself had been damaged. Was told by tool department folks my saw was out of warranty and couldn't be fixed by them. I tried to ask about ordering a replacement through them and they told me to do it myself on the website. Website was no help at all. Tried emailing customer service, that was an exercise in futility. Tried finding replacement parts via third party website, the MS255SR might as well be a unicorn, the model is listed NOWHERE on any site I found. Now I have another job coming up and this saw is worthless.. It was great when it worked, for all 12-13 cuts I got out of it. September 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best saw i have owned the saw is good to use and cuts straight and true love the saw. September 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Could not be happier!!! Got this saw a couple of months ago, I had been wanting to get it and finally pulled the trigger and could not be happier! I used to buy nothing but Dewalt thinking it was the standard for contractors, the let down was always the warranty and breakdown. Now I buy nothing but Ridgid, free lifetime warranty and these tools get the job done and for less than the competition! I love having all the bevel features on the front of the saw, I got the Ridgid SUV stand for it, well worth the cost! One touch open and close and you are working in seconds, then roll it away! The saw saw dead on out of the box, it feels good and is well built, the ambidextrous trigger feature is well thought out as I use it and realize latter how fluid it is to operate, I would recommend this saw everyday! June 20, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T14:14:54.891-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_156, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 103ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT