Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

Store SKU #323986

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$169.00 /each
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$349.00 /each
Save $50.00 (13%)
$379.00 /each
Name 15-Amp 10 in. Sliding Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Brand Ryobi RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT
Ratings (244) (178) (246) (88)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Blade Diameter 10 10 in 12 12
Bevel Type Single Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 4 9.5
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

54 Questions144 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
10 answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
TG
March 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2015
Answer: 
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Table saw. It's much easier to cut the dados for the shelves on table saw. You may also be ripping lumber to different widths provided you don't use off the shelf pre-milled lumber which I do not recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw Read More
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw safely. A miter saw is potentially much safer than a table saw, but it will not replace all of the functions that a table saw will do. If you are cross cutting on table saw, you need to do it correctly to avoid kickback. If you are ripping, you have to feed the stock correctly and keep your hands out of the blade. A table saw is a better bet especially for shelving and especially if you need to rip. A table saw is more useful for more tasks. My vote would be for the Table Saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
Table saw. With a CSMS(Compound sliding miter saw) you are limited to 12 to 14 inch cuts. With a table saw you can make any length of rip needed. The CSMS is ideal for cross cutting so if you expect that to be your primary type of cut then the CSMS is idea. Though you can do almost anything with a table saw that you can do with a CSMS. It just takes a higher skill level to do.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Tough question to answer. If you are cutting lengths of shelving narrow enough to be cut on a sliding miter, then it will suffice. A miter saw makes short work of accurate cross cuts, but cannot make any rip cuts. You will have problems making accurate miter cuts on an inexpensive, portable table saw. They are two really different tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
karl
May 8, 2013
Answer: 
I advise you buy a table saw so that you can cut the any width wood what you want.Although for a beginer,the miter saw maybe preformance better when you use it than the table saw.This is only for your reference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
A sliding miter saw would be better as long as you don't plan to make the shelves more than 12" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
If the wood you are using is already cut to width. Say 1x12 for example you would not need a table saw. A table saw is used for cutting down the width of a board a miter saw is used for cutting the length of a board. If you are using premade trim to finish off your bookcase you NEED the miter saw
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 5, 2013
Answer: 
There is no right or wrong answer to this question; it is a matter of personal preference. Factors to consider include the design of the bookcase and type of joints you intend to use. Generally speaking the slidder will handle long stock cross cuts better and safer than a table saw so for a less intricate design with simple joints most would probably be more comfortable with the slidder.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2013
Answer: 
Without any doubt at all - a table saw. The 10" sliding miter saw can only cut up to a width of 12", and a 12" is only a little more than that - 13.5". You will usually need to be able to cut a much higher width than that, and often you'll need to trim a piece lengthways too.
The table saw is your only option for those sorts of uses.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
10 answers

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Undone
Clayton, iN
February 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Houston, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2016
Answer: 
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. However I feel a table saw is much more dependable for this task.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. It's not exactly great. You have to be careful to apply the same down pressure every time and avoid the inclination to press down harder over time. The stop mechanism flexes under pressure and can give you cuts of varying depths if you are not careful. I would have preferred something a bit more substantial. But it does have one and if you pay attention it does work.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. I used mine the other day; worked great. Use a straight piece of scrap wood between your wood and the fence so the blade can go through the entire length of your piece.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has a stop depth setting. But there is no scale with it. To determine the depth you need to measure from the base to the bottom of the blade to get the correct adjustment. Awkward, but it has the capability.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes there is a depth stop setting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it can be set with the bolt on the right side of the saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw Read More
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw with a dado blade otherwise there could be injury due to contact of the blade and saw guards. Read Less
-2points
4out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful6

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
We do not make or support this model, please contact the manufacturer, Chevron 866-974-3443
-30points
2out of 34found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful32
 
7 answers

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Don
June 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to Read More
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rocklin, CA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Buy the Ridgid Mitre Saw Utility Vehicle. It's simple, portable and heavy duty. A great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2013
Answer: 
It will work on any stand. They are all universal. Including the ridgid stand
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 19, 2013
Answer: 
See related products below, an excellent stand that makes the saw more mobile, provide support for long stock and allows the saw to be store vertically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2012
Answer: 
I know this will fit right on the new AC9945 folding stand and I ma sure the older Ac9944. The dewalt DWX723 and DW725 will handle this as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Sacramento Ca
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
I bought the RIDGID Mobile Miter Saw Stand
Model # AC9945 for this saw. It was worth the investment.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2012
Answer: 
This saw does fit a specific Ridgid stand. It’s the Ridgid mobile miter saw stand (Home Depot sku 984-386).
Thank you
Miter Saw Customer Service
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
5 answers

Does the saw have soft start?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Narberth,PA
Read all my Q&A
July 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne ,California
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bradenton FL
Read all my Q&A
May 24, 2016
Answer: 
Yes it has a soft start. Takes a little time to get use to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Montgomery, AL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.
Yes the Ridgid MS255SR has a soft start.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:23:44.905-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 132ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 178.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from fence is not straight fence is not straight making it impossible to get it square to the blade
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Excellent saw, all the features I was looking for at a great price!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missing tools The tools were missing but one quick call and they sent them
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool Love it All controls are at front no reaching over for bevel
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Steep learning curve, solid operation, quite. Steep learning curve, solid operation, quite.
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ridgid was once a great brand, but no more. It is just a orange Ryobi anymore. I have this saw.... Ridgid was once a great brand, but no more. It is just a orange Ryobi anymore. I have this saw. Barely use it, sits in my garage on the Ridgid miter saw stand which is also junk. The bevel lock never did work correctly, finally broke. I took it in for repair (**make sure you register your product or they won't honor the warranty**). The place looked like a dirty pawn shop. They told me it would be 2-4 weeks at least. Something tells me I will never see this saw again. Still waiting.... On top of that, only one laser is adjustable on my model, and the non adjusting one is a good 3/16 of an inch off so it is useless. Otherwise it has a strong motor runs smooth. I recently added a dust collector to my garage dust collection on this saw is nearly useless. The awkward clamping thing they give you with this is pain to use, so it never gets used either. My older Ridgid tools are nearly bulletproof, these are junk. fyi- I have owned this for ~3yrs. Use it so little it still has the original blade on it (that needs to be changed), and I use it more for chopping 2x4s etc. around the house than I do fine detail miter work. Also the Ridgid miter saw stand I bought with this has 2 broken lock knobs that just disintegrated and they don't make replacements.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did a lot of research, chose Ridgid Purchased in mid-December 2015. I lucked out (maybe?) and found that my local HD was selling their floor model at a steep discount. Even though it is sold as-is without the Diablo blade, I reasoned that the tool had never really been used so all should be in order. I take it home and familiarize myself with the operations, and it works a treat! After taking it home I noticed that the handle at the rear of the sliders had been damaged, no doubt by people testing the slider and hitting it against the back of the shelf in the store. It was also missing the slide lock knob. I immediately called up Ridgid customer support and gave them the part numbers, and they had the parts to me that same work week! That's some golden customer service.
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features!! First started with a craftsmen and returned it next day because a rough slide track and it needed alot of adjustments. When unpacked the saw the first thing that caught my attention was that this saw came with a Freud Diablo Saw blade. After setting this on the Ryobi Miter Saw Stand I was really impressed to discover that it was out-of-box trued. Made several test cuts various angles and wow, no adjustments needed.The soft start is great, lasers and LED light fantastic, and the slide track smooth and solid. Wish I bought this set up sooner!
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from More than Satisfactory I've now had my saw approximately two months, used it half a dozen times including both the miter and bevel and have had no problems - and have been very satisfied. And the slider? Smooth as glass. Yes, the laser is off maybe a sixteen of an inch, but rather than attempt to adjust, I just made note of where it cut and adjust myself. And still the laser has been quite helpful. I made a picture frame spot on, have used it with 4x4s and yard timbers, just built a ramp for the elderly, took a stab at crown molding with success, and have been completely satisfied so far. Time will tell, but I did quite a bit of research, and for the money vs. what was offered, felt this the best deal going I could find. Have not been disappointed so far.
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good chop saw I bought it about 2 years ago ,I use it for crown molding and baseboard mostly ,it's very complete ,it has all the angles possible for cutting trim and attachments to hold the material, plus the LED comes really handy in low visibility areas ,a very solid saw. I would recommend it to do it yourselfers and professionals alike.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great 10 in Sliding Saw! For the money, you cannot go wrong. I've used this saw everyday and have not had a problem with this saw. The Diablo blade that it comes with is super sharp. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was the Laser. The Double laser is very hard to use. I wish it would of had the single laser.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Great saw, meets and exceeds all of my needs. Only thing is that it or a comparable model isn't sold in stores so you have to order online.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Buy I researched sliding miter saws heavily before selecting this one. I wanted to replace my old compound miter saw and wanted something with an accurate laser. Pros: -Bevel control at the front -Adjustable clamp is super handy -Comes with a high-quality Freud blade -Soft start motor -Design for portability so it easily "folds up" Cons: -The reviews I read indicated that dust collection was stellar. Well, it's not. I highly recommend this saw. It seems like they thought of everything and mine was powerful and accurate right out of the box.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a home handyman I love this saw I love this saw, yes - as other reviewers have noted the lasers are wider than the kerf and sometimes need adjusting from the factory. Maybe I don't have the experience to know any better, but I just did some practice cuts before relying on the laser position and adjusted my expectations based on where the cut was relative to the laser. At least the lasers are WIDER than the kerf, so you can always second-cut if you've left too much on your first cut. The lasers were visibile outside for me (not in full sunlight, but who wants to leave their saw in full sunlight all day?) and easy to align and use. The saw was (relatively) quiet and cut straight and easily every time. Not a big deal because it's easy to add later, but having the Diablo blade as standard equipment is awesome. It's an amazing blade and made short work of my fossilized bamboo. The sawdust bag gets caught when sliding the saw sometimes, but I had hooked up a vac pretty soon after starting my project anyway.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw right out of the box. Once i received the saw i took it out of the box, set it up on my stand, then i proceeded to check all the squares and angles were spot on. I only had to adjust the laser on the line but they give you the tool and it was only seconds to adjust it. It's hard to adjust to all the levers and locks but thats with all new tools. Is way better and cuts so much better than my constantly changing Harbor freight junk saw. Just having trouble getting it registered. They want mailed in proof.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality tool at a good price Bought this saw as a home owner mainly for trim work and crown moldings. This saw replaced a basic $100 10" miter saw and there is a world of difference in the quality and features. I did a lot of shopping around before this purchase and this saw has the same features or more than saws that cost $100-$200 more. Hopefully this saw will provide years of service.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to learn and use I bought this saw with the Ridgid mobile saw stand and they went together perfectly and easily. I wanted this saw for finishing my basement and initially i used it as a chopbox and it was very easy to setup and learn... my wife liked it so much that she wanted to make all of the cuts. The miter and double bevel features are, again, easy to use and well executed. The saw is very stable. As far as demerits, i would say the only issues i have found after making hundreds of cuts was that the back fences are not perfectly flush and the laser-lines are not perfectly aligned to the blade. But they are easy issues to overcome/predict.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Solid Saw The saw was true right out of the box. I read a lot of complaints about the laser but I have never seen a true laser in any tool I have purchased. The laser is a dual laser that shows on either side of the blade. It is definitely wider than the Diablo blade that is comes with but after a couple test cuts I could tell where the blade would hit. Used it to frame up a new outdoor entrance to a basement on a sloped concrete foundation. Dialed it in at 18 degrees and after 20 cuts they were all perfect. This saw is heavy but anyone who wants a light saw is probably only needing it for light duty. i have used this to cut 2x12 for porch steps, and 4x4 beams for the supports. The dual handles make it very easy to transport from work site to work site. Love the saw.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw... Great saw with a ton of features for a great price. The soft start motor is a huge plus. The only downside I have noticed is that the LED cut lines do not show when working outdoor in sunny conditions.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I dont have much to compare this Miter Saw to, but I can tell you I've went through 3 seperate saws within the past month. This ends the search. As a new homeowner, I was looking for a very good quality miter saw, but nothing I was going to go out and make a living with. I started with a Ryobi 10" miter(pawn shop), which just did not fit the bill in regards to quality. Next, I couldn't pass up on on a sale for the kobalt 10" sliding miter. Squaring the fense was incredibly difficult and the laser was nothing more than a laser that put a line randomly down on wood. it was approx .25" off. After using it for a weekend, it made an easy job somewhat hard and just wasn't what I was looking for, so I took it back. Went to Home Depot and took advantage of Veterans weekend sale and bought this sliding miter. What a difference. It's night and day. The quality is exactly what I was after and my cuts were square right out of box. Laser seems dead on and no adjustments have needed to be made. Again, I've only had this saw for a couple days, but I can confidently say it is top notch. I'm not sure another saw could offer me anything else I would need.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings The bad: Out of the box experience was rocky. The miter lock was inoperative. I called Ridgid and they passed me off to a company called Chevron. The woman was very nice but unhelpful. She told me to return it for another. I was skeptical based on I went to the store and the Demo unit had the same issue. It is a long drive and a lot of work to box it up. My miter lock rod was dangling and wouldn't stay in place. I couldn't see how it was supposed to be held in place. I finally took it apart and found out the piece that is supposed to follow the rod was bound up. I lightly polished the fitting and lubed it. Works like a champ now. The laser is not very bright compared to my other miter saw. You can't see it when you are outside. The warranty is not able to be done completely online. You still have to send in all your documentation VIA snail mail. The good: The blade it comes with cuts well and accurate. The saw out of the box was pretty well tuned for accuracy.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite suprised!!! Very nice saw. Well, so much for the past reviews on the laser....I just picked up a 10" DBL BVL Rigid saw at HD and right out of the box the laser was dead on. So I guess they fixed that and thought everyone should know. At least mine was just fine. Over all quality was very good and I didn't notice any rev delay on the motor. Even IF the delay were a couple of seconds, who jumps right in and makes a cut that fast. Lets see, 400 cuts, 2 seconds each, that's about 13 minutes in a day.....really? Ok, I've done professional work but now I only do home projects. I don't think for the money anyone is going to find a better value. Maybe equal but not better. You get a very good blade and it's less $$ than the Yellow one, And for the record, no one asked me to place this review. I just thought it was only right, having read some of the negatives that the record should be up to date.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I unboxed and started using immediatly. Left laser was spot on. The right side one was off just a little, I just need to adjust. Other than that, It has been a great saw for the money!
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Miter Saw! I had borrowed a miter saw before purchasing this one. This is hands down a great saw. The front locks are very convenient, the laser is dead-on, and the blade that comes with the saw is the same as one of the better after-market blades--extremely smooth cut. The handle is able to be gripped with either hand and provides good control of the saw. I wish that I had this saw when I started my flooring project instead of purchasing half-way through.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from *delay is engineered and a positive feature for avid woodworkers The delay being spoke about is engineered into many of the newer model miter saws. It is a positive feature for a serious woodworker that needs max precision. Here's why: The motors on the top brand miter saws are very powerful and produce a high amount of torque. If you were able to engage all the power all at once, you would feel and see the saw jerk. This jerk would make it significantly more difficult to make accurate cuts, and at the same time produce more wear and tear on the saw itself. I know this first hand because I also own an older 15 amp Craftsman that does not have this feature. The fine tuning on the Ridgid saw is much easier to manipulate. You can literally cut fractions of a single degree without much problem. The saw is a bit pricey but perhaps not nearly as overpriced as a Dewalt.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday use Loved this saw out of the box. I found the clamp was a little hard to remove until I realized it has a cam lock in it. Once I twisted it correctly, it came right out. Had to remember to remove the upper and lower fences for full bevel capacity. Love the adjustable bevel lock feature but it takes some getting used to. Watched a youtube video for help. Then called customer service, they really understand the product and use of the bevel lock adjustment. The blade has stayed sharp after 2 months of weekend use. I love it!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Satisfied I rated this product with 4 stars because I've only been using it for a week and I don't know what long term use of the saw will be like. With that being said, I have to say that so far this is a great saw. I tried to get away with a less expensive saw like Ryobi and Kobalt but was concerned that it would not provide the straight cutting quality that I want. I'm just a home owner but I enjoy doing projects around the home and helping out friends. When I first set the saw up the 45 degree settings were perfect but for a straight cut, the blade was skewed slightly to the right compared to the fence. After adjust the fence, it is spot on! I checked the alignment of the laser guides and they are perfect. They line up perfectly with the Diablo blade provided with the saw. It is the first saw that I've had with a laser so I wasn't sure how accurate they would be but I can say that it is super nice. Not only is there a laser but there are two! One on each side of the blade. I change the blade to a higher count blade so the Laser is not lined up the same but it provides a great reference point. Pro's: - the safety switches on the handle, one on each side. Makes it very easy to use regardless of which side of the saw I'm cutting from. - Smooth accurate cut. I have had no problems with it getting out of square - Power, it's got plenty of power to cut through oak - There is a white LED light to light up the table, a very nice and helpful touch - Quick-release miter and bevel lock. This makes it really easy to set the lock to hold the material down to the table - Bevel and miter controls are all up front, very convenient - The motor is tucked up and out of the way Con's: None that I can think of at this point The Ryobi was pretty nice and cost effective. It was also lighter and smaller but the reviews that I read and videos that I saw indicated that it was pretty good all-around but that it is not a precision cutting machine. I actually purchase one and used it for a day and found that it is a pretty nice saw. One thing that I really didn't like about it was that the motor stuck out on the right side of the saw. It makes it difficult to see where I want to cut sometimes. It is a single bevel but that didn't bother me. I also purchased the Kobalt 12-in 15-Amp Dual Bevel Sliding Laser Compound Miter Saw from Lowe's . . all I can say is stay away. When rotating the table to make a miter cut, no matter what stop I went to there was always slop. In other words, if I wanted to make a 45 degree cut and moved the arm to 45 degrees, I could wiggle the arm back and forth and it would move. It didn't move much, maybe 1/16th either way but there is no way to get accurate cuts with the much play.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not be happier!!! Got this saw a couple of months ago, I had been wanting to get it and finally pulled the trigger and could not be happier! I used to buy nothing but Dewalt thinking it was the standard for contractors, the let down was always the warranty and breakdown. Now I buy nothing but Ridgid, free lifetime warranty and these tools get the job done and for less than the competition! I love having all the bevel features on the front of the saw, I got the Ridgid SUV stand for it, well worth the cost! One touch open and close and you are working in seconds, then roll it away! The saw saw dead on out of the box, it feels good and is well built, the ambidextrous trigger feature is well thought out as I use it and realize latter how fluid it is to operate, I would recommend this saw everyday!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw. The wife bought me this saw as an early Xmas present. wasnt sure it would perform like a hitachi or bosch but gave it a try anyway. Had to build a custom mantel and book case and was on a very tight deadline, so i didnt have time to calibrate anything. was very suprised that the saw cut perfectly square out of the box. the saw has some great features such as front controls, led work light, dual laser (not totally accurate, but if you need this you probably shouldn't be building anthing of any difficulty) crown stop and one of the most important imo slow-start. The only cons are the safety takes some getting used to and for some reason the dust collection worked pretty well for the first couple hours then after emptying the bag and clearing the port it seemed like nothing was making it into the bag. probably something simple to fix just havent had the time. got this on sale for $299 which is well below dewalt, bosch, makita and hitachi, but can perform just the same. i would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw. Works great The saw is very accurate right out of the box. Best saw I ever used...very impressed with everything about this saw. Love the biablo blade that comes with it. Cuts very smoothly and never slows down. Saw has great power and accuracy. Great job ridgid....and home depot..
Date published: 2016-04-14
  • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_177
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT