Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

Discontinued RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$199.00 /each
$349.00 /each
$399.00 /each
$499.00 /each
Name 15 Amp 10 in. Dual Bevel Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity
Brand RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT RIDGID
Ratings (81) (210) (88) (367)
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 6.75 4
Miter Saw Type Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Bevel Type Dual Dual Dual Dual
Reconditioned No No No No
Blade Diameter (in.) 10 10 12
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Positive Stops Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

Asked by: Anonymous
Definitely agree with "Sing". But for a little more than the price of this excellent Rigid CMS, you can have both! Look at the Ryobi 10" CMS (12" crosscut capacity) and the Ryobi 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Quick Stand (27" rip capacity). These saws are excellent entry level DIY tools. They are easy to store and easy to move around. Craftsman also has comparable saws. Watch all the YouTube videos on table saw safety! Saws do not cut...they cut off!!!
Answered by: pmike
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

Asked by: Anonymous
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
Answered by: texasgolfer
Date published: 2016-08-18

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

Asked by: Anonymous
This saw can fit almost any stand. I use a folding delta to move it around. Rigid stand is a lot better constructed.
Answered by: lwillie
Date published: 2017-03-07

If I buy this saw online, it still comes with the lifetime warranty correct?

Asked by: WoodWerx
Yes the Ridgid sliding miter saw come with a life time warranty if purchases online or in the store. You must redgiater the saw with Ridgid to obtain the warranty or settle for a three year warranty,if not registered.
Answered by: JimyD
Date published: 2017-03-04
  • y_2017, m_6, d_21, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_77
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite suprised!!! Very nice saw. Well, so much for the past reviews on the laser....I just picked up a 10" DBL BVL Rigid saw at HD and right out of the box the laser was dead on. So I guess they fixed that and thought everyone should know. At least mine was just fine. Over all quality was very good and I didn't notice any rev delay on the motor. Even IF the delay were a couple of seconds, who jumps right in and makes a cut that fast. Lets see, 400 cuts, 2 seconds each, that's about 13 minutes in a day.....really? Ok, I've done professional work but now I only do home projects. I don't think for the money anyone is going to find a better value. Maybe equal but not better. You get a very good blade and it's less $$ than the Yellow one, And for the record, no one asked me to place this review. I just thought it was only right, having read some of the negatives that the record should be up to date.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday use Loved this saw out of the box. I found the clamp was a little hard to remove until I realized it has a cam lock in it. Once I twisted it correctly, it came right out. Had to remember to remove the upper and lower fences for full bevel capacity. Love the adjustable bevel lock feature but it takes some getting used to. Watched a youtube video for help. Then called customer service, they really understand the product and use of the bevel lock adjustment. The blade has stayed sharp after 2 months of weekend use. I love it!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with my purchase I bought this saw a year ago and since that time worked with it a lot. It is a convenient, pretty precise and, I hope, reliable tool (at least I didn't have any problem so far). After several months intensive work I noticed that the laser light became weak and than practically disappeared. I was very disappointed for a couple of days until I thought of the idea that the lamp could be covered by dust. Using a brush I fixed the problem. However, speaking about this dual laser, I think it would be much better to make the distance between two lines of laser light equal to the thickness of the blade (about 3/32"). It would make work with the tool much more convenient, precise and universal for both left and right cuts. Yet this does not decrease my rating.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from *delay is engineered and a positive feature for avid woodworkers The delay being spoke about is engineered into many of the newer model miter saws. It is a positive feature for a serious woodworker that needs max precision. Here's why: The motors on the top brand miter saws are very powerful and produce a high amount of torque. If you were able to engage all the power all at once, you would feel and see the saw jerk. This jerk would make it significantly more difficult to make accurate cuts, and at the same time produce more wear and tear on the saw itself. I know this first hand because I also own an older 15 amp Craftsman that does not have this feature. The fine tuning on the Ridgid saw is much easier to manipulate. You can literally cut fractions of a single degree without much problem. The saw is a bit pricey but perhaps not nearly as overpriced as a Dewalt.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw. The wife bought me this saw as an early Xmas present. wasnt sure it would perform like a hitachi or bosch but gave it a try anyway. Had to build a custom mantel and book case and was on a very tight deadline, so i didnt have time to calibrate anything. was very suprised that the saw cut perfectly square out of the box. the saw has some great features such as front controls, led work light, dual laser (not totally accurate, but if you need this you probably shouldn't be building anthing of any difficulty) crown stop and one of the most important imo slow-start. The only cons are the safety takes some getting used to and for some reason the dust collection worked pretty well for the first couple hours then after emptying the bag and clearing the port it seemed like nothing was making it into the bag. probably something simple to fix just havent had the time. got this on sale for $299 which is well below dewalt, bosch, makita and hitachi, but can perform just the same. i would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Deal for the money I am happy with the saw overall. The laser needs an auto shut off, or only come on when a person depresses the safety lock. In the daylight laser is hard to see and is easy to leave on. I Like all of the angle adjustments in the front of the saw.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now this is What I'm talking about! I found the saw was easy to put attachments on,the overall quality of the product was very well maintained, the dual lazer took the guess work out of cutting on the line,the blade created very low saw dust,the lighted work area help out also.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridgid shines again on delivering the best mid-price range tool! The Diablo blade cuts like a hot... Ridgid shines again on delivering the best mid-price range tool! The Diablo blade cuts like a hot knife through butter. The LED light and laser guide makes lining up cuts super quick and easy. Overall this exceeds my expectations.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings The bad: Out of the box experience was rocky. The miter lock was inoperative. I called Ridgid and they passed me off to a company called Chevron. The woman was very nice but unhelpful. She told me to return it for another. I was skeptical based on I went to the store and the Demo unit had the same issue. It is a long drive and a lot of work to box it up. My miter lock rod was dangling and wouldn't stay in place. I couldn't see how it was supposed to be held in place. I finally took it apart and found out the piece that is supposed to follow the rod was bound up. I lightly polished the fitting and lubed it. Works like a champ now. The laser is not very bright compared to my other miter saw. You can't see it when you are outside. The warranty is not able to be done completely online. You still have to send in all your documentation VIA snail mail. The good: The blade it comes with cuts well and accurate. The saw out of the box was pretty well tuned for accuracy.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good chop saw I bought it about 2 years ago ,I use it for crown molding and baseboard mostly ,it's very complete ,it has all the angles possible for cutting trim and attachments to hold the material, plus the LED comes really handy in low visibility areas ,a very solid saw. I would recommend it to do it yourselfers and professionals alike.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! This saw has worked perfectly. Glad I spent the extra money and went for the bigger one!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great 10 in Sliding Saw! For the money, you cannot go wrong. I've used this saw everyday and have not had a problem with this saw. The Diablo blade that it comes with is super sharp. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was the Laser. The Double laser is very hard to use. I wish it would of had the single laser.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not be happier!!! Got this saw a couple of months ago, I had been wanting to get it and finally pulled the trigger and could not be happier! I used to buy nothing but Dewalt thinking it was the standard for contractors, the let down was always the warranty and breakdown. Now I buy nothing but Ridgid, free lifetime warranty and these tools get the job done and for less than the competition! I love having all the bevel features on the front of the saw, I got the Ridgid SUV stand for it, well worth the cost! One touch open and close and you are working in seconds, then roll it away! The saw saw dead on out of the box, it feels good and is well built, the ambidextrous trigger feature is well thought out as I use it and realize latter how fluid it is to operate, I would recommend this saw everyday!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Great saw, meets and exceeds all of my needs. Only thing is that it or a comparable model isn't sold in stores so you have to order online.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My last SCM saw bit the dust after years of faithful service. I needed a saw "today" and this was the best deal at HD IMO. So far it's been a great saw. Smooth, great accuracy, the ability to cut 60* is a big improvement over my last one. When framing a 8/12 pitch wall the std angle is 33.9*, and the alternate angle being 54* is tough to do on many saws. The saw does have some bulk in plastic that's probably unnecessary, but the castings are well built, the movement is clean and smooth, and the cuts are precise. After a few hundred cuts, I can't complain. It was expensive and if they had the 12" I would have probably spent the extra $150, but only the 10 is stocked now at most stores. Either one will cut almost any dimensional lumber. The lights and laser are worthless. I can't say I've ever been in a dark room and thought "you know, if this saw just had a light on it, I could see the board I'm trying to cut." I would get a real light. Just a gimmick. I can't see anyone actually trying to use a laser for any type of precise cutting. I wouldn't even use them for framing. For me that's not a detracting point as I had no intention of ever using either function.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Buy I researched sliding miter saws heavily before selecting this one. I wanted to replace my old compound miter saw and wanted something with an accurate laser. Pros: -Bevel control at the front -Adjustable clamp is super handy -Comes with a high-quality Freud blade -Soft start motor -Design for portability so it easily "folds up" Cons: -The reviews I read indicated that dust collection was stellar. Well, it's not. I highly recommend this saw. It seems like they thought of everything and mine was powerful and accurate right out of the box.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Satisfied I rated this product with 4 stars because I've only been using it for a week and I don't know what long term use of the saw will be like. With that being said, I have to say that so far this is a great saw. I tried to get away with a less expensive saw like Ryobi and Kobalt but was concerned that it would not provide the straight cutting quality that I want. I'm just a home owner but I enjoy doing projects around the home and helping out friends. When I first set the saw up the 45 degree settings were perfect but for a straight cut, the blade was skewed slightly to the right compared to the fence. After adjust the fence, it is spot on! I checked the alignment of the laser guides and they are perfect. They line up perfectly with the Diablo blade provided with the saw. It is the first saw that I've had with a laser so I wasn't sure how accurate they would be but I can say that it is super nice. Not only is there a laser but there are two! One on each side of the blade. I change the blade to a higher count blade so the Laser is not lined up the same but it provides a great reference point. Pro's: - the safety switches on the handle, one on each side. Makes it very easy to use regardless of which side of the saw I'm cutting from. - Smooth accurate cut. I have had no problems with it getting out of square - Power, it's got plenty of power to cut through oak - There is a white LED light to light up the table, a very nice and helpful touch - Quick-release miter and bevel lock. This makes it really easy to set the lock to hold the material down to the table - Bevel and miter controls are all up front, very convenient - The motor is tucked up and out of the way Con's: None that I can think of at this point The Ryobi was pretty nice and cost effective. It was also lighter and smaller but the reviews that I read and videos that I saw indicated that it was pretty good all-around but that it is not a precision cutting machine. I actually purchase one and used it for a day and found that it is a pretty nice saw. One thing that I really didn't like about it was that the motor stuck out on the right side of the saw. It makes it difficult to see where I want to cut sometimes. It is a single bevel but that didn't bother me. I also purchased the Kobalt 12-in 15-Amp Dual Bevel Sliding Laser Compound Miter Saw from Lowe's . . all I can say is stay away. When rotating the table to make a miter cut, no matter what stop I went to there was always slop. In other words, if I wanted to make a 45 degree cut and moved the arm to 45 degrees, I could wiggle the arm back and forth and it would move. It didn't move much, maybe 1/16th either way but there is no way to get accurate cuts with the much play.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw right out of the box. Once i received the saw i took it out of the box, set it up on my stand, then i proceeded to check all the squares and angles were spot on. I only had to adjust the laser on the line but they give you the tool and it was only seconds to adjust it. It's hard to adjust to all the levers and locks but thats with all new tools. Is way better and cuts so much better than my constantly changing Harbor freight junk saw. Just having trouble getting it registered. They want mailed in proof.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from saw works well but Rigid makes registering for lifetime warranty so hard that it is practically u... saw works well but Rigid makes registering for lifetime warranty so hard that it is practically useless. was told by Rigid rep visiting store about lifetime warranty and all I had to do was enter Home Depot receipt #, so I bought the Rigid. Rep was so wrong--had to enter every piece of info about saw and me except my SSN and then, after about two weeks, Rigid rejected my lifetime warranty application--said I needed to send in original receipt by registered mail. talk about making it extremely hard....
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality tool at a good price Bought this saw as a home owner mainly for trim work and crown moldings. This saw replaced a basic $100 10" miter saw and there is a world of difference in the quality and features. I did a lot of shopping around before this purchase and this saw has the same features or more than saws that cost $100-$200 more. Hopefully this saw will provide years of service.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready, Set, Cut Picked this one up today, the shortest day of the year. With lots of cuts to get in before dark, it was nice to pull this thing out of the box and find that everything is zeroed in and ready ti use. The lasers seemed clise enough, but I don't depend on those for accurate cuts on any of my saws. Besudes being smooth and accurate, I like the soft start, miter/bevels controls at the front, the LED worklight, the work piece clamp, power cord hooks and evrything locks down so it's easily carried. Oh and it came with my favorite brand if blades, the Diablo. I like it.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Upgraded to this saw from a 10" Delta. I'm very happy with it so far. I do find that the dual laser is pretty much useless because it's set wider than the blade. The dust bag does not do a very good job either. Other than that, it's smooth and easy to use!
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of precise machinery !!!! I purchased the 12" slider + free stand first. I could not get the travel square with the fence and the blade square with the fence at the same time. I got rid of the 12", and bought the 10" slider instead. This saw was perfectly square out of the box !!! I used high precision squares to check everything, and found that NOTHING needed adjusted !!!! The only thing I regret, was not purchasing this saw first. this 10" slider is so easy to operate, and is so much more refined than the 12" version. Another thing that I noticed was there is zero lateral play in the linear bearing slide, even when fully extended. The bearing slides are the smoothest I have seen. I can not say enough how happy I am with the quality of this 10" RIDGID sliding miter saw. I am filling my shop with RIDGID power tools now. For $399.00, you can a very beautiful machine. Don't be swayed by reviews that yam about laser accuracy and other nonsense like that. I love this saw, and so will you !!!
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw... Great saw with a ton of features for a great price. The soft start motor is a huge plus. The only downside I have noticed is that the LED cut lines do not show when working outdoor in sunny conditions.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Features, bad laser light The saw has great features, and one very bad. Pros: Great soft start motor, no kick up, sound is quieter and smoother than all others in it's class. The sliding mechanism is the smoothest in the class. You can push this saw forward with a feather. The Ridgid's dust collection is about 30%, about par for this kind of saw. Front lock mechanism needed a slight adjustment, (easily done) to remove some play. Cons: Laser light not visible outside. Left laser light right on, initially. Right laser light off about 3/16" and could not be adjusted to be correct. Left laser light not visible at all after one month of use, inside or outside. Summation: If the Ridgid followed a competitor's LED light system, you would have a nearly perfect saw. Unfortunately it's a huge disadvantage not having a light system that works. If you don't need or care about the light system, then this is the saw to get. For me, I'll keep looking.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unable to keep fence true with the blade. I have to reset it everytime it is used Unable to keep fence true with the blade. I have to reset it everytime it is used
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate and easy to set up I bought this to do a pine siding project for my wood shop. Being square is very important, and I could easily dial in the angles and make it perfect. Using knotty pine is tough as there is a lot of movement in the wood, and getting it to lay flat can be a problem. But with the laser it was easy. I used only 90 and 45 degree cuts, but switching back and forth between the two was easy. I did all my cutting outside, and used the included bag for dust collection, I would estimate it picked up about 85% of it. I did not try to set up my shop-vac so I cannot comment on that.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Saw I really like this saw. It seems to be pretty accurate and very easy to make setup adjustments for each cut. We built a two story deck with this saw and it worked great. It did slow down a bit with the larger size lumber (4x12x12) as many saws do, but with a good blade, it worked just as good and the higher price 10” miter saws I have used in the past.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10" Rigid miter saw The Rigid 10" miter saw was good right out of the box. The cuts were smooth with very little to no blow out or fuzz on the under side of the cut. I really like the Freud Diablo blade that came stock with the saw. Checked the laser on the left side of the blade and the blade cut dead on but when I tried it to the right of the blade and all miter cuts it was off. Will have to check into the adjustments for this, just did not have the time on the job site. The slide cuts were easy and smooth with little effort. The clamp for holding pieces down on the miter table just got in the way, easy to remove. Overall very nice saw and the Life time warranty is a real plus. I replaced a Delta Sawbuck that I have used for over 20 years, so it will take some time for me to get use to set up with long pieces of trim with this new saw.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the easiest miter saw to use This saw is hands down the most simple to use. no more reaching over to the back of the saw to set the bevel cuts. All levers and buttons are in the front making for faster adjustments.The motor starts out slow and in a few seconds reaches its max speed.This stops any jerky movements that cause problems when cutting a very small piece. my only complaint is it should come with at least a 60 tooth blade. Not a 40.
Date published: 2013-03-16
  • y_2017, m_6, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_209
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 256ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT