Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$349.00 /each
Save $50.00 (13%)
$399.00 /each
$399.00 /each
Name 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Brand RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT DEWALT
Ratings (183) (273) (99) (45)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Blade Diameter 10 in 12 12 12
Bevel Type Dual Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features No Additional Features Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops Positive Stops Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 4 9.5 6.75
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

Asked by: Anonymous
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
Answered by: Randalation
Date published: 2016-12-25

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

Asked by: Anonymous
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
Answered by: texasgolfer
Date published: 2016-08-18

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

Asked by: Anonymous
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes.
Answered by: Sing
Date published: 2016-05-28

Does the saw have soft start?

Asked by: john
Yes.
Answered by: None
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_63
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 183.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not be happier!!! Got this saw a couple of months ago, I had been wanting to get it and finally pulled the trigger and could not be happier! I used to buy nothing but Dewalt thinking it was the standard for contractors, the let down was always the warranty and breakdown. Now I buy nothing but Ridgid, free lifetime warranty and these tools get the job done and for less than the competition! I love having all the bevel features on the front of the saw, I got the Ridgid SUV stand for it, well worth the cost! One touch open and close and you are working in seconds, then roll it away! The saw saw dead on out of the box, it feels good and is well built, the ambidextrous trigger feature is well thought out as I use it and realize latter how fluid it is to operate, I would recommend this saw everyday!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw. The wife bought me this saw as an early Xmas present. wasnt sure it would perform like a hitachi or bosch but gave it a try anyway. Had to build a custom mantel and book case and was on a very tight deadline, so i didnt have time to calibrate anything. was very suprised that the saw cut perfectly square out of the box. the saw has some great features such as front controls, led work light, dual laser (not totally accurate, but if you need this you probably shouldn't be building anthing of any difficulty) crown stop and one of the most important imo slow-start. The only cons are the safety takes some getting used to and for some reason the dust collection worked pretty well for the first couple hours then after emptying the bag and clearing the port it seemed like nothing was making it into the bag. probably something simple to fix just havent had the time. got this on sale for $299 which is well below dewalt, bosch, makita and hitachi, but can perform just the same. i would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Tool I bought this at Home Depot to replace my older saw. I am a custom wood shop so everything I do must be dead on as well having original designs. This saw is so versatile and it takes much of the eyeballing out of the equation. The lasers perform perfectly to cut a double bevel and I have not had any issues with a compound cut. The gradual spool up is great as well. If you are looking for a saw to have this is the one.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw. Works great The saw is very accurate right out of the box. Best saw I ever used...very impressed with everything about this saw. Love the biablo blade that comes with it. Cuts very smoothly and never slows down. Saw has great power and accuracy. Great job ridgid....and home depot..
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Deal for the money I am happy with the saw overall. The laser needs an auto shut off, or only come on when a person depresses the safety lock. In the daylight laser is hard to see and is easy to leave on. I Like all of the angle adjustments in the front of the saw.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versitle Slidng compound miter saw at a reasonable price. Many times I need to cut a short 12 inch shelf....and this does the job. The light and dual laser are accurate once aligned. The miter cuts are great and the noise level is low for this tool.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate and easy to set up I bought this to do a pine siding project for my wood shop. Being square is very important, and I could easily dial in the angles and make it perfect. Using knotty pine is tough as there is a lot of movement in the wood, and getting it to lay flat can be a problem. But with the laser it was easy. I used only 90 and 45 degree cuts, but switching back and forth between the two was easy. I did all my cutting outside, and used the included bag for dust collection, I would estimate it picked up about 85% of it. I did not try to set up my shop-vac so I cannot comment on that.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My last SCM saw bit the dust after years of faithful service. I needed a saw "today" and this was the best deal at HD IMO. So far it's been a great saw. Smooth, great accuracy, the ability to cut 60* is a big improvement over my last one. When framing a 8/12 pitch wall the std angle is 33.9*, and the alternate angle being 54* is tough to do on many saws. The saw does have some bulk in plastic that's probably unnecessary, but the castings are well built, the movement is clean and smooth, and the cuts are precise. After a few hundred cuts, I can't complain. It was expensive and if they had the 12" I would have probably spent the extra $150, but only the 10 is stocked now at most stores. Either one will cut almost any dimensional lumber. The lights and laser are worthless. I can't say I've ever been in a dark room and thought "you know, if this saw just had a light on it, I could see the board I'm trying to cut." I would get a real light. Just a gimmick. I can't see anyone actually trying to use a laser for any type of precise cutting. I wouldn't even use them for framing. For me that's not a detracting point as I had no intention of ever using either function.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality tool at a good price Bought this saw as a home owner mainly for trim work and crown moldings. This saw replaced a basic $100 10" miter saw and there is a world of difference in the quality and features. I did a lot of shopping around before this purchase and this saw has the same features or more than saws that cost $100-$200 more. Hopefully this saw will provide years of service.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful piece of precise machinery !!!! I purchased the 12" slider + free stand first. I could not get the travel square with the fence and the blade square with the fence at the same time. I got rid of the 12", and bought the 10" slider instead. This saw was perfectly square out of the box !!! I used high precision squares to check everything, and found that NOTHING needed adjusted !!!! The only thing I regret, was not purchasing this saw first. this 10" slider is so easy to operate, and is so much more refined than the 12" version. Another thing that I noticed was there is zero lateral play in the linear bearing slide, even when fully extended. The bearing slides are the smoothest I have seen. I can not say enough how happy I am with the quality of this 10" RIDGID sliding miter saw. I am filling my shop with RIDGID power tools now. For $399.00, you can a very beautiful machine. Don't be swayed by reviews that yam about laser accuracy and other nonsense like that. I love this saw, and so will you !!!
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw for the money As a weekend DIY-er, I am very pleased with this saw thus far. Went through the adjustments first thing, and the saw was true right out of the box. Others had complained about the quality of the cuts. I'm installing the wide MDF trim and all the cuts were very smooth. Finished my first room of replacing the trim, and the cuts were all very clean and accurate. I haven't worried about the laser guides yet. The dust collector is worth a hoot. If that's a deal breaker for you, this is not the saw you want.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready, Set, Cut Picked this one up today, the shortest day of the year. With lots of cuts to get in before dark, it was nice to pull this thing out of the box and find that everything is zeroed in and ready ti use. The lasers seemed clise enough, but I don't depend on those for accurate cuts on any of my saws. Besudes being smooth and accurate, I like the soft start, miter/bevels controls at the front, the LED worklight, the work piece clamp, power cord hooks and evrything locks down so it's easily carried. Oh and it came with my favorite brand if blades, the Diablo. I like it.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth It This saw is a workhorse and just what I hoped for in an advanced contractor tool . . . it is accurate, has a firmt platform, and the gentle-start is a bonus . . . no wonder this saw came highly recommended . . . the the price, it might be the best saw in its class.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Upgraded to this saw from a 10" Delta. I'm very happy with it so far. I do find that the dual laser is pretty much useless because it's set wider than the blade. The dust bag does not do a very good job either. Other than that, it's smooth and easy to use!
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this saw! I have done several projects with this saw and absolutely love it. I was concerned that the lower speed of the blade would be a problem. Now that I have used it, I prefer the lower speed. This saw has been a great tool for me.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Miter Saw I shopped long and hard before I purchased this saw. Wish I had purchased sooner as I was forced to use a Dewalt 12in non-sliding saw with the terrible stock blade which left tons of tearout on my hard maple. This saw is a world of difference. I actually use and like the light and laser guide. Setup was easy and just the fence was slightly skewed from the factory. Got a great deal on the saw and would recommend highly.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Features, bad laser light The saw has great features, and one very bad. Pros: Great soft start motor, no kick up, sound is quieter and smoother than all others in it's class. The sliding mechanism is the smoothest in the class. You can push this saw forward with a feather. The Ridgid's dust collection is about 30%, about par for this kind of saw. Front lock mechanism needed a slight adjustment, (easily done) to remove some play. Cons: Laser light not visible outside. Left laser light right on, initially. Right laser light off about 3/16" and could not be adjusted to be correct. Left laser light not visible at all after one month of use, inside or outside. Summation: If the Ridgid followed a competitor's LED light system, you would have a nearly perfect saw. Unfortunately it's a huge disadvantage not having a light system that works. If you don't need or care about the light system, then this is the saw to get. For me, I'll keep looking.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features This product saves me a lot of time whens it comes to cutting boards that have to be the same length. I just set the stop and cut away.Along with all of the other features i would recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would recommend to friends purchased the saw for a couple of projects I had coming up. Quality is on par with all of the big name brands. I installed crown moulding with the saw and all the controls up front and preset angles made each cut a simple process. It's the only saw I've seen with dual lasers (they may exist, but definitely not at this price point on a quality saw) and they're extremely useful. No guesswork on which side of the blade you're cutting on and no need to line up the blade since you have both edges. It's pretty hefty, but the two handles make it easy to move around. Everything was square out of the box and I don't have a complaint with any of the features in the saw. Would buy again and recommend to friends in the market.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for the professional I have used many miter saws professionally. Hitachi, Makita, Dewalt. When I could not order the Hitachi I wanted and it cost $250 more; I bought this instead at my local homedepot. I have since used it for several different projects/applications: I am very happy with the feature set, ergonomics, build quality and weight of this unit. The laser is only useful indoors unfortunately, however it is very accurate. The saw did not require adjustment out of the box ( should be checked though). I went with this 10" for it's light weight, handle location/design, tight bearing and the arbor mounted lasers.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Saw I really like this saw. It seems to be pretty accurate and very easy to make setup adjustments for each cut. We built a two story deck with this saw and it worked great. It did slow down a bit with the larger size lumber (4x12x12) as many saws do, but with a good blade, it worked just as good and the higher price 10” miter saws I have used in the past.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the easiest miter saw to use This saw is hands down the most simple to use. no more reaching over to the back of the saw to set the bevel cuts. All levers and buttons are in the front making for faster adjustments.The motor starts out slow and in a few seconds reaches its max speed.This stops any jerky movements that cause problems when cutting a very small piece. my only complaint is it should come with at least a 60 tooth blade. Not a 40.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10" Rigid miter saw The Rigid 10" miter saw was good right out of the box. The cuts were smooth with very little to no blow out or fuzz on the under side of the cut. I really like the Freud Diablo blade that came stock with the saw. Checked the laser on the left side of the blade and the blade cut dead on but when I tried it to the right of the blade and all miter cuts it was off. Will have to check into the adjustments for this, just did not have the time on the job site. The slide cuts were easy and smooth with little effort. The clamp for holding pieces down on the miter table just got in the way, easy to remove. Overall very nice saw and the Life time warranty is a real plus. I replaced a Delta Sawbuck that I have used for over 20 years, so it will take some time for me to get use to set up with long pieces of trim with this new saw.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I am a DIYer and I have many lower cost miter saws (Ryobi, Harbor Freight). I decided I wanted to upgrade to something really nice and I spent a month researching all brands and reading all reviews. DeWalt does not have soft-start, nor does Bosch (which costs way too much anyway for a non-professional). I almost bought the Makita off Amazon which has free shipping, but the reviews are too mixed and it seems a lot of people complained about a wobbly, plastic positive stop at 90 degrees, which worried me since most of the cutting I do is 90 degrees. Hitachi has soft start, but those reviews were also mixed and no stores in my area carried any in stock for me to check out. I ended up buying this machine - which is my first Rigid product - and it is fabulous. It has soft start - which I think is a very important safety feature I insist on with all my new tools. It has both an LED and a laser light. The laser light has 2 lines which are a little wider than the blade. Normally I never use lasers but have been using this one because it is so accurate. Just remember your cut will be centered exactly in the middle of the two red laser lines and position your stock accordingly. The machine was dead on accurate out of the box and no adjustment was needed in any respect. The Freud 40 tooth blade is nice, though I took that off and put it on my table saw and put a fine finish blade on instead. The dust collection is terrible, probably the worst I have ever encountered - even with my 2" shop vac hose hooked up to the 2 inch port. I'm not sure why the dust collection is so bad, but I don't care, small price to pay for an excellent saw at a great price. The rails seem perfectly smooth, though I've never encountered a slider that didn't slide just fine. The adjustable fence is solid, square and well built. All positive stops lock solid, as do all other angles without a positive stop. Bevel controls on the front are solid and handy. This is one of the nicest tools I've bought in a long time, and definitely made me repeat Rigid customer. Rigid offers a lifetime service agreement, but I've had issues registering for this. I now have to send in the upc from the box (luckily I didn't throw it out) and the original receipt (normally I prefer to send a copy and keep the original, but they are inisting on the original). I am not sure why they make the process so difficult or what I will actually get out of all this effort in registering, but the saw seems really solid and at this point I cannot imagine reliability being an issue so I am not too concerned about this. In any event the standard warranty is 3 years.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and easy to use Great saw. I had been looking for a nice 10" sliding saw for a few years now. I took a chance on this one after the store was out of the Ryobi model. Very pleased with it. The double bevel is nice. The motor's "soft start" is great for beginners as it is less scary and won't jump out of your hands w/ a 0-3600 rpm burst. The laser guide and light features are nice (I don't use laser guides) and would be good for beginners. The saw is a little heavy (to be expected) and cumbersome to move from job to job. Also, it has a large footprint on the work bench (approx: 27"x38" needed for full capability). Also, you need the full 38" depth to make simple cuts since the slide will be all the way back to the wall (if that is where your workbench is). My saw was perfectly ready to go out of the box w/ accurate and true 90 degree, etc angles.
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this saw was just what i was looking for! This saw was just what I was looking for.. I bought it with the stand. makes it easy to move and set up at the jobsite.Perfect for a diy person like me. its a well built saw I recommend this saw.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Best Buy This saw is perfect for the DIYer. It's well made and easy to learn to use. The up front controls are very convenient. Being that this was my first miter saw, I went step-by-step through the manual to acquaint myself with all of the features. I also handled the whole range of miter saws at the HD in Farmingdale. The RIDGID felt more comfortable than the others. This saw is powerful, and with the supplied blade cuts smoothly.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thr Pro's & Con's - 10" - Rigid Sliding Compound Miter Saw My first review of the 10" Rigid sliding compound miter saw did not include the pro's & con's...so here is a listing: Pro's: *Acceptable quality & accuracy based on the limitations of price range. *Acceptable ease in making & keeping various adjustments. *Acceptable ease in reading & understanding instruction manual & diagrams. *Acceptable ease in unpacking & setting up tool. *Acceptable overall tool design with minimum flaws & large footprint with mounting holes. *Two sturdy & conveniently placed transport handles. *Powerful 15 amp soft start motor with positive stop clutchng. *Comfortable grip handle with dual safety lock & off/on switch. *Positive stops on miter table are dead on. *Ease in table turning...as long as sawdust & blade debris are kept to minimum. *Sliding feature is smooth and accurate along the push distance. *Convenient bevel & miter locking levers, sliding locking knobs and adjustable depth stop. *Freud-Diablo 1040A saw blade included. Excellent value. *Positive spindle lock for blade changes. *Included workpiece clamp is interchangeable to the left & right of blade. *Dual laser has pro's & con's. Pro: bright, except in sunny, outdoor conditions. LED is bright. *Three year warrantee covers even normal wear...90 day return-to-the-store policy. Cons: *No extension wings....and no way to add them. *Dual line laser feature is misunderstood. While the left line is factory adjusted for your cutting marks, the right line may require adjustment if you prefer to use that side of the blade. You must choose either left or right alignment of the laser to the intended saw marks. There is no way to bring both lines closer together to reduce the gap. A wider keft blade may solve the problem and fill the gap between laser projected lines. While most users quickly adapt to such cutting quirks...perhaps a single line adjustable laser would be better. *Adjustable, extendable portion (top) of fence is too small. *Bevel gauge hard to read as it is partially hid by sliding mechanism. *Sawdust exhaust port is ill-placed. When saw is returned to upright position, sawdust filters back in. *Sawdust exhaust port requires 2 1/4" (OD) adapter to hook up to most vac hoses...not included. *1/16 gap between motor case & blade gear transfer case. This could admit sawdust. *No parts listing in instruction manual. *Rigid's on-line registration is difficult, asks too many personal survey questions and is user-unfriendly. *Although not required in the instruction manual (page 33), other literature indicates owner must register the product to obtain warrantee service. This may be illegal in some states. Save your original sales receipt. All considered... I continue to rate this saw with four stars and have used it for routine shop tasks and several Crown Molding jobs with satisfactory results. (Although any Crown Molding miter job is tricky.) Built-in Canadian settings are a plus As I've stated in my first post, match the tool with your expectations & job needs.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool My first miter saw I have bought. Well built and everything was square right out of the box. Would purchase another Rigid product.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built sturdy saw So far so good ridgid makes good tools I haven't found anything to complain about
Date published: 2016-07-19
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_182
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 174ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT