Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$199.00 /each
$349.00 /each
$399.00 /each
$499.00 /each
Name 15 Amp 10 in. Dual Bevel Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity
Brand RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT RIDGID
Ratings (72) (208) (72) (339)
Miter Saw Type Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Bevel Type Dual Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Positive Stops Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 6.75 4
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

Asked by: Anonymous
Definitely agree with "Sing". But for a little more than the price of this excellent Rigid CMS, you can have both! Look at the Ryobi 10" CMS (12" crosscut capacity) and the Ryobi 10 in. Portable Table Saw with Quick Stand (27" rip capacity). These saws are excellent entry level DIY tools. They are easy to store and easy to move around. Craftsman also has comparable saws. Watch all the YouTube videos on table saw safety! Saws do not cut...they cut off!!!
Answered by: pmikejunot
Date published: 2017-04-08

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

Asked by: Anonymous
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
Answered by: texasgolfer
Date published: 2016-08-18

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

Asked by: Anonymous
This saw can fit almost any stand. I use a folding delta to move it around. Rigid stand is a lot better constructed.
Answered by: lwillie
Date published: 2017-03-07

If I buy this saw online, it still comes with the lifetime warranty correct?

Asked by: WoodWerx
Yes the Ridgid sliding miter saw come with a life time warranty if purchases online or in the store. You must redgiater the saw with Ridgid to obtain the warranty or settle for a three year warranty,if not registered.
Answered by: JimyD
Date published: 2017-03-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_71
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 85ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 208.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a home handyman I love this saw I love this saw, yes - as other reviewers have noted the lasers are wider than the kerf and sometimes need adjusting from the factory. Maybe I don't have the experience to know any better, but I just did some practice cuts before relying on the laser position and adjusted my expectations based on where the cut was relative to the laser. At least the lasers are WIDER than the kerf, so you can always second-cut if you've left too much on your first cut. The lasers were visibile outside for me (not in full sunlight, but who wants to leave their saw in full sunlight all day?) and easy to align and use. The saw was (relatively) quiet and cut straight and easily every time. Not a big deal because it's easy to add later, but having the Diablo blade as standard equipment is awesome. It's an amazing blade and made short work of my fossilized bamboo. The sawdust bag gets caught when sliding the saw sometimes, but I had hooked up a vac pretty soon after starting my project anyway.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Impossible to Square Up After trying for a week to *almost* perfectly square the fence to the blade, I have thrown in the towel. It seems as though once you get the fence to a position which appears to be square to the blade, it's impossible to maintain that position as (despite holding firmly in place) the fence moves slightly when tightening down the adjustment bolts. The other issue is that, though I got the fence to a position square enough for me when making chop cuts on more narrow pieces, when you engage the sliding mechanism to make wider cuts, the inaccuracy is glaring. I know that the error will increase with the width of the crosscut, but what I was getting was absolutely unusable. Maybe this particular saw was just a fluke, but I returned the saw to Home Depot (absolutely painless process) and bought a DeWalt 10" slider that came out of the box perfectly square for about $100 more---best $100 I ever spent.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Tool I bought this at Home Depot to replace my older saw. I am a custom wood shop so everything I do must be dead on as well having original designs. This saw is so versatile and it takes much of the eyeballing out of the equation. The lasers perform perfectly to cut a double bevel and I have not had any issues with a compound cut. The gradual spool up is great as well. If you are looking for a saw to have this is the one.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool, good price The tool is well made, and includes all the features I wanted. Saw was ready to use out of the box. You'll want to replace the blade we a decent cross-cut blade, as it comes with a ripping blade that leaves splintery cuts. I've dinged the quality rating by one star because I was somewhat unhappy with the accuracy of the laser guides. These were as much as 1/8" of an inch off. Because my saw is attached to a fixed fence, I won't use the laser guides much, but it would be nice if they were more accurate. the dust collection is very good when attached to a shopvac.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to learn and use I bought this saw with the Ridgid mobile saw stand and they went together perfectly and easily. I wanted this saw for finishing my basement and initially i used it as a chopbox and it was very easy to setup and learn... my wife liked it so much that she wanted to make all of the cuts. The miter and double bevel features are, again, easy to use and well executed. The saw is very stable. As far as demerits, i would say the only issues i have found after making hundreds of cuts was that the back fences are not perfectly flush and the laser-lines are not perfectly aligned to the blade. But they are easy issues to overcome/predict.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Solid Saw The saw was true right out of the box. I read a lot of complaints about the laser but I have never seen a true laser in any tool I have purchased. The laser is a dual laser that shows on either side of the blade. It is definitely wider than the Diablo blade that is comes with but after a couple test cuts I could tell where the blade would hit. Used it to frame up a new outdoor entrance to a basement on a sloped concrete foundation. Dialed it in at 18 degrees and after 20 cuts they were all perfect. This saw is heavy but anyone who wants a light saw is probably only needing it for light duty. i have used this to cut 2x12 for porch steps, and 4x4 beams for the supports. The dual handles make it very easy to transport from work site to work site. Love the saw.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw... Great saw with a ton of features for a great price. The soft start motor is a huge plus. The only downside I have noticed is that the LED cut lines do not show when working outdoor in sunny conditions.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I dont have much to compare this Miter Saw to, but I can tell you I've went through 3 seperate saws within the past month. This ends the search. As a new homeowner, I was looking for a very good quality miter saw, but nothing I was going to go out and make a living with. I started with a Ryobi 10" miter(pawn shop), which just did not fit the bill in regards to quality. Next, I couldn't pass up on on a sale for the kobalt 10" sliding miter. Squaring the fense was incredibly difficult and the laser was nothing more than a laser that put a line randomly down on wood. it was approx .25" off. After using it for a weekend, it made an easy job somewhat hard and just wasn't what I was looking for, so I took it back. Went to Home Depot and took advantage of Veterans weekend sale and bought this sliding miter. What a difference. It's night and day. The quality is exactly what I was after and my cuts were square right out of box. Laser seems dead on and no adjustments have needed to be made. Again, I've only had this saw for a couple days, but I can confidently say it is top notch. I'm not sure another saw could offer me anything else I would need.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Miter Saw! I had borrowed a miter saw before purchasing this one. This is hands down a great saw. The front locks are very convenient, the laser is dead-on, and the blade that comes with the saw is the same as one of the better after-market blades--extremely smooth cut. The handle is able to be gripped with either hand and provides good control of the saw. I wish that I had this saw when I started my flooring project instead of purchasing half-way through.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I unboxed and started using immediatly. Left laser was spot on. The right side one was off just a little, I just need to adjust. Other than that, It has been a great saw for the money!
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite suprised!!! Very nice saw. Well, so much for the past reviews on the laser....I just picked up a 10" DBL BVL Rigid saw at HD and right out of the box the laser was dead on. So I guess they fixed that and thought everyone should know. At least mine was just fine. Over all quality was very good and I didn't notice any rev delay on the motor. Even IF the delay were a couple of seconds, who jumps right in and makes a cut that fast. Lets see, 400 cuts, 2 seconds each, that's about 13 minutes in a day.....really? Ok, I've done professional work but now I only do home projects. I don't think for the money anyone is going to find a better value. Maybe equal but not better. You get a very good blade and it's less $$ than the Yellow one, And for the record, no one asked me to place this review. I just thought it was only right, having read some of the negatives that the record should be up to date.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday use Loved this saw out of the box. I found the clamp was a little hard to remove until I realized it has a cam lock in it. Once I twisted it correctly, it came right out. Had to remember to remove the upper and lower fences for full bevel capacity. Love the adjustable bevel lock feature but it takes some getting used to. Watched a youtube video for help. Then called customer service, they really understand the product and use of the bevel lock adjustment. The blade has stayed sharp after 2 months of weekend use. I love it!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Satisfied I rated this product with 4 stars because I've only been using it for a week and I don't know what long term use of the saw will be like. With that being said, I have to say that so far this is a great saw. I tried to get away with a less expensive saw like Ryobi and Kobalt but was concerned that it would not provide the straight cutting quality that I want. I'm just a home owner but I enjoy doing projects around the home and helping out friends. When I first set the saw up the 45 degree settings were perfect but for a straight cut, the blade was skewed slightly to the right compared to the fence. After adjust the fence, it is spot on! I checked the alignment of the laser guides and they are perfect. They line up perfectly with the Diablo blade provided with the saw. It is the first saw that I've had with a laser so I wasn't sure how accurate they would be but I can say that it is super nice. Not only is there a laser but there are two! One on each side of the blade. I change the blade to a higher count blade so the Laser is not lined up the same but it provides a great reference point. Pro's: - the safety switches on the handle, one on each side. Makes it very easy to use regardless of which side of the saw I'm cutting from. - Smooth accurate cut. I have had no problems with it getting out of square - Power, it's got plenty of power to cut through oak - There is a white LED light to light up the table, a very nice and helpful touch - Quick-release miter and bevel lock. This makes it really easy to set the lock to hold the material down to the table - Bevel and miter controls are all up front, very convenient - The motor is tucked up and out of the way Con's: None that I can think of at this point The Ryobi was pretty nice and cost effective. It was also lighter and smaller but the reviews that I read and videos that I saw indicated that it was pretty good all-around but that it is not a precision cutting machine. I actually purchase one and used it for a day and found that it is a pretty nice saw. One thing that I really didn't like about it was that the motor stuck out on the right side of the saw. It makes it difficult to see where I want to cut sometimes. It is a single bevel but that didn't bother me. I also purchased the Kobalt 12-in 15-Amp Dual Bevel Sliding Laser Compound Miter Saw from Lowe's . . all I can say is stay away. When rotating the table to make a miter cut, no matter what stop I went to there was always slop. In other words, if I wanted to make a 45 degree cut and moved the arm to 45 degrees, I could wiggle the arm back and forth and it would move. It didn't move much, maybe 1/16th either way but there is no way to get accurate cuts with the much play.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with my purchase I bought this saw a year ago and since that time worked with it a lot. It is a convenient, pretty precise and, I hope, reliable tool (at least I didn't have any problem so far). After several months intensive work I noticed that the laser light became weak and than practically disappeared. I was very disappointed for a couple of days until I thought of the idea that the lamp could be covered by dust. Using a brush I fixed the problem. However, speaking about this dual laser, I think it would be much better to make the distance between two lines of laser light equal to the thickness of the blade (about 3/32"). It would make work with the tool much more convenient, precise and universal for both left and right cuts. Yet this does not decrease my rating.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from *delay is engineered and a positive feature for avid woodworkers The delay being spoke about is engineered into many of the newer model miter saws. It is a positive feature for a serious woodworker that needs max precision. Here's why: The motors on the top brand miter saws are very powerful and produce a high amount of torque. If you were able to engage all the power all at once, you would feel and see the saw jerk. This jerk would make it significantly more difficult to make accurate cuts, and at the same time produce more wear and tear on the saw itself. I know this first hand because I also own an older 15 amp Craftsman that does not have this feature. The fine tuning on the Ridgid saw is much easier to manipulate. You can literally cut fractions of a single degree without much problem. The saw is a bit pricey but perhaps not nearly as overpriced as a Dewalt.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not be happier!!! Got this saw a couple of months ago, I had been wanting to get it and finally pulled the trigger and could not be happier! I used to buy nothing but Dewalt thinking it was the standard for contractors, the let down was always the warranty and breakdown. Now I buy nothing but Ridgid, free lifetime warranty and these tools get the job done and for less than the competition! I love having all the bevel features on the front of the saw, I got the Ridgid SUV stand for it, well worth the cost! One touch open and close and you are working in seconds, then roll it away! The saw saw dead on out of the box, it feels good and is well built, the ambidextrous trigger feature is well thought out as I use it and realize latter how fluid it is to operate, I would recommend this saw everyday!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saw. The wife bought me this saw as an early Xmas present. wasnt sure it would perform like a hitachi or bosch but gave it a try anyway. Had to build a custom mantel and book case and was on a very tight deadline, so i didnt have time to calibrate anything. was very suprised that the saw cut perfectly square out of the box. the saw has some great features such as front controls, led work light, dual laser (not totally accurate, but if you need this you probably shouldn't be building anthing of any difficulty) crown stop and one of the most important imo slow-start. The only cons are the safety takes some getting used to and for some reason the dust collection worked pretty well for the first couple hours then after emptying the bag and clearing the port it seemed like nothing was making it into the bag. probably something simple to fix just havent had the time. got this on sale for $299 which is well below dewalt, bosch, makita and hitachi, but can perform just the same. i would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Deal for the money I am happy with the saw overall. The laser needs an auto shut off, or only come on when a person depresses the safety lock. In the daylight laser is hard to see and is easy to leave on. I Like all of the angle adjustments in the front of the saw.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now this is What I'm talking about! I found the saw was easy to put attachments on,the overall quality of the product was very well maintained, the dual lazer took the guess work out of cutting on the line,the blade created very low saw dust,the lighted work area help out also.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings The bad: Out of the box experience was rocky. The miter lock was inoperative. I called Ridgid and they passed me off to a company called Chevron. The woman was very nice but unhelpful. She told me to return it for another. I was skeptical based on I went to the store and the Demo unit had the same issue. It is a long drive and a lot of work to box it up. My miter lock rod was dangling and wouldn't stay in place. I couldn't see how it was supposed to be held in place. I finally took it apart and found out the piece that is supposed to follow the rod was bound up. I lightly polished the fitting and lubed it. Works like a champ now. The laser is not very bright compared to my other miter saw. You can't see it when you are outside. The warranty is not able to be done completely online. You still have to send in all your documentation VIA snail mail. The good: The blade it comes with cuts well and accurate. The saw out of the box was pretty well tuned for accuracy.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! This saw has worked perfectly. Glad I spent the extra money and went for the bigger one!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My last SCM saw bit the dust after years of faithful service. I needed a saw "today" and this was the best deal at HD IMO. So far it's been a great saw. Smooth, great accuracy, the ability to cut 60* is a big improvement over my last one. When framing a 8/12 pitch wall the std angle is 33.9*, and the alternate angle being 54* is tough to do on many saws. The saw does have some bulk in plastic that's probably unnecessary, but the castings are well built, the movement is clean and smooth, and the cuts are precise. After a few hundred cuts, I can't complain. It was expensive and if they had the 12" I would have probably spent the extra $150, but only the 10 is stocked now at most stores. Either one will cut almost any dimensional lumber. The lights and laser are worthless. I can't say I've ever been in a dark room and thought "you know, if this saw just had a light on it, I could see the board I'm trying to cut." I would get a real light. Just a gimmick. I can't see anyone actually trying to use a laser for any type of precise cutting. I wouldn't even use them for framing. For me that's not a detracting point as I had no intention of ever using either function.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Great saw, meets and exceeds all of my needs. Only thing is that it or a comparable model isn't sold in stores so you have to order online.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Buy I researched sliding miter saws heavily before selecting this one. I wanted to replace my old compound miter saw and wanted something with an accurate laser. Pros: -Bevel control at the front -Adjustable clamp is super handy -Comes with a high-quality Freud blade -Soft start motor -Design for portability so it easily "folds up" Cons: -The reviews I read indicated that dust collection was stellar. Well, it's not. I highly recommend this saw. It seems like they thought of everything and mine was powerful and accurate right out of the box.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw right out of the box. Once i received the saw i took it out of the box, set it up on my stand, then i proceeded to check all the squares and angles were spot on. I only had to adjust the laser on the line but they give you the tool and it was only seconds to adjust it. It's hard to adjust to all the levers and locks but thats with all new tools. Is way better and cuts so much better than my constantly changing Harbor freight junk saw. Just having trouble getting it registered. They want mailed in proof.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality tool at a good price Bought this saw as a home owner mainly for trim work and crown moldings. This saw replaced a basic $100 10" miter saw and there is a world of difference in the quality and features. I did a lot of shopping around before this purchase and this saw has the same features or more than saws that cost $100-$200 more. Hopefully this saw will provide years of service.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready, Set, Cut Picked this one up today, the shortest day of the year. With lots of cuts to get in before dark, it was nice to pull this thing out of the box and find that everything is zeroed in and ready ti use. The lasers seemed clise enough, but I don't depend on those for accurate cuts on any of my saws. Besudes being smooth and accurate, I like the soft start, miter/bevels controls at the front, the LED worklight, the work piece clamp, power cord hooks and evrything locks down so it's easily carried. Oh and it came with my favorite brand if blades, the Diablo. I like it.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth It This saw is a workhorse and just what I hoped for in an advanced contractor tool . . . it is accurate, has a firmt platform, and the gentle-start is a bonus . . . no wonder this saw came highly recommended . . . the the price, it might be the best saw in its class.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value Upgraded to this saw from a 10" Delta. I'm very happy with it so far. I do find that the dual laser is pretty much useless because it's set wider than the blade. The dust bag does not do a very good job either. Other than that, it's smooth and easy to use!
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Miter Saw I shopped long and hard before I purchased this saw. Wish I had purchased sooner as I was forced to use a Dewalt 12in non-sliding saw with the terrible stock blade which left tons of tearout on my hard maple. This saw is a world of difference. I actually use and like the light and laser guide. Setup was easy and just the fence was slightly skewed from the factory. Got a great deal on the saw and would recommend highly.
Date published: 2015-05-26
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_207
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 240ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT