Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

Store SKU #323986

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$169.00 /each
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$349.00 /each
Save $50.00 (13%)
$379.00 /each
Name 15-Amp 10 in. Sliding Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Brand Ryobi RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT
Ratings (239) (174) (230) (84)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Blade Diameter 10 10 in 12 12
Bevel Type Single Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 4 9.5
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

54 Questions144 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
10 answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
TG
March 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2015
Answer: 
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Table saw. It's much easier to cut the dados for the shelves on table saw. You may also be ripping lumber to different widths provided you don't use off the shelf pre-milled lumber which I do not recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw Read More
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw safely. A miter saw is potentially much safer than a table saw, but it will not replace all of the functions that a table saw will do. If you are cross cutting on table saw, you need to do it correctly to avoid kickback. If you are ripping, you have to feed the stock correctly and keep your hands out of the blade. A table saw is a better bet especially for shelving and especially if you need to rip. A table saw is more useful for more tasks. My vote would be for the Table Saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
Table saw. With a CSMS(Compound sliding miter saw) you are limited to 12 to 14 inch cuts. With a table saw you can make any length of rip needed. The CSMS is ideal for cross cutting so if you expect that to be your primary type of cut then the CSMS is idea. Though you can do almost anything with a table saw that you can do with a CSMS. It just takes a higher skill level to do.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Tough question to answer. If you are cutting lengths of shelving narrow enough to be cut on a sliding miter, then it will suffice. A miter saw makes short work of accurate cross cuts, but cannot make any rip cuts. You will have problems making accurate miter cuts on an inexpensive, portable table saw. They are two really different tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
karl
May 8, 2013
Answer: 
I advise you buy a table saw so that you can cut the any width wood what you want.Although for a beginer,the miter saw maybe preformance better when you use it than the table saw.This is only for your reference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
A sliding miter saw would be better as long as you don't plan to make the shelves more than 12" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
If the wood you are using is already cut to width. Say 1x12 for example you would not need a table saw. A table saw is used for cutting down the width of a board a miter saw is used for cutting the length of a board. If you are using premade trim to finish off your bookcase you NEED the miter saw
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 5, 2013
Answer: 
There is no right or wrong answer to this question; it is a matter of personal preference. Factors to consider include the design of the bookcase and type of joints you intend to use. Generally speaking the slidder will handle long stock cross cuts better and safer than a table saw so for a less intricate design with simple joints most would probably be more comfortable with the slidder.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2013
Answer: 
Without any doubt at all - a table saw. The 10" sliding miter saw can only cut up to a width of 12", and a 12" is only a little more than that - 13.5". You will usually need to be able to cut a much higher width than that, and often you'll need to trim a piece lengthways too.
The table saw is your only option for those sorts of uses.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
10 answers

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Undone
Clayton, iN
February 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Houston, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2016
Answer: 
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. However I feel a table saw is much more dependable for this task.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. It's not exactly great. You have to be careful to apply the same down pressure every time and avoid the inclination to press down harder over time. The stop mechanism flexes under pressure and can give you cuts of varying depths if you are not careful. I would have preferred something a bit more substantial. But it does have one and if you pay attention it does work.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. I used mine the other day; worked great. Use a straight piece of scrap wood between your wood and the fence so the blade can go through the entire length of your piece.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has a stop depth setting. But there is no scale with it. To determine the depth you need to measure from the base to the bottom of the blade to get the correct adjustment. Awkward, but it has the capability.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes there is a depth stop setting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it can be set with the bolt on the right side of the saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw Read More
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw with a dado blade otherwise there could be injury due to contact of the blade and saw guards. Read Less
-2points
4out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful6

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
We do not make or support this model, please contact the manufacturer, Chevron 866-974-3443
-30points
2out of 34found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful32
 
7 answers

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Don
June 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to Read More
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rocklin, CA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Buy the Ridgid Mitre Saw Utility Vehicle. It's simple, portable and heavy duty. A great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2013
Answer: 
It will work on any stand. They are all universal. Including the ridgid stand
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 19, 2013
Answer: 
See related products below, an excellent stand that makes the saw more mobile, provide support for long stock and allows the saw to be store vertically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2012
Answer: 
I know this will fit right on the new AC9945 folding stand and I ma sure the older Ac9944. The dewalt DWX723 and DW725 will handle this as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Sacramento Ca
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
I bought the RIDGID Mobile Miter Saw Stand
Model # AC9945 for this saw. It was worth the investment.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2012
Answer: 
This saw does fit a specific Ridgid stand. It’s the Ridgid mobile miter saw stand (Home Depot sku 984-386).
Thank you
Miter Saw Customer Service
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
5 answers

Does the saw have soft start?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Narberth,PA
Read all my Q&A
July 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne ,California
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bradenton FL
Read all my Q&A
May 24, 2016
Answer: 
Yes it has a soft start. Takes a little time to get use to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Montgomery, AL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.
Yes the Ridgid MS255SR has a soft start.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:23:44.905-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 174.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it Works great. Good saw all around. I wish i would have purchased it sooner
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compound slider I originally overlooked this 10" saw in favor of the 12", but I ultimately returned to purchase this one due its superior features and design, and its smaller size and weight. The saw was easy to setup, and the minor adjustments that I made to get it perfectly square were quick and easy. The included Diablo blade is good, although I did replace it with a 90-tooth blade just to get the flawless cut edge that I was after. The center-mounted handle is easy to get used to, and I now prefer the ability to use either hand. The handle also includes both left- and right-handed safety switches, so I need not contort my left hand to turn on the saw. I also really like the alignment laser and the work light - both are AC powered (no batteries), and both have switches so that they can be turned on/off without the blade running. It's great to be able to get setup and THEN turn the blade on. The soft start does mean that it takes several seconds for the blade to reach full speed, but this is a minor inconvenience. I like the soft start. There are many small features on the saw to help with making adjustments to the miter/bevel angle. All are well-designed and easy to adjust. Most adjustments are up front, so changes are quick and easy. The indicators are big and easy to read. The included hold-down clamp doesn't do a good job of keeping your work in place - it is highly adjustable, but not rigid enough (no pun intended). This is only a minor annoyance - I rarely use it, and other work clamps can easily be used with the saw. Overall, I am very happy with this saw, and I highly recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rigid Sliding Miter Saw As Advertised This is my first miter saw and I purchased for a 3 bedroom 650SF 12MM 6 inch wide laminate floor install. I was lusting for the Bosch 10 inch but could not justify $600. I had been watching this saw for a couple of months and bought it on sale for $300, having it delivered to my home. My father-in-law, a life-long wood worker, is helping me on the job, and has complemented this saw numerous times, especially for the price. Specifically, accurate out of the box, dual lasers are nice to see the cut, soft start, set up for either hand to operate, common cuts are clearly indicated, lighter than expected and easy for two people to carry up steps, stock blade works well for the job we are doing. So far the saw is doing everything I need it to do. Only complaint is the dust capture is poor, we simply attached my shop vac and performance was much better.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this saw except..... This saw is exactly what I needed. Everything was square out of the box. It works great except the dust collection port is in a bad location and isn't very effective. I'm trying to engineer something in my garage to make it better. Overall, this saw is an excellent buy. About $100 cheaper than compare able other brand name models. I've had it for 2 months now and I love it.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not good This did not cut square without spending quite some time adjusting it. It soon went out of alignment. Also, the so called lifetime warranty is not legitimate. You have to send away for it, and they will find a reason to turn it down.
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw This has been a great saw for me so far. The only problem I have had is the saw losing square a few times. It's not that hard to recalibrate, but the saw was not dropped or anything causing it to go out of square. Otherwise, saw cuts really well, dust collection works pretty average, and bevel stops are accurate.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice saw but watch out for the laser This is a nice quality saw with good features for the money. There is one deal breaking problem that caused me to return it and get a refund. The width between the double line laser beams is not adjustable and the distance is wider that the kerf of the saw blade. This means that it can only be aligned at one time to either the left laser line or the right. This negates the ability to flip crown, etc. and make quick on the fly cuts from left to right without re-adjusting the laser sight. This essentially renders the laser sight useless for practical purposes. Otherwise it is a nice saw. I especially like the front bevel control. I had a ripped dust bag and a crooked lower blade guard upon unpacking the saw from the box. I called customer service and they answered immediately and sent replacement parts no questions asked. The representative was very knowledgeable about the saw and was very honest about the laser shortcomings. She indicated that Ridgid was aware of the problem and that it would be corrected in future production runs, but a fix would not likely be available to current saw owners. As a result, I decided to return the saw for a refund. I cannot say enough about Ridgid's great customer service! If the laser sight is not a big feature for you, then this is a great saw for the money.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dust Bag Does Work... ...if you use the saw correctly. If you pull the saw to you, big mess. If you run it from your body to its base, minor dust. This saw is wonderful and well built.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Slidder I have used miter saws of various types and brands for several years. I had decided on the 12" slidding compound DeWalt but then I saw this saw in the store and liked its features. I have a 10" dual bevel Porter Cable saw that I retrofitted a laser guide on that I have loved but lacked the capacity of a slidding saw. Being a slidder this saw takes care of the problem and I love the work light and dual lasers which makes cutting right or left of the blade much easier. I mounted it on their gravity stand and it is a jewel too. This is an excellent rig with nearly the same capacity [on a practical level the same] as a 12" and far better features. Very well designed. The only thing I have changed is the blade as I demand untra smooth cuts so I put a 96 tooth ultra fine finish blade on it and it is working very well. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disapointed in saw I use a miter saw every day in our stair business and this one doesn't measure up. I have had it for about 5 months. Very poor dust collection. The flap behind the blade broke off the first month. The laser is much wider than the blade making it useless The table needs lubricant twice a month or it grinds and binds. Just a very disappointing bulky saw.
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely satisfied with this saw. I bought this saw in late Spring of 2012. My saw was setup deadon when I opened the box. I was pleased to find a nice Freud blade on it as well. That was unexpected on my part. I can see some of the problems that other users were complaining about but I had a way around those before purchasing a new miter saw. Lasers-- I had zero intention of using them for dead on accuracy cuts. I only use them for rough cutting. I prefer the old tried & true method of sneaking up on the mark. It just works for me. Dust collection-- The dust collection on MOST miter saws is poor at best IMHO. I also had a solution for that in my garage workshop. I mounted the saw on top of a roll around tool box with locking casters & push it to the other side of the garage when needed. I have a wall down the center of my garage separating the bays. When I'm done with it I get the leaf blower out & clean the saw dust up that way. I can see where a trim carpenter would want much better collection tho. The soft start feature is a Godsend to these powerful saws. I had my Wife cutting laminate flooring start & finish pieces on 12/22/2014 & she liked it. it was her 1st time ever & she was impressed with the way she could control the saw. I have never tried to hog thru a cut yet either so I can't testify to it's power. I just take my time & let the blade do the work. My suggestion to other owners that want to use the laser feature would be to use a thicker blade to get closer to the laser line. The thin kerf blades don't get over close enough. I have no comment on durability or longevity.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating Back to the store for a replacement and I haven't even plugged the saw in. It appears the Chinese factory doesn't test these out thoroughly, mine would not tilt regardless of the levers (I even watched a YouTube instructional video), it was jammed solid. Finally out of desparation I loosened one of the back bolts to get the bevel to move, and despite tightening again, the thing will now not hold bevel in place. This is not a good sign of assembly quality. A $400 piece of junk paperweight.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great for the rough generic stuff, not for those who seek perfect angles. So I bought this with high hopes and thrilled with the light and blade it came with, I could care less about the lasers on it. I tried it out, then turned the wood and made a second cut. I compared the piece I cut against the piece of wood I was replacing and noticed a slight angle in my new piece. I did another sample cut and sure enough, the 90 is off with no way to correct it. the part I cut was rather small, and it was off by about 1/32, but I would assume on a much larger cut, the angle off would grow as well. I took it back and tested another one in the store and sure enough. The guys there ended up cutting me a deal on the 12” yellow and I took that instead and I couldn’t be happier right now (granted I didn’t plan on the 12” because more costly blades). If you do a lot of rough work and don’t need that just perfect 90, then this saw would be great, but I build stuff like furniture and need that perfect angle. This would be a great saw for cutting 2X4’s all day in my opinion.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money.. Great saw. I have owned this product for almost three years now. All the controls being up front makes for fast use, especially when doing trim work. You get a real bang for your buck with all the features this saw offers.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw The product is great. However the product registration with ridged is terrible. You are not able to register online. If you order online and pick up in the store you don't get a receipt that is recognized by Ridgid. I called their 800 number and got a very snarky customer service rep that insisted that I had to mail in the registration. When I tried to do that I found I had to include the upc code from the box which I had destroyed already. I called back and got a helpful customer service rep who showed me how to get the online order number into THE REGISTRATION FORM. Which we did and she checked on her end AND MADE SURE IT WAS CORRECT AND REGISTERED. I got an email this morning telling me that IT wasn't registered and I would have to submit by mail including the upc code, and all original documents from Home Depot. Then at the bottom of the letter it states that I need to keep copies of the originals and it will be 12 weeks before I get my registration. I LOVE THE SAW BUT AM GOING TO RETURN IT TO HOME DEPOT THIS MORNING DUE TO THIS ISSUE OF REGISTRATION. IN 77 YEARS OF LIFE I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS POOR OF A WARRENTY REGISTRATION SYSTEM!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laser Adjustment I bought my saw yesterday, and immediately noticed what other reviewers have said about the laser accuracy. This one, in my opinion isn't bad. After adjustment, my lines are still off maybe a sixteenth of an inch on each side, but for precise cuts, I like to sneak up on the length. After my first three cuts, I was able to predict the actual cut line pretty well. Laser line accuracy on this saw is not a major shortcoming. As received, my laser lines were off more on one side than the other. There is a small T-10 Torx screw on the handle that allows for a side-side adjustment, but it moves both lines at the same time, and there is no way to narrow the distance between the lines. I was able to center the laser lines, but once I moved beyond that point, one of the lines started to get faint and disappear. The other features on this saw are as advertised. The saw is sturdy, but not too heavy to lift. There is a handle on the back, which along with the blade handle, makes the saw easy to pick up and move. This is a lot of saw for the price.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fence issues Purchased this saw for a job a few years ago and never ended up using it, so it sat in the toolshed. Brought it out when I started a new job. Made a couple cuts and was stoked. Everything was good after a few minutes learning the bevel lock. Was using the saw when I had a kickback, nothing major, just enough to startle. Every cut I made after that was totally angled. I tried to resquare the blade when I realized the fence itself had been damaged. Was told by tool department folks my saw was out of warranty and couldn't be fixed by them. I tried to ask about ordering a replacement through them and they told me to do it myself on the website. Website was no help at all. Tried emailing customer service, that was an exercise in futility. Tried finding replacement parts via third party website, the MS255SR might as well be a unicorn, the model is listed NOWHERE on any site I found. Now I have another job coming up and this saw is worthless.. It was great when it worked, for all 12-13 cuts I got out of it.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. I will tell everyone I know about how great this product is. It is square right out of the box. Adjustments are simple and easy. I have a few concerns. The online warranty process didn't go as well as it should, so I had to submit via mail. Also, a 1/2" onboard wrench would be nice to change the blade, but now I'm just letting you know my wish list. All in all, great product.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great out of the box Love this product. Have had three saws previous and this one has given me no trouble. Perfect out of the box. The laser is not so good but I have figured out how to get around it. Dust collection could be better but not a deal breaker.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product's features meet my expectation and requirements Very handy and versatile for small to medium size projects.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The quality is not bad except for the fence. You will only get one side of the fence to be 90 degrees to the blade. So if you only cut from the left this saw will work for you. If the saw was cheaper I would have cut the fence in the back and aligned each end and welded back in place. I have 7 years experience with woodworking and 15 years in metal fabrication. I picked up a cheap radial arm saw that I have used for the last 7 years for dimensioning lumber. I use a circular saw and a square to get a true 90 degree cut currently. All these wood working tools are getting higher in cost and the quality is not there if your trying to save money and do things yourself. Its getting to the point I may just call it quits due to tool cost or just make my own tools using a cheap unit as a starter kits. I had the saw 4 days never turned it on because of the fence issue would not work for me. Returned to the store.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the price The miter saw in itself is excellent, however trying to get a part for it not so excellent, in fact downright worthless. The model # isn't even on Ridgid's web site.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Miter Saw! Had to buy a replacement for my last miter saw that took a bit of a tumble. This one seemed to be semi-decent, and it turned out to be one of the best purchases I've ever made.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw This is a awesome saw. Easy to assemble. Square right out of the box
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty awesome tool To cut down on reading time I would first like to say it's a good product and you should buy it. But for those who like to read, here's why... I wanna say at first I was a bit scared of buying Rigid brand, but went for it anyway. Here's why... I spend maybe 30 minutes inside the store playing with features of different miter saws. Ease of changing bevel, left to right degrees, button locations, you name it. Eventually it came down to final two, this 10 inch sliding dual compound or the Dewalt dw716, which was 12 inch but had no sliding feature and single bevel. Knowing Dewalt was a reputable brand I almost made my final decision, until I noticed that the handle was broken off on the display saw. This definitely made me question the durability quality. If it isn't able to handle customer abuse, it definitely can't handle daily use. So i have bought the Rigid. It was same price, offered more features and the display didn't fall apart from customers testing it. Now, the laser made no difference in my decision, but it does help only indoors where you're able to see it. I like seeing an actual brand name general use saw blade on it. So far I have cut baseboard moulding, door frame moulding, and currently working on the parquet floor. This saw saves a lot of time cutting the short end of the parquet and using a table saw for the long end. I almost made the decision of buying regular compound miter saw but after using the slider I'm glad i saved myself the time of running back to exchange the regular for a slider. The slider definitely works for me. The blade spins pretty smooth and cuts without wobble. Also, this is a soft start saw so let it reach its full speed before cutting. At one point i went straight at it and the wood jumped. Another thing is, try to keep the slider area clean because of the grease for smooth slide, it tends to build up dust saw.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sliding Compound Miter I love the upfront bevel controls. Makes cutting crown molding a breeze. Was setup perfectly right out of the box. The LED gravity light. The duel cut lines. The fact they are not powered by battery, you don't worry about dead batteries at the next job. The soft start is nice, but you have to wait just a bit for the blade to reach full speed before cutting. The saw dust bag actually collects saw dust. Sure maybe not all but way way better than any other that I've used. A lot of extra features that you would pay more for on a major name brand are on this saw. I am from Canada and they do not sell this saw here. What a shame. Home Depot Canada, if you're reading this, look into getting this one on your shelves. I don't need a 12" saw, too big, bulky and heavy. While in the states this summer I picked this one up.
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Putting it back in the box I can not imagine where all these positive reviews came from. The saw was slow to build up rpms. Laser was not visible. Dust collector must be there for looks. Sorry, Rigid. Time to go back to the drawing board.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's the saw I needed Super easy to use, reasonably priced, and cuts are perfect. I originally wanted the Milwaukee miter saw but couldn't justify the cost and the extra weight of a 12" saw was a big factor in my decision. Anyway, I'm a DIY guy and was making/trying to make miter cuts with a miter box and hand saw just before I bought the Rigid 10". I couldn't be happier with the Rigid.
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Overly complex, innacurate, too cumbersome. This miter box has too many fine mechanisms that compromise its sturdiness and accuracy and i can only imagine these overly complex features make it more prone to breaking. all of the controls are in front, dual bevel adjustment and angle are in front and are very finnicky. The bevel adjustment mechanism is in the front and does not work properly if the miter box is on the ground without stand, it has to be flipped downwards yet doesnt have space to lock while still laying flat. Overall just a big clunky miter saw... i understand a 12" slider is more suitable for a shop set up then a jobsite saw but this one is just too clunky and awkward. Dont even bother to use the lazers, it will jack your cuts up if you rely on it. Overall i just do not like this miter box.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best saw I bought a ryobi before buying this saw. I was disappointed with my purchase the the bolt to adjust the laser broke. Took it back and bought this saw and it was the best purchase ever. exact cuts from the start didn't have to make any adjustments to the saw.
Date published: 2015-12-08
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_173
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT