Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $199.00
$179.00 /each
Save $20.00 (10%)
$349.00 /each
$349.00 /each
$399.00 /each
Name 15 Amp 10 in. Dual Bevel Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Brand RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT
Ratings (65) (201) (305) (113)
Miter Saw Type Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Bevel Type Dual Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 4 9.5
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

Asked by: Anonymous
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
Answered by: Randalation
Date published: 2016-12-25

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

Asked by: Anonymous
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
Answered by: texasgolfer
Date published: 2016-08-18

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

Asked by: Anonymous
This saw can fit almost any stand. I use a folding delta to move it around. Rigid stand is a lot better constructed.
Answered by: lwillie
Date published: 2017-03-07

If I buy this saw online, it still comes with the lifetime warranty correct?

Asked by: WoodWerx
Yes the Ridgid sliding miter saw come with a life time warranty if purchases online or in the store. You must redgiater the saw with Ridgid to obtain the warranty or settle for a three year warranty,if not registered.
Answered by: JimyD
Date published: 2017-03-04
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_69
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 201.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Features, bad laser light The saw has great features, and one very bad. Pros: Great soft start motor, no kick up, sound is quieter and smoother than all others in it's class. The sliding mechanism is the smoothest in the class. You can push this saw forward with a feather. The Ridgid's dust collection is about 30%, about par for this kind of saw. Front lock mechanism needed a slight adjustment, (easily done) to remove some play. Cons: Laser light not visible outside. Left laser light right on, initially. Right laser light off about 3/16" and could not be adjusted to be correct. Left laser light not visible at all after one month of use, inside or outside. Summation: If the Ridgid followed a competitor's LED light system, you would have a nearly perfect saw. Unfortunately it's a huge disadvantage not having a light system that works. If you don't need or care about the light system, then this is the saw to get. For me, I'll keep looking.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate and easy to set up I bought this to do a pine siding project for my wood shop. Being square is very important, and I could easily dial in the angles and make it perfect. Using knotty pine is tough as there is a lot of movement in the wood, and getting it to lay flat can be a problem. But with the laser it was easy. I used only 90 and 45 degree cuts, but switching back and forth between the two was easy. I did all my cutting outside, and used the included bag for dust collection, I would estimate it picked up about 85% of it. I did not try to set up my shop-vac so I cannot comment on that.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw for the professional I have used many miter saws professionally. Hitachi, Makita, Dewalt. When I could not order the Hitachi I wanted and it cost $250 more; I bought this instead at my local homedepot. I have since used it for several different projects/applications: I am very happy with the feature set, ergonomics, build quality and weight of this unit. The laser is only useful indoors unfortunately, however it is very accurate. The saw did not require adjustment out of the box ( should be checked though). I went with this 10" for it's light weight, handle location/design, tight bearing and the arbor mounted lasers.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Saw I really like this saw. It seems to be pretty accurate and very easy to make setup adjustments for each cut. We built a two story deck with this saw and it worked great. It did slow down a bit with the larger size lumber (4x12x12) as many saws do, but with a good blade, it worked just as good and the higher price 10” miter saws I have used in the past.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10" Rigid miter saw The Rigid 10" miter saw was good right out of the box. The cuts were smooth with very little to no blow out or fuzz on the under side of the cut. I really like the Freud Diablo blade that came stock with the saw. Checked the laser on the left side of the blade and the blade cut dead on but when I tried it to the right of the blade and all miter cuts it was off. Will have to check into the adjustments for this, just did not have the time on the job site. The slide cuts were easy and smooth with little effort. The clamp for holding pieces down on the miter table just got in the way, easy to remove. Overall very nice saw and the Life time warranty is a real plus. I replaced a Delta Sawbuck that I have used for over 20 years, so it will take some time for me to get use to set up with long pieces of trim with this new saw.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the easiest miter saw to use This saw is hands down the most simple to use. no more reaching over to the back of the saw to set the bevel cuts. All levers and buttons are in the front making for faster adjustments.The motor starts out slow and in a few seconds reaches its max speed.This stops any jerky movements that cause problems when cutting a very small piece. my only complaint is it should come with at least a 60 tooth blade. Not a 40.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features This product saves me a lot of time whens it comes to cutting boards that have to be the same length. I just set the stop and cut away.Along with all of the other features i would recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I am a DIYer and I have many lower cost miter saws (Ryobi, Harbor Freight). I decided I wanted to upgrade to something really nice and I spent a month researching all brands and reading all reviews. DeWalt does not have soft-start, nor does Bosch (which costs way too much anyway for a non-professional). I almost bought the Makita off Amazon which has free shipping, but the reviews are too mixed and it seems a lot of people complained about a wobbly, plastic positive stop at 90 degrees, which worried me since most of the cutting I do is 90 degrees. Hitachi has soft start, but those reviews were also mixed and no stores in my area carried any in stock for me to check out. I ended up buying this machine - which is my first Rigid product - and it is fabulous. It has soft start - which I think is a very important safety feature I insist on with all my new tools. It has both an LED and a laser light. The laser light has 2 lines which are a little wider than the blade. Normally I never use lasers but have been using this one because it is so accurate. Just remember your cut will be centered exactly in the middle of the two red laser lines and position your stock accordingly. The machine was dead on accurate out of the box and no adjustment was needed in any respect. The Freud 40 tooth blade is nice, though I took that off and put it on my table saw and put a fine finish blade on instead. The dust collection is terrible, probably the worst I have ever encountered - even with my 2" shop vac hose hooked up to the 2 inch port. I'm not sure why the dust collection is so bad, but I don't care, small price to pay for an excellent saw at a great price. The rails seem perfectly smooth, though I've never encountered a slider that didn't slide just fine. The adjustable fence is solid, square and well built. All positive stops lock solid, as do all other angles without a positive stop. Bevel controls on the front are solid and handy. This is one of the nicest tools I've bought in a long time, and definitely made me repeat Rigid customer. Rigid offers a lifetime service agreement, but I've had issues registering for this. I now have to send in the upc from the box (luckily I didn't throw it out) and the original receipt (normally I prefer to send a copy and keep the original, but they are inisting on the original). I am not sure why they make the process so difficult or what I will actually get out of all this effort in registering, but the saw seems really solid and at this point I cannot imagine reliability being an issue so I am not too concerned about this. In any event the standard warranty is 3 years.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would recommend to friends purchased the saw for a couple of projects I had coming up. Quality is on par with all of the big name brands. I installed crown moulding with the saw and all the controls up front and preset angles made each cut a simple process. It's the only saw I've seen with dual lasers (they may exist, but definitely not at this price point on a quality saw) and they're extremely useful. No guesswork on which side of the blade you're cutting on and no need to line up the blade since you have both edges. It's pretty hefty, but the two handles make it easy to move around. Everything was square out of the box and I don't have a complaint with any of the features in the saw. Would buy again and recommend to friends in the market.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this saw was just what i was looking for! This saw was just what I was looking for.. I bought it with the stand. makes it easy to move and set up at the jobsite.Perfect for a diy person like me. its a well built saw I recommend this saw.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Best Buy This saw is perfect for the DIYer. It's well made and easy to learn to use. The up front controls are very convenient. Being that this was my first miter saw, I went step-by-step through the manual to acquaint myself with all of the features. I also handled the whole range of miter saws at the HD in Farmingdale. The RIDGID felt more comfortable than the others. This saw is powerful, and with the supplied blade cuts smoothly.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and easy to use Great saw. I had been looking for a nice 10" sliding saw for a few years now. I took a chance on this one after the store was out of the Ryobi model. Very pleased with it. The double bevel is nice. The motor's "soft start" is great for beginners as it is less scary and won't jump out of your hands w/ a 0-3600 rpm burst. The laser guide and light features are nice (I don't use laser guides) and would be good for beginners. The saw is a little heavy (to be expected) and cumbersome to move from job to job. Also, it has a large footprint on the work bench (approx: 27"x38" needed for full capability). Also, you need the full 38" depth to make simple cuts since the slide will be all the way back to the wall (if that is where your workbench is). My saw was perfectly ready to go out of the box w/ accurate and true 90 degree, etc angles.
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool My first miter saw I have bought. Well built and everything was square right out of the box. Would purchase another Rigid product.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built sturdy saw So far so good ridgid makes good tools I haven't found anything to complain about
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw The saw is solid and operates easily great for difficult large compound cuts.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from esr saw for the money Saw has up front control, double laser and dual tilt. What more do you need.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Excellent saw, all the features I was looking for at a great price!
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase Everything came as requested, easy to assemble and ready to use
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Saw So far so good, only used a couple times so far no complaints.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool Love it All controls are at front no reaching over for bevel
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not impressed I was not impressed with this saw which unfortunately is starting to be my reaction to some of the newer Ridgid power and cordless tools. I am guessing this smaller sliding compound miter saw is replacing the 12” model as far as what the NY and NJ stores are carrying. Let me give you my first impression of the saw. When I took it out of the box it just seemed to have a cheap feel to it. Not at all in the league of the 12” slider Ridgid sells. There so much bulk with the handle configuration, however it did not feel substantial. It just seemed to be made to look beefy. The slides were a bit stiff on my saw, which isn’t surprising and will more than likely loosen up after use. The hold down clamp that is provided was fine and is better than you get with a lot of other saws. I had a tough time loosening the compound lock similar to another reviewer. The two LED lights in the handle are nice, which is part of the reason the handle is so wide. The laser was ok but I don’t rely on a laser and had not tested it for accuracy, so I can’t comment on that perspective. Overall it just felt like a cheaper saw, and for 400 bucks that is unacceptable. My reason for purchasing this model was to downsize from my Dewalt DW718 12” slider, to save some room in my small shop. This version caught my eye being 100 dollars cheaper than the similar sized Dewalt 10” slider, but that 100 dollar difference really showed itself. I was just plain disappointed overall and retuned this and bought the 10” dewalt which is a superior saw and worth the extra money. If this saw were 100 dollars less, I would have felt it was a good value for the money. Over the years I have owned a fair amount of Ridgid and Dewalt tools, but I have found myself going back to Dewalt more and more with no regrets. Ridgid seems to have lost their way a bit and now you are no longer getting the higher tool quality at a lower price. You seem to be getting a lower quality tool supported by a longer warranty. I don’t care about a lifetime service agreement if it takes 8 weeks to fix the tool, I would rather it didn’t break at all and I never need the warranty.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More user friendly than Dewalt. Excellent saw. Lots of little perks that add up huge during a 10 hour day of framing million dollar plus custom homes. Year round.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thr Pro's & Con's - 10" - Rigid Sliding Compound Miter Saw My first review of the 10" Rigid sliding compound miter saw did not include the pro's & con's...so here is a listing: Pro's: *Acceptable quality & accuracy based on the limitations of price range. *Acceptable ease in making & keeping various adjustments. *Acceptable ease in reading & understanding instruction manual & diagrams. *Acceptable ease in unpacking & setting up tool. *Acceptable overall tool design with minimum flaws & large footprint with mounting holes. *Two sturdy & conveniently placed transport handles. *Powerful 15 amp soft start motor with positive stop clutchng. *Comfortable grip handle with dual safety lock & off/on switch. *Positive stops on miter table are dead on. *Ease in table turning...as long as sawdust & blade debris are kept to minimum. *Sliding feature is smooth and accurate along the push distance. *Convenient bevel & miter locking levers, sliding locking knobs and adjustable depth stop. *Freud-Diablo 1040A saw blade included. Excellent value. *Positive spindle lock for blade changes. *Included workpiece clamp is interchangeable to the left & right of blade. *Dual laser has pro's & con's. Pro: bright, except in sunny, outdoor conditions. LED is bright. *Three year warrantee covers even normal wear...90 day return-to-the-store policy. Cons: *No extension wings....and no way to add them. *Dual line laser feature is misunderstood. While the left line is factory adjusted for your cutting marks, the right line may require adjustment if you prefer to use that side of the blade. You must choose either left or right alignment of the laser to the intended saw marks. There is no way to bring both lines closer together to reduce the gap. A wider keft blade may solve the problem and fill the gap between laser projected lines. While most users quickly adapt to such cutting quirks...perhaps a single line adjustable laser would be better. *Adjustable, extendable portion (top) of fence is too small. *Bevel gauge hard to read as it is partially hid by sliding mechanism. *Sawdust exhaust port is ill-placed. When saw is returned to upright position, sawdust filters back in. *Sawdust exhaust port requires 2 1/4" (OD) adapter to hook up to most vac hoses...not included. *1/16 gap between motor case & blade gear transfer case. This could admit sawdust. *No parts listing in instruction manual. *Rigid's on-line registration is difficult, asks too many personal survey questions and is user-unfriendly. *Although not required in the instruction manual (page 33), other literature indicates owner must register the product to obtain warrantee service. This may be illegal in some states. Save your original sales receipt. All considered... I continue to rate this saw with four stars and have used it for routine shop tasks and several Crown Molding jobs with satisfactory results. (Although any Crown Molding miter job is tricky.) Built-in Canadian settings are a plus As I've stated in my first post, match the tool with your expectations & job needs.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versitle Slidng compound miter saw at a reasonable price. Many times I need to cut a short 12 inch shelf....and this does the job. The light and dual laser are accurate once aligned. The miter cuts are great and the noise level is low for this tool.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it Works great. Good saw all around. I wish i would have purchased it sooner
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this saw and stand Very sturdy heavy duty and easy to use. Love the led light and lasers on it. Cuts great. Absolutely love this saw. The stand is a must too.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rigid Sliding Miter Saw As Advertised This is my first miter saw and I purchased for a 3 bedroom 650SF 12MM 6 inch wide laminate floor install. I was lusting for the Bosch 10 inch but could not justify $600. I had been watching this saw for a couple of months and bought it on sale for $300, having it delivered to my home. My father-in-law, a life-long wood worker, is helping me on the job, and has complemented this saw numerous times, especially for the price. Specifically, accurate out of the box, dual lasers are nice to see the cut, soft start, set up for either hand to operate, common cuts are clearly indicated, lighter than expected and easy for two people to carry up steps, stock blade works well for the job we are doing. So far the saw is doing everything I need it to do. Only complaint is the dust capture is poor, we simply attached my shop vac and performance was much better.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this saw except..... This saw is exactly what I needed. Everything was square out of the box. It works great except the dust collection port is in a bad location and isn't very effective. I'm trying to engineer something in my garage to make it better. Overall, this saw is an excellent buy. About $100 cheaper than compare able other brand name models. I've had it for 2 months now and I love it.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw This has been a great saw for me so far. The only problem I have had is the saw losing square a few times. It's not that hard to recalibrate, but the saw was not dropped or anything causing it to go out of square. Otherwise, saw cuts really well, dust collection works pretty average, and bevel stops are accurate.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice saw but watch out for the laser This is a nice quality saw with good features for the money. There is one deal breaking problem that caused me to return it and get a refund. The width between the double line laser beams is not adjustable and the distance is wider that the kerf of the saw blade. This means that it can only be aligned at one time to either the left laser line or the right. This negates the ability to flip crown, etc. and make quick on the fly cuts from left to right without re-adjusting the laser sight. This essentially renders the laser sight useless for practical purposes. Otherwise it is a nice saw. I especially like the front bevel control. I had a ripped dust bag and a crooked lower blade guard upon unpacking the saw from the box. I called customer service and they answered immediately and sent replacement parts no questions asked. The representative was very knowledgeable about the saw and was very honest about the laser shortcomings. She indicated that Ridgid was aware of the problem and that it would be corrected in future production runs, but a fix would not likely be available to current saw owners. As a result, I decided to return the saw for a refund. I cannot say enough about Ridgid's great customer service! If the laser sight is not a big feature for you, then this is a great saw for the money.
Date published: 2012-08-29
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_200
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT