0884005340619

RIDGID

Model # MS255SR

Internet # 203132245

Store SKU # 323986

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

$349.00 /each
  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # MS255SR

Internet # 203132245

Store SKU # 323986

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Blade Diameter 
10 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
22.52 
Product Height (in.) 
18.03 
Product Width (in.) 
34.84 
Table Length (in.) 
22 
Table Width (in.) 
12 
Details
45 Degree Crosscut Capacity Maximum - Left 
1 7/8" X 12" 
90 Degree Crosscut Capacity Maximum - Left 
3 1/2" X 12" 
90 Degree Crosscut Capacity Maximum - Right 
3 1/2" X 12" 
Amperage (amps) 
15 
Arbor Size 
5/8" 
Bench & Stationary Tool Type 
Slide Miter Saw 
Bench or Stationary 
Bench 
Bevel Type 
Dual 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
10 
Cordless/ Corded 
Corded 
Dust Collection Method 
2 in. Dust Port 
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 
3.5 
Maximum Degree Miter Cuts - Left 
52 
Maximum Degree Miter Cuts - Right 
60 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
3600 
Maximum miter capacity 
3.5 
Miter Saw Type 
Sliding Compound 
No Tool Blade Change 
No 
Power Tool Features 
No Additional Features 
Power Tool Product Type 
Bench & Stationary 
Product Weight (lb.) 
46.74 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Cordless/ Corded: Corded
Miter Saw Type: Sliding Compound
Bevel Type: Dual
Power Tool Features: No Additional Features
Price: $300 - $400
Brand: RIDGID
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Search
40 Questions93 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
10 answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
TG
March 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2015
Answer: 
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Table saw. It's much easier to cut the dados for the shelves on table saw. You may also be ripping lumber to different widths provided you don't use off the shelf pre-milled lumber which I do not recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw Read More
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw safely. A miter saw is potentially much safer than a table saw, but it will not replace all of the functions that a table saw will do. If you are cross cutting on table saw, you need to do it correctly to avoid kickback. If you are ripping, you have to feed the stock correctly and keep your hands out of the blade. A table saw is a better bet especially for shelving and especially if you need to rip. A table saw is more useful for more tasks. My vote would be for the Table Saw. Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
Table saw. With a CSMS(Compound sliding miter saw) you are limited to 12 to 14 inch cuts. With a table saw you can make any length of rip needed. The CSMS is ideal for cross cutting so if you expect that to be your primary type of cut then the CSMS is idea. Though you can do almost anything with a table saw that you can do with a CSMS. It just takes a higher skill level to do.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Tough question to answer. If you are cutting lengths of shelving narrow enough to be cut on a sliding miter, then it will suffice. A miter saw makes short work of accurate cross cuts, but cannot make any rip cuts. You will have problems making accurate miter cuts on an inexpensive, portable table saw. They are two really different tools.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
karl
May 8, 2013
Answer: 
I advise you buy a table saw so that you can cut the any width wood what you want.Although for a beginer,the miter saw maybe preformance better when you use it than the table saw.This is only for your reference.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
A sliding miter saw would be better as long as you don't plan to make the shelves more than 12" deep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
If the wood you are using is already cut to width. Say 1x12 for example you would not need a table saw. A table saw is used for cutting down the width of a board a miter saw is used for cutting the length of a board. If you are using premade trim to finish off your bookcase you NEED the miter saw
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 5, 2013
Answer: 
There is no right or wrong answer to this question; it is a matter of personal preference. Factors to consider include the design of the bookcase and type of joints you intend to use. Generally speaking the slidder will handle long stock cross cuts better and safer than a table saw so for a less intricate design with simple joints most would probably be more comfortable with the slidder.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2013
Answer: 
Without any doubt at all - a table saw. The 10" sliding miter saw can only cut up to a width of 12", and a 12" is only a little more than that - 13.5". You will usually need to be able to cut a much higher width than that, and often you'll need to trim a piece lengthways too.
The table saw is your only option for those sorts of uses.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
 
10 answers

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Undone
Clayton, iN
February 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Houston, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2016
Answer: 
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. However I feel a table saw is much more dependable for this task.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. It's not exactly great. You have to be careful to apply the same down pressure every time and avoid the inclination to press down harder over time. The stop mechanism flexes under pressure and can give you cuts of varying depths if you are not careful. I would have preferred something a bit more substantial. But it does have one and if you pay attention it does work.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. I used mine the other day; worked great. Use a straight piece of scrap wood between your wood and the fence so the blade can go through the entire length of your piece.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has a stop depth setting. But there is no scale with it. To determine the depth you need to measure from the base to the bottom of the blade to get the correct adjustment. Awkward, but it has the capability.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes there is a depth stop setting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it can be set with the bolt on the right side of the saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw Read More
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw with a dado blade otherwise there could be injury due to contact of the blade and saw guards. Read Less
-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
We do not make or support this model, please contact the manufacturer, Chevron 866-974-3443
-27points
2out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful29
 
7 answers

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Don
June 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to Read More
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rocklin, CA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Buy the Ridgid Mitre Saw Utility Vehicle. It's simple, portable and heavy duty. A great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2013
Answer: 
It will work on any stand. They are all universal. Including the ridgid stand
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 19, 2013
Answer: 
See related products below, an excellent stand that makes the saw more mobile, provide support for long stock and allows the saw to be store vertically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2012
Answer: 
I know this will fit right on the new AC9945 folding stand and I ma sure the older Ac9944. The dewalt DWX723 and DW725 will handle this as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Sacramento Ca
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
I bought the RIDGID Mobile Miter Saw Stand
Model # AC9945 for this saw. It was worth the investment.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2012
Answer: 
This saw does fit a specific Ridgid stand. It’s the Ridgid mobile miter saw stand (Home Depot sku 984-386).
Thank you
Miter Saw Customer Service
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
 
5 answers

What are the bevel capacities (right and left) of his saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Sidster
MI
August 9, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Felton, DE
Read all my Q&A
March 31, 2015
Answer: 
45 degrees, both left and right.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
46 degrees right and left
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
See specifications here:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-10-in-Sliding-Compound-Miter-Saw-with-Dual-Laser-Guide-MS255SR/203132245
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
48 Degrees both directions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Jasper
October 17, 2012
Answer: 
Are you looking for the cutting capacity? It's 2x12 when beveled right or left at 45 degrees.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-05-29 T15:27:22.267-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product has great features!! First started with a craftsmen and returned it next day because a rough slide track and it needed alot of adjustments. When unpacked the saw the first thing that caught my attention was that this saw came with a Freud Diablo Saw blade. After setting this on the Ryobi Miter Saw Stand I was really impressed to discover that it was out-of-box trued. Made several test cuts various angles and wow, no adjustments needed.The soft start is great, lasers and LED light fantastic, and the slide track smooth and solid. Wish I bought this set up sooner! June 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Versatile and easy to use Great saw. I had been looking for a nice 10" sliding saw for a few years now. I took a chance on this one after the store was out of the Ryobi model. Very pleased with it. The double bevel is nice. The motor's "soft start" is great for beginners as it is less scary and won't jump out of your hands w/ a 0-3600 rpm burst. The laser guide and light features are nice (I don't use laser guides) and would be good for beginners. The saw is a little heavy (to be expected) and cumbersome to move from job to job. Also, it has a large footprint on the work bench (approx: 27"x38" needed for full capability). Also, you need the full 38" depth to make simple cuts since the slide will be all the way back to the wall (if that is where your workbench is). My saw was perfectly ready to go out of the box w/ accurate and true 90 degree, etc angles. March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for everyday use Loved this saw out of the box. I found the clamp was a little hard to remove until I realized it has a cam lock in it. Once I twisted it correctly, it came right out. Had to remember to remove the upper and lower fences for full bevel capacity. Love the adjustable bevel lock feature but it takes some getting used to. Watched a youtube video for help. Then called customer service, they really understand the product and use of the bevel lock adjustment. The blade has stayed sharp after 2 months of weekend use. I love it! October 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite suprised!!! Very nice saw. Well, so much for the past reviews on the laser....I just picked up a 10" DBL BVL Rigid saw at HD and right out of the box the laser was dead on. So I guess they fixed that and thought everyone should know. At least mine was just fine. Over all quality was very good and I didn't notice any rev delay on the motor. Even IF the delay were a couple of seconds, who jumps right in and makes a cut that fast. Lets see, 400 cuts, 2 seconds each, that's about 13 minutes in a day.....really? Ok, I've done professional work but now I only do home projects. I don't think for the money anyone is going to find a better value. Maybe equal but not better. You get a very good blade and it's less $$ than the Yellow one, And for the record, no one asked me to place this review. I just thought it was only right, having read some of the negatives that the record should be up to date. March 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by like the saw; lifetime warranty has hoops Saw has been sawing. It saws. Can't fully register online for lifetime warranty. You must mail in original receipt and box top. Not very tech savvy. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I am satisfied with my purchase at this time At yhis time I am satisfied with my saw I haven't had it for a lengthy time period July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thr Pro's & Con's - 10" - Rigid Sliding Compound Miter Saw My first review of the 10" Rigid sliding compound miter saw did not include the pro's & con's...so here is a listing: Pro's: *Acceptable quality & accuracy based on the limitations of price range. *Acceptable ease in making & keeping various adjustments. *Acceptable ease in reading & understanding instruction manual & diagrams. *Acceptable ease in unpacking & setting up tool. *Acceptable overall tool design with minimum flaws & large footprint with mounting holes. *Two sturdy & conveniently placed transport handles. *Powerful 15 amp soft start motor with positive stop clutchng. *Comfortable grip handle with dual safety lock & off/on switch. *Positive stops on miter table are dead on. *Ease in table turning...as long as sawdust & blade debris are kept to minimum. *Sliding feature is smooth and accurate along the push distance. *Convenient bevel & miter locking levers, sliding locking knobs and adjustable depth stop. *Freud-Diablo 1040A saw blade included. Excellent value. *Positive spindle lock for blade changes. *Included workpiece clamp is interchangeable to the left & right of blade. *Dual laser has pro's & con's. Pro: bright, except in sunny, outdoor conditions. LED is bright. *Three year warrantee covers even normal wear...90 day return-to-the-store policy. Cons: *No extension wings....and no way to add them. *Dual line laser feature is misunderstood. While the left line is factory adjusted for your cutting marks, the right line may require adjustment if you prefer to use that side of the blade. You must choose either left or right alignment of the laser to the intended saw marks. There is no way to bring both lines closer together to reduce the gap. A wider keft blade may solve the problem and fill the gap between laser projected lines. While most users quickly adapt to such cutting quirks...perhaps a single line adjustable laser would be better. *Adjustable, extendable portion (top) of fence is too small. *Bevel gauge hard to read as it is partially hid by sliding mechanism. *Sawdust exhaust port is ill-placed. When saw is returned to upright position, sawdust filters back in. *Sawdust exhaust port requires 2 1/4" (OD) adapter to hook up to most vac hoses...not included. *1/16 gap between motor case & blade gear transfer case. This could admit sawdust. *No parts listing in instruction manual. *Rigid's on-line registration is difficult, asks too many personal survey questions and is user-unfriendly. *Although not required in the instruction manual (page 33), other literature indicates owner must register the product to obtain warrantee service. This may be illegal in some states. Save your original sales receipt. All considered... I continue to rate this saw with four stars and have used it for routine shop tasks and several Crown Molding jobs with satisfactory results. (Although any Crown Molding miter job is tricky.) Built-in Canadian settings are a plus As I've stated in my first post, match the tool with your expectations & job needs. September 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Frustrating Back to the store for a replacement and I haven't even plugged the saw in. It appears the Chinese factory doesn't test these out thoroughly, mine would not tilt regardless of the levers (I even watched a YouTube instructional video), it was jammed solid. Finally out of desparation I loosened one of the back bolts to get the bevel to move, and despite tightening again, the thing will now not hold bevel in place. This is not a good sign of assembly quality. A $400 piece of junk paperweight. July 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful piece of precise machinery !!!! I purchased the 12" slider + free stand first. I could not get the travel square with the fence and the blade square with the fence at the same time. I got rid of the 12", and bought the 10" slider instead. This saw was perfectly square out of the box !!! I used high precision squares to check everything, and found that NOTHING needed adjusted !!!! The only thing I regret, was not purchasing this saw first. this 10" slider is so easy to operate, and is so much more refined than the 12" version. Another thing that I noticed was there is zero lateral play in the linear bearing slide, even when fully extended. The bearing slides are the smoothest I have seen. I can not say enough how happy I am with the quality of this 10" RIDGID sliding miter saw. I am filling my shop with RIDGID power tools now. For $399.00, you can a very beautiful machine. Don't be swayed by reviews that yam about laser accuracy and other nonsense like that. I love this saw, and so will you !!! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by More user friendly than Dewalt. Excellent saw. Lots of little perks that add up huge during a 10 hour day of framing million dollar plus custom homes. Year round. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Slidder I have used miter saws of various types and brands for several years. I had decided on the 12" slidding compound DeWalt but then I saw this saw in the store and liked its features. I have a 10" dual bevel Porter Cable saw that I retrofitted a laser guide on that I have loved but lacked the capacity of a slidding saw. Being a slidder this saw takes care of the problem and I love the work light and dual lasers which makes cutting right or left of the blade much easier. I mounted it on their gravity stand and it is a jewel too. This is an excellent rig with nearly the same capacity [on a practical level the same] as a 12" and far better features. Very well designed. The only thing I have changed is the blade as I demand untra smooth cuts so I put a 96 tooth ultra fine finish blade on it and it is working very well. Highly recommended! February 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Performance and Value for the DIY This is my 3rd miter saw. I also own a Makita 10", a Ryobi 10" compound, and now the Ridgid 10" sliding compound. I have consistently enjoyed the improvements each saw provided and the Ridgid is no exception. While a bit bulky (still significantly less so than the 12" model) the saw is lightweight and very portable. The slide works very well and is easy to operate. The handle has the light and laser incorporated providing operator control (on/off) and is easy to grip. The thumb safety provides additional operator protection which some may find as a fault but I feel you can never be too safe with power tools. The brake works very well. The light isn't really needed or is the laser guide but both could be helpful in the right situation. Noise was minimal and I especially appreciate the soft start feature (my other 2 saws do not have this). The indexes/indents are spot on and swiveling the table is a breeze. I particularly like the added ease of changing cut angles with the thumb latch release. The saw does have a dual locking mechanism if you need to be absolutely certain that the blade doesn't move when cutting. Haven't noticed a real difference with or without the second lock but it does provide additional assurance. I was disappionted that there are no bevel stops so it is important to cut all bevels on one setup. Jumping back and forth between angle and bevel cuts will create problems. Overall I would rate this product as above satisfactory for mitering millwork and excellent for any general home project. If I were a contractor and needed to have either perfection (precision) or make many cuts (durability) I would seriously consider upgrading to a 12" saw by Bosch or Hitachi but then again it will cost you considerably more. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This saw is the best. Right out of the box it was ready to go. Checked some settings as per the instructions but did not have to adjust anything. Plenty of power and all the angles are true anmd prcise, I wish I had this 2 years ago,. the only downside is the dust collection could be a little better, even with a vac attached it doesn't get all the saw dust, but with the way everything else works I don't have a problem sweeping a little. The lasers are spot on. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love my new saw, it's a great product I have used my saw several times and I'm totally pleased with it. I would recommend Home depot products to everyone. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent saw for the money with all the bells and features backed by great warranty. Easy to use controls and simple. Angles are easy to read on bevel and miter. I did however have the laser go out so i called customers service and they sent out a new one for free. Love this saw. Seems to do everything I've asked of it and most of that is hardwoods. January 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected The quality is not bad except for the fence. You will only get one side of the fence to be 90 degrees to the blade. So if you only cut from the left this saw will work for you. If the saw was cheaper I would have cut the fence in the back and aligned each end and welded back in place. I have 7 years experience with woodworking and 15 years in metal fabrication. I picked up a cheap radial arm saw that I have used for the last 7 years for dimensioning lumber. I use a circular saw and a square to get a true 90 degree cut currently. All these wood working tools are getting higher in cost and the quality is not there if your trying to save money and do things yourself. Its getting to the point I may just call it quits due to tool cost or just make my own tools using a cheap unit as a starter kits. I had the saw 4 days never turned it on because of the fence issue would not work for me. Returned to the store. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by By far the easiest miter saw to use This saw is hands down the most simple to use. no more reaching over to the back of the saw to set the bevel cuts. All levers and buttons are in the front making for faster adjustments.The motor starts out slow and in a few seconds reaches its max speed.This stops any jerky movements that cause problems when cutting a very small piece. my only complaint is it should come with at least a 60 tooth blade. Not a 40. March 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw This saw is great for doing things around the house. I decided to get this 10in. after doing much research and comparison with other brands and sizes. You can't go wrong with Ridgid and their lifetime service agreement. Hoping for many many years of faithful service from this saw. November 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This product is a huge dissapointment! have many ridgid power tools and this one just does not make the grade at all. I give it an F.......it is comparable in quality to a Ryobi. hate to say that but is the truth. The fence on it is not true has a warping issue from the factory. as well as the lasers went out after about 12 cuts!!! so not happy with this and am wondering if I should even continue to buy Ridgid tools.....? December 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by the worst one ever the plastic ends break. when u extend the end helpers ,will never buy one again. I have a dewalt, josh,and a ridget. and the Bosch. is still the best all metal. and aluminum January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good tool overall. Compound cuts at full tilt are pain as you have to remove all fence extensions. Overall a good tool. The bevel capacity is a bit annoying. The double sided laser is nice but not extremely accurate. But most are not. January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Features, bad laser light The saw has great features, and one very bad. Pros: Great soft start motor, no kick up, sound is quieter and smoother than all others in it's class. The sliding mechanism is the smoothest in the class. You can push this saw forward with a feather. The Ridgid's dust collection is about 30%, about par for this kind of saw. Front lock mechanism needed a slight adjustment, (easily done) to remove some play. Cons: Laser light not visible outside. Left laser light right on, initially. Right laser light off about 3/16" and could not be adjusted to be correct. Left laser light not visible at all after one month of use, inside or outside. Summation: If the Ridgid followed a competitor's LED light system, you would have a nearly perfect saw. Unfortunately it's a huge disadvantage not having a light system that works. If you don't need or care about the light system, then this is the saw to get. For me, I'll keep looking. December 30, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by falls apart Less than 20 uses guard screws fell out all threaded fixtures on saw guard were stripped screws backed out and fell into carriage . Fences were off one sixteenth to one eighth overall I would not recommend this product for use in the trade kb silver owner KB Silver Construction July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw This saw was just what I wanted. The price was right and cuts perfect right out of the box. Laser is wide, but doesn't bother me. I mark my cuts anyway. The fences are straight. This is my first miter saw and I got a good one. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Saw I really like this saw. It seems to be pretty accurate and very easy to make setup adjustments for each cut. We built a two story deck with this saw and it worked great. It did slow down a bit with the larger size lumber (4x12x12) as many saws do, but with a good blade, it worked just as good and the higher price 10” miter saws I have used in the past. June 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Laser Adjustment I bought my saw yesterday, and immediately noticed what other reviewers have said about the laser accuracy. This one, in my opinion isn't bad. After adjustment, my lines are still off maybe a sixteenth of an inch on each side, but for precise cuts, I like to sneak up on the length. After my first three cuts, I was able to predict the actual cut line pretty well. Laser line accuracy on this saw is not a major shortcoming. As received, my laser lines were off more on one side than the other. There is a small T-10 Torx screw on the handle that allows for a side-side adjustment, but it moves both lines at the same time, and there is no way to narrow the distance between the lines. I was able to center the laser lines, but once I moved beyond that point, one of the lines started to get faint and disappear. The other features on this saw are as advertised. The saw is sturdy, but not too heavy to lift. There is a handle on the back, which along with the blade handle, makes the saw easy to pick up and move. This is a lot of saw for the price. June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great out of the box Love this product. Have had three saws previous and this one has given me no trouble. Perfect out of the box. The laser is not so good but I have figured out how to get around it. Dust collection could be better but not a deal breaker. April 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use Great Saw and a great value. I would recommend this saw to anyone. September 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for the professional This saw is not for the professional who needs precise cuts . Laser is not accurate and the one I bought was off 1/8 inch on a 12 inch stair tread. Took it back and spent the extra 200.00 for the the yellow one.Don't know if I purchased a lemon but not impressed with this saw . November 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far so good My last SCM saw bit the dust after years of faithful service. I needed a saw "today" and this was the best deal at HD IMO. So far it's been a great saw. Smooth, great accuracy, the ability to cut 60* is a big improvement over my last one. When framing a 8/12 pitch wall the std angle is 33.9*, and the alternate angle being 54* is tough to do on many saws. The saw does have some bulk in plastic that's probably unnecessary, but the castings are well built, the movement is clean and smooth, and the cuts are precise. After a few hundred cuts, I can't complain. It was expensive and if they had the 12" I would have probably spent the extra $150, but only the 10 is stocked now at most stores. Either one will cut almost any dimensional lumber. The lights and laser are worthless. I can't say I've ever been in a dark room and thought "you know, if this saw just had a light on it, I could see the board I'm trying to cut." I would get a real light. Just a gimmick. I can't see anyone actually trying to use a laser for any type of precise cutting. I wouldn't even use them for framing. For me that's not a detracting point as I had no intention of ever using either function. July 1, 2013
  • 2016-05-29 T15:12:13.409-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_136, tr_136
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 200ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT