Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

Store SKU #323986

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $179.00
$169.00 /each
Save $10.00 (6%)
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$379.00 /each
Save $20.00 (5%)
$399.00 /each
Name 15-Amp 10 in. Sliding Miter Saw with Laser 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity
Brand Ryobi RIDGID DEWALT RIDGID
Ratings (212) (164) (65) (78)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Blade Diameter 10 10 in 12 12
Bevel Type Single Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features Laser Guide,Positive Stops No Additional Features Positive Stops Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 3.5 9.5 4
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

54 Questions144 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
10 answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
TG
March 2, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2015
Answer: 
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Table saw. It's much easier to cut the dados for the shelves on table saw. You may also be ripping lumber to different widths provided you don't use off the shelf pre-milled lumber which I do not recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw Read More
A sliding Miter saw is a specialty tool, in that you can do everything it can do with a skill saw and a table saw. The miter saw just does some tasks much more easily and more accurately. My opinion on this matter is that you will get more mileage out of a table saw especially if you are ripping stock.
I will warn however that if you are new to using tools, you need to learn how to use a table saw safely. A miter saw is potentially much safer than a table saw, but it will not replace all of the functions that a table saw will do. If you are cross cutting on table saw, you need to do it correctly to avoid kickback. If you are ripping, you have to feed the stock correctly and keep your hands out of the blade. A table saw is a better bet especially for shelving and especially if you need to rip. A table saw is more useful for more tasks. My vote would be for the Table Saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
College Place, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 10, 2013
Answer: 
Table saw. With a CSMS(Compound sliding miter saw) you are limited to 12 to 14 inch cuts. With a table saw you can make any length of rip needed. The CSMS is ideal for cross cutting so if you expect that to be your primary type of cut then the CSMS is idea. Though you can do almost anything with a table saw that you can do with a CSMS. It just takes a higher skill level to do.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Tough question to answer. If you are cutting lengths of shelving narrow enough to be cut on a sliding miter, then it will suffice. A miter saw makes short work of accurate cross cuts, but cannot make any rip cuts. You will have problems making accurate miter cuts on an inexpensive, portable table saw. They are two really different tools.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
karl
May 8, 2013
Answer: 
I advise you buy a table saw so that you can cut the any width wood what you want.Although for a beginer,the miter saw maybe preformance better when you use it than the table saw.This is only for your reference.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
A sliding miter saw would be better as long as you don't plan to make the shelves more than 12" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
If the wood you are using is already cut to width. Say 1x12 for example you would not need a table saw. A table saw is used for cutting down the width of a board a miter saw is used for cutting the length of a board. If you are using premade trim to finish off your bookcase you NEED the miter saw
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 5, 2013
Answer: 
There is no right or wrong answer to this question; it is a matter of personal preference. Factors to consider include the design of the bookcase and type of joints you intend to use. Generally speaking the slidder will handle long stock cross cuts better and safer than a table saw so for a less intricate design with simple joints most would probably be more comfortable with the slidder.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2013
Answer: 
Without any doubt at all - a table saw. The 10" sliding miter saw can only cut up to a width of 12", and a 12" is only a little more than that - 13.5". You will usually need to be able to cut a much higher width than that, and often you'll need to trim a piece lengthways too.
The table saw is your only option for those sorts of uses.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
10 answers

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Undone
Clayton, iN
February 26, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Houston, Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 3, 2016
Answer: 
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. However I feel a table saw is much more dependable for this task.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. It's not exactly great. You have to be careful to apply the same down pressure every time and avoid the inclination to press down harder over time. The stop mechanism flexes under pressure and can give you cuts of varying depths if you are not careful. I would have preferred something a bit more substantial. But it does have one and if you pay attention it does work.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Guam
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. I used mine the other day; worked great. Use a straight piece of scrap wood between your wood and the fence so the blade can go through the entire length of your piece.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has a stop depth setting. But there is no scale with it. To determine the depth you need to measure from the base to the bottom of the blade to get the correct adjustment. Awkward, but it has the capability.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
SW Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes there is a depth stop setting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Yes it can be set with the bolt on the right side of the saw.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw Read More
Slidding compounds are not really designed for dado cuts or dado blades and personally I would not recommend it for that purpose; a radial arm saw is a much better choice for that application. That said this saw does have an adjustable depth stop that might enable it to be used for that purpose though clearance with the saw blade guard should be very carefully inspected before attempting to run the saw with a dado blade otherwise there could be injury due to contact of the blade and saw guards. Read Less
-2points
4out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful6

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 27, 2013
Answer: 
We do not make or support this model, please contact the manufacturer, Chevron 866-974-3443
-30points
2out of 34found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful32
 
7 answers

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Don
June 21, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Syracuse
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2014
Answer: 
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to Read More
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rocklin, CA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Buy the Ridgid Mitre Saw Utility Vehicle. It's simple, portable and heavy duty. A great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 5, 2013
Answer: 
It will work on any stand. They are all universal. Including the ridgid stand
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Placentia, CA 92870, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 19, 2013
Answer: 
See related products below, an excellent stand that makes the saw more mobile, provide support for long stock and allows the saw to be store vertically.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2012
Answer: 
I know this will fit right on the new AC9945 folding stand and I ma sure the older Ac9944. The dewalt DWX723 and DW725 will handle this as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Sacramento Ca
Read all my Q&A
June 26, 2012
Answer: 
I bought the RIDGID Mobile Miter Saw Stand
Model # AC9945 for this saw. It was worth the investment.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2012
Answer: 
This saw does fit a specific Ridgid stand. It’s the Ridgid mobile miter saw stand (Home Depot sku 984-386).
Thank you
Miter Saw Customer Service
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
5 answers

Does the saw have soft start?

This question is from 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Narberth,PA
Read all my Q&A
July 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne ,California
Read all my Q&A
June 10, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bradenton FL
Read all my Q&A
May 24, 2016
Answer: 
Yes it has a soft start. Takes a little time to get use to
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Montgomery, AL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 12, 2016
Answer: 
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID.
Yes the Ridgid MS255SR has a soft start.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:23:44.905-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 70ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not bad This thing works well and has soft start and brake. The only issue I've noticed so far is that the lazer cannot be used outside because it is really dim. March 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Solid Saw The saw was true right out of the box. I read a lot of complaints about the laser but I have never seen a true laser in any tool I have purchased. The laser is a dual laser that shows on either side of the blade. It is definitely wider than the Diablo blade that is comes with but after a couple test cuts I could tell where the blade would hit. Used it to frame up a new outdoor entrance to a basement on a sloped concrete foundation. Dialed it in at 18 degrees and after 20 cuts they were all perfect. This saw is heavy but anyone who wants a light saw is probably only needing it for light duty. i have used this to cut 2x12 for porch steps, and 4x4 beams for the supports. The dual handles make it very easy to transport from work site to work site. Love the saw. November 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use, but heavy. The saw is a very powerful and easy to use. The laser is very accurate and bright. I like the ability to operate either right or left handed. Overall very happy with the way the saw operates. Only drawback is that it is heavy and awkward to move to different jobs. December 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by More than Satisfactory I've now had my saw approximately two months, used it half a dozen times including both the miter and bevel and have had no problems - and have been very satisfied. And the slider? Smooth as glass. Yes, the laser is off maybe a sixteen of an inch, but rather than attempt to adjust, I just made note of where it cut and adjust myself. And still the laser has been quite helpful. I made a picture frame spot on, have used it with 4x4s and yard timbers, just built a ramp for the elderly, took a stab at crown molding with success, and have been completely satisfied so far. Time will tell, but I did quite a bit of research, and for the money vs. what was offered, felt this the best deal going I could find. Have not been disappointed so far. April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product has great features!! First started with a craftsmen and returned it next day because a rough slide track and it needed alot of adjustments. When unpacked the saw the first thing that caught my attention was that this saw came with a Freud Diablo Saw blade. After setting this on the Ryobi Miter Saw Stand I was really impressed to discover that it was out-of-box trued. Made several test cuts various angles and wow, no adjustments needed.The soft start is great, lasers and LED light fantastic, and the slide track smooth and solid. Wish I bought this set up sooner! June 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good saw Right out of the box the setup was nearly perfect, cuts great and is simple to use. Not overly loud for a miter saw that is. The blade (Diablo) that comes with it is top notch. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best saw i ever got. was so amazed about the light and cutting laser. easy to line up and cut accurately . easy to set up. this was a present and i'm very pleased. best combination saw ever. January 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw!!! I am a weekend DIYer and want to upgrade my saw. Vey impress with ease of use and quality of cuts January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely wanted this product The rigid product I purchased came highly rated for the price I paid. It is large enough for most home projects and is portable enough to move around. I am looking forward to lots of little "projects" to put it to use. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for everyday use Loved this saw out of the box. I found the clamp was a little hard to remove until I realized it has a cam lock in it. Once I twisted it correctly, it came right out. Had to remember to remove the upper and lower fences for full bevel capacity. Love the adjustable bevel lock feature but it takes some getting used to. Watched a youtube video for help. Then called customer service, they really understand the product and use of the bevel lock adjustment. The blade has stayed sharp after 2 months of weekend use. I love it! October 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by slide ridge compound miter saw great saw don't know i would out it i'am retired tradesmen and woodworking is my hobby December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great gift and great for installing our laminate floofs My boyfriend loved this! Made installing our new laminate floors pretty easy. December 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great compound slider I originally overlooked this 10" saw in favor of the 12", but I ultimately returned to purchase this one due its superior features and design, and its smaller size and weight. The saw was easy to setup, and the minor adjustments that I made to get it perfectly square were quick and easy. The included Diablo blade is good, although I did replace it with a 90-tooth blade just to get the flawless cut edge that I was after. The center-mounted handle is easy to get used to, and I now prefer the ability to use either hand. The handle also includes both left- and right-handed safety switches, so I need not contort my left hand to turn on the saw. I also really like the alignment laser and the work light - both are AC powered (no batteries), and both have switches so that they can be turned on/off without the blade running. It's great to be able to get setup and THEN turn the blade on. The soft start does mean that it takes several seconds for the blade to reach full speed, but this is a minor inconvenience. I like the soft start. There are many small features on the saw to help with making adjustments to the miter/bevel angle. All are well-designed and easy to adjust. Most adjustments are up front, so changes are quick and easy. The indicators are big and easy to read. The included hold-down clamp doesn't do a good job of keeping your work in place - it is highly adjustable, but not rigid enough (no pun intended). This is only a minor annoyance - I rarely use it, and other work clamps can easily be used with the saw. Overall, I am very happy with this saw, and I highly recommend it to anyone. February 10, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disapointed in saw I use a miter saw every day in our stair business and this one doesn't measure up. I have had it for about 5 months. Very poor dust collection. The flap behind the blade broke off the first month. The laser is much wider than the blade making it useless The table needs lubricant twice a month or it grinds and binds. Just a very disappointing bulky saw. September 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great saw The product is great. However the product registration with ridged is terrible. You are not able to register online. If you order online and pick up in the store you don't get a receipt that is recognized by Ridgid. I called their 800 number and got a very snarky customer service rep that insisted that I had to mail in the registration. When I tried to do that I found I had to include the upc code from the box which I had destroyed already. I called back and got a helpful customer service rep who showed me how to get the online order number into THE REGISTRATION FORM. Which we did and she checked on her end AND MADE SURE IT WAS CORRECT AND REGISTERED. I got an email this morning telling me that IT wasn't registered and I would have to submit by mail including the upc code, and all original documents from Home Depot. Then at the bottom of the letter it states that I need to keep copies of the originals and it will be 12 weeks before I get my registration. I LOVE THE SAW BUT AM GOING TO RETURN IT TO HOME DEPOT THIS MORNING DUE TO THIS ISSUE OF REGISTRATION. IN 77 YEARS OF LIFE I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS POOR OF A WARRENTY REGISTRATION SYSTEM!!!! December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Versatile and easy to use Great saw. I had been looking for a nice 10" sliding saw for a few years now. I took a chance on this one after the store was out of the Ryobi model. Very pleased with it. The double bevel is nice. The motor's "soft start" is great for beginners as it is less scary and won't jump out of your hands w/ a 0-3600 rpm burst. The laser guide and light features are nice (I don't use laser guides) and would be good for beginners. The saw is a little heavy (to be expected) and cumbersome to move from job to job. Also, it has a large footprint on the work bench (approx: 27"x38" needed for full capability). Also, you need the full 38" depth to make simple cuts since the slide will be all the way back to the wall (if that is where your workbench is). My saw was perfectly ready to go out of the box w/ accurate and true 90 degree, etc angles. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch saw I searched and searched for the right saw and the rigid was the best one for the projects . December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw Great gift. Everything I needed in a saw. Was very accurate right out of the box. Began using is right after I checked all the cut angles and it was easy to use and give me all the cutting accuracy I need. October 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Frustrating Back to the store for a replacement and I haven't even plugged the saw in. It appears the Chinese factory doesn't test these out thoroughly, mine would not tilt regardless of the levers (I even watched a YouTube instructional video), it was jammed solid. Finally out of desparation I loosened one of the back bolts to get the bevel to move, and despite tightening again, the thing will now not hold bevel in place. This is not a good sign of assembly quality. A $400 piece of junk paperweight. July 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Completely satisfied with this saw. I bought this saw in late Spring of 2012. My saw was setup deadon when I opened the box. I was pleased to find a nice Freud blade on it as well. That was unexpected on my part. I can see some of the problems that other users were complaining about but I had a way around those before purchasing a new miter saw. Lasers-- I had zero intention of using them for dead on accuracy cuts. I only use them for rough cutting. I prefer the old tried & true method of sneaking up on the mark. It just works for me. Dust collection-- The dust collection on MOST miter saws is poor at best IMHO. I also had a solution for that in my garage workshop. I mounted the saw on top of a roll around tool box with locking casters & push it to the other side of the garage when needed. I have a wall down the center of my garage separating the bays. When I'm done with it I get the leaf blower out & clean the saw dust up that way. I can see where a trim carpenter would want much better collection tho. The soft start feature is a Godsend to these powerful saws. I had my Wife cutting laminate flooring start & finish pieces on 12/22/2014 & she liked it. it was her 1st time ever & she was impressed with the way she could control the saw. I have never tried to hog thru a cut yet either so I can't testify to it's power. I just take my time & let the blade do the work. My suggestion to other owners that want to use the laser feature would be to use a thicker blade to get closer to the laser line. The thin kerf blades don't get over close enough. I have no comment on durability or longevity. December 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite suprised!!! Very nice saw. Well, so much for the past reviews on the laser....I just picked up a 10" DBL BVL Rigid saw at HD and right out of the box the laser was dead on. So I guess they fixed that and thought everyone should know. At least mine was just fine. Over all quality was very good and I didn't notice any rev delay on the motor. Even IF the delay were a couple of seconds, who jumps right in and makes a cut that fast. Lets see, 400 cuts, 2 seconds each, that's about 13 minutes in a day.....really? Ok, I've done professional work but now I only do home projects. I don't think for the money anyone is going to find a better value. Maybe equal but not better. You get a very good blade and it's less $$ than the Yellow one, And for the record, no one asked me to place this review. I just thought it was only right, having read some of the negatives that the record should be up to date. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I am a DIYer and I have many lower cost miter saws (Ryobi, Harbor Freight). I decided I wanted to upgrade to something really nice and I spent a month researching all brands and reading all reviews. DeWalt does not have soft-start, nor does Bosch (which costs way too much anyway for a non-professional). I almost bought the Makita off Amazon which has free shipping, but the reviews are too mixed and it seems a lot of people complained about a wobbly, plastic positive stop at 90 degrees, which worried me since most of the cutting I do is 90 degrees. Hitachi has soft start, but those reviews were also mixed and no stores in my area carried any in stock for me to check out. I ended up buying this machine - which is my first Rigid product - and it is fabulous. It has soft start - which I think is a very important safety feature I insist on with all my new tools. It has both an LED and a laser light. The laser light has 2 lines which are a little wider than the blade. Normally I never use lasers but have been using this one because it is so accurate. Just remember your cut will be centered exactly in the middle of the two red laser lines and position your stock accordingly. The machine was dead on accurate out of the box and no adjustment was needed in any respect. The Freud 40 tooth blade is nice, though I took that off and put it on my table saw and put a fine finish blade on instead. The dust collection is terrible, probably the worst I have ever encountered - even with my 2" shop vac hose hooked up to the 2 inch port. I'm not sure why the dust collection is so bad, but I don't care, small price to pay for an excellent saw at a great price. The rails seem perfectly smooth, though I've never encountered a slider that didn't slide just fine. The adjustable fence is solid, square and well built. All positive stops lock solid, as do all other angles without a positive stop. Bevel controls on the front are solid and handy. This is one of the nicest tools I've bought in a long time, and definitely made me repeat Rigid customer. Rigid offers a lifetime service agreement, but I've had issues registering for this. I now have to send in the upc from the box (luckily I didn't throw it out) and the original receipt (normally I prefer to send a copy and keep the original, but they are inisting on the original). I am not sure why they make the process so difficult or what I will actually get out of all this effort in registering, but the saw seems really solid and at this point I cannot imagine reliability being an issue so I am not too concerned about this. In any event the standard warranty is 3 years. February 4, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by High Quality Saw, Wish I would have spent more for the larger cut Pleased with the quality and construction of the saw. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Saw Easy to set-up and start using. I really enjoy this saw, very glad I purchased it. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Slidder I have used miter saws of various types and brands for several years. I had decided on the 12" slidding compound DeWalt but then I saw this saw in the store and liked its features. I have a 10" dual bevel Porter Cable saw that I retrofitted a laser guide on that I have loved but lacked the capacity of a slidding saw. Being a slidder this saw takes care of the problem and I love the work light and dual lasers which makes cutting right or left of the blade much easier. I mounted it on their gravity stand and it is a jewel too. This is an excellent rig with nearly the same capacity [on a practical level the same] as a 12" and far better features. Very well designed. The only thing I have changed is the blade as I demand untra smooth cuts so I put a 96 tooth ultra fine finish blade on it and it is working very well. Highly recommended! February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dust Bag Does Work... ...if you use the saw correctly. If you pull the saw to you, big mess. If you run it from your body to its base, minor dust. This saw is wonderful and well built. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This saw is the best. Right out of the box it was ready to go. Checked some settings as per the instructions but did not have to adjust anything. Plenty of power and all the angles are true anmd prcise, I wish I had this 2 years ago,. the only downside is the dust collection could be a little better, even with a vac attached it doesn't get all the saw dust, but with the way everything else works I don't have a problem sweeping a little. The lasers are spot on. April 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by like the saw; lifetime warranty has hoops Saw has been sawing. It saws. Can't fully register online for lifetime warranty. You must mail in original receipt and box top. Not very tech savvy. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful piece of precise machinery !!!! I purchased the 12" slider + free stand first. I could not get the travel square with the fence and the blade square with the fence at the same time. I got rid of the 12", and bought the 10" slider instead. This saw was perfectly square out of the box !!! I used high precision squares to check everything, and found that NOTHING needed adjusted !!!! The only thing I regret, was not purchasing this saw first. this 10" slider is so easy to operate, and is so much more refined than the 12" version. Another thing that I noticed was there is zero lateral play in the linear bearing slide, even when fully extended. The bearing slides are the smoothest I have seen. I can not say enough how happy I am with the quality of this 10" RIDGID sliding miter saw. I am filling my shop with RIDGID power tools now. For $399.00, you can a very beautiful machine. Don't be swayed by reviews that yam about laser accuracy and other nonsense like that. I love this saw, and so will you !!! March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by By far the easiest miter saw to use This saw is hands down the most simple to use. no more reaching over to the back of the saw to set the bevel cuts. All levers and buttons are in the front making for faster adjustments.The motor starts out slow and in a few seconds reaches its max speed.This stops any jerky movements that cause problems when cutting a very small piece. my only complaint is it should come with at least a 60 tooth blade. Not a 40. March 16, 2013
  • 2016-10-30 T18:44:56.362-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_156, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_203132245, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT