Model # MS255SR

Internet #203132245

RIDGID 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide
0884005340619

RIDGID

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide

  • Gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions
  • Dual laser lines provide more visible cutting kerf indication
  • Upfront bevel index pin for controlling the blade tilt
$349.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 10 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw has a powerful 15Amp motor with a soft start and constant speed control for stable cutting in high load conditions. Make fast and precise adjustments with the upfront bevel lock control and miter lock lever for quick angle adjustments. An innovative gravity LED light illuminates the work area in all positions. It is ideal for the professional user in a wide range of specialties including general contractors, woodworkers, cabinetry and flooring.

  • Powerful 15 Amp motor has a soft start and constant speed control for comfortable use under different load conditions
  • In-line handle for both right and left hand use which eliminates any side force to the blade for seamless cutting
  • Miter detent knob provides quick action releases or bypasses miter detent index points with one simple motion
  • Convenient upfront bevel lock control there's no need to reach behind the saw for lock/release
  • Miter lock lever provides users with easy access to make quick angle adjustments
  • Upper sliding and lower pivot fence provide extreme support to any thin work piece
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$349.00 /each
Was $399.00
$349.00 /each
Save $50.00 (13%)
$399.00 /each
$399.00 /each
Name 10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide 15 Amp 12 in. Corded Dual Bevel Sliding Miter Saw with 70 Degree Miter Capacity 15 Amp 12 in. Dual Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Brand RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT DEWALT
Ratings (185) (278) (99) (45)
Miter Saw Type Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound Sliding Compound
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
Bevel Type Dual Dual Dual Dual
Power Tool Features No Additional Features Bag Included,Electric Brake,Positive Stops Positive Stops Positive Stops
Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.) 3.5 4 9.5 6.75
Reconditioned No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Which is better for a beginner to build shelving / bookcase; sliding miter saw or table saw

Asked by: Anonymous
A difficult question with many answers. There is no substitute for a table saw. Give me a table saw and a router and I can build anything. But for a beginner to cut only to length with angles, The miter saw would be the tool of choice.
Answered by: Randalation
Date published: 2016-12-25

Does this saw have a stop and depth setting for dado cuts?

Asked by: Anonymous
It does but it appears worthless. The depth adjustment is very minor and you need to be careful not to hit the bottom under the table. The non-sliding miter saw has a much deeper cut and I never had to worry about depth. I just upgraded from a Ridged 10" non-slider to a 10" slider and I am disappointed at how shallow the cut goes. Not sure what I'll do now. Maybe go back and check out a DeWalt slider.
Answered by: texasgolfer
Date published: 2016-08-18

Does this 10" saw fit a specific Ridgid stand? If so, which stand accomodates this saw?

Asked by: Anonymous
There are very few stands built specifically for one chop saw. Most, and including the ridged stand, are "Universal" and will work with any chop saw given the right length bolts. The Ridged stand comes with two sets of different length bots that will work in most applications. I noted though that the 10" sliding compound miter saw has threaded holes right next to the bolt holes. If you found a bolt to fit the threads, you could screw it in to the stand brackets without any bolts sticking up through. There are normally many ways to mount a saw on these stands. You can mount a piece of ply wood to the brackets for example, and then mount the chop saw to the wood. The saw mounts nicely to the 150 foldable stand Ridged makes.
Answered by: Sing
Date published: 2016-05-28

Does the saw have soft start?

Asked by: john
Yes.
Answered by: None
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_63
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

10 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw with Dual Laser Guide is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 185.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool My first miter saw I have bought. Well built and everything was square right out of the box. Would purchase another Rigid product.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built sturdy saw So far so good ridgid makes good tools I haven't found anything to complain about
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw The saw is solid and operates easily great for difficult large compound cuts.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from esr saw for the money Saw has up front control, double laser and dual tilt. What more do you need.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase Everything came as requested, easy to assemble and ready to use
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Saw So far so good, only used a couple times so far no complaints.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Love this saw,works good for my woodworking.nice even cuts.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not impressed I was not impressed with this saw which unfortunately is starting to be my reaction to some of the newer Ridgid power and cordless tools. I am guessing this smaller sliding compound miter saw is replacing the 12” model as far as what the NY and NJ stores are carrying. Let me give you my first impression of the saw. When I took it out of the box it just seemed to have a cheap feel to it. Not at all in the league of the 12” slider Ridgid sells. There so much bulk with the handle configuration, however it did not feel substantial. It just seemed to be made to look beefy. The slides were a bit stiff on my saw, which isn’t surprising and will more than likely loosen up after use. The hold down clamp that is provided was fine and is better than you get with a lot of other saws. I had a tough time loosening the compound lock similar to another reviewer. The two LED lights in the handle are nice, which is part of the reason the handle is so wide. The laser was ok but I don’t rely on a laser and had not tested it for accuracy, so I can’t comment on that perspective. Overall it just felt like a cheaper saw, and for 400 bucks that is unacceptable. My reason for purchasing this model was to downsize from my Dewalt DW718 12” slider, to save some room in my small shop. This version caught my eye being 100 dollars cheaper than the similar sized Dewalt 10” slider, but that 100 dollar difference really showed itself. I was just plain disappointed overall and retuned this and bought the 10” dewalt which is a superior saw and worth the extra money. If this saw were 100 dollars less, I would have felt it was a good value for the money. Over the years I have owned a fair amount of Ridgid and Dewalt tools, but I have found myself going back to Dewalt more and more with no regrets. Ridgid seems to have lost their way a bit and now you are no longer getting the higher tool quality at a lower price. You seem to be getting a lower quality tool supported by a longer warranty. I don’t care about a lifetime service agreement if it takes 8 weeks to fix the tool, I would rather it didn’t break at all and I never need the warranty.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More user friendly than Dewalt. Excellent saw. Lots of little perks that add up huge during a 10 hour day of framing million dollar plus custom homes. Year round.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this saw and stand Very sturdy heavy duty and easy to use. Love the led light and lasers on it. Cuts great. Absolutely love this saw. The stand is a must too.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it Works great. Good saw all around. I wish i would have purchased it sooner
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rigid Sliding Miter Saw As Advertised This is my first miter saw and I purchased for a 3 bedroom 650SF 12MM 6 inch wide laminate floor install. I was lusting for the Bosch 10 inch but could not justify $600. I had been watching this saw for a couple of months and bought it on sale for $300, having it delivered to my home. My father-in-law, a life-long wood worker, is helping me on the job, and has complemented this saw numerous times, especially for the price. Specifically, accurate out of the box, dual lasers are nice to see the cut, soft start, set up for either hand to operate, common cuts are clearly indicated, lighter than expected and easy for two people to carry up steps, stock blade works well for the job we are doing. So far the saw is doing everything I need it to do. Only complaint is the dust capture is poor, we simply attached my shop vac and performance was much better.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this saw except..... This saw is exactly what I needed. Everything was square out of the box. It works great except the dust collection port is in a bad location and isn't very effective. I'm trying to engineer something in my garage to make it better. Overall, this saw is an excellent buy. About $100 cheaper than compare able other brand name models. I've had it for 2 months now and I love it.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not good This did not cut square without spending quite some time adjusting it. It soon went out of alignment. Also, the so called lifetime warranty is not legitimate. You have to send away for it, and they will find a reason to turn it down.
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw This has been a great saw for me so far. The only problem I have had is the saw losing square a few times. It's not that hard to recalibrate, but the saw was not dropped or anything causing it to go out of square. Otherwise, saw cuts really well, dust collection works pretty average, and bevel stops are accurate.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice saw but watch out for the laser This is a nice quality saw with good features for the money. There is one deal breaking problem that caused me to return it and get a refund. The width between the double line laser beams is not adjustable and the distance is wider that the kerf of the saw blade. This means that it can only be aligned at one time to either the left laser line or the right. This negates the ability to flip crown, etc. and make quick on the fly cuts from left to right without re-adjusting the laser sight. This essentially renders the laser sight useless for practical purposes. Otherwise it is a nice saw. I especially like the front bevel control. I had a ripped dust bag and a crooked lower blade guard upon unpacking the saw from the box. I called customer service and they answered immediately and sent replacement parts no questions asked. The representative was very knowledgeable about the saw and was very honest about the laser shortcomings. She indicated that Ridgid was aware of the problem and that it would be corrected in future production runs, but a fix would not likely be available to current saw owners. As a result, I decided to return the saw for a refund. I cannot say enough about Ridgid's great customer service! If the laser sight is not a big feature for you, then this is a great saw for the money.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Slidder I have used miter saws of various types and brands for several years. I had decided on the 12" slidding compound DeWalt but then I saw this saw in the store and liked its features. I have a 10" dual bevel Porter Cable saw that I retrofitted a laser guide on that I have loved but lacked the capacity of a slidding saw. Being a slidder this saw takes care of the problem and I love the work light and dual lasers which makes cutting right or left of the blade much easier. I mounted it on their gravity stand and it is a jewel too. This is an excellent rig with nearly the same capacity [on a practical level the same] as a 12" and far better features. Very well designed. The only thing I have changed is the blade as I demand untra smooth cuts so I put a 96 tooth ultra fine finish blade on it and it is working very well. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disapointed in saw I use a miter saw every day in our stair business and this one doesn't measure up. I have had it for about 5 months. Very poor dust collection. The flap behind the blade broke off the first month. The laser is much wider than the blade making it useless The table needs lubricant twice a month or it grinds and binds. Just a very disappointing bulky saw.
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely satisfied with this saw. I bought this saw in late Spring of 2012. My saw was setup deadon when I opened the box. I was pleased to find a nice Freud blade on it as well. That was unexpected on my part. I can see some of the problems that other users were complaining about but I had a way around those before purchasing a new miter saw. Lasers-- I had zero intention of using them for dead on accuracy cuts. I only use them for rough cutting. I prefer the old tried & true method of sneaking up on the mark. It just works for me. Dust collection-- The dust collection on MOST miter saws is poor at best IMHO. I also had a solution for that in my garage workshop. I mounted the saw on top of a roll around tool box with locking casters & push it to the other side of the garage when needed. I have a wall down the center of my garage separating the bays. When I'm done with it I get the leaf blower out & clean the saw dust up that way. I can see where a trim carpenter would want much better collection tho. The soft start feature is a Godsend to these powerful saws. I had my Wife cutting laminate flooring start & finish pieces on 12/22/2014 & she liked it. it was her 1st time ever & she was impressed with the way she could control the saw. I have never tried to hog thru a cut yet either so I can't testify to it's power. I just take my time & let the blade do the work. My suggestion to other owners that want to use the laser feature would be to use a thicker blade to get closer to the laser line. The thin kerf blades don't get over close enough. I have no comment on durability or longevity.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compound slider I originally overlooked this 10" saw in favor of the 12", but I ultimately returned to purchase this one due its superior features and design, and its smaller size and weight. The saw was easy to setup, and the minor adjustments that I made to get it perfectly square were quick and easy. The included Diablo blade is good, although I did replace it with a 90-tooth blade just to get the flawless cut edge that I was after. The center-mounted handle is easy to get used to, and I now prefer the ability to use either hand. The handle also includes both left- and right-handed safety switches, so I need not contort my left hand to turn on the saw. I also really like the alignment laser and the work light - both are AC powered (no batteries), and both have switches so that they can be turned on/off without the blade running. It's great to be able to get setup and THEN turn the blade on. The soft start does mean that it takes several seconds for the blade to reach full speed, but this is a minor inconvenience. I like the soft start. There are many small features on the saw to help with making adjustments to the miter/bevel angle. All are well-designed and easy to adjust. Most adjustments are up front, so changes are quick and easy. The indicators are big and easy to read. The included hold-down clamp doesn't do a good job of keeping your work in place - it is highly adjustable, but not rigid enough (no pun intended). This is only a minor annoyance - I rarely use it, and other work clamps can easily be used with the saw. Overall, I am very happy with this saw, and I highly recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating Back to the store for a replacement and I haven't even plugged the saw in. It appears the Chinese factory doesn't test these out thoroughly, mine would not tilt regardless of the levers (I even watched a YouTube instructional video), it was jammed solid. Finally out of desparation I loosened one of the back bolts to get the bevel to move, and despite tightening again, the thing will now not hold bevel in place. This is not a good sign of assembly quality. A $400 piece of junk paperweight.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dust Bag Does Work... ...if you use the saw correctly. If you pull the saw to you, big mess. If you run it from your body to its base, minor dust. This saw is wonderful and well built.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great for the rough generic stuff, not for those who seek perfect angles. So I bought this with high hopes and thrilled with the light and blade it came with, I could care less about the lasers on it. I tried it out, then turned the wood and made a second cut. I compared the piece I cut against the piece of wood I was replacing and noticed a slight angle in my new piece. I did another sample cut and sure enough, the 90 is off with no way to correct it. the part I cut was rather small, and it was off by about 1/32, but I would assume on a much larger cut, the angle off would grow as well. I took it back and tested another one in the store and sure enough. The guys there ended up cutting me a deal on the 12” yellow and I took that instead and I couldn’t be happier right now (granted I didn’t plan on the 12” because more costly blades). If you do a lot of rough work and don’t need that just perfect 90, then this saw would be great, but I build stuff like furniture and need that perfect angle. This would be a great saw for cutting 2X4’s all day in my opinion.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the money.. Great saw. I have owned this product for almost three years now. All the controls being up front makes for fast use, especially when doing trim work. You get a real bang for your buck with all the features this saw offers.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw The product is great. However the product registration with ridged is terrible. You are not able to register online. If you order online and pick up in the store you don't get a receipt that is recognized by Ridgid. I called their 800 number and got a very snarky customer service rep that insisted that I had to mail in the registration. When I tried to do that I found I had to include the upc code from the box which I had destroyed already. I called back and got a helpful customer service rep who showed me how to get the online order number into THE REGISTRATION FORM. Which we did and she checked on her end AND MADE SURE IT WAS CORRECT AND REGISTERED. I got an email this morning telling me that IT wasn't registered and I would have to submit by mail including the upc code, and all original documents from Home Depot. Then at the bottom of the letter it states that I need to keep copies of the originals and it will be 12 weeks before I get my registration. I LOVE THE SAW BUT AM GOING TO RETURN IT TO HOME DEPOT THIS MORNING DUE TO THIS ISSUE OF REGISTRATION. IN 77 YEARS OF LIFE I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS POOR OF A WARRENTY REGISTRATION SYSTEM!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laser Adjustment I bought my saw yesterday, and immediately noticed what other reviewers have said about the laser accuracy. This one, in my opinion isn't bad. After adjustment, my lines are still off maybe a sixteenth of an inch on each side, but for precise cuts, I like to sneak up on the length. After my first three cuts, I was able to predict the actual cut line pretty well. Laser line accuracy on this saw is not a major shortcoming. As received, my laser lines were off more on one side than the other. There is a small T-10 Torx screw on the handle that allows for a side-side adjustment, but it moves both lines at the same time, and there is no way to narrow the distance between the lines. I was able to center the laser lines, but once I moved beyond that point, one of the lines started to get faint and disappear. The other features on this saw are as advertised. The saw is sturdy, but not too heavy to lift. There is a handle on the back, which along with the blade handle, makes the saw easy to pick up and move. This is a lot of saw for the price.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fence issues Purchased this saw for a job a few years ago and never ended up using it, so it sat in the toolshed. Brought it out when I started a new job. Made a couple cuts and was stoked. Everything was good after a few minutes learning the bevel lock. Was using the saw when I had a kickback, nothing major, just enough to startle. Every cut I made after that was totally angled. I tried to resquare the blade when I realized the fence itself had been damaged. Was told by tool department folks my saw was out of warranty and couldn't be fixed by them. I tried to ask about ordering a replacement through them and they told me to do it myself on the website. Website was no help at all. Tried emailing customer service, that was an exercise in futility. Tried finding replacement parts via third party website, the MS255SR might as well be a unicorn, the model is listed NOWHERE on any site I found. Now I have another job coming up and this saw is worthless.. It was great when it worked, for all 12-13 cuts I got out of it.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. I will tell everyone I know about how great this product is. It is square right out of the box. Adjustments are simple and easy. I have a few concerns. The online warranty process didn't go as well as it should, so I had to submit via mail. Also, a 1/2" onboard wrench would be nice to change the blade, but now I'm just letting you know my wish list. All in all, great product.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great out of the box Love this product. Have had three saws previous and this one has given me no trouble. Perfect out of the box. The laser is not so good but I have figured out how to get around it. Dust collection could be better but not a deal breaker.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product's features meet my expectation and requirements Very handy and versatile for small to medium size projects.
Date published: 2013-05-14
  • y_2017, m_2, d_23, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_184
  • loc_, sid_203132245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 182ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT