Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

RIDGID

Model # R22002

Internet # 202739521

Store SKU # 525618

2 HP Fixed Base Router

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$159.00 / each

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # R22002

Internet # 202739521

Store SKU # 525618

The RIDGID 2 HP Fixed Base Router is durably built from precision-milled magnesium and features an 11 amp motor that delivers enough power for dense materials. Easy-access, soft, hex-grip handles give you comfort and minimize vibration. Soft start ensures controlled, smooth starts. Dual LED lights on the router help illuminate your work area for improved visibility.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes motor, fixed base router, 1/2 in. collet, 1/4 in. collet adaptor, collet wrench, router table attachment screws, centering tool and pin, T-handle wrench, vacuum attachment, 1-1/4 in. vacuum adaptor for 2-1/2 in. hose and contractor's bag
  • 11 amp, 2 peak horsepower motor provides the power needed for dense material
  • Electronic variable speed with feedback helps maintain speed under load
  • Micro-depth adjustment for precise depth control
  • Soft start for gradual start-up and extended life of motor
  • Spindle lock for easy bit changes
  • 3-point overmold design prevents accidental marring of surfaces
  • Brushes are accessible and can be serviced quickly for minimum downtime
  • No-mar flat top: Router sits upside down for easier bit changes
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Collet size (in.) 
.5 
Product Depth (in.) 
6.693 
Product Height (in.) 
10.24 
Product Width (in.) 
10.24 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
11 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
Corded Tool Type 
Router 
Cordless/Corded 
Corded 
Depth Adjustment 
Yes 
Dust Collection 
No 
Multiple base 
No 
Peak Horsepower 
2 hp 
Power Tool Product Type 
Corded 
Product Weight (lb.) 
10.05 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Router Base Type 
Fixed 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Yes 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 24 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quality product with two design flaws Really like the overall performance of this router but two things about the design need improvement: 1. the on/off switch, located on the top front, is quite inconvenient in case of the need of a quick shutoff-you have to take your hand off the grip and reach up and around to flip the switch. Would be much safer to locate it near a thumb to maintain a two handed grip on the running tool and 2. changing bits is cumbersome, hardly enough room in the small opening for your finger to depress the locking switch and wrench. February 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lives up to the RIDGID standard I have grown to expect! Good quality, even better price. I have had this tool for about 3.5 yrs and use it on a regular basis either hand held or in router table. Multi speed adjustable, and mine came with fixed base and a plunger base. If i had any complaints, it would be the same as oden listed below. On/Off switch could be better located for nothing else than safety, and changing bits is a little tight, but these are minor complaints. 2 HP has worked well for me so far, plenty of power for my woodworking needs just take light passes and all is good. Have not used it with large diameter bits, so can't comment on how it compares to say a 3 hp router that may be $100 on up more in price. March 28, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Love the soft start feature but what about guide bushings Here is the part that I don't like! Looking for routers and using guide bushings of different sizes is a common practice. If your making dovetails on a Leigh Jig you need to attach guide bushings to your router. Not only does this router not have a way to do it, the one guide bushing set that used to be sold for routers is no longer available! So if you buy one of these then the next step is looking for a base plate to except the industry standard you find on any Porter Cable Router. See the inset on that PC Router? That is what you have to find. Looking through the instructions for this router there is no mention of guide bushings or extra baseplates that excepts them! For now go buy another Porter Cable Router! February 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic value I bought this router 1 week ago. I got the kit, Router/plunge adapter with extra large bag for the same price. I just went to 3 different Home Depots to find some left over router that still had the plunger. This produces plenty of power for any application, and really you can't beat the warranty. A lot of routers have the on/off switch up at the top. You will not regret buying this router for the price. Commercial quality fixed base router for $179 with lifetime warranty?. Sign me up. July 30, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Router: Poor Adjustment and Bit Changes I chose a Ridgid router after burning out the motor on my 5 year old Hitachi. My choice was based on the local tool repair man's recommendation that, with the exception of Festool, modern power tools are generally high performance, but poor quality. So his advice was to buy a Ridgid so when it breaks at a young age, you get a free replacement. Pros: Powerful Quiet Ergonomic Handles Feels sturdy Work light actually yelps Cons: Bit change is nearly impossible with the router in the base, and even when it's outside the base I nearly always wind up busting a knuckle on the workbench. Depth adjustment is horrendously bad. I primarily use it in a table. When you tighten the lever on the base the bit moves by about an 8th of an inch, so depth adjustment is entirely a game of trial and error Price. For nearly $200 I think it should come with a plunge base, but I suppose I bought it anyhow so I can't fault Ridgid for that. February 12, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but... I have an older model of this router I purchased around 2006 but it is has the same design flaws. I gave it great reviews at first for the power, soft start, led lights and lighted plug. As I used it more lately some minor annoyances with the design became a production slow down. 1. I echo the previous reviewers comments about the switch and bit change challenge. I solved one problem by adding a switch on the side of my router table. There is no solution for the bit change hassle. 2. The spring on the tab that slips into the side of the router to raise and lower/ micro adjust the router is not strong enough. When I use the t-handle to adjust the router height when mounted to the router table, the torque of the clockwise turn disengages the holding tab from the slot causing the router to fall into the router cabinet. A major headache. 3. The cooling fan blades failed on me and had no idea until I changed the bit and all the fins fell out. It has been at the service center for almost three weeks now and I don't know when I will get it back. It may have a lifetime warrenty but the repair turn around takes a lifetime. Beware. 4. The plunge base has lateral play but it is workable. This was written on my I-phone which does not allow me to hit return without closing the keyboard. So please excuse the run on. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by can't get another fixed base I really like a lot about this router. The thick plastic base resists getting under my staightedge when routing dados in plywood. I have a porter cable, but bought this to get variable speed. It uses the same bolt pattern as the porter cable so it went right into my table. Only problem is, I tried to get another base to mount permanently in my table, and after numerous phone calls, it doesn't appear possible. April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A few recommendations... I have an older model, 29001 I think it is, and I have two recommendations to problems that others have posted here. 1st- The oxidation problem on the aluminum body of the router motor. I've had this same problem. Clean it off, then after a week or so, it's back on. Makes it harder to move up in down. Found out that if you use Johnson Past wax (like you use on your car), this will dramatically slow the oxidation down, if not stop it (I only waxed mines a week or so ago, and no oxidation, so far.) Spread a little on router motor and inside of fix base. And then polish off with clean rag. It not only slows down the oxidation, but makes your router move up and down MUCH better. 2nd- Changing bits. Although I've never felt it was that difficult to change bits, with the push pin lock, through a router forum, I discovered the Musclechuck. It replaces the collet and nut of your router, with a chuck that you tighten with a single t-handle Allen wrench. Google - Musclechuck. Makes life so much easier changing bits. Anyway, I love my Ridgid router and all my Ridgid tools. I have many!! January 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid, quality materials, well designed. This is another high quality tool from Ridgid (I own three Ridgid tools to date). For all its size it is not too heavy. I gives me solid work and is a pleasure to use. It's not that it has bells and whistles, but it does have features that I appreciate: Clear base plate, easily removed for router table use or replacement; threaded holes for a router guide; a spring latch for locking in the motor with the base; a spring latch for the collet - much appreciated; an easy to use height adjustment. I had been using my Ridgid laminate router and considered this thing a beast and was hesitant to use it. But once I did I was very glad I bought it - it has a robust feel that doesn't compromise ergonomics. I cannot say it's "Durable" (Pros and Cons below), because I simply have not used it enough, but I can honestly say that I will be quite surprised were it ever to exhibit a defect. I expect to have this tool for many years to come - or until Agenda 21 legislation in my "region" makes it illegal, whichever comes first. December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid performing router I had this router a short time before it was stolen, and i bought the same one again because I enjoyed using it. The variable speed allows for use of different size bits. The handles are placed very well and comfortable also. The fombination of the clear base and lighting make it quite easy to see your path. Honestly, I only have one complaint about this router...:I cannot seem to find a plunge base for it at this time, other then that this is a great router i use ona daily basis while doing wood working. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great amount of power I am not a pro, but sometimes my work comes out like one when I use tools like Rigid. Let me say right up front that I am a very huge fan of Rigid tools. This router was to replace my 20+ year old 3/4 HP Craftsman. The difference in power was remarkable! How did I ever get by without one of these. February 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good router Bought the Ridgid 2hp router couple of weeks ago for use in my router table,really like the fact that I can change bits and raise and lower this router from the top of the router table.Have already run about 400' of 1x4 pine through a molding bit mounted in the router and have gotten excellent results.This router has plenty of power to get the job done.I like the fact that Ridgid offers a limited lifetime warranty on their products. September 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Replacement parts? Nice router but one major flaw. Where can you get replacement parts. I need a new collet and can't find any at any stores that carry them and no one knows where to get them. I have tried several Home Depots,on line no results. I may like it if I could use it. December 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by compared to what else I've seen and used the initial evaluation is pretty good. Not totally sold on the the depth adjustment. I'm switching from Porter Cable because i've burned up two motors now. The soft start, variable speed, and the warranty are why I've switched. The design over the fixed based Porter Cable seems superior, some parts are interchangeable (not the collets though). For the few extra dollars, this should be a better purchase than the Porter Cable. We'll see. This may be a 5 star product, but it needs at least 20 hours of run time before I'd endorse it March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ridgid Router -- Power with Finesse The first time you power this tool up you know you have the right tool for the job. It has a sub-base with a large enough collet hole to fit the bigger bits, a standard 4 inch equilateral triangle mounting bolt pattern to fit most tables. The micro adjustment of one turn for each 1/8 inch allows for easy adjustments between routing runs. The tool is not heavy and glides well over the material you are routing. July 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good router for the money good for handheld work, like the other reviews the switch is in an awkward spot. DO NOT try to use it in a router table. even though it is set up for above table adjustments the spring that holds the router into the base is not strong enough, when you turn the above table handle clockwise, the router falls to the floor.mine also came with the plunge base, which makes it good value. July 28, 2014
  • 2015-07-06T11:05:37.948-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_202739521, prod, sort_default
<<2

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Store Exclusive. This item is available for purchase in select stores only.