Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2017-01-09

what is the availability and cost of screws

Asked by: Anonymous
There is a very limited size and composition available. I need coated exterior screws - the only size offered is 2 1/2" which is too long for my purpose. Its too bad because tool is a tremendous time-saver. What was a 4 hour job took about 45 minutes. But I can only use it on a few jobs since I can't find the sizes and screw heads and coatings I need.
Answered by: spydo
Date published: 2017-02-03

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

Asked by: Anonymous
YES!!!! Make sure you register it online with Rigid.
Answered by: Richmann
Date published: 2016-11-22

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

Asked by: Anonymous
$99.00 and the collated screws start at $18 a bucket for 800
Answered by: Tony
Date published: 2017-03-08
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could give this gun 0 stars I would! This thing is a complete piece if junk. Doesn't feed ri... If I could give this gun 0 stars I would! This thing is a complete piece if junk. Doesn't feed right, depth gauge isn't consistent, and it broke after less than 12 hours of use. As a general contractor I thought this would save me some time. Turns out that an impact and a sleeve are MUCH faster. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. SAVE YOUR MONEY.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchased in hopes this would make hanging drywall ceilings in several rooms. Major Disappointme... Purchased in hopes this would make hanging drywall ceilings in several rooms. Major Disappointment. Feed jammed after every couple of screws. nose piece fit very poorly seemed cheap. I always thought Rigid was a solid name I tools, too bad they put their name on this.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product requires more than beginners skill to use or you will waste collated screw sets. Ins... This product requires more than beginners skill to use or you will waste collated screw sets. Instructions very bad! Need YouTube to actually assemble, load and use. even deck screws will not go in all the way unless you know how to use this tool
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It does not load the screw properly and is not easy to use. I have found that if you are using it... It does not load the screw properly and is not easy to use. I have found that if you are using it in a perfectly horizontal position it works ok. If you have it in any other position just go back to the by hand method.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridgid Wow terrible I gave it a fighting chance and went thru a whole box of screws and half of them were misfires. Wow all I can say is the Senco gun is worth the extra money
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tried to drive 2 inch deck screws with #2 square... Tried to drive 2 inch deck screws with #2 square drive bit. Stripped 3 bits in only 18 screws. At almost $7 a bit can't afford this unit. I am returning it today.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good investment. Gun jams occasionally, but makes installing drywall go... Good investment. Gun jams occasionally, but makes installing drywall go quicker without having to keep grabbing screws.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Jams constantly, bit comes out hard to put back in. Needs a great deal more work ! I returned it ... Jams constantly, bit comes out hard to put back in. Needs a great deal more work ! I returned it to the store
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a few times to get the hang of it but once I did it made short work of what I needed to do. Took a few times to get the hang of it but once I did it made short work of what I needed to do.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right. You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drill was difficult to use and not as efficient as screwing with a regular power drill. Drill was difficult to use and not as efficient as screwing with a regular power drill.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good. Never used one before but works up to... Works good. Never used one before but works up to my expectations. No regrets.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I... Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I would recommend It to anybody
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drywall and deck screwdriver I using it for a deck and it's helping me faster .I really like how it works.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Review of drywall screwdriver Replaced a seneco model. This ridgid miss fires often. 75% of the time
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The 2 inch sqare bit wares out too quickly.... The 2 inch sqare bit wares out too quickly.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool for large scale of sheetrock. Good tool for large scale of sheetrock.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AUTOMTIC FEED SPEEDS UP THE JOB 3X AUTOMTIC FEED SPEEDS UP THE JOB 3X
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Screws do not feed properly... Screws do not feed properly
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AVERAGE PRODUCT First of all I am a contractor so I know tools. After reading all the previous reviews i was skeptical of buying but this was the only product on the shelf. I did experience pretty much every problem other reviewers complained about. wasted screws, occasional jams, doesn't work well in corners (none do). But the fact is I hung 80 sheets of drywall by myself (over three days) with this gun and I know if I didn't have it, it would of been four days. So overall for $99 it was worth it. It has its ups and downs and I will use it again on my next project. How long it will last is another story but if you register your product you have a lifetime warranty. If this would of costed much more than the hundred bucks I probably would of returned it.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thing sucks rocks! This is one of the worst purchases I've ever made from Home Depot. Let's get this straight - - I'm not an HD basher. Just about every thing I've bought from HD has been great. Their 7 1/4" circ saw is magnificent. I just wish this screwdriver was. It jams CONSTANTLY. Misfeeds CONSTANTLY, the screws are supposed to automatically feed and line up to be driven into the material. NOPE!, Doesn't happen. The screws jam into the guide, or the plastic strip won't traverse the guide and jams. Out of a strip of 50 screws, 40% wind up on the floor. This thing is so bad, that I literally take the screw strips and use a regular cordless screwdriver to drive the screws. Something wrong with this picture. Save your money and DON'T buy this thing. I would take it back but I bought it last September while I was trying to get county building permits for a construction project. I just took it out of the box and what a mess.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rigid screw gun I'm a contractor and used this gun for a kitchen i remodeled, sheetrock and cement board and have no complaints at all. people that complained about this gun saying it doesn't drive the screw in straight obviously don't know how to use the tool. just think of it as driving a car if you're steering crooked what do you expect will happened??? the main thing when using it is to screw in straight. even corners as long as you get close enough where you can keep the gun straight you should do fine. don't get me wrong, there were a few screws that i had to go over with the drill, but it was still worth the purchase. knocks the work out! Even has a quick change for the bit. Buy one and see for yourself, i love it!
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A timesaver when you're working alone I've used this driver for drywall, decks, and tile backer-board, and it has worked well in all of those applications. The only drawback for me is that the strips of collated nails are so short that big jobs require constant reloading. That isn't a fault of the gun. Still, collated is pretty fast especially when doing drywall work alone.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the money I bought this gun when I added 1/2" plywood to my subfloor to build up floor height to match adjoining rooms. I screwed the sheets every 6" on edge & 12" in field for 3 bedrooms. This tool made very quick work of it. I spent on average at 20-30 minutes per room using this gun. Other reviews mentioned jammed/not flush screws, and that does happen - however, you learn to hold it such that the nosepiece isn't angled and it will drive solid every time. For the handful of screws that didn't make it - just make a round with the hand driver to finish these off, no big deal. Also - I always leave the trigger locked, drives better and faster. Screw loading is fast, driving is fast. For the money, you can't beat it.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Learning curve required Take the time to read the instructions and get familiar with how it is supposed to operate because it definitely requires attention to detail to get set up correctly. The 2 main things are that the screw length gauge must be set exact to the size of screws you are using and the gun requires the operator to use a good amount of force to set the screw correctly. I went through 1 strip of screws before I got everything right, but once I got the hang of it everything went good. Wish I had purchase this years ago.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool I built and installed an outside deck six months ago and did it the old fashioned way with my Dewalt screw gun. Lots of screws and lots of time picking screws and driving them. Since I was putting in another level to the deck I decided to try this gun. This guy drove over a 1000 2" deck screws today flawlessly. The bit still looks good and the gun will get another workout tomorrow. So far I'm impressed. This tool qualifies in my book as being worth the money.
Date published: 2011-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from check the foward reverse switch every review I just read said it would not drive in a screw more than 1/2 way. Because the "reverse/ forward switch" is located so close to the trigger switch it is easy for the new user to always switch from forward to reverse each time your trigger finger moves around the area. once you realize this, all you need do is aim the gun level , press the nozzle to the sheetrock/ wood when the screw is lined up straight, pressthe nozzle toward the wall and pull the trigger. Its a very good tool when you master it.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Gun, Definitely Has A Learning Curve Let me start by saying that this is NOT a good gun for weekend warrior / homeowner DIY'ers that want to hang a few pieces of drywall with as little hassle as possible. If that is what you are looking for, then just stick with a regular corded or cordless drill and drywall bits. This gun will not just magically sink every screw perfectly, it requires you to shoot at least a hundred screws to get the technique down, and it will require you to put your weight behind it to get screws to sink. I am a homeowner, and I bought this to finish my garage with 18 panels of 4'x12' 5/8" type X. I read the reviews on here, as well as on some online forum discussions about using auto-feed guns, so I was ready to accept that it would be difficult at first. I shot maybe 30 screws to get the depth set where I wanted it, and it took around 200 screws to get the feel for the technique. What is this technique? Well, as far as I can tell you need to do these things: 1) Push HARD on the gun or the bit will just jump out of the head and start stripping itself. Get your weight behind it and either use 2 hands or have your body against the butt of the gun. It's the only way you are getting consistent sinks, at least in 40+ year old fir framing like I have. I have some fresh framing too and screws went in a little easier, but still required some grunt. 2) Your drywall piece needs to be firmly against the framing before shooting a screw. Get a helper or find a way to push the panel against the framing you are about to screw into. If you don't, the head will just go right through the paper. Screws will pop through the face paper if there is more than a 1/16" gap between the drywall and framing. 3) Keep the gun perpendicular to the drywall. It can shoot screws diagonally, but it won't sink them and you'll need to go touch those up later. You might as well use a drill for those since you will be hitting them with one later. 4) This thing is not good for inside corners. This is actually the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It doesn't fit well into corners, and it tears up the paper on the adjacent drywall panel if you do use it for the edge at an inside corner. So there you have it. I completely understand why some people gave this thing bad reviews. If you buy it expecting it to make you hang drywall like a pro, it does nothing of the sort. In fact, unless you are willing to spend an hour or two getting acquainted with it, you should just use a drill and drywall bit. Once you do get the hang of it, you can shoot screws ridiculously fast and it speeds up the job a lot. By the end, I had a good 90% of the screws going in properly with this thing, which is pretty good considering how much variation in density my house's old framing has. I have done various drywall projects in my and relatives houses for years, and always used a regular drill with a drywall bit. This screw gun was a good purchase and really sped up my garage finishing job, even accounting for the time I had to spend getting the feel for it. Helping my friend do her 20x30' garage in a month or so will go much faster with this product. Hopefully others will find my experience helpful. It was frustrating at first, but I knew that the problem was more with me than the gun so I kept at it and it paid off.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tools is being underrated Easy and fast to use it takes time to get the rhythm of the screw gun after that you will be flying. First make sure the trigger is pulled and gun is running full force, and then press the tip fully level onto the surface that you wish to sink the screw. This is not a good screw gun to second guess where you will run a screw because if you start to press the head and stop and start again it will half feed through the strip and not align with the driver head and miss run a screw. Take my word for it I have been doing this for 15 years with all sorts of horrible tools and this is not among one of them. Take your time learn the tool you are working with and once you get to hang of it you will be quicker than you could ever imagine. I don’t think it is fair to say this is a poor tool it is well thought out and has made me a ton of money saving me time.
Date published: 2015-07-21
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT