Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2017-01-09

what is the availability and cost of screws

Asked by: Anonymous
There is a very limited size and composition available. I need coated exterior screws - the only size offered is 2 1/2" which is too long for my purpose. Its too bad because tool is a tremendous time-saver. What was a 4 hour job took about 45 minutes. But I can only use it on a few jobs since I can't find the sizes and screw heads and coatings I need.
Answered by: spydo
Date published: 2017-02-03

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

Asked by: Anonymous
YES!!!! Make sure you register it online with Rigid.
Answered by: Richmann
Date published: 2016-11-22

how is it for picket fences?

Pickets to horizontals
Asked by: IWMac
Works good mostly on straight flat surface, underlayment and flat rack work, building a fence. If the work is on saw horses. My 2x2 uprights it worked, but my decking it was more effort than it was worth. Ended up using my impact driver.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2016-08-02
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 57ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 148.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchased in hopes this would make hanging drywall ceilings in several rooms. Major Disappointme... Purchased in hopes this would make hanging drywall ceilings in several rooms. Major Disappointment. Feed jammed after every couple of screws. nose piece fit very poorly seemed cheap. I always thought Rigid was a solid name I tools, too bad they put their name on this.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It does not load the screw properly and is not easy to use. I have found that if you are using it... It does not load the screw properly and is not easy to use. I have found that if you are using it in a perfectly horizontal position it works ok. If you have it in any other position just go back to the by hand method.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product Read the instructions first! Only problem I had was I wasn't fully committed to the first screw I used and it didn't sink completely, after that, all went smooth and easy. Very quick!
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rigid collated screwdriver. Had to return the item. Followed instructions and screws would not advance properly forcing them to go in on an angle. Was stuck with a full case of collated screws I could not use.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridgid Wow terrible I gave it a fighting chance and went thru a whole box of screws and half of them were misfires. Wow all I can say is the Senco gun is worth the extra money
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took a few times to get the hang of it but once I did it made short work of what I needed to do. Took a few times to get the hang of it but once I did it made short work of what I needed to do.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right. You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drill was difficult to use and not as efficient as screwing with a regular power drill. Drill was difficult to use and not as efficient as screwing with a regular power drill.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I... Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I would recommend It to anybody
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Review of drywall screwdriver Replaced a seneco model. This ridgid miss fires often. 75% of the time
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The 2 inch sqare bit wares out too quickly.... The 2 inch sqare bit wares out too quickly.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AUTOMTIC FEED SPEEDS UP THE JOB 3X AUTOMTIC FEED SPEEDS UP THE JOB 3X
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AVERAGE PRODUCT First of all I am a contractor so I know tools. After reading all the previous reviews i was skeptical of buying but this was the only product on the shelf. I did experience pretty much every problem other reviewers complained about. wasted screws, occasional jams, doesn't work well in corners (none do). But the fact is I hung 80 sheets of drywall by myself (over three days) with this gun and I know if I didn't have it, it would of been four days. So overall for $99 it was worth it. It has its ups and downs and I will use it again on my next project. How long it will last is another story but if you register your product you have a lifetime warranty. If this would of costed much more than the hundred bucks I probably would of returned it.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes practice, but pays off I am very much a casual project person, so the mixed reviews on this product made me a bit weary, but I decided to buy it anyway. This thing definitely takes some practice, but once you get the hang of it, it works incredibly. There is an adjustment for screw depth, so I would recommend that you practice a few screws on whatever type of wood or drywall you're working on, because you can easily over/under screw if you haven't calibrated it to the surface on which you plan to screw. It can miss the depth now and again, but a square head on your screwdriver remedies the occasional flaw. With how much time it saves overall, it's definitely worth the occasional screw from this not going flush. As you push, the screw will jump up into place. Start your feed on an empty slot (not with the screw already lined up to the hole, but to the click-lock before it. Push a little bit to swing the screw up and drive the head into the screw, then pull the trigger and push hard to drive. Takes some practice to get the feel. IMPORTANTLY: calibrate the screw depth on your project with the adjustment wheel beforehand and you will save a tremendous amount of time and get a nice flush result.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thing sucks rocks! This is one of the worst purchases I've ever made from Home Depot. Let's get this straight - - I'm not an HD basher. Just about every thing I've bought from HD has been great. Their 7 1/4" circ saw is magnificent. I just wish this screwdriver was. It jams CONSTANTLY. Misfeeds CONSTANTLY, the screws are supposed to automatically feed and line up to be driven into the material. NOPE!, Doesn't happen. The screws jam into the guide, or the plastic strip won't traverse the guide and jams. Out of a strip of 50 screws, 40% wind up on the floor. This thing is so bad, that I literally take the screw strips and use a regular cordless screwdriver to drive the screws. Something wrong with this picture. Save your money and DON'T buy this thing. I would take it back but I bought it last September while I was trying to get county building permits for a construction project. I just took it out of the box and what a mess.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rigid screw gun I'm a contractor and used this gun for a kitchen i remodeled, sheetrock and cement board and have no complaints at all. people that complained about this gun saying it doesn't drive the screw in straight obviously don't know how to use the tool. just think of it as driving a car if you're steering crooked what do you expect will happened??? the main thing when using it is to screw in straight. even corners as long as you get close enough where you can keep the gun straight you should do fine. don't get me wrong, there were a few screws that i had to go over with the drill, but it was still worth the purchase. knocks the work out! Even has a quick change for the bit. Buy one and see for yourself, i love it!
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A timesaver when you're working alone I've used this driver for drywall, decks, and tile backer-board, and it has worked well in all of those applications. The only drawback for me is that the strips of collated nails are so short that big jobs require constant reloading. That isn't a fault of the gun. Still, collated is pretty fast especially when doing drywall work alone.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good when it works. but Unreliable I have used this collated screw gun with Senco wood screws to attached Hardie Backer board and have probably put 4000 screws through it. I have returned it for service 2 times already because it works for a while and then it starts jamming and doesn't drive the screw at all. Sometimes the cause for this is a bad drive bit. I am actually going to bring it back for service a third time as I am writing this review. With that being said, at $99 it has allowed me to install Hardie Backer board through entire houses which would have been impossible without this tool and it has definitely paid for itself.
Date published: 2015-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Gun, Definitely Has A Learning Curve Let me start by saying that this is NOT a good gun for weekend warrior / homeowner DIY'ers that want to hang a few pieces of drywall with as little hassle as possible. If that is what you are looking for, then just stick with a regular corded or cordless drill and drywall bits. This gun will not just magically sink every screw perfectly, it requires you to shoot at least a hundred screws to get the technique down, and it will require you to put your weight behind it to get screws to sink. I am a homeowner, and I bought this to finish my garage with 18 panels of 4'x12' 5/8" type X. I read the reviews on here, as well as on some online forum discussions about using auto-feed guns, so I was ready to accept that it would be difficult at first. I shot maybe 30 screws to get the depth set where I wanted it, and it took around 200 screws to get the feel for the technique. What is this technique? Well, as far as I can tell you need to do these things: 1) Push HARD on the gun or the bit will just jump out of the head and start stripping itself. Get your weight behind it and either use 2 hands or have your body against the butt of the gun. It's the only way you are getting consistent sinks, at least in 40+ year old fir framing like I have. I have some fresh framing too and screws went in a little easier, but still required some grunt. 2) Your drywall piece needs to be firmly against the framing before shooting a screw. Get a helper or find a way to push the panel against the framing you are about to screw into. If you don't, the head will just go right through the paper. Screws will pop through the face paper if there is more than a 1/16" gap between the drywall and framing. 3) Keep the gun perpendicular to the drywall. It can shoot screws diagonally, but it won't sink them and you'll need to go touch those up later. You might as well use a drill for those since you will be hitting them with one later. 4) This thing is not good for inside corners. This is actually the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It doesn't fit well into corners, and it tears up the paper on the adjacent drywall panel if you do use it for the edge at an inside corner. So there you have it. I completely understand why some people gave this thing bad reviews. If you buy it expecting it to make you hang drywall like a pro, it does nothing of the sort. In fact, unless you are willing to spend an hour or two getting acquainted with it, you should just use a drill and drywall bit. Once you do get the hang of it, you can shoot screws ridiculously fast and it speeds up the job a lot. By the end, I had a good 90% of the screws going in properly with this thing, which is pretty good considering how much variation in density my house's old framing has. I have done various drywall projects in my and relatives houses for years, and always used a regular drill with a drywall bit. This screw gun was a good purchase and really sped up my garage finishing job, even accounting for the time I had to spend getting the feel for it. Helping my friend do her 20x30' garage in a month or so will go much faster with this product. Hopefully others will find my experience helpful. It was frustrating at first, but I knew that the problem was more with me than the gun so I kept at it and it paid off.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Learning curve required Take the time to read the instructions and get familiar with how it is supposed to operate because it definitely requires attention to detail to get set up correctly. The 2 main things are that the screw length gauge must be set exact to the size of screws you are using and the gun requires the operator to use a good amount of force to set the screw correctly. I went through 1 strip of screws before I got everything right, but once I got the hang of it everything went good. Wish I had purchase this years ago.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool I built and installed an outside deck six months ago and did it the old fashioned way with my Dewalt screw gun. Lots of screws and lots of time picking screws and driving them. Since I was putting in another level to the deck I decided to try this gun. This guy drove over a 1000 2" deck screws today flawlessly. The bit still looks good and the gun will get another workout tomorrow. So far I'm impressed. This tool qualifies in my book as being worth the money.
Date published: 2011-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from check the foward reverse switch every review I just read said it would not drive in a screw more than 1/2 way. Because the "reverse/ forward switch" is located so close to the trigger switch it is easy for the new user to always switch from forward to reverse each time your trigger finger moves around the area. once you realize this, all you need do is aim the gun level , press the nozzle to the sheetrock/ wood when the screw is lined up straight, pressthe nozzle toward the wall and pull the trigger. Its a very good tool when you master it.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from piece of junk I was reluctant in purchasing this drill after reading some of the reviews, but I figured that I could return it so I gave it a try. It's going back! I kinda figured that I'd have a few problems when the instructions were vague without illustrations. I even went on line to get a few tips, Ridged's video wasn't much help. For instance, installing the bit wasn't descriptive enough. I started putting it together and trying it out, it's simply a piece of cow dung, nothing is intuitive, it jams, misses.....Unless you have everything perfect, some problem will arise. Way too many bugs with this product so it's going back. By the way, I'm not some hater, I bought a Ridgid nail gun last week and I love it. Normally I don't take the time to write a review, but in this case I thought I'd save people some time and frustration
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tools is being underrated Easy and fast to use it takes time to get the rhythm of the screw gun after that you will be flying. First make sure the trigger is pulled and gun is running full force, and then press the tip fully level onto the surface that you wish to sink the screw. This is not a good screw gun to second guess where you will run a screw because if you start to press the head and stop and start again it will half feed through the strip and not align with the driver head and miss run a screw. Take my word for it I have been doing this for 15 years with all sorts of horrible tools and this is not among one of them. Take your time learn the tool you are working with and once you get to hang of it you will be quicker than you could ever imagine. I don’t think it is fair to say this is a poor tool it is well thought out and has made me a ton of money saving me time.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best thing since sliced bread I have a landscaping / construction business and this is one of the best tools I have purchased lately. I have built multiple large decks with my first collated screwdriver and I loved it so much I went out and purchased a second one for my employee or in case one where to fail. I have hung drywall by myself with this as well and it is excellent.. Learning curve is about one strip of screws. Found to help seat the screws better it is beneficial to have the drill spinning and use two hands to put screw into place with decking screws to keep from sliding off. Screws are expensive but what I save in time it is worth the extra money. I went from taking 6 hours to screw down a medium sized deck for 2 people to 45 minutes to an hour with this tool. Worth every penny!!!
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lousy - Buy another brand Don't buy! Frustrating tool. Erratic screw feed - some strips OK but others problematic. Hard to set screws especially above head. Returned & bought a Hitachi model that works great.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terribly frustrating. Had the previous model and changed because I needed the longer screws that this model (supposedly) had the ability to drive. However, there is so much play in the drive bit that more times than not, the screw either bent (which made it a whole lot of fun to remove) or just misfired. Then even with the bit adjustment adjusted for maximum depth, it would still not counter sink the screws. I was laying a deck and had to sink virtually every screw with a battery operated drill with a square bit. Horrible, engineering. Can't even believe they are selling this. Certainly didn't live up to previous Rigid tools. I strongly recommend you avoid this purchase.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a time saver! Based on some of the bad reviews I was not 100% sure I should rush out and buy this driver. My review will focus on my results while addressing the concerns others had. 1. the driver has plenty of power for my drywall application. 2. plastic saftey cover is combersome to use so just remove it if you like. 3. Belt clip.....well this drver weights in @ 5 lbs. and my paints cannot support that anyway. That answers 3 of 4 concerns I saw in bad reviews saving the best for last. 4. The driver MUST, MUST, MUST be held level. If you dont get it quite level you will burn through bits and the driver will not drive the screw home. For this reason I gave it a 4 of 5 as I wish there was a bit more room for allignment error. Even when you have to go back and fix some mistakes your still way ahead time wise. As you would expect the screws do cost a bit more but again time is money. I'm a novice drywaller and i'd put my sheet fastening speed with this driver up against any pro and a regular drywall gun. Hope this helps you out. 6 sheets down 44 to go!
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gun w/ limitations Used this gun to hang 49 pieces of 4X12' drywall, ceilings and walls. Takes a little getting used to, I would use a strip of screws and practice on some scrap pieces. TIPS: 1: Make sure you set your screw size correctly 2: Rev up the gun before pressing the screw in. 3: Do not use in very tight corners or at an angle 4: Buy a replacement bit, you will chew up the first one trying to screw in at angles and too close to walls 5: After doing a bunch (800 in my case) of screws the gun might not seem to be working properly switch the bit. It wasn't a wonder gun, but it did save me a lot of time. Depth settings and bit changing was dead simple. I set it in reverse by accident once or twice but figured it out when it started smoking the wood. You will need a regular drill to go back and set the mistakes correctly. Not perfect but good enough!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Often failed in the middle of a job Great design, when it works, it works great. As soon as it fails, it's a paper weight. Bought this for a ceiling job. First day it failed up to the point I had to use a cordless drill. had it exchanged and same thing happened. Once drywall dust gets in the gears and slide, it get stuck and jams up. This product is only suited for walls and decks, not for drywall ceiling work. Sealed non-collated screw gun is still the way to go for ceiling work.
Date published: 2016-01-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_148
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT