Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$9998 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$59.97 /each
$99.98 /each
$112.27 /each
$119.99 /each
Name Heavy-Duty 6.5 Amp Corded VSR Drywall Screwdriver 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver 7 Amp Corded 4500 RPM Variable Speed Compact Drywall Screw Gun with LED Light DS232-AC 2 in. Corded 2,500 RPM Screwdriver
Brand RIDGID RIDGID Bosch Senco
Ratings (50) (174) (3) (8)
Reconditioned No No No No
Power Tool Features Bag Included LED Light Bag Included
Maximum Speed (rpm) 4000 3700 4500 2500
Cordless/ Corded Corded Corded Corded Corded
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
16.14 in
Product Height (in.)
9.76 in
Product Width (in.)
3.85 in

Details

Amperage (amps)
6.5
Color Family
Orange
Cord Length (ft.)
8
Corded Tool Type
Screw Gun
Cordless/ Corded
Corded
Depth Adjustment
Yes
Energy Type
Corded Electric
Maximum Speed (rpm)
3700
Nail Gauge
NA / Other
Power Tool Features
Bag Included
Product Weight (lb.)
5lb
Reconditioned
No
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,ETL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2017-05-16

what is the availability and cost of screws

Asked by: Anonymous
There is a very limited size and composition available. I need coated exterior screws - the only size offered is 2 1/2" which is too long for my purpose. Its too bad because tool is a tremendous time-saver. What was a 4 hour job took about 45 minutes. But I can only use it on a few jobs since I can't find the sizes and screw heads and coatings I need.
Answered by: spydo
Date published: 2017-05-29

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

Asked by: Anonymous
YES!!!! Make sure you register it online with Rigid.
Answered by: Richmann
Date published: 2016-11-22

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

Asked by: Anonymous
$99.00 and the collated screws start at $18 a bucket for 800
Answered by: Tony
Date published: 2017-03-08
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 174.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This was one of the best $100 purchases I have ever made. I had 500 linear feet of fence t... Wow! This was one of the best $100 purchases I have ever made. I had 500 linear feet of fence to build and this little driver saved me hours, if not days. It took a little practice to get the hang of it, but figured it out with less than a dozen screws. You'll learn to get the RPM's humming before attempting to place the screw. Then with the desired depth setting, trust the driver to get it done as you push with consistent pressure. Zoom, Zoom, Zoom!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought this gun over the weekend to finish off 5\4 deck boards on a new deck i just built. Coupl... Bought this gun over the weekend to finish off 5\4 deck boards on a new deck i just built. Couple of things that made me return it that afternoon. The screws loading is 50 / 50 successful at best. I spent the first 15 minutes feeding every other time manually. Literally watching screw after screw just fall out of the gun. Then when they did load the screw head would float making it impossible to keep a straight line. Anyone who builds decks knows there's nothing worse than seeing a row of screws that look like a 10 year old put them in randomly. After messing with this thing for 45 minutes, i went right back to my impact driver. This tool "idea" for decking is great, but the ability to feed correctly and keep a straight line make it useless. Maybe with drywall its good because the screw head gets covered up. But again for decks, useless.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a waste of money and me this tool is Tried to make the drill work for me when doing subflooring but nothing worked...the depth adjustment doesn't work, its clutch doesn't work and strips screws...I bought 3 bits to do 300 squaternary feet of flooring wasted and half abacker of screws. I bought the competitors and the difference is like day aND night. Don't waste your time...you have been cautioned.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took a while getting used never using one before. Would prefer cordless version. I used this f... It took a while getting used never using one before. Would prefer cordless version. I used this for a drywall installation, the only hiccup was that they put a reverse switch on a product that does not need one, found that out after laying it down and when I used it again the screws were not driving.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product requires more than beginners skill to use or you will waste collated screw sets. Ins... This product requires more than beginners skill to use or you will waste collated screw sets. Instructions very bad! Need YouTube to actually assemble, load and use. even deck screws will not go in all the way unless you know how to use this tool
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this gun is very well made and I'm sure ideal for a professional drywaller, however, I'm a relati... this gun is very well made and I'm sure ideal for a professional drywaller, however, I'm a relative rookie to drywalling and this gun requires more experience than I have time for. Since I have never used an autofeed screw gun, I practiced on soft wood and failed miserably. In my opinion, this is one tool that really needs to be variable speed, but this tool is not. I ended up with many screws crooked and only half sunk. I tried the "leave it running" advise and couldn't stand the grinding of the bit in the screw heads and many crooked and half sunk screws. I'm glad I was only practicing on wood and not actually hanging drywall, that would have been a disaster. I returned it and bought a variable speed Senco which I will practice with this week. If I fail at that then I'll go back to my tried and true single shooter variable speed from DeWalt. Even though I returned the item, I still think it will work fine in the hands of a professional. I would have rated it a 5 except I kept having feed problems, perhaps because I was being cautious and going slow.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would say that it is a beta version of... I would say that it is a beta version of a product that could be really good with some improvements. The plastic strip and screws get jammed too easily and trying to screw to a inside corner stud doesn't work.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Preferred 1 handyman services This tool has saved me a lot of work time. It also makes setting screw depth more accurate and precise and in turn makes the work surface neat in appearance. Customers very happy.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridgid Wow terrible I gave it a fighting chance and went thru a whole box of screws and half of them were misfires. Wow all I can say is the Senco gun is worth the extra money
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tried to drive 2 inch deck screws with #2 square... Tried to drive 2 inch deck screws with #2 square drive bit. Stripped 3 bits in only 18 screws. At almost $7 a bit can't afford this unit. I am returning it today.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Toll is a little touchy, but once you get the hang of it you are good to go. If nothing else it i... Toll is a little touchy, but once you get the hang of it you are good to go. If nothing else it is a great way to get the screw started when it doe misfire.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth your time I am a big Ridgid fan but this gun is garbage. the design is poor. The screws need to be supported when driving downward onto a deck.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My first Ridgid power tool, ever. Probably my last, as well. For the price it's not too bad but I... My first Ridgid power tool, ever. Probably my last, as well. For the price it's not too bad but I definitely had a couple of beefs. I bought this for one purpose: to install a subfloor in a new 300sqft house without having to use my tried-and-true "single shooter" screw gun. It did the job in the end but loading the collated screws was not as simple as it should have been: maybe a swing gate or something other than carefully pulling the strips through this guide and around that corner without getting the end stuck where it doesn't belong and having to feed through another guide. And it's definitely not really a one-hander like a single shooter. It's just not well balanced and the depth-adjustable tip is flimsy and frequently cocks to one side, resulting in a miss-shot screw. You really need to two-hand this gun to keep screws driven straight, but there's no handle for two-handing, you have to grab the gun body with your other hand. Like I said, it did the job, but if I was doing floors (or even drywall) for a living I would go in a different direction. Of course, if I had to rely on a screw gun for a living I wouldn't have bought the least expensive one, either.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good investment. Gun jams occasionally, but makes installing drywall go... Good investment. Gun jams occasionally, but makes installing drywall go quicker without having to keep grabbing screws.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right. You have to have the drill squared up with the wall, or the gun /screw doesn't go in right.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good. Never used one before but works up to... Works good. Never used one before but works up to my expectations. No regrets.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I... Screwed in 3000 screws and it works just fine I would recommend It to anybody
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drywall and deck screwdriver I using it for a deck and it's helping me faster .I really like how it works.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tried 2screws and striped the screw driver bit. Returned to... Tried 2screws and striped the screw driver bit. Returned to store.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool for large scale of sheetrock. Good tool for large scale of sheetrock.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Screws do not feed properly... Screws do not feed properly
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the money I bought this gun when I added 1/2" plywood to my subfloor to build up floor height to match adjoining rooms. I screwed the sheets every 6" on edge & 12" in field for 3 bedrooms. This tool made very quick work of it. I spent on average at 20-30 minutes per room using this gun. Other reviews mentioned jammed/not flush screws, and that does happen - however, you learn to hold it such that the nosepiece isn't angled and it will drive solid every time. For the handful of screws that didn't make it - just make a round with the hand driver to finish these off, no big deal. Also - I always leave the trigger locked, drives better and faster. Screw loading is fast, driving is fast. For the money, you can't beat it.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First of all I would like to say that I don't hang dry wall for a living, I have done my fair sh... First of all I would like to say that I don't hang dry wall for a living, I have done my fair share in the past while in the Service ( Civil Engineering- PRIME BEEF). I have used several screw guns including Makita, and one off brand from Menards. I really like the Rigid tool program and the fact they come with life time warranty's. That's huge today considering the majority of tools sold in big box retailers originate from our favorite country, China. The Pro's - This screw driver is built well. I love the grip, how easily it feeds screws on the strip into the port, it has some meat to it. When you pick up this tool, it feels like you have something in your hand. I found this gun to be comfortable to use while finishing my garage. The Con's - with the technology we have today, you would think there would be a battery version of this available. I found while doing corners, sometimes it was impossible to get near the 90 degree angle or in tight areas. Open areas were fine. While on a ladder 14 feet up it was cumbersome to have the cord dangling down attached to an extension cord. I did not use Senco screws that were recommended on the box when I bought this tool. I picked out what ever HD was selling and they worked just fine. For my job, I used 3" drywall screws that were sold in a bucket for around 15 bucks. Not too bad..... While using the tool, I found it does take some getting use to. All tools are designed differently and this is no different. If you have never used a screw gun before, they really work by feel. Before starting a job, get some scrap material and practice. You will understand what I'm saying when you do this. A lot of folks complained about screws not going in or all the way. I had this too at first. It's all about that "feel" and, you must go straight in and not on an angle. This will result in a fastener that is installed properly. The first time. I personally hung 4 x 8 sheets of 5/8 drywall by myself with this gun. the fact that the screw is on a belt or strip is huge when going solo. I would have given this 5 stars but due to the initial " learning curve" I gave it 4 as there was not an option for a 4 1/2. All in all, this is not a bad tool to have. If you are a true " do it your self-er" and have large dry wall job to do, I would recommend giving this tool a considerable thought. Not only will you save alot of time, but some frustration too by installing screws manually or "one by one". On an end note, I think it would be a good idea to see "how to" videos produced from Rigid on the you tube channel; in regards to different applications Rigid tools can be used. I think it would clear up any negative feed back on this tool. Education on proper use is always key....
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rigid screw gun I'm a contractor and used this gun for a kitchen i remodeled, sheetrock and cement board and have no complaints at all. people that complained about this gun saying it doesn't drive the screw in straight obviously don't know how to use the tool. just think of it as driving a car if you're steering crooked what do you expect will happened??? the main thing when using it is to screw in straight. even corners as long as you get close enough where you can keep the gun straight you should do fine. don't get me wrong, there were a few screws that i had to go over with the drill, but it was still worth the purchase. knocks the work out! Even has a quick change for the bit. Buy one and see for yourself, i love it!
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AVERAGE PRODUCT First of all I am a contractor so I know tools. After reading all the previous reviews i was skeptical of buying but this was the only product on the shelf. I did experience pretty much every problem other reviewers complained about. wasted screws, occasional jams, doesn't work well in corners (none do). But the fact is I hung 80 sheets of drywall by myself (over three days) with this gun and I know if I didn't have it, it would of been four days. So overall for $99 it was worth it. It has its ups and downs and I will use it again on my next project. How long it will last is another story but if you register your product you have a lifetime warranty. If this would of costed much more than the hundred bucks I probably would of returned it.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool I built and installed an outside deck six months ago and did it the old fashioned way with my Dewalt screw gun. Lots of screws and lots of time picking screws and driving them. Since I was putting in another level to the deck I decided to try this gun. This guy drove over a 1000 2" deck screws today flawlessly. The bit still looks good and the gun will get another workout tomorrow. So far I'm impressed. This tool qualifies in my book as being worth the money.
Date published: 2011-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from check the foward reverse switch every review I just read said it would not drive in a screw more than 1/2 way. Because the "reverse/ forward switch" is located so close to the trigger switch it is easy for the new user to always switch from forward to reverse each time your trigger finger moves around the area. once you realize this, all you need do is aim the gun level , press the nozzle to the sheetrock/ wood when the screw is lined up straight, pressthe nozzle toward the wall and pull the trigger. Its a very good tool when you master it.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Gun, Definitely Has A Learning Curve Let me start by saying that this is NOT a good gun for weekend warrior / homeowner DIY'ers that want to hang a few pieces of drywall with as little hassle as possible. If that is what you are looking for, then just stick with a regular corded or cordless drill and drywall bits. This gun will not just magically sink every screw perfectly, it requires you to shoot at least a hundred screws to get the technique down, and it will require you to put your weight behind it to get screws to sink. I am a homeowner, and I bought this to finish my garage with 18 panels of 4'x12' 5/8" type X. I read the reviews on here, as well as on some online forum discussions about using auto-feed guns, so I was ready to accept that it would be difficult at first. I shot maybe 30 screws to get the depth set where I wanted it, and it took around 200 screws to get the feel for the technique. What is this technique? Well, as far as I can tell you need to do these things: 1) Push HARD on the gun or the bit will just jump out of the head and start stripping itself. Get your weight behind it and either use 2 hands or have your body against the butt of the gun. It's the only way you are getting consistent sinks, at least in 40+ year old fir framing like I have. I have some fresh framing too and screws went in a little easier, but still required some grunt. 2) Your drywall piece needs to be firmly against the framing before shooting a screw. Get a helper or find a way to push the panel against the framing you are about to screw into. If you don't, the head will just go right through the paper. Screws will pop through the face paper if there is more than a 1/16" gap between the drywall and framing. 3) Keep the gun perpendicular to the drywall. It can shoot screws diagonally, but it won't sink them and you'll need to go touch those up later. You might as well use a drill for those since you will be hitting them with one later. 4) This thing is not good for inside corners. This is actually the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It doesn't fit well into corners, and it tears up the paper on the adjacent drywall panel if you do use it for the edge at an inside corner. So there you have it. I completely understand why some people gave this thing bad reviews. If you buy it expecting it to make you hang drywall like a pro, it does nothing of the sort. In fact, unless you are willing to spend an hour or two getting acquainted with it, you should just use a drill and drywall bit. Once you do get the hang of it, you can shoot screws ridiculously fast and it speeds up the job a lot. By the end, I had a good 90% of the screws going in properly with this thing, which is pretty good considering how much variation in density my house's old framing has. I have done various drywall projects in my and relatives houses for years, and always used a regular drill with a drywall bit. This screw gun was a good purchase and really sped up my garage finishing job, even accounting for the time I had to spend getting the feel for it. Helping my friend do her 20x30' garage in a month or so will go much faster with this product. Hopefully others will find my experience helpful. It was frustrating at first, but I knew that the problem was more with me than the gun so I kept at it and it paid off.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Learning curve required Take the time to read the instructions and get familiar with how it is supposed to operate because it definitely requires attention to detail to get set up correctly. The 2 main things are that the screw length gauge must be set exact to the size of screws you are using and the gun requires the operator to use a good amount of force to set the screw correctly. I went through 1 strip of screws before I got everything right, but once I got the hang of it everything went good. Wish I had purchase this years ago.
Date published: 2016-08-13
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_174
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT