0648846054728

RIDGID

Model # R6791

Internet # 100646501

Store SKU # 739971

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

$99.98 /each
  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
16.14 in 
Product Height (in.) 
9.76 in 
Product Width (in.) 
3.85 in 

Details

Amperage (amps) 
6.5 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
Corded Tool Type 
Drill/Driver 
Cordless/ Corded 
Corded 
Depth Adjustment 
Yes 
Energy Type 
Corded Electric 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
3700 
Nail Gauge 
NA / Other 
Power Tool Features 
Bag Included 
Power Tool Product Type 
Corded 
Product Weight (lb.) 
5 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Reverse 
Yes 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed,ETL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

12 Questions57 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
12 answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
bob
gaithersburg md.
December 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (12)

August 26, 2015
Answer: 
This thing is garbage, It could barely put a screw into 5/4 x6 pressure treated lumber and a 2x6 joist. My 1986 makita corded drill has more power. Buy a impact driver for decking screws way more power and faster.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
I would not use it, I would just use the Grip -Rite Torque Head screws they last longer and are a better screw for a deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question bob, Yes it's ideal for this application
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It's intended use is for drywall. However, for framing and decking, a lot depends on finding the screws needed. Decking are normally coated and for framing I find a Pneumatic Nailer is much faster and more effective.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
no- you would want to use the screwstrips on anything structural or exposed to weather- drywall and subfloor best uses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
I wouldn't suggest it, only due the types of screws I have seen available. Works excellent on subfloors and drywall though...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
It would work well for decks, but would not be suited for framing. It can be used for putting up plywood, OSB, and drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Mine had a strong enough motor to do it, however it simply broke down too early to really do much with it. Even when it worked, it didn't drive screws fully in--not because of a lack of power, but due to the inability to adjust the unit to do so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2013
Answer: 
I probably would only use it on the deck. The screw gun is hard to use at any other angle beside 90. It would be great for screwing the planks on the deck or anything else where you screw it in straight on.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
The model R6791 NOT the R6790 can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it supposedly can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the RIDGID R6791 can be used on wood with framing and decking.
Applications: Driving multiple screws into wood and drywall with screw¬driver bits.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
10 answers

what is the availability and cost of screws

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
DanG
July 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Home Depot had a good supply but the cost for 800 screws was $46.71for the pail. It might sound expensive but the time it saved it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
You can get the screws at Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards at any time. The cost is about the same each place, buy in bulk and talk to the managers they are usually willing to give a 10% discount on them if you are spending over a $100 in supplies on a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question DanG. cost will depend on size and manufacture. I pay around $20.00 for 1-11/2 3 1/2 go for about $40-$80
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
Ample supply of screws available in store and out.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Screws are readily available from Home Depot and Lowes. Use Senco products, they seem to work very well with the driver. Price is a little more than ordinary drywall screws, but not prohibitive to using same for large projects. Similar to cost of roofing nail coils.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously Read More
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously the more specilized screws may need to be ordered and cost more, but are avalible. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
hard to find the longer lengths- 3" will most likely be a special order- but up to 1.5" no problem
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
Depends on which home improvement store you go to, and the size and types of the screws... Home Depot prices range from about $18 p/1000 to I believe $28 p/1000
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Washington, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Most DIY stores carry collated screws. Not as much length varieties as regular boxes, but enough for most projects. A bucket of drywall screws (1000) usually goes for somewhere between 18-20 bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2013
Answer: 
This is something a Home Depot Associate can help you with.
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
 
8 answers

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Pete
Paducah KY
February 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, but you need to send in a copy of the receipt along with the UPC to
Ridgid Power Tools
P. O. Box 1427
Anderson, SC 29622
Also you must register at Ridgid.com and create an account, this will give you a print out to place in the envelope to send in as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question pete. Yes, make sure you follow the LSA directions thoroughly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
If you register it properly with Ridgid It will
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it will. But you will have to follow the easy online steps to register the tool so Rigid will extend the warranty to lifetime.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
of course- but a $99- if you get a couple of year out of it- it will have paid for itself-
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
Only if it is registered.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 8, 2013
Answer: 
The RIDGID R6791 screw gun comes with the standard RIDGID three year warranty, and like all qualifying new RIDGID power tool purchases, it does qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement coverage.
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
6 answers

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
big S
Oakdale NewYork
November 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Graet question Big S. About a $100.00
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Price varies. Figure $99.00 to $149.00. I got mine on sale for $89.00 through Hime Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
I bought mine at Home DePot, and it cost $100.00 dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Our unit was approximately $99 at our local Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
$99
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 16, 2012
Answer: 
This is a question the master distributor ,Home Depot, has to answer.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
2 »
  • 2016-07-25 T21:20:22.253-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 161ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 122 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unreliable According to the troubleshooting guide the slide assembly on the screwgun needs replacing after driving slightly less than 1000 2" screws into a fence. (Cedar on Pressure Treated Wood), when it works it's great but it keeps jamming up and occasionally the spring fails to release the guide back and it has to pushed manually etc. etc. .... basically not reliable enough in my opinion. It's going back... a friend has the bigger model 1 to 3" screws, I'll give that a try... because when it works it's a real time saver. February 23, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Doesn't work at all well It worked OK for about two strips of screws. Then It began to not sink screws all the way down leaving 1/2-1" sticking up that had to be finished with an impact driver. After 4-5 strips the bit came loose and was protruding throught the strip. I had to cut the strip away to get the bit out. I reinstalled the bit making sure it was at the proper depth and locked at the base. Once again, it came loose after a couple of strips. I double-checked I had the depth set correctly, the strips inserted properly and everything was moving as it should.I was very careful to make sure the tool was at 90 degrees to the board, but no help! The problem continued and it is more work to try to use this driver than using a manual impact driver. This tool is entirely unsatisfactory and I hope I can still get a refund for it. I bought it a couple of months ago in anticipation of my deck-building project and didn't start using it until this month (June). I'm checking out the Lowe's product mentioned above. June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible, would never buy another. if your not square flat you strip out the screws, the bit provided said it was a #2 square drive but was really a #1, so I stripped out a lot of screws before I figured it out, overall very disappointed in this purchase. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by check the foward reverse switch every review I just read said it would not drive in a screw more than 1/2 way. Because the "reverse/ forward switch" is located so close to the trigger switch it is easy for the new user to always switch from forward to reverse each time your trigger finger moves around the area. once you realize this, all you need do is aim the gun level , press the nozzle to the sheetrock/ wood when the screw is lined up straight, pressthe nozzle toward the wall and pull the trigger. Its a very good tool when you master it. July 21, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product I have done several sub-flooring jobs with this driver already and works very well. Just want to mention a couple of things when using. The reverse button is easy to engage when you are driving, so beware you might accidently engage it. Very few misfires but mostly my fault when they occur due to me engaging holding loosely with rapid repitition (say 1 in a hundred). Have corrected all by going back with no screws in the gun. Wish it was taller but hey those products cost more....Also make sure you engage it perpindicular to the floor though I have placed some on an angle successfully. Saves me time just wish the gun could hold more screws and also the front shield for the screws should be sturdier plastic or steel though you could toss it and the driver would still work well without it. February 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Problems with screws I have had this gun for about 2 weeks and am going to exchange it as all of the reviews here sound positive. About 25% of the screws I put in are left proud have to be gone back over with another screw gun to sink them properly. Also the gun I have is absolutely worthless when it comes to any corner or panel edge. Even with the problems it is still a time saver and when it does work properly you really can screw in an entire panel in less than 30 seconds. Maybe I will have better luck with a replacement November 17, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Driver I used this to re-deck my deck. Amazing speed and accuracy, 20 screws in 20 seconds along the chalk lines. I agree with an earlier post about the plastic guard on the handle. I just took it off. If you hang the tool on your belt without the guard, the screws will poke at your leg. I just set it down on the deck when not using it but for overhead work you might want to hang it. The gun is lightweight and the locking trigger allows you to drive the 40 count nail strips without much effort, reducing trigger finger fatigue and repetitive shoulder strain. I used one square bit to drive over 1500 screws and it is still in good shape. I did not experience any jams or misfeeds. The only limit on this unit is the maximum 2" screw length but it's fine for 5/4 decking, drywall and a plethora of other projects. September 30, 2009
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This product was terrible Bought this product a week ago to do a major job on a subfloor, I didn't want to do all the screws manually. However, this equipment was terrible. It jammed every 12 screws or less and I tried several times to get it to work correctly but gave up and started driving the screws manually. I got done quicker that way. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I returned the product to the store and got my money back. I was very disappointed with this product December 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good tool I have been using this tool to install plywood subfloor. Screws feed nicely and it has plenty of power for continuous use. Reloading screws is fast and easy, even when wearing gloves, as is the depth adjustment. Once in a while a screw will not drive in far enough, but not so often as to be a problem. I bought the cordless version first and had problems with the screw feed, and batteries overheating. I returned it and I am much happier with this tool. December 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Tool I built and installed an outside deck six months ago and did it the old fashioned way with my Dewalt screw gun. Lots of screws and lots of time picking screws and driving them. Since I was putting in another level to the deck I decided to try this gun. This guy drove over a 1000 2" deck screws today flawlessly. The bit still looks good and the gun will get another workout tomorrow. So far I'm impressed. This tool qualifies in my book as being worth the money. April 2, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great - nice time saver It works well and my projects, a real time saver. The store had several different sizes of screws available also and different types. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saves a huge amount of time I wish I would have bought this years ago. This screw gun paid for itself on the first job. It took a little getting use too, but after that it's amazing. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everyone Needs one of these. I have no idea why I have waited so long to purchase one of these. I do a lot of handyman work and all my own building and remodeling. Over the years I have put up thousands of square feet of drywall, sheeting, subflooring, etc. Lord do I wish I had this drill! This weekend I used it for the first time. I put up ten sheets of 4'x12'x5/8" drywall on the ceiling of a shop I'm doing. Anyone who has fought 5/8" rock on a ceiling knows it's a pain in the rear!! The collated screw gun made it almost enjoyable. It worked perfect out of the box. Set up was easy. Loading is easy. I was able to screw a whole sheet off in a matter of a few minutes with one hand and then off to the next sheet. From small projects to large ones you need this! Works with up to 3" screws and you can get just about any type out there, even painted and stainless steel screws for the AC2 treated lumber. Very happy with this product and as always Ridgid has produced a solid tool. Thanks. December 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for Commercial Use Unfortunately this particular screw gun cannot stand up to any commercial job! This is a fine gun for DIY. Also, twice we were given returned product, which we did not appreciate! April 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool IF you can get a good one! I am on collated screwdriver #3. I returned the first one after struggling to get it to work consistently within the first two days. The bit kept falling out as it had a faulty chamber that houses the bit end. Collated screwdriver #2 worked great and I was very pleased with its performance...for about 8 hours worth of work (over the course of 2 weekends) and then the bit stopped spinning (of course that means it won't screw the screws into the wood.) Tried trouble-shooting and alas, it was broken. Took it back yesterday and replaced it with #3. I haven't used it yet so cannot testify to its stability. I do know that if you can get one that will work it's a great tool. Easy to use, easy to load, easy to learn to handle. Let's just hope this is my bad luck and not that these tools are unstable over all. It would get 5 stars across the board if it wasn't for these bit issues. At this time I cannot recommend this tool because of these issues. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Decent gun I bought two of these guns for a fence project. One of the guns worked a little better than the other, but both did what I needed. Put about 2000 screws through one gun and about 1000 through the other. I am always happy to buy Ridgid tools. My only complaint is that the gun would jumps screws sometimes and had a few screws not go in all the way. Other than that a decent screw gun for the price. May 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Undependable performance I bought this product, read the instructions and set it up. It would eject 10 screws for every one it drove. I went through the minimal instructions over and over and just could not get this tool to work properly. I was attaching 1/2" sheathing onto 1 x 12" flooring. I used 1 3/4" #8 screws. Then I switched to a different brand of screw (2" #8) and re-set the tool for 2" screws. All of a sudden, it worked perfectly. I got one room done then started on another. In the middle of one strip of screws, the tool would not drive screws. They would eject, only penetrate marginally, and sometimes just spin until the screw would create so much friction it would smoke. I tried everything. I changed to a new bit, changed the settings, switched back to the former screw and I never got it to work properly again. I have no idea what the problem can be. When the screws do not eject, they just spin without much penetration or do not get deep enough to get the head flush even after moving the adjustment wheel. I am returning the tool ASAP. I can do it one-at-a -time faster. December 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Gun, Definitely Has A Learning Curve Let me start by saying that this is NOT a good gun for weekend warrior / homeowner DIY'ers that want to hang a few pieces of drywall with as little hassle as possible. If that is what you are looking for, then just stick with a regular corded or cordless drill and drywall bits. This gun will not just magically sink every screw perfectly, it requires you to shoot at least a hundred screws to get the technique down, and it will require you to put your weight behind it to get screws to sink. I am a homeowner, and I bought this to finish my garage with 18 panels of 4'x12' 5/8" type X. I read the reviews on here, as well as on some online forum discussions about using auto-feed guns, so I was ready to accept that it would be difficult at first. I shot maybe 30 screws to get the depth set where I wanted it, and it took around 200 screws to get the feel for the technique. What is this technique? Well, as far as I can tell you need to do these things: 1) Push HARD on the gun or the bit will just jump out of the head and start stripping itself. Get your weight behind it and either use 2 hands or have your body against the butt of the gun. It's the only way you are getting consistent sinks, at least in 40+ year old fir framing like I have. I have some fresh framing too and screws went in a little easier, but still required some grunt. 2) Your drywall piece needs to be firmly against the framing before shooting a screw. Get a helper or find a way to push the panel against the framing you are about to screw into. If you don't, the head will just go right through the paper. Screws will pop through the face paper if there is more than a 1/16" gap between the drywall and framing. 3) Keep the gun perpendicular to the drywall. It can shoot screws diagonally, but it won't sink them and you'll need to go touch those up later. You might as well use a drill for those since you will be hitting them with one later. 4) This thing is not good for inside corners. This is actually the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It doesn't fit well into corners, and it tears up the paper on the adjacent drywall panel if you do use it for the edge at an inside corner. So there you have it. I completely understand why some people gave this thing bad reviews. If you buy it expecting it to make you hang drywall like a pro, it does nothing of the sort. In fact, unless you are willing to spend an hour or two getting acquainted with it, you should just use a drill and drywall bit. Once you do get the hang of it, you can shoot screws ridiculously fast and it speeds up the job a lot. By the end, I had a good 90% of the screws going in properly with this thing, which is pretty good considering how much variation in density my house's old framing has. I have done various drywall projects in my and relatives houses for years, and always used a regular drill with a drywall bit. This screw gun was a good purchase and really sped up my garage finishing job, even accounting for the time I had to spend getting the feel for it. Helping my friend do her 20x30' garage in a month or so will go much faster with this product. Hopefully others will find my experience helpful. It was frustrating at first, but I knew that the problem was more with me than the gun so I kept at it and it paid off. September 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Performance Bought this screwdriver to tighten up a squeaky floor. I've done other rooms with a normal VSR drill and was really looking forward to save some back pain this time around. The gun just failed at an OSB subfloor using the HomeDepot-suplied GripRite 1-3/4" square head subfloor screws. It would work for about 20 screws in a row and then only drive in screws half way. Stripped the two included square head bits in under 150 screws. Of course there was some user error the first strip of screws since this was the first time using this gun. After getting the hang of it the gun worked beautifully for a short time then failed due to bit stripping. Even though the screws were labeled as Ridgid compatible, I'm not sure if they really were, or the subfloor was too tough for the screws. Product is getting returned. I have other Ridgid tools and they work great. March 21, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A real labor saver Bought this to lay down 12 plywood sheets. I don't know why other people had problems, I drove close to 2000 screws with only a few screws not driving. Closer inspection of the screws leads me to believe it was the screw manufacturer. I ran Senco #8 x 1-3/4 square heads. February 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Piece of junk Returned after second time trying to get it to work. Would not feed screws. Jamed 4 out of five screws. Had to take it appart to figure out problem. Cost me a lot of down time on job. January 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This is why I don't buy Rigid tools This tool only drives about 1 out of 4-5 screws into the wood. The square bit burned up on the 1st 10 screws I tried, thought maybe I just got a bad bit so I tried a new bit, same exact thing happened. Please don't waste you're time or money on this garbage. January 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by better than nothing Can screw quickly but there is no torque clutch so screws will strip wood easy. Gun just keeps spinning screw after it is sunk in? Should this happen or is mine defective? Is my wood too soft? I think it should stop spinning after driver hits bottom but no way to tell if this is happening since gun must keep spinning as this is how it works. Maybe iI should be asking these questions to rigid or maybe this should be answered in directions. December 24, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No screw tips at store Don't bother buying one. They don't have any replacement tips for the gun.... April 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good screw gun It worked well, drywalled a bedroom. Although the corners did not always go in all the way. I did drive the few with a impact driver using a Drywall screw setter. It did save time. On a side note, the second day, all screws would drive 1/2 way. I had to finish each with the impact driver. Thinking that night that I was going to return the unit, I realized I had the gun in reverse!! Hopefully, others will not make my mistake. May 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Minor miss feeds, but great tool Tool is very durable, and has an occasional misfeed or doesn't quite seat the screw completely, but this doesn't happen so often as to not purchase the tool. I have used it for everything from building a deck to putting drywall up. I will give you a word to the wise, make sure you read the instruction manual before operating and use the depth adjustment correctly. I'm very pleased with my purchase. December 24, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by senco is much better I returned this item because the bit kept falling out. I went to lowes and bought the senco model. Was about $30 more but the bit stayed in and seemed to be a better product. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works tirelessly I had a Senco battery powered collated screw gun for years and it did a great job but there were times when a battery powered gun just isn't enough. Now I'm putting in flooring and needed a bit more torque. This gun is light weight but sturdy and easy to thread. The cord is not in the way and works tirelessly putting down sheet after sheet. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great gun I bought a Ridgid screw gun that was used and was impressed with it. It was stolen from me so i bought a new one. It does a great job. February 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ridgid screw gun I bought this to hang sheetrock. After finally getting it adjusted right it would spit more screw out onto the floor then it would put in the rock. Screws would jam on the guide even though it was set to the right screw length. i would not reccomend this to anyone. I brought it back the next day and bought a different brand at another store and it works great March 5, 2012
  • 2016-07-22 T15:17:23.357-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_122, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT