Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

13 Questions63 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
13 answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
bob
gaithersburg md.
December 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (13)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

August 26, 2015
Answer: 
This thing is garbage, It could barely put a screw into 5/4 x6 pressure treated lumber and a 2x6 joist. My 1986 makita corded drill has more power. Buy a impact driver for decking screws way more power and faster.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
I would not use it, I would just use the Grip -Rite Torque Head screws they last longer and are a better screw for a deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question bob, Yes it's ideal for this application
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It's intended use is for drywall. However, for framing and decking, a lot depends on finding the screws needed. Decking are normally coated and for framing I find a Pneumatic Nailer is much faster and more effective.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
no- you would want to use the screwstrips on anything structural or exposed to weather- drywall and subfloor best uses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
I wouldn't suggest it, only due the types of screws I have seen available. Works excellent on subfloors and drywall though...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
It would work well for decks, but would not be suited for framing. It can be used for putting up plywood, OSB, and drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Mine had a strong enough motor to do it, however it simply broke down too early to really do much with it. Even when it worked, it didn't drive screws fully in--not because of a lack of power, but due to the inability to adjust the unit to do so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2013
Answer: 
I probably would only use it on the deck. The screw gun is hard to use at any other angle beside 90. It would be great for screwing the planks on the deck or anything else where you screw it in straight on.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
The model R6791 NOT the R6790 can accept a 3" screw
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it supposedly can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the RIDGID R6791 can be used on wood with framing and decking.
Applications: Driving multiple screws into wood and drywall with screw¬driver bits.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
10 answers

what is the availability and cost of screws

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
DanG
July 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Home Depot had a good supply but the cost for 800 screws was $46.71for the pail. It might sound expensive but the time it saved it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
You can get the screws at Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards at any time. The cost is about the same each place, buy in bulk and talk to the managers they are usually willing to give a 10% discount on them if you are spending over a $100 in supplies on a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question DanG. cost will depend on size and manufacture. I pay around $20.00 for 1-11/2 3 1/2 go for about $40-$80
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
Ample supply of screws available in store and out.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Screws are readily available from Home Depot and Lowes. Use Senco products, they seem to work very well with the driver. Price is a little more than ordinary drywall screws, but not prohibitive to using same for large projects. Similar to cost of roofing nail coils.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously Read More
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously the more specilized screws may need to be ordered and cost more, but are avalible. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
hard to find the longer lengths- 3" will most likely be a special order- but up to 1.5" no problem
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
Depends on which home improvement store you go to, and the size and types of the screws... Home Depot prices range from about $18 p/1000 to I believe $28 p/1000
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Washington, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Most DIY stores carry collated screws. Not as much length varieties as regular boxes, but enough for most projects. A bucket of drywall screws (1000) usually goes for somewhere between 18-20 bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2013
Answer: 
This is something a Home Depot Associate can help you with.
-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
 
8 answers

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Pete
Paducah KY
February 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, but you need to send in a copy of the receipt along with the UPC to
Ridgid Power Tools
P. O. Box 1427
Anderson, SC 29622
Also you must register at Ridgid.com and create an account, this will give you a print out to place in the envelope to send in as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question pete. Yes, make sure you follow the LSA directions thoroughly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
If you register it properly with Ridgid It will
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it will. But you will have to follow the easy online steps to register the tool so Rigid will extend the warranty to lifetime.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
of course- but a $99- if you get a couple of year out of it- it will have paid for itself-
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
Only if it is registered.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 8, 2013
Answer: 
The RIDGID R6791 screw gun comes with the standard RIDGID three year warranty, and like all qualifying new RIDGID power tool purchases, it does qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement coverage.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
 
6 answers

how is it for picket fences?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Riverside, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 8, 2014
Pickets to horizontals
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Works good mostly on straight flat surface, underlayment and flat rack work, building a fence. If the work is on saw horses. My 2x2 uprights it worked, but my decking it was more effort than it was worth. Ended up using my impact driver.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Sandy Springs, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 8, 2015
Answer: 
I've used mine with cedar pickets and with pressure-treated pine pickets. The driver works great, but I wish I had opted for the battery version. Some fences require a LOT of extension cord!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
It worked great on the cedar fence, don't know why it wouldn't work on your picket...it will save you time in installation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
That's a great question IWMac. This works well for that application
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
New Castle, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The Ridged screw machine would not work for me on anything. I returned it and bought a Makita screw gun that wors great. Each machine only shoots a specific size range of screws. The shortest screw range mine will shoot is 2 3/4" up to 3 1/2".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
There is no usage information regarding the R6791 being used specifically on picket fences to advise of. However, if specific picket fence construction in question is done with 1” to 3” screws being driven into wood, it possibly could be used in that application.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:24:11.786-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product sucks!!!! I purchased this product several days ago. The Rigid product rep was in the store and sang it's praises. When I began to attempt to use it disappointment was all that I experienced. I tried to drive over 200 screws thinking I needed some experience to make it work. Never once was I able to drive a screw all the way in to a required depth for drywall. Occasionally it would drive the screw all the way through the drywall and countersink into the wood. Without making any adjustments the next screw would only be driven about 1/3 the way into the wood. I just couldn't make it work at all. Returned it to the store for a refund this morning.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for the faint of heart I find this product very tricky. You will find that it sicks a lot. It waste more screws then it get into the dry wall. Their is a critical screw in the side of the gun that falls out all the time. I you loose it the gun it worthy. When working with dusty dry wall is hard to find in the mess. The gun is square so does not work at all in thigh places such as corners. When working over head does not want to sink screws below the surface of the dry wall. You will have to manual go back and finish almost every screw. When it get stuck only places the screw half away into drywall of not at all. Not pleased and would not recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Driver I used this to re-deck my deck. Amazing speed and accuracy, 20 screws in 20 seconds along the chalk lines. I agree with an earlier post about the plastic guard on the handle. I just took it off. If you hang the tool on your belt without the guard, the screws will poke at your leg. I just set it down on the deck when not using it but for overhead work you might want to hang it. The gun is lightweight and the locking trigger allows you to drive the 40 count nail strips without much effort, reducing trigger finger fatigue and repetitive shoulder strain. I used one square bit to drive over 1500 screws and it is still in good shape. I did not experience any jams or misfeeds. The only limit on this unit is the maximum 2" screw length but it's fine for 5/4 decking, drywall and a plethora of other projects.
Date published: 2009-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Should Have Paid Attention to the Negative Comments I should have paid more attention to earlier reviews of this tool. Difficult to load the bit. Easy to load the collated screws. Impossible to achieve consistent screw depths. Bought the drill on Monday and used it for the first time today. The instruction manual was not very well organized and provided almost no information regarding operation so I watched the video on the Ridgid home page. Don't know what tool they were using but it wasn't the one in the box I brought home. Used it for about 600 3.0" screws on a subfloor project. Stripped a bit head about 250 screws into the project. Less than half the screws were drilled properly. Had to properly set the others with my Craftsman drill with a #2 square bit. Needless to say, it's back in the box ready to return to Home Depot tomorrow.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ridgid screw gun I bought this to hang sheetrock. After finally getting it adjusted right it would spit more screw out onto the floor then it would put in the rock. Screws would jam on the guide even though it was set to the right screw length. i would not reccomend this to anyone. I brought it back the next day and bought a different brand at another store and it works great
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worked for half a room This tool worked okay for about 5 sheets of drywall then stopped driving screws into the studs--would only drive screws through drywall but not studs. I also noted a smell of burnt plastic when I tried to use it after it stopped working. I ended up stripping the collated screws out of the plastic by hand and carefully driving them with a cordless drill to finish the job. This screw gun didn't even work for a weekend guy like me, so I can't even imagine it'd work for a general contractor--if you factor downtime into a tool's true cost like me, this is not the screw gun for you. You get what you pay for, I guess.
Date published: 2010-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works tirelessly I had a Senco battery powered collated screw gun for years and it did a great job but there were times when a battery powered gun just isn't enough. Now I'm putting in flooring and needed a bit more torque. This gun is light weight but sturdy and easy to thread. The cord is not in the way and works tirelessly putting down sheet after sheet.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Ridgid tool I have bought I am very disappointed with the quality of this tool. I have several Ridgid general purpose power tools and have been satisfied with all of them. This tool however is a big disappointment. The driver bit will not stay engaged in the socket and will not drive the deck screws at all. I will not give up on Ridgid because of this tool but I will be very careful about buying any specialty tool from Ridgid in the future.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool when working by yourself used to finish off basement ceiling. if you are using a lift and working alone a must have. Little cumbersome The feed system is not as good as I would have expected But there is nothing else in the price range that compares and it is a must have when working by yourself. Have to be directly behind it to work best. Leaning or hanging off ladder won't seat all the way.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unit I am a contractor ,I have used other drywall guns for years ,I needed a new one so I thought I would try one of these out for the same cost as a normal one. Hands down worth every penny.This unit cut my drywall hanging time in half,everyone on my crew who touched it fell in love with it instantly.
Date published: 2009-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent time saver once you get the hang of it... It took a bit to get used to since the last screw gun I owned operated a bit differently. Over all an excellent product!
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool!! A few years ago I remodelled my home and installed all of the sheetrock using a drill with an adapter for sheetrock screws. Took forever, and just about killed my shoulders. I was about to install about 300' of new redwood fencing and was looking forward to the same agony when I spotted this tool. I had two friends come over to help me with this fencing project, and once we had the rails installed (1/2 day), we started on installing the boards. I was handling the screw gun and we had all of the boards up by the end of the day. As fast as my two friends could place the boards, I had the screws in and on we went with almost no effort. It was almost fun. This tool saved me at least a day, the fence is held together with screws instead of nails and no backache. I'm actually looking forward to replacing the siding on my garage. I might even let one of my friends operate the screw gun this time. This tool was worth every penny!! Went through almost 2,500 screws and the bit still looks brand new.
Date published: 2010-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Waste of Time for Decking Do not bother with this for decking. Owned less then 24 hours before taking it and the bucket of screws back for a refund. Impossible to get a proper counter sink. Ejects screws for no reason. Over spins and strips screw holes. It's junk. I should have listened to the reviews and not even bothered. I'll stick to screwing deck boards manually one by one.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT I have been looking for the best deal on the Senco IR0004 and here it is only with a different name. works great, even with longer screws. Tips do hold up well as advertised. It does more than sheetrock, but don't even try to toenail. Nice long cord too.
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool. Great tool, speeds up production. Easy too use. I've brought 5 of them so far. They make hanging drywall on ceiling easer.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good addition to my tool box. Have used it and it works very well. Have reccommended it to several friends.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Its a dream come true. It took me 2 hours to reframe 3 of my windows, while took me 3 hours to reframe one window without this tool. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2009-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No screw tips at store Don't bother buying one. They don't have any replacement tips for the gun....
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked great at first I purchased this screw gun primarily for hanging 5/8" OSB on the walls of my 30'x40' shop. I practiced first on a 2x4 where I had good control of my alignment of the gun to the wood. After seeing no problems, I went to work. At first it seemed to drive the screws just fine. However I discovered if you are not perfectly perpendicular to the work surface the screws will disengage from the bit and end up partially driven.....then I have to go back with my cordless and drive them the rest of the way in. Even with practice and careful placement, this problem seemed to get worse over time where 50% or more of the screws I attempted to drive had to be finished with my cordless drill/driver. After my first box of collated screws I have now also noticed that the spring loaded foot is not resetting completely and thus will not feed the next screw into place. I have to stop and pull the foot out until it clicks and then proceed. I feel the primary design of this tool is excellent and the build quality seems good. I like the long 12' cord. The adjustable countersink depth works well. If the screws fed properly, you could actually run screws in approximately every 5-7 seconds without letting off the trigger......that was what I hoped for. I'm hoping Home Depot will exchange this unit for one that works better. If so, I will repost and sing it's praises. Otherwise the primary advantage it offers over my DeWalt cordless drill is the ability to start a screw and drive it (sometimes partially) one handed.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Faster than loose screwing Doesn't sink perfectly every time but faster than loose screwing.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let go get the Deck done, this will make things go faster This made the deck go very fast, best the hammer and nails.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than expected After 2 days spent screwing down subflooring with a power drill, I ordered the Rigid AC Collated Screw Gun. The price was right so I didn't think I was out too much if it didn't work much better. But it surpassed all my expectations. It cut down my labor by two thirds. The only downside was having to load the screws and that was nothing. While I have only used it a couple of times since I got it, it has never jammed and has saved me endless hours bending over to screw in the flooring. I look forward to doing the rest of the house. The money was well spent and worth every penny.
Date published: 2009-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AN ABSOLUTE WASTE! This is such a poor tool that I would like to refuse to even give it a ranking. I bought it to use in rebuilding my deck and it will not drive 3" deck screws through a piece of kiln dried pressure treated fir decking EVEN AFTER DRILLING A 7/64 PILOT HOLE! The tool itself is easily maintained level with the wood guide tip. But the feed mechanism is so sloppy that the bit doesn't hit the screws square and the bit is quickly rounded off! In contrast, my simple little 3/8 drill with the square bit sinks the screws halfway into the decking! DO NOT FOR ANY REASON EXPECT THIS TOOL TO WORK FOR YOU!!!! BEAT THEM IN WITH A ROCK INSTEAD!!!!!! PLUS...when I took the tool back for a refund they told me I had to have a cash receipt because I paid cash for the gun. There is no dealer in our area who sells these other than Home Depot. What LOUSY customer service!!
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for the money For the price this tool is a big time saver. It does take a little while to get the feel of it. If you hesitate at all when starting a new screw it can cause problems so you have to be "assertive". Occasionally if you hesitate you will end up with a screw that is in the loaded position that then prohibits the tool from loading the next screw. If you carry a pair of needle nose pliers it is fairly easy to just pull the misfired screw out of the plastic strip. No matter how good of an automatic feed they make you are going to end up with screws that do not drive all the way in because they deflect due to the grain of the wood. This happens with nail guns as well. I have a brushless cordless impact driver that is small enough and lite enough to fit in a belt bag that works great for finishing off any defective or incompletely driven screws. The impact driver is handy for tight corners where there is little exposed stud to hit and scews have to be precisely driven in at an angle. Even if all this tool did was to start most of the screws where you then went back and finished them off it would be faster than reaching for a screw with your hand. Which brings up how easy it is to load a new strip. Loading a new strip takes about as much time as it would take to go grab a handful of screws to put in your bag. It is fairly easy to carry a couple extra strips of screws. One other thing is the corded aspect. Cordless might be nice if you can afford it but it would be heavier and you would have to have extra batteries ready to go. If you were driving long deck screws you would probably run out of juice in a cordless tool pretty fast. For drywall the cord was not really a problem but you do need to have a secure connection to an extension cord of some sort. One other thing. I have driven many screws with a couple different brands of screw guns that are not auto feed and they both can make a lot of racket when you reach your depth limit and they spin out. I don't know how they did it but this tool is much quieter when it reaches the point where the screw is driven all the way in - some sort of clutch or something. Anyway the screech of a normal gun spinning out can get old in a hurry.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Performance Bought this screwdriver to tighten up a squeaky floor. I've done other rooms with a normal VSR drill and was really looking forward to save some back pain this time around. The gun just failed at an OSB subfloor using the HomeDepot-suplied GripRite 1-3/4" square head subfloor screws. It would work for about 20 screws in a row and then only drive in screws half way. Stripped the two included square head bits in under 150 screws. Of course there was some user error the first strip of screws since this was the first time using this gun. After getting the hang of it the gun worked beautifully for a short time then failed due to bit stripping. Even though the screws were labeled as Ridgid compatible, I'm not sure if they really were, or the subfloor was too tough for the screws. Product is getting returned. I have other Ridgid tools and they work great.
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money This screw gun spits out screws and doesn't try to drive them into the drywall. I got about 1 screw in for every 20 that was wasted. It is easier to use a regular screw gun than this tool. I spent more time trying to get it to work right than I did using it to put screws in drywall.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable According to the troubleshooting guide the slide assembly on the screwgun needs replacing after driving slightly less than 1000 2" screws into a fence. (Cedar on Pressure Treated Wood), when it works it's great but it keeps jamming up and occasionally the spring fails to release the guide back and it has to pushed manually etc. etc. .... basically not reliable enough in my opinion. It's going back... a friend has the bigger model 1 to 3" screws, I'll give that a try... because when it works it's a real time saver.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good product I have done several sub-flooring jobs with this driver already and works very well. Just want to mention a couple of things when using. The reverse button is easy to engage when you are driving, so beware you might accidently engage it. Very few misfires but mostly my fault when they occur due to me engaging holding loosely with rapid repitition (say 1 in a hundred). Have corrected all by going back with no screws in the gun. Wish it was taller but hey those products cost more....Also make sure you engage it perpindicular to the floor though I have placed some on an angle successfully. Saves me time just wish the gun could hold more screws and also the front shield for the screws should be sturdier plastic or steel though you could toss it and the driver would still work well without it.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Screw driver First one did not work the next one works . Now the best but works . Would be real nice if it had a long handle to stand up for floors
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I too read all these reviews First of all, I am a hobbyist and not a contractor. However I am very knowlegable about tools etc... This drill was my first Rigid purchase. I was replacing the entire 255' of fence around my home. I sat where you are now and read all the reviews about this tool and thought that my job was small and that this tool could easily handle the project, so I rolled the dice and purchased this drill. I had estimated to drive 6000 two inch screws into half inch cedar pickets on a 8' Fence on Fence stlye fence. At first the drill worked well, and after about every 500 screws I began to notice the drill was mis-driving a couple of screws. I changed the bit, and the problem continued to worsen. I read the trouble shooting guide and the only applicable fix was changing the bit. So by the time I had nearly finished the job around 5800 screws later, this drill was mis-drilling almost 90% of the screws. I estimated to re-drill at least 1000 screws that this drill stopped short on. Keep in mind, the drill was not dirty, nor was it overheating, it took me almost a month to replace the entire fence. I was extremely frustrated with this tool. Finally, I had 10' of fence left and this drill mis-drilled all 8 screws on one board. I took this tool back and returned it for a full refund. On the box, it says "Professional" NOT! I know that there is a small margin of error, but this drill far exceeds that. The screw guard must have been a last minute design very poorly designed. The case is made of nylon, and will not last especially with a contractor. I was very disappointed with this tool and regret purchasing it. Having to go back and re-drill all those screws was a sure sign this drill is not a professional tool. Unfortunately, this was my first Rigid purchase and probably my last.
Date published: 2011-01-17
  • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT