Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2017-01-09

what is the availability and cost of screws

Asked by: Anonymous
There is a very limited size and composition available. I need coated exterior screws - the only size offered is 2 1/2" which is too long for my purpose. Its too bad because tool is a tremendous time-saver. What was a 4 hour job took about 45 minutes. But I can only use it on a few jobs since I can't find the sizes and screw heads and coatings I need.
Answered by: spydo
Date published: 2017-02-03

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

Asked by: Anonymous
YES!!!! Make sure you register it online with Rigid.
Answered by: Richmann
Date published: 2016-11-22

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

Asked by: Anonymous
$99.00 and the collated screws start at $18 a bucket for 800
Answered by: Tony
Date published: 2017-03-08
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money I bought this collated screw gun and returned it because it did not work very well. After a careful set up according to the directions, it would not always engage the screws, it would fail to fully screw the screws into the plywood underlayment and plywood subfloor (a total of 1 1/8"), and it's clutch was inconsistent to the point of either incomplete screw insertion, as noted already, and it would snap off the Senco screws. Perhaps it was just this particular driver, but I was unwilling to bother with another one of this brand.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from extremely extremely EXPENSIVE EXPENSIVE tool to operate The tool seems to work okay. The problem is the cost of the bits. If you only use it one time, then it is a bargain. If you plan to use it often and buy more bits, it is low value and high cost. If you go thru 100 bits a year, then it cost about 300 dollars more to operate than other screw guns. If you really plan to use it, the cost of the bits makes it an expensive tool. Check out the other screw guns and do the math of the cost of the gun and the cost of bits.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loves it but can't find nails Bought this for boyfriend for Xmas. He loved the idea since we are on our 2nd house to remodel. But he is having a hard time finding the nails. We will see if he keeps it.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Better off buying a regular drywall screw gun Only about 1 out of 3 screws would catch and be driven into the drywall. You have to hold the drill perfectly straight in order for it to work other wise the screw will fly off to the side or get caught and jam. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, TIME OR FRUSTRATION.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of your money! I bought this driver for a drywall job only to discover that it is incapable of driving phillips head screws in to soft pine studs. Once the screw phillips screw penetrates the drywall and contacts the stud, the tip driven by the non-variable high speed motor starts bouncing in the screw head and will not drive the screw regardless of how much or how little pressure apply to the tool. The square tip preforms better however if you do not get your plunge speed “just right” the screws either will try to go in cockeyed or the tip will not engage properly tearing up the tip and the screw. After much practice with the square drive I managed to get my wasted screws down to one in four, but even with practice the depth control was still widely inconsistent. Between struggling to use this driver “just right” and cleaning up all damaged and improper depth screws, I switched back to my far more efficient regular variable speed drill with a screwdriver tip. After reading many of the reviews, both good and bad I have come to the conclusion that Rigid’s manufacturing of this driver has a varying quality control problem and the good reviewers got the lucky roll of the dice. My recommendation, DO NOT BUY!
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Multi use for fast screwing I use this drill for almost all my major builds. It's fast adjustable and sturdy. I would give it 5s but it's hard to find the screw length and head unless you order them, and who wants that waist of time.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wondering what went wrong Knowing I was going to be laying several sheets of plywood for a remodel job (which I've done many times before, always just using a cordless or corded drill/driver), I was excited to get this screwdriver as it would assuredly save me countless time. I'm no novice to tools or DIY projects as I've got a whole slew of various tools I've accumulated over the years, but I took the time to carefully read the manual before trying to get started. Once I got all set up, I was careful to use steady force, kept tool at right angle to floor, etc. I was using the wood nosepiece and square drive bit to install 1.75" construction screws. Problem was I could only get about 1 out of 7 or 8 screws to fully set. Most would drive in less than an inch, so after a doing half-sheet of plywood, I had to spend another 10 minutes going back to finish driving all the protruding screws. After trying again on another sheet, I gave up and grabbed my cordless impact driver to use instead. I have to say when it did drive them, it was very fast. When I went to return it, I saw the bit was completely rounded off, but I had been careful to use it as instructed, so I can't help to think there's something inherently wrong with the design. Anyway, I returned the screwdriver and the bucket of screws (which I had to get mgr. approval to return since I'd used some). I was going to get a Senco gun, but my HD only had these. Maybe I'd been happy had I tried a Senco instead.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the quality I expected I have this exact tool made by Senco. The Rigid tool miss loaded more in one job than the Senco has in the 6 years I have owned it. The Senco also came with a nice hard case vs. the canvas bag the Rigid is sold with.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love mine. Ans so does my hubby. Its very sturdy and reliable. This product has never failed me it is an awesome product. It gives an A+ performance. I would recomend this to anyoe.
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever I'm a master craftsman, union laborer, firefighter, and I own a welding and fabrication shop. I've been using, building, and repairing tools, sometimes including collated screw guns, for more then 30 years. I read nothing but great reviews on this product, I have a personal relationship with Ridgid and I own just about every power tool they make, so buying this was a no brainer for me. I had to build a bay window on an all concrete structure, with no safety anchor points, 3 stories up. I knew I didn't want to be up there any longer then I had to, and that I wouldnt have any free hands, so buying this gun was my solution. I have such good luck with Ridgid stuff and this is built well, so I was actually excited to tackle this very difficult job. I found out the hard way. Many reviewers claim that you need two hands and great technique for this gun to work, and that's exactly it. On the ground, at a work bench, using two hands, I can get it to work quite well, although still no where near well enough to justify the screw expense and down time. But out of position, this tool is useless. I lost 2 hours of work on the first day, trying to get "the hang of it", and another hour clearing jams. That night I worked on it for an hour and got it down pat, only to spend another 2 hours clearing jams yesterday. Then, after a 12 hour day, I had to go home, get the box and receipt, and drive to Depot and return it all. If you're at a work bench or working comfortably right in front of you, then maybe this will work. I'm used to driving about 500 screws for every jam while using my deck gun... with this, I drove no more then 2 screws before it jammed religiously. If you think that you're gonna hold material with one hand and secure it using this in the other... NO WAY! The price and construction of the tool were great, but it cost me a lot of time and money in the long run.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from plastic gears Great design and very useful tool. I use it often and really like the tool BUT, it is delicate. There are gears that fail if one doesn't have a good technique. They don't necessarily wear out, yet one off shot and it is gone. This would be my third
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good and almost the best - only three drawbacks This tool is handy as the dickens for doing the ceiling drywall or furring strips for ceiling tile. I hung the top sheet of the wallboard by myself because it was so easy to use. I found only three drawbacks to it. These problems will happen at the worst times. (1) If you bump the cover on the grip will go against the screw strips and jamb the gun. (2) I could not find the replacement bits available in any store. (3) The belt clip is close to the base and very strong. This makes it hard to hook on a belt or pocket with one hand. These issues are big drawbacks when you are working alone or have a big job. Rigid should look at the stop for the strip cover and make the catch larger. Only one Phillips bit and two square bits are with the gun. Plan ahead and order extra bits as soon as you get the gun so you won't be held up waiting on parts to arrive. I finished my job without the cover on the grip, but be aware that will get you speared in the leg with the screws. This is a new Rigid product. The Bits will eventually come to the vendors. The stop for the cover should be corrected by Rigid but I will glue a small plastic tab on each side of the grip to stop the cover from going back annd jabbing the screws, I will also bend the base of the belt clip out to make it easer to hang one handed on a belt or pocket. I am still a Rigid Brand fan.
Date published: 2009-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good screw gun It worked well, drywalled a bedroom. Although the corners did not always go in all the way. I did drive the few with a impact driver using a Drywall screw setter. It did save time. On a side note, the second day, all screws would drive 1/2 way. I had to finish each with the impact driver. Thinking that night that I was going to return the unit, I realized I had the gun in reverse!! Hopefully, others will not make my mistake.
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product sucks!!!! I purchased this product several days ago. The Rigid product rep was in the store and sang it's praises. When I began to attempt to use it disappointment was all that I experienced. I tried to drive over 200 screws thinking I needed some experience to make it work. Never once was I able to drive a screw all the way in to a required depth for drywall. Occasionally it would drive the screw all the way through the drywall and countersink into the wood. Without making any adjustments the next screw would only be driven about 1/3 the way into the wood. I just couldn't make it work at all. Returned it to the store for a refund this morning.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Driver I used this to re-deck my deck. Amazing speed and accuracy, 20 screws in 20 seconds along the chalk lines. I agree with an earlier post about the plastic guard on the handle. I just took it off. If you hang the tool on your belt without the guard, the screws will poke at your leg. I just set it down on the deck when not using it but for overhead work you might want to hang it. The gun is lightweight and the locking trigger allows you to drive the 40 count nail strips without much effort, reducing trigger finger fatigue and repetitive shoulder strain. I used one square bit to drive over 1500 screws and it is still in good shape. I did not experience any jams or misfeeds. The only limit on this unit is the maximum 2" screw length but it's fine for 5/4 decking, drywall and a plethora of other projects.
Date published: 2009-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Best design but poor application I bought the gun on 3/11/2015 and decided to use it instead of my Senco unit since my wife was working on drywall at her mothers house. I have been changing all of my electric products over to Ridgid because of the LSA. Well this one is a mistake. Only about 7 screws out of the entire strip of screws sink in all the way, I was using the 2 inch screws and I adjusted the unit to that setting. With the Senco Unit I load it and use every screw on the unit its so easy to use I have my 8 year old doing it with drywall. This one I spent 36 hours strait with no rest installing drywall, I would use it to start the screw and then use my cordless impact Ridgid driver to run the screw in the inch that was left. I was so mad by the end of the day watching the poor performance I would have thrown it in the trash if I did not want to get my money back to get a second Senco Unit. The other problem with this was I could not get the slide to move smoothly until I oiled it, Yes oiled it, but it will still stick about 2 out of each strip of screws. I went through this procedure for almost an entire bucket of 2 inch senco screws this is not common with a Ridgid product. I should have been paid for the trouble that this caused. The belt clip is plastic an not very sturdy. Buyer beware of this product!!
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ridgid screw gun I bought this to hang sheetrock. After finally getting it adjusted right it would spit more screw out onto the floor then it would put in the rock. Screws would jam on the guide even though it was set to the right screw length. i would not reccomend this to anyone. I brought it back the next day and bought a different brand at another store and it works great
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worked for half a room This tool worked okay for about 5 sheets of drywall then stopped driving screws into the studs--would only drive screws through drywall but not studs. I also noted a smell of burnt plastic when I tried to use it after it stopped working. I ended up stripping the collated screws out of the plastic by hand and carefully driving them with a cordless drill to finish the job. This screw gun didn't even work for a weekend guy like me, so I can't even imagine it'd work for a general contractor--if you factor downtime into a tool's true cost like me, this is not the screw gun for you. You get what you pay for, I guess.
Date published: 2010-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works tirelessly I had a Senco battery powered collated screw gun for years and it did a great job but there were times when a battery powered gun just isn't enough. Now I'm putting in flooring and needed a bit more torque. This gun is light weight but sturdy and easy to thread. The cord is not in the way and works tirelessly putting down sheet after sheet.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of 100 bucks This gun doesnt work at all. Wouldnt recommend it to anyone. Dont believe any of the good reviews save your money and time
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool when working by yourself used to finish off basement ceiling. if you are using a lift and working alone a must have. Little cumbersome The feed system is not as good as I would have expected But there is nothing else in the price range that compares and it is a must have when working by yourself. Have to be directly behind it to work best. Leaning or hanging off ladder won't seat all the way.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unit I am a contractor ,I have used other drywall guns for years ,I needed a new one so I thought I would try one of these out for the same cost as a normal one. Hands down worth every penny.This unit cut my drywall hanging time in half,everyone on my crew who touched it fell in love with it instantly.
Date published: 2009-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool!! A few years ago I remodelled my home and installed all of the sheetrock using a drill with an adapter for sheetrock screws. Took forever, and just about killed my shoulders. I was about to install about 300' of new redwood fencing and was looking forward to the same agony when I spotted this tool. I had two friends come over to help me with this fencing project, and once we had the rails installed (1/2 day), we started on installing the boards. I was handling the screw gun and we had all of the boards up by the end of the day. As fast as my two friends could place the boards, I had the screws in and on we went with almost no effort. It was almost fun. This tool saved me at least a day, the fence is held together with screws instead of nails and no backache. I'm actually looking forward to replacing the siding on my garage. I might even let one of my friends operate the screw gun this time. This tool was worth every penny!! Went through almost 2,500 screws and the bit still looks brand new.
Date published: 2010-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT I have been looking for the best deal on the Senco IR0004 and here it is only with a different name. works great, even with longer screws. Tips do hold up well as advertised. It does more than sheetrock, but don't even try to toenail. Nice long cord too.
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool. Great tool, speeds up production. Easy too use. I've brought 5 of them so far. They make hanging drywall on ceiling easer.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent time saver once you get the hang of it... It took a bit to get used to since the last screw gun I owned operated a bit differently. Over all an excellent product!
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good addition to my tool box. Have used it and it works very well. Have reccommended it to several friends.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Its a dream come true. It took me 2 hours to reframe 3 of my windows, while took me 3 hours to reframe one window without this tool. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2009-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for the faint of heart I find this product very tricky. You will find that it sicks a lot. It waste more screws then it get into the dry wall. Their is a critical screw in the side of the gun that falls out all the time. I you loose it the gun it worthy. When working with dusty dry wall is hard to find in the mess. The gun is square so does not work at all in thigh places such as corners. When working over head does not want to sink screws below the surface of the dry wall. You will have to manual go back and finish almost every screw. When it get stuck only places the screw half away into drywall of not at all. Not pleased and would not recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool I bought this to screw down sub floors in my house while carpeting was being put in (hate squeaks). tested it on scrap beforehand to check screw depth, etc., and promptly ruined a bit in ways I won't go into (not the gun's fault). :-) I had extra bits, so after replacement and good tests, went about my business. I screwed in roughly 1000 screws in about 90 minutes, in field locations and on edges, and only had about 30 screws that didn't screw in all the way. Those were the result of angle and not enough pressure, but I was able to get them all in by taking the strip out and lining up the bit with the screw. I did manage to ruin another bit while trying to sink a particularly stubborn one toward the end. I used sqaure drive bit and grip rite plastic collated screws. two bits cost 12 dollars total, 800 pack of screws cost 47 dollars each, and gun was under 100. it couldn't have gone better. summary: test, buy extra bits, use good and even downward pressure while starting the drill before pressing the foot into material. you won't go wrong. for the
Date published: 2015-09-01
  • y_2017, m_4, d_30, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 223ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT