0648846054728

RIDGID

Model # R6791

Internet # 100646501

Store SKU # 739971

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

$99.98 /each
  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # R6791

Internet # 100646501

Store SKU # 739971

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator’s Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
16.14 in 
Product Height (in.) 
9.76 in 
Product Width (in.) 
3.85 in 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
6.5 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cord Length (ft.) 
Corded Tool Type 
Drill/Driver 
Cordless/ Corded 
Corded 
Depth Adjustment 
Yes 
Energy Type 
Corded Electric 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
3700 
Nail Gauge 
NA / Other 
Power Tool Features 
Bag Included 
Power Tool Product Type 
Corded 
Product Weight (lb.) 
5 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Reverse 
Yes 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed,ETL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Lifetime Service Agreement with registration within 90 days of purchase 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Cordless/ Corded: Corded
Brand: RIDGID
Power Tool Features: Bag Included
Price: $50 - $100
Review Rating: 3 & Up
Reconditioned: No
Search
12 Questions56 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
12 answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
bob
gaithersburg md.
December 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (12)

August 26, 2015
Answer: 
This thing is garbage, It could barely put a screw into 5/4 x6 pressure treated lumber and a 2x6 joist. My 1986 makita corded drill has more power. Buy a impact driver for decking screws way more power and faster.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
I would not use it, I would just use the Grip -Rite Torque Head screws they last longer and are a better screw for a deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question bob, Yes it's ideal for this application
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It's intended use is for drywall. However, for framing and decking, a lot depends on finding the screws needed. Decking are normally coated and for framing I find a Pneumatic Nailer is much faster and more effective.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
no- you would want to use the screwstrips on anything structural or exposed to weather- drywall and subfloor best uses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
I wouldn't suggest it, only due the types of screws I have seen available. Works excellent on subfloors and drywall though...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
It would work well for decks, but would not be suited for framing. It can be used for putting up plywood, OSB, and drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Mine had a strong enough motor to do it, however it simply broke down too early to really do much with it. Even when it worked, it didn't drive screws fully in--not because of a lack of power, but due to the inability to adjust the unit to do so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2013
Answer: 
I probably would only use it on the deck. The screw gun is hard to use at any other angle beside 90. It would be great for screwing the planks on the deck or anything else where you screw it in straight on.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
The model R6791 NOT the R6790 can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it supposedly can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the RIDGID R6791 can be used on wood with framing and decking.
Applications: Driving multiple screws into wood and drywall with screw¬driver bits.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
10 answers

what is the availability and cost of screws

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
DanG
July 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Home Depot had a good supply but the cost for 800 screws was $46.71for the pail. It might sound expensive but the time it saved it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
You can get the screws at Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards at any time. The cost is about the same each place, buy in bulk and talk to the managers they are usually willing to give a 10% discount on them if you are spending over a $100 in supplies on a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question DanG. cost will depend on size and manufacture. I pay around $20.00 for 1-11/2 3 1/2 go for about $40-$80
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
Ample supply of screws available in store and out.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Screws are readily available from Home Depot and Lowes. Use Senco products, they seem to work very well with the driver. Price is a little more than ordinary drywall screws, but not prohibitive to using same for large projects. Similar to cost of roofing nail coils.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously Read More
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously the more specilized screws may need to be ordered and cost more, but are avalible. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
hard to find the longer lengths- 3" will most likely be a special order- but up to 1.5" no problem
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
Depends on which home improvement store you go to, and the size and types of the screws... Home Depot prices range from about $18 p/1000 to I believe $28 p/1000
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Washington, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Most DIY stores carry collated screws. Not as much length varieties as regular boxes, but enough for most projects. A bucket of drywall screws (1000) usually goes for somewhere between 18-20 bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2013
Answer: 
This is something a Home Depot Associate can help you with.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
 
8 answers

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Pete
Paducah KY
February 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, but you need to send in a copy of the receipt along with the UPC to
Ridgid Power Tools
P. O. Box 1427
Anderson, SC 29622
Also you must register at Ridgid.com and create an account, this will give you a print out to place in the envelope to send in as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question pete. Yes, make sure you follow the LSA directions thoroughly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
If you register it properly with Ridgid It will
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it will. But you will have to follow the easy online steps to register the tool so Rigid will extend the warranty to lifetime.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
of course- but a $99- if you get a couple of year out of it- it will have paid for itself-
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
Only if it is registered.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 8, 2013
Answer: 
The RIDGID R6791 screw gun comes with the standard RIDGID three year warranty, and like all qualifying new RIDGID power tool purchases, it does qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement coverage.
0points
3out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful3
 
6 answers

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
big S
Oakdale NewYork
November 15, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Graet question Big S. About a $100.00
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Price varies. Figure $99.00 to $149.00. I got mine on sale for $89.00 through Hime Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
I bought mine at Home DePot, and it cost $100.00 dollars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Our unit was approximately $99 at our local Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
$99
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 16, 2012
Answer: 
This is a question the master distributor ,Home Depot, has to answer.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 »
  • 2016-05-24 T15:29:30.203-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 158ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 121 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Like a Champ Does just what it says it does. A little learning curve on how to use it, but nothing a novice can't conquer. January 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ridgid screw gun I bought this to hang sheetrock. After finally getting it adjusted right it would spit more screw out onto the floor then it would put in the rock. Screws would jam on the guide even though it was set to the right screw length. i would not reccomend this to anyone. I brought it back the next day and bought a different brand at another store and it works great March 5, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Tool for the Money I bought this screw gun to hang drywall in a 1300 square feet addition. The tool performed flawlessly. I drove about 3000 screws and never had a jam. I agree with other reviewers, the guard just gets in the way. I would definately recommend this to a friend. I would have given this tool 5 stars, but I have not used it for long screws where the guard would be handy. December 5, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent time saver once you get the hang of it... It took a bit to get used to since the last screw gun I owned operated a bit differently. Over all an excellent product! August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better then OK but needs work The gun seems to need a tighter track for advancing the screw tapes, or a sturdier shoot for the screws to chamber up into. I just got this thing and I like it pretty much especially for the price. It is a well built tool overall but after using the gun to deck about 1000 sq. ft. of sheeting, I never was able to get an entire screw strip to completely empty. I used 3' screws and I think a shorter drywall screw would be best for this too, And it could just be me, but with the cost of a box of 500 screws at $27.00 I got frustrated every time a screw did not line up just right, which caused a misfire. Sometimes the screw guide didn't fully reset itself and if you get a cadence going you would cause a misfire. With the added speed gained from not having to manually load a screw onto a screw gun it is worth the $100.00. But I have seen some drywall installers that could go much faster then this gun allows. All in all I am glad I bought this tool, it's just like any other specialty power tool. It takes time to develop the proper technique so maximum efficiency is obtained. It is a tool for people who want to drive screw more easily with less personal intervention, for that it's great. If you need to make a living doing production work, I think a high quality screw gun in the hands of a journeyman drywall expert is more cost effective and could be faster. For a slug like me, this gun made the job of setting the screws much easier. December 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't work for flooring Prior to making my purchase I checked the reviews and thought it was worth taking the chance. I was using Grip Rite square head screws for installing a new subfloor and could only rarely get the screws to properly engage and even more rarely to set into the floor properly. I checked out YouTube and other sites to review tips on proper usage (the manual that came with the tool was COMPLETELY USELESS). In the end, I could not get the tool to function properly with the screws that I had. It may be that a different brand of screws might work or using it for drywall might have a more favorable result. I purchased the screw gun to make my subflooring job go quicker. I ended up wasting more time trying to fine tune using the tool - all to no avail. Then I had a box of screws that I could not return because I had used so many in trial and (mainly) error attempts. So now I am wasting even more time removing the screws from the plastic strips and then using my drill to install. January 21, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Tool!! A few years ago I remodelled my home and installed all of the sheetrock using a drill with an adapter for sheetrock screws. Took forever, and just about killed my shoulders. I was about to install about 300' of new redwood fencing and was looking forward to the same agony when I spotted this tool. I had two friends come over to help me with this fencing project, and once we had the rails installed (1/2 day), we started on installing the boards. I was handling the screw gun and we had all of the boards up by the end of the day. As fast as my two friends could place the boards, I had the screws in and on we went with almost no effort. It was almost fun. This tool saved me at least a day, the fence is held together with screws instead of nails and no backache. I'm actually looking forward to replacing the siding on my garage. I might even let one of my friends operate the screw gun this time. This tool was worth every penny!! Went through almost 2,500 screws and the bit still looks brand new. October 27, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool. Great tool, speeds up production. Easy too use. I've brought 5 of them so far. They make hanging drywall on ceiling easer. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good addition to my tool box. Have used it and it works very well. Have reccommended it to several friends. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great unit I am a contractor ,I have used other drywall guns for years ,I needed a new one so I thought I would try one of these out for the same cost as a normal one. Hands down worth every penny.This unit cut my drywall hanging time in half,everyone on my crew who touched it fell in love with it instantly. November 6, 2009
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Barely usable This unit was purchased to install a half-inch plywood subfloor and was used with 1 1/4 inch collated screws. It had problems driving the screws fully into the plywood from the onset and the thumbwheel adjustment seemed to do little. We quickly set up two people to drive in screws, one to use the Ridgit screwgun, and the other to finish driving in the screws which generally needed help to be fully driven in. After 60-70 screws, the unit wouldn't even drive the screws in and after checking with the limited manual and looking at pictures, we replaced the driver bit which had already been chewed up by the ends of the philip's head scews. When it was replaced, the unit continued to erratically struggle with screws, partly installing some, but mostly just driving them in with a few turns and then stopping. Finally, three of us tried working and adjusting the screwgun, but to no avail. This unit was simply not going to work. It's durability is very questionable. Although our unit may have been defective, it seems odd that it should fail so quickly as did the driver bit that came with it. This was not a severe test of the product. Avoid it, that way you won't have to have a relative taking 1000 screws out of a plastic belt to drive with a normal drill gun with a philip's head attachment in order to get the job done. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT I have been looking for the best deal on the Senco IR0004 and here it is only with a different name. works great, even with longer screws. Tips do hold up well as advertised. It does more than sheetrock, but don't even try to toenail. Nice long cord too. July 21, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What a time saver! Based on some of the bad reviews I was not 100% sure I should rush out and buy this driver. My review will focus on my results while addressing the concerns others had. 1. the driver has plenty of power for my drywall application. 2. plastic saftey cover is combersome to use so just remove it if you like. 3. Belt clip.....well this drver weights in @ 5 lbs. and my paints cannot support that anyway. That answers 3 of 4 concerns I saw in bad reviews saving the best for last. 4. The driver MUST, MUST, MUST be held level. If you dont get it quite level you will burn through bits and the driver will not drive the screw home. For this reason I gave it a 4 of 5 as I wish there was a bit more room for allignment error. Even when you have to go back and fix some mistakes your still way ahead time wise. As you would expect the screws do cost a bit more but again time is money. I'm a novice drywaller and i'd put my sheet fastening speed with this driver up against any pro and a regular drywall gun. Hope this helps you out. 6 sheets down 44 to go! July 14, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for Hardi I'm a tile contractor and got this for hardi underlayment on residential jobs. Even with 2 guys dropping borders in front of me, they can't get ahead of me screwing down behind them. Excellent May 1, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works pretty well. be sure to keep pressure on the back of the gun. I used this gun to rescrew 3/4" OSB subfloor before laying down wood flooring. I used the Senco 1-3/4" screws. It works pretty well with the occasional misfire where the driver clutch disengages prematurely or too late. No problem, just come back with the normal electric drill and tighten those up. Many here are complaining that the drive depth is never right. I think these people are probably using the gun wrong. You HAVE to push on the back of the gun so that your pressure keeps up with the screw. The screw is turning super fast so you have to make sure that your pressure keeps up with it. Otherwise, the screw outpaces the gun and of course the bit pops off of the screw. To do some rough calcs with my screws, if the gun spins at 80% its unloaded speed while driving a screw, and assuming the screw doesn't slip in the wood at all, it would only take 0.26 seconds to drive a single screw. So yeah, keep pressure on the back of the gun. I also had some success driving at a slight angle for the subfloor seams where they meet a joist. I do have to go back and correct about half of these, though. Still, a time saver. Keep in mind my measure of success is given as a home do-it-yourselfer. I did have to exchange the first gun I got because the bits kept popping out of the gun (it uses a keyless chuck). The 2nd gun I got doesn't have this problem. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by makes everything easier best tool for dry or laying subfloor, just need to know how to use it right or just get the hang of it, like holdin 90 degrees to the your job right. November 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Its a dream come true. It took me 2 hours to reframe 3 of my windows, while took me 3 hours to reframe one window without this tool. Highly recommended. November 4, 2009
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Product I returned this screw gun because it is very low quality and does not work properly. November 29, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by real good this tool made dry walling the new addtion quicker and easyer October 11, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the I bought this tool for one major task involving installation of about 1700 sq ft of OSB flooring and 640 sq ft of sheetrock. I’m a home owner, not a professional. I almost returned it for a refund shortly after purchasing it. I’ve now driven several thousand screws using this tool -- 1.25 inch screws (phillips head) hanging sheetrock, 1.75 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB to ½ inch plywood subfloor and 2.5 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB through ½ inch plywood to floor joists. I did experience most of the problems noted by other reviewers (fast wear out of bits, incomplete driving, ejected screws, incorrect depth setting, accidentally reversing the direction of drive, etc.). The tool works very well on sheetrock. One can lock the trigger and drive screw after screw with normally uniform results. As stated in other reviews the dimensions of the tool keep it from working well in the corners. The tool requires much more careful attention when it is working harder (e.g., subflooring). If one locks the trigger and drives multiple screws in subflooring the tool will “eat up” bits (about $5 each). One would be lucky to drive 500 screws in this manner without a bit change. I found a technique that seemed to work well. I’d pull the trigger, push down on the tool and release the trigger while continuing the downward pressure. After a few screws, one learns how long to hold the trigger to keep the tool from spinning the bit in the screw head. This is, of course, more difficult than it should be and will eventually wear out the trigger switch. For both the sheetrock and subflooring I kept a cordless drill handy to finish driving the screws that the tool didn’t set deep enough (an irritating characteristic that affected about 1 in every 10 to 20 screws). Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the money, but I would caution a professional to consider spending more money to get a tool that is more reliable. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and almost the best - only three drawbacks This tool is handy as the dickens for doing the ceiling drywall or furring strips for ceiling tile. I hung the top sheet of the wallboard by myself because it was so easy to use. I found only three drawbacks to it. These problems will happen at the worst times. (1) If you bump the cover on the grip will go against the screw strips and jamb the gun. (2) I could not find the replacement bits available in any store. (3) The belt clip is close to the base and very strong. This makes it hard to hook on a belt or pocket with one hand. These issues are big drawbacks when you are working alone or have a big job. Rigid should look at the stop for the strip cover and make the catch larger. Only one Phillips bit and two square bits are with the gun. Plan ahead and order extra bits as soon as you get the gun so you won't be held up waiting on parts to arrive. I finished my job without the cover on the grip, but be aware that will get you speared in the leg with the screws. This is a new Rigid product. The Bits will eventually come to the vendors. The stop for the cover should be corrected by Rigid but I will glue a small plastic tab on each side of the grip to stop the cover from going back annd jabbing the screws, I will also bend the base of the belt clip out to make it easer to hang one handed on a belt or pocket. I am still a Rigid Brand fan. January 25, 2009
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worked great at first I purchased this screw gun primarily for hanging 5/8" OSB on the walls of my 30'x40' shop. I practiced first on a 2x4 where I had good control of my alignment of the gun to the wood. After seeing no problems, I went to work. At first it seemed to drive the screws just fine. However I discovered if you are not perfectly perpendicular to the work surface the screws will disengage from the bit and end up partially driven.....then I have to go back with my cordless and drive them the rest of the way in. Even with practice and careful placement, this problem seemed to get worse over time where 50% or more of the screws I attempted to drive had to be finished with my cordless drill/driver. After my first box of collated screws I have now also noticed that the spring loaded foot is not resetting completely and thus will not feed the next screw into place. I have to stop and pull the foot out until it clicks and then proceed. I feel the primary design of this tool is excellent and the build quality seems good. I like the long 12' cord. The adjustable countersink depth works well. If the screws fed properly, you could actually run screws in approximately every 5-7 seconds without letting off the trigger......that was what I hoped for. I'm hoping Home Depot will exchange this unit for one that works better. If so, I will repost and sing it's praises. Otherwise the primary advantage it offers over my DeWalt cordless drill is the ability to start a screw and drive it (sometimes partially) one handed. February 9, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I too read all these reviews First of all, I am a hobbyist and not a contractor. However I am very knowlegable about tools etc... This drill was my first Rigid purchase. I was replacing the entire 255' of fence around my home. I sat where you are now and read all the reviews about this tool and thought that my job was small and that this tool could easily handle the project, so I rolled the dice and purchased this drill. I had estimated to drive 6000 two inch screws into half inch cedar pickets on a 8' Fence on Fence stlye fence. At first the drill worked well, and after about every 500 screws I began to notice the drill was mis-driving a couple of screws. I changed the bit, and the problem continued to worsen. I read the trouble shooting guide and the only applicable fix was changing the bit. So by the time I had nearly finished the job around 5800 screws later, this drill was mis-drilling almost 90% of the screws. I estimated to re-drill at least 1000 screws that this drill stopped short on. Keep in mind, the drill was not dirty, nor was it overheating, it took me almost a month to replace the entire fence. I was extremely frustrated with this tool. Finally, I had 10' of fence left and this drill mis-drilled all 8 screws on one board. I took this tool back and returned it for a full refund. On the box, it says "Professional" NOT! I know that there is a small margin of error, but this drill far exceeds that. The screw guard must have been a last minute design very poorly designed. The case is made of nylon, and will not last especially with a contractor. I was very disappointed with this tool and regret purchasing it. Having to go back and re-drill all those screws was a sure sign this drill is not a professional tool. Unfortunately, this was my first Rigid purchase and probably my last. January 17, 2011
  • 2016-05-24 T13:50:37.407-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_121, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 80ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT