Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

13 Questions63 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
13 answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
bob
gaithersburg md.
December 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (13)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

August 26, 2015
Answer: 
This thing is garbage, It could barely put a screw into 5/4 x6 pressure treated lumber and a 2x6 joist. My 1986 makita corded drill has more power. Buy a impact driver for decking screws way more power and faster.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
I would not use it, I would just use the Grip -Rite Torque Head screws they last longer and are a better screw for a deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question bob, Yes it's ideal for this application
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It's intended use is for drywall. However, for framing and decking, a lot depends on finding the screws needed. Decking are normally coated and for framing I find a Pneumatic Nailer is much faster and more effective.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
no- you would want to use the screwstrips on anything structural or exposed to weather- drywall and subfloor best uses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
I wouldn't suggest it, only due the types of screws I have seen available. Works excellent on subfloors and drywall though...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
It would work well for decks, but would not be suited for framing. It can be used for putting up plywood, OSB, and drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Mine had a strong enough motor to do it, however it simply broke down too early to really do much with it. Even when it worked, it didn't drive screws fully in--not because of a lack of power, but due to the inability to adjust the unit to do so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2013
Answer: 
I probably would only use it on the deck. The screw gun is hard to use at any other angle beside 90. It would be great for screwing the planks on the deck or anything else where you screw it in straight on.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
The model R6791 NOT the R6790 can accept a 3" screw
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it supposedly can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the RIDGID R6791 can be used on wood with framing and decking.
Applications: Driving multiple screws into wood and drywall with screw¬driver bits.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
10 answers

what is the availability and cost of screws

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
DanG
July 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Home Depot had a good supply but the cost for 800 screws was $46.71for the pail. It might sound expensive but the time it saved it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
You can get the screws at Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards at any time. The cost is about the same each place, buy in bulk and talk to the managers they are usually willing to give a 10% discount on them if you are spending over a $100 in supplies on a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question DanG. cost will depend on size and manufacture. I pay around $20.00 for 1-11/2 3 1/2 go for about $40-$80
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
Ample supply of screws available in store and out.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Screws are readily available from Home Depot and Lowes. Use Senco products, they seem to work very well with the driver. Price is a little more than ordinary drywall screws, but not prohibitive to using same for large projects. Similar to cost of roofing nail coils.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously Read More
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously the more specilized screws may need to be ordered and cost more, but are avalible. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
hard to find the longer lengths- 3" will most likely be a special order- but up to 1.5" no problem
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
Depends on which home improvement store you go to, and the size and types of the screws... Home Depot prices range from about $18 p/1000 to I believe $28 p/1000
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Washington, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Most DIY stores carry collated screws. Not as much length varieties as regular boxes, but enough for most projects. A bucket of drywall screws (1000) usually goes for somewhere between 18-20 bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2013
Answer: 
This is something a Home Depot Associate can help you with.
-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
 
8 answers

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Pete
Paducah KY
February 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, but you need to send in a copy of the receipt along with the UPC to
Ridgid Power Tools
P. O. Box 1427
Anderson, SC 29622
Also you must register at Ridgid.com and create an account, this will give you a print out to place in the envelope to send in as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question pete. Yes, make sure you follow the LSA directions thoroughly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
If you register it properly with Ridgid It will
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it will. But you will have to follow the easy online steps to register the tool so Rigid will extend the warranty to lifetime.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
of course- but a $99- if you get a couple of year out of it- it will have paid for itself-
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
Only if it is registered.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 8, 2013
Answer: 
The RIDGID R6791 screw gun comes with the standard RIDGID three year warranty, and like all qualifying new RIDGID power tool purchases, it does qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement coverage.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
 
6 answers

how is it for picket fences?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Riverside, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 8, 2014
Pickets to horizontals
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Works good mostly on straight flat surface, underlayment and flat rack work, building a fence. If the work is on saw horses. My 2x2 uprights it worked, but my decking it was more effort than it was worth. Ended up using my impact driver.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Sandy Springs, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 8, 2015
Answer: 
I've used mine with cedar pickets and with pressure-treated pine pickets. The driver works great, but I wish I had opted for the battery version. Some fences require a LOT of extension cord!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
It worked great on the cedar fence, don't know why it wouldn't work on your picket...it will save you time in installation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
That's a great question IWMac. This works well for that application
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
New Castle, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The Ridged screw machine would not work for me on anything. I returned it and bought a Makita screw gun that wors great. Each machine only shoots a specific size range of screws. The shortest screw range mine will shoot is 2 3/4" up to 3 1/2".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
There is no usage information regarding the R6791 being used specifically on picket fences to advise of. However, if specific picket fence construction in question is done with 1” to 3” screws being driven into wood, it possibly could be used in that application.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:24:11.786-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 161ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.0 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ridgid screw gun I bought this to hang sheetrock. After finally getting it adjusted right it would spit more screw out onto the floor then it would put in the rock. Screws would jam on the guide even though it was set to the right screw length. i would not reccomend this to anyone. I brought it back the next day and bought a different brand at another store and it works great March 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great - nice time saver It works well and my projects, a real time saver. The store had several different sizes of screws available also and different types. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works tirelessly I had a Senco battery powered collated screw gun for years and it did a great job but there were times when a battery powered gun just isn't enough. Now I'm putting in flooring and needed a bit more torque. This gun is light weight but sturdy and easy to thread. The cord is not in the way and works tirelessly putting down sheet after sheet. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A real labor saver Bought this to lay down 12 plywood sheets. I don't know why other people had problems, I drove close to 2000 screws with only a few screws not driving. Closer inspection of the screws leads me to believe it was the screw manufacturer. I ran Senco #8 x 1-3/4 square heads. February 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not for Commercial Use Unfortunately this particular screw gun cannot stand up to any commercial job! This is a fine gun for DIY. Also, twice we were given returned product, which we did not appreciate! April 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Piece of junk Returned after second time trying to get it to work. Would not feed screws. Jamed 4 out of five screws. Had to take it appart to figure out problem. Cost me a lot of down time on job. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saves a huge amount of time I wish I would have bought this years ago. This screw gun paid for itself on the first job. It took a little getting use too, but after that it's amazing. April 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This is why I don't buy Rigid tools This tool only drives about 1 out of 4-5 screws into the wood. The square bit burned up on the 1st 10 screws I tried, thought maybe I just got a bad bit so I tried a new bit, same exact thing happened. Please don't waste you're time or money on this garbage. January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Tool for the Money I bought this screw gun to hang drywall in a 1300 square feet addition. The tool performed flawlessly. I drove about 3000 screws and never had a jam. I agree with other reviewers, the guard just gets in the way. I would definately recommend this to a friend. I would have given this tool 5 stars, but I have not used it for long screws where the guard would be handy. December 5, 2009
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by senco is much better I returned this item because the bit kept falling out. I went to lowes and bought the senco model. Was about $30 more but the bit stayed in and seemed to be a better product. February 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No screw tips at store Don't bother buying one. They don't have any replacement tips for the gun.... April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great gun I bought a Ridgid screw gun that was used and was impressed with it. It was stolen from me so i bought a new one. It does a great job. February 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Tool!! A few years ago I remodelled my home and installed all of the sheetrock using a drill with an adapter for sheetrock screws. Took forever, and just about killed my shoulders. I was about to install about 300' of new redwood fencing and was looking forward to the same agony when I spotted this tool. I had two friends come over to help me with this fencing project, and once we had the rails installed (1/2 day), we started on installing the boards. I was handling the screw gun and we had all of the boards up by the end of the day. As fast as my two friends could place the boards, I had the screws in and on we went with almost no effort. It was almost fun. This tool saved me at least a day, the fence is held together with screws instead of nails and no backache. I'm actually looking forward to replacing the siding on my garage. I might even let one of my friends operate the screw gun this time. This tool was worth every penny!! Went through almost 2,500 screws and the bit still looks brand new. October 27, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy o use Great poduct. No issues with it yet. i would definately recommend this product February 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't work for flooring Prior to making my purchase I checked the reviews and thought it was worth taking the chance. I was using Grip Rite square head screws for installing a new subfloor and could only rarely get the screws to properly engage and even more rarely to set into the floor properly. I checked out YouTube and other sites to review tips on proper usage (the manual that came with the tool was COMPLETELY USELESS). In the end, I could not get the tool to function properly with the screws that I had. It may be that a different brand of screws might work or using it for drywall might have a more favorable result. I purchased the screw gun to make my subflooring job go quicker. I ended up wasting more time trying to fine tune using the tool - all to no avail. Then I had a box of screws that I could not return because I had used so many in trial and (mainly) error attempts. So now I am wasting even more time removing the screws from the plastic strips and then using my drill to install. January 21, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use! Exactly what we needed for a small decking project. Very reasonably priced! March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Gun, Definitely Has A Learning Curve Let me start by saying that this is NOT a good gun for weekend warrior / homeowner DIY'ers that want to hang a few pieces of drywall with as little hassle as possible. If that is what you are looking for, then just stick with a regular corded or cordless drill and drywall bits. This gun will not just magically sink every screw perfectly, it requires you to shoot at least a hundred screws to get the technique down, and it will require you to put your weight behind it to get screws to sink. I am a homeowner, and I bought this to finish my garage with 18 panels of 4'x12' 5/8" type X. I read the reviews on here, as well as on some online forum discussions about using auto-feed guns, so I was ready to accept that it would be difficult at first. I shot maybe 30 screws to get the depth set where I wanted it, and it took around 200 screws to get the feel for the technique. What is this technique? Well, as far as I can tell you need to do these things: 1) Push HARD on the gun or the bit will just jump out of the head and start stripping itself. Get your weight behind it and either use 2 hands or have your body against the butt of the gun. It's the only way you are getting consistent sinks, at least in 40+ year old fir framing like I have. I have some fresh framing too and screws went in a little easier, but still required some grunt. 2) Your drywall piece needs to be firmly against the framing before shooting a screw. Get a helper or find a way to push the panel against the framing you are about to screw into. If you don't, the head will just go right through the paper. Screws will pop through the face paper if there is more than a 1/16" gap between the drywall and framing. 3) Keep the gun perpendicular to the drywall. It can shoot screws diagonally, but it won't sink them and you'll need to go touch those up later. You might as well use a drill for those since you will be hitting them with one later. 4) This thing is not good for inside corners. This is actually the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It doesn't fit well into corners, and it tears up the paper on the adjacent drywall panel if you do use it for the edge at an inside corner. So there you have it. I completely understand why some people gave this thing bad reviews. If you buy it expecting it to make you hang drywall like a pro, it does nothing of the sort. In fact, unless you are willing to spend an hour or two getting acquainted with it, you should just use a drill and drywall bit. Once you do get the hang of it, you can shoot screws ridiculously fast and it speeds up the job a lot. By the end, I had a good 90% of the screws going in properly with this thing, which is pretty good considering how much variation in density my house's old framing has. I have done various drywall projects in my and relatives houses for years, and always used a regular drill with a drywall bit. This screw gun was a good purchase and really sped up my garage finishing job, even accounting for the time I had to spend getting the feel for it. Helping my friend do her 20x30' garage in a month or so will go much faster with this product. Hopefully others will find my experience helpful. It was frustrating at first, but I knew that the problem was more with me than the gun so I kept at it and it paid off. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Like a Champ Does just what it says it does. A little learning curve on how to use it, but nothing a novice can't conquer. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent time saver once you get the hang of it... It took a bit to get used to since the last screw gun I owned operated a bit differently. Over all an excellent product! August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great unit I am a contractor ,I have used other drywall guns for years ,I needed a new one so I thought I would try one of these out for the same cost as a normal one. Hands down worth every penny.This unit cut my drywall hanging time in half,everyone on my crew who touched it fell in love with it instantly. November 6, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT I have been looking for the best deal on the Senco IR0004 and here it is only with a different name. works great, even with longer screws. Tips do hold up well as advertised. It does more than sheetrock, but don't even try to toenail. Nice long cord too. July 21, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What a time saver! Based on some of the bad reviews I was not 100% sure I should rush out and buy this driver. My review will focus on my results while addressing the concerns others had. 1. the driver has plenty of power for my drywall application. 2. plastic saftey cover is combersome to use so just remove it if you like. 3. Belt clip.....well this drver weights in @ 5 lbs. and my paints cannot support that anyway. That answers 3 of 4 concerns I saw in bad reviews saving the best for last. 4. The driver MUST, MUST, MUST be held level. If you dont get it quite level you will burn through bits and the driver will not drive the screw home. For this reason I gave it a 4 of 5 as I wish there was a bit more room for allignment error. Even when you have to go back and fix some mistakes your still way ahead time wise. As you would expect the screws do cost a bit more but again time is money. I'm a novice drywaller and i'd put my sheet fastening speed with this driver up against any pro and a regular drywall gun. Hope this helps you out. 6 sheets down 44 to go! July 14, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better then OK but needs work The gun seems to need a tighter track for advancing the screw tapes, or a sturdier shoot for the screws to chamber up into. I just got this thing and I like it pretty much especially for the price. It is a well built tool overall but after using the gun to deck about 1000 sq. ft. of sheeting, I never was able to get an entire screw strip to completely empty. I used 3' screws and I think a shorter drywall screw would be best for this too, And it could just be me, but with the cost of a box of 500 screws at $27.00 I got frustrated every time a screw did not line up just right, which caused a misfire. Sometimes the screw guide didn't fully reset itself and if you get a cadence going you would cause a misfire. With the added speed gained from not having to manually load a screw onto a screw gun it is worth the $100.00. But I have seen some drywall installers that could go much faster then this gun allows. All in all I am glad I bought this tool, it's just like any other specialty power tool. It takes time to develop the proper technique so maximum efficiency is obtained. It is a tool for people who want to drive screw more easily with less personal intervention, for that it's great. If you need to make a living doing production work, I think a high quality screw gun in the hands of a journeyman drywall expert is more cost effective and could be faster. For a slug like me, this gun made the job of setting the screws much easier. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool. Great tool, speeds up production. Easy too use. I've brought 5 of them so far. They make hanging drywall on ceiling easer. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good addition to my tool box. Have used it and it works very well. Have reccommended it to several friends. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for Hardi I'm a tile contractor and got this for hardi underlayment on residential jobs. Even with 2 guys dropping borders in front of me, they can't get ahead of me screwing down behind them. Excellent May 1, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Barely usable This unit was purchased to install a half-inch plywood subfloor and was used with 1 1/4 inch collated screws. It had problems driving the screws fully into the plywood from the onset and the thumbwheel adjustment seemed to do little. We quickly set up two people to drive in screws, one to use the Ridgit screwgun, and the other to finish driving in the screws which generally needed help to be fully driven in. After 60-70 screws, the unit wouldn't even drive the screws in and after checking with the limited manual and looking at pictures, we replaced the driver bit which had already been chewed up by the ends of the philip's head scews. When it was replaced, the unit continued to erratically struggle with screws, partly installing some, but mostly just driving them in with a few turns and then stopping. Finally, three of us tried working and adjusting the screwgun, but to no avail. This unit was simply not going to work. It's durability is very questionable. Although our unit may have been defective, it seems odd that it should fail so quickly as did the driver bit that came with it. This was not a severe test of the product. Avoid it, that way you won't have to have a relative taking 1000 screws out of a plastic belt to drive with a normal drill gun with a philip's head attachment in order to get the job done. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by makes everything easier best tool for dry or laying subfloor, just need to know how to use it right or just get the hang of it, like holdin 90 degrees to the your job right. November 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Its a dream come true. It took me 2 hours to reframe 3 of my windows, while took me 3 hours to reframe one window without this tool. Highly recommended. November 4, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works pretty well. be sure to keep pressure on the back of the gun. I used this gun to rescrew 3/4" OSB subfloor before laying down wood flooring. I used the Senco 1-3/4" screws. It works pretty well with the occasional misfire where the driver clutch disengages prematurely or too late. No problem, just come back with the normal electric drill and tighten those up. Many here are complaining that the drive depth is never right. I think these people are probably using the gun wrong. You HAVE to push on the back of the gun so that your pressure keeps up with the screw. The screw is turning super fast so you have to make sure that your pressure keeps up with it. Otherwise, the screw outpaces the gun and of course the bit pops off of the screw. To do some rough calcs with my screws, if the gun spins at 80% its unloaded speed while driving a screw, and assuming the screw doesn't slip in the wood at all, it would only take 0.26 seconds to drive a single screw. So yeah, keep pressure on the back of the gun. I also had some success driving at a slight angle for the subfloor seams where they meet a joist. I do have to go back and correct about half of these, though. Still, a time saver. Keep in mind my measure of success is given as a home do-it-yourselfer. I did have to exchange the first gun I got because the bits kept popping out of the gun (it uses a keyless chuck). The 2nd gun I got doesn't have this problem. May 22, 2013
  • 2016-10-30 T22:22:21.423-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_134, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 148ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT