Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$9998 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
Answered by: JustMe
Date published: 2017-05-16

what is the availability and cost of screws

Asked by: Anonymous
There is a very limited size and composition available. I need coated exterior screws - the only size offered is 2 1/2" which is too long for my purpose. Its too bad because tool is a tremendous time-saver. What was a 4 hour job took about 45 minutes. But I can only use it on a few jobs since I can't find the sizes and screw heads and coatings I need.
Answered by: spydo
Date published: 2017-02-03

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

Asked by: Anonymous
YES!!!! Make sure you register it online with Rigid.
Answered by: Richmann
Date published: 2016-11-22

how much is the ridgid r6790 collated screw gun

Asked by: Anonymous
$99.00 and the collated screws start at $18 a bucket for 800
Answered by: Tony
Date published: 2017-03-08
  • y_2017, m_5, d_22, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 85ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 163.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool I bought this to screw down sub floors in my house while carpeting was being put in (hate squeaks). tested it on scrap beforehand to check screw depth, etc., and promptly ruined a bit in ways I won't go into (not the gun's fault). :-) I had extra bits, so after replacement and good tests, went about my business. I screwed in roughly 1000 screws in about 90 minutes, in field locations and on edges, and only had about 30 screws that didn't screw in all the way. Those were the result of angle and not enough pressure, but I was able to get them all in by taking the strip out and lining up the bit with the screw. I did manage to ruin another bit while trying to sink a particularly stubborn one toward the end. I used sqaure drive bit and grip rite plastic collated screws. two bits cost 12 dollars total, 800 pack of screws cost 47 dollars each, and gun was under 100. it couldn't have gone better. summary: test, buy extra bits, use good and even downward pressure while starting the drill before pressing the foot into material. you won't go wrong. for the
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bought a used tool that should have been new. Bought this from HD and it had already been used and returned I tried for 45 min to get it to feed screws properly to no avail. will return along with the screws and go back to using my drywall screw gun.
Date published: 2015-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Should Have Paid Attention to the Negative Comments I should have paid more attention to earlier reviews of this tool. Difficult to load the bit. Easy to load the collated screws. Impossible to achieve consistent screw depths. Bought the drill on Monday and used it for the first time today. The instruction manual was not very well organized and provided almost no information regarding operation so I watched the video on the Ridgid home page. Don't know what tool they were using but it wasn't the one in the box I brought home. Used it for about 600 3.0" screws on a subfloor project. Stripped a bit head about 250 screws into the project. Less than half the screws were drilled properly. Had to properly set the others with my Craftsman drill with a #2 square bit. Needless to say, it's back in the box ready to return to Home Depot tomorrow.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked great at first I purchased this screw gun primarily for hanging 5/8" OSB on the walls of my 30'x40' shop. I practiced first on a 2x4 where I had good control of my alignment of the gun to the wood. After seeing no problems, I went to work. At first it seemed to drive the screws just fine. However I discovered if you are not perfectly perpendicular to the work surface the screws will disengage from the bit and end up partially driven.....then I have to go back with my cordless and drive them the rest of the way in. Even with practice and careful placement, this problem seemed to get worse over time where 50% or more of the screws I attempted to drive had to be finished with my cordless drill/driver. After my first box of collated screws I have now also noticed that the spring loaded foot is not resetting completely and thus will not feed the next screw into place. I have to stop and pull the foot out until it clicks and then proceed. I feel the primary design of this tool is excellent and the build quality seems good. I like the long 12' cord. The adjustable countersink depth works well. If the screws fed properly, you could actually run screws in approximately every 5-7 seconds without letting off the trigger......that was what I hoped for. I'm hoping Home Depot will exchange this unit for one that works better. If so, I will repost and sing it's praises. Otherwise the primary advantage it offers over my DeWalt cordless drill is the ability to start a screw and drive it (sometimes partially) one handed.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Faster than loose screwing Doesn't sink perfectly every time but faster than loose screwing.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let go get the Deck done, this will make things go faster This made the deck go very fast, best the hammer and nails.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than expected After 2 days spent screwing down subflooring with a power drill, I ordered the Rigid AC Collated Screw Gun. The price was right so I didn't think I was out too much if it didn't work much better. But it surpassed all my expectations. It cut down my labor by two thirds. The only downside was having to load the screws and that was nothing. While I have only used it a couple of times since I got it, it has never jammed and has saved me endless hours bending over to screw in the flooring. I look forward to doing the rest of the house. The money was well spent and worth every penny.
Date published: 2009-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No screw tips at store Don't bother buying one. They don't have any replacement tips for the gun....
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever I'm a master craftsman, union laborer, firefighter, and I own a welding and fabrication shop. I've been using, building, and repairing tools, sometimes including collated screw guns, for more then 30 years. I read nothing but great reviews on this product, I have a personal relationship with Ridgid and I own just about every power tool they make, so buying this was a no brainer for me. I had to build a bay window on an all concrete structure, with no safety anchor points, 3 stories up. I knew I didn't want to be up there any longer then I had to, and that I wouldnt have any free hands, so buying this gun was my solution. I have such good luck with Ridgid stuff and this is built well, so I was actually excited to tackle this very difficult job. I found out the hard way. Many reviewers claim that you need two hands and great technique for this gun to work, and that's exactly it. On the ground, at a work bench, using two hands, I can get it to work quite well, although still no where near well enough to justify the screw expense and down time. But out of position, this tool is useless. I lost 2 hours of work on the first day, trying to get "the hang of it", and another hour clearing jams. That night I worked on it for an hour and got it down pat, only to spend another 2 hours clearing jams yesterday. Then, after a 12 hour day, I had to go home, get the box and receipt, and drive to Depot and return it all. If you're at a work bench or working comfortably right in front of you, then maybe this will work. I'm used to driving about 500 screws for every jam while using my deck gun... with this, I drove no more then 2 screws before it jammed religiously. If you think that you're gonna hold material with one hand and secure it using this in the other... NO WAY! The price and construction of the tool were great, but it cost me a lot of time and money in the long run.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Ridgid tool I have bought I am very disappointed with the quality of this tool. I have several Ridgid general purpose power tools and have been satisfied with all of them. This tool however is a big disappointment. The driver bit will not stay engaged in the socket and will not drive the deck screws at all. I will not give up on Ridgid because of this tool but I will be very careful about buying any specialty tool from Ridgid in the future.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool when working by yourself used to finish off basement ceiling. if you are using a lift and working alone a must have. Little cumbersome The feed system is not as good as I would have expected But there is nothing else in the price range that compares and it is a must have when working by yourself. Have to be directly behind it to work best. Leaning or hanging off ladder won't seat all the way.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Waste of Time for Decking Do not bother with this for decking. Owned less then 24 hours before taking it and the bucket of screws back for a refund. Impossible to get a proper counter sink. Ejects screws for no reason. Over spins and strips screw holes. It's junk. I should have listened to the reviews and not even bothered. I'll stick to screwing deck boards manually one by one.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Performance Bought this screwdriver to tighten up a squeaky floor. I've done other rooms with a normal VSR drill and was really looking forward to save some back pain this time around. The gun just failed at an OSB subfloor using the HomeDepot-suplied GripRite 1-3/4" square head subfloor screws. It would work for about 20 screws in a row and then only drive in screws half way. Stripped the two included square head bits in under 150 screws. Of course there was some user error the first strip of screws since this was the first time using this gun. After getting the hang of it the gun worked beautifully for a short time then failed due to bit stripping. Even though the screws were labeled as Ridgid compatible, I'm not sure if they really were, or the subfloor was too tough for the screws. Product is getting returned. I have other Ridgid tools and they work great.
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AN ABSOLUTE WASTE! This is such a poor tool that I would like to refuse to even give it a ranking. I bought it to use in rebuilding my deck and it will not drive 3" deck screws through a piece of kiln dried pressure treated fir decking EVEN AFTER DRILLING A 7/64 PILOT HOLE! The tool itself is easily maintained level with the wood guide tip. But the feed mechanism is so sloppy that the bit doesn't hit the screws square and the bit is quickly rounded off! In contrast, my simple little 3/8 drill with the square bit sinks the screws halfway into the decking! DO NOT FOR ANY REASON EXPECT THIS TOOL TO WORK FOR YOU!!!! BEAT THEM IN WITH A ROCK INSTEAD!!!!!! PLUS...when I took the tool back for a refund they told me I had to have a cash receipt because I paid cash for the gun. There is no dealer in our area who sells these other than Home Depot. What LOUSY customer service!!
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable According to the troubleshooting guide the slide assembly on the screwgun needs replacing after driving slightly less than 1000 2" screws into a fence. (Cedar on Pressure Treated Wood), when it works it's great but it keeps jamming up and occasionally the spring fails to release the guide back and it has to pushed manually etc. etc. .... basically not reliable enough in my opinion. It's going back... a friend has the bigger model 1 to 3" screws, I'll give that a try... because when it works it's a real time saver.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good product I have done several sub-flooring jobs with this driver already and works very well. Just want to mention a couple of things when using. The reverse button is easy to engage when you are driving, so beware you might accidently engage it. Very few misfires but mostly my fault when they occur due to me engaging holding loosely with rapid repitition (say 1 in a hundred). Have corrected all by going back with no screws in the gun. Wish it was taller but hey those products cost more....Also make sure you engage it perpindicular to the floor though I have placed some on an angle successfully. Saves me time just wish the gun could hold more screws and also the front shield for the screws should be sturdier plastic or steel though you could toss it and the driver would still work well without it.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money This screw gun spits out screws and doesn't try to drive them into the drywall. I got about 1 screw in for every 20 that was wasted. It is easier to use a regular screw gun than this tool. I spent more time trying to get it to work right than I did using it to put screws in drywall.
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Screw driver First one did not work the next one works . Now the best but works . Would be real nice if it had a long handle to stand up for floors
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I too read all these reviews First of all, I am a hobbyist and not a contractor. However I am very knowlegable about tools etc... This drill was my first Rigid purchase. I was replacing the entire 255' of fence around my home. I sat where you are now and read all the reviews about this tool and thought that my job was small and that this tool could easily handle the project, so I rolled the dice and purchased this drill. I had estimated to drive 6000 two inch screws into half inch cedar pickets on a 8' Fence on Fence stlye fence. At first the drill worked well, and after about every 500 screws I began to notice the drill was mis-driving a couple of screws. I changed the bit, and the problem continued to worsen. I read the trouble shooting guide and the only applicable fix was changing the bit. So by the time I had nearly finished the job around 5800 screws later, this drill was mis-drilling almost 90% of the screws. I estimated to re-drill at least 1000 screws that this drill stopped short on. Keep in mind, the drill was not dirty, nor was it overheating, it took me almost a month to replace the entire fence. I was extremely frustrated with this tool. Finally, I had 10' of fence left and this drill mis-drilled all 8 screws on one board. I took this tool back and returned it for a full refund. On the box, it says "Professional" NOT! I know that there is a small margin of error, but this drill far exceeds that. The screw guard must have been a last minute design very poorly designed. The case is made of nylon, and will not last especially with a contractor. I was very disappointed with this tool and regret purchasing it. Having to go back and re-drill all those screws was a sure sign this drill is not a professional tool. Unfortunately, this was my first Rigid purchase and probably my last.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for the money For the price this tool is a big time saver. It does take a little while to get the feel of it. If you hesitate at all when starting a new screw it can cause problems so you have to be "assertive". Occasionally if you hesitate you will end up with a screw that is in the loaded position that then prohibits the tool from loading the next screw. If you carry a pair of needle nose pliers it is fairly easy to just pull the misfired screw out of the plastic strip. No matter how good of an automatic feed they make you are going to end up with screws that do not drive all the way in because they deflect due to the grain of the wood. This happens with nail guns as well. I have a brushless cordless impact driver that is small enough and lite enough to fit in a belt bag that works great for finishing off any defective or incompletely driven screws. The impact driver is handy for tight corners where there is little exposed stud to hit and scews have to be precisely driven in at an angle. Even if all this tool did was to start most of the screws where you then went back and finished them off it would be faster than reaching for a screw with your hand. Which brings up how easy it is to load a new strip. Loading a new strip takes about as much time as it would take to go grab a handful of screws to put in your bag. It is fairly easy to carry a couple extra strips of screws. One other thing is the corded aspect. Cordless might be nice if you can afford it but it would be heavier and you would have to have extra batteries ready to go. If you were driving long deck screws you would probably run out of juice in a cordless tool pretty fast. For drywall the cord was not really a problem but you do need to have a secure connection to an extension cord of some sort. One other thing. I have driven many screws with a couple different brands of screw guns that are not auto feed and they both can make a lot of racket when you reach your depth limit and they spin out. I don't know how they did it but this tool is much quieter when it reaches the point where the screw is driven all the way in - some sort of clutch or something. Anyway the screech of a normal gun spinning out can get old in a hurry.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT for the beginner I know how to work a drill, and I know how to put in a screw squarely. I read the reviews. I had the same problem as the others that couldn't get the screw flush. I went through 150 screws and 75% never made it to the wood or didn't countersink even though I had the countersink adjustment full. The 25% that made it looked good, but I've read and heard that you need to learn how to use a screw gun and I would agree. I don't have the time nor the confidence to practice. I KNOW what perpendicular is and I tried within reason short of bringing out a protractor. NO, if this gun works for some it's because they've done it before. If you're new to this gadget, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS GUN. I'm returning it ASAP. I can't return the collated screws so I'm out that money.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tool for the Money I bought this screw gun to hang drywall in a 1300 square feet addition. The tool performed flawlessly. I drove about 3000 screws and never had a jam. I agree with other reviewers, the guard just gets in the way. I would definately recommend this to a friend. I would have given this tool 5 stars, but I have not used it for long screws where the guard would be handy.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Undependable performance I bought this product, read the instructions and set it up. It would eject 10 screws for every one it drove. I went through the minimal instructions over and over and just could not get this tool to work properly. I was attaching 1/2" sheathing onto 1 x 12" flooring. I used 1 3/4" #8 screws. Then I switched to a different brand of screw (2" #8) and re-set the tool for 2" screws. All of a sudden, it worked perfectly. I got one room done then started on another. In the middle of one strip of screws, the tool would not drive screws. They would eject, only penetrate marginally, and sometimes just spin until the screw would create so much friction it would smoke. I tried everything. I changed to a new bit, changed the settings, switched back to the former screw and I never got it to work properly again. I have no idea what the problem can be. When the screws do not eject, they just spin without much penetration or do not get deep enough to get the head flush even after moving the adjustment wheel. I am returning the tool ASAP. I can do it one-at-a -time faster.
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy o use Great poduct. No issues with it yet. i would definately recommend this product
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems with screws I have had this gun for about 2 weeks and am going to exchange it as all of the reviews here sound positive. About 25% of the screws I put in are left proud have to be gone back over with another screw gun to sink them properly. Also the gun I have is absolutely worthless when it comes to any corner or panel edge. Even with the problems it is still a time saver and when it does work properly you really can screw in an entire panel in less than 30 seconds. Maybe I will have better luck with a replacement
Date published: 2009-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better then OK but needs work The gun seems to need a tighter track for advancing the screw tapes, or a sturdier shoot for the screws to chamber up into. I just got this thing and I like it pretty much especially for the price. It is a well built tool overall but after using the gun to deck about 1000 sq. ft. of sheeting, I never was able to get an entire screw strip to completely empty. I used 3' screws and I think a shorter drywall screw would be best for this too, And it could just be me, but with the cost of a box of 500 screws at $27.00 I got frustrated every time a screw did not line up just right, which caused a misfire. Sometimes the screw guide didn't fully reset itself and if you get a cadence going you would cause a misfire. With the added speed gained from not having to manually load a screw onto a screw gun it is worth the $100.00. But I have seen some drywall installers that could go much faster then this gun allows. All in all I am glad I bought this tool, it's just like any other specialty power tool. It takes time to develop the proper technique so maximum efficiency is obtained. It is a tool for people who want to drive screw more easily with less personal intervention, for that it's great. If you need to make a living doing production work, I think a high quality screw gun in the hands of a journeyman drywall expert is more cost effective and could be faster. For a slug like me, this gun made the job of setting the screws much easier.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes everything easier best tool for dry or laying subfloor, just need to know how to use it right or just get the hang of it, like holdin 90 degrees to the your job right.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from real good this tool made dry walling the new addtion quicker and easyer
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well. be sure to keep pressure on the back of the gun. I used this gun to rescrew 3/4" OSB subfloor before laying down wood flooring. I used the Senco 1-3/4" screws. It works pretty well with the occasional misfire where the driver clutch disengages prematurely or too late. No problem, just come back with the normal electric drill and tighten those up. Many here are complaining that the drive depth is never right. I think these people are probably using the gun wrong. You HAVE to push on the back of the gun so that your pressure keeps up with the screw. The screw is turning super fast so you have to make sure that your pressure keeps up with it. Otherwise, the screw outpaces the gun and of course the bit pops off of the screw. To do some rough calcs with my screws, if the gun spins at 80% its unloaded speed while driving a screw, and assuming the screw doesn't slip in the wood at all, it would only take 0.26 seconds to drive a single screw. So yeah, keep pressure on the back of the gun. I also had some success driving at a slight angle for the subfloor seams where they meet a joist. I do have to go back and correct about half of these, though. Still, a time saver. Keep in mind my measure of success is given as a home do-it-yourselfer. I did have to exchange the first gun I got because the bits kept popping out of the gun (it uses a keyless chuck). The 2nd gun I got doesn't have this problem.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the I bought this tool for one major task involving installation of about 1700 sq ft of OSB flooring and 640 sq ft of sheetrock. I’m a home owner, not a professional. I almost returned it for a refund shortly after purchasing it. I’ve now driven several thousand screws using this tool -- 1.25 inch screws (phillips head) hanging sheetrock, 1.75 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB to ½ inch plywood subfloor and 2.5 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB through ½ inch plywood to floor joists. I did experience most of the problems noted by other reviewers (fast wear out of bits, incomplete driving, ejected screws, incorrect depth setting, accidentally reversing the direction of drive, etc.). The tool works very well on sheetrock. One can lock the trigger and drive screw after screw with normally uniform results. As stated in other reviews the dimensions of the tool keep it from working well in the corners. The tool requires much more careful attention when it is working harder (e.g., subflooring). If one locks the trigger and drives multiple screws in subflooring the tool will “eat up” bits (about $5 each). One would be lucky to drive 500 screws in this manner without a bit change. I found a technique that seemed to work well. I’d pull the trigger, push down on the tool and release the trigger while continuing the downward pressure. After a few screws, one learns how long to hold the trigger to keep the tool from spinning the bit in the screw head. This is, of course, more difficult than it should be and will eventually wear out the trigger switch. For both the sheetrock and subflooring I kept a cordless drill handy to finish driving the screws that the tool didn’t set deep enough (an irritating characteristic that affected about 1 in every 10 to 20 screws). Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the money, but I would caution a professional to consider spending more money to get a tool that is more reliable.
Date published: 2013-06-24
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 260ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT