Model # R6791

Internet #100646501

Store SKU #739971

RIDGID 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
0648846054728

RIDGID

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

  • Micro-texture for secure grip and maximum user comfort
  • Reversible belt clip for left or right handed users
  • Compact and lightweight design for ease of use
$99.98 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID 1/4 in. AC Collated Screw Gun features a powerful motor that provides 3,700 RPM for sinking screws up to 3 in. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. Includes: R6791 Collated Screwdriver with Drywall Nosepiece, Wood nosepiece, Philips Bit, Square Bit, Hex Key, Nosepads (2), Contractor Bag and Operator's Manual. See below for more details.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful 6.5-Amp motor - provides 3,700 RPMs to drive up 1 in. - 3 in. screws
  • Lightweight design offers greater ergonomics for extended use
  • Hex Grip micro texture enhanced
  • Tool-free nose piece - easily and quickly change between 1 in. - 3 in. fastener sizes
  • Oversized depth adjustment wheel - for easily countersinking screws at desired setting
  • Single finger trigger with lock-on button - allows for single or rapid driving applications
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

13 Questions63 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
13 answers

can you use it for framing and deck?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
bob
gaithersburg md.
December 9, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (13)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Not for framing, won't sink a screw over 2", can start but won't finish. I ended up using a impact driver to finish sinking screws for a deck frame. Wouldn't work very well on pressure treated either. I also did drywall, wastes screws, doesn't work in corners, and is bulky for a ceiling to hold straight up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

August 26, 2015
Answer: 
This thing is garbage, It could barely put a screw into 5/4 x6 pressure treated lumber and a 2x6 joist. My 1986 makita corded drill has more power. Buy a impact driver for decking screws way more power and faster.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
I would not use it, I would just use the Grip -Rite Torque Head screws they last longer and are a better screw for a deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question bob, Yes it's ideal for this application
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
It's intended use is for drywall. However, for framing and decking, a lot depends on finding the screws needed. Decking are normally coated and for framing I find a Pneumatic Nailer is much faster and more effective.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
no- you would want to use the screwstrips on anything structural or exposed to weather- drywall and subfloor best uses
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
I wouldn't suggest it, only due the types of screws I have seen available. Works excellent on subfloors and drywall though...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
It would work well for decks, but would not be suited for framing. It can be used for putting up plywood, OSB, and drywall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Monroe, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Mine had a strong enough motor to do it, however it simply broke down too early to really do much with it. Even when it worked, it didn't drive screws fully in--not because of a lack of power, but due to the inability to adjust the unit to do so.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 7, 2013
Answer: 
I probably would only use it on the deck. The screw gun is hard to use at any other angle beside 90. It would be great for screwing the planks on the deck or anything else where you screw it in straight on.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
The model R6791 NOT the R6790 can accept a 3" screw
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it supposedly can accept a 3" screw
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2012
Answer: 
Yes, the RIDGID R6791 can be used on wood with framing and decking.
Applications: Driving multiple screws into wood and drywall with screw¬driver bits.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
10 answers

what is the availability and cost of screws

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
DanG
July 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Home Depot had a good supply but the cost for 800 screws was $46.71for the pail. It might sound expensive but the time it saved it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
You can get the screws at Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards at any time. The cost is about the same each place, buy in bulk and talk to the managers they are usually willing to give a 10% discount on them if you are spending over a $100 in supplies on a big project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question DanG. cost will depend on size and manufacture. I pay around $20.00 for 1-11/2 3 1/2 go for about $40-$80
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
Ample supply of screws available in store and out.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Screws are readily available from Home Depot and Lowes. Use Senco products, they seem to work very well with the driver. Price is a little more than ordinary drywall screws, but not prohibitive to using same for large projects. Similar to cost of roofing nail coils.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously Read More
Most screw types are avalible including stainless steel and painted ones for AC2 treated lumber. Cost of screws is only slightly higher the traditional a box. In my area a traditional 5lbs box of 1-5/8" #6 drywall screws is around $13. The equivelent in the collated screws is around $16. In my opinion well worth the few extra bucks for the speed and ease of use the collated screw gun offers. Obviously the more specilized screws may need to be ordered and cost more, but are avalible. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
hard to find the longer lengths- 3" will most likely be a special order- but up to 1.5" no problem
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Westmont, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
Depends on which home improvement store you go to, and the size and types of the screws... Home Depot prices range from about $18 p/1000 to I believe $28 p/1000
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Fort Washington, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 21, 2013
Answer: 
Most DIY stores carry collated screws. Not as much length varieties as regular boxes, but enough for most projects. A bucket of drywall screws (1000) usually goes for somewhere between 18-20 bucks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2013
Answer: 
This is something a Home Depot Associate can help you with.
-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
 
8 answers

Will this product have the RIDGID LIFETIME WARRANTY?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Pete
Paducah KY
February 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Camden, OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, but you need to send in a copy of the receipt along with the UPC to
Ridgid Power Tools
P. O. Box 1427
Anderson, SC 29622
Also you must register at Ridgid.com and create an account, this will give you a print out to place in the envelope to send in as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
Great question pete. Yes, make sure you follow the LSA directions thoroughly.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 3, 2014
Answer: 
If you register it properly with Ridgid It will
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Rochester, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it will. But you will have to follow the easy online steps to register the tool so Rigid will extend the warranty to lifetime.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
nashville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 9, 2013
Answer: 
of course- but a $99- if you get a couple of year out of it- it will have paid for itself-
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2013
Answer: 
Only if it is registered.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 8, 2013
Answer: 
The RIDGID R6791 screw gun comes with the standard RIDGID three year warranty, and like all qualifying new RIDGID power tool purchases, it does qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement coverage.
+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
 
6 answers

how is it for picket fences?

This question is from 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver
Asked by
Riverside, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 8, 2014
Pickets to horizontals
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 31, 2016
Answer: 
Works good mostly on straight flat surface, underlayment and flat rack work, building a fence. If the work is on saw horses. My 2x2 uprights it worked, but my decking it was more effort than it was worth. Ended up using my impact driver.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Sandy Springs, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 8, 2015
Answer: 
I've used mine with cedar pickets and with pressure-treated pine pickets. The driver works great, but I wish I had opted for the battery version. Some fences require a LOT of extension cord!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lafayette, Louisiana
Read all my Q&A
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
It worked great on the cedar fence, don't know why it wouldn't work on your picket...it will save you time in installation
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Benson AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 12, 2014
Answer: 
That's a great question IWMac. This works well for that application
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
New Castle, IN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The Ridged screw machine would not work for me on anything. I returned it and bought a Makita screw gun that wors great. Each machine only shoots a specific size range of screws. The shortest screw range mine will shoot is 2 3/4" up to 3 1/2".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
There is no usage information regarding the R6791 being used specifically on picket fences to advise of. However, if specific picket fence construction in question is done with 1” to 3” screws being driven into wood, it possibly could be used in that application.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:24:11.786-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100646501, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 91ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 143.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT for the beginner I know how to work a drill, and I know how to put in a screw squarely. I read the reviews. I had the same problem as the others that couldn't get the screw flush. I went through 150 screws and 75% never made it to the wood or didn't countersink even though I had the countersink adjustment full. The 25% that made it looked good, but I've read and heard that you need to learn how to use a screw gun and I would agree. I don't have the time nor the confidence to practice. I KNOW what perpendicular is and I tried within reason short of bringing out a protractor. NO, if this gun works for some it's because they've done it before. If you're new to this gadget, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS GUN. I'm returning it ASAP. I can't return the collated screws so I'm out that money.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy o use Great poduct. No issues with it yet. i would definately recommend this product
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tool for the Money I bought this screw gun to hang drywall in a 1300 square feet addition. The tool performed flawlessly. I drove about 3000 screws and never had a jam. I agree with other reviewers, the guard just gets in the way. I would definately recommend this to a friend. I would have given this tool 5 stars, but I have not used it for long screws where the guard would be handy.
Date published: 2009-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Undependable performance I bought this product, read the instructions and set it up. It would eject 10 screws for every one it drove. I went through the minimal instructions over and over and just could not get this tool to work properly. I was attaching 1/2" sheathing onto 1 x 12" flooring. I used 1 3/4" #8 screws. Then I switched to a different brand of screw (2" #8) and re-set the tool for 2" screws. All of a sudden, it worked perfectly. I got one room done then started on another. In the middle of one strip of screws, the tool would not drive screws. They would eject, only penetrate marginally, and sometimes just spin until the screw would create so much friction it would smoke. I tried everything. I changed to a new bit, changed the settings, switched back to the former screw and I never got it to work properly again. I have no idea what the problem can be. When the screws do not eject, they just spin without much penetration or do not get deep enough to get the head flush even after moving the adjustment wheel. I am returning the tool ASAP. I can do it one-at-a -time faster.
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes everything easier best tool for dry or laying subfloor, just need to know how to use it right or just get the hang of it, like holdin 90 degrees to the your job right.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better then OK but needs work The gun seems to need a tighter track for advancing the screw tapes, or a sturdier shoot for the screws to chamber up into. I just got this thing and I like it pretty much especially for the price. It is a well built tool overall but after using the gun to deck about 1000 sq. ft. of sheeting, I never was able to get an entire screw strip to completely empty. I used 3' screws and I think a shorter drywall screw would be best for this too, And it could just be me, but with the cost of a box of 500 screws at $27.00 I got frustrated every time a screw did not line up just right, which caused a misfire. Sometimes the screw guide didn't fully reset itself and if you get a cadence going you would cause a misfire. With the added speed gained from not having to manually load a screw onto a screw gun it is worth the $100.00. But I have seen some drywall installers that could go much faster then this gun allows. All in all I am glad I bought this tool, it's just like any other specialty power tool. It takes time to develop the proper technique so maximum efficiency is obtained. It is a tool for people who want to drive screw more easily with less personal intervention, for that it's great. If you need to make a living doing production work, I think a high quality screw gun in the hands of a journeyman drywall expert is more cost effective and could be faster. For a slug like me, this gun made the job of setting the screws much easier.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well. be sure to keep pressure on the back of the gun. I used this gun to rescrew 3/4" OSB subfloor before laying down wood flooring. I used the Senco 1-3/4" screws. It works pretty well with the occasional misfire where the driver clutch disengages prematurely or too late. No problem, just come back with the normal electric drill and tighten those up. Many here are complaining that the drive depth is never right. I think these people are probably using the gun wrong. You HAVE to push on the back of the gun so that your pressure keeps up with the screw. The screw is turning super fast so you have to make sure that your pressure keeps up with it. Otherwise, the screw outpaces the gun and of course the bit pops off of the screw. To do some rough calcs with my screws, if the gun spins at 80% its unloaded speed while driving a screw, and assuming the screw doesn't slip in the wood at all, it would only take 0.26 seconds to drive a single screw. So yeah, keep pressure on the back of the gun. I also had some success driving at a slight angle for the subfloor seams where they meet a joist. I do have to go back and correct about half of these, though. Still, a time saver. Keep in mind my measure of success is given as a home do-it-yourselfer. I did have to exchange the first gun I got because the bits kept popping out of the gun (it uses a keyless chuck). The 2nd gun I got doesn't have this problem.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from real good this tool made dry walling the new addtion quicker and easyer
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Husband loves this and uses it daily. Great gift and would recommend
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the I bought this tool for one major task involving installation of about 1700 sq ft of OSB flooring and 640 sq ft of sheetrock. I’m a home owner, not a professional. I almost returned it for a refund shortly after purchasing it. I’ve now driven several thousand screws using this tool -- 1.25 inch screws (phillips head) hanging sheetrock, 1.75 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB to ½ inch plywood subfloor and 2.5 inch screws (square drive) attaching ¾ inch OSB through ½ inch plywood to floor joists. I did experience most of the problems noted by other reviewers (fast wear out of bits, incomplete driving, ejected screws, incorrect depth setting, accidentally reversing the direction of drive, etc.). The tool works very well on sheetrock. One can lock the trigger and drive screw after screw with normally uniform results. As stated in other reviews the dimensions of the tool keep it from working well in the corners. The tool requires much more careful attention when it is working harder (e.g., subflooring). If one locks the trigger and drives multiple screws in subflooring the tool will “eat up” bits (about $5 each). One would be lucky to drive 500 screws in this manner without a bit change. I found a technique that seemed to work well. I’d pull the trigger, push down on the tool and release the trigger while continuing the downward pressure. After a few screws, one learns how long to hold the trigger to keep the tool from spinning the bit in the screw head. This is, of course, more difficult than it should be and will eventually wear out the trigger switch. For both the sheetrock and subflooring I kept a cordless drill handy to finish driving the screws that the tool didn’t set deep enough (an irritating characteristic that affected about 1 in every 10 to 20 screws). Overall, using the tool is much better than driving the screws individually with a cordless driver. For me it was worth the money, but I would caution a professional to consider spending more money to get a tool that is more reliable.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work sad to say this one is a stinker. put any pressure on the tip and the coil will not advance or it will over advance. and that was only the start of problems with this item.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It did what they said it would do! I can't imagine installing 400 + feet of cedar fencing without this tool. The tool worked great, just keep it straight and you won't have any problems. You won't out work the tool. The screwdriver did what Ridgid said it would do, that's why 95 percent of the tools I own are Ridgid. Thanks for steering me to this tool.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from collated screwdriver I purchased this product to speed up the process of installing 4x8 sheets of homasote to a ceiling in my barn. After using the tool for a short period I found it very helpful. It works well if you pull the trigger first then push straight in. Yes I would recommend this to a friend.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Collated Screw Gun for the price Need to speed up hanging 40 sheets of 5/8" drywall and didn't want to spend a fortune on a screw collated gun. Also plan on some day building a deck out back and this gun will use up to 3" deck screws
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed to install subfloor. I am pleased with the screw gun. Make sure you tighten the length of screw adjustment with the wrench provided. I only hand tightened and had a few misfired screws.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems with screws I have had this gun for about 2 weeks and am going to exchange it as all of the reviews here sound positive. About 25% of the screws I put in are left proud have to be gone back over with another screw gun to sink them properly. Also the gun I have is absolutely worthless when it comes to any corner or panel edge. Even with the problems it is still a time saver and when it does work properly you really can screw in an entire panel in less than 30 seconds. Maybe I will have better luck with a replacement
Date published: 2009-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product was terrible Bought this product a week ago to do a major job on a subfloor, I didn't want to do all the screws manually. However, this equipment was terrible. It jammed every 12 screws or less and I tried several times to get it to work correctly but gave up and started driving the screws manually. I got done quicker that way. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I returned the product to the store and got my money back. I was very disappointed with this product
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product is well made This products is very well made and easy to use. It makes lots of around the house jobs easier!!
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great design great product easy to load and use with belt clip for easy and fast access
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is why I don't buy Rigid tools This tool only drives about 1 out of 4-5 screws into the wood. The square bit burned up on the 1st 10 screws I tried, thought maybe I just got a bad bit so I tried a new bit, same exact thing happened. Please don't waste you're time or money on this garbage.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1st Review I gave this a one but I would recommend it. This gun fully drives screws about %50 of the time. The percentage goes way down if you are not 100% to the surface. On flat surfaces it is a guess where the screw will end up sitting. I recommended this gun because I usually work alone. It gave me the ability to fire several screws into drywall with one hand....but none of these screws sat where they should. If you have the funds to buy a better gun do it. If the options are this or nothing and you work alone, chose this.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Product I returned this screw gun because it is very low quality and does not work properly.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Barely usable This unit was purchased to install a half-inch plywood subfloor and was used with 1 1/4 inch collated screws. It had problems driving the screws fully into the plywood from the onset and the thumbwheel adjustment seemed to do little. We quickly set up two people to drive in screws, one to use the Ridgit screwgun, and the other to finish driving in the screws which generally needed help to be fully driven in. After 60-70 screws, the unit wouldn't even drive the screws in and after checking with the limited manual and looking at pictures, we replaced the driver bit which had already been chewed up by the ends of the philip's head scews. When it was replaced, the unit continued to erratically struggle with screws, partly installing some, but mostly just driving them in with a few turns and then stopping. Finally, three of us tried working and adjusting the screwgun, but to no avail. This unit was simply not going to work. It's durability is very questionable. Although our unit may have been defective, it seems odd that it should fail so quickly as did the driver bit that came with it. This was not a severe test of the product. Avoid it, that way you won't have to have a relative taking 1000 screws out of a plastic belt to drive with a normal drill gun with a philip's head attachment in order to get the job done.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst 100 ever spent cheap yes good no this tool is only good to fasten to new 2 by stock if the wood is old all the screws fall to the floor and don't go in at all I can see using it to fasten plywood in new construction but not good for repairs. a multi speed selection would make this tool a lot better
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked well for a while The worked well for 1 1/2 pails of screws but then kept trying to put the screws in at an angle which didn't work. Was only able to hang half of the drywall using this screw gun. Returned as defective.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for flooring Prior to making my purchase I checked the reviews and thought it was worth taking the chance. I was using Grip Rite square head screws for installing a new subfloor and could only rarely get the screws to properly engage and even more rarely to set into the floor properly. I checked out YouTube and other sites to review tips on proper usage (the manual that came with the tool was COMPLETELY USELESS). In the end, I could not get the tool to function properly with the screws that I had. It may be that a different brand of screws might work or using it for drywall might have a more favorable result. I purchased the screw gun to make my subflooring job go quicker. I ended up wasting more time trying to fine tune using the tool - all to no avail. Then I had a box of screws that I could not return because I had used so many in trial and (mainly) error attempts. So now I am wasting even more time removing the screws from the plastic strips and then using my drill to install.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Screwed Works well after it is broke in Have to be a little aggressive when using it to function properly
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made the job a lot easer best purchase 3 in. Drywall and Deck Collated Screwdriver did exactly what I expected and more.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Experienced problems. Operator error?? I had trouble with this screw gun. I had trouble with the screws lining up with the bit... and after using it to drive only about 20-30 screws, the driving bit got stripped. While I have purchased a new bit, I have not used it since. This may be partly operator error-- but I decided it was just about as easy to used my DeWalt screwdriver (two-hand operation).
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't second guess this purchase! Awesome tool! Wow! Got this puppy today, hung 140 picket section in about an hour! Awesome tool such a time saver. My dad who helped me was amazed by how fast the pickets went. He guessed it saved us at least 2-3 hours. We put 6 screws in each board and still flew through it! Thanks for the help pappy. Don't let your wife talk you out of it :) it's awesome!
Date published: 2014-06-01
  • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_143
  • loc_, sid_100646501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT