Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$617.50 /each
$649.00 /box
Name 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Corded Planer 6-3/4 in. Corded Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Heavy-Duty 2-Speed Thickness Planer with Knives and Tables
Brand RIDGID DEWALT Makita DEWALT
Ratings (135) (36) (5) (103)
Amperage (amps) 6 15 10.9 15
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
Asked by: Jeff
This machine is NOT a jointer/planer, it is a JOINTER and that is all it is!
Answered by: garriv777
Date published: 2017-03-15

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
Asked by: bob
Answer is on page 7 of instruction manual. It is 12 amp on 110v, and 6 amp on 220v. Only Ridgid could explain why they ship it wired for 110v, but list amps for 220v. I was also very leery of a 6 amp jointer.
Answered by: mikey67
Date published: 2017-03-09

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
Asked by: JustAnt
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-02-24

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
Answered by: scott
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_64
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 135.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased Very impressed with the quietness if this jointer. Would have been nice if they offered a mobile system. I bought casters with locking wheels that gave me the flexibility to move around in the shop. The knob on the fence for adjusting the fence angle is totally in the way which The Ridgid engineers must have been asleep with that location. I've decided to remove the knob until needed. Overall happy.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this tool to be exactly what I was looking for. The right size, the right price, and of ... I found this tool to be exactly what I was looking for. The right size, the right price, and of excellent quality. It was a heavy package but following the instructions it went together smoothly. The quality of the wood surface after jointing was great. I did mount it to a mobile base so that I can move it out for use and then store it away when done. The adjustments are easy and precise.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have had this jointer for only a few weeks now, but it has fulfilled all my expectations and th... I have had this jointer for only a few weeks now, but it has fulfilled all my expectations and then some. It was easy to assemble right out of the box in an hour or so. Ridgid came through with the Lifetime Service Agreement paperwork in about 2-3 weeks,relieving me of a major worry that they would find a loophole and try to deny coverage. The machine was just about spot on right out of the box. It took very little effort to get the adjustments fine tuned so it does its' job very well. Only drawback I see is the shavings did have a tendency to hang up in the machine under the cutting head. A 4" to 2.25" reducer for my shop vacuum system took care of the problem. I would have given it 5 stars but I just haven't done enough work with the machine and it still has to prove itself over the long run. I also put it on a small platform with wheels to make it more portable in the limited space I have in my shop.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't had a chance to use much yet but seems... Haven't had a chance to use much yet but seems effective as is. Need to test tables for coplanar and check blades but haven't had a chance yet. Even with that, it seems to cut very well, is fairly quiet and with the added casters and wood base, it's very mobile now.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice piece to add to work shop Was easy to assemble however very heavy to lift.really needs wheels to move around added them myself .works very well and dust vent is great hooked up to my shop vac.very quiet running which is nice so far very pleased. Looking forward to alot of good times
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The setup requires 2 or more people capable of lifting heavy weights. The unit must be set uprigh... The setup requires 2 or more people capable of lifting heavy weights. The unit must be set upright and weighs 230 lbs. I put casters on vice the fixed feet so I can move it out of the way when not in use. Does a very good job when using it as a jointer.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Jointer Well built. In/out feed tables were flat and coplanar. Fence is not perfectly flat but useable. Packaged well and good instructions. Height is too low for comfortable use but not a major issue. Seems to have plenty of power.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine for the money !! I have nothing but high marks for this jointer. This jointer is compatible with the much higher priced grizzlies but at a fraction of the price. The only improvement needed is if it came with a wheeled based.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rigid jointer works great The instructions were pretty good, all bolts and nuts well marked and provided. Once assembled the tool worked better than expected. No need for a lot of calibrating or tweaking to get everything square.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only used a few times but as for now jointer operates perfectly. Set up was easy and settings on ... Only used a few times but as for now jointer operates perfectly. Set up was easy and settings on blades and tables were spot on. I was able to put together myself but should have help as unit is heavy.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, and the price was right. Had... Easy to assemble, and the price was right. Had to make a small adjustment to the height if the outfeed table, otherwise the setup was spot-on right out if the box.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The only problem if at all would be that when planning the chips can't exit the shoot fast enough. Which leads to them blowing back at the operator.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make tables from old barn wood and I am very happy with the performance of this machine.I insta... I make tables from old barn wood and I am very happy with the performance of this machine.I installed a set of locking casters for portability.
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This jointer is priced extremely low compared to others. Good power and a larger working surface ... This jointer is priced extremely low compared to others. Good power and a larger working surface than other, more expensive, units.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow instructions carefully. DO NOT Tighten bolts until all panels put together. Good machine. ... Follow instructions carefully. DO NOT Tighten bolts until all panels put together. Good machine. Seems very solid
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vey happy so far with this jointer and with ridgids warranty I'm sure I'll have no problems down ... Vey happy so far with this jointer and with ridgids warranty I'm sure I'll have no problems down the road.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Assembly instructions pretty clear, jointer worked great on some mahogany... Assembly instructions pretty clear, jointer worked great on some mahogany I tried. Very nice machine.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, as others has stated, dust chute clogs... Easy to assemble, as others has stated, dust chute clogs up. Add casters for better portability.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for small shop Assembly followed the instructions. The jointer was perfectly aligned out of the box.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rigid jointer It was all I expected. Well pleased with purchase. Easy to purchase thru Home Depot.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to set up Heavy and well built. so far it has done a good job for me. easy to set up Heavy and well built. so far it has done a good job for me.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very easy to assemble but may take a little work to fine tune. very easy to assemble but may take a little work to fine tune.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built and easy to assemble. Works great! Well built and easy to assemble. Works great!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I feel this jointer will do the job and more... I feel this jointer will do the job and more
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy for two to assemble. Works great . ... Easy for two to assemble. Works great .
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good & heavy don't move when use. good & heavy don't move when use.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from While I've just recently received the machine, I'm happy with its overall performance so far, wit... While I've just recently received the machine, I'm happy with its overall performance so far, with cut quality as one would expect in this price range (pretty good, not perfect). Setup was a little obnoxious as a few of the bolts/nuts were extremely hard for a large person such as myself to reach, let alone tighten. Once otherwise assembled, the adjustment screws (e.g., setting the fence to 90 degrees) are course threaded and therefore require EXTREMELY small rotations to make small adjustments. Sometimes it felt as though the head of the screw is not flat/perpendicular, so a small rotation to move the screw out (for instance), exposed a lower portion of the screw head, thereby getting a net inward motion of the assembly. Therefore there was a fair amount of trial and error required. The plastic fence angle setup guides provided might be accurate, but you sure wouldn't know it to look at them. Leveling the machine (four adjustment screws on the bottom of the stand) was a pain. The screws don't thread into the frame (rather uses a pair of nuts; one above, one below the foot flange). You cannot, therefore calculate an adjustment and make it. Again, very hit-and-miss adjustment is required [they need to weld one of the nuts to each frame foot, then provide a means for rotating the adjustment bolt]. The in/out feed tables were well aligned (parallel planes) as received, which was a blessing given the difficulties of making other adjustments. The input table offset indicator was about 1/32" off, but is easy to fix. I don't have a dust collection system. The machine only spits out about half its detritus without one, so I am often reaching up through the exit chute to pull out the excess. Unplug it first! I've not used it enough yet to rate blade life or ease of changing the blades.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Jointer It took me about 3 hours to assemble. Had a problem with one screw. It was set up well and I didn't need to make any adjustments. It makes super clean cuts and runs much quieter than I expected. The table is true and flat. Adjustments are easy to make. This jointer is a great addition to my shop. I did put mine on casters so I can move it around. About the only opportunity for improvement is that the shavings get clogged in the dust port sometimes.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 Hours of Research Led To This Purchase I tend to over research everything I buy and this purchase was no different. Here were my key observations post-purchase. 1. You can tell Ridgid listened to customer feedback and improved the machine. Early reviews mentioned a flimsy infeed table adjustment wheel, which on my unit, was solid as a rock. 2. Some comments questioned why this unit is marketed as a planer and jointer. The instructions clearly state the logic and are quick to point out that you can plane wood on this machine, but that does not assure that both sides are parallel. You'd need a surface planer to accomplish that. 3. Ease of assembly - I put this together in less than an hour. The instructions were close to perfect. I opted to install the drive belt assembly BEFORE installing the rear cover because I found it easier to get my hands inside to make adjustments. 4. Noise - This unit is far quieter than I had imagined. I've not used jointers for years, and so I was very surprised at how quiet this unit is. Of course the level of noise I am referring to is just the sound of the machine and not the sound of wood passing through the machine :) All in all, I am thrilled with this product so far and I am looking forward to years of use.
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jointer/Planer I spent several weeks reviewing and researching the best and most economical jointer for the home woodworker, and found the RIDGID 6 amp jointer sold by HomeDepot. I am very pleased on my recent purchased. The in-feed and out-feed table are great in length and provide adequate support for jointing lumber. The assembly setup was simple and easy. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars for this size model compared to smaller models priced for 2 or 3 hundred bucks and don't measure up quality wise. The jointer does works best with a suction system and should be placed in a permanent location since it is a little heavy.
Date published: 2014-02-26
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_135
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT