0648846050447

RIDGID

Model JP0610

Internet #202269174

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

$599.00 /each
  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

49 Questions116 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Provo, Utah
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2014
This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fort Smith, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
This unit performs it's tasks as a jointer and a planer. You might be looking for a "thickness planer" where the tool removes wood from a board to make the board a consistent thickness. A thickness planer is usually used after a traditional jointer has made one side of the board flat, letting a thickness planer make the opposite side flat and parallel.
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2

Asked by
Puget Sound, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
Answer: 
You run boards broad side down on the table to smooth, flatten, and remove bow and twist. That's the planer function. You then turn the board on its edge and pass it over the knives to finish the jointing surface at 90 degrees. Then, if you have a separate machine called a "thickness planer", you run the board through to make the opposite side smooth and parallel to the first side.
+14points
16out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful2

Asked by
Central, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
The planer functions on one side of the wood (board) and then flip the board to plane the opposite side. Also it can only plane the width of the planer blades, so it is not made for wide stock.
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a Read More
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a table saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no planer on its own. The jointer removes wood so you could use it as a thickness planer. I would not, It does have an accurate gauge telling how much material your taking off of the piece. All jointers are called Jointer/Planers because of this.
-9points
0out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful9

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at Read More
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at either jointing or planning.
A thickness planner where the piece is fed between rollers will not improve the straightness of the board. As you point out a thickness planner is designed to change the thickness of the work piece. If thickness is my issue I always use my thickness planner (with a 14 inch width capacity). If straightness is my issue I use the jointer/planner when possible. Read Less
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
The JP0610 jointer/planer is basically an edge jointer as you suggest. However, it can be used to reduce the thickness of narrow stock via multiple passes over the cutter head in a planning type application. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Department at 866-539-1710.
Thank you
RIDGID
-4points
4out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful8
 
6 answers

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dolfan
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Rochester, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2015
Answer: 
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I bought a set 61/8 Freud knives from Amazon for this jointer. I bought them based on other reviews that the knives which come with the jointer are not that good. I have not installed them because the knives I received with the jointer work great for now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 10, 2013
Answer: 
I found replacement blades at several online sources, and my local woodworking supplier can sharpen them for me at a reasonable price.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Statesville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
Some users have found blades made by Freud to replace the OEM blades, and I think have done so via another website, one known primarily for selling books. My blades are new, and I have no experience with this yet.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

December 7, 2012
Answer: 
Directly from Ridgid or through Home Depot cuatomer service.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
You will need to contact your local Home Depot store for this information. They are the master distributors for this product and if they do not have them in the store they can special order them for you.
-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
 
5 answers

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dallas
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2016
I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Las Vegas, NV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 9, 2016
Answer: 
Bob
I have had mine for a year now. I pretty much use, Oak and Cherry. I have never had mine slow down, blow a fuse or anything. That being said, if I'm taking a 4" wide cut I take off a lot less with each pass than I would with a 1" cut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The jointer comes prewired for 120volt. Instructions are included to rewire for 220 -240. Minimum 15 amp capacity is required to run it this way.
This has been a great jointer for me and I highly recommend it.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've had mine for a few years with no problems at all. Cleaned up a lot of different types of wood from pine to oak. Does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
BRONXVILLE, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments Read More
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments mentioned in the manual do not solve this for me.
If you can get this for a couple hundred bucks, DO IT! I paid $599 and the price has never changed. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Esconido, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set Read More
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set to remove a small amount of waste (a touch less than 1/16") because I like to sneak up on my measurements, and as a bonus, not have to worry about jamming up the dust collection.
Hope that helps Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2016
People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
New Mexico
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 26, 2016
Answer: 
No it is still available but only online. Blades are available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
I'm not sure if the jointer was discontinued or not. I haven't heard that. I got mine thru home depo online. Great jointer and I highly recommend it.
As far as the replacement blades, I ordered mine from Powertec USA thru Amazon. Good blades for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
First, just went to Rigid web sight , jointer is not discontinued. Second, as far as the blades. U can go about anywhere and buy blades. I have had my jointer for about a year and the blades that came with jointer r still in good shape. I only use my jointer as a jointer not a planer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
JustAnt, I don't know if the unit has been discontinued, but when I bought mine I made an online purchase and the machine was delivered free to my local store. Replacement blades can be ordered online as well. I have had my machine for over 2 years, I use if frequently and it does a very good job For me it was a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2016
Answer: 
This is not a piece of equipment that Home Depot keeps in the stores. Order it online and they'll deliver it right to you.
I've been using mine every weekend and really like it. If you can afford a Powermatic, go that route. I would consider this jointer to be pro-sumer grade.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-08-27 T15:51:26.293-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 196ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ridgid jointer Easy to assemble, excellent quality, and all the settings were right on the mark coming out of the box. I have been doing cabinet making for over 45 years and this jointer rivals anything made by Delta or any other manufacturer. Highly recommend this machine for the professional or the hobbyist wood worker. June 30, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value I did quite a bit of research and reading reviews before settling on this Rigid jointer. This jointer/planner arrived very well packed and aside from being quite heavy ( 200+ lb.) was easy to assemble. The owners manual was well written and illustrated and the high quality of fit and finish of all components was impressive for this price level. After using it for several weeks I am very pleased with its performance and would not hesitate to recommend it. June 21, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Set up Easy to use The hardest part about putting this jointer together was lifting the box out of the truck. It takes two people to put this together. particularly when you are lifting the main deck and cutter head assembly. Overall it was easy to put together. The fence was set for a true 90 degrees and the cutting depth guage was accurate. My first work piece of gluing two pieces of cherry together to make a solid cherry top formed a nice clean smooth seam. I've tried using my table saw as a jointer and while my table saw was OK I could never get as clean of a joint as a I wanted. Using this jointer it was nearly effortless. May 3, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Subpar The cast table was dinged on one corner and had 1/2 inch of material missing and was bent. The motor was also damged as the shaft encountered something very hard during shipping and was bent. Well, i had put it together before noticing the flaws onthe table. I was going tk buy another and swap the motors then return. But, with a damaged table its going back for sure. Also, the quality is subpar, mechanisms are not smoothly adjusted and the table was not machined very well (wavy edges). Come on, this is a precision tool and should be an excellent example of precise manufacturing. It is not, I will buy a Grizzly now. I would not recommend this product for the price of $599. Much higher quality tools are available at that price. Ie: Jet, Grizzly etc... May 11, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Experience - Discontinued Product - No longer making some parts! I ordered the jointer and unfortunately was never able to use it. It came damaged...only one part, the motor bracket. I called Home Depot customer service and they ordered the part from the manufacturer ~ or so I thought! I never heard back from them with a delivery time or tracking. I called a week later. They haven't heard back from the manufacturer! I contacted Rigid directly. They no longer manufacture the jointer or have the part in stock. In fact, she asked me if it was a floor model because it was so old! What a waste of time! I took it back and got back my money! May 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional wood worker. Excellent jointer. I've been using this very often for the last five months and I have to say, this is an insanely good deal for a jointer of this quality. It's top notch and excels beyond jointers that are twice it's price. The setup was easy and only took about 30 minutes to calibrate. The results are perfect. I have this matched with a DW735X and couldn't be more stoked with the results. November 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A valuable tool for the wood workshop. Heavy duty and stands solid. This jointer was easy to assemble, working alone I had this working in about 3 hours. The adjustments were also easy and good to go right from the box.I have since run several boards, red oak,birch,pine,and basswood, all from 2 inch wide to 6 inch wide.plenty of power but dedicate that one circuit to this tool.Retired for two years, I am a hobby builder with a chainsaw mill. LSA is about impossible to achieve. September 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product at a Reasonable Price Second Rigid Jointer/Planer that I purchased (purchased first one for my other shop). Jointer is easy to assemble, but heavy due to its cast iron base (need two people to make some of the lifts). Set-up was easy and accurate and the jointer did a good job on edges as well as one face of rough lumber. I was pleasantly surprised that the jointer was made in Taiwan instead of mainland China (I think that has a lot to do with the quality). It would be nice if it had a speed adjustment like my previous bench-top jointer. April 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Jointer This jointer was easy to assemble. I was impressed that the factory preset stops were accurate and the head and bed were on the same plane. No tweaking or adjusting was required. May 3, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent jointer for the money I am very pleased with this jointer. Compared to other brands this is a good value and performs well. I was looking at a Grizzly model and the price was very similar but theirs was out of stock for over a month so I went with this one and I am pleased with my decision. I chose the ship to store option and it arrived in just a couple of days which was great. Setup was fairly easy and adjustments were simple to ensure that it was cutting square. Cut quality is very good and the material is glass smooth straight off the jointer. I would highly recommend this jointer to others. March 22, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic product Absolutely critical piece of equipment. Directions were not too good contrary to what I read. Put together alone. Didn't assemble upside down. Perfect once running. May 10, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Jointer Like what others have posted, this unit is a little awkward to assemble without help. What could have helped me a bunch is if Ridgid would have spot welded most of the connecting nuts to the frame and have used hex head bolts instead of the carriage bolts provided. I do however, give kudos for the well thought out packaging of all the hardware pieces. It was nice not having to sort through 10 plastic bags looking for the correct nuts and bolts. Setting up the jointer took a little longer than what I expected. The operator’s manual states that the in feed and out feed tables are factory preset but I suggest that you double check the tables for co-planer and readjust the cutter knives as things do shift during shipping. I managed to get both feed tables co-planer within .001” by adjusting the in feed table gibs. This can be a little tricky because the way the gibs contact the dovetail slides. It doesn’t take much of a turn on the allen set screw for the table to move a bunch, but it can be done. After that setting the knives to the out feed table is pretty straight forward. Once set this jointer works great. I’ve only milled about 300 board feet of lumber so far but the wood is dead flat with no discernible snipe. May 4, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jointer plaineet Jointer was easy to assemble. Base very easy to assemble, the only problem was the weight of the jointer table itself, although this is the hart of the machine. Once assembled it is easy to use and adjust. Does a great job and i am glad i decided on this over a couple of bench models i looked at. April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing machine!! I read a lot of reviews and did plenty of research before deciding on this jointer. It really does perform perfectly! Just buy it, you won't be disappointed! April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it Assembly was a bit of a pain but doable. Everything was square and true out of the box. Does a beautiful job, am very pleased, would buy again. April 5, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice but.... Very good quality, easy to assemble with two people needed for lifting. I added wheels instead of the legs as suggested by others but quickly found out I needed to add an additional wood support that extended beyond the base because installing the wheels in the original leg holes felt very unstable and started to stress the metal and welds in the base leg area. After adding the wood all is golden and allowed me to move the wheels beyond the base, very stable. The only complaint I have are the blades started to get debits shortly during the first use, even though using a soft wood and moving it across the plate, nothing in the wood just pre-primered (very strange). I haven't had time to check out the problem yet. It may be a human error thing we'll see. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great machine It is a great machine I love ridged tools. It was delivered later than when expected. With Home Depot online orders if you are a veteran you do not get the discount. March 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handles hardwood with ease. Excellent directions made for quick and easy assembly. Had 6BF of hardwoods to joint. Handled jatoba and sapele with ease. Jointed the rough edges with only a few thin passes. Deck plates are dead on flat and fence was easy to set to square. A little wax on the deck surfaces and I was good to go. Also ran some oak and hard maple pieces through jointer and get perfect results. Hardly need any sanding. Drive system is plenty stout and noise levels are less than expected. A well built and designed shop tool that's a great addition to my collection. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Jointer with Great Value This jointer is truly professional grade quality at residential application pricing! It has substantial mass and quality built components. The motor looks like it'll last a lifetime. Assembly was easy. Motor is quiet for its size and power. The table surface is robust and has a nice, smooth surface finish. The accessories (push pads and angle tools) are a nice touch to a great product. I'm excited to start using this versatile tool on my woodworking projects. Be advised the package is large and heavy. Definitely a 2-man lift item. And be prepared to figure out a way to dispose of the massive amounts of packaging foam after unpacking! I also replaced the stock feet with castors. This tool is far too heavy to not need castors for movements throughout any shop. Ridgid should consider castors as standard parts. Highly recommend this jointer over the other cheap ones sold by the big box companies! November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Jointer! Easy to assemble and use. Tight and square out of the box! March 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied - Excellent choice! Easy to setup up. Worked like a charm right out of the box. No tweaking required. March 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent machine I have owned one of these jointers for eight years. It has been one of the best investments I have ever made. I have run all kinds of woods thru this thing and it keeps on going. Carbide knives are a good idea February 18, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good, Some minor annoyances Pros: Planes and edges boards very well. Easy adjustment of infeed table height. The furnished push pads work well. Runs smooth - no vibration Good size for my small workshop. Cons: Bevel adjustment knob/handle could be placed better; sometimes gets in way of hands when feeding board. The slot for storing the two furnished bevel angle gauges is big enough to hold only one of them. Bevel adjustment is difficult to get spot on - the slide likes to stick, then move - too much -when trying to make the last, small adjustment to the bevel angle. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Jointer Easy to assemble although a bit heavy for one person. February 23, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rusty beast! I preface this review by saying I take impeccable care of all of my tools. However, this Rigid planer is nearly impossible to keep rust-free. From the first time I used it, it began showing signs of rusting. My workshop is moisture controlled and all of my other tools are rust-free. The scrubbing of the cast iron platform is not only more time consuming than the time I actually use the thing, it is futile as it rusts within a week. There is no coating on the horizontal surfaces of the planer and this leads to the iron rusting. Even some of the set screws are rusted, making me wonder why stainless steel wasn't used. This is not a cheap tool, but it sure presents itself as cheap only weeks after ownership. The tailings of boards are constantly gouging even with the adjustments being made to alleviate this. It has become a 200 beast that gets little use as it will not adjust to perfect straight planed boards. I'm kicking myself for not getting the Delta. January 25, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ridgid planer Easy to assemble. Cast iron construction makes for solid feeling machine. Only adjustment I needed to make was to tweak the fence square with the table. Took less than 1 minute. Otherwise worked great out of the box. I was going to buy a bench top model but most of them looked like toys compared to the ridgid .so I spent the extra money to by a solid machine. Glad I did. January 20, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value! Really nice and built solid. One thing it could use is some castors for mobility though. It cuts really smooth and has worked great so far. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool Bought this 18 months ago. I have run a ton of Cherry, Red Oak and Poplar thru this and not one problem. I read a few reviews from other buyers and a few complained about not being set up ready to go out of the box. Now come on here, lets use a little common sense here. This thing has been shipped half way around the world, handled by who knows how many forklifts. Of course your going to have to fine tune it. I have yet to buy saw, planer etc. that didn't need to be fined tuned once I got it put together. It took about 1 1/2 hours to get it fine tuned. The fence was off a little and of all things the out feed table was a little off. Using straight edges and dial indicator's had it running perfect. Have not had to adjust it again, it has stayed true. This has been one of the best investment's yet. When putting it together it's best to have someone help setting jointer on stand. This thing is heavy January 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Jointer It took me about 3 hours to assemble. Had a problem with one screw. It was set up well and I didn't need to make any adjustments. It makes super clean cuts and runs much quieter than I expected. The table is true and flat. Adjustments are easy to make. This jointer is a great addition to my shop. I did put mine on casters so I can move it around. About the only opportunity for improvement is that the shavings get clogged in the dust port sometimes. December 7, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Planer and joiner work great. The only issue is the base cabinet. I installed a set of roller canisters purchased from home depot to make the unit more mobile. However, the cabinet mounting points would not support the mobility. To correct the problem I purchased a furniture dolly, removed the canisters, and bolted the base to the dolly. March 12, 2013
  • 2016-08-27 T16:12:28.796-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_98, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT