0648846050447

RIDGID

Model JP0610

Internet #202269174

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

$599.00 /each
  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

49 Questions116 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Provo, Utah
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2014
This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fort Smith, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
This unit performs it's tasks as a jointer and a planer. You might be looking for a "thickness planer" where the tool removes wood from a board to make the board a consistent thickness. A thickness planer is usually used after a traditional jointer has made one side of the board flat, letting a thickness planer make the opposite side flat and parallel.
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2

Asked by
Puget Sound, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
Answer: 
You run boards broad side down on the table to smooth, flatten, and remove bow and twist. That's the planer function. You then turn the board on its edge and pass it over the knives to finish the jointing surface at 90 degrees. Then, if you have a separate machine called a "thickness planer", you run the board through to make the opposite side smooth and parallel to the first side.
+14points
16out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful2

Asked by
Central, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
The planer functions on one side of the wood (board) and then flip the board to plane the opposite side. Also it can only plane the width of the planer blades, so it is not made for wide stock.
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a Read More
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a table saw. Read Less
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no planer on its own. The jointer removes wood so you could use it as a thickness planer. I would not, It does have an accurate gauge telling how much material your taking off of the piece. All jointers are called Jointer/Planers because of this.
-9points
0out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful9

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at Read More
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at either jointing or planning.
A thickness planner where the piece is fed between rollers will not improve the straightness of the board. As you point out a thickness planner is designed to change the thickness of the work piece. If thickness is my issue I always use my thickness planner (with a 14 inch width capacity). If straightness is my issue I use the jointer/planner when possible. Read Less
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
The JP0610 jointer/planer is basically an edge jointer as you suggest. However, it can be used to reduce the thickness of narrow stock via multiple passes over the cutter head in a planning type application. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Department at 866-539-1710.
Thank you
RIDGID
-4points
4out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful8
 
6 answers

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dolfan
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Rochester, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2015
Answer: 
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I bought a set 61/8 Freud knives from Amazon for this jointer. I bought them based on other reviews that the knives which come with the jointer are not that good. I have not installed them because the knives I received with the jointer work great for now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 10, 2013
Answer: 
I found replacement blades at several online sources, and my local woodworking supplier can sharpen them for me at a reasonable price.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Statesville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
Some users have found blades made by Freud to replace the OEM blades, and I think have done so via another website, one known primarily for selling books. My blades are new, and I have no experience with this yet.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

December 7, 2012
Answer: 
Directly from Ridgid or through Home Depot cuatomer service.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
You will need to contact your local Home Depot store for this information. They are the master distributors for this product and if they do not have them in the store they can special order them for you.
-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
 
5 answers

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dallas
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2016
I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Las Vegas, NV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 9, 2016
Answer: 
Bob
I have had mine for a year now. I pretty much use, Oak and Cherry. I have never had mine slow down, blow a fuse or anything. That being said, if I'm taking a 4" wide cut I take off a lot less with each pass than I would with a 1" cut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The jointer comes prewired for 120volt. Instructions are included to rewire for 220 -240. Minimum 15 amp capacity is required to run it this way.
This has been a great jointer for me and I highly recommend it.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've had mine for a few years with no problems at all. Cleaned up a lot of different types of wood from pine to oak. Does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
BRONXVILLE, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments Read More
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments mentioned in the manual do not solve this for me.
If you can get this for a couple hundred bucks, DO IT! I paid $599 and the price has never changed. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Esconido, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set Read More
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set to remove a small amount of waste (a touch less than 1/16") because I like to sneak up on my measurements, and as a bonus, not have to worry about jamming up the dust collection.
Hope that helps Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2016
People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
New Mexico
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 26, 2016
Answer: 
No it is still available but only online. Blades are available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
I'm not sure if the jointer was discontinued or not. I haven't heard that. I got mine thru home depo online. Great jointer and I highly recommend it.
As far as the replacement blades, I ordered mine from Powertec USA thru Amazon. Good blades for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
First, just went to Rigid web sight , jointer is not discontinued. Second, as far as the blades. U can go about anywhere and buy blades. I have had my jointer for about a year and the blades that came with jointer r still in good shape. I only use my jointer as a jointer not a planer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
JustAnt, I don't know if the unit has been discontinued, but when I bought mine I made an online purchase and the machine was delivered free to my local store. Replacement blades can be ordered online as well. I have had my machine for over 2 years, I use if frequently and it does a very good job For me it was a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2016
Answer: 
This is not a piece of equipment that Home Depot keeps in the stores. Order it online and they'll deliver it right to you.
I've been using mine every weekend and really like it. If you can afford a Powermatic, go that route. I would consider this jointer to be pro-sumer grade.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-08-27 T15:51:26.293-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 52ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rigid tool as usual. Bought this jointer to edge the rough sawn lumber I built my barn with. Not a hiccup the whole build. Thanks rigid December 31, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great jointer This is a great little jointer! Mine was pretty noisy and had a good bit of vibration until I installed a green link belt. Now it hums along very quietly and smoothly! Knives are easy to install and set. Quality machine and I couldnt work without it! December 12, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Machine - No factory Setup The jointer is a good machine. We were very disappointed with the amount of time required to adjust the machine. According to the instructions, the blades and the table were factory set. However, we found both to be way off. To the point the blades were mounted at an angle in the holder. We expected to have time in assembly and minor setup, we did not anticipate the extent of work required to make the unit functional. I would not recommend someone purchase this unit if they are not experienced setting up and adjusting jointers and surfacers. October 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Quality! This is a very high quality jointer for a terrific price! It assembles just as stated in the directions. Allow a couple of hours but it's really not a big deal. Everything goes together very nicely. After putting it together, I commenced planing and joining 250 board feet of hard maple. The jointer produced very nice, smooth faces and edges on all boards with the stock knives that came with the jointer. Don't believe that you have to buy new blades right away to replace the ones that came with it. It's just not so. They are sharp and of good quality. I can't say how long they'll last but 250 bf of hard maple didn't effect them at all. This was a great purchase and I'm sure it will serve me well for many years. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent clogging of the dust chute. I am using a 2 HP dust collector with a 4 inch hose and have not experienced any problems with this at all. I suspect the problems are associated with running a shop vac on it with a 2.5 inch hose. November 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jointer Does what it's supposed to. As long as you know how to use it. November 4, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great machine The jointer was very easy to assemble per the provided instructions . It took about an hour and a half to assemble and test. I used it the day I received it on a large batch of oak, and some red cedar. This machine is remarkable in the quality of finished product it produces. I have checked the cutters on each time I have used it, and they have remained dead on. My only fault that I can find, is the four inch dust port doesn't come with a reducer to two and a half inch to match my Rigid shop vac dust system. This machine is heavy and a bit of a handful to assemble by yourself, and after doing this one, I would recommend a bit of help with it. This is an excellent machine, and well worth the money. May 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good jointer! Relatively easy assembly right out of the box, just follow the directions to the t! 3 blade cutter head cuts through 2" oak like butter. The Lifetime Service Agreement is best warranty available. Highly recommended. September 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Jointer Great jointer. The blades were properly aligned from the factory. The table and fence needed some minor adjusting to get them dead-on, but that is to be expected. The assembly instructions were reasonably clear. One caution. The unit is very heavy and you will definitely need at least two persons to move the box and do the final assembly of the unit. Also, I would not try to run this unit on a 15 amp circuit. I run it on a 20 amp circuit and it does sometimes trip the breaker, usually upon start-up, but once after letting it run for a period of time. The start-up problems do seem to be diminishing as the unit wears in. It would be best to run it on a 30 amp circuit if you have one. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy With This jointer Simple to assemble. Needed no adjustments. The blades and the fence angles were spot on right out of the box, and the tables were co-planer. I was a bit worried because the box was destroyed and the foam padding was crushed and broken when I received the jointer, however nothing inside the box was even scratched. Powerful and easy to use. The only complaint I could make is that the dust chute doesn't empty well. That's minor compared to the overall quality. July 2, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Home Depot sure..Rigid...No.. The online ordering, delivery and pickup at my local Home Depot went perfectly. I received progress emails. The unit arrived and performs adequately. The primary driver for my choice of Rigid over the comparable joiner was the lifetime service agreement, which is heavily marketed by Rigid but in fact quite elusive to obtain. This purchase transaction was conducted completely online using my Home Depot charge..After an attempt or two to register the tool and validate the lifetime service agreement, Rigid sent an email indicating they couldn't verify the transaction, grant the LSA. The email insisted i send a inch square snippet of the coffin-sized box, long gone to the recycler. If the lifetime service agreement is the major deciding factor in choosing a rigid tool...think twice. June 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Proformance for the Price. This Unit was a bit hard to put together with only one person so make sure you have someone on hand to help you because this machine is big time heavy duty. I Welded on Rollers to move this Machine around it is so much better with wheels. July 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice tool Gets the job done nicely. Pretty easy to assemble. Get ready to do some research when its time to replace/sharpen the blades. Zero help from the Manual. Also, still haven't successfully been set up with the Lifetime Service Agreement. Seems they make it a little tougher than it need to be. But again...this seems to be a powerful, high precision tool. June 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy Purchased this jointer 5 months ago and am very happy with it. Assembly was easy and knives and tables were properly adjusted out of the box. Cut quality with sharp knives is very good in all types of wood I have tried. Power is adequate for up to 1/16th inch full width cut in hard maple. Fence adjustment is tedious with lots of trial and error and the fence does not maintain perfect square after sliding it forward or backward. However, for the price this is not unexpected. This tool remains a very good value for the money. It does come in one box but Home Depot was nice enough to load it in my truck and it can be carried in pieces by one individual. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jointer/Planer I spent several weeks reviewing and researching the best and most economical jointer for the home woodworker, and found the RIDGID 6 amp jointer sold by HomeDepot. I am very pleased on my recent purchased. The in-feed and out-feed table are great in length and provide adequate support for jointing lumber. The assembly setup was simple and easy. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars for this size model compared to smaller models priced for 2 or 3 hundred bucks and don't measure up quality wise. The jointer does works best with a suction system and should be placed in a permanent location since it is a little heavy. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Jointer Planer was of good quality, just as most reviewers described it. This is one heavy piece of equipment.....the instructions were good and was fairly simple to assemble. It was a great addition to my shop....added a lot of versatility to the projects and lumber waiting to be processed and completed. June 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well built and functions beautifully. The machine is heavy as a tank so get help to move it. Assembly takes time, be prepared to spend 3-4 hours on it, and yes I'm mechanically competent but if you want to do a good job that's what it will take. Once assembled, everything worked like a charm. Everything was perfectly aligned and functioned exactly as you'd want. The only thing that was off was one small part that was not aligned straight, two turns of a screw driver fixed it. Net result, the joiner works like a dream. It's not the biggest most industrial unit and production shops have better stuff but for a home furniture maker, this should last a lifetime. December 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by First Rigid Tool Product assembly instructions are difficult and in a few cases backwards which requires undoing then redoing correctly. Parts are not well labeled and it requires considerable study to determine what goes where. Fortunately there are not many parts. While one person can assemble it, two would be better. My biggest complaint is in trying to register for the lifetime warranty. Not sure what their relationship with Home Depot is but they want documentation that I do not have. There are really no instructions on how to use the device. Even though I don't really need instructions, it would have been nice to show my son. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent very good piece of equipment. just received it and have run about 30 boards through it. no complaints on the operation. just have a small complaint for the dust chute. If you don't have it hooked to a vacuum you will have to dig out the shavings as they wont free fall outside of this one flaw that I see as of now very good. Wish it came with casters as it is heavy, as it should be, they would make it easier to move around if you have a dual purpose shop like I do. Wasn't hard to assemble as others have reviewed. Will write more later, as I like to give it a good work out first. for now another outstanding piece from Rigid. December 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rigid Jointer Planer JP06101 The in-feed and out-feed tables are not parallel. There is no easy way to adjust. More expensive models include capability to set tables parallel. I would think this is a must adjustment! In-feed extension screw bent as received in box. Waiting to see if Rigid will send replacement part. Not going to send the entire unit. It is in my basement, and not toting 200 plus pounds up the stairs or completely dis-assemble. Assembly was not too difficult. Some of the screws are in tight spaces and difficult to reach. Especially the one hex head bolt attaching table to frame. Must reach inside small rectangular cut-out to tighten the fastener. Paint finish looks nice, but easily scratched off July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent except for discharge! This is a fantastic jointer... It works very well and makes great finishes... The only complaint that I have is that the discharge chute get plugged up very easily May 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jointer is Great Great Jointer! - But watch a couple UTube Videos on assembly. The "Secret" bolt is a little tricky. But after you assemble it, It was great with no adjustment., April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ridgid 6 inch joiner Unit appears to be very well made,.Infeed and outfeed tables machined glass smooth. Ran serveral test peices and unit seem to preform well. Most reviews gve high ratings and seem to be justified. Will know more when I finish setting up my new shop and begin projects. Looks like a good price / feature ratio for the home shop. April 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works like a charm The instructions where straight forward and it took about an hour and 1/2 to assemble( watch the weight). I have had mine for about 8 years and other than sending the knives out to be sharpened I never have a problem with it. I usually keep the table set to 1/32 per pass to avoid tear out and snipe. March 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great planer, very happy I purchased this machine a few weeks ago and have since put it together and used it for many board feet so far. When i was putting it together, it definitely has some hard to reach bolts but nothing crazy. I finally got it together and was on the last step threading the lock knob with the nut BUT the nut wasn't threaded. I called rigid and the guy told me to force it so i did and ended up murdering the threads on the lock knob so called back and they sent me a new one with a and nut within a couple days and this nut was threaded so worked great. Fired it up and immediately got great results planing and jointing. The only issue I'm having is the saw dust is getting jammed below the blades and I have to stick something up there to pull them out after a couple boards. The problem could be I don't have a dust collector hooked up to it which might suck them out but the adapter is about 5" so my vac won't come close to connecting to it. Overall I'm happy with the purchase though. I would definitely recommend this product. March 31, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Unit Awesome unit. Good quality and easy to assemble. Minimal adjustment after I set it up. Big improvement over my old jointer. Great features for the price. An excellent value for a smaller shop. March 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very sturdy tool, worked right out of the box. I had to make 1 small adjustment to the 90 degree fence setting. Other than that the tool was ready to use as soon as I finished assembly. The instructions for assemblying the base could have been a little more specific, but overall a very easy assembly. The pay off is in how the tool works which is excellent. The procedure for applying for ang getting approval for the Life Time Warranty (not registration) is unnecessarly complicated and tedious requiring cutting the UPS code from the box and actually mailing it in (an online attempt failed). I highly recomment the tool November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great jointer for the money I have been researching jointers for a while and after reading all the reviews and watching You Tube videos, I went with the Rigid. I have used it 5 or 6 times now and it works great. Simple to put together and operate. I would certainly recommend this. February 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RIDGID Jointer JP0610 I am newly retired and I am putting together the wood working shop I have always dreamed about. I looked at different Jointers from different companies and choose this RIDRIG model JP0610 from Home Depot. It came on a heavy skid, very well packed. Each part was wrapped in plastic packed in foam. All the screws and bolts were in a package very well marked. Because of the weight, it is almost too heavy for one person to handle. So if you have a friend, ask for help. When putting the base together, be sure to read and study the assembling diagram before starting and take your time to get it right the first time. The base is a little complicated to figure out the first attempt to assemble. But once you have the base assembled with the motor installed, the heavy part just sets on top with mounting bolts. This is where you will need help handling. After putting it all together, it is a real study unit. Easy to set fence to base for good cuts. I think I will have this around for a very long time. PLEASE READ ABOUT THE WARRANTY.... I chose this unit because of the many online reviews and the life time ownership warranty. The unit has a three year warranty, but if you register the unit with RIDGID you can get a life time warranty and this was the deciding factor why I went with RIDGID. But be advised, RIDGID requires verification of purchase. You will fill out an online warranty request and if Home Depot gave you the correct original Purchase receipt with the correct numbers and RIDGID can verifier the purchase, you will not have any trouble getting the Life Time Warranty. But if there is a problem and RIDGID cannot not verifier your purchase, below is what they are going to ask for. To complete the LSA registration process, mail the following to RIDGID within 90 days of purchase for processing and approval. 1. Original Receipt (recommended to make a copy for your records) 2. UPC cut out from the packaging 3. Print out of this online confirmation page showing your Customer ID number (C003594879) I ordered my unit online along with a RIDGID table saw, a RIDGID band saw, and a RIDGID planner. The table saw and Planner was in stock at Home Depot, so I went and picked them up, the other were back ordered. Home Depot gave me a purchase receipt for the two I picked up but was a copy, not the one with the orange Home Depot on it. Then when the other two came in, I went and picked them up. At this time all Home Depot could give me was a printed out sale order, not a receipt. I ask them for a sales receipt but they assured me all the numbers I would need is on the print out they gave me. When I filled for the Life time warranty, all was rejected except the planner. Now I have no original receipt, I will not be able to get the Life time warranty on my table saw, jointer, or the band saw. So if you decide to go with RIDGID, be sure to get an original orange Home Depot receipt at purchase time, and keep the UPC cut outs off the boxes. I had already discarded mine. April 28, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Motor issue The motor locked up after 2 weeks. Im going to have to return the item and get another one. May have just been a lemon? Most others online have good reviews. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does exactly what it's supposed to. Not commercial grade, but for a home 120v joiner, this is a useful balance of size / accuracy / capacity / weight. Setting it up is not nearly as difficult as many posts describe. Beds and blades were dead-on from factory. Dialing the fence in to square was bothersome, but once it's square no need to fuss with it again. Nice if rolling stand or casters came in box, but anyone wanting or needing a joiner for their home shop should be able to add that on their own. Very nice addition to shop and would (quickly) purchase it again. April 22, 2014
  • 2016-08-27 T15:30:43.903-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_98, tr_98
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 142ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT