Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$617.50 /each
$649.00 /box
Name 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Corded Planer 6-3/4 in. Corded Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Heavy-Duty 2-Speed Thickness Planer with Knives and Tables
Brand RIDGID DEWALT Makita DEWALT
Ratings (135) (36) (5) (104)
Amperage (amps) 6 15 10.9 15
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
Asked by: Jeff
This machine is NOT a jointer/planer, it is a JOINTER and that is all it is!
Answered by: garriv777
Date published: 2017-03-15

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
Asked by: bob
Answer is on page 7 of instruction manual. It is 12 amp on 110v, and 6 amp on 220v. Only Ridgid could explain why they ship it wired for 110v, but list amps for 220v. I was also very leery of a 6 amp jointer.
Answered by: mikey67
Date published: 2017-03-09

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
Asked by: JustAnt
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-02-24

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
Answered by: scott
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_64
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 28ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 135.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handles hardwood with ease. Excellent directions made for quick and easy assembly. Had 6BF of hardwoods to joint. Handled jatoba and sapele with ease. Jointed the rough edges with only a few thin passes. Deck plates are dead on flat and fence was easy to set to square. A little wax on the deck surfaces and I was good to go. Also ran some oak and hard maple pieces through jointer and get perfect results. Hardly need any sanding. Drive system is plenty stout and noise levels are less than expected. A well built and designed shop tool that's a great addition to my collection.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good, Some minor annoyances Pros: Planes and edges boards very well. Easy adjustment of infeed table height. The furnished push pads work well. Runs smooth - no vibration Good size for my small workshop. Cons: Bevel adjustment knob/handle could be placed better; sometimes gets in way of hands when feeding board. The slot for storing the two furnished bevel angle gauges is big enough to hold only one of them. Bevel adjustment is difficult to get spot on - the slide likes to stick, then move - too much -when trying to make the last, small adjustment to the bevel angle.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent very good piece of equipment. just received it and have run about 30 boards through it. no complaints on the operation. just have a small complaint for the dust chute. If you don't have it hooked to a vacuum you will have to dig out the shavings as they wont free fall outside of this one flaw that I see as of now very good. Wish it came with casters as it is heavy, as it should be, they would make it easier to move around if you have a dual purpose shop like I do. Wasn't hard to assemble as others have reviewed. Will write more later, as I like to give it a good work out first. for now another outstanding piece from Rigid.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Competent Little Machine I am still only in the early weeks of owning this jointer, and have put it through initial trials so far. But, from what I see, everything seems to be solidly built and well adjusted for good jointing work. The few pieces I have prepared (after getting the feel and touch of using the machine properly) have come out smooth and flat, as advertised. Note that I purchased a simple but effective dust collection unit at the same time. I strongly suggest that anyone considering the purchase of this Ridgid Jointer, look into a dust collector with a 4" intake line. You will get lots of 'dust' in a short period of time. I also suggest you look into a movable platform kit to go under it. Though the unit doesn't demand a lot of floor space in my shop, it is a solid, dead weight that stands firmly in place. Should you wish to move it around, a lockable, rolling platform is a must.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This a reliable smooth cutting machine. Make sure you have adequate chip extraction with a high volume dust collector or be ready to stop often and remove chips. This is not the fault of the machine. It's doing what it was designed to do and does it well. It will leave you with a surface ready for finishing if you don't rush your work. I didn't give it a 5 star since the rabetting function comes up short when making multiple pass rabbets.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool! other than the slow shipping to the store for pick up this was a great buying experience! the jointer is an amazing piece of equipment and functions perfectly. After reading a lot of reviews I was worried about the LSA being a pain. But it worked flawlessly. I was granted the lifetime service within 24 hrs of entering my info on their website.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Set up Easy to use The hardest part about putting this jointer together was lifting the box out of the truck. It takes two people to put this together. particularly when you are lifting the main deck and cutter head assembly. Overall it was easy to put together. The fence was set for a true 90 degrees and the cutting depth guage was accurate. My first work piece of gluing two pieces of cherry together to make a solid cherry top formed a nice clean smooth seam. I've tried using my table saw as a jointer and while my table saw was OK I could never get as clean of a joint as a I wanted. Using this jointer it was nearly effortless.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool Just purchased this last month and have been putting through tthe lumber to it. So far cuts are great and dust collection is even better. Compared to a Jet at $200 more, you cannot beat the price. This is the same unit as a Jet with Ridgids version of hardware. The jointer went together fast and when I checked the tables for flat, I found them to be perfect. Less than .0015" through the length, side to side and crossways on each table. Tables were co-planer to within .001". Knives were set pefect. Did not have to adjust knives. Only thing that needed adjustment was the outfeed table. Onece set, set jointer infeed table to now more than 1/32" cut and locked her down. Honed my technique and produced some flat and squre edged boards
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional wood worker. Excellent jointer. I've been using this very often for the last five months and I have to say, this is an insanely good deal for a jointer of this quality. It's top notch and excels beyond jointers that are twice it's price. The setup was easy and only took about 30 minutes to calibrate. The results are perfect. I have this matched with a DW735X and couldn't be more stoked with the results.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I did quite a bit of research and reading reviews before settling on this Rigid jointer. This jointer/planner arrived very well packed and aside from being quite heavy ( 200+ lb.) was easy to assemble. The owners manual was well written and illustrated and the high quality of fit and finish of all components was impressive for this price level. After using it for several weeks I am very pleased with its performance and would not hesitate to recommend it.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridgid jointer Easy to assemble, excellent quality, and all the settings were right on the mark coming out of the box. I have been doing cabinet making for over 45 years and this jointer rivals anything made by Delta or any other manufacturer. Highly recommend this machine for the professional or the hobbyist wood worker.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jointer plaineet Jointer was easy to assemble. Base very easy to assemble, the only problem was the weight of the jointer table itself, although this is the hart of the machine. Once assembled it is easy to use and adjust. Does a great job and i am glad i decided on this over a couple of bench models i looked at.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Jointer This jointer was easy to assemble. I was impressed that the factory preset stops were accurate and the head and bed were on the same plane. No tweaking or adjusting was required.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Absolutely critical piece of equipment. Directions were not too good contrary to what I read. Put together alone. Didn't assemble upside down. Perfect once running.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine!! I read a lot of reviews and did plenty of research before deciding on this jointer. It really does perform perfectly! Just buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough set up... But good afterwards Outfeed was not in line after a rough setup... But once fixed by calling in for help, jointer is worth every penny so far. Gonna pay of the cost quickly!
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Assembly was a bit of a pain but doable. Everything was square and true out of the box. Does a beautiful job, am very pleased, would buy again.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Jointer Like what others have posted, this unit is a little awkward to assemble without help. What could have helped me a bunch is if Ridgid would have spot welded most of the connecting nuts to the frame and have used hex head bolts instead of the carriage bolts provided. I do however, give kudos for the well thought out packaging of all the hardware pieces. It was nice not having to sort through 10 plastic bags looking for the correct nuts and bolts. Setting up the jointer took a little longer than what I expected. The operator’s manual states that the in feed and out feed tables are factory preset but I suggest that you double check the tables for co-planer and readjust the cutter knives as things do shift during shipping. I managed to get both feed tables co-planer within .001” by adjusting the in feed table gibs. This can be a little tricky because the way the gibs contact the dovetail slides. It doesn’t take much of a turn on the allen set screw for the table to move a bunch, but it can be done. After that setting the knives to the out feed table is pretty straight forward. Once set this jointer works great. I’ve only milled about 300 board feet of lumber so far but the wood is dead flat with no discernible snipe.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this joiner to build furniture out of rough lumber (pine). Assembly was easy and it was adjusted almost perfectly right out of the box. I lost the fence handle and got a replacement from Ridgid in two weeks, so the service is very good. At this price (529$ plus a 100$ discount card) with the lifetime warranty it is hard to go wrong here.
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool, works perfectly. Very easy to setup and install, took very little configuration and is also easy to maintain. Solid extended fence is great for long pieces, jointed over 1000 peices of wood and is still working great.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Experience - Discontinued Product - No longer making some parts! I ordered the jointer and unfortunately was never able to use it. It came damaged...only one part, the motor bracket. I called Home Depot customer service and they ordered the part from the manufacturer ~ or so I thought! I never heard back from them with a delivery time or tracking. I called a week later. They haven't heard back from the manufacturer! I contacted Rigid directly. They no longer manufacture the jointer or have the part in stock. In fact, she asked me if it was a floor model because it was so old! What a waste of time! I took it back and got back my money!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine - No factory Setup The jointer is a good machine. We were very disappointed with the amount of time required to adjust the machine. According to the instructions, the blades and the table were factory set. However, we found both to be way off. To the point the blades were mounted at an angle in the holder. We expected to have time in assembly and minor setup, we did not anticipate the extent of work required to make the unit functional. I would not recommend someone purchase this unit if they are not experienced setting up and adjusting jointers and surfacers.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ridgid's typical great quality I haven't had the opportunity to run this jointer through all of it's paces, but it's worked excellently for what I have thrown at it. It was well packed in the box, and assembly was easy enough for something that weighs so much. Tensioning the drive belt almost took an act of congress, and I'm not sure that I've got it properly tensioned yet, but the belt doesn't seem to be slipping. The included push blocks and setup gauges are a big plus for me, since I really didn't even know they would be included!
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! This is a very high quality jointer for a terrific price! It assembles just as stated in the directions. Allow a couple of hours but it's really not a big deal. Everything goes together very nicely. After putting it together, I commenced planing and joining 250 board feet of hard maple. The jointer produced very nice, smooth faces and edges on all boards with the stock knives that came with the jointer. Don't believe that you have to buy new blades right away to replace the ones that came with it. It's just not so. They are sharp and of good quality. I can't say how long they'll last but 250 bf of hard maple didn't effect them at all. This was a great purchase and I'm sure it will serve me well for many years. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent clogging of the dust chute. I am using a 2 HP dust collector with a 4 inch hose and have not experienced any problems with this at all. I suspect the problems are associated with running a shop vac on it with a 2.5 inch hose.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Subpar The cast table was dinged on one corner and had 1/2 inch of material missing and was bent. The motor was also damged as the shaft encountered something very hard during shipping and was bent. Well, i had put it together before noticing the flaws onthe table. I was going tk buy another and swap the motors then return. But, with a damaged table its going back for sure. Also, the quality is subpar, mechanisms are not smoothly adjusted and the table was not machined very well (wavy edges). Come on, this is a precision tool and should be an excellent example of precise manufacturing. It is not, I will buy a Grizzly now. I would not recommend this product for the price of $599. Much higher quality tools are available at that price. Ie: Jet, Grizzly etc...
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from JOINTER WORKS GREAT BUT OTHER DESIGN NO SO MUCH Some parts (screws ) were missing and I just went to Home Depot and bought them. Instructions were okay but could have been clearer. Had some paint rubbed off where Styrofoam had rubbed though the box. Called Ridgid about getting some paint to touch it up a BUT THEY SAID IT WAS MADE OUT OF THE COUNTRY SO it would not be available. Guess making paint available is too difficult a thing for product support? Probably should have returned it but the next one might just be the same. Beyond that the jointer/planer works well. Like all new tools it took some adjusting but cuts well and the table is smooth and handles up to 4 foot stock okay! SO I'd recommend it but be prepared to buy a screw here and there and look instructions over carefully before beginning assembly. The legs are another matter. Bought wheel and put in holes in legs but was way wobbly and very unsteady. I bought some 5/8 by inch and a half steel, drilled holes and bolted it to the legs. I let the metal stick over about 3 inches and drilled holes for my wheels outside. WOW it works super and is very stable. Feel really good about moving it about. So unless your going to leave it in one place,prepare to spend some time and money. Now that I have all of that completed. I really like the jointer/planer well. I would have given $100 more not to have done all that but tools aren't what they used to be 40-50 years ago. I believe if it were designed and made in America it would be better. France doesn't expect as much out of their tools as we do.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product at a Reasonable Price Second Rigid Jointer/Planer that I purchased (purchased first one for my other shop). Jointer is easy to assemble, but heavy due to its cast iron base (need two people to make some of the lifts). Set-up was easy and accurate and the jointer did a good job on edges as well as one face of rough lumber. I was pleasantly surprised that the jointer was made in Taiwan instead of mainland China (I think that has a lot to do with the quality). It would be nice if it had a speed adjustment like my previous bench-top jointer.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent jointer for the money I am very pleased with this jointer. Compared to other brands this is a good value and performs well. I was looking at a Grizzly model and the price was very similar but theirs was out of stock for over a month so I went with this one and I am pleased with my decision. I chose the ship to store option and it arrived in just a couple of days which was great. Setup was fairly easy and adjustments were simple to ensure that it was cutting square. Cut quality is very good and the material is glass smooth straight off the jointer. I would highly recommend this jointer to others.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy tool, worked right out of the box. I had to make 1 small adjustment to the 90 degree fence setting. Other than that the tool was ready to use as soon as I finished assembly. The instructions for assemblying the base could have been a little more specific, but overall a very easy assembly. The pay off is in how the tool works which is excellent. The procedure for applying for ang getting approval for the Life Time Warranty (not registration) is unnecessarly complicated and tedious requiring cutting the UPS code from the box and actually mailing it in (an online attempt failed). I highly recomment the tool
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Purchased this jointer 5 months ago and am very happy with it. Assembly was easy and knives and tables were properly adjusted out of the box. Cut quality with sharp knives is very good in all types of wood I have tried. Power is adequate for up to 1/16th inch full width cut in hard maple. Fence adjustment is tedious with lots of trial and error and the fence does not maintain perfect square after sliding it forward or backward. However, for the price this is not unexpected. This tool remains a very good value for the money. It does come in one box but Home Depot was nice enough to load it in my truck and it can be carried in pieces by one individual.
Date published: 2013-11-06
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_135
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT