Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

51 Questions125 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Provo, Utah
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2014
This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fort Smith, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
This unit performs it's tasks as a jointer and a planer. You might be looking for a "thickness planer" where the tool removes wood from a board to make the board a consistent thickness. A thickness planer is usually used after a traditional jointer has made one side of the board flat, letting a thickness planer make the opposite side flat and parallel.
+7points
10out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful3

Asked by
Puget Sound, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
Answer: 
You run boards broad side down on the table to smooth, flatten, and remove bow and twist. That's the planer function. You then turn the board on its edge and pass it over the knives to finish the jointing surface at 90 degrees. Then, if you have a separate machine called a "thickness planer", you run the board through to make the opposite side smooth and parallel to the first side.
+13points
17out of 21found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful4

Asked by
Central, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
The planer functions on one side of the wood (board) and then flip the board to plane the opposite side. Also it can only plane the width of the planer blades, so it is not made for wide stock.
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a Read More
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a table saw. Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no planer on its own. The jointer removes wood so you could use it as a thickness planer. I would not, It does have an accurate gauge telling how much material your taking off of the piece. All jointers are called Jointer/Planers because of this.
-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at Read More
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at either jointing or planning.
A thickness planner where the piece is fed between rollers will not improve the straightness of the board. As you point out a thickness planner is designed to change the thickness of the work piece. If thickness is my issue I always use my thickness planner (with a 14 inch width capacity). If straightness is my issue I use the jointer/planner when possible. Read Less
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
The JP0610 jointer/planer is basically an edge jointer as you suggest. However, it can be used to reduce the thickness of narrow stock via multiple passes over the cutter head in a planning type application. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Department at 866-539-1710.
Thank you
RIDGID
-4points
5out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful9
 
6 answers

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dallas
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2016
I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 16, 2016
Answer: 
What matters is that it is one horse power. That is plenty. Do not compare it to cheap machines that have repulsion motors, you know, those motors that rev real high like in cheap planers, in all vacuums, hand drills, etc. Those motors are around 40 % efficiency, (that is why they blast out all kinds of heat) and so when they draw around 15 amps, they have the same horse power that this machine has with Read More
What matters is that it is one horse power. That is plenty. Do not compare it to cheap machines that have repulsion motors, you know, those motors that rev real high like in cheap planers, in all vacuums, hand drills, etc. Those motors are around 40 % efficiency, (that is why they blast out all kinds of heat) and so when they draw around 15 amps, they have the same horse power that this machine has with a 6 amp induction motor. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Las Vegas, NV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 9, 2016
Answer: 
Bob
I have had mine for a year now. I pretty much use, Oak and Cherry. I have never had mine slow down, blow a fuse or anything. That being said, if I'm taking a 4" wide cut I take off a lot less with each pass than I would with a 1" cut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The jointer comes prewired for 120volt. Instructions are included to rewire for 220 -240. Minimum 15 amp capacity is required to run it this way.
This has been a great jointer for me and I highly recommend it.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've had mine for a few years with no problems at all. Cleaned up a lot of different types of wood from pine to oak. Does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
BRONXVILLE, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments Read More
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments mentioned in the manual do not solve this for me.
If you can get this for a couple hundred bucks, DO IT! I paid $599 and the price has never changed. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Esconido, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set Read More
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set to remove a small amount of waste (a touch less than 1/16") because I like to sneak up on my measurements, and as a bonus, not have to worry about jamming up the dust collection.
Hope that helps Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2016
People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

September 8, 2016
Answer: 
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Mexico
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 26, 2016
Answer: 
No it is still available but only online. Blades are available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
I'm not sure if the jointer was discontinued or not. I haven't heard that. I got mine thru home depo online. Great jointer and I highly recommend it.
As far as the replacement blades, I ordered mine from Powertec USA thru Amazon. Good blades for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
First, just went to Rigid web sight , jointer is not discontinued. Second, as far as the blades. U can go about anywhere and buy blades. I have had my jointer for about a year and the blades that came with jointer r still in good shape. I only use my jointer as a jointer not a planer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
JustAnt, I don't know if the unit has been discontinued, but when I bought mine I made an online purchase and the machine was delivered free to my local store. Replacement blades can be ordered online as well. I have had my machine for over 2 years, I use if frequently and it does a very good job For me it was a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2016
Answer: 
This is not a piece of equipment that Home Depot keeps in the stores. Order it online and they'll deliver it right to you.
I've been using mine every weekend and really like it. If you can afford a Powermatic, go that route. I would consider this jointer to be pro-sumer grade.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dolfan
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Rochester, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2015
Answer: 
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I bought a set 61/8 Freud knives from Amazon for this jointer. I bought them based on other reviews that the knives which come with the jointer are not that good. I have not installed them because the knives I received with the jointer work great for now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 10, 2013
Answer: 
I found replacement blades at several online sources, and my local woodworking supplier can sharpen them for me at a reasonable price.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Statesville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
Some users have found blades made by Freud to replace the OEM blades, and I think have done so via another website, one known primarily for selling books. My blades are new, and I have no experience with this yet.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

December 7, 2012
Answer: 
Directly from Ridgid or through Home Depot cuatomer service.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
You will need to contact your local Home Depot store for this information. They are the master distributors for this product and if they do not have them in the store they can special order them for you.
-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:53:30.200-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 134ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 117.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional wood worker. Excellent jointer. I've been using this very often for the last five months and I have to say, this is an insanely good deal for a jointer of this quality. It's top notch and excels beyond jointers that are twice it's price. The setup was easy and only took about 30 minutes to calibrate. The results are perfect. I have this matched with a DW735X and couldn't be more stoked with the results.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Jointer This jointer was easy to assemble. I was impressed that the factory preset stops were accurate and the head and bed were on the same plane. No tweaking or adjusting was required.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Absolutely critical piece of equipment. Directions were not too good contrary to what I read. Put together alone. Didn't assemble upside down. Perfect once running.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine!! I read a lot of reviews and did plenty of research before deciding on this jointer. It really does perform perfectly! Just buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Assembly was a bit of a pain but doable. Everything was square and true out of the box. Does a beautiful job, am very pleased, would buy again.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this joiner to build furniture out of rough lumber (pine). Assembly was easy and it was adjusted almost perfectly right out of the box. I lost the fence handle and got a replacement from Ridgid in two weeks, so the service is very good. At this price (529$ plus a 100$ discount card) with the lifetime warranty it is hard to go wrong here.
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great machine It is a great machine I love ridged tools. It was delivered later than when expected. With Home Depot online orders if you are a veteran you do not get the discount.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Experience - Discontinued Product - No longer making some parts! I ordered the jointer and unfortunately was never able to use it. It came damaged...only one part, the motor bracket. I called Home Depot customer service and they ordered the part from the manufacturer ~ or so I thought! I never heard back from them with a delivery time or tracking. I called a week later. They haven't heard back from the manufacturer! I contacted Rigid directly. They no longer manufacture the jointer or have the part in stock. In fact, she asked me if it was a floor model because it was so old! What a waste of time! I took it back and got back my money!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine - No factory Setup The jointer is a good machine. We were very disappointed with the amount of time required to adjust the machine. According to the instructions, the blades and the table were factory set. However, we found both to be way off. To the point the blades were mounted at an angle in the holder. We expected to have time in assembly and minor setup, we did not anticipate the extent of work required to make the unit functional. I would not recommend someone purchase this unit if they are not experienced setting up and adjusting jointers and surfacers.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A valuable tool for the wood workshop. Heavy duty and stands solid. This jointer was easy to assemble, working alone I had this working in about 3 hours. The adjustments were also easy and good to go right from the box.I have since run several boards, red oak,birch,pine,and basswood, all from 2 inch wide to 6 inch wide.plenty of power but dedicate that one circuit to this tool.Retired for two years, I am a hobby builder with a chainsaw mill. LSA is about impossible to achieve.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool, works perfectly. Very easy to setup and install, took very little configuration and is also easy to maintain. Solid extended fence is great for long pieces, jointed over 1000 peices of wood and is still working great.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ridgid's typical great quality I haven't had the opportunity to run this jointer through all of it's paces, but it's worked excellently for what I have thrown at it. It was well packed in the box, and assembly was easy enough for something that weighs so much. Tensioning the drive belt almost took an act of congress, and I'm not sure that I've got it properly tensioned yet, but the belt doesn't seem to be slipping. The included push blocks and setup gauges are a big plus for me, since I really didn't even know they would be included!
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! This is a very high quality jointer for a terrific price! It assembles just as stated in the directions. Allow a couple of hours but it's really not a big deal. Everything goes together very nicely. After putting it together, I commenced planing and joining 250 board feet of hard maple. The jointer produced very nice, smooth faces and edges on all boards with the stock knives that came with the jointer. Don't believe that you have to buy new blades right away to replace the ones that came with it. It's just not so. They are sharp and of good quality. I can't say how long they'll last but 250 bf of hard maple didn't effect them at all. This was a great purchase and I'm sure it will serve me well for many years. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent clogging of the dust chute. I am using a 2 HP dust collector with a 4 inch hose and have not experienced any problems with this at all. I suspect the problems are associated with running a shop vac on it with a 2.5 inch hose.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Subpar The cast table was dinged on one corner and had 1/2 inch of material missing and was bent. The motor was also damged as the shaft encountered something very hard during shipping and was bent. Well, i had put it together before noticing the flaws onthe table. I was going tk buy another and swap the motors then return. But, with a damaged table its going back for sure. Also, the quality is subpar, mechanisms are not smoothly adjusted and the table was not machined very well (wavy edges). Come on, this is a precision tool and should be an excellent example of precise manufacturing. It is not, I will buy a Grizzly now. I would not recommend this product for the price of $599. Much higher quality tools are available at that price. Ie: Jet, Grizzly etc...
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice but.... Very good quality, easy to assemble with two people needed for lifting. I added wheels instead of the legs as suggested by others but quickly found out I needed to add an additional wood support that extended beyond the base because installing the wheels in the original leg holes felt very unstable and started to stress the metal and welds in the base leg area. After adding the wood all is golden and allowed me to move the wheels beyond the base, very stable. The only complaint I have are the blades started to get debits shortly during the first use, even though using a soft wood and moving it across the plate, nothing in the wood just pre-primered (very strange). I haven't had time to check out the problem yet. It may be a human error thing we'll see.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product at a Reasonable Price Second Rigid Jointer/Planer that I purchased (purchased first one for my other shop). Jointer is easy to assemble, but heavy due to its cast iron base (need two people to make some of the lifts). Set-up was easy and accurate and the jointer did a good job on edges as well as one face of rough lumber. I was pleasantly surprised that the jointer was made in Taiwan instead of mainland China (I think that has a lot to do with the quality). It would be nice if it had a speed adjustment like my previous bench-top jointer.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy tool, worked right out of the box. I had to make 1 small adjustment to the 90 degree fence setting. Other than that the tool was ready to use as soon as I finished assembly. The instructions for assemblying the base could have been a little more specific, but overall a very easy assembly. The pay off is in how the tool works which is excellent. The procedure for applying for ang getting approval for the Life Time Warranty (not registration) is unnecessarly complicated and tedious requiring cutting the UPS code from the box and actually mailing it in (an online attempt failed). I highly recomment the tool
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Purchased this jointer 5 months ago and am very happy with it. Assembly was easy and knives and tables were properly adjusted out of the box. Cut quality with sharp knives is very good in all types of wood I have tried. Power is adequate for up to 1/16th inch full width cut in hard maple. Fence adjustment is tedious with lots of trial and error and the fence does not maintain perfect square after sliding it forward or backward. However, for the price this is not unexpected. This tool remains a very good value for the money. It does come in one box but Home Depot was nice enough to load it in my truck and it can be carried in pieces by one individual.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer is solid. The outfeed table was dead-on with the blade out of the box. The cuts are super smooth, almost like glass, the jointed edge has a reflection to it, it's so smooth. Would definitely reccomend. I wish HD stocked these in store. The dust chute will clog if you don't have a dust collection system attached.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Planer and joiner work great. The only issue is the base cabinet. I installed a set of roller canisters purchased from home depot to make the unit more mobile. However, the cabinet mounting points would not support the mobility. To correct the problem I purchased a furniture dolly, removed the canisters, and bolted the base to the dolly.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built and functions beautifully. The machine is heavy as a tank so get help to move it. Assembly takes time, be prepared to spend 3-4 hours on it, and yes I'm mechanically competent but if you want to do a good job that's what it will take. Once assembled, everything worked like a charm. Everything was perfectly aligned and functioned exactly as you'd want. The only thing that was off was one small part that was not aligned straight, two turns of a screw driver fixed it. Net result, the joiner works like a dream. It's not the biggest most industrial unit and production shops have better stuff but for a home furniture maker, this should last a lifetime.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent machine I have owned one of these jointers for eight years. It has been one of the best investments I have ever made. I have run all kinds of woods thru this thing and it keeps on going. Carbide knives are a good idea
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfied - Excellent choice! Easy to setup up. Worked like a charm right out of the box. No tweaking required.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Jointer Like what others have posted, this unit is a little awkward to assemble without help. What could have helped me a bunch is if Ridgid would have spot welded most of the connecting nuts to the frame and have used hex head bolts instead of the carriage bolts provided. I do however, give kudos for the well thought out packaging of all the hardware pieces. It was nice not having to sort through 10 plastic bags looking for the correct nuts and bolts. Setting up the jointer took a little longer than what I expected. The operator’s manual states that the in feed and out feed tables are factory preset but I suggest that you double check the tables for co-planer and readjust the cutter knives as things do shift during shipping. I managed to get both feed tables co-planer within .001” by adjusting the in feed table gibs. This can be a little tricky because the way the gibs contact the dovetail slides. It doesn’t take much of a turn on the allen set screw for the table to move a bunch, but it can be done. After that setting the knives to the out feed table is pretty straight forward. Once set this jointer works great. I’ve only milled about 300 board feet of lumber so far but the wood is dead flat with no discernible snipe.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Jointer! Easy to assemble and use. Tight and square out of the box!
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jointer Easy to assemble although a bit heavy for one person.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fine piece of equipment The Ridgid jointer works flawlessly, and after about 50 board feet of surface planing, half white oak and half tight knot, pitchy Douglas fir, they're still sharp. I'd never used a jointer before and it was easy to get the hang of how to flatten boards to eliminate twist and bow. As others have noted, it is simple to assemble, just be careful of your back if you're lifting it by yourself. The one change I would make to the instructions would be to leave bolts loose until the last panel is in place. Each step says to tighten the bolts just installed, but the last panel of the stand skirt didn't quite fit into place. I had to loosen all the bolts and jiggle the whole thing to widen the gap between the stand legs, pop in the last panel, and then retighten all the bolts. Before the first use, I had to adjust the fence stop to 90 degrees and the knife height. The factory set the knives a little high. YouTube offers some good videos on how to gauge correct knife height. Measuring fence alignment with a square, I couldn't get consistent results, so instead I ran 4x4s through the jointer, adjusting the fence stop each time until the 4x4 came out exactly square. Do yourself a huge favor: After you clean the rust protective grease off the table and fence, take 5 minutes to wax them with some paste car wax. Making the surfaces slick vastly reduces your effort pushing boards over the planer. Periodically reapply to keep the table slippery. What a difference! Others have complained that the chip exit clogs. Mine hasn't once. I don't have a dust collection system, and I suspect the problem is folks haven't realized you need to slide the plastic vacuum hose adapter up out of the way if you're not using a vac system. With the adapter raised, the chips just zip down the flat chute unobstructed, out onto the floor. The infeed table on my jointer isn't exactly parallel to the outfeed table. At first I fretted over that because it doesn't seem to be adjustable, but then I realized the infeed table is just a support and the quality of your results depends only on the alignment between the the outfeed table, the knives, and the fence. This is a workhorse. It's hard to imagine how an industrial-brand tool could perform any better.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value For Money Maybe not for a top professional but certainly more than adequate and accurate enough for the hobbyist and average woodworker. Built well and very affordable compared to others in it's class.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer This is a great little jointer! Mine was pretty noisy and had a good bit of vibration until I installed a green link belt. Now it hums along very quietly and smoothly! Knives are easy to install and set. Quality machine and I couldnt work without it!
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good jointer! Relatively easy assembly right out of the box, just follow the directions to the t! 3 blade cutter head cuts through 2" oak like butter. The Lifetime Service Agreement is best warranty available. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-09-08
  • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_117
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT