Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

51 Questions125 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Provo, Utah
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2014
This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fort Smith, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
This unit performs it's tasks as a jointer and a planer. You might be looking for a "thickness planer" where the tool removes wood from a board to make the board a consistent thickness. A thickness planer is usually used after a traditional jointer has made one side of the board flat, letting a thickness planer make the opposite side flat and parallel.
+7points
10out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful3

Asked by
Puget Sound, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
Answer: 
You run boards broad side down on the table to smooth, flatten, and remove bow and twist. That's the planer function. You then turn the board on its edge and pass it over the knives to finish the jointing surface at 90 degrees. Then, if you have a separate machine called a "thickness planer", you run the board through to make the opposite side smooth and parallel to the first side.
+13points
17out of 21found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful4

Asked by
Central, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
The planer functions on one side of the wood (board) and then flip the board to plane the opposite side. Also it can only plane the width of the planer blades, so it is not made for wide stock.
-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a Read More
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a table saw. Read Less
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no planer on its own. The jointer removes wood so you could use it as a thickness planer. I would not, It does have an accurate gauge telling how much material your taking off of the piece. All jointers are called Jointer/Planers because of this.
-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at Read More
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at either jointing or planning.
A thickness planner where the piece is fed between rollers will not improve the straightness of the board. As you point out a thickness planner is designed to change the thickness of the work piece. If thickness is my issue I always use my thickness planner (with a 14 inch width capacity). If straightness is my issue I use the jointer/planner when possible. Read Less
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
The JP0610 jointer/planer is basically an edge jointer as you suggest. However, it can be used to reduce the thickness of narrow stock via multiple passes over the cutter head in a planning type application. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Department at 866-539-1710.
Thank you
RIDGID
-4points
5out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful9
 
6 answers

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dallas
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2016
I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 16, 2016
Answer: 
What matters is that it is one horse power. That is plenty. Do not compare it to cheap machines that have repulsion motors, you know, those motors that rev real high like in cheap planers, in all vacuums, hand drills, etc. Those motors are around 40 % efficiency, (that is why they blast out all kinds of heat) and so when they draw around 15 amps, they have the same horse power that this machine has with Read More
What matters is that it is one horse power. That is plenty. Do not compare it to cheap machines that have repulsion motors, you know, those motors that rev real high like in cheap planers, in all vacuums, hand drills, etc. Those motors are around 40 % efficiency, (that is why they blast out all kinds of heat) and so when they draw around 15 amps, they have the same horse power that this machine has with a 6 amp induction motor. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Las Vegas, NV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 9, 2016
Answer: 
Bob
I have had mine for a year now. I pretty much use, Oak and Cherry. I have never had mine slow down, blow a fuse or anything. That being said, if I'm taking a 4" wide cut I take off a lot less with each pass than I would with a 1" cut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The jointer comes prewired for 120volt. Instructions are included to rewire for 220 -240. Minimum 15 amp capacity is required to run it this way.
This has been a great jointer for me and I highly recommend it.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've had mine for a few years with no problems at all. Cleaned up a lot of different types of wood from pine to oak. Does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
BRONXVILLE, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments Read More
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments mentioned in the manual do not solve this for me.
If you can get this for a couple hundred bucks, DO IT! I paid $599 and the price has never changed. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Esconido, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set Read More
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set to remove a small amount of waste (a touch less than 1/16") because I like to sneak up on my measurements, and as a bonus, not have to worry about jamming up the dust collection.
Hope that helps Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2016
People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

September 8, 2016
Answer: 
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Mexico
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 26, 2016
Answer: 
No it is still available but only online. Blades are available.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
I'm not sure if the jointer was discontinued or not. I haven't heard that. I got mine thru home depo online. Great jointer and I highly recommend it.
As far as the replacement blades, I ordered mine from Powertec USA thru Amazon. Good blades for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
First, just went to Rigid web sight , jointer is not discontinued. Second, as far as the blades. U can go about anywhere and buy blades. I have had my jointer for about a year and the blades that came with jointer r still in good shape. I only use my jointer as a jointer not a planer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
May 3, 2016
Answer: 
JustAnt, I don't know if the unit has been discontinued, but when I bought mine I made an online purchase and the machine was delivered free to my local store. Replacement blades can be ordered online as well. I have had my machine for over 2 years, I use if frequently and it does a very good job For me it was a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2016
Answer: 
This is not a piece of equipment that Home Depot keeps in the stores. Order it online and they'll deliver it right to you.
I've been using mine every weekend and really like it. If you can afford a Powermatic, go that route. I would consider this jointer to be pro-sumer grade.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dolfan
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Rochester, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2015
Answer: 
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I bought a set 61/8 Freud knives from Amazon for this jointer. I bought them based on other reviews that the knives which come with the jointer are not that good. I have not installed them because the knives I received with the jointer work great for now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 10, 2013
Answer: 
I found replacement blades at several online sources, and my local woodworking supplier can sharpen them for me at a reasonable price.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Statesville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
Some users have found blades made by Freud to replace the OEM blades, and I think have done so via another website, one known primarily for selling books. My blades are new, and I have no experience with this yet.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

December 7, 2012
Answer: 
Directly from Ridgid or through Home Depot cuatomer service.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
You will need to contact your local Home Depot store for this information. They are the master distributors for this product and if they do not have them in the store they can special order them for you.
-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
2 3 4 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:53:30.200-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good jointer! Relatively easy assembly right out of the box, just follow the directions to the t! 3 blade cutter head cuts through 2" oak like butter. The Lifetime Service Agreement is best warranty available. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rigid tool as usual. Bought this jointer to edge the rough sawn lumber I built my barn with. Not a hiccup the whole build. Thanks rigid
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice Only had it for a short while but it was heavy but generally easy to put the stand together took about an hour. Works great, perfect cuts and pretty quiet. Factory settings were spot on. Definitely looks nice in the shop too.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it's supposed to. Not commercial grade, but for a home 120v joiner, this is a useful balance of size / accuracy / capacity / weight. Setting it up is not nearly as difficult as many posts describe. Beds and blades were dead-on from factory. Dialing the fence in to square was bothersome, but once it's square no need to fuss with it again. Nice if rolling stand or casters came in box, but anyone wanting or needing a joiner for their home shop should be able to add that on their own. Very nice addition to shop and would (quickly) purchase it again.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well, a little top-heavy This jointer planer works very well and was fairly straight forward to assemble. Tool is generally well made with sturdy components for the price. My main comment is that the base of this unit is a little under sized front to back and is a bit top-heavy. So you need to be very careful moving this unit to ensure you don't tip it over. It appears it is intended to be installed in a permanent location and not moved. Many reviews talk about putting casters on the unit instead of the supplied leveling feet. If you do this, it would be very easy to have the unit fall over if you are pushing it across a crack in a driveway or other uneven surface. I would recommend making some very sturdy brackets that mount the casters outboard (forward and back) of the leveling feet and then keeping the leveling feet.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The jointer is well made and does nice work. After unpacking and setting up the jointer (have help , its heavy) it took some adjustment to get the tables completely coplanar and the blades even with the outfeed table, but I'm pretty picky about these things. Once set up this machine has plenty of power and does nice work. A set of carbide blades would be a nice accessory. A deeper footprint on the stand would be nice too. I made a rolling stand for mine.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer should meet all your jointing needs. With its three blades it leaves a very smooth surface on your wood. It has a heavy duty motor with belt drive to the cutter cylinder. This is a heavy unit built with quality material. The waste output really works and is ready to connect to shop vacuum system. The depth gauge is really handy with a built in stop so you don't accidentally take too deep a cut. The decks are straight and log enough for most work.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid built and plenty of power I've been using this jointer for 5 years now and have had no problems with it. As much power as you can expect for a 120V jointer. I have used full width with hard oak and no issues. It cuts as deep as you would reasonably want without issues.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great piece of equiment a great product. reading other reviews,they were right 3hrs. assemble time.the directions could use a some adjusting on clarity.i am so impressed with this product a table saw might be my next purchase
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jointer Planer I bought this to use for home reno projects, because it was the best one I could find locally at my Home Depot. The Delta seemed too light. I like using the Ridgid - it works well for the projects I tried so far - jointing, chamfer, bevel and rabbit. I had to trick it to do the rabbit properly. The cast iron fence seems solid but it will deflect marginally if you really lean on it. Not good - I expect the fence and the bed to be rock solid. It clogs with waste quite easily. I made a connection to my ShopVac with duct tape when helped - still had to tap it regularly to keep the flow going. I got the Ridgid 4" hose and adpater part from a eBay vendor so that should help. Home Depot didn't even want to talk about ordering the Ridgid accessory. Strange. All in all I like the jointer/planer and wouldn't trade up to a $2,000 model - this is perfect for my needs.
Date published: 2006-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector. I don't. Does not even hesitate on a 6" maple board cutting 1/8 inch off. The only issue is that there is no blower for the shavings. It is kind of a big deal. I have to stop and clean out from under the cutter blades often. The only other issue I found is that the base is made out of steel that will not support rollers on its own. I had to add angle iron to support the casters I added for my convenience.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a planer -- except in the UK sense of the word I gave this four stars instead of five because of two things: 1) The lifetime warranty is a hassle to get, and 2) this is not a jointer planer combo. 1) It took about six weeks to get the LSG (Lifetime Service Agreement) completed; there were lots of ways to make a mistake and not get the agreement. First you have to KEEP THE UPC BARCODE OFF OF THE BOX (I think that is true to get any LSG on any Ridgid tool). Second you go to the web site to register the tool. The web side says if you provide the receipt code from the receipt you do not have to mail anything and you get your LSG. I did that. A few days later I received an email saying they could not verify my receipt and that I needed to send in a copy of the receipt, the original UPC code off of the box, and a copy of the email. This information had to be sent registered mail. I did that and a few weeks letter I got an email with a customer ID which is required to get any warranty service -- DO NOT LOSE YOUR CUSTOMER ID. Make a misstep and you end up with a three year warranty (if your receipt does not fade out). It is a hassle to get an LSG but I have gone through it with other Ridgid tools. Having a customer ID I have replaced a couple of rechargeable batteries. The new batteries had to go through a warranty process to be covered. 2) The US uses planers and jointers. The UK calls a jointer a planer. This is just a US jointer, not a combo. The directions refer to jointing the wide side of a board as planing -- not exactly how planers work. Generally you would joint the flat side of the board, use that side to joint the edge, then use a planer to plane the other side to correct thickness, and lastly cut the other edge on a table saw. Doing so, both edges are parallel and the board is the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Using the Ridgid jointer as a planer would not ensure a board was the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Having said that -- this is my first jointer -- so i am no expert. I will say I am impressed with the Ridgid jointer. It was a breeze to assemble and get up running. The infeed and outfeed tables are true and made of heavy cast iron. The motor is quiet. The manual is very clear. I have had the jointer for a couple of months and it has flawlessly created smooth joints. I am glad I bought it.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Jointer Great jointer. The blades were properly aligned from the factory. The table and fence needed some minor adjusting to get them dead-on, but that is to be expected. The assembly instructions were reasonably clear. One caution. The unit is very heavy and you will definitely need at least two persons to move the box and do the final assembly of the unit. Also, I would not try to run this unit on a 15 amp circuit. I run it on a 20 amp circuit and it does sometimes trip the breaker, usually upon start-up, but once after letting it run for a period of time. The start-up problems do seem to be diminishing as the unit wears in. It would be best to run it on a 30 amp circuit if you have one.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Home Depot sure..Rigid...No.. The online ordering, delivery and pickup at my local Home Depot went perfectly. I received progress emails. The unit arrived and performs adequately. The primary driver for my choice of Rigid over the comparable joiner was the lifetime service agreement, which is heavily marketed by Rigid but in fact quite elusive to obtain. This purchase transaction was conducted completely online using my Home Depot charge..After an attempt or two to register the tool and validate the lifetime service agreement, Rigid sent an email indicating they couldn't verify the transaction, grant the LSA. The email insisted i send a inch square snippet of the coffin-sized box, long gone to the recycler. If the lifetime service agreement is the major deciding factor in choosing a rigid tool...think twice.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm The instructions where straight forward and it took about an hour and 1/2 to assemble( watch the weight). I have had mine for about 8 years and other than sending the knives out to be sharpened I never have a problem with it. I usually keep the table set to 1/32 per pass to avoid tear out and snipe.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer for the money I have been researching jointers for a while and after reading all the reviews and watching You Tube videos, I went with the Rigid. I have used it 5 or 6 times now and it works great. Simple to put together and operate. I would certainly recommend this.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rusty beast! I preface this review by saying I take impeccable care of all of my tools. However, this Rigid planer is nearly impossible to keep rust-free. From the first time I used it, it began showing signs of rusting. My workshop is moisture controlled and all of my other tools are rust-free. The scrubbing of the cast iron platform is not only more time consuming than the time I actually use the thing, it is futile as it rusts within a week. There is no coating on the horizontal surfaces of the planer and this leads to the iron rusting. Even some of the set screws are rusted, making me wonder why stainless steel wasn't used. This is not a cheap tool, but it sure presents itself as cheap only weeks after ownership. The tailings of boards are constantly gouging even with the adjustments being made to alleviate this. It has become a 200 beast that gets little use as it will not adjust to perfect straight planed boards. I'm kicking myself for not getting the Delta.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RIDGID Jointer JP0610 I am newly retired and I am putting together the wood working shop I have always dreamed about. I looked at different Jointers from different companies and choose this RIDRIG model JP0610 from Home Depot. It came on a heavy skid, very well packed. Each part was wrapped in plastic packed in foam. All the screws and bolts were in a package very well marked. Because of the weight, it is almost too heavy for one person to handle. So if you have a friend, ask for help. When putting the base together, be sure to read and study the assembling diagram before starting and take your time to get it right the first time. The base is a little complicated to figure out the first attempt to assemble. But once you have the base assembled with the motor installed, the heavy part just sets on top with mounting bolts. This is where you will need help handling. After putting it all together, it is a real study unit. Easy to set fence to base for good cuts. I think I will have this around for a very long time. PLEASE READ ABOUT THE WARRANTY.... I chose this unit because of the many online reviews and the life time ownership warranty. The unit has a three year warranty, but if you register the unit with RIDGID you can get a life time warranty and this was the deciding factor why I went with RIDGID. But be advised, RIDGID requires verification of purchase. You will fill out an online warranty request and if Home Depot gave you the correct original Purchase receipt with the correct numbers and RIDGID can verifier the purchase, you will not have any trouble getting the Life Time Warranty. But if there is a problem and RIDGID cannot not verifier your purchase, below is what they are going to ask for. To complete the LSA registration process, mail the following to RIDGID within 90 days of purchase for processing and approval. 1. Original Receipt (recommended to make a copy for your records) 2. UPC cut out from the packaging 3. Print out of this online confirmation page showing your Customer ID number (C003594879) I ordered my unit online along with a RIDGID table saw, a RIDGID band saw, and a RIDGID planner. The table saw and Planner was in stock at Home Depot, so I went and picked them up, the other were back ordered. Home Depot gave me a purchase receipt for the two I picked up but was a copy, not the one with the orange Home Depot on it. Then when the other two came in, I went and picked them up. At this time all Home Depot could give me was a printed out sale order, not a receipt. I ask them for a sales receipt but they assured me all the numbers I would need is on the print out they gave me. When I filled for the Life time warranty, all was rejected except the planner. Now I have no original receipt, I will not be able to get the Life time warranty on my table saw, jointer, or the band saw. So if you decide to go with RIDGID, be sure to get an original orange Home Depot receipt at purchase time, and keep the UPC cut outs off the boxes. I had already discarded mine.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool Bought this 18 months ago. I have run a ton of Cherry, Red Oak and Poplar thru this and not one problem. I read a few reviews from other buyers and a few complained about not being set up ready to go out of the box. Now come on here, lets use a little common sense here. This thing has been shipped half way around the world, handled by who knows how many forklifts. Of course your going to have to fine tune it. I have yet to buy saw, planer etc. that didn't need to be fined tuned once I got it put together. It took about 1 1/2 hours to get it fine tuned. The fence was off a little and of all things the out feed table was a little off. Using straight edges and dial indicator's had it running perfect. Have not had to adjust it again, it has stayed true. This has been one of the best investment's yet. When putting it together it's best to have someone help setting jointer on stand. This thing is heavy
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ridgid planer Easy to assemble. Cast iron construction makes for solid feeling machine. Only adjustment I needed to make was to tweak the fence square with the table. Took less than 1 minute. Otherwise worked great out of the box. I was going to buy a bench top model but most of them looked like toys compared to the ridgid .so I spent the extra money to by a solid machine. Glad I did.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of equipment!! Extremely happy with this purchase...solidly built and worked to perfection right out of the box! Satin-smooth finish as a result of the three-blade cutterhead.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jointer Does what it's supposed to. As long as you know how to use it.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine The jointer was very easy to assemble per the provided instructions . It took about an hour and a half to assemble and test. I used it the day I received it on a large batch of oak, and some red cedar. This machine is remarkable in the quality of finished product it produces. I have checked the cutters on each time I have used it, and they have remained dead on. My only fault that I can find, is the four inch dust port doesn't come with a reducer to two and a half inch to match my Rigid shop vac dust system. This machine is heavy and a bit of a handful to assemble by yourself, and after doing this one, I would recommend a bit of help with it. This is an excellent machine, and well worth the money.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth its Weight in Gold Took a few hours to get it set up properly, but once that was completed, it worked well and as intended. Excellent value. Heavy, but that's what you want in a product like this because you know it isn't going to shift on you while planing/jointing.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very well built tool and should get a lot of years of use from it works better than expected and easy to put together and was ready to use. no set up adjustment was needed
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This jointer is sweet. Very smooth and cuts with precision. Sturdy machine.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! Really nice and built solid. One thing it could use is some castors for mobility though. It cuts really smooth and has worked great so far.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid product, but knife had a ding out of the box Product seems hefty and well built. Assembly instructions were decent. Having a 2nd person for assembly would be helpful, but I was able to assemble it by myself with some effort (hardest part was flipping it upright after assembling legs and motor: stack 2x4's under ends of plane surface to 2 feet or so, then pivot gently over onto feet). I have run some boards through it and it works as advertised. I have not tried beveled cuts, but the adjustable fence is solid and I expect to be able to adjust it as needed (has built in adjustable stop for several common angles). Got fence to 90' using a square. One of the knives had a ding in it right out of the box creating a little line on my boards, so I will have to work with homedepot online to work this out, hopefully they can replace it under warranty without too much aggravation. The casting of the table was not perfect, but the few little divots are small enough to not affects the tool's performance.
Date published: 2014-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First Rigid Tool Product assembly instructions are difficult and in a few cases backwards which requires undoing then redoing correctly. Parts are not well labeled and it requires considerable study to determine what goes where. Fortunately there are not many parts. While one person can assemble it, two would be better. My biggest complaint is in trying to register for the lifetime warranty. Not sure what their relationship with Home Depot is but they want documentation that I do not have. There are really no instructions on how to use the device. Even though I don't really need instructions, it would have been nice to show my son.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy With This jointer Simple to assemble. Needed no adjustments. The blades and the fence angles were spot on right out of the box, and the tables were co-planer. I was a bit worried because the box was destroyed and the foam padding was crushed and broken when I received the jointer, however nothing inside the box was even scratched. Powerful and easy to use. The only complaint I could make is that the dust chute doesn't empty well. That's minor compared to the overall quality.
Date published: 2015-07-03
  • y_2017, m_1, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT