Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$599.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$369.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$649.00 /box
Name 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Corded Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Heavy-Duty 2-Speed Thickness Planer with Knives and Tables
Brand RIDGID RIDGID DEWALT DEWALT
Ratings (296) (136) (36) (104)
Amperage (amps) 15 6 15 15
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
Asked by: Jeff
This machine is NOT a jointer/planer, it is a JOINTER and that is all it is!
Answered by: garriv777
Date published: 2017-03-15

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
Asked by: bob
Answer is on page 7 of instruction manual. It is 12 amp on 110v, and 6 amp on 220v. Only Ridgid could explain why they ship it wired for 110v, but list amps for 220v. I was also very leery of a 6 amp jointer.
Answered by: mikey67
Date published: 2017-03-09

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
Asked by: JustAnt
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-02-24

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
Answered by: scott
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_67
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 77ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 136.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Purchased this jointer 5 months ago and am very happy with it. Assembly was easy and knives and tables were properly adjusted out of the box. Cut quality with sharp knives is very good in all types of wood I have tried. Power is adequate for up to 1/16th inch full width cut in hard maple. Fence adjustment is tedious with lots of trial and error and the fence does not maintain perfect square after sliding it forward or backward. However, for the price this is not unexpected. This tool remains a very good value for the money. It does come in one box but Home Depot was nice enough to load it in my truck and it can be carried in pieces by one individual.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer is solid. The outfeed table was dead-on with the blade out of the box. The cuts are super smooth, almost like glass, the jointed edge has a reflection to it, it's so smooth. Would definitely reccomend. I wish HD stocked these in store. The dust chute will clog if you don't have a dust collection system attached.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Planer and joiner work great. The only issue is the base cabinet. I installed a set of roller canisters purchased from home depot to make the unit more mobile. However, the cabinet mounting points would not support the mobility. To correct the problem I purchased a furniture dolly, removed the canisters, and bolted the base to the dolly.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built and functions beautifully. The machine is heavy as a tank so get help to move it. Assembly takes time, be prepared to spend 3-4 hours on it, and yes I'm mechanically competent but if you want to do a good job that's what it will take. Once assembled, everything worked like a charm. Everything was perfectly aligned and functioned exactly as you'd want. The only thing that was off was one small part that was not aligned straight, two turns of a screw driver fixed it. Net result, the joiner works like a dream. It's not the biggest most industrial unit and production shops have better stuff but for a home furniture maker, this should last a lifetime.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A valuable tool for the wood workshop. Heavy duty and stands solid. This jointer was easy to assemble, working alone I had this working in about 3 hours. The adjustments were also easy and good to go right from the box.I have since run several boards, red oak,birch,pine,and basswood, all from 2 inch wide to 6 inch wide.plenty of power but dedicate that one circuit to this tool.Retired for two years, I am a hobby builder with a chainsaw mill. LSA is about impossible to achieve.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer should meet all your jointing needs. With its three blades it leaves a very smooth surface on your wood. It has a heavy duty motor with belt drive to the cutter cylinder. This is a heavy unit built with quality material. The waste output really works and is ready to connect to shop vacuum system. The depth gauge is really handy with a built in stop so you don't accidentally take too deep a cut. The decks are straight and log enough for most work.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer This is a great jointer. It's solid, well built, and fairly precise. I like the included push blocks
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good Set up relatively easy and was coplaner out of the box. Good size and well made machine.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice! Really nice jointer. Love it it doesn't take a lot of room.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ridgid jointer B sure to Align! And connect a vac or it will clog.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fine piece of equipment The Ridgid jointer works flawlessly, and after about 50 board feet of surface planing, half white oak and half tight knot, pitchy Douglas fir, they're still sharp. I'd never used a jointer before and it was easy to get the hang of how to flatten boards to eliminate twist and bow. As others have noted, it is simple to assemble, just be careful of your back if you're lifting it by yourself. The one change I would make to the instructions would be to leave bolts loose until the last panel is in place. Each step says to tighten the bolts just installed, but the last panel of the stand skirt didn't quite fit into place. I had to loosen all the bolts and jiggle the whole thing to widen the gap between the stand legs, pop in the last panel, and then retighten all the bolts. Before the first use, I had to adjust the fence stop to 90 degrees and the knife height. The factory set the knives a little high. YouTube offers some good videos on how to gauge correct knife height. Measuring fence alignment with a square, I couldn't get consistent results, so instead I ran 4x4s through the jointer, adjusting the fence stop each time until the 4x4 came out exactly square. Do yourself a huge favor: After you clean the rust protective grease off the table and fence, take 5 minutes to wax them with some paste car wax. Making the surfaces slick vastly reduces your effort pushing boards over the planer. Periodically reapply to keep the table slippery. What a difference! Others have complained that the chip exit clogs. Mine hasn't once. I don't have a dust collection system, and I suspect the problem is folks haven't realized you need to slide the plastic vacuum hose adapter up out of the way if you're not using a vac system. With the adapter raised, the chips just zip down the flat chute unobstructed, out onto the floor. The infeed table on my jointer isn't exactly parallel to the outfeed table. At first I fretted over that because it doesn't seem to be adjustable, but then I realized the infeed table is just a support and the quality of your results depends only on the alignment between the the outfeed table, the knives, and the fence. This is a workhorse. It's hard to imagine how an industrial-brand tool could perform any better.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer This is a great little jointer! Mine was pretty noisy and had a good bit of vibration until I installed a green link belt. Now it hums along very quietly and smoothly! Knives are easy to install and set. Quality machine and I couldnt work without it!
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rigid tool as usual. Bought this jointer to edge the rough sawn lumber I built my barn with. Not a hiccup the whole build. Thanks rigid
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice Only had it for a short while but it was heavy but generally easy to put the stand together took about an hour. Works great, perfect cuts and pretty quiet. Factory settings were spot on. Definitely looks nice in the shop too.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine The jointer was very easy to assemble per the provided instructions . It took about an hour and a half to assemble and test. I used it the day I received it on a large batch of oak, and some red cedar. This machine is remarkable in the quality of finished product it produces. I have checked the cutters on each time I have used it, and they have remained dead on. My only fault that I can find, is the four inch dust port doesn't come with a reducer to two and a half inch to match my Rigid shop vac dust system. This machine is heavy and a bit of a handful to assemble by yourself, and after doing this one, I would recommend a bit of help with it. This is an excellent machine, and well worth the money.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it's supposed to. Not commercial grade, but for a home 120v joiner, this is a useful balance of size / accuracy / capacity / weight. Setting it up is not nearly as difficult as many posts describe. Beds and blades were dead-on from factory. Dialing the fence in to square was bothersome, but once it's square no need to fuss with it again. Nice if rolling stand or casters came in box, but anyone wanting or needing a joiner for their home shop should be able to add that on their own. Very nice addition to shop and would (quickly) purchase it again.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well, a little top-heavy This jointer planer works very well and was fairly straight forward to assemble. Tool is generally well made with sturdy components for the price. My main comment is that the base of this unit is a little under sized front to back and is a bit top-heavy. So you need to be very careful moving this unit to ensure you don't tip it over. It appears it is intended to be installed in a permanent location and not moved. Many reviews talk about putting casters on the unit instead of the supplied leveling feet. If you do this, it would be very easy to have the unit fall over if you are pushing it across a crack in a driveway or other uneven surface. I would recommend making some very sturdy brackets that mount the casters outboard (forward and back) of the leveling feet and then keeping the leveling feet.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RIDGID Jointer JP0610 I am newly retired and I am putting together the wood working shop I have always dreamed about. I looked at different Jointers from different companies and choose this RIDRIG model JP0610 from Home Depot. It came on a heavy skid, very well packed. Each part was wrapped in plastic packed in foam. All the screws and bolts were in a package very well marked. Because of the weight, it is almost too heavy for one person to handle. So if you have a friend, ask for help. When putting the base together, be sure to read and study the assembling diagram before starting and take your time to get it right the first time. The base is a little complicated to figure out the first attempt to assemble. But once you have the base assembled with the motor installed, the heavy part just sets on top with mounting bolts. This is where you will need help handling. After putting it all together, it is a real study unit. Easy to set fence to base for good cuts. I think I will have this around for a very long time. PLEASE READ ABOUT THE WARRANTY.... I chose this unit because of the many online reviews and the life time ownership warranty. The unit has a three year warranty, but if you register the unit with RIDGID you can get a life time warranty and this was the deciding factor why I went with RIDGID. But be advised, RIDGID requires verification of purchase. You will fill out an online warranty request and if Home Depot gave you the correct original Purchase receipt with the correct numbers and RIDGID can verifier the purchase, you will not have any trouble getting the Life Time Warranty. But if there is a problem and RIDGID cannot not verifier your purchase, below is what they are going to ask for. To complete the LSA registration process, mail the following to RIDGID within 90 days of purchase for processing and approval. 1. Original Receipt (recommended to make a copy for your records) 2. UPC cut out from the packaging 3. Print out of this online confirmation page showing your Customer ID number (C003594879) I ordered my unit online along with a RIDGID table saw, a RIDGID band saw, and a RIDGID planner. The table saw and Planner was in stock at Home Depot, so I went and picked them up, the other were back ordered. Home Depot gave me a purchase receipt for the two I picked up but was a copy, not the one with the orange Home Depot on it. Then when the other two came in, I went and picked them up. At this time all Home Depot could give me was a printed out sale order, not a receipt. I ask them for a sales receipt but they assured me all the numbers I would need is on the print out they gave me. When I filled for the Life time warranty, all was rejected except the planner. Now I have no original receipt, I will not be able to get the Life time warranty on my table saw, jointer, or the band saw. So if you decide to go with RIDGID, be sure to get an original orange Home Depot receipt at purchase time, and keep the UPC cut outs off the boxes. I had already discarded mine.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The jointer is well made and does nice work. After unpacking and setting up the jointer (have help , its heavy) it took some adjustment to get the tables completely coplanar and the blades even with the outfeed table, but I'm pretty picky about these things. Once set up this machine has plenty of power and does nice work. A set of carbide blades would be a nice accessory. A deeper footprint on the stand would be nice too. I made a rolling stand for mine.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid built and plenty of power I've been using this jointer for 5 years now and have had no problems with it. As much power as you can expect for a 120V jointer. I have used full width with hard oak and no issues. It cuts as deep as you would reasonably want without issues.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value For Money Maybe not for a top professional but certainly more than adequate and accurate enough for the hobbyist and average woodworker. Built well and very affordable compared to others in it's class.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great machine It is a great machine I love ridged tools. It was delivered later than when expected. With Home Depot online orders if you are a veteran you do not get the discount.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jointer Planer I bought this to use for home reno projects, because it was the best one I could find locally at my Home Depot. The Delta seemed too light. I like using the Ridgid - it works well for the projects I tried so far - jointing, chamfer, bevel and rabbit. I had to trick it to do the rabbit properly. The cast iron fence seems solid but it will deflect marginally if you really lean on it. Not good - I expect the fence and the bed to be rock solid. It clogs with waste quite easily. I made a connection to my ShopVac with duct tape when helped - still had to tap it regularly to keep the flow going. I got the Ridgid 4" hose and adpater part from a eBay vendor so that should help. Home Depot didn't even want to talk about ordering the Ridgid accessory. Strange. All in all I like the jointer/planer and wouldn't trade up to a $2,000 model - this is perfect for my needs.
Date published: 2006-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great piece of equiment a great product. reading other reviews,they were right 3hrs. assemble time.the directions could use a some adjusting on clarity.i am so impressed with this product a table saw might be my next purchase
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Home Depot sure..Rigid...No.. The online ordering, delivery and pickup at my local Home Depot went perfectly. I received progress emails. The unit arrived and performs adequately. The primary driver for my choice of Rigid over the comparable joiner was the lifetime service agreement, which is heavily marketed by Rigid but in fact quite elusive to obtain. This purchase transaction was conducted completely online using my Home Depot charge..After an attempt or two to register the tool and validate the lifetime service agreement, Rigid sent an email indicating they couldn't verify the transaction, grant the LSA. The email insisted i send a inch square snippet of the coffin-sized box, long gone to the recycler. If the lifetime service agreement is the major deciding factor in choosing a rigid tool...think twice.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector. I don't. Does not even hesitate on a 6" maple board cutting 1/8 inch off. The only issue is that there is no blower for the shavings. It is kind of a big deal. I have to stop and clean out from under the cutter blades often. The only other issue I found is that the base is made out of steel that will not support rollers on its own. I had to add angle iron to support the casters I added for my convenience.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rusty beast! I preface this review by saying I take impeccable care of all of my tools. However, this Rigid planer is nearly impossible to keep rust-free. From the first time I used it, it began showing signs of rusting. My workshop is moisture controlled and all of my other tools are rust-free. The scrubbing of the cast iron platform is not only more time consuming than the time I actually use the thing, it is futile as it rusts within a week. There is no coating on the horizontal surfaces of the planer and this leads to the iron rusting. Even some of the set screws are rusted, making me wonder why stainless steel wasn't used. This is not a cheap tool, but it sure presents itself as cheap only weeks after ownership. The tailings of boards are constantly gouging even with the adjustments being made to alleviate this. It has become a 200 beast that gets little use as it will not adjust to perfect straight planed boards. I'm kicking myself for not getting the Delta.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good jointer! Relatively easy assembly right out of the box, just follow the directions to the t! 3 blade cutter head cuts through 2" oak like butter. The Lifetime Service Agreement is best warranty available. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a planer -- except in the UK sense of the word I gave this four stars instead of five because of two things: 1) The lifetime warranty is a hassle to get, and 2) this is not a jointer planer combo. 1) It took about six weeks to get the LSG (Lifetime Service Agreement) completed; there were lots of ways to make a mistake and not get the agreement. First you have to KEEP THE UPC BARCODE OFF OF THE BOX (I think that is true to get any LSG on any Ridgid tool). Second you go to the web site to register the tool. The web side says if you provide the receipt code from the receipt you do not have to mail anything and you get your LSG. I did that. A few days later I received an email saying they could not verify my receipt and that I needed to send in a copy of the receipt, the original UPC code off of the box, and a copy of the email. This information had to be sent registered mail. I did that and a few weeks letter I got an email with a customer ID which is required to get any warranty service -- DO NOT LOSE YOUR CUSTOMER ID. Make a misstep and you end up with a three year warranty (if your receipt does not fade out). It is a hassle to get an LSG but I have gone through it with other Ridgid tools. Having a customer ID I have replaced a couple of rechargeable batteries. The new batteries had to go through a warranty process to be covered. 2) The US uses planers and jointers. The UK calls a jointer a planer. This is just a US jointer, not a combo. The directions refer to jointing the wide side of a board as planing -- not exactly how planers work. Generally you would joint the flat side of the board, use that side to joint the edge, then use a planer to plane the other side to correct thickness, and lastly cut the other edge on a table saw. Doing so, both edges are parallel and the board is the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Using the Ridgid jointer as a planer would not ensure a board was the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Having said that -- this is my first jointer -- so i am no expert. I will say I am impressed with the Ridgid jointer. It was a breeze to assemble and get up running. The infeed and outfeed tables are true and made of heavy cast iron. The motor is quiet. The manual is very clear. I have had the jointer for a couple of months and it has flawlessly created smooth joints. I am glad I bought it.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice but.... Very good quality, easy to assemble with two people needed for lifting. I added wheels instead of the legs as suggested by others but quickly found out I needed to add an additional wood support that extended beyond the base because installing the wheels in the original leg holes felt very unstable and started to stress the metal and welds in the base leg area. After adding the wood all is golden and allowed me to move the wheels beyond the base, very stable. The only complaint I have are the blades started to get debits shortly during the first use, even though using a soft wood and moving it across the plate, nothing in the wood just pre-primered (very strange). I haven't had time to check out the problem yet. It may be a human error thing we'll see.
Date published: 2016-02-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_136
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT