0648846050447

RIDGID

Model # JP0610

Internet # 202269174

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

$599.00 /each
  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # JP0610

Internet # 202269174

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Maximum cut depth (in.) 
.125 
Product Depth (in.) 
19.5 
Product Height (in.) 
31.25 
Product Width (in.) 
45.5 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
Bench & Stationary Tool Type 
Planer 
Bench or Stationary 
Stationary 
Blade count 
Color Family 
Orange 
Maximum Board Thickness 
6.13 in 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
3450 
Minimum cut depth (in.) 
.03125 
Power Tool Product Type 
Bench & Stationary 
Product Weight (lb.) 
208 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year. Lifetime Service agreement with tool registration 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Brand: RIDGID
Price: $500 - $600
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Amperage (amps): 6
Search
43 Questions103 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Provo, Utah
Read all my Q&A
January 3, 2014
This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fort Smith, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
This unit performs it's tasks as a jointer and a planer. You might be looking for a "thickness planer" where the tool removes wood from a board to make the board a consistent thickness. A thickness planer is usually used after a traditional jointer has made one side of the board flat, letting a thickness planer make the opposite side flat and parallel.
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Puget Sound, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 8, 2014
Answer: 
You run boards broad side down on the table to smooth, flatten, and remove bow and twist. That's the planer function. You then turn the board on its edge and pass it over the knives to finish the jointing surface at 90 degrees. Then, if you have a separate machine called a "thickness planer", you run the board through to make the opposite side smooth and parallel to the first side.
+14points
15out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful1

Asked by
Central, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2014
Answer: 
The planer functions on one side of the wood (board) and then flip the board to plane the opposite side. Also it can only plane the width of the planer blades, so it is not made for wide stock.
-8points
1out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful9

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a Read More
Most Jointers these days are referred to as Jointer/Planers because they can be used to plane the first side of the material flat. Of course to square up a piece of stock you would then use the jointer to square one edge to the first flat surface the run it through a thickness planer to make the other side flat and parallel to the first flat side. The last edge can then be made parallel to the first on a table saw. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no planer on its own. The jointer removes wood so you could use it as a thickness planer. I would not, It does have an accurate gauge telling how much material your taking off of the piece. All jointers are called Jointer/Planers because of this.
-8points
0out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful8

Asked by
Weatherford TX
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at Read More
The beauty of having a jointer/planer with a long bed is that it can be used to improve the straightness of the work pieces in either a jointing operation or a planinng operation. The intended function of the tool. To plane simply turn the boad flat on the bed and feed it across the knives. This tool has a 6 1/8 inch bed so planning is limited to boards no wider that 6 inches. This tool works great at either jointing or planning.
A thickness planner where the piece is fed between rollers will not improve the straightness of the board. As you point out a thickness planner is designed to change the thickness of the work piece. If thickness is my issue I always use my thickness planner (with a 14 inch width capacity). If straightness is my issue I use the jointer/planner when possible. Read Less
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2014
Answer: 
The JP0610 jointer/planer is basically an edge jointer as you suggest. However, it can be used to reduce the thickness of narrow stock via multiple passes over the cutter head in a planning type application. If you have further questions please contact our Technical Support Department at 866-539-1710.
Thank you
RIDGID
-3points
4out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful7
 
6 answers

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dolfan
November 4, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Rochester, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 30, 2015
Answer: 
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I bought a set 61/8 Freud knives from Amazon for this jointer. I bought them based on other reviews that the knives which come with the jointer are not that good. I have not installed them because the knives I received with the jointer work great for now.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lincoln, NE, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 10, 2013
Answer: 
I found replacement blades at several online sources, and my local woodworking supplier can sharpen them for me at a reasonable price.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Statesville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2013
Answer: 
Some users have found blades made by Freud to replace the OEM blades, and I think have done so via another website, one known primarily for selling books. My blades are new, and I have no experience with this yet.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

December 7, 2012
Answer: 
Directly from Ridgid or through Home Depot cuatomer service.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
You will need to contact your local Home Depot store for this information. They are the master distributors for this product and if they do not have them in the store they can special order them for you.
-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
 
5 answers

Lower price

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
Irvine, CA
Read all my Q&A
December 28, 2013
Hi, I've been researching reviews and I am seeing folks (on Amazon) say they bought this unit at very discounted rates (e.g., $300 neighborhood) from what is currently offered ($550). Can HD confirm the historical prices of this unit? Assuming those reviewers were truthful in their recollection, why the premium cost? Any chance HD would honor an historical lower price? Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
North Arkansas
Read all my Q&A
October 20, 2015
Answer: 
Funny how HD chimed in with the "identical item" speech. They know full well that they are one of a very few dealers for Ridgid.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Brunswick, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
If you check Amazon the price is $799.00 plus shipping. It is not an Amazon Prime item. The price at Home Depot is $549 with free shipping to a store. This is a great jointer/planer. The only issue is it does not have a fan to push the sawdust out. You need really good suction on your dust collector or else it comes out at the blade.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

January 3, 2014
Answer: 
@Chris, based on internet review searches, it appears as though a few years ago HD decided to no longer carry these in stores and these went on massive clearance. The right time to buy would have been about 2-3 years ago. Another question was asked on this forum about why the price has shot up 33% over the last few years.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
I never saw it for that price anywhere on the web. I looked for about a month so I don't have a long historical basis but I never saw it that cheap and Home Depot was cheapest due to no shipping cost.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

December 30, 2013
Answer: 
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Here is a description of our Price Matching policy: *If you find a current lower price on an identical, in-stock item from any local retailer, we will match the price and beat it by 10%. Excludes special orders, bid pricing, volume discounts, open-box merchandise, labor and installation, sales tax, rebate and free offers, typographical errors and Read More
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Here is a description of our Price Matching policy: *If you find a current lower price on an identical, in-stock item from any local retailer, we will match the price and beat it by 10%. Excludes special orders, bid pricing, volume discounts, open-box merchandise, labor and installation, sales tax, rebate and free offers, typographical errors and online purchases.* For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376. Read Less
-12points
2out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful14
 
4 answers

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

This question is from 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
Asked by
dallas
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2016
I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Altoona, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
The jointer comes prewired for 120volt. Instructions are included to rewire for 220 -240. Minimum 15 amp capacity is required to run it this way.
This has been a great jointer for me and I highly recommend it.
Good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've had mine for a few years with no problems at all. Cleaned up a lot of different types of wood from pine to oak. Does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
BRONXVILLE, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 16, 2016
Answer: 
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments Read More
I've never had any issues with it being under powered. Although I commonly use it for simple jointing/planing, I suspect it could be sufficient to handle the burden of a hardwood up to about five inches in width. After that, I think this tool is out of its league. I have had mine for 10 years now and the only complaint I have is the way it gouges at the tail end of a project/piece. All of the adjustments mentioned in the manual do not solve this for me.
If you can get this for a couple hundred bucks, DO IT! I paid $599 and the price has never changed. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Esconido, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set Read More
I'll let someone else respond with technical specifications on power ratings. I can tell you that I've had this jointer for several months and I typically only work with Maple, Purpleheart, Wengi, Walnut, and a few other exotic hardwoods and I've not had a single problem with this jointer.
I've run pieces of Wengi through that are 6" wide and 36" long without issue. To be clear, I have my jointer set to remove a small amount of waste (a touch less than 1/16") because I like to sneak up on my measurements, and as a bonus, not have to worry about jamming up the dust collection.
Hope that helps Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-06-25 T15:28:02.229-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 512ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid built and plenty of power I've been using this jointer for 5 years now and have had no problems with it. As much power as you can expect for a 120V jointer. I have used full width with hard oak and no issues. It cuts as deep as you would reasonably want without issues. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Tool Just purchased this last month and have been putting through tthe lumber to it. So far cuts are great and dust collection is even better. Compared to a Jet at $200 more, you cannot beat the price. This is the same unit as a Jet with Ridgids version of hardware. The jointer went together fast and when I checked the tables for flat, I found them to be perfect. Less than .0015" through the length, side to side and crossways on each table. Tables were co-planer to within .001". Knives were set pefect. Did not have to adjust knives. Only thing that needed adjustment was the outfeed table. Onece set, set jointer infeed table to now more than 1/32" cut and locked her down. Honed my technique and produced some flat and squre edged boards March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A fine piece of equipment The Ridgid jointer works flawlessly, and after about 50 board feet of surface planing, half white oak and half tight knot, pitchy Douglas fir, they're still sharp. I'd never used a jointer before and it was easy to get the hang of how to flatten boards to eliminate twist and bow. As others have noted, it is simple to assemble, just be careful of your back if you're lifting it by yourself. The one change I would make to the instructions would be to leave bolts loose until the last panel is in place. Each step says to tighten the bolts just installed, but the last panel of the stand skirt didn't quite fit into place. I had to loosen all the bolts and jiggle the whole thing to widen the gap between the stand legs, pop in the last panel, and then retighten all the bolts. Before the first use, I had to adjust the fence stop to 90 degrees and the knife height. The factory set the knives a little high. YouTube offers some good videos on how to gauge correct knife height. Measuring fence alignment with a square, I couldn't get consistent results, so instead I ran 4x4s through the jointer, adjusting the fence stop each time until the 4x4 came out exactly square. Do yourself a huge favor: After you clean the rust protective grease off the table and fence, take 5 minutes to wax them with some paste car wax. Making the surfaces slick vastly reduces your effort pushing boards over the planer. Periodically reapply to keep the table slippery. What a difference! Others have complained that the chip exit clogs. Mine hasn't once. I don't have a dust collection system, and I suspect the problem is folks haven't realized you need to slide the plastic vacuum hose adapter up out of the way if you're not using a vac system. With the adapter raised, the chips just zip down the flat chute unobstructed, out onto the floor. The infeed table on my jointer isn't exactly parallel to the outfeed table. At first I fretted over that because it doesn't seem to be adjustable, but then I realized the infeed table is just a support and the quality of your results depends only on the alignment between the the outfeed table, the knives, and the fence. This is a workhorse. It's hard to imagine how an industrial-brand tool could perform any better. December 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Jointer This jointer should meet all your jointing needs. With its three blades it leaves a very smooth surface on your wood. It has a heavy duty motor with belt drive to the cutter cylinder. This is a heavy unit built with quality material. The waste output really works and is ready to connect to shop vacuum system. The depth gauge is really handy with a built in stop so you don't accidentally take too deep a cut. The decks are straight and log enough for most work. March 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cuts well ; came square ; poor dust collection Just used for the first major projects. Straight and true boards. The only cons are assembly and dust collection. If you have big forearms and follow the directions, you will have a hard time putting the feed table to the base. You will need two people to assemble. Wood chips build up in the dust collection chute and I have to clear it out with a stick every couple of boards. otherwise chips get launched out of the infeed. Even with the dust collection attached to the chute the chips build up. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great piece of equiment a great product. reading other reviews,they were right 3hrs. assemble time.the directions could use a some adjusting on clarity.i am so impressed with this product a table saw might be my next purchase September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good purchaxe Because of the weight, help will be needed to assemble, Worked great once assembled September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by works well, a little top-heavy This jointer planer works very well and was fairly straight forward to assemble. Tool is generally well made with sturdy components for the price. My main comment is that the base of this unit is a little under sized front to back and is a bit top-heavy. So you need to be very careful moving this unit to ensure you don't tip it over. It appears it is intended to be installed in a permanent location and not moved. Many reviews talk about putting casters on the unit instead of the supplied leveling feet. If you do this, it would be very easy to have the unit fall over if you are pushing it across a crack in a driveway or other uneven surface. I would recommend making some very sturdy brackets that mount the casters outboard (forward and back) of the leveling feet and then keeping the leveling feet. September 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool, works perfectly. Very easy to setup and install, took very little configuration and is also easy to maintain. Solid extended fence is great for long pieces, jointed over 1000 peices of wood and is still working great. November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it... I've been wanting a jointer for a long time. After countless hours searching Craigslist for a used one, I finally gave up and bought a new one. Assembly was fairly simple and it operates much better than I ever expected. Could kick myself for not purchasing it sooner. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ridid 6 1/2 inch jointer I set this up, with a little help lifting, easy by instructions and it was ready to go immediately. Joints and planed boards well with no resetting of knives or other adjustments needed. It does the job, I needed it to do without hesitation. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector Awesome Jointer. Must have good suction on Dust collector. I don't. Does not even hesitate on a 6" maple board cutting 1/8 inch off. The only issue is that there is no blower for the shavings. It is kind of a big deal. I have to stop and clean out from under the cutter blades often. The only other issue I found is that the base is made out of steel that will not support rollers on its own. I had to add angle iron to support the casters I added for my convenience. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ridgid's typical great quality I haven't had the opportunity to run this jointer through all of it's paces, but it's worked excellently for what I have thrown at it. It was well packed in the box, and assembly was easy enough for something that weighs so much. Tensioning the drive belt almost took an act of congress, and I'm not sure that I've got it properly tensioned yet, but the belt doesn't seem to be slipping. The included push blocks and setup gauges are a big plus for me, since I really didn't even know they would be included! January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well built machine I haven't had this jointer very long but so far it works great. The important parts are cast iron, and the base in heavy gauge sheet metal so everything is solid. The packaging was also good. The box was fairly dinged up but there wasn't any damage to the parts inside. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The jointer is well made and does nice work. After unpacking and setting up the jointer (have help , its heavy) it took some adjustment to get the tables completely coplanar and the blades even with the outfeed table, but I'm pretty picky about these things. Once set up this machine has plenty of power and does nice work. A set of carbide blades would be a nice accessory. A deeper footprint on the stand would be nice too. I made a rolling stand for mine. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product I love Ridgid products. Great value for the price. I love the lifetime warranty. April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a planer -- except in the UK sense of the word I gave this four stars instead of five because of two things: 1) The lifetime warranty is a hassle to get, and 2) this is not a jointer planer combo. 1) It took about six weeks to get the LSG (Lifetime Service Agreement) completed; there were lots of ways to make a mistake and not get the agreement. First you have to KEEP THE UPC BARCODE OFF OF THE BOX (I think that is true to get any LSG on any Ridgid tool). Second you go to the web site to register the tool. The web side says if you provide the receipt code from the receipt you do not have to mail anything and you get your LSG. I did that. A few days later I received an email saying they could not verify my receipt and that I needed to send in a copy of the receipt, the original UPC code off of the box, and a copy of the email. This information had to be sent registered mail. I did that and a few weeks letter I got an email with a customer ID which is required to get any warranty service -- DO NOT LOSE YOUR CUSTOMER ID. Make a misstep and you end up with a three year warranty (if your receipt does not fade out). It is a hassle to get an LSG but I have gone through it with other Ridgid tools. Having a customer ID I have replaced a couple of rechargeable batteries. The new batteries had to go through a warranty process to be covered. 2) The US uses planers and jointers. The UK calls a jointer a planer. This is just a US jointer, not a combo. The directions refer to jointing the wide side of a board as planing -- not exactly how planers work. Generally you would joint the flat side of the board, use that side to joint the edge, then use a planer to plane the other side to correct thickness, and lastly cut the other edge on a table saw. Doing so, both edges are parallel and the board is the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Using the Ridgid jointer as a planer would not ensure a board was the same thickness across the whole face of the board. Having said that -- this is my first jointer -- so i am no expert. I will say I am impressed with the Ridgid jointer. It was a breeze to assemble and get up running. The infeed and outfeed tables are true and made of heavy cast iron. The motor is quiet. The manual is very clear. I have had the jointer for a couple of months and it has flawlessly created smooth joints. I am glad I bought it. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Jointer This jointer is solid. The outfeed table was dead-on with the blade out of the box. The cuts are super smooth, almost like glass, the jointed edge has a reflection to it, it's so smooth. Would definitely reccomend. I wish HD stocked these in store. The dust chute will clog if you don't have a dust collection system attached. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth its Weight in Gold Took a few hours to get it set up properly, but once that was completed, it worked well and as intended. Excellent value. Heavy, but that's what you want in a product like this because you know it isn't going to shift on you while planing/jointing. September 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice Only had it for a short while but it was heavy but generally easy to put the stand together took about an hour. Works great, perfect cuts and pretty quiet. Factory settings were spot on. Definitely looks nice in the shop too. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very well built tool and should get a lot of years of use from it works better than expected and easy to put together and was ready to use. no set up adjustment was needed May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This jointer is sweet. Very smooth and cuts with precision. Sturdy machine. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Jointer Planer I bought this to use for home reno projects, because it was the best one I could find locally at my Home Depot. The Delta seemed too light. I like using the Ridgid - it works well for the projects I tried so far - jointing, chamfer, bevel and rabbit. I had to trick it to do the rabbit properly. The cast iron fence seems solid but it will deflect marginally if you really lean on it. Not good - I expect the fence and the bed to be rock solid. It clogs with waste quite easily. I made a connection to my ShopVac with duct tape when helped - still had to tap it regularly to keep the flow going. I got the Ridgid 4" hose and adpater part from a eBay vendor so that should help. Home Depot didn't even want to talk about ordering the Ridgid accessory. Strange. All in all I like the jointer/planer and wouldn't trade up to a $2,000 model - this is perfect for my needs. November 13, 2006
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product I purchased this joiner to build furniture out of rough lumber (pine). Assembly was easy and it was adjusted almost perfectly right out of the box. I lost the fence handle and got a replacement from Ridgid in two weeks, so the service is very good. At this price (529$ plus a 100$ discount card) with the lifetime warranty it is hard to go wrong here. November 20, 2006
  • 2016-06-28 T14:38:01.280-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_92, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_202269174, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 144ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT