Model # JP0610

Internet #202269174

RIDGID 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer
0648846050447

RIDGID

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer

  • Heavy duty induction motor
  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • Backed by The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement
$59900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

Cast iron joiner bed and fence

Feature 2

Micro cut depth adjustment

Feature 3

Rugged cast iron base to minimize vibration

Specification Icon


induction motor

______________________________

1 hp

Specification Icon


cut width

______________________________

6 in.

Specification Icon


cuts per minute

______________________________

10,350 cpm

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

lsa

WITH REGISTRATION

Take your woodworking to the next level with this RIDGID 6 Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer. Durably made, it features a heavy duty induction motor that is totally enclosed to help prevent sawdust contamination. Considerably quiet for its 1 HP motor, it makes smooth cuts safely with the assist of a blade guard and push blocks. Its versatile dual-bevel fence features stops at 45, 90 and 135 degrees. The tool sits atop a rugged, wide-stance cabinet with on-board storage for blade-alignment tools and accessories. A long, handy, 45 in. tabletop gives greater support to large pieces.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 6-1/8 in. maximum cutting width
  • 1 HP, 3450 RPM, heavy duty induction motor operates at 120 volts or 240 volts
  • Dimensions: 45.5 in. L x 31.25 in. H x 19 in. D; weighs 208 lbs.
  • Dual-bevel fence with stops at 45-, 90- and 135 degrees
  • Belt drive delivers smooth, consistent power
  • Machine-ground surfaces for precise jointing/planning
  • Easy-to-assemble with a rugged cast-iron base to minimize vibration
  • Rabbeting ledge for precise rabbets up to 1/2 in. deep, adjustable front and rear tables
  • Fan cooled for longer life
  • Convenient 4" dust port quickly slides out of the way when not in use
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$399.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$649.00 /box
Name 15 Amp 12-1/2 in. Corded Planer 6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Corded Planer 15 Amp 13 in. Heavy-Duty 2-Speed Thickness Planer with Knives and Tables
Brand DEWALT RIDGID DEWALT DEWALT
Ratings (65) (152) (36) (104)
Amperage (amps) 15 6 15 15
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Where is the "Planer" function?

This machine looks like a Jointer to me. Normally Jointer/Planers have two separate functions that require the machine to be reconfigured to change between one function and the other. While this machine does have the jointer capability, I don't see the capability to perform the planing function, in which the thickness of the piece of wood can be accurately controlled by running it between rollers.
Asked by: Jeff
This machine is NOT a jointer/planer, it is a JOINTER and that is all it is!
Answered by: garriv777
Date published: 2017-05-22

6 amp seems under powered for a jointer?

I know that this model is a couple hundred, or more bucks but at 6 amps it seems like it would have some problems with hardwoods?
Asked by: bob
Answer is on page 7 of instruction manual. It is 12 amp on 110v, and 6 amp on 220v. Only Ridgid could explain why they ship it wired for 110v, but list amps for 220v. I was also very leery of a 6 amp jointer.
Answered by: mikey67
Date published: 2017-03-09

Has this jointer be discontinued? I don't want to buy a unit being discontinued. Thanks

People can't find it in stock at Home Depot nor are replacement blades readily available
Asked by: JustAnt
Hi JustAnt. This product is available for online purchasing only. The blade is available through Gardner @ 1-800-848-8946. Thank you for the question.
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-02-24

where can you get replacement blades for Ridgid jointer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Infinity Tools, Grizzly, Hartville Tools, Holbren.com, Amazon, Ebay, among other places.
Answered by: scott
Date published: 2017-02-23
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_68
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6-Amp 6-1/8 in. Corded Jointer/Planer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 151.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from JOINTER WORKS GREAT BUT OTHER DESIGN NO SO MUCH Some parts (screws ) were missing and I just went to Home Depot and bought them. Instructions were okay but could have been clearer. Had some paint rubbed off where Styrofoam had rubbed though the box. Called Ridgid about getting some paint to touch it up a BUT THEY SAID IT WAS MADE OUT OF THE COUNTRY SO it would not be available. Guess making paint available is too difficult a thing for product support? Probably should have returned it but the next one might just be the same. Beyond that the jointer/planer works well. Like all new tools it took some adjusting but cuts well and the table is smooth and handles up to 4 foot stock okay! SO I'd recommend it but be prepared to buy a screw here and there and look instructions over carefully before beginning assembly. The legs are another matter. Bought wheel and put in holes in legs but was way wobbly and very unsteady. I bought some 5/8 by inch and a half steel, drilled holes and bolted it to the legs. I let the metal stick over about 3 inches and drilled holes for my wheels outside. WOW it works super and is very stable. Feel really good about moving it about. So unless your going to leave it in one place,prepare to spend some time and money. Now that I have all of that completed. I really like the jointer/planer well. I would have given $100 more not to have done all that but tools aren't what they used to be 40-50 years ago. I believe if it were designed and made in America it would be better. France doesn't expect as much out of their tools as we do.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent jointer for the money I am very pleased with this jointer. Compared to other brands this is a good value and performs well. I was looking at a Grizzly model and the price was very similar but theirs was out of stock for over a month so I went with this one and I am pleased with my decision. I chose the ship to store option and it arrived in just a couple of days which was great. Setup was fairly easy and adjustments were simple to ensure that it was cutting square. Cut quality is very good and the material is glass smooth straight off the jointer. I would highly recommend this jointer to others.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy tool, worked right out of the box. I had to make 1 small adjustment to the 90 degree fence setting. Other than that the tool was ready to use as soon as I finished assembly. The instructions for assemblying the base could have been a little more specific, but overall a very easy assembly. The pay off is in how the tool works which is excellent. The procedure for applying for ang getting approval for the Life Time Warranty (not registration) is unnecessarly complicated and tedious requiring cutting the UPS code from the box and actually mailing it in (an online attempt failed). I highly recomment the tool
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy Purchased this jointer 5 months ago and am very happy with it. Assembly was easy and knives and tables were properly adjusted out of the box. Cut quality with sharp knives is very good in all types of wood I have tried. Power is adequate for up to 1/16th inch full width cut in hard maple. Fence adjustment is tedious with lots of trial and error and the fence does not maintain perfect square after sliding it forward or backward. However, for the price this is not unexpected. This tool remains a very good value for the money. It does come in one box but Home Depot was nice enough to load it in my truck and it can be carried in pieces by one individual.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer is solid. The outfeed table was dead-on with the blade out of the box. The cuts are super smooth, almost like glass, the jointed edge has a reflection to it, it's so smooth. Would definitely reccomend. I wish HD stocked these in store. The dust chute will clog if you don't have a dust collection system attached.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Planer and joiner work great. The only issue is the base cabinet. I installed a set of roller canisters purchased from home depot to make the unit more mobile. However, the cabinet mounting points would not support the mobility. To correct the problem I purchased a furniture dolly, removed the canisters, and bolted the base to the dolly.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built and functions beautifully. The machine is heavy as a tank so get help to move it. Assembly takes time, be prepared to spend 3-4 hours on it, and yes I'm mechanically competent but if you want to do a good job that's what it will take. Once assembled, everything worked like a charm. Everything was perfectly aligned and functioned exactly as you'd want. The only thing that was off was one small part that was not aligned straight, two turns of a screw driver fixed it. Net result, the joiner works like a dream. It's not the biggest most industrial unit and production shops have better stuff but for a home furniture maker, this should last a lifetime.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine - No factory Setup The jointer is a good machine. We were very disappointed with the amount of time required to adjust the machine. According to the instructions, the blades and the table were factory set. However, we found both to be way off. To the point the blades were mounted at an angle in the holder. We expected to have time in assembly and minor setup, we did not anticipate the extent of work required to make the unit functional. I would not recommend someone purchase this unit if they are not experienced setting up and adjusting jointers and surfacers.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A valuable tool for the wood workshop. Heavy duty and stands solid. This jointer was easy to assemble, working alone I had this working in about 3 hours. The adjustments were also easy and good to go right from the box.I have since run several boards, red oak,birch,pine,and basswood, all from 2 inch wide to 6 inch wide.plenty of power but dedicate that one circuit to this tool.Retired for two years, I am a hobby builder with a chainsaw mill. LSA is about impossible to achieve.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Jointer Well built. In/out feed tables were flat and coplanar. Fence is not perfectly flat but useable. Packaged well and good instructions. Height is too low for comfortable use but not a major issue. Seems to have plenty of power.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Jointer This jointer should meet all your jointing needs. With its three blades it leaves a very smooth surface on your wood. It has a heavy duty motor with belt drive to the cutter cylinder. This is a heavy unit built with quality material. The waste output really works and is ready to connect to shop vacuum system. The depth gauge is really handy with a built in stop so you don't accidentally take too deep a cut. The decks are straight and log enough for most work.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer This is a great jointer. It's solid, well built, and fairly precise. I like the included push blocks
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good Set up relatively easy and was coplaner out of the box. Good size and well made machine.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice! Really nice jointer. Love it it doesn't take a lot of room.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ridgid jointer B sure to Align! And connect a vac or it will clog.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! This is a very high quality jointer for a terrific price! It assembles just as stated in the directions. Allow a couple of hours but it's really not a big deal. Everything goes together very nicely. After putting it together, I commenced planing and joining 250 board feet of hard maple. The jointer produced very nice, smooth faces and edges on all boards with the stock knives that came with the jointer. Don't believe that you have to buy new blades right away to replace the ones that came with it. It's just not so. They are sharp and of good quality. I can't say how long they'll last but 250 bf of hard maple didn't effect them at all. This was a great purchase and I'm sure it will serve me well for many years. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent clogging of the dust chute. I am using a 2 HP dust collector with a 4 inch hose and have not experienced any problems with this at all. I suspect the problems are associated with running a shop vac on it with a 2.5 inch hose.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fine piece of equipment The Ridgid jointer works flawlessly, and after about 50 board feet of surface planing, half white oak and half tight knot, pitchy Douglas fir, they're still sharp. I'd never used a jointer before and it was easy to get the hang of how to flatten boards to eliminate twist and bow. As others have noted, it is simple to assemble, just be careful of your back if you're lifting it by yourself. The one change I would make to the instructions would be to leave bolts loose until the last panel is in place. Each step says to tighten the bolts just installed, but the last panel of the stand skirt didn't quite fit into place. I had to loosen all the bolts and jiggle the whole thing to widen the gap between the stand legs, pop in the last panel, and then retighten all the bolts. Before the first use, I had to adjust the fence stop to 90 degrees and the knife height. The factory set the knives a little high. YouTube offers some good videos on how to gauge correct knife height. Measuring fence alignment with a square, I couldn't get consistent results, so instead I ran 4x4s through the jointer, adjusting the fence stop each time until the 4x4 came out exactly square. Do yourself a huge favor: After you clean the rust protective grease off the table and fence, take 5 minutes to wax them with some paste car wax. Making the surfaces slick vastly reduces your effort pushing boards over the planer. Periodically reapply to keep the table slippery. What a difference! Others have complained that the chip exit clogs. Mine hasn't once. I don't have a dust collection system, and I suspect the problem is folks haven't realized you need to slide the plastic vacuum hose adapter up out of the way if you're not using a vac system. With the adapter raised, the chips just zip down the flat chute unobstructed, out onto the floor. The infeed table on my jointer isn't exactly parallel to the outfeed table. At first I fretted over that because it doesn't seem to be adjustable, but then I realized the infeed table is just a support and the quality of your results depends only on the alignment between the the outfeed table, the knives, and the fence. This is a workhorse. It's hard to imagine how an industrial-brand tool could perform any better.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jointer plaineet Jointer was easy to assemble. Base very easy to assemble, the only problem was the weight of the jointer table itself, although this is the hart of the machine. Once assembled it is easy to use and adjust. Does a great job and i am glad i decided on this over a couple of bench models i looked at.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jointer This is a great little jointer! Mine was pretty noisy and had a good bit of vibration until I installed a green link belt. Now it hums along very quietly and smoothly! Knives are easy to install and set. Quality machine and I couldnt work without it!
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Jointer This jointer was easy to assemble. I was impressed that the factory preset stops were accurate and the head and bed were on the same plane. No tweaking or adjusting was required.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Absolutely critical piece of equipment. Directions were not too good contrary to what I read. Put together alone. Didn't assemble upside down. Perfect once running.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine!! I read a lot of reviews and did plenty of research before deciding on this jointer. It really does perform perfectly! Just buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Assembly was a bit of a pain but doable. Everything was square and true out of the box. Does a beautiful job, am very pleased, would buy again.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rigid tool as usual. Bought this jointer to edge the rough sawn lumber I built my barn with. Not a hiccup the whole build. Thanks rigid
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Jointer Like what others have posted, this unit is a little awkward to assemble without help. What could have helped me a bunch is if Ridgid would have spot welded most of the connecting nuts to the frame and have used hex head bolts instead of the carriage bolts provided. I do however, give kudos for the well thought out packaging of all the hardware pieces. It was nice not having to sort through 10 plastic bags looking for the correct nuts and bolts. Setting up the jointer took a little longer than what I expected. The operator’s manual states that the in feed and out feed tables are factory preset but I suggest that you double check the tables for co-planer and readjust the cutter knives as things do shift during shipping. I managed to get both feed tables co-planer within .001” by adjusting the in feed table gibs. This can be a little tricky because the way the gibs contact the dovetail slides. It doesn’t take much of a turn on the allen set screw for the table to move a bunch, but it can be done. After that setting the knives to the out feed table is pretty straight forward. Once set this jointer works great. I’ve only milled about 300 board feet of lumber so far but the wood is dead flat with no discernible snipe.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice Only had it for a short while but it was heavy but generally easy to put the stand together took about an hour. Works great, perfect cuts and pretty quiet. Factory settings were spot on. Definitely looks nice in the shop too.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well, a little top-heavy This jointer planer works very well and was fairly straight forward to assemble. Tool is generally well made with sturdy components for the price. My main comment is that the base of this unit is a little under sized front to back and is a bit top-heavy. So you need to be very careful moving this unit to ensure you don't tip it over. It appears it is intended to be installed in a permanent location and not moved. Many reviews talk about putting casters on the unit instead of the supplied leveling feet. If you do this, it would be very easy to have the unit fall over if you are pushing it across a crack in a driveway or other uneven surface. I would recommend making some very sturdy brackets that mount the casters outboard (forward and back) of the leveling feet and then keeping the leveling feet.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Experience - Discontinued Product - No longer making some parts! I ordered the jointer and unfortunately was never able to use it. It came damaged...only one part, the motor bracket. I called Home Depot customer service and they ordered the part from the manufacturer ~ or so I thought! I never heard back from them with a delivery time or tracking. I called a week later. They haven't heard back from the manufacturer! I contacted Rigid directly. They no longer manufacture the jointer or have the part in stock. In fact, she asked me if it was a floor model because it was so old! What a waste of time! I took it back and got back my money!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it's supposed to. Not commercial grade, but for a home 120v joiner, this is a useful balance of size / accuracy / capacity / weight. Setting it up is not nearly as difficult as many posts describe. Beds and blades were dead-on from factory. Dialing the fence in to square was bothersome, but once it's square no need to fuss with it again. Nice if rolling stand or casters came in box, but anyone wanting or needing a joiner for their home shop should be able to add that on their own. Very nice addition to shop and would (quickly) purchase it again.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The jointer is well made and does nice work. After unpacking and setting up the jointer (have help , its heavy) it took some adjustment to get the tables completely coplanar and the blades even with the outfeed table, but I'm pretty picky about these things. Once set up this machine has plenty of power and does nice work. A set of carbide blades would be a nice accessory. A deeper footprint on the stand would be nice too. I made a rolling stand for mine.
Date published: 2013-10-10
  • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_151
  • loc_, sid_202269174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 213ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT