Model # R4040S

Internet #203837585

Store SKU #1000004596

RIDGID 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
0648846063621

RIDGID

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand

  • Foldable stand
  • Removable water tray
  • Oversized cut capacity
$499.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

RIDGID introduces its new 8 in. Wet Tile Saw. The powerful 12 Amp, 1.2 HP motor easily moves through natural and manmade tile and pavers while the oversized cut capacity is capable of cutting through 4 in. wall blocks in just two passes. The die-cast aluminum table with co-molded rubber support provides solid support and the dual bearing rollers improve table stability at your worksite. The optimized water nozzle system, guard baffle system, wrap around rubber splash guard, rear water tray and isolation wall provide maximum water efficiency and cleaner worksites. This table also comes with a folding stand that has tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring. All these great features are backed by an industry leading warranty, the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement. Package includes R4040 Tile Saw, Hex Wrench, 8 in. Diamond Cutting Wheel.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 12 Amp motor - heavy duty motor powers through natural or manmade tile and pavers
  • Oversized cut capacity - 24 in. rip, 18 in. diagonal, 2-3/4 in. deep, can cut up to 5 in. wide extra-long backlash or threshold material
  • Removable water tray - captures overspray and water from larger tiles to help keep work area dry and clean
  • Aluminum miter guide - precision straight and miter cuts from 0 to 45⁰ left and right
  • Heavy duty cast aluminum arm - prevents flexing while keeping the blade aligned
  • Cast aluminum frame - heavy duty performance yet lightweight for easy transport, aluminum prevents rusting
  • 5 Gal. water tray with wheeled system - allows for quick setup and easy transporting of saw
  • Folding stand - tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring
  • Compatible with AC1136 RIDGID submersible water pump
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this saw move up and down to make a cut in the center of the tile.

Asked by: Bar1
Plunge cut... goes up and down like a chop saw... 2-3/4 deep cut
Answered by: TheFireman
Date published: 2017-03-22

Can I use a 7"in blade? I used ridgid blades & there junk. I heard of 7"in & 10"in blades, but, not 8" blades.

Asked by: Jr66
I never had a problem with my 8' blade of course I went online to purchase it.
Answered by: BobR
Date published: 2015-11-14

does 8 inch tile saw come with a diamond blade.

Asked by: bobassa
Yes.
Answered by: TreeHarvester
Date published: 2016-12-30

is this covered by lifetime service agreement ?

Asked by: thad
Yes it is. But it's not as simple as they say, you may need to submit it twice.
Answered by: BobR
Date published: 2015-10-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_, sid_203837585, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to operate. Lightweight. This one beast of a wet saw. It cuts 24 in tile with ease. I love that its so lightweight and easy to setup. I've used way more expensive saws that weren't half as precise and reliable. Now that I know there is a lifetime warranty, I'm even more amazed. I would have given 5 stars if the saw was made to be right handed. No wet saw is, but it's still a complaint.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with the product. The instructions were clear and easy to follow and assembly. Great... Very pleased with the product. The instructions were clear and easy to follow and assembly. Great band for the buck - I love Ridgid products anyway and will lean there first to purchase quality tools. This one was NOT their top of the line - but for the project - it will work perfectly. Thank you Ridgid Don F.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was easy to assemble. But I had to return the... Was easy to assemble. But I had to return the first one as the bearings on the motor were loose ant causing chipping of the tile edges. Had I not previously owned another tile saw, I might have no realized there was a problem, thinking it was normal.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This replaced my old $99 saw and is amazing. The large capacity (24 inch) and sliding table make ... This replaced my old $99 saw and is amazing. The large capacity (24 inch) and sliding table make it so much more useful. It's a bear to assemble but take time to follow the instructions. The trickiest part is putting the pump in place.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. It's great. Remember to wait till water gets to blade before using! Have had it 2 m... Easy to use. It's great. Remember to wait till water gets to blade before using! Have had it 2 months and met every expectation I expected.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Who the hades would buy an 8" tile saw that nobody sells blades for least along Home depot when y... Who the hades would buy an 8" tile saw that nobody sells blades for least along Home depot when you really need on. What idiots
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw Used this saw quite alot. Just finish a job with 6by24 inch plank tiles and the saw was able to make everycut no problem .
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts 2 inch pavers like butter, definitely would recommend for a professional look Cuts 2 inch pavers like butter, definitely would recommend for a professional look
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it. It works great and is easy to maintain. I love it. It works great and is easy to maintain.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw , has a lot of bang for the buck . Great saw , has a lot of bang for the buck .
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid purchase I am a professional high end remodeler, been doing it for 20+ years. I've had a number of tile saws, the last being a Felker 10" with a Baldor motor. It finally became time to replace it and I was looking at all the typical professional saws like Felker, MK, DeWalt, etc and decided to give the Ridgid a try based on a peer recommendation. Good purchase Very light weight compared to the bigger pro saws, good features with the 22.5 and 45 bevels. Solid table and smooth, needed to be squared up out of the box but that only took 5 minutes. Good water flow on both sides of the blade, good motor for what it is but don't mistake it, it's not a beast like a Baldor motor saw. I used it yesterday on thick porcelain tile, as long as you didn't force it through it cut fine, no chipping, I think sometimes people expect more and push these smaller saws past their intended use. The plunge function is a breeze as is the bevel. It is a bit of a hassle to unmount the saw frame from the pan into order to clean it with having a bracket that needs to be unscrewed but it's hardly a deal killer. I keep my equipment very clean since I depend on it for a living so some might not unmount to clean. The laser was handy when aligning tiles for cutting, I had to rip 36' long tiles which required some creative techniques but it helped line up the cut. I have to admit being a professional I was a bit skeptical purchasing this saw but it's a well thought out saw that functions well for its intended use.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Tile Saw My old 7" table top saw (not from Home Depot) died on me so I went shopping for a new tile saw. This tile saw was epic. Out of the box the only thing to assemble was the motor assembly to the table, and the stand. Assembling the stand just required sliding the inner legs into the outter legs and installing the pins. The motor went on easily with the included hardware and allen wrenches. I did all assembly alone in 10 minutes. I used this saw for its first use on a master bathroom remodel. I cut cermaic subway tiles, glass mosaic tiles, ceramic mosaic tiles, and porcelain tiles. The included blade performed flawlessly on all materials, even the glass as there was no chipping or damage to the material. Out of the box I made at least 200 cuts in various tile with zero problems from the the tile saw or the blade. The pump performed very well as long as I cleaned the sediment tray between uses. I did leave the saw at the jobsite for one overnight without cleaning and the pump sat in dirty water. I cleared the lines with a clean bit of water and flushed the system and I was up and running again. Total time to fix my laziness: 15 minutes. This was not a fault of the pump or saw, but of my own. I am including it as a reminder to tool owners; read the manual and take care of your equipment. A note about the laser: adjusting it was not easy. If the laser could be adjusted without lossening the assembly that holds it to the saw that would be helpful. It took a few minutes and steady hands to get the laser where I needed it, but this is not a deal breaker. The laser was an excellent guide, but I always double checked my mark at the blade before I began a cut, unless I was using the miter gauge and it was locked in position. In the case of locking the miter gauge the repeatability of cut was flawless. I could not be happier with this tile saw and actually look forward to cutting tile if the next remodel job requires it. Thanks for a great product RIDGID!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I would have bought this years ago This saw is super easy to use in every respect. Setup out of the box, use and cleanup. Cuts are clean and accurate. Angled cuts are quick to setup too. I've rented an industrial saw from the local rental store in years past. I'm sure it cost them three times this one. However, I believe this outperformed. So, glad to own it.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Wet Saw Well thought out design. First use was cutting 24" porcelain tile and had no problem. Easy to clean and store. I had an old school big bulky tile saw and was hesitant because it still worked, but I so glad I made the purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw for the price This tile saw is great, although the splash extension could have engineered a higher back splash (minor issue). I like that I can do plunge cuts in tile for project boxes without have to cut through to the edge. The 8 inch blade has a limit of working with 24 inch tiles, but the smaller blade is more precise when plunge cutting. The built in laser is helpful in double-checking your cutting where you want. The drain makes it easy to change water without having to disturb the work site. Get a quick inline garden hose shut off for the drain for maximum flexibility when draining. Overall, a great product for the price.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Saw The saw cuts well however....when you cut a tile you have to cut very slow to keep the cut straight. You may even have to turn the tile clock-wise or counter clock-wise a hair to keep your cut straight. Once I slowed down my cuts and i would tweek the tile a hair one way or the other all of my cuts were perfect! Another complaint I read was the water supply line being kinked. Yes...mine was also kinked. I put my heat gun on it for a few minutes and the kink came right out. 8" blades are hard to find. I bought 3 at Home Depot when I bought the saw. There and on the internet are the only places I have found them.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw, but know it's limitations I saw another review that will look very much like this one. Overall, this a good tile saw for the money. There are a lot of well thought-out features and it has held up pretty well in the 6 months that I have owned it. The only problem so far has been with the table length when cutting 24" long tiles. There is a lot of tile left hanging out over space during the cut. The saw blade wants to push this overhang down and more than one tile has been snapped because of it. I finally came up with a solution to brace the tile in this situation, but it sure slows me down. Another professional might think twice before getting this saw and if I were doing tile full time, I would also. However, it is a great saw for a DIYer or a professional who is only laying tile now and then. And it it is a nice improvement from the model that Rigid had before. At the end of the day, I still recommend this saw.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw! I'm a general contractor and after several years of renting wet saws to do tile jobs (and never knowing if I was going to get a good saw with a good blade or a worn out piece of junk!)I finally decided to buy my own. Man am I pleased! This saw does everything I need it to do and more! The features are great, being able to rip, bevel, and plunge cut all with the same tool is a great time saver. The water tub has a drain plug so you don't have to waddle through the house with a tray containing 5 gallons of dirty water. My only fault to this product is that I wish the stand had castors on it as this saw is somewhat hard to move without breaking down. I just completed a job requiring 1156 square feet of 13x13 porcelain. Absolutely NO problems, I actually got done about 2 days faster than I had planned. This saw makes me money!
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tile saw with some extra capacity. I bought this saw to cut 12x24" tile for a bathroom. I had looked at the 7" model but after reading the reviews was worried that it would only cut tile. As a DIY user I could not justify the cost of a wet saw that only cut tile. I have some paver projects in the near future and wanted a saw that could do both without breaking the bank. I stumbled across the 8" model. More capacity and not as expensive as the 10" models. I think this saw is perfect for what I want needed. It cut the tile with ease. To make sure it would cut the pavers when I needed to do that project, I bought a few large pavers and cut them up. This saw cut anything I tried. The saw had plenty of power. The stock blade is the only blade I have used but it cut both porcilan tile and brick fine. The saw was square right out of the box. The only worry I have is some water spay gets on the open end of the motor where the brushes are. That can not be good for it but the warranty is good so we will see. It is louder than the belt drive models that you rent but it's not that bad. The water shield is a nice upgrade and works well. I also like the included stand. Both additions over the 7". For the money I don't think you can go wrong.
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bad bearings Not for everyday use, ive had 3 and bearings on the armature assembly went up in two of them ,one went up a second time after it was replaced once. Working with the 3rd which was a replacement and it sounds like they are getting loose in this one too. Other then that fine saw just wish they would figure something out to stop the problem from happening for future buyers
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Great machine...a little loud but a great saw even for 24" tile. There are workarounds to prevent big tiles from snapping.Would buy it again.We do a lot of tile!!
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One tile job done, wet tile saw worked great for 6 in x 24 in tiles! The 8in wet tile saw by Rigid so far has worked very well. It was easy to assemble (about 35 min). I checked the blade and tray for squareness and it was right on! Cross cutting the porcelain tiles was a breeze. But since the ends of the tiles were not perfect it was harder to line up for the 24in rip cuts. The laser sight did help once I made some test cuts to understand where the actual blade cut the material in relation to the laser. However, with these long tiles the beginning parts of the cuts were a little wobbly due to tray only being on with 1 set of wheels. Once more sets of wheels were engaged, the cuts were perfect. Just wished I had a short length (3 or 4 foot) of hose to make it easier to drain !
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good saw This has been very good so far. Set up was simple and the saw was in good alignment out of the box. I've been using it to cut marble, and granite tile and it has performed well. Everything about the saw is easy to adjust and use and I've noticed no play in the table at all. Everything seems to be made of either aluminum, magnesium, rubber or HDPE, so after months of use i haven't noticed any rust at all. I'd recommend to a contractor or serious diy'er.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not again... I am on my second repair on this saw in six months. Only 4 jobs it. Before that, I went through the same thing on the 7 inch saw. The headache of the repair process through Home Depot makes it not worth the money saved. Do yourself a favor and buy a professional saw. Stay away from these.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from does not cut accurately I purchased this saw as a replacement for the Rigid product just beneath it in price thinking it would do a better job. Just like it's little brother,after two months of use, it developed too much play in the table and now cuts out of square...1/16" in 12" and up to an 1/8" in 24"...and not in just one consistent direction. It has to do with how pressure is applied to the table...and mind you the table is too small to cut 24" tile with to begin with as too much tile hangs over the table. I intend to return this one and buy another MK. We had an MK for several years without issue and worked it hard! Rigid just doesn't stack up for the true professional demanding perfection.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok so many crevices and grooves makes it really hard to clean and maintain a good appearance, a very noisy motor and a click or jump in the cart as you slide the tile thru the blade gives you imperfect cuts.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blade size problem I must say I really like this saw. Till I had to start changing saw blades. I needed to get an 8in. continuous diamond blade for porcelain and good luck. I couldn't find an 8in at the HD, and the 7 in blade I did get was awful and kept chipping my tile. I ended up buying another 7in blade from Lowes same day and it was a little better but still could not find the 8in. blade they recommend. Only way to get that 8in. blade is by ordering it online which if you need it that day is a huge hassle. I would of been a lot happier just getting the 7in tile saw.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Worth It I am a low volume, high quality tile installer. This saw worked fine for the first job it was used on, cutting 2'x2' $18/ft marble. I have owned the saw 3 months, almost to the day and cannot get the saw the cut square anymore. Cutting cheap porcelain tile, the back of the blade creates chips in the stone. I have numerous attempts the "Square" the slider to the blade. Alas, it works for a few cuts and then is magically out of square again. Also, somehow the pan had begun to leak, i fear for use of the transport wheels and the location of the drain plug(maybe damaged while rolling?) It currently hemorrhages water after only 2 major jobs. I am returning tomorrow, and was considering the special order 10" saw as rigid makes decent tools in general, but it gets poor reviews. I am at a loss, in general I am happy with rigid, and was this saw for the first month( i was thrilled with its performance), but it does not age well, at least not with professional use. I would recommend for a homeowner, but doubt one would purchase a saw this expensive, ultimately I think a pencil drive is a homeowners best bet. For the professional, look elsewhere, this saw is not accurate for most customers standards, not with heavy use.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I have used for two major bathroom remodels for both walls and floors. First off with 13 inch tile and less for the noney you cant beat it. 24'inch tiles well it will do it but a bit of a reach for this. Take your time but it is tricky. now 13" or less this is the bomb. Perfect for cutting angles, plunge cuts for boxes and plumbing relives from purchasing abrasive hole saws. I screwed 2 tiles up over 1000 square feet and it was my fault. Bearings get loud quick but work fine. If you know to let the tool work it works well at a slow consistent rate at perpendicular cuts as well as angles. LET THE TOOL WORK. Plunge cuts and a tile nipper will save you tiles and aggravation. Dare I say maybe fun. I have been doing tile since scoring it and break.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Saw. Warranty hoops are a pain! This saw performs properly only if setup properly. From the box it cut jagged due to misaligned table. Take the time necessary to do a proper alignment and it will perform great. BEWARE of the warranty paperwork! Ridgid does everything possible to discourage registering for lifetime warranty. Multiple steps, copies, online registration, then requiring paperwork by certified mail. Really??? Follow through and make them register warranty and honor it. I'm now waiting for replacement batteries on another lifetime warranty. Will be interesting to see how long that takes. Great products. Lousy customer service policies!
Date published: 2015-02-08
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_, sid_203837585, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT