Model # R4040S

Internet #203837585

Store SKU #1000004596

RIDGID 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
0648846063621

RIDGID

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand

  • Foldable stand
  • Removable water tray
  • Oversized cut capacity
$499.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

RIDGID introduces its new 8 in. Wet Tile Saw. The powerful 12 Amp, 1.2 HP motor easily moves through natural and manmade tile and pavers while the oversized cut capacity is capable of cutting through 4 in. wall blocks in just two passes. The die-cast aluminum table with co-molded rubber support provides solid support and the dual bearing rollers improve table stability at your worksite. The optimized water nozzle system, guard baffle system, wrap around rubber splash guard, rear water tray and isolation wall provide maximum water efficiency and cleaner worksites. This table also comes with a folding stand that has tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring. All these great features are backed by an industry leading warranty, the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement. Package includes R4040 Tile Saw, Hex Wrench, 8 in. Diamond Cutting Wheel.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 12 Amp motor - heavy duty motor powers through natural or manmade tile and pavers
  • Oversized cut capacity - 24 in. rip, 18 in. diagonal, 2-3/4 in. deep, can cut up to 5 in. wide extra-long backlash or threshold material
  • Removable water tray - captures overspray and water from larger tiles to help keep work area dry and clean
  • Aluminum miter guide - precision straight and miter cuts from 0 to 45⁰ left and right
  • Heavy duty cast aluminum arm - prevents flexing while keeping the blade aligned
  • Cast aluminum frame - heavy duty performance yet lightweight for easy transport, aluminum prevents rusting
  • 5 Gal. water tray with wheeled system - allows for quick setup and easy transporting of saw
  • Folding stand - tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring
  • Compatible with AC1136 RIDGID submersible water pump
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this saw move up and down to make a cut in the center of the tile.

Asked by: Bar1
Plunge cut... goes up and down like a chop saw... 2-3/4 deep cut
Answered by: TheFireman
Date published: 2017-03-22

Can I use a 7"in blade? I used ridgid blades & there junk. I heard of 7"in & 10"in blades, but, not 8" blades.

Asked by: Jr66
I never had a problem with my 8' blade of course I went online to purchase it.
Answered by: BobR
Date published: 2015-11-14

does 8 inch tile saw come with a diamond blade.

Asked by: bobassa
Yes.
Answered by: TreeHarvester
Date published: 2016-12-30

is this covered by lifetime service agreement ?

Asked by: thad
Yes it is. But it's not as simple as they say, you may need to submit it twice.
Answered by: BobR
Date published: 2015-10-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_, sid_203837585, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great saw- would buy again Bought at store and was easy to assemble. Easy to use. Cuts great. I have used a small table saw in the past for a few tile jobs (sm bath and bedroom- aprox 180' sq total). This saw is so much easier and makes much better cuts (and straight :) ). If you have the $ this is a great investment. I noticed, at several different HD stores, that the 7" version had some play in the "table" that you slide the tiles to the blade. The 8" version has no play. I cut 250' sq and saw works like a champion; still cuts great and accurately. The laser level was a bit off but is easy enough to adjust. I would buy this again!
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well I am a union tile setter. This saw is everything I could ask for almost the same as my dewalt that is 350 more. GREAT PRODUCT.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Bundle -Everything you need to get cutting right out of the box Not as versatile as a 10- or 12-inch saw, but one-third to one-half the price and big enough for most homeowner projects. Several projects pay for the saw in foregone rental cost, time considerations (work at your own pace without worrying about increased rental hours), and no concerns with the unknown blade condition, balance and alignment of some rental saw. The laser was a nice 'extra' I didn't realize was included. If you intend to file for the lifetime warranty (why wouldn't you?) save your original box or remove the UPC data printed on it before discarding - my notice from Ridgid to include it in a supplemental warranty application submission came AFTER I had recycled the box.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing parts Parts were missing, and the quality of the isn't there for the price of the saw
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good tile saw, except... This tile saw is rated to be able to rip 24" long tile. While the distance from the backstop of the sliding table to the front edge of the blade is indeed more than 24", the table itself is only 13.5", leaving at least ten inches of tile hanging out in space when you make a rip cut. This is fine for ripping a square tile since there is alot of material to support that overhang. Unfortunately, ripping a very expensive 24" bullnose which is barely 4" wide to begin with seems no small risk of snapping the tile in half. I thought I'd use a piece of Hardibacker underneath the tile for support, but the backstop is only about 3/8" high so that the back edge of the bullnose piece will not be against the backstop. There should have been a removable piece of the backstop about five inches wide so that one could begin the cut with the skinny tile hanging out the back but against the angle stop until the cut is half made, then reinstall (with two Allen screws) the backstop and complete the cut that way.
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Saw Brought this saw after much research. I was planning out a Kitchen and Foyer with Ceramic and Porcelain tiles. I needed to cut many diagonals and several edge angles and looked at many 7 inch saws. I concluded that this saw at 8 inches was the best buy for the money and I am happy with the purchase. It was a bit more than I planned to spend but did the job and represents a good value.The included blade is adequate so you don't have to buy a more expensive one right away. The stand works great and stores easily.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT worth the money! I'm a semi-pro installer DIY'er; I've done thousands of square feet of tile on floors, walls, outdoor pavers etc... for over 15 years. I was using a 7" Husky for years and lived with the "cheaper" products flaws. I bought this saw in the hopes that some of those nuisance issues wouldn't be here. Wrong! The main defect in this saw is that the rail system is not long enough - that simple. Here is why: as you cut tile the last 1/4-1/2" of your cut is crucial that you keep a steady slow speed through the blade, almost letting the blade pull the tile through. This is so you don't get a broke angle on the end of the tile. With this saw, as you move into this crucial zone, the forward wheels fall off the rail and the table moves suddenly up 1/16"-1/8" thus jerking the tile in the last 1/4" of cut. You are left with a splinter angle cut on 75% of your cuts no matter how careful you are. I typically only lay porcelain tile so this might not be as bad on ceramic tile - but for the money? This is supposed to be a serious tile saw, and i'm sorry it doesn't cut the mustard. I can do just as well with my old $200 Husky. I'm sad to say that to move into a great saw you aren't spending <$500. Be prepared to spend between $800 and $1200 to get an actual work horse saw for contractors.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid saw, good for all 12" cuts and most 18" cuts I purchased this saw to do a bathroom remodel. I was cutting 12 x 12 tile and 18 x18 tile. I cut out sections of tile for bath fixtures and electric boxes. I also cut angles on the 12" tiles. It made all these cuts well. If I would have had to cut angles for the 18" tiles the saw is limited and might not have been able to make all the cuts. I had to realign the sliding tray which was very easy to do with a T square. I also had to reset up the laser and this was more difficult. I would suggest a better align system than loosening a screw and trying to align the laser while holding the laser light and tightening one screw. As the screw was tightened the laser light would move and I would have to readjust. A couple of screws to move the laser assembly would allow for exact setting. I made several hundred cuts and all were straight with no chipping on the tile. Cutting out holes for light switches was straight forward and the results were clean and precise. I would recommend this saw for 12" and 18" tiles. It would work for 24" tiles if all you were doing was straight long cuts. If you were having to cut angles it might not work for all cuts.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool quick set up the pump is behind the filter easy sliding cutting table 10 times better than other saws I have had
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding saw. Great price I upgraded to the 8 " saw and found it to be professional quality. Strong motor, great capacity, excellent water tray and sheild, stable stand. Easy to take apart to clean and transport Recommend it for serious handyman up to tile professional.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome tile saw i use it for my home improvement business & it preforms great for me ....... spend the money and buy the better blades
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from tile looks great, but poor engineering I had one and I loved the design . motor powerful and table open up very conveniently the problem is on the arm that hold the engine, is not strong enough so when you cut a tile the slight movment of the arm doesn't allow a strait cut. I sold mine
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product works great and easy to set up I needed a saw for ceramic tile and for a project that I will be doing next spring with pavers. Have finished one full room of tile and working on a second. This saw did not disappoint so far. Do not know how the pavers will go yet, but has done a great job on tile. Love the laser guide.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific tile wet saw I am a non-professional but frequent tile installer... I do house renovation projects, and do the tile work for each, so I've done several thousand square feet by now. I got really tired of dealing with the score/snap tile cutters and the little 5" toy wet saw, and figured it was time to upgrade for this next reno. Boy, am I glad I did. In short, I'd estimate that on the first two floors I've done since buying this saw, it probably saved me 20% of the net time I spend on the project. I do a lot of diagonal patterns, and between the smooth-sliding and very accurate tray, and the laser line, it's super easy to get a tile lined up and cut with no fuss. I simply measure from a corner and put a small mark, line it up with the laser, and cut away. 10 seconds later it's done. That's SO much faster than the fuss required with a tile scorer or a non-sliding-tray saw. I haven't wasted a single tile yet, and had very little chipping. Some critical observations. Yes, it's a bit loud, but I wear ear protection 100% of the time when working, so it's not a bother to me. I happen to think the NON-belt design will be more reliable long-term, so that seems like a good tradeoff to me. The splash tray on the back doesn't quite catch all the spray. Some water hits about 3" up from the tray. If I raised the blade a bit it probably wouldn't do that. I just stick a bit of plywood to catch the overspray. I guess I could also prop the tray up a bit higher. As to those who complain about the water pump, I wonder if they meticulously clean it after each use. I remove it, take it to a sink, and run it to flush out all the gunk. No problems yet. But if you don't clean it and that stuff dries inside the pump, I'm sure it would seize up. The tray is very accurate for me, as is the laser line. I'm not totally happy with the adjustable "fence"; it's a bit hard to tighten each time, and you must move it out of the path of the blade fairly often. But it does work, and produces really accurate 45 deg angles for me. The multi-stage sediment catching system seems to work really well. The pump seems to have very little buildup in it after each use, but there is a little bit anyway. It's a little awkward to transport the saw assembly, as it's fairly wide and not really balanced for carrying easily. But it quickly breaks down into easily-moved parts. The only thing I really don't like is the water drain cap. I have to fight it a bit to get it to stop leaking. But if that's the worst thing about this saw, I think I've got a great product. Well done, Ridgid.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tile saw! Right out of the box I was ready to go. Assembly was a snap. Cuts true and square. I love this saw for all of it's features. For the money it's hard to beat!
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect saw After lots of research I ultimately bought this saw. Set up took ten minutes and was self explanatory, even comes equipped with the tools necessary to assemble. Laser is dead on, the blade is nice and leaves clean cuts, and had no problem with water pump. Only downfall to me was the stand and saw tray doesn't lock together making it so you can't wheel it around like other saws, you have to carry each piece but the pro is you can set up on floor or on a table if you want. Really impressed with the quality, power and versatility to take on 95% of projects. For the DIYers you won't be disappointed. Not to many saws are able to do 2 3/4 pavers down to 1/4 inch back splashes and everything in between. Also the saw has a guard behind blade to catch all water spray so you can setup inside a finished house and not make a mess. Good job ridgid new customer for life as long as you keep this quality up
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tile saw This was definitely an improvement over the little table tile saw I used to have. I bought it because I needed to rip 24" tiles. It cuts through tiles with almost no chipping. Make sure you keep an eye on the water. If it isn't coating the blade and creating a misty spray, it's not working right. I removed the tube at the pump and blasted two lungs worth of air through it and it was working fine again. Probably didn't change the water out enough. The sliding table works well and ruler marks are actually pretty accurate. One complaint is that the table is tricky to get on correctly. I wish the spring loaded pin would pull back more to give more room to maneuver. I also wish you could lock the table while it's installed for easy transport. It does have very good slide action. I was a little concerned when I saw the legs don't lock into the table (it just rests on top). Gravity held in place just fine though. I'd recommend this saw to someone with a big tile job.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality saw - no regrets buying it Needed a wet saw for kitchen tile project and searched through the reviews and decided I didn't want to get the cheaper saws because of the reviews. Sliding table on other saws reviewed as sloppy loose which proved right by the display models at our store. This saw has a good sliding table that has little side to side play in it. That the saw motor and blade is above the table is nice to CAREFULLY raise a tile up and nibble a cut straight through without cutting past a intersecting line so you have clean corners. Saw was used for 6x6x1/4" tile. Cut with ease and even when I rushed the cut a time or two to test how much power the saw had it never bogged down. For tile I'd guess there more than enough and saw also cuts pavers so would guess the extra power would be nice for them. Splash shield that attaches to the back is a big plus. I used my saw outside on concrete porch, but didn't see any water or slurry that missed the plastic extension and would have made a mess inside. Saw is more expensive that many others but also offers more benefits. While I bought this for this small job specifically, I plan to do others down the road and wanted better than just sometime that would cut tile. Stand included was welcome and saw has wheels to roll it rather than have to carry it. Maybe works OK on firm hard surfaces, but don't think it would roll very well with the small wheels in gravel or across yard. It isn't too heavy to carry for one person. Cuts where straight and true. Marks on miter gauge not exactly accurate as new tile laid against it and squared against fence was slightly past 0 degree mark cast into metal.
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8" tile saw I used a 6" table tile saw for years. I finely broke down and bought this 8" tile saw from Home depot. I spend about a week kicking myself for not getting one sooner. You will not regret purchasing/using this saw. If you have any questions I would be glad to help.
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT FOR SMALL TO 18" Tiles The tray is very sloppy with the bigger tiles (1/8" off from cut to cut length wise). A few more rollers on the tray would solve this issue. Tray is bumpy when cutting 20" tiles. Ruined a few tiles cutting. The stand is kind of wobbly with the weight of larger tiles. When you figure out the personality of the saw it gets better! Reason for a 4 star...Laser is dead on center! Tray and fence are dead on center also! Everything I've read about this saw is accurate...pump is still working as well as the laser.
Date published: 2015-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NICE SAW; LOUSY REGISTRATION PROCESS! The saw does a nominally good job of cutting 24" tile, just relieve the cantilever to avoid nicks. [Rant ON] The product registration process is terrible; the software drops the register code and you repeat, repeat, and repeat. Customer service representative is clueless, and the store staff cannot intervene. Superintendents spend more time trying to register the tool on a prevailing wage project than the tool costs. [Rant OFF] GOOD LUCK
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Features than DeWalt compare to DeWalt's $799 wet saw I would buy this again and save $300. laser and the how the pan filters the silt before the pump. Very portable easy set up. rips nice & straight - accurate.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money I just purchased today and was disappointed. I bought to use on a small job so my opinion is based on a limited amount of time. First the stand does not lock into water tray which only sits on top of legs which could easily fall. The motor is extremely loud before and during cuts so wear ample ear protection. The filter material around the pump is a good idea which could prolong pump life. Also, wheels and handle on water tray are a good idea. The tile tray did not slide easy and also wobbled which affected ease of cutting. The blade included chipped the porcelain tile I cut. Also, the tile tray is too small to cut larger tiles because there is no way to extend tray. I cut 6 x 24 tiles and 12 inches hung over tray which could easily break on delicate cuts The lifetime warranty was a nice feature but not enough to make up for the design flaws..
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from piece of junk Having rented wet saws for many years for dozens of projects, we decided to purchase a saw. This was the best saw available in store. Purchased it and brought it home. While assembling it, noticed water hose kinked badly in two places; there is no way any water was going to travel through that hose. Even if it was possible to straighten out hose (which it wasn't), the hose used is too stiff to ever unkink. Figured this was just a fluke so we exchange it for another (same) saw. Same problem but different location of kink. Returned this piece of junk and went to a different home improvement store to purchase a MK Diamond wet saw. More expensive but the quality appears to be head and shoulders above Rigid and MK Diamond is made in USA!
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT Recommend JUNK The saw vibrates badly!! Motor pulses. When cutting a 12" porcelain tile the tile would break when I was cutting the last inch of the tile 7 out of 10 times.the only good thing about this product is you can bring it back for a full refund with in 90 days
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw !!!! I purchased this saw only because the $ 300 Rigid was not at my local store. I NEVER write reviews, but for the money this saw RIPS !!! Cuts glass,mosaic,stone. Does it all Will not disappoint !!!
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my job much easier. Great saw. Less than half the weight of my 10" wet saw, and cuts just as smooth and fast. The pivoting head makes perfect miters . Very little over spray. Great for indoor use with no fear of water damage around the saw. Couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wet saw "GOOD BUY" The wet saw worked just as I expected GREAT!!! I would recommend this saw to every one who needs the use of a wet saw.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good professional saw I used it on 5 jobs so far in 4 months. 2 brickpaver and 3 tile jobs. It cuts pavers almost as fast as a cutoff but not quite. I cut some small glass tiles and had to put cardboard underneath because the groove where the blade goes on the mitre is too wide when cutting small peices. I cut 24" tiles all the way thru with no problem, dunno why everyone said it doesn't.....?? The only thing I don't like is that the table is not high enough. I'm 6' and like to see the cut almost eye level. Also the bevel can only be used at 45 degrees, the mitre only has one angle. I made some of my own bullnose. Also it is a little underpowered for stack cuts, I wish I could cut 3-4 tiles at once. It is loud. It sure cuts straight when it's new! I can take a half blade off anything with it. Lastly it is super light and easy to clean and assemble. The motor does get wet sometime, it's too close to the blade. For the price it is a good saw and better than the 6". I hope it lasts.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless This is my second wet saw I going to return because it splashes water everywhere, cuts uneven Dewalt wet saw is the best- doesnt splash water and make perfect cuts Do not waste your time and money
Date published: 2016-02-23
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_, sid_203837585, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT