Model # R4040S

Internet #203837585

Store SKU #1000004596

RIDGID 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
0648846063621

RIDGID

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand

  • Foldable stand
  • Removable water tray
  • Oversized cut capacity
Was  $499.00
$449.00 /each

Save $50.00 (10%)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

RIDGID introduces its new 8 in. Wet Tile Saw. The powerful 12 Amp, 1.2 HP motor easily moves through natural and manmade tile and pavers while the oversized cut capacity is capable of cutting through 4 in. wall blocks in just two passes. The die-cast aluminum table with co-molded rubber support provides solid support and the dual bearing rollers improve table stability at your worksite. The optimized water nozzle system, guard baffle system, wrap around rubber splash guard, rear water tray and isolation wall provide maximum water efficiency and cleaner worksites. This table also comes with a folding stand that has tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring. All these great features are backed by an industry leading warranty, the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement. Package includes R4040 Tile Saw, Hex Wrench, 8 in. Diamond Cutting Wheel.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 12 Amp motor - heavy duty motor powers through natural or manmade tile and pavers
  • Oversized cut capacity - 24 in. rip, 18 in. diagonal, 2-3/4 in. deep, can cut up to 5 in. wide extra-long backlash or threshold material
  • Removable water tray - captures overspray and water from larger tiles to help keep work area dry and clean
  • Aluminum miter guide - precision straight and miter cuts from 0 to 45⁰ left and right
  • Heavy duty cast aluminum arm - prevents flexing while keeping the blade aligned
  • Cast aluminum frame - heavy duty performance yet lightweight for easy transport, aluminum prevents rusting
  • 5 Gal. water tray with wheeled system - allows for quick setup and easy transporting of saw
  • Folding stand - tool-less height adjustment and scratch resistant feet to help protect flooring
  • Compatible with AC1136 RIDGID Submersible Water Pump
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

32 Questions114 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
8 in. Tile Saw with Stand

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
 
10 answers

Can I use a 7"in blade? I used ridgid blades & there junk. I heard of 7"in & 10"in blades, but, not 8" blades.

This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
Asked by
omaha
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Saginaw, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2015
Answer: 
I never had a problem with my 8' blade of course I went online to purchase it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2015
Answer: 
No. It won't cut deep enough. Buy a good blade online if HD doesn't have what you need. There are some good ones out there.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
February 5, 2015
Answer: 
you can get 8" blades. A 7" should work on the 8" saw. ( had to buy a 7" "Glass" blade for my 8" saw but have yet to use it- was told it will work fine)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Litchfield, ME, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 13, 2014
Answer: 
This blade has done hundreds of 2 3/4" concrete pavers for my pool deck and is still going strong. Bought on line from home depot. 8 in. Segmented Diamond Masonry Blade
The QEP 6-8004SG 8 in. Premium Laser Welded Segmented Diamond Blade is the perfect tool for cutting brick, concrete, concrete blocks, granite, limestone, marble and slate. Designed for accurate, wet or dry cutting with minimal chipping.
Read More
This blade has done hundreds of 2 3/4" concrete pavers for my pool deck and is still going strong. Bought on line from home depot. 8 in. Segmented Diamond Masonry Blade
The QEP 6-8004SG 8 in. Premium Laser Welded Segmented Diamond Blade is the perfect tool for cutting brick, concrete, concrete blocks, granite, limestone, marble and slate. Designed for accurate, wet or dry cutting with minimal chipping. This blade is made for long-lasting life and paramount cutting performance.
Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellingham Washington
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2014
Answer: 
I get my 8" wet saw blades at Home Depot. A 7" blade would be to short and a 10" blade would be to long. This saw does not have a height adjustment like a radial arm saw.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellingham Washington
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2014
Answer: 
I get my 8" blades from Home Depot. Never have had a problem with them. The saw is designed for an 8" blade. A 7" blade would be too short an a 10" blade would be to long. There are no adjustments for raising or lowering the saw arm like with a radial saw.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Arvada colordao
Read all my Q&A
March 22, 2014
Answer: 
I'm going to say No on both. The height of the saw in relation to the table is made to accommodate only an 8" saw blade. The bade they provided with the saw is doing great and clean work for me.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Bay Area, California
Read all my Q&A
March 6, 2014
Answer: 
I tried install a 7in blade, it just barely cut through
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Bay Area, California
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2014
Answer: 
7 inch blade is barely deep enough to cut, but any tile beyond 16 inches long might need to glide twice. Dewalt makes 8 inches, I am using it and it is great
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 31, 2013
Answer: 
RIDGID only recommends the use of the appropriate size blade that the 8” RIDGID R4040 tile saw calls for. The use of larger or smaller blades is not recommended.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
 
9 answers

Does this saw move up and down to make a cut in the center of the tile.

This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
Asked by
Leavenworth Ks
Read all my Q&A
March 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Algonquin Illinois
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 22, 2016
Answer: 
yes it does plunge cuts well
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southbury, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the saw does have the ability to move up and down for plunge cuts, or put the saw down and tighten a knob for regular cuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Saginaw, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2015
Answer: 
You can release the lock and it will move up and down or keep it locked for sliding straight cuts.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A
October 4, 2015
Answer: 
Yes this saw does plunge cuts.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
St Louis, MO
Read all my Q&A
April 8, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you can lock the blade in a fixed position for regular cuts or unlock it to raise and lower for making cuts in the center of the tile. Works great for that.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Flint, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 2, 2015
Answer: 
Yes this saw is capable of plundge cuts. The saw arm becomes spring loaded for vertical movement with the depth adjustment screw
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
The R4040S tile saws tile cutting disc and motor are mounted on a spring loaded arm that raises up and down, which allows for plunge type cutting.
Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
March 26, 2015
Answer: 
The saw blade is fixed. The table slides to carry your work underneath the blade. The blade will tilt for miter cuts though.
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
 
8 answers

is this covered by lifetime service agreement ?

This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
Asked by
Az chandler
Read all my Q&A
January 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Saginaw, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2015
Answer: 
Yes it is. But it's not as simple as they say, you may need to submit it twice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Anonymous
Kentucky
March 4, 2015
Answer: 
Yes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Great Falls, Montana
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 7, 2015
Answer: 
Yes but beware. Registration is a pain in the butt. Ridgid, I believe by design, makes it as difficult as possible to register for the warranty. Follow through and make them honor the warranty.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Litchfield, ME, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2014
Answer: 
yes. be sure to follow the registration requirements and you'll be all set. and must do it within 90 days of receipt.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Bellingham Washington
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2014
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Arvada colordao
Read all my Q&A
March 22, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, that is stamped on the box.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bay Area, California
Read all my Q&A
March 3, 2014
Answer: 
Not sure as I haven't utilize the lifetime service yet, but I bought the first one and the laser in 2 weeks and brought it back to HD and got the new one without hassle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 22, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. I believe it would be best to reach out to the manufacturer for assistance. The manufacturer is RIDGID and their customer service department can be reached at 1-800-4-RIDGID.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
 
7 answers

does 8 inch tile saw come with a diamond blade.

This question is from 8 in. Tile Saw with Stand
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Southbury, CT
Read all my Q&A
March 15, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, the 8" Rigid tile saw comes with a diamond blade. It works very well !
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Saginaw, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 18, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, for general use and that's OK. You might want to upgrade it after a while.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A
October 4, 2015
Answer: 
Yes it comes with the Rigid brand blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Central Ohio
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2015
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2015
Answer: 
Yes.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

March 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, this saw comes with a diamond blade.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:28:40.344-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203837585, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 157ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Precise and Professional Grade Tile Saw My husband and I have done several tiling projects in the past three homes that we've owned and when we decided to lay between 1200-1300 square feet of tile in the new house that we're building we decided that we weren't going to fool around with our old tile saw. The Ridgid saw was a breeze to use. The laser made lining up your cuts simple, The plunge cut feature made making cuts for floor registers much easier and the guides made ripping our 20" tiles and cutting 45 degree angles simple. I'm so glad that we decided to upgrade as this saw made the project much easier! April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what you need. If you know how to do natural stone tile etc, this is the best bang for the buck. The only thing I have found that u can't do with this saw is split an inch thick granite slab down to half an inch. Gotta have a big 18 inch blade for something CRAZY like that lol. I absolutely love this saw, and the blade that comes with it cuts like butter and leaves a silky smooth cut. April 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great saw laser dead on cuts down to 1/4" great control used to cut slate title , clean cuts with no damage to title , also very easy to control and hold title square June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works very well I am a union tile setter. This saw is everything I could ask for almost the same as my dewalt that is 350 more. GREAT PRODUCT. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for home owner This is a great tool for those looking to do some tile work on the weekends. Worked well out of the box after a slight adjustment to make sure the cuts were properly square. I replaced the blade with a high quality Bosch blade. No chipping at all. The 8 inch saw has a more powerful motor that works very well. Not so sure this would hold up to ongoing daily use by a professional, but I'm very pleased. February 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by David (Kentucky) This saw is simply amazing! If you are using a small saw or a breaker, pay the price and grab this saw and enjoy tiling to its fullest. The saw and table are very smoothly operated and the laser light is incredible. Stop looking for the best deal and buy quality. I own other Rigid products and have found that they are built with quality and performance.. Great saw! March 4, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really Nice Saw Brought this saw after much research. I was planning out a Kitchen and Foyer with Ceramic and Porcelain tiles. I needed to cut many diagonals and several edge angles and looked at many 7 inch saws. I concluded that this saw at 8 inches was the best buy for the money and I am happy with the purchase. It was a bit more than I planned to spend but did the job and represents a good value.The included blade is adequate so you don't have to buy a more expensive one right away. The stand works great and stores easily. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wet saw "GOOD BUY" The wet saw worked just as I expected GREAT!!! I would recommend this saw to every one who needs the use of a wet saw. April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great saw Saw is better quality than expected, simple to assemble and adjust, cuts through paver brick with ease nice precision cuts. Product warranty extremely simple to do online! April 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Customer Light weight yet durable. Easy to set up, tear down, & move. April 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tile saw Best value around for a tile saw. Easy to set up, cuts smooth, and accurate. Could not be happier March 24, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by NOT Recommend JUNK The saw vibrates badly!! Motor pulses. When cutting a 12" porcelain tile the tile would break when I was cutting the last inch of the tile 7 out of 10 times.the only good thing about this product is you can bring it back for a full refund with in 90 days February 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tile saw Great tile saw! With the feature of the laserguide, make hard cuts even faster. April 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TILE SAW The price was a little hefty however the saw has worked great so far on 6 x 24 ceramic tile. The laser feature is quite nice and makes cutting a real breeze. I have also been able to use the plunge cut with no problem. Plenty of power and the water flow for cooling the blade is fine. February 25, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't pay 500 for this kind of 8 IN. TILE SAW WITH STAND i did buy this tile saw yesterday buy motor make three different noise don't recommend any one purchase this kind of tile saw look at the video unopened items start work February 14, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money I just purchased today and was disappointed. I bought to use on a small job so my opinion is based on a limited amount of time. First the stand does not lock into water tray which only sits on top of legs which could easily fall. The motor is extremely loud before and during cuts so wear ample ear protection. The filter material around the pump is a good idea which could prolong pump life. Also, wheels and handle on water tray are a good idea. The tile tray did not slide easy and also wobbled which affected ease of cutting. The blade included chipped the porcelain tile I cut. Also, the tile tray is too small to cut larger tiles because there is no way to extend tray. I cut 6 x 24 tiles and 12 inches hung over tray which could easily break on delicate cuts The lifetime warranty was a nice feature but not enough to make up for the design flaws.. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw !!!! I purchased this saw only because the $ 300 Rigid was not at my local store. I NEVER write reviews, but for the money this saw RIPS !!! Cuts glass,mosaic,stone. Does it all Will not disappoint !!! February 1, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good professional saw I used it on 5 jobs so far in 4 months. 2 brickpaver and 3 tile jobs. It cuts pavers almost as fast as a cutoff but not quite. I cut some small glass tiles and had to put cardboard underneath because the groove where the blade goes on the mitre is too wide when cutting small peices. I cut 24" tiles all the way thru with no problem, dunno why everyone said it doesn't.....?? The only thing I don't like is that the table is not high enough. I'm 6' and like to see the cut almost eye level. Also the bevel can only be used at 45 degrees, the mitre only has one angle. I made some of my own bullnose. Also it is a little underpowered for stack cuts, I wish I could cut 3-4 tiles at once. It is loud. It sure cuts straight when it's new! I can take a half blade off anything with it. Lastly it is super light and easy to clean and assemble. The motor does get wet sometime, it's too close to the blade. For the price it is a good saw and better than the 6". I hope it lasts. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good saw, but know it's limitations I saw another review that will look very much like this one. Overall, this a good tile saw for the money. There are a lot of well thought-out features and it has held up pretty well in the 6 months that I have owned it. The only problem so far has been with the table length when cutting 24" long tiles. There is a lot of tile left hanging out over space during the cut. The saw blade wants to push this overhang down and more than one tile has been snapped because of it. I finally came up with a solution to brace the tile in this situation, but it sure slows me down. Another professional might think twice before getting this saw and if I were doing tile full time, I would also. However, it is a great saw for a DIYer or a professional who is only laying tile now and then. And it it is a nice improvement from the model that Rigid had before. At the end of the day, I still recommend this saw. June 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tile Saw water pump does not mount, water hose prob., & more January 20, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good tile saw, except... This tile saw is rated to be able to rip 24" long tile. While the distance from the backstop of the sliding table to the front edge of the blade is indeed more than 24", the table itself is only 13.5", leaving at least ten inches of tile hanging out in space when you make a rip cut. This is fine for ripping a square tile since there is alot of material to support that overhang. Unfortunately, ripping a very expensive 24" bullnose which is barely 4" wide to begin with seems no small risk of snapping the tile in half. I thought I'd use a piece of Hardibacker underneath the tile for support, but the backstop is only about 3/8" high so that the back edge of the bullnose piece will not be against the backstop. There should have been a removable piece of the backstop about five inches wide so that one could begin the cut with the skinny tile hanging out the back but against the angle stop until the cut is half made, then reinstall (with two Allen screws) the backstop and complete the cut that way. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great saw for the money Bought this saw after returning the 7" model due to several disappointing 'qualities'. What a difference! Solid, adjustable, saw arm, and the base rolls smooth and steady during cuts. Cuts straight and clean at all angles, as good as some models at twice the price. Better blade spray guard, over spray tray to catch the mess that will wind up on the floor, multi stepped tray to help clear the water before returning to the pump. A good buy for occasional jobs where you need a quality saw. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE SAW! The saw did a really beautiful job cutting 1.5" slate. Versatile, accurate, especially with the laser, makes the job go very quickly. It breaks down easily for transportation from job to job, unlike the monster tile saws I've used in the past, which hurt to move! Stand that comes with it is very sturdy and at a handy height. Only con is it the motor is LOUD!!! Have to have ear protection to do the job, and maybe when no one else is in the house. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome tile/paver saw We bought this saw to cut 2 3/4 concrete pavers for our pool deck.This thing, with the included blade does the job better and faster than i imagined! The saw was square right out of the box and set-up time was very quick! (just a few bolts and put blade on) It came in box mostly pre-assembled. Will definitely steer anyone looking for a good saw to this one! August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wet saw Great saw easy to set up and take down very lightweight . Did a great job on cutting tile makes any job go fast and easy. Good price and value highly reccomend it. December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good saw This has been very good so far. Set up was simple and the saw was in good alignment out of the box. I've been using it to cut marble, and granite tile and it has performed well. Everything about the saw is easy to adjust and use and I've noticed no play in the table at all. Everything seems to be made of either aluminum, magnesium, rubber or HDPE, so after months of use i haven't noticed any rust at all. I'd recommend to a contractor or serious diy'er. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A couple of suggestions for a great tool 1. Save the UPC symbol from the box. 2. Submerge the water pump in a separate bucket. First, let me state that the saw worked perfectly for a do-it-yourself installation of ceramic tile on the floor of our master bathroom. I had no prior experience with tile saws, but found this RIGID saw quite easy to use for a project with 18-inch square tile. The only problem I've encountered is with RIGID's registration system for their Lifetime Service Agreement. Theoretically, you should be able to register quickly online. Basically, you just submit the model number, serial number, and a number from your Home Depot receipt. This is the second RIGID tool I've tried to register online, and both times I've gotten a message stating that "we encountered an issue when cross referencing your product and/or proof of purchase information with our records..." When this happens, you then have to mail the UPC symbol from the box along with your original HD receipt. AND they recommend using Certified Mail. In my case that meant a trip to the post office - plus three dollars and seventy-nine cents postage. The water tray has a designated area for the water pump, but my son suggested that the low partition around that space would not keep the pump entirely clean during operation. He suggested submerging the pump in a "Homer Bucket" setting on the ground away from the blade. There is enough electrical cord and plastic hose to facilitate this simple change. Sure enough, the bucket stayed clean - while the designated pump area accumulated some "sludge." February 3, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Worth It I am a low volume, high quality tile installer. This saw worked fine for the first job it was used on, cutting 2'x2' $18/ft marble. I have owned the saw 3 months, almost to the day and cannot get the saw the cut square anymore. Cutting cheap porcelain tile, the back of the blade creates chips in the stone. I have numerous attempts the "Square" the slider to the blade. Alas, it works for a few cuts and then is magically out of square again. Also, somehow the pan had begun to leak, i fear for use of the transport wheels and the location of the drain plug(maybe damaged while rolling?) It currently hemorrhages water after only 2 major jobs. I am returning tomorrow, and was considering the special order 10" saw as rigid makes decent tools in general, but it gets poor reviews. I am at a loss, in general I am happy with rigid, and was this saw for the first month( i was thrilled with its performance), but it does not age well, at least not with professional use. I would recommend for a homeowner, but doubt one would purchase a saw this expensive, ultimately I think a pencil drive is a homeowners best bet. For the professional, look elsewhere, this saw is not accurate for most customers standards, not with heavy use. November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good did tile saw Used this saw to cut about 500 square feet of large format Porcelain tile (12" * 24") along with mosaic tile. Very easy to set up this saw. I found the original blade to be fine but also bought a better one. Some chipping but can't blame that on the saw. I gave the saw a 4 on quality because I have cross threaded the drain cap a few times resulting in leaks. You can immediately correct this by screwing the drain on properly but it seems like a weak point. I've used the saw outdoors and in the house. For the house I work in a corner with tarp and plastic running up two walls. This setup captures most of the dust. I agree with other reviewers that cutting larger tile with this saw is a bit of a challenge but it was not that difficult. I found it easy enough to support the ends of the tile with my hand or elbow while cutting. The larger tile does result in more water on the floor though since it wants to run down the tile. For working indoors I purchased two dog kennel replacement trays to place under the saw to help capture the water. I got the largest ones I could find (47" * 29" * 1"). and they are cheap. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific tile wet saw I am a non-professional but frequent tile installer... I do house renovation projects, and do the tile work for each, so I've done several thousand square feet by now. I got really tired of dealing with the score/snap tile cutters and the little 5" toy wet saw, and figured it was time to upgrade for this next reno. Boy, am I glad I did. In short, I'd estimate that on the first two floors I've done since buying this saw, it probably saved me 20% of the net time I spend on the project. I do a lot of diagonal patterns, and between the smooth-sliding and very accurate tray, and the laser line, it's super easy to get a tile lined up and cut with no fuss. I simply measure from a corner and put a small mark, line it up with the laser, and cut away. 10 seconds later it's done. That's SO much faster than the fuss required with a tile scorer or a non-sliding-tray saw. I haven't wasted a single tile yet, and had very little chipping. Some critical observations. Yes, it's a bit loud, but I wear ear protection 100% of the time when working, so it's not a bother to me. I happen to think the NON-belt design will be more reliable long-term, so that seems like a good tradeoff to me. The splash tray on the back doesn't quite catch all the spray. Some water hits about 3" up from the tray. If I raised the blade a bit it probably wouldn't do that. I just stick a bit of plywood to catch the overspray. I guess I could also prop the tray up a bit higher. As to those who complain about the water pump, I wonder if they meticulously clean it after each use. I remove it, take it to a sink, and run it to flush out all the gunk. No problems yet. But if you don't clean it and that stuff dries inside the pump, I'm sure it would seize up. The tray is very accurate for me, as is the laser line. I'm not totally happy with the adjustable "fence"; it's a bit hard to tighten each time, and you must move it out of the path of the blade fairly often. But it does work, and produces really accurate 45 deg angles for me. The multi-stage sediment catching system seems to work really well. The pump seems to have very little buildup in it after each use, but there is a little bit anyway. It's a little awkward to transport the saw assembly, as it's fairly wide and not really balanced for carrying easily. But it quickly breaks down into easily-moved parts. The only thing I really don't like is the water drain cap. I have to fight it a bit to get it to stop leaking. But if that's the worst thing about this saw, I think I've got a great product. Well done, Ridgid. February 22, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T15:36:32.026-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_84, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_203837585, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 118ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT