0648846057118

RIDGID

Model # R82236

Internet # 202222204

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

$99.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
13.307 in 
Product Height (in.) 
9.134 in 
Product Width (in.) 
3.622 in 

Details

Accessory Change System 
Universal Adaptor 
Accessory Compatibility 
Universal Adaptor is compatible with all popular Multi-tool accessories 
Batteries Included 
Yes 
Battery Amp Hours 
2.0 
Battery Power Type 
Lithium Ion 
Battery Size 
Lithium Ion 
Charger Included 
Yes 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cordless Tool Type 
Specialty 
Cordless/ Corded 
Cordless 
Number of Batteries Included 
Oscillation Arc Range (Degrees) 
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 
20000 
Power Tool Features 
Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed 
Power Tool Product Type 
Cordless 
Product Weight (lb.) 
5.3 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Voltage (volts) 
12 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year Limited Warranty; Lifetime Service Agreement with tool registration 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

8 Questions40 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

xtra battery

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
dboy
wisconsin
November 4, 2012
if i buy a xtra battery i have heard that the battery is only a 3 year warranty. I thought it says free parts -service and batterys for life? how can some batterys be lifetime or 3years .are they different ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the Read More
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the truck. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
My understanding is that they are also covered for life as long as you register them and send in the paperwork
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Buy it in a kit, get the LSA. Buy them individually and yep, you on;y get three years. This is there sneaky little way to get you to buy tools.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
Answer: 
It seems some batteries you can get the LSA on (example the 12V as of today Model # AC82048)
Others you can't.
BE VERY tenacious about your LSA registration. Lithium Ion batteries are still relatively new so I'd guess Emerson has to limit their exposure to risk by not giving every battery a LSA.
It is frustrating - the batteries are so expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
The battery is covered under the LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement). However, keep track of all your paperwork and carefully follow all the LSA rules. Re-register the battery if it is replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
it should be life also
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Only the items included in the box with the Tool Kit are covered when the box indicates it is a product eligible for Lifetime Service Agreements. I just bought a battery powered tool with ONE battery that will be covered by the LSA. I purchased another battery (for swap outs while using) and it will NOT be covered by the LSA, just the 3 year warranty... FRUSTRATING, but the way it is. Apparently the Read More
Only the items included in the box with the Tool Kit are covered when the box indicates it is a product eligible for Lifetime Service Agreements. I just bought a battery powered tool with ONE battery that will be covered by the LSA. I purchased another battery (for swap outs while using) and it will NOT be covered by the LSA, just the 3 year warranty... FRUSTRATING, but the way it is. Apparently the higher priced "Kits" sometimes include the 2nd Battery. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2013
Answer: 
I think you have unreal expectations. The manufacturer has no way of knowing if you recharge the battery properly. Did you know you are supposed to let the battery cool before you recharge it ? Many people don't know this, and recharging a hot battery will shorten it's lifespan greatly. So, not only are the batteries different, so are the manufacturer's policies. I don't blame them, giving away batteries Read More
I think you have unreal expectations. The manufacturer has no way of knowing if you recharge the battery properly. Did you know you are supposed to let the battery cool before you recharge it ? Many people don't know this, and recharging a hot battery will shorten it's lifespan greatly. So, not only are the batteries different, so are the manufacturer's policies. I don't blame them, giving away batteries can get expensive. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
The batteries that come with the tools have a lifetime service agreement if you register the tools. If you purchase a battery it comes with the standard 3 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
7 answers

Battery operated or corded

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
Queens, NYC
Read all my Q&A
November 30, 2013
I am stuck. I dont know weather I should buy the 12v Ridgid Jobmax or the corded Ridgid Jobmax. If I had this tool I would use it probably once a day. Please help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
I can use the 18v. version all day long on one charge and it is quite powerful. I find that having to drag out an extension cord is a hassle and there is no disadvantage to having the 18v. version.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
I absolutely would recommend the cordless. Battery life is very good and with two batteries you could use it all day. Very fast re charge. Lots and lots of power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
CORDLESS, CORDLESS and CORDLESS. Replace the spot you have the corded jobmax plugged in to and replace that with the charger and roam free my friend. Don't be held back. Buy it as a kit and you get the life warranty so never worry about having to purchase another battery or charger. No reason to jog from one outlet to the other!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Houston Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 27, 2014
Answer: 
Based on my experience with batteries, and your projected use of 'once a day', I would recommend corded. The saw chomps through things, but at a cost to the batteries. I know in advance that I will need quite a few fresh ones available to keep going on a tough wood project. I don't use my Job Max daily, but if I did, I would be getting a corded one because I HATE getting up & down to get batteries out of Read More
Based on my experience with batteries, and your projected use of 'once a day', I would recommend corded. The saw chomps through things, but at a cost to the batteries. I know in advance that I will need quite a few fresh ones available to keep going on a tough wood project. I don't use my Job Max daily, but if I did, I would be getting a corded one because I HATE getting up & down to get batteries out of the charger. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Wade, NC
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
It depends on how long you would need to operate the tool. If you would be running it under a continuous load, the battery would probably last around 15 minutes or so. Be warned when they lose power there is no warning. The tool will run like a champ and then abruptly quit when the juice is gone. Batteries are convenient, but I would get a spare. If you don't need convenience get the corded version. They Read More
It depends on how long you would need to operate the tool. If you would be running it under a continuous load, the battery would probably last around 15 minutes or so. Be warned when they lose power there is no warning. The tool will run like a champ and then abruptly quit when the juice is gone. Batteries are convenient, but I would get a spare. If you don't need convenience get the corded version. They appear to have worked out the bugs and this tool is a great addition to my tool arsenal. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
Answer: 
Buy a Fein if you need it everyday. If you've done your research and you still want a Jobmax... then it depends.
if you have other EIGHTEEN (18v) Ridgid tools go with the 18V version. Otherwise go corded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 5, 2013
Answer: 
We do apologize but, we are not able to advise whether to purchase a corded or cordless version of this tool. Without knowing your future plans for usage. We can state that the corded version will help to cut down on the need for replacement batteries in the future but, it will cut down on portability and convenience.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
7 answers

where can you buy sandpaper to fit the triangular sanding head, Home Depot doesn't sell it !!

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
BK
February 5, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
Have purchase mine at home depot. There are a lot of other brands of paper that will also work just fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
They actually do carry it at My Home Depot, ask an associate to show you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
They don't but remember this is a universal head/attachement. Used on Dremel, Craftsman, Bosch and Ridgid. So depending on where you like to shop just buy the triangular sand paper (with the velco style adhesive) for any of these tools and your good to go!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
ACE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
South Carolina, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 10, 2013
Answer: 
I have not needed any yet. But I believe Harbor Freight does. If not search online before going to a lot of stores. You are usually able to search stores that are near to you. If you can't find it nearby buy it online and have it shipped to you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Google it online... I believe Amazon sells them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 5, 2013
Answer: 
RIDGID does not make or market sanding angles for the JobMax sander head, since there is a variety of compatible sanding supplies already offered and available in the market place under numerous brand names, like Dremel and Bosch, both of which are commonly sold at Home Depot. Stock sanding angles like those that come with the JobMax starter kit, can be ordered through the master parts distributor at Read More
RIDGID does not make or market sanding angles for the JobMax sander head, since there is a variety of compatible sanding supplies already offered and available in the market place under numerous brand names, like Dremel and Bosch, both of which are commonly sold at Home Depot. Stock sanding angles like those that come with the JobMax starter kit, can be ordered through the master parts distributor at 1-877-544-9253. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
7 answers

How much does the Lifetime Service Agreement cost?

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
BB
December 7, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
Nothing. It is a part of the price of the tool. Just be sure to register it or there will be no Agreement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
Just the price of a stamp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
The LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement) is included in the price of the Ridgid tool. You do not purchase it separately. The LSA is very complicated. So, keep all of your paperwork, and be sure to register the tool on-line or by the phone. (If you bought a kit. Register all parts of kit. Including batteries) Don't forget to mail in copies of your receipt(s) to Ridgid, or your LSA will not be valid, and Read More
The LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement) is included in the price of the Ridgid tool. You do not purchase it separately. The LSA is very complicated. So, keep all of your paperwork, and be sure to register the tool on-line or by the phone. (If you bought a kit. Register all parts of kit. Including batteries) Don't forget to mail in copies of your receipt(s) to Ridgid, or your LSA will not be valid, and Ridgid will not honor the warrantee. If you have a tool or battery replaced under warrantee, you will have to re-register the new tool or battery. Warning! It will take months to get something repaired and weeks to get a battery replaced. If you need warrantee work, be sure to take the entire tool (with kit accessories), the battery and the battery charger to the service center. They will want to see all or part of it. You will also need all paperwork on the tool. Good Luck! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
nothing ,it comes with life time
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Comes with the product. The information is on the box. If it is NOT on the box it is not a Lifetime Service Agreement Product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
norway maine
Read all my Q&A
December 9, 2012
Answer: 
there is no cost for the LSA.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Window Rock, AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 8, 2012
Answer: 
Based on the information provided on Rigid's website, the lifetime service agreement is free:
"Lifetime Service Agreement
The original purchaser of an eligible product may elect to register for a free Lifetime Service Agreement. To accept this Lifetime Service Agreement, you must register your product and submit proof of purchase for processing approval as described below. The Lifetime Service Agreement
Read More
Based on the information provided on Rigid's website, the lifetime service agreement is free:
"Lifetime Service Agreement
The original purchaser of an eligible product may elect to register for a free Lifetime Service Agreement. To accept this Lifetime Service Agreement, you must register your product and submit proof of purchase for processing approval as described below. The Lifetime Service Agreement provides the original owner of qualifying RIDGID® Brand tools a lifetime of free replacement batteries, free service and free replacement parts subject to the limitations set forth below.
The Lifetime Service Agreement is available free of charge, on all eligible RIDGID® Brand hand held power tools, stationary power tools and pneumatic tools, subject to the terms and conditions stated below. Customers have 90 days from date of purchase to register tools for the Lifetime Service Agreement. Once all conditions of the registration process are fulfilled, the tool’s service coverage lasts the lifetime of the original purchaser. The Lifetime Service Agreement status on a tool is not transferable to persons other than the original purchaser. Note: The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement is only available for eligible RIDGID tools purchased at THE HOME DEPOT."
Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-07-22 T15:15:55.418-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202222204, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 658ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 204 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Works real good. I would recommend it to someone. Thanx September 15, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed I purchased the 1st kit and used it for 10 months when the electronics in the motor failed. I did not go online and register the product initially so I ended up having to purchase another unit. I have had continous problems with the batteries and the charger. If the battery runs low the charger will not allow the discharged battery to recharge. I have purchased multiple batteries and chargers only to continue with the same results. When I actually have a working tool it is a great tool. It sure beats manually doing the work but I seldom can ever use the tool due to all of the problems. VERY UNRELIABLE!!!!! March 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disposable Tool itself worked ok for the few odd cuts I needed it for. Problem is that after only a few uses over a 2 yr period the battery is now defective, of course it is out of warranty. I purchased this for the few times you need a specialty cut which means I charged the battery maybe twice. Now I really need it which means I will need to spend 50% of the cost of the tool to buy another battery that is disposable after a few uses? No thank you, I could pay someone to do the job and still come out ahead. Lesson learned. Now looking for a better quality more expensive brand but expect to at least get my money's worth so is cheaper in the end. Spend the extra money on a better brand, you will not regret it. Ridgid is now on my "never again" list. May 2, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by WORST TOOL EVER MADE. JUNK!!! I should start by saying that the batteries on this tool only last 5-15 charges before they just wont charge any more. I was dumb enough to buy this tool twice because in my line of work if the tool worked, it would be priceless. BUT ITS JUNK. November 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVE this tool! Have just finished 140 sq ft flooring job in 1933 year old house (old, hard, dry wood door moldings). This tool fills the gap for the DIYer who doesn't have a base cut saw to trim the door moldings. It is perfect for cutting insets into floor boards going into tight spaces. I have other Rigid tools, and batteries, so having a battery die isn't an issue. I just have at least 4 fresh when I'm tackling old, hard wood. The "D" adapter piece allows use of another company's blades if Rigid blades aren't in stock. Only complaint is the light could be placed differently to actually light up the end of the blade, instead of being blocked by hands holding the tool. February 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good After limited use and out of warranty battery wouldn't charge. Replaced it.......NOTHING. Still won't charge. I guess the charger is bad but won't invest any more money init. Replaced it with corded quality brand unit that all accessories and soft carrier fit. June 10, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool for what it's designed for / Poor Battery Life I have owned my Jobmax 12volt for over a year now and it is a great tool for what it is designed for. I have since purchased multiple attachments and I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this tool. I have used it for everything from trimming the base of a door frame for flooring to cutting a 2x4 base plate loose in a tight place. Granted I agree the battery life is poor, if you are running this thing wide open fast enough to drain the battery in a couple minutes you're probably using the wrong tool. Overall I dont agree with some of the negative reviews, but these are all individually based experiences and mine has been great. December 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product Very satisfied with my purchase of JOBMAX Multi-Tool Starter Kit June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This product is great... I have used many of these multi tools and have found that this is the best one in my bag. I use this all the time and finished a complete kitchen remodel using it to cust holes in drywall, trim and so on. I have used the blades in the kit and they have not even begun to dull out either. The best thing I have found to use this tool for is vinyl siding installations using the newly released batteries, it lasts and the batteries are small enough to carry an extra in your tool belt...the added benefit of this tool is that you can cut into existing siding to install new vents, outlets and the like and makes for a super easy installation without the need of snips. December 8, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 3-in-1 I was looking for a multitool to grind/sand down a door frame and have seen the Dremel several times in TV commercials. Though, after comparing both tools in my local HD store, I decided to go with the one from Ridgid. The overall features of the Ridgid multitool were convincing. Most important PLUS: cordless/battery and LED light I think I made a good choice. I got the job done and I was impressed by the tool's performance. Though I am not able to make a direct comparison with other multitools since this is the only one I've been using so far. However, you won't be disappointed if you get this one. It seems to be good quality and well thought through. January 1, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by battery issue This tool is nice. Unfortunately, a main drawback is the battery. The battery runs approximately 15 minutes. I recharged it for 20 minutes. Another drain battery later and recharge it again back and forth. I used it for simple projects such drilling, screwing, unscrewing, and sanding. I have the extra battery with the same issue. I leave you to decide whether to buy Ridgid power tools or not. I am disappointed that the company must have knew the problem because they don't want to bring up the battery recalls. I contacted the manufacturer about the battery issue. They twisted their words. Nothing that I can do about it. July 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by ridgid job max broke 3 times in less than 3 years very unreliable when it works it's very handy but have had 3 defective batteries now and they won't replace them. The warranty is a joke - stand behind the name why does it have to be registered a Ridgid is a Ridgid??? If it's a lifetime guarantee why does is matter if it's regisitered? Now my Jobmax won't be covered becasue it wasn't registered even though they have me in the system and can see by my serial number when it was purchased etc ........but I didn't do the paperwork hassle to get it registered - stick with craftsman - Sears knows craftsman is craftsman and always honors their brand. This is the 2nd jobmax and third battery - stay away from Ridgid and Home Depot don't honor their own brand May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great tool!!! This tool came in handy right out of its box...thank you ridgid...The only reason it didn't get a 5 star because Home Depot doesn't believe in shipping their items in a concealed package. ..cheapo. April 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rigid Oscillating Multi Tool Absolute poor purchase! I bought this tool with high anticipation of helping with the door jamb trimmings on a bathroom tiling project and it stopped working after only about 60 seconds of precision cutting on the jamb. It left me high and dry, and back to the not so precise manual cutting mode. Once it stopped working I tried all available methods to breath life back in to the product to complete my project, but no luck. Not even a twitch. This tool is not worth your time to purchase, let alone your hard earned dollars. Do some research and buy another brand, even if initial costs are higher. It will save you a great deal of frustration in the middle of your project. November 25, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by jobmax 12 volt very handy for cutting door trim and other obsticles while doing flooring March 24, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good While It Lasted Bought this today to do some plunge cuts so I could finish installing some laminate molding for a room I just finished installing Pergo in. I charged it completely before I used it and got about 20 minutes worth of work out of it before the tool stopped working. I assumed the battery needed to be recharged, so I let it charge about an hour before putting the battery back in the tool. I tried to get it running again, but the tool never turned back on. I assume that the trigger switch or the battery is to blame. Either way, I'm taking it back in the morning! I wasn't able to finish the job and I'm super disgusted!!! July 16, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Tool I decided to make Rigid my home depot tool partner. I am helping my mom refurbish her home for retirement and I need a full selection of tools. We redid her floor and I bought this tool to cut small pieces of allure flooring and trim. The tool cuts but not as fast on TV and the store but the quality of the ridgid tools is better than most of the competing brands. I have to give this tool 4 stars because its not aggressive enough but it is well made and it also has some interesting features. the work head rotates 360 degrees. The housing is more rugged than the competing brand and it has a small work light. I used the tool to cut shipping bands and allure flooring and wood trim. December 3, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Handy drill and driver tool Drill is a bit heavier than I expected. It can get into smaller spaces than regular cordless handdrill. It has plenty of torque for driving as well as drilling. Battery seems to last long time between charges. It's a shame this unit can only be bought from Home Depot on line and isn't sold in local stores. Also it would be nice if it came with a carrying case. February 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The 12v system is absolutely awesome All pieces in the 12v line are great. Finished my 1500 sq, ft. basement with 2 12v drills and the jobmax 12v multi tool. Great torque and very good battery life. Great for trimming baseboards and cutting brass pipe. These tools made my life a whole lot easier. Yes I have a complete 18 v Ridgid set but I find the 12v will handle 90% of all my needs with no fatigue. Lots of features and very reliable. Lifetime warranty is the iceing on the cake. December 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Product has great features I purchased this product because of the ridged name and the fact that I have a number of ridged power tools which are great. . . .So the choice to purchase this one was easy. . . .I had read the reviews and there was only one that I was concerned about. . . .Battery. . . .When I received the multi tool, I placed battery on charge to make sure it was fully charged. . . .I then proceeded to make several cute in some pine. . . .At 1/2 - 2/3 rd's speed, the battery lasted approx. 5 minutes. . . .What a disaster. . . .You would need 2- 3 batteries to do 10-15 minutes work. . . .Needles to say, I am returning the product for a refund. . . .I ended up using a friends 12V multi tool (not a ridgid# and had no problem completing my job with one battery #approx. 20-30 minutes of pretty continuos use). . .I was really looking forward to having and using this product . . . .Wish that someone could give me an answer to the problem and why it has not been corrected. . . . May 14, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad for price I had purchased the Dremel multi tool and promptly returned it after one use. It was chorded and felt cheap. I saw this tool and was attracted by the fact it is battery operated (interchangeable with multiple other Rigid power tools), has an interchangeable head, and has an adapter so that you can use Dremel and Bosch accessories. For what I used it for and will use it for, it works perfectly. If your going to do a lot of sanding or grout removal, you might want an extra battery on hand. I also got the nail driver head, which worked pretty well, but won't drive in a framing nail. Overall I'm fairly impressed. September 30, 2010
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok for limited home owner use This tool is a neat concept and way to get multiple tools (combo kit cordless like) on the cheap. It should not be thought of as a replacement for combo kits for more than limited use. If you want to use the jigsaw attachment to cut a few boards, ok. Lite angle drilling works fine as well. It has real limitations that you should be aware of: 1) Only 1 12V battery > This is a severe limit. It really should come with 2 batteries particularly since it is 12V. 2) This is a 12V tool. > We have all gotten use to more power. 3) Carry back should be bigger. Ridgid doesn't necessarily mean commercial grade any more. December 21, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by There appears to be a defect with this tool, everyone has the same issues While I own about every Ridgid product and they have all performed well and held up well, this tool must have a design flaw. The tool will work ok for a bit then I'm not sure if it gets hot and shuts off or what but just stops. Like all of my 12 volt tools, the batteries don't hold up well so if you get one be sure to register it properly and when they replace your batteries under warranty, re-register them asap. The tool is handy and cuts ok but something is not right with mine and I need to ship it back to have it repaired or replaced. Despite battery issues and minor things like this I have continued to purchase Ridgid tools because of the warranty. I know all batteries will eventually fail so at least I'm covered as long as I live. November 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by job max capability provided is very useful. It would be great to have this kit with the 18 v motor February 10, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Handy tool but wouldn't buy another one! I received this tool as a gift. I used it rarely, but was very handy. The battery doesn't last long and stopped working completely after approximately 3 years. I would not get another battery operated tool, but maybe a corded one. February 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Useful in tight spots Bought this guy this summer in a pinch and I love using it. It's not the most powerful (Bosch corded), but when you need it it does great. The rounded blade does a great job cutting lengths, like siding for ledger board. If you're using it for long periods consider the corded because the 12v doesn't run for a very long time, maybe 15 minutes continuous., but it charges in about 15 minutes. I would like a rotary head attachment so it can be used in place of a dremel. Love the light and ease of use. Works great for trimming casing around doors to install tile or other flooring underneath. November 23, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bad design Artery only last maybe 5-8 minutes depending on continuous use. BUT after a few uses the battery vibrates loose and eventually won't stay inserted. As soon as you hit the trigger it pops out a little and shuts off. Could be great wit a better design . I've had great luck with other rigid tools. December 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by good concept bad design I have been through 3 different tools. Returned for new and finally the last time the rep gave me my money back and i bought a milwaukee. This is one the best concepts for a tool I have seen in a while, but I don't think they were ready. The trigger would go out and work intermittenly after 1 or 2 times of short use. This was very frustrating. I really liked the idea of the interchangealbe heads and being able to rotate the head, but like I said it just didn't work. The pin that the head pushes down would not push all the way or did not make good contact. This is coming from a guy who 90 percent of his tools are ridgid because I they are very good tools. Just not this one!!! Very disappointed!!! January 23, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works great rigid gave me new batteries about 5 years ago and they are still working great.(sand corners on hardwood floors, out side sand facia, notch to inset new wood for cabinets, use ratchet to spin screws(dont be stupid and try to break screws free with it- thats what breaker bars are for) auto hammer worked great in confined space on hardwood floor(use right angle drill head to pre drill and hold nail poked through cardboard ti prevent damadge to wood.) September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Handy I purchased this tool with the intent of installing some laminate flooring. The 2 included blades were great and allowed me to make all of the cuts I needed. The sanding attachment has come in handy a few times as well. I will be purchasing the second kit that includes impact driver, screwdriver, ratchet, and 2 batteries in the near future. One thing to note is that the tool just stops working once the battery reaches a low level. It does not slow down like other battery powered tools I have used. I have used it for a few days for various cuts without needing a charge though. August 2, 2010
  • 2016-07-22 T15:26:56.266-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_204, tr_204
  • loc_en_US, sid_202222204, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 300ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT