Model # R82236

Internet #202222204

RIDGID JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
0648846057118

Discontinued RIDGID

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$99.00 /each
$99.97 /each
$119.00 /each
$179.00 /each
Name JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) 20-Volt Max XR Lithium-Ion Cordless Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Brand RIDGID RIDGID Makita DEWALT
Ratings (46) (210) (36) (74)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Cordless Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Keyless Chuck,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Keyless Chuck
Voltage (volts) 12 12 18 20
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included Yes Yes No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 1 1 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20000 20000 20000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

9 Questions41 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

xtra battery

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
dboy
wisconsin
November 4, 2012
if i buy a xtra battery i have heard that the battery is only a 3 year warranty. I thought it says free parts -service and batterys for life? how can some batterys be lifetime or 3years .are they different ??
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the Read More
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the truck. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
My understanding is that they are also covered for life as long as you register them and send in the paperwork
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
Buy it in a kit, get the LSA. Buy them individually and yep, you on;y get three years. This is there sneaky little way to get you to buy tools.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
Answer: 
It seems some batteries you can get the LSA on (example the 12V as of today Model # AC82048)
Others you can't.
BE VERY tenacious about your LSA registration. Lithium Ion batteries are still relatively new so I'd guess Emerson has to limit their exposure to risk by not giving every battery a LSA.
It is frustrating - the batteries are so expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
The battery is covered under the LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement). However, keep track of all your paperwork and carefully follow all the LSA rules. Re-register the battery if it is replaced.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
it should be life also
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Only the items included in the box with the Tool Kit are covered when the box indicates it is a product eligible for Lifetime Service Agreements. I just bought a battery powered tool with ONE battery that will be covered by the LSA. I purchased another battery (for swap outs while using) and it will NOT be covered by the LSA, just the 3 year warranty... FRUSTRATING, but the way it is. Apparently the Read More
Only the items included in the box with the Tool Kit are covered when the box indicates it is a product eligible for Lifetime Service Agreements. I just bought a battery powered tool with ONE battery that will be covered by the LSA. I purchased another battery (for swap outs while using) and it will NOT be covered by the LSA, just the 3 year warranty... FRUSTRATING, but the way it is. Apparently the higher priced "Kits" sometimes include the 2nd Battery. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2013
Answer: 
I think you have unreal expectations. The manufacturer has no way of knowing if you recharge the battery properly. Did you know you are supposed to let the battery cool before you recharge it ? Many people don't know this, and recharging a hot battery will shorten it's lifespan greatly. So, not only are the batteries different, so are the manufacturer's policies. I don't blame them, giving away batteries Read More
I think you have unreal expectations. The manufacturer has no way of knowing if you recharge the battery properly. Did you know you are supposed to let the battery cool before you recharge it ? Many people don't know this, and recharging a hot battery will shorten it's lifespan greatly. So, not only are the batteries different, so are the manufacturer's policies. I don't blame them, giving away batteries can get expensive. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2012
Answer: 
The batteries that come with the tools have a lifetime service agreement if you register the tools. If you purchase a battery it comes with the standard 3 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
7 answers

Battery operated or corded

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
Queens, NYC
Read all my Q&A
November 30, 2013
I am stuck. I dont know weather I should buy the 12v Ridgid Jobmax or the corded Ridgid Jobmax. If I had this tool I would use it probably once a day. Please help.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
I can use the 18v. version all day long on one charge and it is quite powerful. I find that having to drag out an extension cord is a hassle and there is no disadvantage to having the 18v. version.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
I absolutely would recommend the cordless. Battery life is very good and with two batteries you could use it all day. Very fast re charge. Lots and lots of power.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
CORDLESS, CORDLESS and CORDLESS. Replace the spot you have the corded jobmax plugged in to and replace that with the charger and roam free my friend. Don't be held back. Buy it as a kit and you get the life warranty so never worry about having to purchase another battery or charger. No reason to jog from one outlet to the other!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Houston Tx
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 27, 2014
Answer: 
Based on my experience with batteries, and your projected use of 'once a day', I would recommend corded. The saw chomps through things, but at a cost to the batteries. I know in advance that I will need quite a few fresh ones available to keep going on a tough wood project. I don't use my Job Max daily, but if I did, I would be getting a corded one because I HATE getting up & down to get batteries out of Read More
Based on my experience with batteries, and your projected use of 'once a day', I would recommend corded. The saw chomps through things, but at a cost to the batteries. I know in advance that I will need quite a few fresh ones available to keep going on a tough wood project. I don't use my Job Max daily, but if I did, I would be getting a corded one because I HATE getting up & down to get batteries out of the charger. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Wade, NC
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
It depends on how long you would need to operate the tool. If you would be running it under a continuous load, the battery would probably last around 15 minutes or so. Be warned when they lose power there is no warning. The tool will run like a champ and then abruptly quit when the juice is gone. Batteries are convenient, but I would get a spare. If you don't need convenience get the corded version. They Read More
It depends on how long you would need to operate the tool. If you would be running it under a continuous load, the battery would probably last around 15 minutes or so. Be warned when they lose power there is no warning. The tool will run like a champ and then abruptly quit when the juice is gone. Batteries are convenient, but I would get a spare. If you don't need convenience get the corded version. They appear to have worked out the bugs and this tool is a great addition to my tool arsenal. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 15, 2013
Answer: 
Buy a Fein if you need it everyday. If you've done your research and you still want a Jobmax... then it depends.
if you have other EIGHTEEN (18v) Ridgid tools go with the 18V version. Otherwise go corded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 5, 2013
Answer: 
We do apologize but, we are not able to advise whether to purchase a corded or cordless version of this tool. Without knowing your future plans for usage. We can state that the corded version will help to cut down on the need for replacement batteries in the future but, it will cut down on portability and convenience.
Thank you
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
7 answers

where can you buy sandpaper to fit the triangular sanding head, Home Depot doesn't sell it !!

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
BK
February 5, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
Have purchase mine at home depot. There are a lot of other brands of paper that will also work just fine
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
They actually do carry it at My Home Depot, ask an associate to show you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Centennial, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 8, 2014
Answer: 
They don't but remember this is a universal head/attachement. Used on Dremel, Craftsman, Bosch and Ridgid. So depending on where you like to shop just buy the triangular sand paper (with the velco style adhesive) for any of these tools and your good to go!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
ACE
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
South Carolina, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 10, 2013
Answer: 
I have not needed any yet. But I believe Harbor Freight does. If not search online before going to a lot of stores. You are usually able to search stores that are near to you. If you can't find it nearby buy it online and have it shipped to you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Google it online... I believe Amazon sells them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 5, 2013
Answer: 
RIDGID does not make or market sanding angles for the JobMax sander head, since there is a variety of compatible sanding supplies already offered and available in the market place under numerous brand names, like Dremel and Bosch, both of which are commonly sold at Home Depot. Stock sanding angles like those that come with the JobMax starter kit, can be ordered through the master parts distributor at Read More
RIDGID does not make or market sanding angles for the JobMax sander head, since there is a variety of compatible sanding supplies already offered and available in the market place under numerous brand names, like Dremel and Bosch, both of which are commonly sold at Home Depot. Stock sanding angles like those that come with the JobMax starter kit, can be ordered through the master parts distributor at 1-877-544-9253. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
7 answers

How much does the Lifetime Service Agreement cost?

This question is from JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
Asked by
BB
December 7, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Peoria County, IL
Read all my Q&A
April 17, 2015
Answer: 
Nothing. It is a part of the price of the tool. Just be sure to register it or there will be no Agreement.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oshawa Ontario Canada
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2014
Answer: 
Just the price of a stamp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
The LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement) is included in the price of the Ridgid tool. You do not purchase it separately. The LSA is very complicated. So, keep all of your paperwork, and be sure to register the tool on-line or by the phone. (If you bought a kit. Register all parts of kit. Including batteries) Don't forget to mail in copies of your receipt(s) to Ridgid, or your LSA will not be valid, and Read More
The LSA (Lifetime Service Agreement) is included in the price of the Ridgid tool. You do not purchase it separately. The LSA is very complicated. So, keep all of your paperwork, and be sure to register the tool on-line or by the phone. (If you bought a kit. Register all parts of kit. Including batteries) Don't forget to mail in copies of your receipt(s) to Ridgid, or your LSA will not be valid, and Ridgid will not honor the warrantee. If you have a tool or battery replaced under warrantee, you will have to re-register the new tool or battery. Warning! It will take months to get something repaired and weeks to get a battery replaced. If you need warrantee work, be sure to take the entire tool (with kit accessories), the battery and the battery charger to the service center. They will want to see all or part of it. You will also need all paperwork on the tool. Good Luck! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Leesburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 14, 2013
Answer: 
nothing ,it comes with life time
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

March 14, 2013
Answer: 
Comes with the product. The information is on the box. If it is NOT on the box it is not a Lifetime Service Agreement Product.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
norway maine
Read all my Q&A
December 9, 2012
Answer: 
there is no cost for the LSA.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Window Rock, AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 8, 2012
Answer: 
Based on the information provided on Rigid's website, the lifetime service agreement is free:
"Lifetime Service Agreement
The original purchaser of an eligible product may elect to register for a free Lifetime Service Agreement. To accept this Lifetime Service Agreement, you must register your product and submit proof of purchase for processing approval as described below. The Lifetime Service Agreement
Read More
Based on the information provided on Rigid's website, the lifetime service agreement is free:
"Lifetime Service Agreement
The original purchaser of an eligible product may elect to register for a free Lifetime Service Agreement. To accept this Lifetime Service Agreement, you must register your product and submit proof of purchase for processing approval as described below. The Lifetime Service Agreement provides the original owner of qualifying RIDGID® Brand tools a lifetime of free replacement batteries, free service and free replacement parts subject to the limitations set forth below.
The Lifetime Service Agreement is available free of charge, on all eligible RIDGID® Brand hand held power tools, stationary power tools and pneumatic tools, subject to the terms and conditions stated below. Customers have 90 days from date of purchase to register tools for the Lifetime Service Agreement. Once all conditions of the registration process are fulfilled, the tool’s service coverage lasts the lifetime of the original purchaser. The Lifetime Service Agreement status on a tool is not transferable to persons other than the original purchaser. Note: The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement is only available for eligible RIDGID tools purchased at THE HOME DEPOT."
Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:46:18.931-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202222204, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 74ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked for 6 months Tool worked amazing for 6 months, im a flooring installer, so i use it only to undercut door jambs, not heavy work at all. Today the tool just quit, battery said defective when i put it on the charger. So had to leave the job, drive to depot, bought the $70 bigger 12v battery, the small one sucks!!! Back to job, plug new battery in and the tool itself started smoking in my hand! Bam! For 20 bucks more could if just bought the tool over again. And this is what happens when you use a tool maid by RYOBI! Ridigd and ryobi are the same company just so ya know. Stick with what works. Dewalt, black and yellow all the way
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool for what it's designed for / Poor Battery Life I have owned my Jobmax 12volt for over a year now and it is a great tool for what it is designed for. I have since purchased multiple attachments and I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this tool. I have used it for everything from trimming the base of a door frame for flooring to cutting a 2x4 base plate loose in a tight place. Granted I agree the battery life is poor, if you are running this thing wide open fast enough to drain the battery in a couple minutes you're probably using the wrong tool. Overall I dont agree with some of the negative reviews, but these are all individually based experiences and mine has been great.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good tool but battery is no good The Job Max Multi-Tool is a great tool idea. The battery has a built in electronic shut down. If you do any work the tool will stop. It will restart monentary, but when start to use it again it will stop. The tool will not run long enough to get any work done. My brother and I returned both our kits. If wish Rigid would correct the battery issue. I would buy it aagain
Date published: 2011-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rigid Oscillating Multi Tool Absolute poor purchase! I bought this tool with high anticipation of helping with the door jamb trimmings on a bathroom tiling project and it stopped working after only about 60 seconds of precision cutting on the jamb. It left me high and dry, and back to the not so precise manual cutting mode. Once it stopped working I tried all available methods to breath life back in to the product to complete my project, but no luck. Not even a twitch. This tool is not worth your time to purchase, let alone your hard earned dollars. Do some research and buy another brand, even if initial costs are higher. It will save you a great deal of frustration in the middle of your project.
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good While It Lasted Bought this today to do some plunge cuts so I could finish installing some laminate molding for a room I just finished installing Pergo in. I charged it completely before I used it and got about 20 minutes worth of work out of it before the tool stopped working. I assumed the battery needed to be recharged, so I let it charge about an hour before putting the battery back in the tool. I tried to get it running again, but the tool never turned back on. I assume that the trigger switch or the battery is to blame. Either way, I'm taking it back in the morning! I wasn't able to finish the job and I'm super disgusted!!!
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE. I HAVE GONE THROUGH 3 OF THESE MULTI TOOLS. THE 1ST ONE HAD A DEFECTIVE BATTERY. THE 2D ONE WORKED FOR 1 DAY THEN THE TRIGGER MECHANISM BECAME HIT AND MISS. THE 3D ONE HAD THE BOLT TO SECURE EACH HEAD SNAP INTO 2 PIECES WHEN FINGER TIGHTENING. WILL BE TAKING THIS ONE BACK AND GETTING A DIFFERENT MAKE OF THIS TOOL
Date published: 2011-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this sold me on the rigid tool line this is my first power tool made by rigid, i had always been a craftsman guy but over the last few years my craftsman products have turned into nightmares. i decided to buy this and i took it home and tested it in the wood shop for a couple of days, i had no problems what so ever with sanding or cutting wood, i got the drill attachment with it also, i used spade bits, forstner bits, brad and twist bits, only thing i found is with the larger diameter twist bits you have to drill a pilot hole, i think this is something more for the wood shop and maybe drywall work, i am the type of person who really puts his tools to the test before writing a review and giving anyone kudos on a product. i don't expect miracles out of it but i can see why it won the 2010 handy innovations award, all in all this is a great concept and product if it is used for light to medium duty jobs.
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful in tight spots Bought this guy this summer in a pinch and I love using it. It's not the most powerful (Bosch corded), but when you need it it does great. The rounded blade does a great job cutting lengths, like siding for ledger board. If you're using it for long periods consider the corded because the 12v doesn't run for a very long time, maybe 15 minutes continuous., but it charges in about 15 minutes. I would like a rotary head attachment so it can be used in place of a dremel. Love the light and ease of use. Works great for trimming casing around doors to install tile or other flooring underneath.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Concept, Poor Performance I really like the design concept and price point for the JobMax, and I wanted the Ridgid 12V Fuego tool system to be my standard system for interchanging batteries. I first purchased the JobMax as reconditioned for use of the detail sander on a furniture refinishing project. After about 40 minutes the JobMax operation became intermittent, so I returned the unit for a refund and went to Home Depot to buy a new unit with the Lifetime Warranty. Started using the new JobMax and after about 15 minutes, the operation became intermittent. This tool depends on the multi-head attachments to be mounted to allow operation. There appears to be some design flaw in the switch which causes intermittent operation due to saw dust, making the tool useless. I've seen other posts from people commenting on issues with the switch but assumed it was some abnormal situation. After seeing the same result with both the recon and new units, it must be design issue. So in looking at other alternatives in 12V tools and speaking with clerks and tool reps at Home Depot, I learned that Ridgid, Milwaukee, Ryobi and Dremel tools are all made by the same manufacturer which explains why the sandpaper for the Dremel Multi-Max fits the JobMax and Milwaukee sander attachments. I looked at Dewalt, Bosch, Makita and Milwaukee 12V tool systems, and the Milwaukee M12 Lithium Ion Tools are the broadest available including a Multi-tool with a Detail Sander attachment. If your considering a 12V Multi-tool, do some comparison shopping and consider what you would like in a 12V tool system before making a purchase, there are lots of tools to review. I've now switched to the Milwaukee M12 Tool System due to the flexibility for 2 battery sizes and broad range of tools available, not to mention consistent product reviews. These new 12V Lithium Ion Battery Powered Tools are very compact and convenient. I'm hope my decision to go with the Milwaukee M12 System is a good one.
Date published: 2011-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT PURCHASE VERY BAD TOOL I have other Rigid toos that are great but this one is junk. The adaptor broke and you cannot buy Rigid blades. The tool lasts for 20 minutes then shuts off and the storage bag is a real dumb design for holding accessories.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great... I have used many of these multi tools and have found that this is the best one in my bag. I use this all the time and finished a complete kitchen remodel using it to cust holes in drywall, trim and so on. I have used the blades in the kit and they have not even begun to dull out either. The best thing I have found to use this tool for is vinyl siding installations using the newly released batteries, it lasts and the batteries are small enough to carry an extra in your tool belt...the added benefit of this tool is that you can cut into existing siding to install new vents, outlets and the like and makes for a super easy installation without the need of snips.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from battery issue This tool is nice. Unfortunately, a main drawback is the battery. The battery runs approximately 15 minutes. I recharged it for 20 minutes. Another drain battery later and recharge it again back and forth. I used it for simple projects such drilling, screwing, unscrewing, and sanding. I have the extra battery with the same issue. I leave you to decide whether to buy Ridgid power tools or not. I am disappointed that the company must have knew the problem because they don't want to bring up the battery recalls. I contacted the manufacturer about the battery issue. They twisted their words. Nothing that I can do about it.
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really a Rigid Tool? Is this really a Rigid tool? I bought it to reduce airborne dust from recip saw. Blades dull very quickly, battery wiggles out after a few minutes, switch is very tempermental. I will keep for the portablity but will stick to my recip saw and dust mask.
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT PURCHASE These units work well for about three days and then the switch goes. I went and had it fixed and three days later it was dead again. I used to like Ridgid products, but this one is a dealbreaker.
Date published: 2011-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from has a poor switch design i used this unit on cutting out drywall over head to expose leaking plumbing. it last all of 1.5 minutes. the switch acted up and was very erratic and became near imposable to turn on to try to finish the job. it let us down big time. i have 2 other batteries that fit it and thought just maybe the battery couldn't make the grade. to no avail, we had to use our new $20.00 electric tool like this tool. i returned all the extra heads for it as well, knowing if the body can't last then the heads are no use either. its a shame. i wanted to try the other heads made for it. rigid needs to use a sealed switch or they will be eating a lot of these under warranty or returns. during the 1.5 minutes of use, it worked as i had hoped. although the electric version of another brand worked faster, but has no light shining on the work surface as the rigid does. also, the rigid does not have a switch lock to maintain the desired speed as the electric unit we have does. i will be watching for these changes to take place. if no change, then NO sale to me again. i do think if one were to use this in a clean or dust free environment, it would make a nice add-on tool set.
Date published: 2010-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buy the 18v version: this one is underpowered I bought this 12v cordless version of the Jobmax as I already had the 12v driver. I have no issues with the tool itself, but quickly discovered the oscillating cutting head sucks the life out of the small cartridge batteries after only two minutes of use. I bought a bigger 5.0Ah battery, and this works much better. Still, I have to run this tool with two chargers, swapping between four batteries, in order to avoid downtime. I often use an air compressor, so most of the time if I need this tool, I now use the air tool body that I bought, with much better results. Still, great cutting head, that can accept Dremel and Bosch blades, as well as the Ridgid ones. I've also got the jigsaw head and the angle drill head, which also work well. The pneumatic hammer head isn't much use, however.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good concept bad design I have been through 3 different tools. Returned for new and finally the last time the rep gave me my money back and i bought a milwaukee. This is one the best concepts for a tool I have seen in a while, but I don't think they were ready. The trigger would go out and work intermittenly after 1 or 2 times of short use. This was very frustrating. I really liked the idea of the interchangealbe heads and being able to rotate the head, but like I said it just didn't work. The pin that the head pushes down would not push all the way or did not make good contact. This is coming from a guy who 90 percent of his tools are ridgid because I they are very good tools. Just not this one!!! Very disappointed!!!
Date published: 2011-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product Stops Working I purchased the Jobmax to cut door jams for tile and to clear out grout joints. It worked great out of the box, but failed to continue to work after running through a full charge. After charging the battery and continuing to cut the tool would stop working. I would wiggle the battery and the product would continue to work. I exchanged the first one for another jobmax and purchased an extra battery to make sure I was using a fresh battery. I had the same result. After a few hours of use it seemed that the battery would not make a solid connection. I released the trigger wiggled the battery and it would work shortly and then cut out. Keep in mind I used a fresh battery and ensured that the battery was fully inserted. It's unfortunate. I really loved the tool, but after returning two of them I decided to give up. Hopefully Rigid corrects this because it has the potential to be an amazing tool.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy it is JUNK!! I bought this tool to cut sheet rock and to use to under cut door casings. The first time I used it the gear in the head died after 20 min. I took it back to the store and exchanged it and the something happened to the next one but after only 10 min. I have owned several Ridged brand tools over the years with no problem but this one is JUNK !!!
Date published: 2010-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from multimaster tool kit A good tool kit for small projects. It generates more heat than dissipate even used for more than a minute. Battery needs recharged just after about 5 minutes use. Recharge needs +30 minutes. I am going to return this back today. It doesn't fit to my requirements.
Date published: 2010-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Of The Best Tools I Own I own and operate my own general contracting business. I normally use all Milwaukee when it comes to power tools. However when looking for a good oscillating tool Milwaukees was $119 for just the bare tool no battery no charger. after looking at every other brand I came upon Rigids JobMax cordless oscillating tool. for the same price it came with the tool, the battery, a charger as well as a carry bag and quite a few other accessories. Having heard good things about the Rigid brand I purchased it. What really got me excited about this tool was the different heads that can be attached to the tool. I also purchased a rotozip attachment and the small Sawzall attachment ad well as a bigger spare battery. I am more than pleased with my purchase. I won't do a single job without this tool with me. I am impressed with its power, battery life and durability. I would recommend this tool and the Rigid brand to anyone. This is now my second choice for any tool under my preferred Milwaukee.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ULTIMATE MULTI-TOOL I’ve owned my Jobmax for about a month now and continue to be amazed by how many different things I can use it for. I started with the kit that has the oscillating head which I use all the time for cutting drywall, trim, nails, sanding, etc. The blades have held up surprisingly well. I added the right angle drill and impact driver heads a couple weeks ago and have found tons of uses for them as well. Runtime is a non-issue since I have 2 batteries. I noticed the second battery I bought seems to last a lot longer. Unlike the other one it’s grey and orange and says HYPER Lithium Ion. I’ve been very impressed with the performance of this battery and even thinking about buying another one of these. The only complaint I have is that someone always wants to borrow it.
Date published: 2011-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good idea, needs some work I am a professional repair man and for a while have wanted to add an oscillating tool to my collection. I looked at all of the brands on the market and read many reviews, both professional and common. After all the research i settled on this Ridgid multi-max. I really liked the idea that i could buy different heads for different jobs and the price wasn't bad either. I even tried one out at my local Home Depot store. Also i should mention that i really like Ridgid, and so the fact that it was a Ridgid carried a lot of weight with me. I have a lot of Ridgid tools, most of my power tools are Ridgid. The day after i bought the Multi-max, i was on a job and needed to cut a small hole in some drywall. It worked great and i thought i had made the right choice, however i was wrong. A few hours later i found myself using it again, but this time when i turned it on the gears in the head stripped out or something along those lines. I tried to see if it was fixable but it wasn't. I returned the tool and have since bought a Milwaukee oscillating tool, which i am not so sure about either. I gave this two stars because it is a really good idea and i don't know how it works with the other heads on it, maybe it does great. All i know is that the oscillating head needs some work.
Date published: 2010-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from jobmax One of the best tools I have purchased. Very good quality and easy to use. The tool was easy to assemble and the optional heads available will be purchased in the near future.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor battery life. It worked well when the battery lasted. But after only a few uses the battery no longer holds a charge. But now it is almost useless.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad 1st review I recently wrote a review on the rigid multi tool and said it was great, used it all night and it worked perfect but I wrote praise too soon. I went back to work the next night and the darn thing wouldn't even come on! I thought the battery must be dead so I charged it for an hour and still nothing. I read another review that this happened to someone else so I will return it and don't think I will buy another RIGID.
Date published: 2010-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great tool. Terrible batties. Don't buy this tool. I've bought 2 extra batteries for this tool. they last about 2 to 3 minutes and thats it. Worthless on the job. batteries failed to charge after less than one year. Rigid owes me an apology for this tool. I bought the corded one to take advantage of the adapters. The corded one works really well.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The product has good features at a reasonable pricepoint. I have used the product for about a year. I have the starter kit and added the impact driver because I needed to drive some screws in a tight spot .The impact head worked well. I have used the oscillating cutting head on a number of jobs for close cutting and on one job for rescribing log railing that was incorrectly installed.I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. You definitely need two batteries, but by the time one runs down the other one is charged. The only complaint I have so far is that recently the reverse switch evidently broke . It runs but only in forward. Power switches seam to be a common problem in many power tools. If you are going to be creating dust around the tool, the switches need to be sealed. Also FYI for the guy trying to cut Hardi-backer with steel blades. Get carbide! The Hardi=backer will eat any kind of hardened steel blade. Cut it with a carbide blade or a nibbler power shear designed for it.
Date published: 2011-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool I am remodeling my home and purchased this tool to be a good multi-tool for odds and end jobs. I bought this starter kit and the drill head. Yesterday I used it for the first time to drill electrical holes through studs. I performed perfectly. When I went to charge the battery after I was done using the tool for the day, I had some problems. The charger kept indicating that the battery was defective. However, I then examined it and found that I was not pushing the battery all the way onto the charger. I think this may be what is causing many other people's problems. You really need to push the battery to click it into place, then it will charge normally and the tool will work correctly. Li-ion batteries are weird. They go full power until they are pretty much dead, then just stop. It sounds to me like many reviewers have not properly recharged their batteries and that is what is causing the problems. I will update this review when I have used the tool more. Give me a month...
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK tool Overall, it is a fair tool but delicate. The variable speed trigger is difficult to hold at one speed. Instead, there should be an on/off switch with a variable speed dial. Second, when I purchased the tool, it did not come with all of the accessories; there were missing parts. Third, the battery charge is limited: twenty to thirty minutes of use. Its not fun when the battery charge runs out, especially in the middle of a course. Finally, when I opened my package, it had a band around the neck of the compact head that warned not to place excessive pressure on the head. I suspect that due to the fact that the head is detachable from the body, excessive pressure may cause the connection interface to default.
Date published: 2010-09-19
  • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT