Model # R82236

Internet #202222204

RIDGID JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
0648846057118

Discontinued RIDGID

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$99.00 /each
$99.97 /each
$119.00 /each
$199.00 /each
Name JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) 20-Volt Max XR Lithium-Ion Cordless Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Brand RIDGID RIDGID Makita DEWALT
Ratings (59) (210) (48) (101)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Cordless Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Keyless Chuck,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Keyless Chuck
Voltage (volts) 12 12 18 20
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included Yes Yes No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 1 1 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20000 20000 20000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

xtra battery

if i buy a xtra battery i have heard that the battery is only a 3 year warranty. I thought it says free parts -service and batterys for life? how can some batterys be lifetime or 3years .are they different ??
Asked by: Anonymous
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the truck.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

Battery operated or corded

I am stuck. I dont know weather I should buy the 12v Ridgid Jobmax or the corded Ridgid Jobmax. If I had this tool I would use it probably once a day. Please help.
Asked by: Tullyworkernick
I can use the 18v. version all day long on one charge and it is quite powerful. I find that having to drag out an extension cord is a hassle and there is no disadvantage to having the 18v. version.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

where can you buy sandpaper to fit the triangular sanding head, Home Depot doesn't sell it !!

Asked by: Anonymous
Have purchase mine at home depot. There are a lot of other brands of paper that will also work just fine
Answered by: Cudaman
Date published: 2015-09-20

How much does the Lifetime Service Agreement cost?

Asked by: Anonymous
Nothing. It is a part of the price of the tool. Just be sure to register it or there will be no Agreement.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product has the great Ridgid quality and features like always...! Have used only a couple of times so far, but the tool has great precision. I am glad I bought the battery powered model...plenty of power and run time...very short recharge time...can handle about every make of blade so no hassle in finding replacements...!.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from multimaster tool kit A good tool kit for small projects. It generates more heat than dissipate even used for more than a minute. Battery needs recharged just after about 5 minutes use. Recharge needs +30 minutes. I am going to return this back today. It doesn't fit to my requirements.
Date published: 2010-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Few uses before it gives out 3rd Rigid tool I've had, and 3rd one that has broken multiple times. It was after its motor gave out the second time that I decided it will be the last time I buy a Ridgid tool. The removable housing is extremely loose fitting and I found the trigger often had to be pressed extremely hard to activate. Batteries died out quickly and with any kind of moderate work, the thing breaks and gives up entirely. Whats the real use of a lifetime warranty if you have to keep going and getting it repaired every month or two? Get the Fein, you won't have any problems with it.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool, Lousy Bag I've been using this tool for several weeks, and found it to be a wonderful addition to my inventory of tools. The multi tool head that comes with the kit is versatile, and I've used it on Drywall, pine, shims, and plywood. It cut them all with ease. I also purchased the impack driver head, and have used it to drive screws, but it doesn't have enough power to drive a Tapcon screw into the hole entirely which was disappointing. The REAL disappointment was the bag that comes with the "Starter Kit". Hey guys, if the intention is to sell the rest of the heads, why isn't there room in the bag to store them. I know I'm not alone on this bag issue, and would hope Rigid would consider an upgrade, and give us registered owners a deal to purchase one. The bag that comes with the kit has no room for any other heads, and the pouch in the lid that might be ideal for extra blades and stuff is useless because it doesn't have a zipper. The first time the lid tips back, all of the stuff in that pouch is on the floor. LOVE the tool....HATE the bag!
Date published: 2010-11-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Call it junkmax instead Bought one of these thinking I would be ok with Rigid brand if there was any problems for this new tool. Mistake. Not only did I know more about the tool than the local service center but their support of the unit was horrible. They didn't even know what the unit was and insisted I would have to bring/send it in for replacement of the adapter ring which is held on by the bolt for the cutter! You've got to be kidding me! I had a problem with the adapter for the blades breaking after only a couple lite-duty uses. Finding a replacement in the store for this critical piece was next to impossible. If you didn't send in your registration card immediately after purchase, forget about getting any cooperation from the service centers (even if you had the receipt showing proof of purchase and sales date). Next to go was the power switch or circuit controlling the switch inside. Known issue now, unfortunately, after several others have reported the same problem. On a fully charged battery the unit would run for 15 seconds and then shut off ... dead. Thinking it was the battery, I put it back in the charger and made sure there was a good charge on it before trying again. Same thing. Eventually the unit just never came back to life. All this within 9 months of owning the tool for nothing other than a few uses at home. I cannot recommend this tool to anyone and will be replacing it with a competitor's product without question.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thought it was going to be great, but... I purchased the jobmax starter kit with several optional tool heads and a second battery about 6 months ago. I used it for hobby work at home... when it works it's great, but one battery died after approx. 12-24 charges and the other only holds a partial charge and quits after a couple of minutes... I was going to return to HD, but couldn't locate receipt so I purchased a corded tool online so I wouldn't loose the couple hundred bucks I spent on add'l tool heads... hope it works better than the battery model.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised I also purchased this product for work with laminate flooring. It does that job easily and effectively. I was surprised by the power, and how easy it is to control the tool. The trigger is one that allows you to apply power gradually, not just an off/on type arrangement. I am a fan of Ridgid tools because I feel they try harder. The thing that impressed me about this tool, aside from its performance, is that they include an adapter for both Dremel and Bosch attachments. (sander heads, cutter heads etc) Thoughtful and unexpected in my mind. The included case is nice and helps keep all the parts together. The comparable Bosch tool was $80 more at my local HD. I see no need to spend an additional $80, this tool works great!
Date published: 2010-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Works great, the only issue is the battery doesn't last too long, though they charge up in about 15 minutes and I have two batteries.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This products battery is worthless Charge battery, use for 10/15 min., battery dead. not very handy to have to charge battery every 10min. wouldn`t recommend this product.
Date published: 2011-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad luck with batteries on this We ended up taking this back and getting the corded version which works great.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and value If you are a DIY'er, this tool is a must have. Wish I had bought it years ago. I bought it to help a friend with his project - cutting a baseboard in place - and have used it twice in my home the following week. Many great uses for this tool and I got rid of my RotoZip at a garage sale - practically new. This will do just about anything that you would need to do with a RotoZip. Buy it! I just wish they mfr. had molded in a location for the allen wrench, so it can be kept with the tool and not the bag.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features with Home Depot Help Bought the Jobmax-Drill combo and both worked fine for a while. Jobmax had a problem with the switch, causing intermittent stopping. Took tool to authorized service center, which had to order a new switch, which was backordered for "about a month." Got tool back from service center, unrepaired, and called Home Depot. My local Home Depot replaced the power handle from a new, in-stock kit, so I have to compliment Home Depot on honoring the warranty and not making me wait for a "backordered" part from Ridgid. Since repair, the Jobmax has performed flawlessly, driving nails, cutting sheetrock and wood, and even cutting through finish nails in wood. Also, the Li-Ion batteries hold a charge for a long time, so I can keep the unit in my truck until I need it. Good little unit from a good store which stands behind its tools.
Date published: 2011-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3-in-1 I was looking for a multitool to grind/sand down a door frame and have seen the Dremel several times in TV commercials. Though, after comparing both tools in my local HD store, I decided to go with the one from Ridgid. The overall features of the Ridgid multitool were convincing. Most important PLUS: cordless/battery and LED light I think I made a good choice. I got the job done and I was impressed by the tool's performance. Though I am not able to make a direct comparison with other multitools since this is the only one I've been using so far. However, you won't be disappointed if you get this one. It seems to be good quality and well thought through.
Date published: 2011-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features have this tool for over 1 year now and i am really happy with it just see on here there have an 18 volt one now so have to upgrade to that one only one bad thing about it is the 12 battery dont last so long that why i an upgrading to the 18 volt soon
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from job max multi tool I am always impressed with HD's return policy. I returned this tool twice and the same problem occurred; the connection with the trigger and powering the tool kept shorting out. This was after the first charge, out of the box, on all three tools.......from different stores and one purchased from the internet. Do not purchase this tool as it needs to have the bugs worked out. Purchase a tool without removable heads, as this appears to be the issue.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well but battery falls out tool was used for one small project and the tabs that keep the battery secure broke off within the first hour of use. Now the battery keeps falling out unless held in with a free hand, very unhappy with the durability of the product.
Date published: 2011-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this tool several months ago, have installed 3 floors, removed grout from 4 showers and sanded cabinet doors so far. My only complaint is there should be two batteries sold with this as they do drain quickly. I can't understand some of the reviews here?? It's not a heavy tool like a reciprocating saw or angle grinder. It does the small work the larger tools can't do, and it does it well. Over heating was not a problem with me as I don't cover the intake and exhaust ports on the tools I use. The bag could be bigger, at least it has a quality bag. The head accepts blades from Dremel and Bosch so I haven't had any trouble finding replacements. I guess if you use any tool incorrectly, you'll get less than satisfactory results. Use it the way it was meant to be used and you should be very happy with the quality of work and time it saves you!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right tool for the right job I picked this up because I needed to make plunge cuts in wood (door frames, floor repair, etc) and also needed to sand in tight corners. This does the trick, although it will probably only be used for small jobs. I like the lack of cord so far. I have only used the tool for a few weeks so I do not know how long it will last. Other RIDGID tools I have (sander, router) have performed well, and I have high expectations.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have o rings ready There is a small o ring on the bolt that holds the blade on. Over some use it will flatten out causing the blade to loosen. Replace the o ring and you are good to go. A slow process but it works. Not bad for smaller jobs. The battery dies in about 15 minutes. A real pain. Takes about 15 minutes to recharge. Should be sold with two so you can keep working
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool I've ever owned! I have a workbench full of power tools and manual hand tools that I use for my own home projects. I came upon the Job Max Multitool becuz I had to replace 50 ft. of fascia and wanted a power nailer due to a bad rotator cuff injury. I couldn't afford a pneumatic one and saw the store display for this one, which included one free attachment. I bought it and got the auto-hammer free ($99 total). Once I got used to it by testing on scrap wood I whipped through installing all the fascia boards. It's loud, but very effective. No sore rotator cuff or elbow!! I just now used the straight cutter to make a custom door jamb piece to replace a rotted piece. Again, very efficient. It did what no other tool in my garage could do. Also, I've only charged it the one time when I brought it home. All this work and the battery is still going strong!! I can't wait to find another project to use this baby on. I LOVE THIS TOOL!!!
Date published: 2011-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remember... The Right Tool For The Right Job I open my review with that reminder because I find all too often people are willing to try to shove a 12v cordless drill into a 6.5 AMP Corded 'hole'. When I first bought these tools as one of the initial 'set' offerings, I did so because I was, well, overly frugal. I figured for the few times I would be using the tools they would last long enough to finish the job and I could worry about the next job when it came around. WAS I SURPRISED!! The first use and whole purpose for buying the tools was to finish a rather complicated hardwood floor installation. It was for me and I was in no rush. For every application that required a tight work space, these tools were the choice every time. THEY NEVER FAILED ONCE. Now, that being said, I remind, I was in no hurry and I was more looking for precision than production. What I expected to last through, at best, one complicated installation... has lasted through three - each more complicated and demanding than the previous. I am now getting ready to build MY HOUSE. My LAST house I hope. And I have absolutely no doubts about these tools easily making it through the entire process. The ONLY things I am going to do different on this job is finish buying the extra components and both an A/C handle as well as an air powered handle. This will simply increase the flexibility and usability of the system. I still use my D.....t Hole Hawg where it is needed. I still use my M......e Screw Gun and my Sawsall when needed. I still have my helical drive power saw for those large get-it-done-instantly jobs. And when they give up, I know where I am going to look first for replacements. But when I am looking at a tight corner, or a piece of trim that needs to be shaved to fit perfectly, or I am just 'that much short of the extension cord', the Job Max is the first tool I grab..... and keep on grabbing.... even when I seem to have an extension cord wrapped around my feet. I am now looking at the Ridgid miter saws and tile saws. Thank you for an excellent product.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There appears to be a defect with this tool, everyone has the same issues While I own about every Ridgid product and they have all performed well and held up well, this tool must have a design flaw. The tool will work ok for a bit then I'm not sure if it gets hot and shuts off or what but just stops. Like all of my 12 volt tools, the batteries don't hold up well so if you get one be sure to register it properly and when they replace your batteries under warranty, re-register them asap. The tool is handy and cuts ok but something is not right with mine and I need to ship it back to have it repaired or replaced. Despite battery issues and minor things like this I have continued to purchase Ridgid tools because of the warranty. I know all batteries will eventually fail so at least I'm covered as long as I live.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ridgid job max broke 3 times in less than 3 years very unreliable when it works it's very handy but have had 3 defective batteries now and they won't replace them. The warranty is a joke - stand behind the name why does it have to be registered a Ridgid is a Ridgid??? If it's a lifetime guarantee why does is matter if it's regisitered? Now my Jobmax won't be covered becasue it wasn't registered even though they have me in the system and can see by my serial number when it was purchased etc ........but I didn't do the paperwork hassle to get it registered - stick with craftsman - Sears knows craftsman is craftsman and always honors their brand. This is the 2nd jobmax and third battery - stay away from Ridgid and Home Depot don't honor their own brand
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for price I had purchased the Dremel multi tool and promptly returned it after one use. It was chorded and felt cheap. I saw this tool and was attracted by the fact it is battery operated (interchangeable with multiple other Rigid power tools), has an interchangeable head, and has an adapter so that you can use Dremel and Bosch accessories. For what I used it for and will use it for, it works perfectly. If your going to do a lot of sanding or grout removal, you might want an extra battery on hand. I also got the nail driver head, which worked pretty well, but won't drive in a framing nail. Overall I'm fairly impressed.
Date published: 2010-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Product has great features I purchased this product because of the ridged name and the fact that I have a number of ridged power tools which are great. . . .So the choice to purchase this one was easy. . . .I had read the reviews and there was only one that I was concerned about. . . .Battery. . . .When I received the multi tool, I placed battery on charge to make sure it was fully charged. . . .I then proceeded to make several cute in some pine. . . .At 1/2 - 2/3 rd's speed, the battery lasted approx. 5 minutes. . . .What a disaster. . . .You would need 2- 3 batteries to do 10-15 minutes work. . . .Needles to say, I am returning the product for a refund. . . .I ended up using a friends 12V multi tool (not a ridgid# and had no problem completing my job with one battery #approx. 20-30 minutes of pretty continuos use). . .I was really looking forward to having and using this product . . . .Wish that someone could give me an answer to the problem and why it has not been corrected. . . .
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PVC Cutter I bought my unit to cut PVC water pipe in the ground. It doesn't take much of a hole to get enough clearance to use it. I do wish that the blades were a litlle deeper so I could penetrate just cutting from one side.
Date published: 2011-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good After limited use and out of warranty battery wouldn't charge. Replaced it.......NOTHING. Still won't charge. I guess the charger is bad but won't invest any more money init. Replaced it with corded quality brand unit that all accessories and soft carrier fit.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool, long lasting battery A++ tool, so many attachments! A must have for around the home or on the jobsite.
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rigid Multi-Tool - Poor Quality and Performance The 12V Multi-Tool was the first Rigid brand tool I ever purchased and it turned out to be a big disappointment. -Using the drywall attachment, the blade vibrated apart in less than 3 minutes of use performing poorly cutting on 5/8" FR drywall. -I went to Home Depot and found no Rigid replacement blades were stocked/available and purchased a Dremel blade to use instead with the blade adapters provide with the multi-tool. -After trying the tool the second time, In less than 2 minutes, the trigger switch became intermittent and when it finally ran, the tool ran spotty and sounded as if the gears were stripping out internally in what I would consider light duty use. -Today, I'm taking it back to the store to ask for a refund. -Hopefully, this particular tool is not indicative of the performance of other Rigid brand power tools or else customers like me will look at other brands to purchase in the future.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent but not great This is the second one I bought. The first one I bought was the promotional set which had the 2 drill heads, ratchet and 2 batteries w/charger for $119. Since I all ready had a body and batteries all I really wanted was the head attachment which was $49.00 plus shipping and tax (not available at the stores- only available online) Calculate that in and I was only around $30 more to the $99 of this unit. So I now have 2 chargers, 2 bodies and 3 batteries. I bought these during a major bathroom remodel. I ended up using it a lot more than I would have thought. I really pushed this to it's limit. I used it not only to cut very nice squares for gang boxes in dry wall, which was easy with this, but also cut Hardy Backer with it. Cutting Hardy Backer really beat this tool up, or at least the blades. I used the round-ish blade with vibrated right out of the rivets in about 10-15 minutes. So the Ridgid blades are terrible. Also I only got about 20 minutes of battery life at best using this attachment. The drill heads lasted much much longer, needing only one recharge a day (I also had a Makita doing the heavy work). I've been using the thin 2" blade for drywall and some Hardy Backer cuts and it seems to work a bit better. I still have to score the Hardy Backer a lot with a utility blade, but the Jobmax really helps get you the extra distance. Using it to trim hard to reach spots on framing has been a great help. I was considering taking these things back when I first got them as I was having a hard time justifying the purchases to myself. However, as it turns out I've ended up using them a lot and would have had a much more difficult remodel with out them.
Date published: 2010-09-22
  • y_2017, m_4, d_30, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 222ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT