Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

RIDGID

Model # R82236

Internet # 202222204

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$99.00 /each

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # R82236

Internet # 202222204

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
13.307 in 
Product Height (in.) 
9.134 in 
Product Width (in.) 
3.622 in 
Details
Accessory Change System 
Universal Adaptor 
Accessory Compatibility 
Universal Adaptor is compatible with all popular Multi-tool accessories 
Batteries Included 
Yes 
Battery Power Type 
Lithium Ion 
Battery Size 
Lithium Ion 
Charger Included 
Yes 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cordless Tool Type 
Specialty 
Cordless/Corded 
Cordless 
Oscillation Arc Range (Degrees) 
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 
20000 
Power Tool Product Type 
Cordless 
Product Weight (lb.) 
5.3 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Voltage (volts) 
12 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year Limited Warranty; Lifetime Service Agreement with tool registration 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 195 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This tool has a short in the handle and operates intermitantly Battery and tool short out and it will stop working you have to remove battery and reinsert to make contact. April 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok but... The overall design, concept and compactness is what attracted me to the job Max system. The ratchet and angle drill great but the multi tool head malfunctioned after the first use and is now discontinued. I found a replacement bearing 625-zz on line and for eleven dollars got it working. Shame that Rigid would discontinue such a well made tool head simply because of a cheep bearing. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remember... The Right Tool For The Right Job I open my review with that reminder because I find all too often people are willing to try to shove a 12v cordless drill into a 6.5 AMP Corded 'hole'. When I first bought these tools as one of the initial 'set' offerings, I did so because I was, well, overly frugal. I figured for the few times I would be using the tools they would last long enough to finish the job and I could worry about the next job when it came around. WAS I SURPRISED!! The first use and whole purpose for buying the tools was to finish a rather complicated hardwood floor installation. It was for me and I was in no rush. For every application that required a tight work space, these tools were the choice every time. THEY NEVER FAILED ONCE. Now, that being said, I remind, I was in no hurry and I was more looking for precision than production. What I expected to last through, at best, one complicated installation... has lasted through three - each more complicated and demanding than the previous. I am now getting ready to build MY HOUSE. My LAST house I hope. And I have absolutely no doubts about these tools easily making it through the entire process. The ONLY things I am going to do different on this job is finish buying the extra components and both an A/C handle as well as an air powered handle. This will simply increase the flexibility and usability of the system. I still use my D.....t Hole Hawg where it is needed. I still use my M......e Screw Gun and my Sawsall when needed. I still have my helical drive power saw for those large get-it-done-instantly jobs. And when they give up, I know where I am going to look first for replacements. But when I am looking at a tight corner, or a piece of trim that needs to be shaved to fit perfectly, or I am just 'that much short of the extension cord', the Job Max is the first tool I grab..... and keep on grabbing.... even when I seem to have an extension cord wrapped around my feet. I am now looking at the Ridgid miter saws and tile saws. Thank you for an excellent product. February 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Underpowered This tool is small and is best suited for a hobbyist. Make sure to purchase extra batteries. November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery Issue After using this tool 6 times that battery stopped holding a charge. Replaced the battery and it failed to hold a charge after minimal use. Instead of paying another $60 for a replacement battery I cut my losses and bought a corded Dremel brand multi tool. Much happier. Don't waste your money on this junk. September 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Few uses before it gives out 3rd Rigid tool I've had, and 3rd one that has broken multiple times. It was after its motor gave out the second time that I decided it will be the last time I buy a Ridgid tool. The removable housing is extremely loose fitting and I found the trigger often had to be pressed extremely hard to activate. Batteries died out quickly and with any kind of moderate work, the thing breaks and gives up entirely. Whats the real use of a lifetime warranty if you have to keep going and getting it repaired every month or two? Get the Fein, you won't have any problems with it. August 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Best Potential product in RIDGID I love this brand it brings you the value and solid result of all the jobs I did, hammer drill, impact driver, table saw, metre saw. This 12 volts is a ok product, I use it with Jigsaw attachment, it is ok to do a simple job like thin wood...,not that saying it cannot cut anything thicker than 1/2 inch but harder for the machine, it's still do the job you want, just not as powerful as 18v I imagine, cause my other RIDGID tools are 18v. I am waiting the 18v coming to Canada, hope Homedepot in Canada bring it soon.... September 19, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible!! I don't believe how bad this item is. I was very impressed with the design of this tool and wanted to purchase it. However, it was beyond disappointing on my first job. I was using it to cut 5/8" drywall. I barely got in 3ft of straight cutting and the tool drive stopped working. I called Ridgid for help and was told to return it for a replacement. Extremely disappointing tool. Fortunately I had a Bosch Multi X tool for back up. I had vowed not to buy anymore Ridgid after all my Ridgid batteries died on me and they weren't warranted. I should have followed my gut. Oh well.. next time. February 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cordless JobMax Wins Big I am restoring some 75 year old metal factory windows and needed a cordless tool to dig out the rock hard glazing compound when replacing panes. With some trepidation, I after reading the reviews on this page, I went ahead and purchased this tool and an extra battery.. Man, am I ever glad I did. I used it with the 3/4" Dremel metal cutting blade and it dug out the glazing compound cleanly and easily leaving a smooth clean surface. I didn't baby the tool but jammed it pretty good and it performed splendidly. Battery life was good, one battery was on charge while the other was in use, the result was lots of power and no waiting. Since purchasing this tool jobs keep popping up where it proves indispensible, I wonder how I got along without it! September 17, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really surprised A few years ago I helped build a deck. One of the guys there was using Ridgid tools. I was disappointed with its performance. When I saw the jobmax I thought hey great idea. Battery powered light weight and I can use other brands of accessory. Bought it with a drill combo and wow was I ever surprised. I used it for pretty much everything. I only have the ossilorating tool and it just docent back down. The drill how Ever isn't very powerful but ok for around the house. I'm in the marble and granite industry and have recommended it to everyone. May 23, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing but trouble Do alot of finishing work and thought this would be useful out in the field, a multi tool yes, a Rigid one "No' this tool was trouble from day one, the power kept cutting in and out as I used it like it had a mind of its own, so I sent it back to get fixed which was a pain in the rear itself and once I got it back it worked for two days and back to the same issues. Do not purchase this tool March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jobmax is great Im a contractor and I have to say ridgid tools are amazing and this one is the best by far. I bought the kit with all the heads at a tool show and it was well worth the money. I have used this tool many times and am impressed by how well it works with all the heads. It has a fast recharge time and the batteries last a long time. I definetly recommend this especially if you are able to buy the kit with 5 heads, 2 batteries, and the tools for $199 it is the best value. December 22, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not much power, battery falls out First let me say that I own many Ridgid tools and like them all. But... This tool has its uses - I like the sanding attachment and the saw blades can flush cut dowels etc. It can't handle much stress though. I tried to cut off a 1/4" bolt and the unit kept switching off. If you use it in an orientation perpendicular to the ground the battery will fall out due to vibration and the fact that there is no positive latch for the battery (there is a flexible plastic nub on the battery that is supposed to engage positively with a catch on the motor unit but it doesn't engage properly making it more of a friction fit). The Auto Hammer was wimpy so I returned it. The unit may be powerful compared to other cordless units; I don't know, I've never tried them. I've kept it too long to return it and it is useful in some circumstances but overall, if I had to do it again, I wouldn't. November 8, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Battery "life" - nonexistent These type of tools (based on the Fein Multimaster) are great - you can make flush cuts in almost anything. However, if you are going to be using it in a place with power - get one with a cord. The battery life of this thing is the worst I've ever seen. All of the previous reviews that talk about the poor battery life are consistent with what I have observed. September 11, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor I was really looking forward to owning and using this tool but like other reviews the battery life is a bit short and since I cut into drywall with it, the tool has become intermitent at best. My fault is not regd the product so I have basically put 200$ down the drain. Maybe the other tools are better but I cant see how they could be worse..... November 27, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a definite tool for a trim carpenters tool box though this isnt the fein multimaster which its based on, i would recommend this to anyone thinking of purchasing such a tool over the dremel which is corded. i have used the fein multimaster which is the true king of oscillating tools, they designed it years and ago and perfected it though its very pricey along with accesories i do alot of finish work for renovation primarily and some new construction, there have been lots of situations i have been in where i didnt have this tool and it would have been much more efficiant than trying to use a chisel and hand saw to cut out an existing piece of trim that wont work with teh new. the ridgid has lots of power for a cordless, ive used the dremel and the rigid has more mmph. my only beef is that it only comes with 1 battery so you have to purchase a second if your going to use it regularly, waiting 30 for the battery to charge just doesnt cut it without a backup. July 16, 2010
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It did what I needed it to do but... I needed to make some cuts flat against a surface and the only thing I could think of using that wouldn't damage the surface itself was this tool. I really like Ridgid tools on the whole and, as a tool, it's like all other Ridgid tools that I own - very useful for the needed task. Like a previous reviewer says, the battery life severely limits the use of this tool. When I was doing my cuts, the multi-tool's battery went dead a number of times so I had to wait for the battery to be recharged. I asked my local Home Depot about the cost of a second (or third) battery (since it takes quite a while to charge a battery) and it would have cost about half the price of the tool itself. Not acceptable. I don't know why Home Depot Canada doesn't have available the plugged in version of the same tool. Ridgid does have that model available - Model # R28600. It costs more but the extra dollars would go a long way to make up for the inconvenience of the short battery life. The limiting battery life is the reason for the three stars. June 6, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I bought it about 1.5 month ago ( Feb 2011) , with full charged batteries first time I work with it just 30min, and it's stop to work in the middle of unfinished job,I thought that it's buttery , but it was full , I change it to another new one , but with new one was happen the same . i just returned it to Home Depot with all it's accessories. March 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Versatile MUCH? i bought this kit WAAY back when it first came out. the particular kit i got was the drill/driver/ratchet kit which was EXTREMELY handy. 3 tools! to complete the kit then, i bought the oscillator and the auto hammer accessories. the ratchet head is like a portable air ratchet. works well for automotive. its my favorite by far. the way this tool switches different heads for different jobs is truly a remarkable idea. ive had jobs that require each and every tool that the jobmax has a head for, and having just ONE tool that does it all is great. i know the battery life is poor, Ridgid has come up with several solutions: there is a corded version available which is not only NOT battery powered, but its criminally OVERpowered (thats a good thing). there is also an air-powered jobmax available for shops. the third solution is the 3AH battery which will last 2x longer than the 1.4AH "stock" battery. theres also an 18V version somewhere, but i havent seen it in store yet. this particular problem does not affect me though, because i own a different Ridgid 12V kit so i have a total of 5 batteries. the light is good too for when you're under the sink, in the garage, etc. aside from the battery issues, the Jobmax is an amazing product for an "everything" kind of worker such as myself. it even performed equal to, or better than what im going to call "Dedicated tools." just see for yourself and look for jobmax reviews. so: batteries arent issues for me, and i make use of 5 different heads the jobmax employs: it should have costed me $745 plus tax for 5 dedicated tools. i paid 215 (plus tax) for the kit plus 2 more accessories. 5 stars. November 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Maximum capability tool in mini-tool disguise This tool is well-balanced with plenty of power throughout its' various speeds. As with all the other RIDGID tools, the JobMax has soft-touch rubber surrounding the tool, eliminating most other tools habits of scratching any/all surfaces when they are put down when not being used. It's small design details like this that separate RIDGID from other manufacturers. The extra power heads for this unit also maintain its' excellent balance in the users hand(s). It can be touchy though, so lots of practice is advised before using it near or on costly materials . The integrated LED provides excellent lighting, covering both the tool and the task at hand. The right-angled screwdriver powerhead is just that; a cordless screwdriver. The weight of this tool does not make using it for this purpose easy. In fact, it's kind of awkward. All the cordless tool owners that I know already have at least one or more cordless screwdrivers, so maybe another powerhead could be developed in its' place. Maybe they could develop a kind of liquid pump or mixer head to facilitate working with paints, stains and others. Just my opinion. And I have already recommended the tool to others and some of them have done the same. But owners need to decide the colour they like the most. RIDGID, Ryobi, Dremel and Milwaukee, et al, look almost identical for a reason. My decision to purchase was easy, since NO ONE (!!!) can match that Lifetime Warranty. December 23, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't know how I would do without it I have been a carpenter/contractor for 40+ years and this is one of the most useful tools I own. I had initially bought a competitors 12v. multitool and that was a mistake; while it did the job, the battery didn't last long and it wasn't very powerful. In certain situations, there isn't anything that will do the job better. I use it to plunge cut into baseboard, undercut door trim and jambs to install flooring, sand trim, spot sand drywall, cut holes in vinyl siding for outlets, and the list goes on. I have had mine for about a year and if I lost it, I would buy one again in days. And if it broke, Ridgid would give me another one for free! Great tool. April 17, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good After limited use and out of warranty battery wouldn't charge. Replaced it.......NOTHING. Still won't charge. I guess the charger is bad but won't invest any more money init. Replaced it with corded quality brand unit that all accessories and soft carrier fit. June 10, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok for limited home owner use This tool is a neat concept and way to get multiple tools (combo kit cordless like) on the cheap. It should not be thought of as a replacement for combo kits for more than limited use. If you want to use the jigsaw attachment to cut a few boards, ok. Lite angle drilling works fine as well. It has real limitations that you should be aware of: 1) Only 1 12V battery > This is a severe limit. It really should come with 2 batteries particularly since it is 12V. 2) This is a 12V tool. > We have all gotten use to more power. 3) Carry back should be bigger. Ridgid doesn't necessarily mean commercial grade any more. December 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product Very satisfied with my purchase of JOBMAX Multi-Tool Starter Kit June 2, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disposable Tool itself worked ok for the few odd cuts I needed it for. Problem is that after only a few uses over a 2 yr period the battery is now defective, of course it is out of warranty. I purchased this for the few times you need a specialty cut which means I charged the battery maybe twice. Now I really need it which means I will need to spend 50% of the cost of the tool to buy another battery that is disposable after a few uses? No thank you, I could pay someone to do the job and still come out ahead. Lesson learned. Now looking for a better quality more expensive brand but expect to at least get my money's worth so is cheaper in the end. Spend the extra money on a better brand, you will not regret it. Ridgid is now on my "never again" list. May 2, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst buy ever! Let me start by saying that I have many Ridgid tools, and I think they are a great value and stand up well in a work environment. That being said.... This tool has got to be the worst piece of junk that I have ever held in my hands. It worked great for about the first 3 minutes. When the battery was drained I thought, Good thing I spent $40 on another battery for this thing to use while the other one charges. After about 5 minutes, and another dead battery, I switched to another part of the project while the first battery finished charging. This went on for about 3 hours. Figuring maybe I was being to hard on the tool, I put it away for another day. I love the ridgid products, but this disappointment should never have hit store shelves. The second time I went to use it, the power would cut in and out with a depressed trigger. The head became loose and stopped being effective for the project. Had to buy another corded brand to finish the SMALL job. Might have been a good tool if was in 18 volt, and the idea as well as the cordless factor is brilliant. I've bought cheap throw away toys that have lasted longer. If I could give this -5 stars I would. March 31, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool for what it's designed for / Poor Battery Life I have owned my Jobmax 12volt for over a year now and it is a great tool for what it is designed for. I have since purchased multiple attachments and I'm very pleased with the overall performance of this tool. I have used it for everything from trimming the base of a door frame for flooring to cutting a 2x4 base plate loose in a tight place. Granted I agree the battery life is poor, if you are running this thing wide open fast enough to drain the battery in a couple minutes you're probably using the wrong tool. Overall I dont agree with some of the negative reviews, but these are all individually based experiences and mine has been great. December 24, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Disappointed I purchased the 1st kit and used it for 10 months when the electronics in the motor failed. I did not go online and register the product initially so I ended up having to purchase another unit. I have had continous problems with the batteries and the charger. If the battery runs low the charger will not allow the discharged battery to recharge. I have purchased multiple batteries and chargers only to continue with the same results. When I actually have a working tool it is a great tool. It sure beats manually doing the work but I seldom can ever use the tool due to all of the problems. VERY UNRELIABLE!!!!! March 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good tool but battery is no good The Job Max Multi-Tool is a great tool idea. The battery has a built in electronic shut down. If you do any work the tool will stop. It will restart monentary, but when start to use it again it will stop. The tool will not run long enough to get any work done. My brother and I returned both our kits. If wish Rigid would correct the battery issue. I would buy it aagain August 19, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great tool!!! This tool came in handy right out of its box...thank you ridgid...The only reason it didn't get a 5 star because Home Depot doesn't believe in shipping their items in a concealed package. ..cheapo. April 7, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T13:53:34.261-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_195, tr_195
  • loc_en_US, sid_202222204, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.