Model # R82236

Internet #202222204

RIDGID JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
0648846057118

Discontinued RIDGID

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$99.00 /each
$99.97 /each
$119.00 /each
$199.00 /each
Name JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit 18-Volt LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) 20-Volt Max XR Lithium-Ion Cordless Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit
Brand RIDGID RIDGID Makita DEWALT
Ratings (50) (210) (39) (81)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Cordless Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Keyless Chuck,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Keyless Chuck
Voltage (volts) 12 12 18 20
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included Yes Yes No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 1 1 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20000 20000 20000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

xtra battery

if i buy a xtra battery i have heard that the battery is only a 3 year warranty. I thought it says free parts -service and batterys for life? how can some batterys be lifetime or 3years .are they different ??
Asked by: Anonymous
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the truck.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

Battery operated or corded

I am stuck. I dont know weather I should buy the 12v Ridgid Jobmax or the corded Ridgid Jobmax. If I had this tool I would use it probably once a day. Please help.
Asked by: Tullyworkernick
I can use the 18v. version all day long on one charge and it is quite powerful. I find that having to drag out an extension cord is a hassle and there is no disadvantage to having the 18v. version.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

where can you buy sandpaper to fit the triangular sanding head, Home Depot doesn't sell it !!

Asked by: Anonymous
Have purchase mine at home depot. There are a lot of other brands of paper that will also work just fine
Answered by: Cudaman
Date published: 2015-09-20

How much does the Lifetime Service Agreement cost?

Asked by: Anonymous
Nothing. It is a part of the price of the tool. Just be sure to register it or there will be no Agreement.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rigid Multi-Tool - Poor Quality and Performance The 12V Multi-Tool was the first Rigid brand tool I ever purchased and it turned out to be a big disappointment. -Using the drywall attachment, the blade vibrated apart in less than 3 minutes of use performing poorly cutting on 5/8" FR drywall. -I went to Home Depot and found no Rigid replacement blades were stocked/available and purchased a Dremel blade to use instead with the blade adapters provide with the multi-tool. -After trying the tool the second time, In less than 2 minutes, the trigger switch became intermittent and when it finally ran, the tool ran spotty and sounded as if the gears were stripping out internally in what I would consider light duty use. -Today, I'm taking it back to the store to ask for a refund. -Hopefully, this particular tool is not indicative of the performance of other Rigid brand power tools or else customers like me will look at other brands to purchase in the future.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent but not great This is the second one I bought. The first one I bought was the promotional set which had the 2 drill heads, ratchet and 2 batteries w/charger for $119. Since I all ready had a body and batteries all I really wanted was the head attachment which was $49.00 plus shipping and tax (not available at the stores- only available online) Calculate that in and I was only around $30 more to the $99 of this unit. So I now have 2 chargers, 2 bodies and 3 batteries. I bought these during a major bathroom remodel. I ended up using it a lot more than I would have thought. I really pushed this to it's limit. I used it not only to cut very nice squares for gang boxes in dry wall, which was easy with this, but also cut Hardy Backer with it. Cutting Hardy Backer really beat this tool up, or at least the blades. I used the round-ish blade with vibrated right out of the rivets in about 10-15 minutes. So the Ridgid blades are terrible. Also I only got about 20 minutes of battery life at best using this attachment. The drill heads lasted much much longer, needing only one recharge a day (I also had a Makita doing the heavy work). I've been using the thin 2" blade for drywall and some Hardy Backer cuts and it seems to work a bit better. I still have to score the Hardy Backer a lot with a utility blade, but the Jobmax really helps get you the extra distance. Using it to trim hard to reach spots on framing has been a great help. I was considering taking these things back when I first got them as I was having a hard time justifying the purchases to myself. However, as it turns out I've ended up using them a lot and would have had a much more difficult remodel with out them.
Date published: 2010-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great tool, weak battery life I have had this tool for over a year now. It does great things but with the oscillating head, the battery is very short lived...get a few batteries. It works great for cutting drywall, which is what I am typically using this head for. I also have the impact head, which is awesome all around, especially since I can get into alot tighter places than my Ridgid X4 impact. I also have the 3/8" right angle it is a great attachment that gets used alot as well with what I do everyday. I have noticed that the battery life is alot better with the impact and the 3/8" drive than the oscillating head. But if you are comparing it to the Bosch...its $100 cheaper, lighter, uses a trigger not a momentary switch, which makes it ALOT easier to use, you can adjust the angle of the Ridgid head unlike the Bosch too. With the money you save you can buy a 2nd battery for $39 and still be cheaper than the best competitor which is the Bosch...definately recommend even with the short battery life!
Date published: 2011-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't know how I would do without it I have been a carpenter/contractor for 40+ years and this is one of the most useful tools I own. I had initially bought a competitors 12v. multitool and that was a mistake; while it did the job, the battery didn't last long and it wasn't very powerful. In certain situations, there isn't anything that will do the job better. I use it to plunge cut into baseboard, undercut door trim and jambs to install flooring, sand trim, spot sand drywall, cut holes in vinyl siding for outlets, and the list goes on. I have had mine for about a year and if I lost it, I would buy one again in days. And if it broke, Ridgid would give me another one for free! Great tool.
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disposable Tool itself worked ok for the few odd cuts I needed it for. Problem is that after only a few uses over a 2 yr period the battery is now defective, of course it is out of warranty. I purchased this for the few times you need a specialty cut which means I charged the battery maybe twice. Now I really need it which means I will need to spend 50% of the cost of the tool to buy another battery that is disposable after a few uses? No thank you, I could pay someone to do the job and still come out ahead. Lesson learned. Now looking for a better quality more expensive brand but expect to at least get my money's worth so is cheaper in the end. Spend the extra money on a better brand, you will not regret it. Ridgid is now on my "never again" list.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good Bought and used a few times until it stopped working. First it would stop for a little while, then it stopped all together. Would not recommend to anyone. Do not, I repeat Do not waste your money.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incredible!! I don't believe how bad this item is. I was very impressed with the design of this tool and wanted to purchase it. However, it was beyond disappointing on my first job. I was using it to cut 5/8" drywall. I barely got in 3ft of straight cutting and the tool drive stopped working. I called Ridgid for help and was told to return it for a replacement. Extremely disappointing tool. Fortunately I had a Bosch Multi X tool for back up. I had vowed not to buy anymore Ridgid after all my Ridgid batteries died on me and they weren't warranted. I should have followed my gut. Oh well.. next time.
Date published: 2011-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cordless JobMax Wins Big I am restoring some 75 year old metal factory windows and needed a cordless tool to dig out the rock hard glazing compound when replacing panes. With some trepidation, I after reading the reviews on this page, I went ahead and purchased this tool and an extra battery.. Man, am I ever glad I did. I used it with the 3/4" Dremel metal cutting blade and it dug out the glazing compound cleanly and easily leaving a smooth clean surface. I didn't baby the tool but jammed it pretty good and it performed splendidly. Battery life was good, one battery was on charge while the other was in use, the result was lots of power and no waiting. Since purchasing this tool jobs keep popping up where it proves indispensible, I wonder how I got along without it!
Date published: 2011-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tool does not last I have owned this Ridgid kit for about 2 1/2 years now, and it has only worked for short periods of time. The main unit has broken twice and I have gone through four batteries. (yes, that's right, 1... 2... 3... 4 of them) The batteries only last a few months. While it is a lengthy process to get it repaired, Ridgid did honor their warrantee. Keep track of your paperwork and carefully follow the requirements of the agreement. If it needs to be repaired/replaced more than once, then re-register it within 90 days.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery Issue After using this tool 6 times that battery stopped holding a charge. Replaced the battery and it failed to hold a charge after minimal use. Instead of paying another $60 for a replacement battery I cut my losses and bought a corded Dremel brand multi tool. Much happier. Don't waste your money on this junk.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from bad design Artery only last maybe 5-8 minutes depending on continuous use. BUT after a few uses the battery vibrates loose and eventually won't stay inserted. As soon as you hit the trigger it pops out a little and shuts off. Could be great wit a better design . I've had great luck with other rigid tools.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from tool worked well WHEN it ran Tool stops working whenever using blade, and will not run jigsaw or impact. Called mfg. no response. My first tipoff should have been the company giving a lifetime warranty, why is it needed if you build a quality product and have confidence in your product? This is junk, I now have some orange paperweights to remind me of my mistake. I am glad I purchased Milwaukee 18 volt drill and impact, works great. I guess I will have to purchase a Milwaukee multi tool as well to get a quality product.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This tool does exactly what it is made for! I am an industrial maintenance mechanic in a foundry. This is a hostile work environment for any tool. I use the tool for a variety of tasks and it does the job it was made for. Quick, lightweight jobs are a breeze! If I need to use the reciprocating saw for two hours, I use another saw with a power cord! Don't ask the thing to do a job it was not designed for. I use it constantly for lightweight applications and it is a real time saver. I would recommend this tool for the professional and the home.
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Performance Tool cuts out after 5 seconds of use, tried multiple batteries per factory recommendation, no luck. Tool sent back to factory last week, my hope is they can get to the bottom of it. I see multiple reviews stating the same issue........Very concerned that its a design flaw. I hope the factory can get to the bottom of it. I own a corded version of the multitool by Ridgid, it works just fine
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Get the corded version. These multi tools are so versatile. I bought the 12v version when it first came out about 3 years ago, while I found so many uses for it the battery was always dead when I needed it or would die just in the middle of a project and then I would have to wait for it to charge back up. Finally I was starting a bathroom remodel and of course the battery was dead and after charging it overnight it was working for about 30 seconds then just stopped then it keep doing that, work not work and so on. It was the one Rigid tool I was glad I didn't register for the lifetime service cause I had a reason to get the corded version. And it is so much better. Has more power and never have to worry about a battery. If your going to get one of these go for the corded version. The build quality of the 12v jobmax that I have was not the best either, the head seamed a bit loose compaired to the new corded one I just bought.
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little tool great tool, ample power, great selection of add ons
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST TOOL EVER MADE. JUNK!!! I should start by saying that the batteries on this tool only last 5-15 charges before they just wont charge any more. I was dumb enough to buy this tool twice because in my line of work if the tool worked, it would be priceless. BUT ITS JUNK.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok but... The overall design, concept and compactness is what attracted me to the job Max system. The ratchet and angle drill great but the multi tool head malfunctioned after the first use and is now discontinued. I found a replacement bearing 625-zz on line and for eleven dollars got it working. Shame that Rigid would discontinue such a well made tool head simply because of a cheep bearing.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor battery life. It worked well when the battery lasted. But after only a few uses the battery no longer holds a charge. But now it is almost useless.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Works real good. I would recommend it to someone. Thanx
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This tool has a short in the handle and operates intermitantly Battery and tool short out and it will stop working you have to remove battery and reinsert to make contact.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a tool! Was considering buying another brand of tool but had heard so many good things about Rigid that I decided to give it a shot. Boy am I glad I did. I do a lot of renovation and this tool has been invaluable. From trimming molding to cutting holes in drywall and cutting porcelain tile, this is a must-have tool. I couldn't be happier...or more impressed. Rigid really "nailed" this one!!
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice looking, poor quality Bought the JobMax and tried to use it but the thing quit running due to the trigger. Felt pretty good in hand but cannot handle the usage. Returned product then purchased the Miluakee M12 Oscillating one and worked great. The Miluakee comes with 2 batteries. I would get the Miluakee one and recommend HomeDepot send all the Ridgid JobMaxs back.
Date published: 2011-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice tool for my home renovation, register for warranty when you buy it. I bought this kit almost 3 years ago and have used it on several projects. I also bought the 2 speed drill that uses the same batteries. The batteries charge quickly and stay charged long enough for my tasks. I am satisfied with the tool's performance and quality. I have replaced one of two batteries under warranty and I have purchased several more blades and attachments mostly for tile and trim work. The tool does a good job removing old tile, thin set, mortar and tile grout and trimming wooden and plastic trim. I use the drill almost every day.Easy to hold even standing on a ladder. I had to go to two stores before I found the third store with the mechanic who was authorized to do warranty work in the rental department. I love the life time warranty, it's replaced a battery and the drill motor in 3 years. Don't forget to to register for the warranty and print the registration information if you need warranty work done. The warranty will answer lots of questions.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First Ridgid tool I'd throw away Bought one of these today, along with the nail-driver head, because I need to install hurricane straps on a new home construction and the swing distance for a hammer is very limited. (I would have bought one of the Ridgid pneumatic palm drivers, but they had none in stock at the local HD.) While the nail driver head usually had no problem driving a 10-penny nail through the thinner dimension of a 2x4 (1.5 inches), it failed miserably at driving it all the way in going the other way. And, it would not begin to handle the 16-penny nails. I could not drive in 10d nails for the hurricane straps when the nails went into the top plate (2x8), although usually I could attach them to the truss with no problem, since it was going through the thin dimension. Switching off between hammer and the multi-tool was a great deal of hassle. I'm taking it back to HD as soon as possible. The price I paid (they don't want me to put it here) is too much to spend for a tool that doesn't work.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so good.... I'm a contractor and this is one of three Ridge power tools I own, a shop vac, palm sander and this multi-tool. The shop vac works great, never had any trouble and have owned it for years. The palm sander has a slide switch on it that was very easy to bump on. As a result it would take some quick reflexes to catch a run away sander. Having missed it once it flew off the bench and hit the floor, doesn't work right anymore. This multi-tool is a great idea and comes in very handy. About a year ago I started having trouble with getting it to start. The heads fit somewhat sloppy to the motor base so I'm not sure if it's in the head or the switch. I know what you're thinking, lifetime warranty. Read the small print.....to many hoops to jump thru.Stick to the name brands, I've also had very good luck with Milwaukee tools and Bosch. Buy online, not at these big box stores. A year ago I almost purchased a Rigid job site table saw, decided to go with Bosch...glad I did. I will not buy Ridge again.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Easy I love this product because I am not that talented with the household repairs. But this product helps me do work that looks like I hired a professional. I also love how it as the different tool heads so you can do multiple projects around the house. My boyfriend is an electician and even takes it to work with him some days, well whenever I don't need it. :)
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lite weight use only, charge will only hold for maybe 20 cuts, of 2x4 I should have gotton the corded model....but I found this unit to work for myself (dyi). I had to trim some 2x4's so I could install a new ramp to my small shop. Right out of the box it could only trim on board. Charged overnight and it cut the others will not problem. Trimmed some base boards and charge seemed to hold up....
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tool does all that it says it can do and more. I needed to clear out the old grout from between the tiles in my shower. I wasn't looking forward to using a screwdriver and box cutter to do the job. Then I was shown the Jobmax and it did the job in about 50min. Would have taken me several hours to do it manually. Excellent quality for a tool of this type.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor tool I have owned many Rigid cordless tools and until this one was very happy with them. This one started failing after one use. At first I thought it might have been poorly charged batteries but even with a full charge it will only run in about ten second intervals. It shares batteries with my drill. Within 2 months one battery fails to charge after 6 months two of the three batteries will not charge. I registered the drill and batteries(but never completed the Jobmax) but in order to take advantage of the warranty I must drive 40 miles plus a ferry ride to one of the only two authorized service centers in the entire state. Two round trips will cost me about what two brand new batteries would cost and waste 8 hours. This will be the last Rigid cordless tool I ever buy
Date published: 2012-12-23
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 146ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT