Model # R82236

Internet #202222204

RIDGID JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit
0648846057118

Discontinued RIDGID

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.
  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

The RIDGID JobMax System is the ultimate in versatility. Once you get this multi-tool in your hand, you will find a seemingly endless list of jobs that can be accomplished with it. Whether you are cutting wood, metal or plastic or sanding, the one-handed ergonomic grip gives maximum comfort. A drive gear cover limits vibrations and dampens sound. The best part is that you can use any brand's accessories with the universal adaptor.

  • Includes R8223400 power handle, R822304 multi-tool head, R86048 lithium-ion battery, R86049 30-minute charger, 2 drive gear covers, wood/metal cutting blade, segment saw blade, sanding pad, 5 pcs. of sandpaper, universal multi-tool accessory adaptor, Allen wrench, heavy duty contractor's bag and manual
  • Power handle with quick-connect interface accepts all JobMax attachment tool heads
  • Universal adapter compatible with all popular multi-tool accessories
  • Base allows tool heads to be positioned in 4 ways for comfort in tight or awkward spaces
  • Variable speed trigger allows up to 20,000 oscillations per minute with more speed control to match the application
  • Features an on-board fuel gauge to closely monitor battery charge
  • Also compatible with, but does not include, AC82058 3Ah battery
  • 3-year warranty and lifetime service agreement with tool registration
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$99.00 /each
$99.97 /each
$171.69 /each
$199.00 /each
Name JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit T12OT 12-Volt Oscillating Multi-Tool 20-Volt MAX XR Lithium-Ion Cordless Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with Battery 2Ah, Charger and Contractor Bag
Brand RIDGID RIDGID Triton DEWALT
Ratings (76) (210) (0) (122)
Batteries Included Yes Yes Yes
Reconditioned No No No No
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Keyless Chuck
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Cordless Cordless
Number of Batteries Included 1 1 1
Voltage (volts) 12 12 20
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
13.307 in
Product Height (in.)
9.134 in
Product Width (in.)
3.622 in

Details

Accessory Change System
Universal Adaptor
Accessory Compatibility
Universal Adaptor is compatible with all popular Multi-tool accessories
Batteries Included
Yes
Battery Amp Hours
2.0
Battery Power Type
Lithium Ion
Battery Size
Lithium Ion
Charger Included
Yes
Color Family
Orange
Cordless Tool Type
Specialty
Cordless/ Corded
Cordless
Number of Batteries Included
1
Oscillation Arc Range (Degrees)
3
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM)
20000
Power Tool Features
Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Product Weight (lb.)
5.3lb
Reconditioned
No
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Voltage (volts)
12

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Limited Warranty; Lifetime Service Agreement with tool registration

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
13.307 in
Product Height (in.)
9.134 in
Product Width (in.)
3.622 in

Details

Accessory Change System
Universal Adaptor
Accessory Compatibility
Universal Adaptor is compatible with all popular Multi-tool accessories
Batteries Included
Yes
Battery Amp Hours
2.0
Battery Power Type
Lithium Ion
Battery Size
Lithium Ion
Charger Included
Yes
Color Family
Orange
Cordless Tool Type
Specialty
Cordless/ Corded
Cordless
Number of Batteries Included
1
Oscillation Arc Range (Degrees)
3
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM)
20000
Power Tool Features
Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Product Weight (lb.)
5.3lb
Reconditioned
No
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Voltage (volts)
12

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
3 Year Limited Warranty; Lifetime Service Agreement with tool registration

More Products With These Features

Search

Questions & Answers

xtra battery

if i buy a xtra battery i have heard that the battery is only a 3 year warranty. I thought it says free parts -service and batterys for life? how can some batterys be lifetime or 3years .are they different ??
Asked by: dboy
The battery is the same but they only guarantee them if purchased with a tool. I posed this question to one of HD's field reps and he told me that if I took it to the manager, he would give me another one. The other possibility is to buy one of their cheaper tools and get another tool, battery and charger and they all fit each other. For me, an extra charger is nice to have; one in the shop, one on the truck.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

How many batteries come with Ridgid 12 volt ultra tool kit?

Asked by: holeshot
Thank you for your question. This set comes with one battery. Best regards, Lynn from Ridgid.
Answered by: RIDGID Power Tool Team
Date published: 2017-08-09

Battery operated or corded

I am stuck. I dont know weather I should buy the 12v Ridgid Jobmax or the corded Ridgid Jobmax. If I had this tool I would use it probably once a day. Please help.
Asked by: Tullyworkernick
I can use the 18v. version all day long on one charge and it is quite powerful. I find that having to drag out an extension cord is a hassle and there is no disadvantage to having the 18v. version.
Answered by: Carpenter
Date published: 2015-09-20

where can you buy sandpaper to fit the triangular sanding head, Home Depot doesn't sell it !!

Asked by: BK
Have purchase mine at home depot. There are a lot of other brands of paper that will also work just fine
Answered by: Cudaman
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_9, d_23, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool Starter Kit is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 210.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT Much quieter than my old multitool. Love the fact that it is all lifetime warranty even the batteries. You have to jump through hoops to do it though. Also the selection of interchangeable heads is great.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This tool has a short in the handle and operates intermitantly Battery and tool short out and it will stop working you have to remove battery and reinsert to make contact.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product Excessive vibration. Battery life is too short. Less than 5 minutes of use before battery dies. Had product approximately a year and battery is now defective.
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Versitile Needed to shave off the lip of some deck boards so that my railing posts would sit flush against the side of the deck. Was dreading the thought of using a hammer and wood chisels. Went to Home Depot to buy the Dremel version of this tool since that's the only version I'd seen. The display at home depot had this sitting next to the Dremel version. After trying both tools, it seemed as though they did the same job with about the same power. The interchangeable heads really caught my attention and I liked that it was cordless. So I went with this one instead of the Dremel. It was a great decision. This has a converter to allow for the use of Dremel or Bosch tool accessories. The cord would have been a pain to deal with, and this cut through my deck board quickly. The battery lasted probably around 25-30 minutes of fairly solid use. This thing is actually fun to use. Even my wife wanted to try it. Wish I'd bought this earlier... Having the angle power hammer and impact drill would have been nice to have while I was building in some hard to reach places. Waiting for Christmas to role around to get those.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is very good product I recentrly modify the whole balusters of home and this tool worked fine, no problems at all. The battery last not too much, but this tool is not heavy and versatile.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not So Good I have had this product for 3 years now and have had problems with it since I have owned it. It comes with two batteries which is good since one would not hold a charge after the first week. The second battery holds a charge for only about 2 minutes of use and this is how it has been since I got the product. Fortunately, I really only used it for small quick tasks and it would recharge in 10 mins, so it didn't affect me that much. It wasn't until I actually tried using it on a real project that I understood the issue. It did come with a great warranty, but you have to go to a separate service location in order to get them to fix it, which for me was not convenient. It was far from my house and the one time I traveled there to drop off my unit, it was closed as they were only open until 2:00 PM. They have a lifetime warranty on some of the components, but they don't honor the warranty unless they receive your required information via mail. There is no indication if it has been received or not as I discovered when they told me that they did not receive a copy of my receipt. Bottom line is spend the extra money to get a different brand. I'm sure some improvements have been made to the unit, but overall the quality and service level is not there.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad experience The tool died after ~6 projects (and that is being nice as one project was cutting gram crackers into the shape of dog bones- kid's party). Sent it to the nearest authorized repair location. The shop owner rolled his eyes. He said Ridgid is slow to send parts. It took 4 months to get a switch, to fix the tool. He asked for the registration tag - that's when I found about my LSA was never acknowledged. So how about that LSA. You can search the internet and find a mixed bag. It seems Emerson randomly accepts your registration papers. I sent my registration in and it was never acknowledged. What do you have to do, drive to the Emerson office and meet face to face with the person? In hindsight I'd recommend copying everything and sending it notarized & return receipt. still no guarantee & the repair time will still be slow but... DIY projects is my hobby - I do not work in construction. The battery is dead after very few working hours, still within the three year period but it is PAINFUL to get it replaced. I thought about buying a new battery and they've since changed the charger so replacement battery = replacement charger = $$$ My 18V lithium Ion batteries died early too, a month after the 3yr warranty. Hard decision ahead, buy new batteries & charger or all new tools - NOT RIDGID.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, less features I bought this tool hoping it was like its Milwaukee counterpart which our electrician had. His I used many days with no issues. The Rigid overheated under normal use the first day and it just stops. There is also no battery indicator so a low battery results in the same sudden stops. During the first day of use the battery piece that clips the battery to the unit sheared itself off from its own vibration. I returned the unit and purchased a higher quality item.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You didn't even know you needed one... You didn't even know you needed one until you used one and then didn't have one. This tool is in a league of its own. From the cordless operation (via Lithium Ion Battery) to the adapter that comes with it to make using other manufacturers tools work with it. The default pack comes with the battery, charger, power handle, multi-tool head and an assortment of attachments. I would recommend that you purchase a 2nd battery if you plan to use the tool for continuous operation. Charging time of the battery is quick at about 30 minutes. The default tools assortment allow for mostly wood working. Be it cutting/trimming, plunge cutting or sanding. Being a cordless tool, I was surprised with the power that the light weight unit produced. I was able to plunge cut through wood (to fix a broken door frame) and notch out the piece to be replaced. With a standard tool I would have had to lay out the process, via a template, to insure accuracy, with a router. With a saber saw or saws-all I would had been a lot less precise and more clean up work would have been needed. Needless to say, this tool pays for itself with the first use. The flexibility that it provides will make any around the house task a breeze.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best tools I own. Endlesss uses. Would never be without! Can't wait to get more attachments. What a workhorse
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tool My dad gave me this for my birthday two years ago (after some not so subtle hints), and I can't imagine a better tool for me. I live in a fairly small condo, so my projects are smaller in size than some people are going to have in houses. Because of my living situation I didn't want a ton of different power tools to store. The different heads take care of that problem. I got the kid with the multi-head plus the drill head for my birthday, for my next birthday my dad gave me the head. I've used this tool to cut through drywall, wood, copper pipes, and metal plates. I use it constantly to drill holes and screw stuff into the walls (dry wall and metal studs). I have run out of battery life once during a project, but the battery had been sitting without charging for at least a month while being used for random stuff occasionaly. It is surprising to me that people have complaints about battery life, because I rave about that to people. I guess that could be because I have to stop from being tired before the battery does. It does last forever without being charged during non-use, I only charge it every so often until it is charged and then put the charger back in the cabinet. My dad was so impressed by mine, he dropped hints until he got one for christmas. He loves his, too. However, he keeps his full-size drills and saws around for really big house and deck projects. This tool is perfect for me and my situation, and seems to be perfect for my dad in most situations.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this tool! Have just finished 140 sq ft flooring job in 1933 year old house (old, hard, dry wood door moldings). This tool fills the gap for the DIYer who doesn't have a base cut saw to trim the door moldings. It is perfect for cutting insets into floor boards going into tight spaces. I have other Rigid tools, and batteries, so having a battery die isn't an issue. I just have at least 4 fresh when I'm tackling old, hard wood. The "D" adapter piece allows use of another company's blades if Rigid blades aren't in stock. Only complaint is the light could be placed differently to actually light up the end of the blade, instead of being blocked by hands holding the tool.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice tool, however it has short comings This is a nice tool, but I ultimately returned the version I purchased (before using it for the project), and bought the Bosch. I did not switch tools because the Rigid was unable to do the job. I switched because of limitations that I ran into during project preparation. I found the Rigid to have functional short comings that made the project more difficult, instead of simpler. I would recommend careful consideration of the expected uses before purchase (it was the add on attachments that made the tool un-satisfactory ultimately).
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tool, bad bag I remember hearing an obnoxiously loud noise one day while shopping at Home Depot. As it turned out, there was a demonstration of the new Dremel multitool which has some similar features to the Ridgid Jobmax. After purchasing the Jobmax a year later, my first impression was how quiet it was compared to the Dremel counterpart. Of course, I did not operate the Jobmax inside the "warehouse" of the Home Depot where the accoustics may have contributed to the loudness of the demonstration, but nevertheless, I thought the noise level to be very tollerable. I had great success in using the Jobmax, as it performed in a way I expected this type of tool to work: i.e., making fine and delicate cuts around the top of a bathtub to remove the grout/caulking without marring the ceramic on the bathtub. My complaint is, the starter kit, that I bought, has a lousy storage bag. Yes, it has a place for everything that comes with it, but nothing extra. I bought an additional battery and the drill head attachment only to find there wasn’t enough room to accommodate the extra head (the beauty of this tools is the availability of multiple heads - purchased separately for about $50 apiece - such as the close quarter drill head, hammer head and others to make it a true multipurpose tool). Also, the zipper on the bag is a single "long zip" type which is cumbersome. Two zippers that meet in the middle is a much better method of zipping. Also, when I put the bag on my lap and opened it, everything in the flap pouch emptied on the floor. So, the bag is useless if I want to store all the attachments in one case, which I do. Cloth bags in general are an inferior method of tool storage anyway: a hard case will stand up by its self and can have another case stacked on top of it. Buy the tool! Home Depot, please make a decent bag for those buyers of the future. The tool gets five stars, the bag get three stars, hence the four star overall rating.
Date published: 2010-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save you money - buy a Fein Similar to what others have reported, after 1 year of limited use the battery wouldn't charge; the charger indicating it was defective. Purchased a replacement battery at Home Depot and with no use the battery charger indicated it was defective - out of the package. I will return the replacement battery for a refund and see if I can get the unit fixed or replacement parts. Luckily it only cost $100 (replacement batter was $70!). I will replace it with a Fein which I should have bought in the first place.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underpowered This tool is small and is best suited for a hobbyist. Make sure to purchase extra batteries.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't last long I have the 12 volt version of this tool and it was good for a while, but now I have had it just over a year and I am screwed. The charger keeps saying defective battery, but this is my second battery, and I have only had it a few weeks. I think thee is a problem with a tool that is causing the batteries to go out, and which is why they switched to the 18 volt system, the 12 volt can't handle it. I made the mistake of forgetting to register the product, and now Home Depot and Rigid, won't do anything to help. I have recently bought a lot of Rigid tools because with their warranty I thought they would stand behind the product., especially Home Depot since I have already spent $40,000 at their store this year alone, but I was wrong. So much for customer service. Do not buy the 12 volt tool!. Share with your friends as I will on all social media sites.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not but a battery operated Jobmax! I have had the tool for several years and the tool is awesome when it works... but it rarely works because the safety device when changing tools never engages. There is a significant engineering and quality issue with this tool. The first time I had a problem, I thought it was a Ion battery... but after several new batteries... it is this tool! I got sucked in because i have always had good luck with Rigid tools and bought several different interchangeable tools so i plan to buy the corded version at some point but... we will see how well that one works?
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Tool I decided to make Rigid my home depot tool partner. I am helping my mom refurbish her home for retirement and I need a full selection of tools. We redid her floor and I bought this tool to cut small pieces of allure flooring and trim. The tool cuts but not as fast on TV and the store but the quality of the ridgid tools is better than most of the competing brands. I have to give this tool 4 stars because its not aggressive enough but it is well made and it also has some interesting features. the work head rotates 360 degrees. The housing is more rugged than the competing brand and it has a small work light. I used the tool to cut shipping bands and allure flooring and wood trim.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from junk ridgid calls them self contractor quality this is not i would not even recommend this to a home owner who is going to use it once just take your money and throw it in the trash
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Of The Best Tools I Own I own and operate my own general contracting business. I normally use all Milwaukee when it comes to power tools. However when looking for a good oscillating tool Milwaukees was $119 for just the bare tool no battery no charger. after looking at every other brand I came upon Rigids JobMax cordless oscillating tool. for the same price it came with the tool, the battery, a charger as well as a carry bag and quite a few other accessories. Having heard good things about the Rigid brand I purchased it. What really got me excited about this tool was the different heads that can be attached to the tool. I also purchased a rotozip attachment and the small Sawzall attachment ad well as a bigger spare battery. I am more than pleased with my purchase. I won't do a single job without this tool with me. I am impressed with its power, battery life and durability. I would recommend this tool and the Rigid brand to anyone. This is now my second choice for any tool under my preferred Milwaukee.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST TOOL EVER MADE. JUNK!!! I should start by saying that the batteries on this tool only last 5-15 charges before they just wont charge any more. I was dumb enough to buy this tool twice because in my line of work if the tool worked, it would be priceless. BUT ITS JUNK.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor battery life. It worked well when the battery lasted. But after only a few uses the battery no longer holds a charge. But now it is almost useless.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money for a real tool This thing is a piece of junk. Spend a bit more and buy a better tool. I own a handyman business so I kno how to take care of my tools. No hope for this one.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around! I got this for my fiancé for Christmas and he LOVES it! We are completely remodeling a house and he uses it all the time. Great product for an even better price.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from doesn't do what it says We tried to use this product to cut wood or nails like it shows on the box and on commercials...but didn't do the job. It just ended up dulling the blade.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable tool I like the fact that I can purchase the tool head I need rather than keep buying more tools. I also like the life time warranty on parts of the tool.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really surprised A few years ago I helped build a deck. One of the guys there was using Ridgid tools. I was disappointed with its performance. When I saw the jobmax I thought hey great idea. Battery powered light weight and I can use other brands of accessory. Bought it with a drill combo and wow was I ever surprised. I used it for pretty much everything. I only have the ossilorating tool and it just docent back down. The drill how Ever isn't very powerful but ok for around the house. I'm in the marble and granite industry and have recommended it to everyone.
Date published: 2011-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is awesome! I bought this kit a couple weeks ago along with 3 of the heads and have used it several times since then on a variety of jobs. I couldn’t be happier with its performance. The runtime is actually better than I expected, but then again I didn’t expect a 12-volt battery to last all day. I bought an extra battery so that I could have one battery on the charger while using the other. So far I haven’t had 1 battery go dead before the second was done charging. Charges in about 25 min which is faster than any battery I’ve ever owned. Awesome tool!
Date published: 2011-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Ridgid combo pack The only problem I have with this kit is in the Lifetime Service Agreement. It was a pain getting it, because the items were sent individually, instead of the kit. However, with a little persistence to the Ridgid people, the LSA is in affect. Thanks for great service to Home Depot and The Ridgid company. Love it!
Date published: 2015-08-30
  • y_2017, m_9, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_, sid_202222204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 260ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT