0648846062006

RIDGID

Model R862004

Internet #203371437

Store SKU #822217

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

$99.00 /each
  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market with up to 7 attachable heads (not included)

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

23 Questions45 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

Battery Compatibility?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
June 26, 2016
I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, all RIDGID 18V platform tools and batteries are interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. All of the 18v Ridgid power tools and batteries will interchange.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 28, 2016
Answer: 
This will work with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2015
I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it
Thanks and regards.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2016
Answer: 
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's Read More
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's manual."
So it's like a teeny-weeny grinder, or really more a Dremel. The head is only $30 so I bought it but haven't used it yet. There are Youtube videos showing it cutting metal -- small stuff like nails. I'm confident it'll prove useful for delicate tasks. Anything more and you'll need a legit grinder. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 19, 2016
Answer: 
Not a true grinder, but the Rotary head that works with this console takes those little Dremel-sized grinder discs (they're about the diameter of a quarter), so you can cut or grind small amounts of material. You need to use the 1/8 inch diameter mandrels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
No you can't buy a Jobmax grinder head for this tool but HD does sell a cordless 18v grinder which I have and use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
There is not a grinder feature, or add on accessory of that type offered for use with the R862004 console multi-tool.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Battery clarification

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Philadelphia PA
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2014
The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
The batteries wiill be a perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Potlatch, ID
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2015
Answer: 
Your R840084 and the AC840084 are discontinued. Both will work, but are a low capacity battery (1amp/hr I believe...not sure on that) This tool will use any 18 volt slide-in Ridgid battery. If you want the best performance and longest run time, look into the 4 amp/hr battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Yes the job max will work with the 18v batteries you have and you'll be glad you bought it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
AC840084 is the accessory model number for RIDGID battery R840084. The JobMax 18V multi-tool #R862004 is compatible with all RIDGID 18V batteries.
Regards,
RIDGID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
You need a Home Depot receipt for the lifetime warranty.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
home
Read all my Q&A
February 2, 2015
Answer: 
Your best bet is to contact Ridgid with your question. You should be able to find the number on the package that your tool arrived in.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
RIDGID does not offer the LSA on items purchased from Amazon. If purchased from an online vendor like Amazon, it will have just a 1 year warranty with the receipt.
Regards,
RIDGID
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-09-19 T12:38:17.940-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 116ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 111 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works great! very pleased, does just what it is supposed to, many blades to choose from June 14, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Multi Tool Rocks Excellent tool - cannot believe I never had one before this.. The interchangeable heads can be a little difficult to change but that ensures their tight fit - so it's worth it. May 10, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool! Bought this to replace an similar tool. Has much more power and is easy to use. Only problem I have had is the nut holding blade vibrating loose. May 11, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it, works as expected. This is one of those tools that the 4 amp battery (about 100 Dollars at HD) will work MUCH better with. It is not sold with a battery, if all you have is the kit 1.5 or 2 amp hour batteries, do yourself a favor and get the 4 amp if you intend on doing any hardwood, or want extended sanding, grout grinding, etc capacity. Also, the smaller batteries will overheat, and require time to cool before they charge. This is a tool that takes a light-to-moderate touch, push too hard and it will just stick the blade and vibrate in your hands. But it will reach where no other saw type (I know of) can, where you otherwise would be using a chisel. I've done construction, repair, and remodel for over 35 years, and finally came across a job where this was the only practical tool that could make the cuts I needed (And saved my expensive chisels from nails and screws). April 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this JobMax!!! I love this tool and plan to purchase all of the attachments!! May 17, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good window work tool A good tool for misc old house window renovation work. It's great when you need to free up painted shut sash parts--easier than an old fashioned window zipper. Not as fast as dedicated tools, but it certainly does the job. Good battery life. April 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great "multipurpose" tool Installed a new laminate floor and needed to cut door molding/jambs. I first was going to buy a Dremel, but when I realized that Ridgid had this available, it was a "no brainer" to keep the same battery system for all my tools. Oh, and the lifetime warranty is a "plus" to boot. May 3, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really good tool. I've used this tool for the multi tool cutting and jigsaw. It has more than enough power for those features. I've read some reviews regarding lack of power for the sawzall attachment but you should probably use an actual sawzall for something where a sawzall is needed really. I've had great runtimes with both attachments but I am using the 4AH batteries. Using the multi tool takes a little getting used to when making cuts. Now I can make fast plunge cuts in sheet rock, soft woods and hardwoods with ease. You don't really need to apply alot of pressure when cutting. Applying alot of pressure doesn't allow the blade to have space to move and push out the excess dust/wood from your cut. A side note (this isnt a knock against Ridgid but multi tools in general) for someone looking at a multi tool but not sure if they really need it..... the blades are excessively expensive. February 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DIYer, or PRO Extradonaire This tool is awesome, and gets the job done. This tool cuts drywall, wood, metal, steel, etc. For those tight places and corners; this is what you need in your tool arsenal. The different heads for this tool are a little pricey, just a heads up. You can't go wrong having this in your shop or on your garage work bench. I strongly suggest going with the 18V 4.0 battery for those big to grueling jobs. Another awesome and stellar tool by Ridgid. Keep 'em coming !!! February 20, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A handy tool The tool is very convenient to have.No cord. No tool required to change accessories February 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Must own I think this is a most own tool. This is my first tool of this kind and was shocked of the convenience and ease of use. You can get in tight places that are not always easy to reach. The tool free quick connect & 18 volt battery simplifies and speeds up jobs. This tool seems well built but the quick connect is plastic and I wonder how it will hold up over time. I am anxious to try some of the other heads and love that you can interchange them. If you don't have it...buy it. It is not that expensive and well worth the money! December 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing multi purpose tool Used this tool too undercut door jambs and trim for a laminate job. Perfect cuts every time. Loose trim was a bit more difficult to get thru but this tool still accomplished that. Also used this tool to enlarge the openings thru drywall for the receptacles and it worked flawlessly for that. This saw is much more safer and effective than my 6 inch Roberts jamb saw December 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, Light to Medium Duty Tool I have the complete Jobmax Multi-tool Package. I Started with 12volt console which are Very Light duty and burn out with little use 18volt was Major Improvement, Air and Electric console work well. Attachments work well, with 18volts has adequate power for most jobs. Ridged Warrantee is useless, I've burnt out a few 12Volt Batteries and consoles then when you go to ridged site all the battery and tools you register are missing. January 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Flexible and Useful Uses the same batteries as my drill/driver. Came with flush oscillating tool which solved the problem of precisely cutting out a piece of molding that was trapped at both ends, without damaging the adjacent wall. December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by multi tool I like the versatility of the tool and the power.It can be a jigsaw and a drill with a change to the hhead. There are many attachments to choose from. December 29, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Still better tools for the job. The idea of combining cutoff wheels, drywall saw, PVC cutters etc... into a single tool is nice but the tools meant for these jobs do a much better job. Its very slow to cut any metal or other hard material. The vibration will make you hand numb before you can even cut the head off a screw. It does work well for plunge cutting but it very difficult to control while cutting wood and half circle blades don't go deep enough before the head hits the material you are cutting. The longer blades are not good for cutting harder material and if you try they seem to shake loose from the head. It's still a useful tool. I already had Rigid tools so for $70 its worth putting in the tool bag. The saw attachment works well if you left you sawzall at home. October 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! This tool allows for easy cutting on the drywall project I was involved in. If you don't have one you want to get one. January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Goes and goes I have owned these from the first time they came out and now up to having a total of 4. They continue to work with the punishment I give them. Would like to see more heads to come out being this is a go to tool. December 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one of my most used and favorite tools in my tool shed. use it all the time love the reversibility and interchangeable heads. one of my favorites. December 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I use it more than I though I would I actually use this more than I thought I would. It is not the tool you want to use to cut a sheet of plywood or large cuts but it works great for tight places and day to day little things. I have used it on wood, plastic, metal and it takes a little time but works great. November 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Must have tool Got this tool to put down hardwood floors and some other misc jobs associated with a kitchen renovation. I had been in the market for this tool for a while, tested a friends Dewalt for quite some time deciding which to get. Finally pulled the trigger on the JOBMAX and couldn't be happier. Yes it's heavy, with a large grip, but that is standard for the tool. I like the multi speeds as well as the power. Easily cut through baseboard, molding and casing quickly and efficiently.. Also tested it making precise drywall cuts and even trimming up some tile to repair a broken piece after removing some window casing in my kitchen. This is truly one of the greatest tools ever invented, a must have for your tool box. It has great power, tremendous control and precision and makes quick work where other tools (like a dremmel or rotozip) worked but never seemed to be as versatile (or precise) Rigid has done a good job in designing this as not just a multi-function tool, but actually as a multi-tool. I could envision carrying less tools and over time replacing the full tool with the JOBMAX attachment. I will post again once I have tested the other heads. October 15, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good tool to have just wanted the base to go with the saw. Did not want the other part that came with the base, but might use it some time. September 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Been putting off buying this tool for a few years and I don't know how I ever got along without it. Awesome tool, easy on the batteries, lightweight. Included straight cut blade is a little subpar as far as durability but it's a great tool. July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool! I am very happy so far with this purchase. I have owned and used Rigid tools for several years with great success. The tools I have are 18 volt and this is a great addition. Rigid is still quality built! August 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Great addition to the 18v line especially if you got all the attachments from the 12v line like me love the interchangeable heads June 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool I was in need of a multi-tool for use in remodeling our home, cutting the door stops so I could get the new flooring to fit around the door jam. A recent fire in my rental property made it necessary to purchase battery operated tools, so why mix brands. The Jobmax Console Multi-tool provided me what I needed in my house as well as the ability to purchase other heads. One additional project I have come up with for its use is in modifying a tool chest, building an insert to hold all of my Ridgid tools to eliminate damage when having to take them from my home to a rental property. April 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Tool This product was terrific for the remodel job I just did on My kitchen and bar area. The cordless feature made it very easy to use and still had power to spare. It made cutting drywall and trimwork a breeze. April 29, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool to have This is a great tool to have in your bag, has multiple heads you can use. I use this almost as much as my drill it seems, and the 3.0ah battery makes this tool have long run times. Taking the head off requires some effort but that's a good thing as it will not break. March 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product! I bought this tool to replace my Dremel which died too early. I found that as a cordless model it has surprising power. Very easy to use, great for trim work. I really like the variable speed as well. April 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rigid Bonus buy I got a Dewalt drill driver for XMas. I traded this in for a RIGID package that also included a radio. I had enough left to get this Multi tool also. I have used them all a bunch. I love them all. The Lifetime battery warranty makes this a totally sweet deal. January 29, 2015
  • 2016-09-19 T12:36:28.542-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_111, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT