Model # R862004

Internet #203371437

Store SKU #822217

RIDGID JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
0648846062006

RIDGID

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration
$99.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market with up to 7 attachable heads (not included)

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • Product may vary in store
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$69.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
Name JobMax 18-Volt Console (Tool Only) JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) JobMax 4 Amp Multi-Tool with Tool-Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head
Brand RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID
Ratings (17) (122) (79) (46)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Corded Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Voltage (volts) 18 18 12
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included No No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 0 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20,000 20000 20,000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

23 Questions46 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

Battery Compatibility?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
June 26, 2016
I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, all RIDGID 18V platform tools and batteries are interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. All of the 18v Ridgid power tools and batteries will interchange.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

June 28, 2016
Answer: 
This will work with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2015
I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it
Thanks and regards.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2016
Answer: 
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's Read More
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's manual."
So it's like a teeny-weeny grinder, or really more a Dremel. The head is only $30 so I bought it but haven't used it yet. There are Youtube videos showing it cutting metal -- small stuff like nails. I'm confident it'll prove useful for delicate tasks. Anything more and you'll need a legit grinder. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 19, 2016
Answer: 
Not a true grinder, but the Rotary head that works with this console takes those little Dremel-sized grinder discs (they're about the diameter of a quarter), so you can cut or grind small amounts of material. You need to use the 1/8 inch diameter mandrels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
No you can't buy a Jobmax grinder head for this tool but HD does sell a cordless 18v grinder which I have and use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
There is not a grinder feature, or add on accessory of that type offered for use with the R862004 console multi-tool.
Regards,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Battery clarification

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Philadelphia PA
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2014
The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
The batteries wiill be a perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Potlatch, ID
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2015
Answer: 
Your R840084 and the AC840084 are discontinued. Both will work, but are a low capacity battery (1amp/hr I believe...not sure on that) This tool will use any 18 volt slide-in Ridgid battery. If you want the best performance and longest run time, look into the 4 amp/hr battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Yes the job max will work with the 18v batteries you have and you'll be glad you bought it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
AC840084 is the accessory model number for RIDGID battery R840084. The JobMax 18V multi-tool #R862004 is compatible with all RIDGID 18V batteries.
Regards,
RIDGID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
You need a Home Depot receipt for the lifetime warranty.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
home
Read all my Q&A
February 2, 2015
Answer: 
Your best bet is to contact Ridgid with your question. You should be able to find the number on the package that your tool arrived in.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
RIDGID does not offer the LSA on items purchased from Amazon. If purchased from an online vendor like Amazon, it will have just a 1 year warranty with the receipt.
Regards,
RIDGID
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T16:25:15.774-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 122.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Scam The product worked ok although I only used it once. The big issue I have with this product is you have to buy the battery and charger separately which cost more than the product itself. Additionally I didn't find out about the need for the battery until I was ready to use it. Would have been helpful if the cashier made me aware of this.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool for Renovation Work I use the oscillating head to cut in tight places. Great for cutting out rotted wood door frame sections. Many other cutting jobs as well. I have 2 oscillating heads. They have a tool-less head now which I may get. Sometimes the heads are hard to remove but they are getting a little easier now with use.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable Lasted less than a year. Gears appear to be spinning. Sure it has a lifetime warranty, but by time I drive to drop it off to the repair shop, go home, wait, pick up, the warranty costs me more then purchasing a better quality (Fein) tool.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatility buy this and just add to it,instead of buying a new tool everytime you need something else to be done! Great way to save money,and eco friendly. If you think there's others giving you a lifetime warranty,buy it,but these are for real.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been working great since I bought it a few months ago. I have used multi tools for a lon... This has been working great since I bought it a few months ago. I have used multi tools for a long time but never had a cordless one. I can't believe I waited this long to get one. Great product
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The jobmax is the handiest tool for remodeling. Small enough to get in those tight places and big... The jobmax is the handiest tool for remodeling. Small enough to get in those tight places and big enough to handle whatever you throw at it.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loves it! Great battery powered tool! Easy to switch out attachments wished he would have purchased a long time ago!
Date published: 2016-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the toolbox, have used it many more times than I thought I would. Great addition to the toolbox, have used it many more times than I thought I would.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive Does about everything I have asked of it....impressive..
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool does not over heat as much as the 12 volt version Because there is less heat ( from the lower amps), one spends less time weighting for this tool to cool down. You will get longer run times out of it than the 12v version . But for heavy use and long cutting times avoid this tool, and get the corded version (which can really hog material away). When the motor heats up you have to let it cool before continuing no one wants to wait for the tool to work - it should always be ready - but you will be waiting for the tool to cool down if you attempt heavy cuts. Otherwise it run great for intermittent cuts. (much better that the 12v version)
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great "multipurpose" tool Installed a new laminate floor and needed to cut door molding/jambs. I first was going to buy a Dremel, but when I realized that Ridgid had this available, it was a "no brainer" to keep the same battery system for all my tools. Oh, and the lifetime warranty is a "plus" to boot.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Multi Tool Rocks Excellent tool - cannot believe I never had one before this.. The interchangeable heads can be a little difficult to change but that ensures their tight fit - so it's worth it.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIYer, or PRO Extradonaire This tool is awesome, and gets the job done. This tool cuts drywall, wood, metal, steel, etc. For those tight places and corners; this is what you need in your tool arsenal. The different heads for this tool are a little pricey, just a heads up. You can't go wrong having this in your shop or on your garage work bench. I strongly suggest going with the 18V 4.0 battery for those big to grueling jobs. Another awesome and stellar tool by Ridgid. Keep 'em coming !!!
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good tool. I've used this tool for the multi tool cutting and jigsaw. It has more than enough power for those features. I've read some reviews regarding lack of power for the sawzall attachment but you should probably use an actual sawzall for something where a sawzall is needed really. I've had great runtimes with both attachments but I am using the 4AH batteries. Using the multi tool takes a little getting used to when making cuts. Now I can make fast plunge cuts in sheet rock, soft woods and hardwoods with ease. You don't really need to apply alot of pressure when cutting. Applying alot of pressure doesn't allow the blade to have space to move and push out the excess dust/wood from your cut. A side note (this isnt a knock against Ridgid but multi tools in general) for someone looking at a multi tool but not sure if they really need it..... the blades are excessively expensive.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool! Bought this to replace an similar tool. Has much more power and is easy to use. Only problem I have had is the nut holding blade vibrating loose.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great! very pleased, does just what it is supposed to, many blades to choose from
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Enough Power I love Ridgid tools. That said, I purchased the 18v model so I could use the detail sander and plunge cut blades to do my hardwood floors. The sander attachment worked great. The plunge cut attachment failed completely. Trying to cut my oak door jambs took forever to cut just one. Any pressure applied, caused the blade to stop vibrating, forcing me to apply very little pressure in order to attempt any progress with cutting. In no time at all, I realized that this type of tool should not be made as a cordless option. Yes, obviously the other attachments may work well, but the main pieces that are sold with this tool are ineffective. I ran to the store and purchased the 3 amp model and it worked absolutely perfect! In almost no time, I cut 7 door jambs and 4 closets. Please understand, I love Ridgid tools. I am just trying to help educate someone who is on the fence with trying to make the decision between the 3 amp and 18 volt models. Thank you for reading this. I hope this helps.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid, flexible, convenient tools Nice addition to my kit. I've got all three consoles now: the 12v, 18v and 4-amp corded "thru cool." I can't tell for sure if the 18v offers much more power over the 12v, but it sounds like it drives the oscillating heads at a different speed (it emits a deeper-sounding hum than the 12v) and it feels like it has more oomph. All three consoles feel great in the hand and they function flawlessly (the corded unit has an even deeper hum), and now I can have two tools going (three if I'm working near an outlet) without swapping heads. The 12v is lighter so I prefer it for precision, like using the rotary cutter head with a Dremel bit. But the 18v is better for heavier work since the batteries last longer (I've got the 4 amp hour batteries from my big tools kit) and, like I said, maybe it offers more power. Big picture: the Jobmax system is versatile and fits in my closet, so I end up using it more frequently than my larger tools, especially for quick tasks. But it's not as powerful as my dedicated tools. Besides convenience and versatility, the other asset of the Jobmax tools is their lighter weight. I'm able to use the Jobmax one-handed, which came in handy (sorry) recently when I used the reciprocating saw head (on both the 12v and 18v consoles) to cut up branches from several trees I had felled with my real recip saw. I had to hold the wrist- and thumb-thick branches with one hand to steady them while wielding the tool with the other hand. I could not have done that with the big recip, which requires two hands to safely operate. (I tried, but the branches just jiggled back and forth.) So I needed both tools for the job, but the Jobmax is more useful for routine pruning, so if I were going to buy one recip, I guess that would be it, and if I were going to buy one console, I'd probably go with the 18v. Bottom line: I enjoy using these tools and now that I have them I think up repairs when in the past I would either have paid someone to do the work or spent all weekend on something that now takes a few hours.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still better tools for the job. The idea of combining cutoff wheels, drywall saw, PVC cutters etc... into a single tool is nice but the tools meant for these jobs do a much better job. Its very slow to cut any metal or other hard material. The vibration will make you hand numb before you can even cut the head off a screw. It does work well for plunge cutting but it very difficult to control while cutting wood and half circle blades don't go deep enough before the head hits the material you are cutting. The longer blades are not good for cutting harder material and if you try they seem to shake loose from the head. It's still a useful tool. I already had Rigid tools so for $70 its worth putting in the tool bag. The saw attachment works well if you left you sawzall at home.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, Light to Medium Duty Tool I have the complete Jobmax Multi-tool Package. I Started with 12volt console which are Very Light duty and burn out with little use 18volt was Major Improvement, Air and Electric console work well. Attachments work well, with 18volts has adequate power for most jobs. Ridged Warrantee is useless, I've burnt out a few 12Volt Batteries and consoles then when you go to ridged site all the battery and tools you register are missing.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely fantastic tool!!!! Once in a while I have needed just such a tool and have had to make due with something else. However, having bought a Ridgid impact driver and falling in love with it I decided to buy the JobMax. It has proved to be invaluable. Never knew one tool could do so much. I am actually looking for things around the house and shop to cut. Not sure how I made out without this great product for so long. Ridgid tools have become my go to tools. Thanks for making them great!
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing multi purpose tool Used this tool too undercut door jambs and trim for a laminate job. Perfect cuts every time. Loose trim was a bit more difficult to get thru but this tool still accomplished that. Also used this tool to enlarge the openings thru drywall for the receptacles and it worked flawlessly for that. This saw is much more safer and effective than my 6 inch Roberts jamb saw
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its ridgid glad to have a 18v works just as good as my ridgid corded one. handiest tool in the tool bag
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use it more than I though I would I actually use this more than I thought I would. It is not the tool you want to use to cut a sheet of plywood or large cuts but it works great for tight places and day to day little things. I have used it on wood, plastic, metal and it takes a little time but works great.
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, works as expected. This is one of those tools that the 4 amp battery (about 100 Dollars at HD) will work MUCH better with. It is not sold with a battery, if all you have is the kit 1.5 or 2 amp hour batteries, do yourself a favor and get the 4 amp if you intend on doing any hardwood, or want extended sanding, grout grinding, etc capacity. Also, the smaller batteries will overheat, and require time to cool before they charge. This is a tool that takes a light-to-moderate touch, push too hard and it will just stick the blade and vibrate in your hands. But it will reach where no other saw type (I know of) can, where you otherwise would be using a chisel. I've done construction, repair, and remodel for over 35 years, and finally came across a job where this was the only practical tool that could make the cuts I needed (And saved my expensive chisels from nails and screws).
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flexible and Useful Uses the same batteries as my drill/driver. Came with flush oscillating tool which solved the problem of precisely cutting out a piece of molding that was trapped at both ends, without damaging the adjacent wall.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have tool Got this tool to put down hardwood floors and some other misc jobs associated with a kitchen renovation. I had been in the market for this tool for a while, tested a friends Dewalt for quite some time deciding which to get. Finally pulled the trigger on the JOBMAX and couldn't be happier. Yes it's heavy, with a large grip, but that is standard for the tool. I like the multi speeds as well as the power. Easily cut through baseboard, molding and casing quickly and efficiently.. Also tested it making precise drywall cuts and even trimming up some tile to repair a broken piece after removing some window casing in my kitchen. This is truly one of the greatest tools ever invented, a must have for your tool box. It has great power, tremendous control and precision and makes quick work where other tools (like a dremmel or rotozip) worked but never seemed to be as versatile (or precise) Rigid has done a good job in designing this as not just a multi-function tool, but actually as a multi-tool. I could envision carrying less tools and over time replacing the full tool with the JOBMAX attachment. I will post again once I have tested the other heads.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iTS ABOUT TIME THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT IS MADE This is one of the most useable tools in my tool box! The extra heads are priced right for the DIYers can afford.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around tool with multiple uses This Job Max is one of the most useful tool a person can have. It fills a unique void where other tools fall short. For any cutting needs, tight areas and home repair work of any kind, the Job Max is wonderful. The 18 volt battery provides a powerful source of long term energy and the best part is Rigid tools are guaranteed for life including the battery. That feature alone makes them stand above the rest.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must own I think this is a most own tool. This is my first tool of this kind and was shocked of the convenience and ease of use. You can get in tight places that are not always easy to reach. The tool free quick connect & 18 volt battery simplifies and speeds up jobs. This tool seems well built but the quick connect is plastic and I wonder how it will hold up over time. I am anxious to try some of the other heads and love that you can interchange them. If you don't have it...buy it. It is not that expensive and well worth the money!
Date published: 2015-12-26
  • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_122
  • loc_, sid_203371437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 525ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT