Free Shipping and BOPIS


Model # R862004

Internet # 203371437

Store SKU # 822217

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$99.00 /each
  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration




Model # R862004

Internet # 203371437

Store SKU # 822217

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that’s because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn’t have one sooner.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.


Product Depth (in.) 
Product Height (in.) 
Product Width (in.) 
Amperage (amps) 
Batteries Included 
Battery Amp Hours 
Battery Power Type 
Lithium Ion 
Case Included 
Charger Included 
Chuck Capacity 
0 in 
Chuck Type 
Color Family 
Cordless Tool Type 
Rotary Tool 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
Number of Batteries Included 
Power Tool Features 
Attachments Included 
Power Tool Product Type 
Product Weight (lb.) 
2.73 lb 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Voltage (volts) 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year Warranty. Lifetime Service Agreement with registration. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. 


Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 86 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by residential electrians last saw I do alot of custom service and honestly the jobmax series has made alot of difficult tasks quite simple the plunge cutter goes through stick (with the right blade) and the sawsall is a dream lightweight easy to control and compact enough to go through tight atics and crawl spaces November 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by makes jobs quicker Have found it a handy tool to bring along on jobs. The versatility with different uses saves me time findning the right tools. Making a straight on cut saves so much time when doing remodeling. The jig saw head is powerful and quick. November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great versatile tool. The Jobmax is one my favorite tools I own. It is so versatile with all the different heads. Plenty of power with the 18v batteries, I use this tool on almost every job. Must have for any contractor or do-it-yourself-or. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good buy I find this much easier for use. no cards to worry about, the only complaint I have is having to keep an allen key to change the blade.otherwise it is a good piece of as tool. much less expensive thean the Fenhl brand. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the feel of it. Use it for almost everything. Got all the attactments (well almost), Good for cutting small trees down, Lilac bush trimming, and the like. Will stay with RIDGID from now on. Don November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value all around I have the console and all but two heads. It's used every day, it's very convenient for most jobs I do and has good battery life and a great warranty. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely useful tool. Have used the JobMax on many specialized projects with outstanding results. Attachments are great. Couldn't be without the JobMax being in "my tool kit. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good and durable Use this all the time when at jobs. It's a handy tool to use for multiple things. I've dropped it so many times. Takes a lickin and keeps on tickin. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Performance The JobMax is a must tool in any professional's/handyman's tool box. The tool has out performed my expectations in cutting hard to get at areas. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and versatile tool This is an easy to use tool that is a must for all general contractors. Good choice of different heads makes it very desirable. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by iTS ABOUT TIME THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT IS MADE This is one of the most useable tools in my tool box! The extra heads are priced right for the DIYers can afford. November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tool in my bag. Use this tool almost daily. Use it to cut out rotten door frames. Love it! November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One-tool Multiple Heads - GREAT use of base tool I bought the JobMax multi-tool and the jig-saw head they work great. My son-in-laws who are professional carpenters are a little jealous as the multi-tools they own do not have interchangeable heads. Will have to lock mine up when they are around. Honestly, I definitely like the ability to have one base tool that I can change the head on for multiple purposes. I look forward to many years of use while doing projects for my wife's and my children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. March 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Weak motor I bought this base to use the recip. saw attachment but the motor shut down after about ten min. The motor on this thing looks the same as the 12 volt base which is okay for the flush cut saw, unless you are using it to cut glazing around a piece of tempered glass. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tool ever made JobMax came free in the combo pack when I bought it from homedepot, works great and fast, never had any problem with it, all of my contractor friends like it . Definitely recommend it . February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The 18v JobMax is awesome. I needed a hand held reciprocating saw and already owned an X4 kit so I picked this up along with the reciprocating head. The fact it uses the same batteries as my other ridgid full size tools were a majour plus. The 18v version provides quite a bit more noticeable power to the various heads. The run time is amazing, I can get through a full day of sporadic use with the small battery but for bigger jobs the larger batter is the way to go. Pros: more power, get better results from the various heads, improved run time over the 12v. Cons: A bit long when fully assembled vs the 12v version. February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remember When There Were Chisels! Up here in Northern Ontario Canada my early years in shop class we mastered the finery of using chisels for precise workmanship! My shop teacher at Lakeway High School, Mr Punch was a stickler for detail and that chisel work he laid on us was nothing short of a miracle. Needless to say I toiled all these years at door jams etc with one or several till I spied this tool up. While in the store I just stood in awe at the possibilities this wonder could perform with the various attachments which only sweetened it's usefulness. Regardless I bagged one, assaulted some jams and the results had me puzzled. What had me the most was how it could have taken this long to devise the perfect tool in both hand to feel and it's actual working state. The design and cut are seamless as are the power and control. In a nutshell this tool is priceless to have in anyone's arsenal. Just tonight again I had to enter the back of a wall where I had to cut out a light switch box hole only from the rear. To add to the task the wall was sheet rocked over paneling and the box location was in the top most corner hindered by obstacles and your normal it'll take 2 seconds kind of stuff! After I wedged myself up into location I fired up this tool with the standard blade attached and in 1 minute I was done. Enough's worth every penny! April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it, works as expected. This is one of those tools that the 4 amp battery (about 100 Dollars at HD) will work MUCH better with. It is not sold with a battery, if all you have is the kit 1.5 or 2 amp hour batteries, do yourself a favor and get the 4 amp if you intend on doing any hardwood, or want extended sanding, grout grinding, etc capacity. Also, the smaller batteries will overheat, and require time to cool before they charge. This is a tool that takes a light-to-moderate touch, push too hard and it will just stick the blade and vibrate in your hands. But it will reach where no other saw type (I know of) can, where you otherwise would be using a chisel. I've done construction, repair, and remodel for over 35 years, and finally came across a job where this was the only practical tool that could make the cuts I needed (And saved my expensive chisels from nails and screws). April 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I use it more than I though I would I actually use this more than I thought I would. It is not the tool you want to use to cut a sheet of plywood or large cuts but it works great for tight places and day to day little things. I have used it on wood, plastic, metal and it takes a little time but works great. November 10, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Still better tools for the job. The idea of combining cutoff wheels, drywall saw, PVC cutters etc... into a single tool is nice but the tools meant for these jobs do a much better job. Its very slow to cut any metal or other hard material. The vibration will make you hand numb before you can even cut the head off a screw. It does work well for plunge cutting but it very difficult to control while cutting wood and half circle blades don't go deep enough before the head hits the material you are cutting. The longer blades are not good for cutting harder material and if you try they seem to shake loose from the head. It's still a useful tool. I already had Rigid tools so for $70 its worth putting in the tool bag. The saw attachment works well if you left you sawzall at home. October 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Must have tool Got this tool to put down hardwood floors and some other misc jobs associated with a kitchen renovation. I had been in the market for this tool for a while, tested a friends Dewalt for quite some time deciding which to get. Finally pulled the trigger on the JOBMAX and couldn't be happier. Yes it's heavy, with a large grip, but that is standard for the tool. I like the multi speeds as well as the power. Easily cut through baseboard, molding and casing quickly and efficiently.. Also tested it making precise drywall cuts and even trimming up some tile to repair a broken piece after removing some window casing in my kitchen. This is truly one of the greatest tools ever invented, a must have for your tool box. It has great power, tremendous control and precision and makes quick work where other tools (like a dremmel or rotozip) worked but never seemed to be as versatile (or precise) Rigid has done a good job in designing this as not just a multi-function tool, but actually as a multi-tool. I could envision carrying less tools and over time replacing the full tool with the JOBMAX attachment. I will post again once I have tested the other heads. October 15, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good tool to have just wanted the base to go with the saw. Did not want the other part that came with the base, but might use it some time. September 8, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Enough Power I love Ridgid tools. That said, I purchased the 18v model so I could use the detail sander and plunge cut blades to do my hardwood floors. The sander attachment worked great. The plunge cut attachment failed completely. Trying to cut my oak door jambs took forever to cut just one. Any pressure applied, caused the blade to stop vibrating, forcing me to apply very little pressure in order to attempt any progress with cutting. In no time at all, I realized that this type of tool should not be made as a cordless option. Yes, obviously the other attachments may work well, but the main pieces that are sold with this tool are ineffective. I ran to the store and purchased the 3 amp model and it worked absolutely perfect! In almost no time, I cut 7 door jambs and 4 closets. Please understand, I love Ridgid tools. I am just trying to help educate someone who is on the fence with trying to make the decision between the 3 amp and 18 volt models. Thank you for reading this. I hope this helps. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool! I am very happy so far with this purchase. I have owned and used Rigid tools for several years with great success. The tools I have are 18 volt and this is a great addition. Rigid is still quality built! August 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Been putting off buying this tool for a few years and I don't know how I ever got along without it. Awesome tool, easy on the batteries, lightweight. Included straight cut blade is a little subpar as far as durability but it's a great tool. July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The additional power from the 18 volt battery is great. The tool should be available without the multi head. I own the complete Jobmax system, but have multiple muti heads because that is the only way to purchase some of the tools. This is a very good system and offers a good value and quality. September 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by its ridgid glad to have a 18v works just as good as my ridgid corded one. handiest tool in the tool bag September 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Great addition to the 18v line especially if you got all the attachments from the 12v line like me love the interchangeable heads June 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the 12v's big brother It's obviously going to be a little heavier than the twelve volt, but if you need the tool to last for a while, you oughta opt for one of these. February 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fills perhaps all of your tight quarters tool needs I bought this primarily because I need each of the tools it offers ocassionally but not often. By getting this kit those tools take up minimal space and weight as opposed to their full sized brethren. This comes at a cost though, quiet literally, the heads are expensive, almost as expensive as the dedicated tools. The primary usefulness comes from using it in tight quarters. For data/telecom installers like me, most of these tools will be used in close quarters and so are more useful than a full sized tool. The performance is always less than a dedicated tool, without question. Each head is well made, seems to be some of the best quality in the rigid line. The heads I've used: Multitool: works good but I just don't like multitools in general. I primarily use the sanding head which works excellent. Drastically reduced usefulness when you have to swap blades, the changing process is brutally slow, and uses an allen wrench you are sure to lose. Reciprocating saw: Powerful, short-stroke saw. Works great but is not for heavy use. Don't try to use wood cutting blades, instead use finer toothed blades and it is quiet easy to control. The rapid motion makes the large tooth blades uncontrollable. Right angle drill: Underwhelming and probably needs to be redesigned somehow. It is both slow and underpowered. However, if this is the only drill that fits, you won't care and it is indispensable. Right angle impact driver: Better than the drill/driver, because it overcomes the weak power with it's impact mechanism. I would recommend this head with hex shank bits over the drill/driver head. So you see, these are designed for tight quarters situations, or possibly as backups for full size tools. Because of this, it complements a toolset well by filling a hard to fill niche. Why by a second drill, when this is both a spare and a specialized tool that does jobs a regular drill can't? Plumbers, electricians, data/telecom installers and home DIYers will love it. Construction/demolition workers will like the right angle attachments. Anyone who buys this in lieu of a regular drill or whatever will be disappointed. January 10, 2015
  • 2015-11-22 T11:23:00.009-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_86, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 >>