Model # R862004

Internet #203371437

Store SKU #822217

RIDGID JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
0648846062006

RIDGID

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration
$9900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market with up to 7 attachable heads (not included)

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • Product may vary in store
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$69.97 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
Name 18-Volt ONE+ JobPlus Base with Multi-tool Attachment (Tool-Only) JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) JobMax 4 Amp Multi-Tool with Tool-Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head
Brand Ryobi RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID
Ratings (256) (136) (121) (64)
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20,000 20000 20,000
Batteries Included No No Yes
Reconditioned No No No No
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Corded Cordless
Number of Batteries Included 0 0 1
Voltage (volts) 18 18 12
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Battery Compatibility?

I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
Asked by: CuriousCustomer
Yes
Answered by: REMODELER
Date published: 2016-08-31

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it Thanks and regards.
Asked by: Sugimori
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:" "Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's manual." So it's like a teeny-weeny grinder, or really more a Dremel. The head is only $30 so I bought it but haven't used it yet. There are Youtube videos showing it cutting metal -- small stuff like nails. I'm confident it'll prove useful for delicate tasks. Anything more and you'll need a legit grinder.
Answered by: scribe
Date published: 2016-08-05

Battery clarification

The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
Asked by: Wally
The batteries wiill be a perfect fit.
Answered by: REMODELER
Date published: 2016-08-31

what blades and accessories come with the 18v bare tool

Asked by: JG
sanding pad,halfmoon blade &plunge blade
Answered by: KB
Date published: 2017-05-31
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_, sid_203371437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 136.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use straight from the box, very versatile Easy to use straight from the box, very versatile
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple yet professional I bought this mainly for trimming the bottom of door jambs when installing my laminate, well it exceeded my expectations and where my floors go under my jambs looks amazing. This multi-tool was so handy for trimming off small pieces when doing baseboards and trim around doors. Also great when I had to remove grout from a few cracked tiles. One of my favorite purchases yet.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hello bobhgoski, No this is not a scam it is clearly stated as being a bare tool. Reasons bare to... Hello bobhgoski, No this is not a scam it is clearly stated as being a bare tool. Reasons bare tools are sold and deliberately purchased are the purchaser, from other purchases of these devices already have batteries, a charger, the included accessories. Example, if my JobMax dies I do not have to purchase a full kit I need the bare tool, why I already have all the accessories. The extra cost of purchasing the bare tool, individual battery, charger, is much more than purchasing the all-in-one full kit that will include the aforementioned items and more. Also, it is not the cashier's responsibility to inform us a battery is needed. If there is any question ask the tool department associate. BTW, from Home Depot I have purchased this 18V JobMax, numerous heads, and now giving thought to the 12V as well. The 12V is smaller being able to get into tight locations, and it is lighter; at my age lighter is better. Lately it is rare I use my full size RIDGID 4X 18V drill, and 4X 18V impact driver. With its multiple heads this JobMax does what I need, . Cordially,
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool! Easy to put together and easy to swap out blades as needed for the job. Would highly ... Great tool! Easy to put together and easy to swap out blades as needed for the job. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tool is great. What did I do before I owned one? makes tough details easy! This tool is great. What did I do before I owned one? makes tough details easy!
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YES WORKS VERYGOOD IM HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE YES WORKS VERYGOOD IM HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect . perfect .
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Handy My boss had a corded version of this tool but the ability to move without a cord is a critical aspect of this guy's usefulness. If you do any remodeling, this is a must have.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken Twice I bought this tool on a Saturday. Opened onot Monday and proceeded to cut notches in 5/4x4 cedar. It broke within 25 sec. The motor spooled and the gear case started spitting out plastic. I thought it was a fluke. Took it back and got a new one today. This time it lasted a total of 2 min. This thing is absolute junk.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This quite the tool. I have used it so far for two projects and enjoy how easy it is to change o... This quite the tool. I have used it so far for two projects and enjoy how easy it is to change out heads and how lightweight this tool is. the Variable speed is another feature to this tool and gives me a good start especially when cutting notches. I am looking forward to purchasing the other attachments and expanding the use of this great tool. cant believe it took me this long to get one.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool does not over heat as much as the 12 volt version Because there is less heat ( from the lower amps), one spends less time weighting for this tool to cool down. You will get longer run times out of it than the 12v version . But for heavy use and long cutting times avoid this tool, and get the corded version (which can really hog material away). When the motor heats up you have to let it cool before continuing no one wants to wait for the tool to work - it should always be ready - but you will be waiting for the tool to cool down if you attempt heavy cuts. Otherwise it run great for intermittent cuts. (much better that the 12v version)
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Recently started replacing my Dewalt told that I've been using for about 10 years. Decided to go with Ridgid after reading great reviews and the lifetime warranty was the deal closer. Bought the hammer drill and the circ saw and loved both do I bought the Job Max because I needed to under cut done door frames. I hadn't replaced my DeWalt recip saw yet so I picked up the recip head for this, I've done a couple jobs since then that required a recip saw, I used the Job Max and was surprised, I didn't miss my full sized saw at all. I was planning on buying the recip saw very soon, but after using this in going to wait and buy a couple other things first. I will get to the Gen5 recip eventually, but I don't need it right now, the Job Max had the power I need for now.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great "multipurpose" tool Installed a new laminate floor and needed to cut door molding/jambs. I first was going to buy a Dremel, but when I realized that Ridgid had this available, it was a "no brainer" to keep the same battery system for all my tools. Oh, and the lifetime warranty is a "plus" to boot.
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Multi Tool Rocks Excellent tool - cannot believe I never had one before this.. The interchangeable heads can be a little difficult to change but that ensures their tight fit - so it's worth it.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best multi tool I've ever had This thing is awesome it is portable, powerful and reliable The ability to quick change the heads to a saw drill sheet rock cutter and driver is absolutely most versatile tool I have. The heads are in stock at most home Depot stores but I had to order the hammer on line. Its interchangeable with Roybi (not the battery ) and when I go do a small job like cabinet or closets this is all I need. Keep in mind this is a multitool not intended to be primary tool set it is for small jobs and wont take the place of the full size tools and I'm sure was not intended to do so. The 18v 4.0 battery will last for most any small job. I Used it all day on cabinets and never recharged the battery (battery not included ) I recommend the 4.0 battery, and the charger that comes with any 18v Ridgid product will charge the 4.0. The only thing I would like to see is for Ridgid to include the quick change tool head on this, that came on my corded thru cool 110v jobmax.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool I purchased this tool because my 12 volt version had to go in for repair. I used it to trim rafter tails that where a little low and interfering with soffit install. This tool rocks in small places
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Enough Power I love Ridgid tools. That said, I purchased the 18v model so I could use the detail sander and plunge cut blades to do my hardwood floors. The sander attachment worked great. The plunge cut attachment failed completely. Trying to cut my oak door jambs took forever to cut just one. Any pressure applied, caused the blade to stop vibrating, forcing me to apply very little pressure in order to attempt any progress with cutting. In no time at all, I realized that this type of tool should not be made as a cordless option. Yes, obviously the other attachments may work well, but the main pieces that are sold with this tool are ineffective. I ran to the store and purchased the 3 amp model and it worked absolutely perfect! In almost no time, I cut 7 door jambs and 4 closets. Please understand, I love Ridgid tools. I am just trying to help educate someone who is on the fence with trying to make the decision between the 3 amp and 18 volt models. Thank you for reading this. I hope this helps.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid, flexible, convenient tools Nice addition to my kit. I've got all three consoles now: the 12v, 18v and 4-amp corded "thru cool." I can't tell for sure if the 18v offers much more power over the 12v, but it sounds like it drives the oscillating heads at a different speed (it emits a deeper-sounding hum than the 12v) and it feels like it has more oomph. All three consoles feel great in the hand and they function flawlessly (the corded unit has an even deeper hum), and now I can have two tools going (three if I'm working near an outlet) without swapping heads. The 12v is lighter so I prefer it for precision, like using the rotary cutter head with a Dremel bit. But the 18v is better for heavier work since the batteries last longer (I've got the 4 amp hour batteries from my big tools kit) and, like I said, maybe it offers more power. Big picture: the Jobmax system is versatile and fits in my closet, so I end up using it more frequently than my larger tools, especially for quick tasks. But it's not as powerful as my dedicated tools. Besides convenience and versatility, the other asset of the Jobmax tools is their lighter weight. I'm able to use the Jobmax one-handed, which came in handy (sorry) recently when I used the reciprocating saw head (on both the 12v and 18v consoles) to cut up branches from several trees I had felled with my real recip saw. I had to hold the wrist- and thumb-thick branches with one hand to steady them while wielding the tool with the other hand. I could not have done that with the big recip, which requires two hands to safely operate. (I tried, but the branches just jiggled back and forth.) So I needed both tools for the job, but the Jobmax is more useful for routine pruning, so if I were going to buy one recip, I guess that would be it, and if I were going to buy one console, I'd probably go with the 18v. Bottom line: I enjoy using these tools and now that I have them I think up repairs when in the past I would either have paid someone to do the work or spent all weekend on something that now takes a few hours.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its ridgid glad to have a 18v works just as good as my ridgid corded one. handiest tool in the tool bag
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIYer, or PRO Extradonaire This tool is awesome, and gets the job done. This tool cuts drywall, wood, metal, steel, etc. For those tight places and corners; this is what you need in your tool arsenal. The different heads for this tool are a little pricey, just a heads up. You can't go wrong having this in your shop or on your garage work bench. I strongly suggest going with the 18V 4.0 battery for those big to grueling jobs. Another awesome and stellar tool by Ridgid. Keep 'em coming !!!
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good tool. I've used this tool for the multi tool cutting and jigsaw. It has more than enough power for those features. I've read some reviews regarding lack of power for the sawzall attachment but you should probably use an actual sawzall for something where a sawzall is needed really. I've had great runtimes with both attachments but I am using the 4AH batteries. Using the multi tool takes a little getting used to when making cuts. Now I can make fast plunge cuts in sheet rock, soft woods and hardwoods with ease. You don't really need to apply alot of pressure when cutting. Applying alot of pressure doesn't allow the blade to have space to move and push out the excess dust/wood from your cut. A side note (this isnt a knock against Ridgid but multi tools in general) for someone looking at a multi tool but not sure if they really need it..... the blades are excessively expensive.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, works as expected. This is one of those tools that the 4 amp battery (about 100 Dollars at HD) will work MUCH better with. It is not sold with a battery, if all you have is the kit 1.5 or 2 amp hour batteries, do yourself a favor and get the 4 amp if you intend on doing any hardwood, or want extended sanding, grout grinding, etc capacity. Also, the smaller batteries will overheat, and require time to cool before they charge. This is a tool that takes a light-to-moderate touch, push too hard and it will just stick the blade and vibrate in your hands. But it will reach where no other saw type (I know of) can, where you otherwise would be using a chisel. I've done construction, repair, and remodel for over 35 years, and finally came across a job where this was the only practical tool that could make the cuts I needed (And saved my expensive chisels from nails and screws).
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still better tools for the job. The idea of combining cutoff wheels, drywall saw, PVC cutters etc... into a single tool is nice but the tools meant for these jobs do a much better job. Its very slow to cut any metal or other hard material. The vibration will make you hand numb before you can even cut the head off a screw. It does work well for plunge cutting but it very difficult to control while cutting wood and half circle blades don't go deep enough before the head hits the material you are cutting. The longer blades are not good for cutting harder material and if you try they seem to shake loose from the head. It's still a useful tool. I already had Rigid tools so for $70 its worth putting in the tool bag. The saw attachment works well if you left you sawzall at home.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iTS ABOUT TIME THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT IS MADE This is one of the most useable tools in my tool box! The extra heads are priced right for the DIYers can afford.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Ok, to be fair this was an addition. I have the 12v but run all 18v tools. This basically replaces the 12v and since all Job Max accessories as they are now called fit. I didn't have any issues with the 12v and this is just more life from the same great platform. I've been using this system for years and have most of the attachments. I don't have any regrets.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Scam The product worked ok although I only used it once. The big issue I have with this product is you have to buy the battery and charger separately which cost more than the product itself. Additionally I didn't find out about the need for the battery until I was ready to use it. Would have been helpful if the cashier made me aware of this.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool for Renovation Work I use the oscillating head to cut in tight places. Great for cutting out rotted wood door frame sections. Many other cutting jobs as well. I have 2 oscillating heads. They have a tool-less head now which I may get. Sometimes the heads are hard to remove but they are getting a little easier now with use.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One-tool Multiple Heads - GREAT use of base tool I bought the JobMax multi-tool and the jig-saw head they work great. My son-in-laws who are professional carpenters are a little jealous as the multi-tools they own do not have interchangeable heads. Will have to lock mine up when they are around. Honestly, I definitely like the ability to have one base tool that I can change the head on for multiple purposes. I look forward to many years of use while doing projects for my wife's and my children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable Lasted less than a year. Gears appear to be spinning. Sure it has a lifetime warranty, but by time I drive to drop it off to the repair shop, go home, wait, pick up, the warranty costs me more then purchasing a better quality (Fein) tool.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatility buy this and just add to it,instead of buying a new tool everytime you need something else to be done! Great way to save money,and eco friendly. If you think there's others giving you a lifetime warranty,buy it,but these are for real.
Date published: 2016-10-06
  • y_2017, m_6, d_27, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_136
  • loc_, sid_203371437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 194ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT