Model # R862004

Internet #203371437

Store SKU #822217

RIDGID JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
0648846062006

RIDGID

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration
$99.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market with up to 7 attachable heads (not included)

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • Product may vary in store
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$69.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
Name JobMax 18-Volt Console (Tool Only) JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) JobMax 4 Amp Multi-Tool with Tool-Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head
Brand RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID
Ratings (17) (122) (75) (45)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Corded Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Voltage (volts) 18 18 12
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included No No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 0 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20,000 20000 20,000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

23 Questions46 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

Battery Compatibility?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
June 26, 2016
I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, all RIDGID 18V platform tools and batteries are interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. All of the 18v Ridgid power tools and batteries will interchange.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

June 28, 2016
Answer: 
This will work with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2015
I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it
Thanks and regards.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2016
Answer: 
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's Read More
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's manual."
So it's like a teeny-weeny grinder, or really more a Dremel. The head is only $30 so I bought it but haven't used it yet. There are Youtube videos showing it cutting metal -- small stuff like nails. I'm confident it'll prove useful for delicate tasks. Anything more and you'll need a legit grinder. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 19, 2016
Answer: 
Not a true grinder, but the Rotary head that works with this console takes those little Dremel-sized grinder discs (they're about the diameter of a quarter), so you can cut or grind small amounts of material. You need to use the 1/8 inch diameter mandrels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
No you can't buy a Jobmax grinder head for this tool but HD does sell a cordless 18v grinder which I have and use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
There is not a grinder feature, or add on accessory of that type offered for use with the R862004 console multi-tool.
Regards,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Battery clarification

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Philadelphia PA
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2014
The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
The batteries wiill be a perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Potlatch, ID
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2015
Answer: 
Your R840084 and the AC840084 are discontinued. Both will work, but are a low capacity battery (1amp/hr I believe...not sure on that) This tool will use any 18 volt slide-in Ridgid battery. If you want the best performance and longest run time, look into the 4 amp/hr battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Yes the job max will work with the 18v batteries you have and you'll be glad you bought it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
AC840084 is the accessory model number for RIDGID battery R840084. The JobMax 18V multi-tool #R862004 is compatible with all RIDGID 18V batteries.
Regards,
RIDGID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
You need a Home Depot receipt for the lifetime warranty.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
home
Read all my Q&A
February 2, 2015
Answer: 
Your best bet is to contact Ridgid with your question. You should be able to find the number on the package that your tool arrived in.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
RIDGID does not offer the LSA on items purchased from Amazon. If purchased from an online vendor like Amazon, it will have just a 1 year warranty with the receipt.
Regards,
RIDGID
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T16:25:15.774-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 122.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One-tool Multiple Heads - GREAT use of base tool I bought the JobMax multi-tool and the jig-saw head they work great. My son-in-laws who are professional carpenters are a little jealous as the multi-tools they own do not have interchangeable heads. Will have to lock mine up when they are around. Honestly, I definitely like the ability to have one base tool that I can change the head on for multiple purposes. I look forward to many years of use while doing projects for my wife's and my children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from makes jobs quicker Have found it a handy tool to bring along on jobs. The versatility with different uses saves me time findning the right tools. Making a straight on cut saves so much time when doing remodeling. The jig saw head is powerful and quick.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good window work tool A good tool for misc old house window renovation work. It's great when you need to free up painted shut sash parts--easier than an old fashioned window zipper. Not as fast as dedicated tools, but it certainly does the job. Good battery life.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value all around I have the console and all but two heads. It's used every day, it's very convenient for most jobs I do and has good battery life and a great warranty.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A handy tool The tool is very convenient to have.No cord. No tool required to change accessories
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this JobMax!!! I love this tool and plan to purchase all of the attachments!!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fills perhaps all of your tight quarters tool needs I bought this primarily because I need each of the tools it offers ocassionally but not often. By getting this kit those tools take up minimal space and weight as opposed to their full sized brethren. This comes at a cost though, quiet literally, the heads are expensive, almost as expensive as the dedicated tools. The primary usefulness comes from using it in tight quarters. For data/telecom installers like me, most of these tools will be used in close quarters and so are more useful than a full sized tool. The performance is always less than a dedicated tool, without question. Each head is well made, seems to be some of the best quality in the rigid line. The heads I've used: Multitool: works good but I just don't like multitools in general. I primarily use the sanding head which works excellent. Drastically reduced usefulness when you have to swap blades, the changing process is brutally slow, and uses an allen wrench you are sure to lose. Reciprocating saw: Powerful, short-stroke saw. Works great but is not for heavy use. Don't try to use wood cutting blades, instead use finer toothed blades and it is quiet easy to control. The rapid motion makes the large tooth blades uncontrollable. Right angle drill: Underwhelming and probably needs to be redesigned somehow. It is both slow and underpowered. However, if this is the only drill that fits, you won't care and it is indispensable. Right angle impact driver: Better than the drill/driver, because it overcomes the weak power with it's impact mechanism. I would recommend this head with hex shank bits over the drill/driver head. So you see, these are designed for tight quarters situations, or possibly as backups for full size tools. Because of this, it complements a toolset well by filling a hard to fill niche. Why by a second drill, when this is both a spare and a specialized tool that does jobs a regular drill can't? Plumbers, electricians, data/telecom installers and home DIYers will love it. Construction/demolition workers will like the right angle attachments. Anyone who buys this in lieu of a regular drill or whatever will be disappointed.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multiple use tool that you can't live without This tool has saved me a few different times. I have used this to cut copper pipes in tight spaces that I couldn't get a pipe cutter on. I have cut door trim lay tile in my bathroom. I have used this to remove grout in a shower. I even cut a hunk out of a 2x4 (in a nonloadbearing wall) to make room for a new shower valve. This thing, like all other Rigid tools I have used, can take a licking and keep on ticking. Look for the combo pack of cutting heads around Christmas to save some money.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of my most used and favorite tools in my tool shed. use it all the time love the reversibility and interchangeable heads. one of my favorites.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The additional power from the 18 volt battery is great. The tool should be available without the multi head. I own the complete Jobmax system, but have multiple muti heads because that is the only way to purchase some of the tools. This is a very good system and offers a good value and quality.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right Tools, right power 18v x4 able to give you the best power it should be, I only use the jigsaw head with a 2 by 4 wood, seems good product but I am not sure can I change the blade for light metal cutting? Need to try.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18V JobMax I use the X-4 18v 3AH battery. The tool is well balanced. The tool is quiet and has minimal vibration when used. The LED on switch is awkward as when you grip the trigger you will initiate the LED light. This may be designed like that on purpose. There is no "off" for the LED light as it times out to off in about ten seconds whether you use the LED switch or run the tool with the trigger. Let the tool do the work! if you force the cut, the motor may get hot and shut down. After a cool down period the tool will work perfectly again without any problems. I cut up an old water softener ..the fiberglass bead tank and exterior tank. I used up two blades to cut the fiberglass tank. Over all battery usage was about 1 full charged battery and about 1/3 charge of a second battery. I am very satisfied with the 18V JobMax and wish it sold in Home Depot stores as it's hit or miss on the Home Depot website. tank Martin
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this tool to replace my Dremel which died too early. I found that as a cordless model it has surprising power. Very easy to use, great for trim work. I really like the variable speed as well.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising Power I've used this tool a few times now and have been pleasantly surprised by its power. I've used a metal cutting blade and the performance was good. As it states you need to not push hard and let the tool do the work. Battery makes it convenient to use without having the hassle of cords.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from residential electrians last saw I do alot of custom service and honestly the jobmax series has made alot of difficult tasks quite simple the plunge cutter goes through stick (with the right blade) and the sawsall is a dream lightweight easy to control and compact enough to go through tight atics and crawl spaces
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know how i lived without this! This tool makes so many jobs easier I don't know where to start, cutting nails, scraping old glue sanding corners, finishing cuts other saw can't finish because of there size or room.. I could go on but wont, just saying this is a great too!l. Plus I don't have any of the many attachment head you can use on this too but soon I hope to have the jigsaw head.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tool ever made JobMax came free in the combo pack when I bought it from homedepot, works great and fast, never had any problem with it, all of my contractor friends like it . Definitely recommend it .
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool I was in need of a multi-tool for use in remodeling our home, cutting the door stops so I could get the new flooring to fit around the door jam. A recent fire in my rental property made it necessary to purchase battery operated tools, so why mix brands. The Jobmax Console Multi-tool provided me what I needed in my house as well as the ability to purchase other heads. One additional project I have come up with for its use is in modifying a tool chest, building an insert to hold all of my Ridgid tools to eliminate damage when having to take them from my home to a rental property.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another awsome Ridgid product Very good tool. I also have the 12v version. This 18v version is really well balanced and ergonomic.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rigid Bonus buy I got a Dewalt drill driver for XMas. I traded this in for a RIGID package that also included a radio. I had enough left to get this Multi tool also. I have used them all a bunch. I love them all. The Lifetime battery warranty makes this a totally sweet deal.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Been putting off buying this tool for a few years and I don't know how I ever got along without it. Awesome tool, easy on the batteries, lightweight. Included straight cut blade is a little subpar as far as durability but it's a great tool.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the 12v's big brother It's obviously going to be a little heavier than the twelve volt, but if you need the tool to last for a while, you oughta opt for one of these.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from JOB MAX SYSTEM BE CAREFUL WITH THE LIFE TIME GUARANTE.. I PURCHASED THE SECOND JOB MAX HEAD WHICH FAILED TWICE AND RIDGID NEVER HONOURED THIS LIFE TIME GUARANTE
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Jobmax Sent item back because I could not register it. The serial number was wrong on the unit. I called Ridgid and they said it was my problem
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excelent addition to your Ridgid 18volt arsenal. I bought this tool cause I own a Ridgid impact driver and a Drill. The tool performs great. I used it remove some sections of crown moldings and also to.cut some aluminum pieces. I was able to make perfect cuts in the molding and the aluminum. I also bought this tool because I am planing to buy the jigsaw and the impact tool attachments. I will say that the most attractive part of this tool is its versatility.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multi use is a plus for battery or electric combo I purchased the 18v system because I own the drill/hammer drill combo and wanted a 1 battery source. I loved it so much I purchased the other jig saw, saws all, multi tool and side mount drill. the great thing about this is if you are in a bind and need electric power you can switch it to the corded model as well which has come in handy a few times when batteries were not powered up.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jobmax 18v much better than the craftsman it is replacing. The craftsman batteries would vibrate loose and fall out, Does not happen with jobmax. I assume that other tools with batteries like the craftsman would be subject to the same problem, Jobmax sandpaper attachment is not worth using. Sandpaper slides off the pad with even a little pressure, and you cannot utilize the entire piece of sandpaper. If you remove sandpaper to readjust position, it will not stick again.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best version of this type of tool i've tried and the best warrenty ever.. I'm a contractor and I use a lot of tools this is the best version of a multi tool I've tried. it is durable, light a uses a standard battery and has a lifetime warranty. Saving the best for last it has a truly functional belt hook,
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great versatile tool. The Jobmax is one my favorite tools I own. It is so versatile with all the different heads. Plenty of power with the 18v batteries, I use this tool on almost every job. Must have for any contractor or do-it-yourself-or.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy I find this much easier for use. no cards to worry about, the only complaint I have is having to keep an allen key to change the blade.otherwise it is a good piece of as tool. much less expensive thean the Fenhl brand.
Date published: 2014-11-24
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_122
  • loc_, sid_203371437, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT