Model # R862004

Internet #203371437

Store SKU #822217

RIDGID JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
0648846062006

RIDGID

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration
$99.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market with up to 7 attachable heads (not included)

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • Product may vary in store
  • Click Here to Register Your Product

    Test Item

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$69.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$99.00 /each
Was $119.00
$99.00 /each
Save $20.00 (17%)
Name JobMax 18-Volt Console (Tool Only) JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only) JobMax 4 Amp Multi-Tool with Tool-Free Head JobMax 12-Volt Multi-Tool with Tool Free Head
Brand RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID RIDGID
Ratings (14) (121) (58) (43)
Cordless/ Corded Cordless Cordless Corded Cordless
Power Tool Features Attachments Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed Attachments Included,Bag Included,Variable Speed
Voltage (volts) 18 18 12
Reconditioned No No No No
Batteries Included No No Yes
Number of Batteries Included 0 0 1
Oscillations Per Minute (OPM) 20,000 20000
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

23 Questions46 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

Battery Compatibility?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
June 26, 2016
I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
Yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, all RIDGID 18V platform tools and batteries are interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. All of the 18v Ridgid power tools and batteries will interchange.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

June 28, 2016
Answer: 
This will work with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2015
I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it
Thanks and regards.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 29, 2016
Answer: 
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's Read More
OK, not a real grinder, but here is the description of the rotary cutter head that you can purchase as a separate attachment (http://thd.co/1ZghR1u); note the words "cut-off" and "grinding:"
"Includes: rotary cutter head, 1/8 in. collet, 1/8 in. drywall cutter bit, 1/8 in. shank cut-off wheel mandrel, 10 cut-off wheels, 3 reinforced cut-off wheels, 1/8 in. shank grinding stone, operator's manual."
So it's like a teeny-weeny grinder, or really more a Dremel. The head is only $30 so I bought it but haven't used it yet. There are Youtube videos showing it cutting metal -- small stuff like nails. I'm confident it'll prove useful for delicate tasks. Anything more and you'll need a legit grinder. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 19, 2016
Answer: 
Not a true grinder, but the Rotary head that works with this console takes those little Dremel-sized grinder discs (they're about the diameter of a quarter), so you can cut or grind small amounts of material. You need to use the 1/8 inch diameter mandrels.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
No you can't buy a Jobmax grinder head for this tool but HD does sell a cordless 18v grinder which I have and use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
There is not a grinder feature, or add on accessory of that type offered for use with the R862004 console multi-tool.
Regards,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
4 answers

Battery clarification

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Philadelphia PA
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2014
The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Garner, NC
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2016
Answer: 
The batteries wiill be a perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Potlatch, ID
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2015
Answer: 
Your R840084 and the AC840084 are discontinued. Both will work, but are a low capacity battery (1amp/hr I believe...not sure on that) This tool will use any 18 volt slide-in Ridgid battery. If you want the best performance and longest run time, look into the 4 amp/hr battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Yes the job max will work with the 18v batteries you have and you'll be glad you bought it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
AC840084 is the accessory model number for RIDGID battery R840084. The JobMax 18V multi-tool #R862004 is compatible with all RIDGID 18V batteries.
Regards,
RIDGID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
You need a Home Depot receipt for the lifetime warranty.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
home
Read all my Q&A
February 2, 2015
Answer: 
Your best bet is to contact Ridgid with your question. You should be able to find the number on the package that your tool arrived in.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
RIDGID does not offer the LSA on items purchased from Amazon. If purchased from an online vendor like Amazon, it will have just a 1 year warranty with the receipt.
Regards,
RIDGID
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T16:25:15.774-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 329ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and versatile tool This is an easy to use tool that is a must for all general contractors. Good choice of different heads makes it very desirable. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the feel of it. Use it for almost everything. Got all the attactments (well almost), Good for cutting small trees down, Lilac bush trimming, and the like. Will stay with RIDGID from now on. Don November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good and durable Use this all the time when at jobs. It's a handy tool to use for multiple things. I've dropped it so many times. Takes a lickin and keeps on tickin. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tool in my bag. Use this tool almost daily. Use it to cut out rotten door frames. Love it! November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product Easy to use, Parts are easily interchangeable and made from solid materials. Exactly what I have come to expect from Ridgid tools. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Performance The JobMax is a must tool in any professional's/handyman's tool box. The tool has out performed my expectations in cutting hard to get at areas. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by iTS ABOUT TIME THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT IS MADE This is one of the most useable tools in my tool box! The extra heads are priced right for the DIYers can afford. November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best version of this type of tool i've tried and the best warrenty ever.. I'm a contractor and I use a lot of tools this is the best version of a multi tool I've tried. it is durable, light a uses a standard battery and has a lifetime warranty. Saving the best for last it has a truly functional belt hook, August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Jobmax 18v much better than the craftsman it is replacing. The craftsman batteries would vibrate loose and fall out, Does not happen with jobmax. I assume that other tools with batteries like the craftsman would be subject to the same problem, Jobmax sandpaper attachment is not worth using. Sandpaper slides off the pad with even a little pressure, and you cannot utilize the entire piece of sandpaper. If you remove sandpaper to readjust position, it will not stick again. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool for tight spaces Goes through drywall with a breeze. I bought this tool to cut galvanized pipe inside a wall to remove it without damaging the other side of the wall. It was a little slow cutting through the pipe but it did the job I needed it to do. It is fairly well balanced with the battery on the tool. I will be buying other heads for this tool to get more use out of it. February 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18V Powerful and versatile cutting machine! I bought this tool to use for body repair of my car. I needed a powerful tool to cutout spot weld spots and this one did it really well. I never had any issues with power even as I was cutting thru welded steel which didn't surprise me since I also own the complete X4 system. The size of the job max was just right to feel solid in my hand yet able to be used in tight areas. The icing on the cake with the jobmax and most Ridgid products is the excellent warranty that back up these great tools. My only gripe with this tool is that I hope they come out with more of a variety of blades in the future such as a flat scraper. It's price is comparable with other brands but a price reduction is always welcomed. I look forward to completing my X4 collection with adding the different attachment heads in the future February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Multi-purpose Really love using this tool. Never thought I would have an interest but bought the four piece combo kit and this came with. It's been one of my favorites. The only thing that I don't like so much is that it can be a little bit hard on your hand and wrist for long time use. For sanding it can be fatiguing but not terribly bad. The multi-speed trigger is very useful as it gives complete control. I have used this a lot and really enjoy its versatility. March 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very happy I had purchased the 18v drill and driver prior. all fit in same carry bag. Draw back is there is no place to keep allen wrench with the tool, and can be lost. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good solid performer Bought it specifically to use with the grout remover blade, but can also see many other uses for cutting in areas too small to reach. An added benefit is that the tool came with the same 18v battery as my drill. That means there is an extra battery around when doing large jobs. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's a freek'n light saber! (for sheet rock) What a useful tool! Oh I was debating whether or not to purchase this. I thought it was going to be one of those fun-but-not-too-useful tools. WRONG. Easily my most used tool for a remodel and drywall. Just the reciprocating saw is worth the cost. It's like owning a pickup for the first time and realizing all the things you can do with it.... Oh hey I can knock a little clearance gap in that 2x4...Oh I can just buzz through some sheet rock. Each time I use it for something new I think, "well that earned it's keep". It cuts sheet rock so effortlessly that it's hard to hold a straight line -- like a light saber (I found that scrap lumber as a straight edge helps a lot). My love fest above may be common for any oscillating saw type tool. Obviously I haven't ever used one before. Specific to the 18volt Jobmax? I already had a 18v Ridgid drill so this was a less expensive way to get the cordless version. It does seem at first a bit long with the big battery but I haven't ever really noticed this in the way. I quickly learned that the nut has to be on quite tight. No play allowed in the coupling to the blade or you're going nowhere. This too is likely common to other saws. ** Note HD has this listed as"(tool only)" same as another product that consists of the power plant only. This model does include the reciprocating saw head as pictured. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I've been waiting for! I own an installation company and use RIDGID tools primarily. I had the 12V version of this tool and it was my least favorite because the batteries would drain too quickly compared to the 18V tools. Also it required it's own separate charger. I had been hoping RIDGID would come out with an 18V version and here it is. I love it! Even using the X4 high-capacity battery the tool is well balanced. It has great power and is now one of my most used tools. Unlike some competitive models, the battery mounts parallel to the tool so it's very streamlined. This new tool also comes with a belt hook that the 12V model didn't have. The only improvement I would suggest to RIDGID would be to offer this tool without the multi-tool head. That way you could purchase the head that you would use the most. Overall an excellent improvement over the 12V JobMax. November 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I like everything about it! This is a great tool. It fits in your hand well, does what it purports to and the life time guarantee is a plus. I've bought Ridgid tools over the last couple of years and found them to be priced right, dependable, thoughtful in their design and they perform well. I'm a woodworking retiree and this suits my purposes. If you wanted one to go all day, you might opt for the electric one rather than the cordless. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great multi-tool Had another multi-tool fail on a job, plus it really wasn't up to what I needed, but it "worked". I purchased this unit and the add-ons that I needed and once the batteries were charged up I was glad I did. Did the job easy to use, but it did not come with a storage bag like the power corded one did, disappointed about that March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great addition to your RIDGID tool collection This is a great tool to use with your RIDGID drill/impact driver batteries. I've only used it a few times to cut lots of drywall and baseboard but it cut through them like butter! Beats a drywall razor blade cutter or saw by light years. I'm sure I'll find lots of other uses for it. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Built Tough This product does everything they say it does. What a well built tool. Like all of the other RIDGID tools I own, this one is rock solid and gets the job done. Unfortunately they only sell the 18v cordless online and they are continually running out so I had to wait a while but it was well worth it. This is the tool you use when you can’t use anything else or when you have made a mistake. This thing is the “fix” to most craftsman bungles. November 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing tool, amazing brand This tool makes jobs around the house much much much simpler sand quicker. Use the carbide cutting blade to cut throughout plaster and lathe like a hot knife through butter. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Utility Used the impact head to remove a John Deere trans at the shop then switched out to the cutter head later in the day to remove some laminate floor, great utility. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of my best purchases yet Light weight, easy to use. This tool comes in handy so many times it unbelievable. Even if its not designed for it, It will do its best and impress you every time. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Enough Power I love Ridgid tools. That said, I purchased the 18v model so I could use the detail sander and plunge cut blades to do my hardwood floors. The sander attachment worked great. The plunge cut attachment failed completely. Trying to cut my oak door jambs took forever to cut just one. Any pressure applied, caused the blade to stop vibrating, forcing me to apply very little pressure in order to attempt any progress with cutting. In no time at all, I realized that this type of tool should not be made as a cordless option. Yes, obviously the other attachments may work well, but the main pieces that are sold with this tool are ineffective. I ran to the store and purchased the 3 amp model and it worked absolutely perfect! In almost no time, I cut 7 door jambs and 4 closets. Please understand, I love Ridgid tools. I am just trying to help educate someone who is on the fence with trying to make the decision between the 3 amp and 18 volt models. Thank you for reading this. I hope this helps. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool, did the job I needed it for. Well built, and uses the 18volt batteries I have for my Rigid drill. Like the convenience. It had to really work to cut off the grounding rod I couldn't remove from the ground. Although I'm not sure if I had the right metal cutting blade, it seemed a little light duty for the job. I can see that with all the accessories it will tackle a lot of jobs around the house. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18V JobMax I use the X-4 18v 3AH battery. The tool is well balanced. The tool is quiet and has minimal vibration when used. The LED on switch is awkward as when you grip the trigger you will initiate the LED light. This may be designed like that on purpose. There is no "off" for the LED light as it times out to off in about ten seconds whether you use the LED switch or run the tool with the trigger. Let the tool do the work! if you force the cut, the motor may get hot and shut down. After a cool down period the tool will work perfectly again without any problems. I cut up an old water softener ..the fiberglass bead tank and exterior tank. I used up two blades to cut the fiberglass tank. Over all battery usage was about 1 full charged battery and about 1/3 charge of a second battery. I am very satisfied with the 18V JobMax and wish it sold in Home Depot stores as it's hit or miss on the Home Depot website. tank Martin September 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't know how I lived so long with out this tool! This is one of those tools you put off buying, then when you do buy it you are so happy you did. April 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Weak motor I bought this base to use the recip. saw attachment but the motor shut down after about ten min. The motor on this thing looks the same as the 12 volt base which is okay for the flush cut saw, unless you are using it to cut glazing around a piece of tempered glass. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tool ever made JobMax came free in the combo pack when I bought it from homedepot, works great and fast, never had any problem with it, all of my contractor friends like it . Definitely recommend it . February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value Great value, with a wide variety of accessories. Comfortable grip, equally suited for both right and left hand users. April 1, 2014
  • 2016-10-31 T16:28:12.145-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_117, tr_117
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 133ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT