0648846062006

RIDGID

Model # R862004

Internet # 203371437

Store SKU # 822217

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

$99.00 /each
  • Belt hook can be affixed to either side of device
  • Operator control maximized with micro-texture Hex Grip surface
  • Free lifetime service with RIDGID product registration

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rigid Hero
Feature 1

18-Volt JobMax power handle, universal adapter, sanding and cutting accessories, and belt clip

Feature 2

Most versatile tool system on the market

Feature 3

4 adjustable head positions for tight spaces

Specification Icon


VOLTAGE

______________________________

18 VOLTS

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

20,000 opm

Specification Icon


BATTERY PLATFORM

______________________________

rigid 18v

LI-ION

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 year

OR LSA

Free Shipping To Home or Store

ON POWER TOOL AND ACCESSORY ORDERS OVER $45

Overexertion is a non-factor for JobMax users; that's because this 18-Volt cordless multi-tool works best with just lightly-applied pressure. The oscillating action on this machine allows operators to cut, scrape, sand and gouge with a multitude of attachments that integrate with the included universal adapter. Take the burden out of household chores and handyman tasks with this compact tool delivering up to 20,000 RPM via the variable-speed trigger. It will make you wonder why you didn't have one sooner.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Includes: (1) 18-Volt JobMax power handle, (1) universal adapter and (1) belt clip
  • Narrow profile and four adjustable head positions enable access to hard-to-reach spaces
  • Compatible with all JobMax attachments and all RIDGID 18-Volt batteries (sold separately)
  • Quick-release latch allows tool-free JobMax head changes (other heads sold separately)
  • Built-in LED light controlled by separate switch
  • Batteries and charger sold separately, this item works with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093)
  • CLICK HERE TO REGISTER YOUR RIDGID PRODUCT.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
11.77 
Product Height (in.) 
4.250 
Product Width (in.) 
3.543 

Details

Amperage (amps) 
Batteries Included 
No 
Battery Amp Hours 
0.0 
Battery Power Type 
Lithium Ion 
Case Included 
No 
Charger Included 
No 
Chuck Capacity 
0 in 
Chuck Type 
Keyed 
Color Family 
Orange 
Cordless Tool Type 
Rotary Tool 
Cordless/ Corded 
Cordless 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
20000 
Number of Batteries Included 
Power Tool Features 
Attachments Included 
Power Tool Product Type 
Cordless 
Product Weight (lb.) 
2.73 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Yes 
Voltage (volts) 
18 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
3 Year Warranty. Lifetime Service Agreement with registration. Free Parts. Free Service. For Life. 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

22 Questions39 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Battery Compatibility?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
June 26, 2016
I'm looking at the GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece), and I'd like to add an oscillating tool like this to my tool bag.....are the batteries that come with the Gen5X combo kit compatible with this tool?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
July 11, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, all RIDGID 18V platform tools and batteries are interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2016
Answer: 
Thank you for contacting RIDGID. All of the 18v Ridgid power tools and batteries will interchange.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

June 28, 2016
Answer: 
This will work with these batteries (AC840083, AC840085, AC840084 and AC46182) and chargers (AC470013 and AC840093).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Does this JobMax work as grinder?

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 22, 2015
I would like to know if this tool could work as a grinder and which accessories I have to use to do it
Thanks and regards.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 19, 2016
Answer: 
Not a true grinder, but the Rotary head that works with this console takes those little Dremel-sized grinder discs (they're about the diameter of a quarter), so you can cut or grind small amounts of material. You need to use the 1/8 inch diameter mandrels.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tucson AZ
Read all my Q&A
December 19, 2015
Answer: 
No you can't buy a Jobmax grinder head for this tool but HD does sell a cordless 18v grinder which I have and use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2015
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
There is not a grinder feature, or add on accessory of that type offered for use with the R862004 console multi-tool.
Regards,
RIDGID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Battery clarification

This question is from JobMax 18-Volt Console Multi-Tool (Tool-Only)
Asked by
Philadelphia PA
Read all my Q&A
November 15, 2014
The specs state the tool is compatible with battery AC840084 (among others). Is this the same as battery R840084?? If not, is the R840084 battery compatible with this tool? I have the Li-ion drill / impact driver with these batteries and would love to add the multi-tool to my arsenal!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Potlatch, ID
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2015
Answer: 
Your R840084 and the AC840084 are discontinued. Both will work, but are a low capacity battery (1amp/hr I believe...not sure on that) This tool will use any 18 volt slide-in Ridgid battery. If you want the best performance and longest run time, look into the 4 amp/hr battery.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
Yes the job max will work with the 18v batteries you have and you'll be glad you bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
AC840084 is the accessory model number for RIDGID battery R840084. The JobMax 18V multi-tool #R862004 is compatible with all RIDGID 18V batteries.
Regards,
RIDGID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Citrus county, Florida
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2015
Answer: 
You need a Home Depot receipt for the lifetime warranty.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
home
Read all my Q&A
February 2, 2015
Answer: 
Your best bet is to contact Ridgid with your question. You should be able to find the number on the package that your tool arrived in.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
RIDGID does not offer the LSA on items purchased from Amazon. If purchased from an online vendor like Amazon, it will have just a 1 year warranty with the receipt.
Regards,
RIDGID
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-07-23 T14:25:23.674-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 39ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great addition to your RIDGID tool collection This is a great tool to use with your RIDGID drill/impact driver batteries. I've only used it a few times to cut lots of drywall and baseboard but it cut through them like butter! Beats a drywall razor blade cutter or saw by light years. I'm sure I'll find lots of other uses for it. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by iTS ABOUT TIME THIS TYPE OF PRODUCT IS MADE This is one of the most useable tools in my tool box! The extra heads are priced right for the DIYers can afford. November 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool for tight spaces Goes through drywall with a breeze. I bought this tool to cut galvanized pipe inside a wall to remove it without damaging the other side of the wall. It was a little slow cutting through the pipe but it did the job I needed it to do. It is fairly well balanced with the battery on the tool. I will be buying other heads for this tool to get more use out of it. February 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Jobmax 18v much better than the craftsman it is replacing. The craftsman batteries would vibrate loose and fall out, Does not happen with jobmax. I assume that other tools with batteries like the craftsman would be subject to the same problem, Jobmax sandpaper attachment is not worth using. Sandpaper slides off the pad with even a little pressure, and you cannot utilize the entire piece of sandpaper. If you remove sandpaper to readjust position, it will not stick again. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great multi-tool Had another multi-tool fail on a job, plus it really wasn't up to what I needed, but it "worked". I purchased this unit and the add-ons that I needed and once the batteries were charged up I was glad I did. Did the job easy to use, but it did not come with a storage bag like the power corded one did, disappointed about that March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18V Powerful and versatile cutting machine! I bought this tool to use for body repair of my car. I needed a powerful tool to cutout spot weld spots and this one did it really well. I never had any issues with power even as I was cutting thru welded steel which didn't surprise me since I also own the complete X4 system. The size of the job max was just right to feel solid in my hand yet able to be used in tight areas. The icing on the cake with the jobmax and most Ridgid products is the excellent warranty that back up these great tools. My only gripe with this tool is that I hope they come out with more of a variety of blades in the future such as a flat scraper. It's price is comparable with other brands but a price reduction is always welcomed. I look forward to completing my X4 collection with adding the different attachment heads in the future February 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of my best purchases yet Light weight, easy to use. This tool comes in handy so many times it unbelievable. Even if its not designed for it, It will do its best and impress you every time. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Multi-purpose Really love using this tool. Never thought I would have an interest but bought the four piece combo kit and this came with. It's been one of my favorites. The only thing that I don't like so much is that it can be a little bit hard on your hand and wrist for long time use. For sanding it can be fatiguing but not terribly bad. The multi-speed trigger is very useful as it gives complete control. I have used this a lot and really enjoy its versatility. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I like everything about it! This is a great tool. It fits in your hand well, does what it purports to and the life time guarantee is a plus. I've bought Ridgid tools over the last couple of years and found them to be priced right, dependable, thoughtful in their design and they perform well. I'm a woodworking retiree and this suits my purposes. If you wanted one to go all day, you might opt for the electric one rather than the cordless. February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I've been waiting for! I own an installation company and use RIDGID tools primarily. I had the 12V version of this tool and it was my least favorite because the batteries would drain too quickly compared to the 18V tools. Also it required it's own separate charger. I had been hoping RIDGID would come out with an 18V version and here it is. I love it! Even using the X4 high-capacity battery the tool is well balanced. It has great power and is now one of my most used tools. Unlike some competitive models, the battery mounts parallel to the tool so it's very streamlined. This new tool also comes with a belt hook that the 12V model didn't have. The only improvement I would suggest to RIDGID would be to offer this tool without the multi-tool head. That way you could purchase the head that you would use the most. Overall an excellent improvement over the 12V JobMax. November 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Enough Power I love Ridgid tools. That said, I purchased the 18v model so I could use the detail sander and plunge cut blades to do my hardwood floors. The sander attachment worked great. The plunge cut attachment failed completely. Trying to cut my oak door jambs took forever to cut just one. Any pressure applied, caused the blade to stop vibrating, forcing me to apply very little pressure in order to attempt any progress with cutting. In no time at all, I realized that this type of tool should not be made as a cordless option. Yes, obviously the other attachments may work well, but the main pieces that are sold with this tool are ineffective. I ran to the store and purchased the 3 amp model and it worked absolutely perfect! In almost no time, I cut 7 door jambs and 4 closets. Please understand, I love Ridgid tools. I am just trying to help educate someone who is on the fence with trying to make the decision between the 3 amp and 18 volt models. Thank you for reading this. I hope this helps. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Built Tough This product does everything they say it does. What a well built tool. Like all of the other RIDGID tools I own, this one is rock solid and gets the job done. Unfortunately they only sell the 18v cordless online and they are continually running out so I had to wait a while but it was well worth it. This is the tool you use when you can’t use anything else or when you have made a mistake. This thing is the “fix” to most craftsman bungles. November 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Don't know how I lived so long with out this tool! This is one of those tools you put off buying, then when you do buy it you are so happy you did. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great tool, did the job I needed it for. Well built, and uses the 18volt batteries I have for my Rigid drill. Like the convenience. It had to really work to cut off the grounding rod I couldn't remove from the ground. Although I'm not sure if I had the right metal cutting blade, it seemed a little light duty for the job. I can see that with all the accessories it will tackle a lot of jobs around the house. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value Great value, with a wide variety of accessories. Comfortable grip, equally suited for both right and left hand users. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18V JobMax I use the X-4 18v 3AH battery. The tool is well balanced. The tool is quiet and has minimal vibration when used. The LED on switch is awkward as when you grip the trigger you will initiate the LED light. This may be designed like that on purpose. There is no "off" for the LED light as it times out to off in about ten seconds whether you use the LED switch or run the tool with the trigger. Let the tool do the work! if you force the cut, the motor may get hot and shut down. After a cool down period the tool will work perfectly again without any problems. I cut up an old water softener ..the fiberglass bead tank and exterior tank. I used up two blades to cut the fiberglass tank. Over all battery usage was about 1 full charged battery and about 1/3 charge of a second battery. I am very satisfied with the 18V JobMax and wish it sold in Home Depot stores as it's hit or miss on the Home Depot website. tank Martin September 13, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Weak motor I bought this base to use the recip. saw attachment but the motor shut down after about ten min. The motor on this thing looks the same as the 12 volt base which is okay for the flush cut saw, unless you are using it to cut glazing around a piece of tempered glass. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best tool ever made JobMax came free in the combo pack when I bought it from homedepot, works great and fast, never had any problem with it, all of my contractor friends like it . Definitely recommend it . February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by runs long on a charge. Runs long a charge, little noisy and loosens up with use. Blades need to be a little larger 2cut through a2x4. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The additional power from the 18 volt battery is great. The tool should be available without the multi head. I own the complete Jobmax system, but have multiple muti heads because that is the only way to purchase some of the tools. This is a very good system and offers a good value and quality. September 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remember When There Were Chisels! Up here in Northern Ontario Canada my early years in shop class we mastered the finery of using chisels for precise workmanship! My shop teacher at Lakeway High School, Mr Punch was a stickler for detail and that chisel work he laid on us was nothing short of a miracle. Needless to say I toiled all these years at door jams etc with one or several till I spied this tool up. While in the store I just stood in awe at the possibilities this wonder could perform with the various attachments which only sweetened it's usefulness. Regardless I bagged one, assaulted some jams and the results had me puzzled. What had me the most was how it could have taken this long to devise the perfect tool in both hand to feel and it's actual working state. The design and cut are seamless as are the power and control. In a nutshell this tool is priceless to have in anyone's arsenal. Just tonight again I had to enter the back of a wall where I had to cut out a light switch box hole only from the rear. To add to the task the wall was sheet rocked over paneling and the box location was in the top most corner hindered by obstacles and your normal it'll take 2 seconds kind of stuff! After I wedged myself up into location I fired up this tool with the standard blade attached and in 1 minute I was done. Enough said...it's worth every penny! April 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18 volt jobmax, tool only The tool was everything it was advertised to be. Having the ability to use 18 volt batteries instead of having two different voltage batteries to charge and maintain. Highly praise this new tool, home or worksite. April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bang for the buck I already had an 18v drill/impact combo, so purchasing this without a battery/charger was not a problem at this great price. I use the sander/cut tool attachment as well as the recip head which makes quick work of small jobs. March 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the multi use Job Max is a well built, versatile, tool. The jig saw head is good for small use jobs but not for everyday use. I use it often and find the extended life batteries are absolutely the only way to go. February 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by JOB MAX SYSTEM BE CAREFUL WITH THE LIFE TIME GUARANTE.. I PURCHASED THE SECOND JOB MAX HEAD WHICH FAILED TWICE AND RIDGID NEVER HONOURED THIS LIFE TIME GUARANTE March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent tool! Great Versatility! Would buy again. I love the fact that this one tool is so versatile. There are mutlple heads that can be purchases separately so you get several tools in one. It is lightweight and easy to manipulate and use. November 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Right Tools, right power 18v x4 able to give you the best power it should be, I only use the jigsaw head with a 2 by 4 wood, seems good product but I am not sure can I change the blade for light metal cutting? Need to try. October 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good tool and versatile wish there was a combo pact on the heads Product is good The warranty process is a bit weird as u have to register it online and then send three pieces of paperwork so they can give u the warranty February 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best muilt-tool ive used Tool has a long run time, and fast recharge time. great when there no outlets near. would be nice if it came in a kit. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great features. I bought the 18 volt to got with my combo kit. It was a good move. Everything right where I need it. Works great. November 20, 2012
  • 2016-07-27 T14:28:57.794-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_203371437, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT