Model # 41348

Internet #203203829

Store SKU #264587

RIDGID Kwik-Spin
0095691413482

RIDGID

Kwik-Spin

  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation - avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable - trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

21 Questions88 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Kwik-Spin
Kwik-Spin

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
10 answers

How durable is this product? I have bought less expensive ones and there junk ! will this product stay together?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2013
On my third one now hope this one does the trick!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (10)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 3, 2016
Answer: 
It may work for one use. I just bought this auger and it cleared the blockage in the tub, but it would not recoil by turning the auger counter-clockwise. I pulled it out, and spent 45 minutes trying to get the auger to wind the coil back, getting pinched and whipped periodically. Conclusion: this is junk, but cheaper than calling a plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
pittsburgh
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
it works very well ,I work in apt. complex opened 3 drains so far.can go right through top of bathroom sink after pulling plunger out and putting ball rod back in.dont use with drain cleaner,youll damage it.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
I would have this on my plumbing truck if I was still doing plumbing.
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It will stay together but does not negotiate some angles in pipes (as I discovered). If you have angles in your pipes, I recommend using one powered by a drill. They cost a little more but are well worth the expense.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

March 25, 2014
Answer: 
This is the first one I purchase, and looks to be well constructed, however, it's usefulness is limited by the clomsy handling of the mechanism.
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
FL
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2014
Answer: 
It may stay together but it also will not work.
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
The item seems very durable - the only issue I had was the coil would fold back on itself when attempting to negotiate a tight corner or bend in the drain. It is ,of course, not nearly as stiff as one a plumber might have.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
it works for small jobs, but large jobs, sped the money for an electric one.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
I have use on one project. Extended us,e however. I did not use the turning handle but used it with my hands and worked well. I would not recommend for heavy duty use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2013
Answer: 
This tool should last a number of years provided that it is used for the purpose in which it was designed for. The Kwik-spin is intended primarily for residential, non-commercial appliations. This tool should handle a number of drain problems that one would encounter in the home such as bathtub, lavatory and kitchen sink back-ups.
Thank you RIDGID
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
9 answers

Can this be used on a bathroom sink? Is the head small enough to go thru the sink opening?If not,please recommend one that will.

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Harold
January 13, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (9)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
As a retired master plumber from Texas, I can tell you that I wished I had one of these on my service truck, instead of the junk I had. A plumbers trick with any cable, is to place a small bend in the head end of the cable. This helps make the turns easier and causes a whipping action at the head instead of just a straight bore, so the cable scrapes the pipe better, for better cleaning.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
This cable would not fit the sink trap for me so I removed the P-Trap under the sink and entered the cable where the drain exits the wall.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Saco, ME
Read all my Q&A
August 3, 2013
Answer: 
without the sink stopper removed, the head will not fit through
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2013
Answer: 
It probably won't fit through the drain, the only thing that will would be a plastic Zip-It. If you remove the P-trap it will do great and you'll get the bulk of the clog in one shot rather than working it over and over.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Honolulu, HI, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2013
Answer: 
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent Read More
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent pipe. If you still can't reach the clog, go onto your roof, locate the proper vent pipe and use this tool from that location. The snake will have no resistance until it either hits the clog or encounters the 90-degree elbow of the drainpipe. Once you feel resistance just squeeze the trigger while rotating the handle. You'll feel the snake advancing when the tip travels through the clog or elbow. GOOD LUCK! Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, the head is small enough to fit into a bathroom sink drain. I used mine very successfully on the shower drain which is much bigger. I think the head is about 1/2 inch in diameter. You should go to your local Home Depot and take a look at the size of the snake in person.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2013
Answer: 
This would work for bathroom & kitchen sinks, as well as the shower drain.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Schenectady, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2013
Answer: 
If your sink has an integrated plug, probably not. You need a minimum 1/2" opening for the cable ball (end) to fit. If your sink has something at the (sink/drain) connection to keep big items from falling into the drain, you may be able to wind the ball through and use this item as the cable is only 1/4".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
It depends on the size of the sink and in most cases the trap will need to be removed.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
8 answers

How long is the cable?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
October 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Firestone, CO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 1, 2016
Answer: 
25 feet, but the actual length it extends could be less as the coil will likely curl in the pipe once the coil meets resistance, making the actual extended working length 20 feet or even less (just a guestimate).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Apple Valley
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 25, 2016
Answer: 
It's 25 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
The ones I have seen have 25 ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Baltimore, MD
Read all my Q&A
June 8, 2015
Answer: 
35' is claimed, but i've never measured it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Diego
Read all my Q&A
February 28, 2015
Answer: 
25ft
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2015
Answer: 
It is not full 25feet. There is a stopper towards the end and the usable cable length is probably a feet or two less than 25feet
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 11, 2014
Answer: 
25 foot
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
The cable is 25 ft. long.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The clog is blackish and brownish and it clogging my drain toward the bottom of the pipe in the basement and I need something to unclog it the chemicals didn't work .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
It will depend on what the stoppage is, and how far away you are trying to reach it from. Also, unstopping from downstream in a basement......get ready to be wet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It may. If there are angles in the pipes, this may not negotiate the turns (as I discovered). If you have many turns, buy one that is powered by a drill.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2014
Answer: 
No, your basement drain is most likely 4" or larger, this is beeter suited for sink or shower/tube drains. Call a Professional.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
semo
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I would think so,but sounds like it could be messy doing this way.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose,CA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I don't think this opener can work for tough clog.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, this device will work in any direction just keep forward pressure on the cable/spring coil as you feed it into the pipe.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2014
Answer: 
Let me say it this way, Nothing beats a FAILER but a try!!! I had no problem with it but I guess all work with this is a very slow process. Good luck with it...
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T01:05:10.115-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 81ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Kwik-Spin is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 271.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets it done with some elbow grease Got the job done. Had to snake the 2 inch pipe a few times in order to get some flow back. Eventually completely cleared the drain but I had to run water every few feet as I retracted it to flush away what it loosened up. It's a little off balance as you crank it unless you use the grip to push it up against the pipe or sink opening. It's a simple, down and dirty type of tool. All composite construction with the exception of the snake line and the ball bearings to guide it. Easy to clean.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great. When my washer machine started backing up into my laundry tub or the draining of the kitchen sink on the main floor and it backs up in the laundry tub, I knew something was wrong. Upon using my old drain snake nothing happened. Upon purchasing this product and using it my drain got unplugged with ease and no more water backing up in the laundry tub. I wold definitely recommend this product as it works.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for the average woman I think I'm in good physical shape but, apparently, you need a lot of upper arm strength for this gadget. You have to squeeze the trigger handle with your left hand in order to lock in the cable & spin with the right hand. It was very difficult....the cable kept tangling up in itself. Perhaps for a man. I woke up with achiness in both arms. Did not work for me.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product worked for me. I had a backup in my outside floor drain. I used the snake to pull ou... This product worked for me. I had a backup in my outside floor drain. I used the snake to pull out three stones that caused the backup. It took me a while to figure how to use the red lock switch. You press in slightly for it to lock. You have to spin it for a while to push out the snake 25 feet. It faster to pull the snake back by hand into the housing.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kinda sorta works I've always purchased Rigid products and have had good luck with all of them, but this kinda sorta worked at times. Had to pull the cable out to where the clog was and then lock it down to get it to work. Thinking about giving it to a friend for Christmas. Hope he doesn't hate me for to long.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Should have bought the automatic one After researching on line I thought I was going to be able to tackle some "clogs" myself with this tool. Not the case. If getting this tool opt for the "automatic" type. Spend a little more money on the better tool and you will save by not having to call a plumber in the long run.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. Gets the job done. I used this drain snake to clear a clog in my bathtub. It did exactly what I needed it to do. It seems like the feeders could grab a little better and wears out your forearms after a while of use, but I'm sure it's designed that way for a reason. I would buy it again.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rigid Quick Spin sewer clean out Using "Quick" in its name is deceiving. On the contrary, It is too difficult & slow to wind back in after use. You need the grip of a professional tennis player to engage rewind mechanism. I prefer "snake" without "spin" mechanism.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent household snake The self feed feature really takes the effort out of unclogging the drain. Very nice that in reverse, you can turn the water on and clean the cable without touching it. The best household snake I have purchased.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got the job done but.... The product got the job done, but I could not get the auger to retract back into the drum. I had to push it back by hand which for me defeats the purpose of its clean hand operation.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Love the product. After spinning a few times and liquid plumber, everything is cleared. I would consider getting the electric version next time to speed things up.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridgid Kwik-spin The snake is to flimsy, you can't get any pressure on the snake to help push it through the drain and around any 90 degree bends. I will not buy this again.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for the arsenal I had a clogged bathroom sink that I poured everything down in an attempt to unclog. It finally went away when I used this. Very easy to use.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not to happy I purchased this 1 hour ago and it fed out and won't go back in so I can't even utilize it. So Home Depot will be seeing me in the morning.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Used it on my kitchen sink after it got backed up past the big bends in the pipe. Cleared the drain in 5 minutes with this.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing purchase. Took a long time to get out 6 ft, which was insufficient to do anything w... Disappointing purchase. Took a long time to get out 6 ft, which was insufficient to do anything with the clog. Do not buy.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It did not work the best but looked to be the best on the shelfs. I was off balanced when trying... It did not work the best but looked to be the best on the shelfs. I was off balanced when trying to use it above head.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price Easy to use and gets the job done fast. Recommend everyone have one of these and save the cost of calling a plumber.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Directions The directions are small and do not explain it very well. When you turn the handle, it doesn't feed out.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the work I bought it to unclog my rental property shower drain. It took out the hairs without any problem.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Snake in the grass Snake broke off the reel the first time I used it. There is no visible way to reattach it.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to turn. The feed feature is very handy but the trigger is a little hard to hold in. Easy to turn. The feed feature is very handy but the trigger is a little hard to hold in.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This item was a disappointment. The autofeed did not work and trigger pin broke. This item was a disappointment. The autofeed did not work and trigger pin broke.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kwik spin This Item was used only once on a cloged pipe, and it worked the first time.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, glad I broke my old one. This one is much better. Well made, glad I broke my old one. This one is much better.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works as I had hoped. Simple and easy. Can't beat the price.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Poor
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthwhile but a bit problematic Used the Kwik-Spin to successfully clear a very clogged shower drain. Two comments: 1) The autofeed trigger lock can be difficult to engage or disengage. Practice extending and retracting get the feel of the crank, the trigger and lock before attempting to clean a drain. 2) Do not pull the cable out from the drain - be sure to reverse wind to retract the cable. You may get away with pulling (versus retracting) a foot or so of the cable. Pulling the cable out without winding will result in a tangled, splattering, gooey mess of cable. You do not need to wipe the cable during retrieval. Just rinse the cable well in the housing then let it dry in open air.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best 75$ snake there is., What is great is that it only costs 30$. Fair online reviews are tough to write and difficult to evaluate. Here is my attempt: This product is a spring, in a plastic bowl, with a handle and a knob. Its purpose in life is to clear a soft blockage, in a residential environment, within 20' of a drain, in a pipe less than 1.5 inches in diameter, requiring not more than 360 degrees of bending. It requires ~ 1 hour of your time, and 30$. It will exceed this expectation. For me, it was the difference between a bathroom being usable on a sunday night (less than 24 hours after the drain became clogged, or all that is involved in having a plumber do the job. I would still have to be there while they did the work, so my time is involved. I would also have to pay them for the visit. You can not blame the tool, 'chinese junk' is usually 'I wanted 25$ in value for 10$ in cash.' This tool provides value greater than its price.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price and does the job! Just picked this up today after drain cleaners couldn't stop the clog in my shower. Standing in puddles is no fun. Stuck the auger down the drain and kept unwinding. Because the clog was a clump of hair I didn't know when I hit. I eventually wound it back in and low and behold a nasty black clump of gooey hair came with it. I'm very thankful for the easy and inexpensive job. Much more eco friendly than chemicals and more effective. I'd also like to add that the unit is bigger than I expected. I thought it would be palm size but its double that. If anything this makes it more strong and sturdy.
Date published: 2013-04-01
  • y_2017, m_1, d_15, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_271
  • loc_, sid_203203829, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT