Free Shipping and BOPIS
Discontinued

RIDGID

Model # 41348

Internet # 203203829

Store SKU # 264587

Kwik-Spin

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$29.97 /each
  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 41348

Internet # 203203829

Store SKU # 264587

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation – avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable – trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: Product may vary by store.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
7.5 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
9 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
12.5 in 
Cable Thickness (in.) 
0.25 
Cable Width (in.) 
0.25 
Cable length (ft.) 
25 
Details
Cable Construction 
Inner Core 
Drill Attachable 
No 
Drum/Housing Material 
Plastic 
Handle Included 
Yes 
Maintenance, Repair & Supplies Product Type 
Drain Openers & Chemicals 
Manual / Powered 
Manual 
Max Recommended Drain Size 
1.5 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Weight (lb) 
3.85 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
Limited Lifetime Warranty 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved myself a service call and lots of money!!!!! I had a slow draining tub and bathroom sink and this tool did the trick. I had tried the hotwater and baking soda trick and other supposedly environmentally safe products but non did the trick. Because we are on a septic, I didn't want to use any of the harsher drain clog products so I decided to use this. Boy was I surprised at how easy it was to use and clean up afterwards. I'd read reviews where other users had to look up how to use this on youtube but the directions on mine were pretty simple. It also looks nothing like the picture above. They are now grey in color but still the same old dependable Rigid product. I pulled out some nasty globs of dog hair from my tub (previous owners) and cleaned out our bathroom sink with ease. I had so much fun using this that I decided to do the ensuite shower also. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing! I pretty much have the same opinion as other reviewers. This product saved us a lot of money. For us it was a two-man job: one person feeding the snake and the other spinning the wheel when we hit a sharp turn or a blockage. The triumph of fixing your own plumbing issue for $40 is the best feeling! March 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great price and does the job! Just picked this up today after drain cleaners couldn't stop the clog in my shower. Standing in puddles is no fun. Stuck the auger down the drain and kept unwinding. Because the clog was a clump of hair I didn't know when I hit. I eventually wound it back in and low and behold a nasty black clump of gooey hair came with it. I'm very thankful for the easy and inexpensive job. Much more eco friendly than chemicals and more effective. I'd also like to add that the unit is bigger than I expected. I thought it would be palm size but its double that. If anything this makes it more strong and sturdy. April 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent drain auger for the price Unfortunately, what I thought was a clog, was a full septic tank - whoops! You live, you learn. As for the auger though, it worked as expected. This kind works really easily to extend, you just turn the handle, and out it goes, spinning all the way. It pulls back easy. Then the less fun part of cleaning (if you're going to) and feeding it back into the drum is still pretty easy. Unfortunately, some of the line was a little rusted, the first time I pulled it out. Makes you wonder if it had been used... yuck! Don't even want to go there. February 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worthwhile but a bit problematic Used the Kwik-Spin to successfully clear a very clogged shower drain. Two comments: 1) The autofeed trigger lock can be difficult to engage or disengage. Practice extending and retracting get the feel of the crank, the trigger and lock before attempting to clean a drain. 2) Do not pull the cable out from the drain - be sure to reverse wind to retract the cable. You may get away with pulling (versus retracting) a foot or so of the cable. Pulling the cable out without winding will result in a tangled, splattering, gooey mess of cable. You do not need to wipe the cable during retrieval. Just rinse the cable well in the housing then let it dry in open air. December 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by FRUSTRATING DESIGN Spinning out is OK, but when you try and recoil it it just spins and never rewinds. Somehow I've had 2 of these and both of them were JUNK!!! August 27, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cleared my sink line! Was very easy to use and of general good quality. I used it for a kitchen sink drain and it cleared first try. August 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved me $100s! Awesome, easy to use product! I've had a clogged tub on and off for over a year. I've pour so many chemicals down the drain it's ridiculous! No telling how much money I've wasted over the year. I refused to call a plumber and get stuck with a $200 bill, so I've learned to deal with the slow drain. Well, it happened again, tub completely clogged up and I was stuck standing in 2 inches of water. yuk! Did a little online research and found this bad boy. 1 run of the snake and the water drained! Did one more run just for good measure and I was done! Took all of maybe 15 minutes! Product is build well and worked flawlessly. Love the fact that you don't have to actually touch the snake if you don't want to. No need to wear gloves. Bottom line is this product was easy to use, it worked, and best of all saved me $100s! At $30 you can't go wrong! October 16, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by simply a toy this tool received very little use cleaning a patio drain 2 or 3 times. drive mechanism separated. they would not return at store and its not worth the cost to ship it to Rigid. I will simply go buy a real one. February 6, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great product!!! This drain auger worked very well, the only drawback I found was the body, handle and trigger were plastic. July 21, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Doesnt retract as expected Product looks good and functions at least for its intended purpose. What I do not like is that it is supposed to power reel back into the kwik-spin by pulling the trigger and winding counterclockwise. This worked for a time or two but no longer. Now it brings it in but when the trigger is released the cable comes back out and does not stay in the housing. It does though work well to clear the obstruction. If it were to retract correctly it would get an Excellent in all categories. June 30, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice to have around for quick fix. Light and easy to handle when your under a sink. Flexible enough to go through pop up instead of taking apart trap. July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WORKED AWESOMELY!! Cleaned our shower drain blockage from a buildup that occurred over 16 plus years. I am a 130 lb female, and if I was able to use this successfully without any problems, anyone can use it. Use rubber gloves (I used four pairs during this operation), because what you will be pulling out, you will not want to touch, and have a knife handy to cut through the hair. Having an assistant to hold the trash bag or provide you with a second pair of clean hands when needed is very helpful. The snake worked like a charm. I put about one foot of extended coil into the drain and then started turning. After about 100 turns, I pulled the snake slowly out and brought the first part of the blockage with it. Cut through it with the knife, cleaned the snake, rewound it, and went back for round two. After about 125 turns, I pulled the snake out again (do not rewind it), and brought out the second part of the blockage, cut it with the knife, cleaned the snake, rewound it, and went back for round three. This time I unwound it about 200 turns. Did not seem to hit any resistance, so I pulled it out again, and it was clean. Used toilet cleaner with a brush to clean the snake on the floor of the shower, rinsed it and dried it off, and then my husband hosed it down with WD40 and left it to dry overnight. Definitely try this reasonably priced snake before calling the plumber. Normally we always call the experts, but this time I wanted to try this myself first, and even though it took a bit of time, it was time and money well spent. Drain runs beautifully now!! :-) March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by worth every penny It's always a good idea to keep a drain snake around expecially if you have long haired people in your house. My tub drain had a total clog. It had been draining slow for months. Tried plunging the drain to no avail. I found this cheap snake, ordered it on the Web and picked it up after work. Be careful and cut the directions off of the product where it shows or you will lose some valuable instructions for a novice with a plumbing snake. I knew how to use this already so I went to town and got a huge clog out within 3 minutes. My tub drains better than when I purchased the home last year. Save yourself a ton of money and keep one of these handy! April 21, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not expect much The plumbing snake was about what i expected. This is definitely a lower end product, meant for a simple task. I was able to make use of the product, but the instructions are somewhat confusing. I am not sure how the crank was supposed to work. It does eventually spin enough to feed the snake into the storage chamber. However, the tripod bearings do not help much. June 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does what it says and does it well After a year in my house, the tub drain suddenly stopped up completely. Plunging did nothing. A web search for "clogged tub drain" took me to some articles, then led me to the Home Depot site to look at augers. The reviews sold me on trying the Kwik-Spin. It was easy to use, and on the first try I went deep and brought out a giant, long clump of hair (not mine). A took a picture of the hair clump still attached to the tip of the Kwik-Spin. I'm a believer! March 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It does the job Once you get the hang of it, this item works pretty well. The amount of revolutions required to advance the cable a mere 10' is probably in the hundreds, and it is best if you have plenty of time on your hands before starting a job. The hardest part about this tool is understanding that you have to turn the crank S-L-O-W-L-Y; otherwise, the tip will not bore into the clogged area, and instead will flop around while you keep feeding cable into the pipe. Turn the crank slowly - SLOWLY - and when you think you have hit a clog, pull back a foot or so and then turn the crank even slower. Let the tip work its way through the clog. Once you understand how it works, you'll be glad you bought it. The cable rusts if you don't oil it, and the locking mechanism is not especially robust, but it's a good tool for the money. June 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Removed unique clog from bathtub drain pipe I bought and used this auger to successfully remove a hair clog from my bathtub drain pipe. The bathtub was still draining but had gradually become extremely slow to drain. The removed clog was somewhat unique. It was attached to the end of a foreign metal object existing in the pipe just past the P trap bend. I suspect a previous remodel and installation of a new bath tub resulted in this metal object falling down the overflow pipe from a removed drain lever assembly. Surprisingly the auger was able to screw through the hollow diameter of the metal object in the pipe and continue past to penetrate the hair clog behind it. The whole clog mess including the metal object was quickly pulled up and out of the overflow pipe, attached to the cable. I followed the product directions, accessing the drain through the bathtub overflow pipe. The directions seemed adequate, but my experience involved some additional finesse. Holding the unit really close to the drain opening seems to work best. Specifically I held the unit right against the overflow pipe opening. This was much closer than the pictures showed in the directions. When working the cable through the blockage, I did not completely rely on the AUTOFEED lock to hold tension on the cable. It tended to become disengaged rather easily. Instead, I additionally maintained pressure on the trigger as it was being worked through the blockage and during the entire time the cable was in the drain. The cable worked through (screwed into) the clog as I turned the drum. Every time I turned the drum, if at any time it wanted to turn the opposite direction, I DID NOT continue turning it. I think this is what the directions meant by NOT forcing the cable. Instead, while still holding pressure on the trigger, I turned the drum ONCE, holding in place so it did not turn back, and moved the unit back and forth a couple inches (to move the cable in the drain back and forth) until the drum did not try reverse direction on its' own any more. I kept repeating this process as I advanced the cable through the pipe. If I would continue to turn the drum while it tried to reverse on its' own, then the cable tension built up inside the drum and eventually buckled and twisted the cable inside the drum. I then had to feed the cable out and back into the drum to fix it, which made the whole process take longer than necessary and may have damaged the cable had I not corrected my technique. Once the cable stopped meeting resistance as I advanced it, I pulled the cable by hand from the drain overfill pipe and removed the attached clog! Overall, this auger worked very well. I made sure to rinse and dry off the cable as much as possible before retracting it and storing it, like the directions advised. The cable is steel and it really does want to rust if left exposed to water and air. Some may not care to try to prevent this. January 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Useful product Our bathroom sink is not draining the water but with use of kwik-spin the problem was solve in an instant. It clears the clog by reaching to the farthest part of the pipe that it can stretch out. Really happy with the result and I'm glad I purchased this tool. June 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spin it out!!! I didn't really want to buy this, but I couldn't find the other one I bought from Home Depot. Works as expected, it's sturdy and made out of metal so it's much better than the plastic ones. June 18, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible to use, does not function as advertised Trigger lock failed to function properly & cable failed to deploy or retract even when holding the trigger. All of the feeding into the pipe, retraction and then recoiling it into the tool had to be done manually. I have a cheap manual snake that works better. Don't waste your $ June 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It solved the problem! The clog was at the sink, but sink was fine since the water just backed up to the tub. Bought this tool, based on its good reviews. After feeding the wire for some distance, it was stopped, probably hit a bend. I thought it may not be able to move forward, but didn't want to give up. Just kept trying, feeding it harder. It took me a while to pass that bend. After that, it went in smoothly until I heard the sound of water draining from the tub. What a beautiful sound! I think the trick might be holding the tool close to the pipe as much as possible. I really like the AUTOFEED feature which is really convenient. Highly recommended. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did the trick for a toilet clog Did the trick for an overloaded toilet that didnt want to plunge. Directions were easy enough, not sure what others are complaining about. Pull the trigger, push the button and rotate clockwise to extend, counter clockwise to retract. Takes a lot of rotation to get it to feed, but maybe that was a good thing. I have used powered ones before that a plumber friend let me use and it did make for a quicker job. The slightly more expensive version that you connect a drill to, may have been a better choice. For the money though i guess you cant go wrong. March 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HIghly Effective and Economical This may not be a magic bullet but it's close. I used it to clean out a totally blocked bathroom sink drain line in the wall that lots of chemicals and other (shorter) mechanical methods didn't clear. I fed the Kwik-Spin in from the drain in the P-trap rather than from the top of the sink. Be prepared to spend a bit of time doing this because the feed rate is pretty slow. On the other hand, it navigated all the twists and turns in the in-wall plumbing and totally cleaned out the drain. For $25, you really can't beat it. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clogged Bathtub/Sink Line Solved! I had a bathtub backing up and it had been a slow drain for a while but finally clogged and would take 4-6 hours to go down. I tried to use a wire fish tape but no luck. I could not get the wire past 3' because it had barely any flexibility vs this tool. I got mad and looked online and saw this for $30. I took it home and ran it 4' then pulled it out with no hair/gunk. Tried again about 8' and I finally got something on the end of it. So I went 10' down my pipes about 4 separate times and after the first two good size wads of hair/trash I ran hot water down the drain and it's draining great now! Way cheaper than a plumbing bill! 9' down the drain and no issues with this tool. I went through the stopper access as the drain hole was too small. Say hello to my Christmas presents for everyone this year! I'm a first time homeowner/do it yourselfer. It's not hard to use. May 11, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't work! Just before dinner on Saturday night I noticed both sides of the kitchen sink were not draining. As if I didn't have enough to do! I removed the elbow under the sink and saw and felt a lot of junk and knew the blockage was between the sink and the bathroom 15 feet away. I tried to force some water with a hose but that came back. I saw this product online and needed it right then and there so I checked it Home Depot had any. I spoke to one of the employees on the floor and he gave me a little advice but he said he would call a pro. Should have taken his advice, This product is made in Mexico and it is of poor quality. When I spun about a foot out in the store all seemed well. When I tried it at home, I got about four feet and then it started to get tangled. That trigger with the orange button did not work very well. I finally unscrewed the four screws and got to the end and tried to wind it back in and it did not work. The same guy at Home Depot said they would not take it back because of what the product is used for and Ridgid has a Full Life Warranty stamp on it. I am not taking more time and money to ship this back to maybe get a refund of just the price. I paid a guy $187 this morning to snake the pipe with a professional snake on a Sunday. Should have listened to the floor employee. Lesson learned at the school of hard knocks! May 17, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I am so mad I followed the directions on the inside of the wrapper. Extended the snake down the overflow in the tub. I could not rewind the snake. I had to pull the snake out by hand, and it took several attempts to get it to stay inside the crank. This resulted in a mess. I probably got the 1 in 100 that didn't work, but that still means a lot of people out there are going to end up with a mess. Good luck. January 15, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Finicky and Ineffective Trigger lock is difficult to get it in proper posititon . It hangs up and refuses to disengage at times. I have had to manually pull the cable out of the device in order to advance the cable, especially when in a tight area where the cable had to go up before it leveled out into the main horizontal pipe.Cable twisted around itself in many tight loops requiring me to untwist it by hand. It was covered in what appeared to be mud, or rust and it got me and my bathroom floor and cabinets filthy. In summary this is a finicky, inconsistent, cheaply made item which has gone in the garbage after only using it twice. Very disappointed in something purchased from Home Depot, a store that is usually pretty reliable. March 16, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Performed reasonably well to accomplish goal. Although I did not accomplish the total goal I was hoping for, the device did effect a reasonable improvement in water flow after I used it on my sink drain. I have also poured an enzymatic solution down the drain as an adjunct to the procedure of the Kwik Spin. Hopefully, this will bring about the drainage flow I am expecting. January 18, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not the best Almost impossible to hold turn and feed with one person January 26, 2015
  • 2015-08-29T11:37:18.858-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_167, tr_167
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>