Model # 41348

Internet #203203829

Store SKU #264587

RIDGID Kwik-Spin
0095691413482

RIDGID

Kwik-Spin

  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation - avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable - trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How durable is this product? I have bought less expensive ones and there junk ! will this product stay together?

On my third one now hope this one does the trick!
Asked by: buckeyefan0812
It may work for one use. I just bought this auger and it cleared the blockage in the tub, but it would not recoil by turning the auger counter-clockwise. I pulled it out, and spent 45 minutes trying to get the auger to wind the coil back, getting pinched and whipped periodically. Conclusion: this is junk, but cheaper than calling a plumber.
Answered by: Junkbuyer
Date published: 2016-11-25

How long is the cable?

Asked by: Youhou
25 feet long
Answered by: Bubba
Date published: 2017-01-17

Can this be used on a bathroom sink? Is the head small enough to go thru the sink opening?If not,please recommend one that will.

Asked by: Anonymous
As a retired master plumber from Texas, I can tell you that I wished I had one of these on my service truck, instead of the junk I had. A plumbers trick with any cable, is to place a small bend in the head end of the cable. This helps make the turns easier and causes a whipping action at the head instead of just a straight bore, so the cable scrapes the pipe better, for better cleaning.
Answered by: plumbsng
Date published: 2016-10-04

Can this be used in any drain or for kitchen , basic household plumbing.

When water from kitchen sink run it ends up on basement floor, someone told me that the pipe is stopped up. Wanted to know if this Ridgid Kwik Spin can be used for kitchen drain.
Asked by: Anonymous
If you disconnect the trap and enter from that point it is perfect for kitchen sinks. Not good for toilets it will leave metal streaks on the china surface. Use a toilet snake.
Answered by: ErPA
Date published: 2016-12-09
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_, sid_203203829, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 35ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Kwik-Spin is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 291.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Snake in the grass Snake broke off the reel the first time I used it. There is no visible way to reattach it.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to turn. The feed feature is very handy but the trigger is a little hard to hold in. Easy to turn. The feed feature is very handy but the trigger is a little hard to hold in.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kwik spin This Item was used only once on a cloged pipe, and it worked the first time.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the second time I used it. Won't extend or retract. Garbage. Broke the second time I used it. Won't extend or retract. Garbage.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, glad I broke my old one. This one is much better. Well made, glad I broke my old one. This one is much better.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Works as I had hoped. Simple and easy. Can't beat the price.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very cumbersome to use and didn't really work at all.... Very cumbersome to use and didn't really work at all.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is worthless This product is worthless
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Poor
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No, it did not. I cranked and cranked thinking that the router was going down the drain, but it ... No, it did not. I cranked and cranked thinking that the router was going down the drain, but it had only gone out about three feet. I took it out of the drain and tried to get it to go out farther while I cranked some more, but it would not extend any further. I cranked the 3 feet back into the housing and tried again, but it stopped at about 3 feet again. Another thing, the handy lock button that is supposed to make it so you don't have to constantly squeeze the trigger kept popping back out (unlocking) about every 15-20 cranks or so... very annoying. Also, where the instructions say to get the router as close to drain as possible when operating, be aware that the little bearings that spin and drive the router out and in will scratch the heck out of the chrome flange of your drain. Last thing, when I went to return it to Home Depot after this one unsuccessful use (about two days after it was delivered), Home Depot said they do not take returns on these because they may have come in contact with "waste". So if you have a broken one like I did (the Home Depot employee who was called over to look at it could not get it to work either), according to their policy, you can not return it once it has been used. Buyer beware!! PS: I went with the Rigid brand because I have had a great deal of success with many of their other products, so do not view this review as representing all Rigid/Home Depot products.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthwhile but a bit problematic Used the Kwik-Spin to successfully clear a very clogged shower drain. Two comments: 1) The autofeed trigger lock can be difficult to engage or disengage. Practice extending and retracting get the feel of the crank, the trigger and lock before attempting to clean a drain. 2) Do not pull the cable out from the drain - be sure to reverse wind to retract the cable. You may get away with pulling (versus retracting) a foot or so of the cable. Pulling the cable out without winding will result in a tangled, splattering, gooey mess of cable. You do not need to wipe the cable during retrieval. Just rinse the cable well in the housing then let it dry in open air.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best 75$ snake there is., What is great is that it only costs 30$. Fair online reviews are tough to write and difficult to evaluate. Here is my attempt: This product is a spring, in a plastic bowl, with a handle and a knob. Its purpose in life is to clear a soft blockage, in a residential environment, within 20' of a drain, in a pipe less than 1.5 inches in diameter, requiring not more than 360 degrees of bending. It requires ~ 1 hour of your time, and 30$. It will exceed this expectation. For me, it was the difference between a bathroom being usable on a sunday night (less than 24 hours after the drain became clogged, or all that is involved in having a plumber do the job. I would still have to be there while they did the work, so my time is involved. I would also have to pay them for the visit. You can not blame the tool, 'chinese junk' is usually 'I wanted 25$ in value for 10$ in cash.' This tool provides value greater than its price.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price and does the job! Just picked this up today after drain cleaners couldn't stop the clog in my shower. Standing in puddles is no fun. Stuck the auger down the drain and kept unwinding. Because the clog was a clump of hair I didn't know when I hit. I eventually wound it back in and low and behold a nasty black clump of gooey hair came with it. I'm very thankful for the easy and inexpensive job. Much more eco friendly than chemicals and more effective. I'd also like to add that the unit is bigger than I expected. I thought it would be palm size but its double that. If anything this makes it more strong and sturdy.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built and thought out design Well built and thought out design of a snake for the home drains. Durable enough and feed design is a double feed design in my opinion. You have the spiral action and the forward feed of pushing the cable into the pipe as you rotate the handle. The bearings add support and forward thrust. Like all snakes made of metal the waste material and water cause a rust reaction on the snake very quickly. But spraying ahead of time with WD-40 gave a seal and repellant for the water. I believe this has found a home with my tool selections and will be used again in the future. Good product in my opinion. Home owner and over 40 years in design of machinery and development so my dollars or spent on items which make the grade.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drain cleaner/clearer Saw this item in Home Depot. Recommended by a plumbing savvy fellow customer. He was right! It worked great to clear the clog and for the price, much cheaper than calling a plumber. Now we have it for the future. Only drawback is there rewind feature is not that good, but you can feed the snake back into the chamber by hand. Recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved me $100s! Awesome, easy to use product! I've had a clogged tub on and off for over a year. I've pour so many chemicals down the drain it's ridiculous! No telling how much money I've wasted over the year. I refused to call a plumber and get stuck with a $200 bill, so I've learned to deal with the slow drain. Well, it happened again, tub completely clogged up and I was stuck standing in 2 inches of water. yuk! Did a little online research and found this bad boy. 1 run of the snake and the water drained! Did one more run just for good measure and I was done! Took all of maybe 15 minutes! Product is build well and worked flawlessly. Love the fact that you don't have to actually touch the snake if you don't want to. No need to wear gloves. Bottom line is this product was easy to use, it worked, and best of all saved me $100s! At $30 you can't go wrong!
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Good! I tried using this to unclog my bathtub which was completely clogged. I attempted to run it past the blockage point for about 1 hour, but it would not go past that point. The stop lever on the handle did not stay engaged, so the snake kept releasing when I turned the handle. This was not worth the effort.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear Pipes FTW! The pipe below my utility sink was nearly clogged with lint (it took over an hour for water to drain from a load of laundry), and I was dreading having to pay a plumber to snake it. A guy at my local Home Depot recommended this to me (as well as some lint traps to prevent future clogs). It definitely took some patience to clear the clog… a few passes back and forth, cleaning tangled up lint off the end of the snake, and flushing with hot water. It also took me a minute to understand what the red "kwik lock" button was doing, and I kept knocking it out of place with my thumb, but I got there. When I got partial flow going again, I plunged the drain, and I think that dislodged the last bits. Nothing beats seeing that whirlpool! For $30, it's a no brainer. To my fellow lady homeowners, this took light-to-moderate elbow grease… my hands got tired from gripping the handle, but it was easy otherwise. I expected to have to work harder to turn it when I got to the clog, but slow and steady worked best.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from plumbers snake Very difficult to use. The locking system would not work so it would not engage. No instructions came with the unit. Very discouraging when your basement is flooding
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from don't waste your time Your going to have to spin, spin, spin 1000 times around. The wire comes out and in at such a slow rate your arm will fall off before you go 20 feet
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kwik-spin snake the drain line the washing machine hose empties into was blocked. This unclogged it on first try.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got the job done! Fast and easy to use. Unclogged my hairy drain. Very happy with it.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Does What It's Designed to Do I plunged a blockage beyond the sink trap and thought all was well until I did a load of laundry. The blockage just moved beyond the sinks' traps lower in the stack and when the washer emptied,it emptied onto the laundry room floor and backed up into the sinks,one of which has a garbage disposal. In order,I tried plunging it again,using generic Liquid Plumber,and removing, cleaning the traps(the traps were clean.),and checking the washer line(which was clean also.) Not wanting to pay a plumber until I had to,I went to Home Depot and bought this tool. Having already removed the traps,I got access to the lowest line I could without cutting into a wall. In about twenty feet,it broke up what I suspect was a chicken grease-coffee grounds-egg shell ball,pulled the line back and forth a few times,removed the snake,spun it back into the tool,and reassembled everything. It did not pull out the obstruction but it broke it into smaller pieces so that by blocking one side of the double sink,the plunger moved the broken up pieces to the lowest pipe. I did a load of laundry and the dishes and all is well. But read the product description and don't ask it to do something it is not designed to do. No more often that I will use this,I did not spring for the version you can advance with an electric drill. But it did what it was designed to do.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problem with two different units I hesitate to give a poor review on a product so many have rated highly; but, I have had two different issues, one with each of two different units. The first unit showed considerable rust a few days after first use - although, it did function as advertised. The second unit would not retract, so not only was I unable to go back and forth as the instructions advised, but it would not retract after extending its full length. Perhaps I was inept and perhaps it only looked like rust; or, perhaps I had the statistically unlikely experience of two deficient units.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKED AWESOMELY!! Cleaned our shower drain blockage from a buildup that occurred over 16 plus years. I am a 130 lb female, and if I was able to use this successfully without any problems, anyone can use it. Use rubber gloves (I used four pairs during this operation), because what you will be pulling out, you will not want to touch, and have a knife handy to cut through the hair. Having an assistant to hold the trash bag or provide you with a second pair of clean hands when needed is very helpful. The snake worked like a charm. I put about one foot of extended coil into the drain and then started turning. After about 100 turns, I pulled the snake slowly out and brought the first part of the blockage with it. Cut through it with the knife, cleaned the snake, rewound it, and went back for round two. After about 125 turns, I pulled the snake out again (do not rewind it), and brought out the second part of the blockage, cut it with the knife, cleaned the snake, rewound it, and went back for round three. This time I unwound it about 200 turns. Did not seem to hit any resistance, so I pulled it out again, and it was clean. Used toilet cleaner with a brush to clean the snake on the floor of the shower, rinsed it and dried it off, and then my husband hosed it down with WD40 and left it to dry overnight. Definitely try this reasonably priced snake before calling the plumber. Normally we always call the experts, but this time I wanted to try this myself first, and even though it took a bit of time, it was time and money well spent. Drain runs beautifully now!! :-)
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cable auto lock defective 2013-10-24 Purchased today at HD. Auto lock completely defective. Must use quite a bit of strength one handed to continuously to lock cable while using other hand to crank. Excellent for causing carpal tunnel. Returned item to HD. Remaining single unit for sale also similarly defective. Problem appears to be plastic locking pin is too small by fraction of inch or plastic notch is too big. It's either poor design or quality control. Otherwise unit appears to be good design and cable is high quality to resist kinking.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Flawlessly After being unable to clear our shower drain with a Zip-it hair snare (not a bad product, but not long enough to get to the main clog), and then making it worse by trying to use a plunger, I picked up one of these. It took maybe 30 seconds to clear the drain with this. It was almost too easy.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Product My kids clogged the sink in the upstairs bathroom. Tried using Drank, but it didn't work. I bought the RIGID Kwik-Spin from Home Depot. Followed the instructions. it cleared the clogged drain just as the video said. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Does The Job The snake coil stayed untangled during the operation, which is critical. The self-feeding feature is helpful but felt flimsy. Overall good value that gets the job done. I would recommend this tool to light-duty blockages.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Great It was a bit difficult for me to use, but my son came by and had the sink blockage gone in no time. I am very happy with this.
Date published: 2016-03-08
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_, sid_203203829, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT