Model # 41348

Internet #203203829

Store SKU #264587

RIDGID Kwik-Spin
0095691413482

RIDGID

Kwik-Spin

  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation - avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable - trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

How durable is this product? I have bought less expensive ones and there junk ! will this product stay together?

On my third one now hope this one does the trick!
Asked by: buckeyefan0812
It may work for one use. I just bought this auger and it cleared the blockage in the tub, but it would not recoil by turning the auger counter-clockwise. I pulled it out, and spent 45 minutes trying to get the auger to wind the coil back, getting pinched and whipped periodically. Conclusion: this is junk, but cheaper than calling a plumber.
Answered by: Junkbuyer
Date published: 2016-11-25

How long is the cable?

Asked by: Youhou
25 feet long
Answered by: Bubba
Date published: 2017-01-17

Can this be used on a bathroom sink? Is the head small enough to go thru the sink opening?If not,please recommend one that will.

Asked by: Anonymous
As a retired master plumber from Texas, I can tell you that I wished I had one of these on my service truck, instead of the junk I had. A plumbers trick with any cable, is to place a small bend in the head end of the cable. This helps make the turns easier and causes a whipping action at the head instead of just a straight bore, so the cable scrapes the pipe better, for better cleaning.
Answered by: plumbsng
Date published: 2016-10-04

Can this be used in any drain or for kitchen , basic household plumbing.

When water from kitchen sink run it ends up on basement floor, someone told me that the pipe is stopped up. Wanted to know if this Ridgid Kwik Spin can be used for kitchen drain.
Asked by: Anonymous
If you disconnect the trap and enter from that point it is perfect for kitchen sinks. Not good for toilets it will leave metal streaks on the china surface. Use a toilet snake.
Answered by: ErPA
Date published: 2016-12-09
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_, sid_203203829, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Kwik-Spin is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 291.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well This product is well deaigned. Cleared the clog quickly and easy to store when finished using.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It solved the problem! The clog was at the sink, but sink was fine since the water just backed up to the tub. Bought this tool, based on its good reviews. After feeding the wire for some distance, it was stopped, probably hit a bend. I thought it may not be able to move forward, but didn't want to give up. Just kept trying, feeding it harder. It took me a while to pass that bend. After that, it went in smoothly until I heard the sound of water draining from the tub. What a beautiful sound! I think the trick might be holding the tool close to the pipe as much as possible. I really like the AUTOFEED feature which is really convenient. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works for small drains. This works very well going around tight corners. Lots of the cheaper ones you have to stop and feed, then spin again to get that new line into the drain. The auto feed slowly pushes the line in as it spins. Once you are through the clog, don't reverse. Pull the clog straight out or it might drop off the hook at the end. The line will just push back into the drum when you are done. Don't use on big drains, it will kink. One issue I had was that the auger took a wrong turn and ended up in the vent, missing the clog. I ended up on the roof with a guide tube I made from a piece of pvc with a bend at the end to feed the line back down the right pipe and finally get the clog. Not the fault of the tool, just a weird bend in the pipe. Glad the auger was so long.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price for what it's designed to do... This snake is not commercial grade - it is a far cry from something made out of titanium, so to speak. But for the price (and the fact it saves you a $200 visit from your friendly local plumber) it does the small jobs around the house just fine. It is made of plastic, for the most part, but it seems durable enough. Just use it for what it is designed for ("Honey, the shower's not draining properly!") and after just one successful application you're ahead of the game, money wise.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did the trick for a toilet clog Did the trick for an overloaded toilet that didnt want to plunge. Directions were easy enough, not sure what others are complaining about. Pull the trigger, push the button and rotate clockwise to extend, counter clockwise to retract. Takes a lot of rotation to get it to feed, but maybe that was a good thing. I have used powered ones before that a plumber friend let me use and it did make for a quicker job. The slightly more expensive version that you connect a drill to, may have been a better choice. For the money though i guess you cant go wrong.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Quality Auger This auger will work on most clogs that don't require more than 25 foot insertion. When you're in a tight spot and it's extended pretty far out, it's hard for one person to spin it. One person needs to hold the tool and guide the cable, while the other turns the handle. I had a tough clog way down the pipe, so I'm sure it would be relatively easy to use for less difficult clogs.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIghly Effective and Economical This may not be a magic bullet but it's close. I used it to clean out a totally blocked bathroom sink drain line in the wall that lots of chemicals and other (shorter) mechanical methods didn't clear. I fed the Kwik-Spin in from the drain in the P-trap rather than from the top of the sink. Be prepared to spend a bit of time doing this because the feed rate is pretty slow. On the other hand, it navigated all the twists and turns in the in-wall plumbing and totally cleaned out the drain. For $25, you really can't beat it.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did a great job of clearing a blockage in our laundry room drain. This device paid for itself with us. It was flexible enough to make several sharp turns and clear a blockage that we estimated to be about 10' - 12' downstream.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from KWIK-SPIN FOR BLOCKED DRAIN The KWIK-SPIN drain auger is easy to use, requires no assembly and cleared drain blockage in minutes. Worth the cost versus calling a plumber.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Perfectly I hadn't needed a snake in years, decades even. This one is the right tool at the right time in the right place with the right price. The best part: the auto-feed trigger. Hold or lock the trigger down and crank the handle, and it automatically turns the auger and feeds the snake out. retracting is just as simple. Even better, it's designed to do down sinks (note: NOT for toilets!), but I removed the P-Trap anyway. Being full of steel line, it is heavy, but worth it. Got a difficult job done in about 5 minutes (not including removing P-trap).
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, easy-to-use tool! Three doses of a strong, professional liquid drain cleaner didn't unclog my bathroom sink. Thought I might as well try this before spending the money on a plumber. The other reviews were right. Quick and easy and did the job.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat it for the price. We were having some drainage issues in our outdoor drains that were compounded when I decided to wash some grass clippings down the grate instead of sweeping them up. Instantly we had clogged up the pipe somewhere underground. I had rented a 75' powered drain snake from HD, but the diameter of the snake (1/2") prevented it from being able to navigate the 90 deg elbows. I had also tried Liquid Plumber that did nothing other than drain my wallet. So I decided to purchase a more flexible snake this time and was finally able to unplug and discover my palm tree roots growing in the pipe. Believe it or not, I was able to wrap them around the coil and pull them out. Great buy for the price, decent enough craftsmanship, and if you oil the coil before reeling it back in, you should have no rusting issues. I recommend!
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It worked ok I didn't find it too hard to use this product and it did work as far as when turning the handle, it twisted and turned down into the toilet. The only bad part is that it does not wind back up for me. I have tried to turn it backwards so that it retracts but I think once you have it almost all the way out, it won't go back in as you turn the handle. I hope this makes some kind of sense but basically I could not get the coil to go back into the device. I now see why people recommend electric ones.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well . Cleared the clog This kwik spin really does work. The other snakes I have tried do not work like this one. In fact the others did not work for me. This kwik spin patent really does work. The snake is held by three knobs that keep the snake in place to clear the clog. The spin movement is different as well, it seems to grab and guide it self better in the pipe. It cleared the clog for me. It costs a little bit more than other snakes but it was much cheaper than a plumber by a long way !!!!
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It worked! Used this on my bathroom sink and it really worked. I've been using chemical drain opener periodically for years. I had to send it down twice, but the drain is now completely open. I think it pushed the hair and whatever out of the way. I can turn on both the cold and hot water taps with full force and no problem. I went to their web site and found a link to a video on how to do a tub drain. One has to go down through the overflow pipe and I decided that might be beyond my skill level. The tub dream isn't so bad so I'll leave well enough alone.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool w/nice advancing feature Finally replaced my old, kinked 15 ft. snake with this model. I had to snake my bathroom sink drain from the rooftop because I couldn't traverse the T-coupling from under the sink counter. The auger's own cable weight allowed it to fall freely down the vent pipe and when it had resistance I simply spun the handle while squeezing the trigger (auto advancing feature). NO PROBLEM, the snake easily continued through the 90- degree elbow an on to the clog! I wouldn't have been able to reach the clog with a 15' snake, so the extra 10' is nice to have. I especially like the auto advance feature as it's a lot easier to keep constant pressure on the auger tip while boring through the clog. A winner all-around! Sorry Mr. plumber, not today!
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just call a plumber... This thing was on the clearance rack at HD and now I know why. It didn't feed the snake once I placed it in the drain and then worse yet it wouldn't retract. I had to take it apart just to get it back in the case for a return. Definitely a design flaw. I ended up calling a plumber after wasting 3hrs with this product. Just save your time and mess and get the pros with a motorized snake in there.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont plan on getting the cable back in. It is easier just to pull the cable out and use it alone. The cable will not go back into the device unless its still in the pipe. It will take too much time and your shoulder will be shot before it gets back in. The action going forward or reverse is extremely slow in proportion to the turning of the handle. Your better off just buying a cable that you can coil up then this junk.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for the average woman I think I'm in good physical shape but, apparently, you need a lot of upper arm strength for this gadget. You have to squeeze the trigger handle with your left hand in order to lock in the cable & spin with the right hand. It was very difficult....the cable kept tangling up in itself. Perhaps for a man. I woke up with achiness in both arms. Did not work for me.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unstopped my stubborn tub drain on the first try! Like the trigger self feeding cable feature. Read the instructions and also watched a tutorial on UTube just to be sure. I spent more on various bottles of drain cleaners that didn't work than this little unit cost. Never found out what caused my clog but felt no resistance while using the tool was done start to finish in 10 minutes or less. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the autofeed Worked the first time on my bath sink. Pulled the trap, and found the clog must be way down at the end of the horizontal pipe. First i tried a bladder / hose to force it out, but it must've found a way to go around the clog via a vent pipe or something.. This is all plastic as opposed to my old one which is all metal. But that one had no autofeed mechanism. This is a great feature, though it does feed slowly. But it spins pretty easily - good thing cause you'll have to spin it a couple of hundred times. not a bad trade off if your jammed under the sink. When the job was done it was much easier to just pull the cable out of the pipe, rinse the gunk, let it dry and then manually push it back into the drum ( like my old one). I'm hoping the plastic "trigger" and locking mechanism hold up. It works but seems a little clunky, so minus 1 star for that . I could see that failing someday, but I'm not a pro, so I hopefully don't need to do this again for another year or 2
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy way to clean clogged drains I used this on my shower drain that became slow. I had tried the liquid drain cleaner, but since this is an old house and I don't know what the previous owners might have put down the drain, I was reluctant to use lye. I chose this RidGid auto feed hand spinner because it looked like the easiest to use. I have to agree with the previous reviews that there seems to be an issue with the locking pin. After some struggle I was able to engage the pin. Unfortunately, after a few seconds of use the pin became disengaged ( I was resting the unit on the shower drain, which put pressure on the trigger). After fiddling with it some more, and holding the unit up off the drain while I turned the crank it worked perfectly. Drain is clear, unit worked well, and I didn't have to pay a plumber $100
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent household snake The self feed feature really takes the effort out of unclogging the drain. Very nice that in reverse, you can turn the water on and clean the cable without touching it. The best household snake I have purchased.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor quality Only after two uses, the plastic housing and coil retention feature were cracked and unable to perform to expectations Very, very poor quality compared previous versions ( clearly due to costcutting activities)
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money It's worth the money. You'll have to work at the block in the drain. I had to dig at the blockage 3 times before I was able to break through it. Just keep removing the end and cleaning it out.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ridgid Kwik-spin The snake is to flimsy, you can't get any pressure on the snake to help push it through the drain and around any 90 degree bends. I will not buy this again.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review Fine for light jobs. Hard to tell sometimes if it is going out or not. Trigger grip system did not work well
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money It doesn't work it's a waste of money Buy the real deal spend more money buying a good tool not this toy.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money. Did not work and difficult to operate. Had to call a specialist to snake slow-moving basement. drain.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A++++++++ 1st try and it got the job done in my bathtub. i would recomend this to anyone.
Date published: 2016-04-13
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_291
  • loc_, sid_203203829, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT