0095691413482

RIDGID

Model # 41348

Internet # 203203829

Store SKU # 264587

Kwik-Spin

Was  $29.97
$24.97 /each

Save $5.00 (17%)

  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 41348

Internet # 203203829

Store SKU # 264587

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation - avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable - trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
7.5 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
9 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
12.5 in 
Cable Thickness (in.) 
0.25 
Cable Width (in.) 
0.25 
Cable length (ft.) 
25 
Details
Cable Construction 
Inner Core 
Drill Attachable 
No 
Drum/Housing Material 
Plastic 
Handle Included 
Yes 
Maintenance, Repair & Supplies Product Type 
Drain Openers & Chemicals 
Manual / Powered 
Manual 
Max Recommended Drain Size 
1.5 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Weight (lb) 
3.85 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
Limited Lifetime Warranty 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Cable length (ft.): 25
Price: $20 - $30
Brand: RIDGID
Review Rating: 3 & Up
Search
20 Questions85 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Kwik-Spin
Kwik-Spin

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
9 answers

How durable is this product? I have bought less expensive ones and there junk ! will this product stay together?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2013
On my third one now hope this one does the trick!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
pittsburgh
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
it works very well ,I work in apt. complex opened 3 drains so far.can go right through top of bathroom sink after pulling plunger out and putting ball rod back in.dont use with drain cleaner,youll damage it.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
I would have this on my plumbing truck if I was still doing plumbing.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It will stay together but does not negotiate some angles in pipes (as I discovered). If you have angles in your pipes, I recommend using one powered by a drill. They cost a little more but are well worth the expense.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

March 25, 2014
Answer: 
This is the first one I purchase, and looks to be well constructed, however, it's usefulness is limited by the clomsy handling of the mechanism.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
FL
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2014
Answer: 
It may stay together but it also will not work.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
The item seems very durable - the only issue I had was the coil would fold back on itself when attempting to negotiate a tight corner or bend in the drain. It is ,of course, not nearly as stiff as one a plumber might have.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
it works for small jobs, but large jobs, sped the money for an electric one.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
I have use on one project. Extended us,e however. I did not use the turning handle but used it with my hands and worked well. I would not recommend for heavy duty use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2013
Answer: 
This tool should last a number of years provided that it is used for the purpose in which it was designed for. The Kwik-spin is intended primarily for residential, non-commercial appliations. This tool should handle a number of drain problems that one would encounter in the home such as bathtub, lavatory and kitchen sink back-ups.
Thank you RIDGID
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
9 answers

Can this be used on a bathroom sink? Is the head small enough to go thru the sink opening?If not,please recommend one that will.

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Harold
January 13, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (9)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
As a retired master plumber from Texas, I can tell you that I wished I had one of these on my service truck, instead of the junk I had. A plumbers trick with any cable, is to place a small bend in the head end of the cable. This helps make the turns easier and causes a whipping action at the head instead of just a straight bore, so the cable scrapes the pipe better, for better cleaning.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
This cable would not fit the sink trap for me so I removed the P-Trap under the sink and entered the cable where the drain exits the wall.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Saco, ME
Read all my Q&A
August 3, 2013
Answer: 
without the sink stopper removed, the head will not fit through
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2013
Answer: 
It probably won't fit through the drain, the only thing that will would be a plastic Zip-It. If you remove the P-trap it will do great and you'll get the bulk of the clog in one shot rather than working it over and over.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Honolulu, HI, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2013
Answer: 
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent Read More
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent pipe. If you still can't reach the clog, go onto your roof, locate the proper vent pipe and use this tool from that location. The snake will have no resistance until it either hits the clog or encounters the 90-degree elbow of the drainpipe. Once you feel resistance just squeeze the trigger while rotating the handle. You'll feel the snake advancing when the tip travels through the clog or elbow. GOOD LUCK! Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, the head is small enough to fit into a bathroom sink drain. I used mine very successfully on the shower drain which is much bigger. I think the head is about 1/2 inch in diameter. You should go to your local Home Depot and take a look at the size of the snake in person.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2013
Answer: 
This would work for bathroom & kitchen sinks, as well as the shower drain.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Schenectady, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2013
Answer: 
If your sink has an integrated plug, probably not. You need a minimum 1/2" opening for the cable ball (end) to fit. If your sink has something at the (sink/drain) connection to keep big items from falling into the drain, you may be able to wind the ball through and use this item as the cable is only 1/4".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
It depends on the size of the sink and in most cases the trap will need to be removed.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
7 answers

How long is the cable?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
October 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Apple Valley
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 25, 2016
Answer: 
It's 25 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
The ones I have seen have 25 ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Baltimore, MD
Read all my Q&A
June 8, 2015
Answer: 
35' is claimed, but i've never measured it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Diego
Read all my Q&A
February 28, 2015
Answer: 
25ft
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2015
Answer: 
It is not full 25feet. There is a stopper towards the end and the usable cable length is probably a feet or two less than 25feet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 11, 2014
Answer: 
25 foot
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
The cable is 25 ft. long.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The clog is blackish and brownish and it clogging my drain toward the bottom of the pipe in the basement and I need something to unclog it the chemicals didn't work .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
It will depend on what the stoppage is, and how far away you are trying to reach it from. Also, unstopping from downstream in a basement......get ready to be wet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It may. If there are angles in the pipes, this may not negotiate the turns (as I discovered). If you have many turns, buy one that is powered by a drill.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2014
Answer: 
No, your basement drain is most likely 4" or larger, this is beeter suited for sink or shower/tube drains. Call a Professional.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
semo
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I would think so,but sounds like it could be messy doing this way.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose,CA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I don't think this opener can work for tough clog.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, this device will work in any direction just keep forward pressure on the cable/spring coil as you feed it into the pipe.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2014
Answer: 
Let me say it this way, Nothing beats a FAILER but a try!!! I had no problem with it but I guess all work with this is a very slow process. Good luck with it...
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-06-26 T18:05:45.451-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 616ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This tool really didn't fix anything- Honestly, the whole purpose of buying a drain snake was to snake my drain. That unfortunately didn't happen in this instance. I ended up taking the drain apart, which I wanted to avoid doing instead of using the snake that was pretty much useless. Save yourself the money and the time and just take the drain apart. February 17, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by must have I saw this on This old House ,It work great on the first drain i tried March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drain Snake KWIK-SPIN cleared a hair clog out of the bathtub drian via the over-flow drain. Very simple, very easy, and a little bit disgusting. A plumber would have charged 5X to10X more than the price of the drain snake. Wife is happy, daughter thinks I'm awesome, and I saved $$. Win Win Win! February 10, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I am so mad I followed the directions on the inside of the wrapper. Extended the snake down the overflow in the tub. I could not rewind the snake. I had to pull the snake out by hand, and it took several attempts to get it to stay inside the crank. This resulted in a mess. I probably got the 1 in 100 that didn't work, but that still means a lot of people out there are going to end up with a mess. Good luck. January 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handy Bought this in sale recently thought it would be a good idea to have in hand in case of a plumbing issue, and sure enough it got out to use and it works wonderfully. Saved me tons of money on renting a snake. February 25, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by workable Was fairly easy to use but is not as sturdy as it appears. The trigger is somewhat awkward to use while spinning the line. February 10, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rewind dont work, confusing autofeed button Had hard time using this. forrowk worked fine, rewinding took forever and wire left out. what is the use of autofeed when it does not work, i dont mind holding the trigger while winding and unwinding but in either case I had an issue with unwinding it. January 30, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poorly made locking mechanism After just two uses locking mechanism wont work, it did the job but had it too long to return. February 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cleaned out the cleanout Cleaned out the cleanout, did what I needed done, didn't need a plumer February 25, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Locking mechanism does not lock This would be a good tool if locking mechanism worked. The cable would just not lock into the tool. Just kept slipping as I turned the tool. This is going back to try another brand February 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Did the job Had a blocked drain. This worked well and did the job as needed. February 10, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by meh Its a two man project with this thing. One to crank and one to feed the line when youvget to the stoppage. I ended up calling the plumber anyway. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It really works. With 4 kids the shower gets clogged on a regular basis. Whether it is my daughters' hair or small toys that come into the tub and down the drain, this tool helps pull the "foreign objects" out and clear the drain for a smooth flow. January 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Flimsy and worthless The instructions are printed on the plastic seal which makes reading them extremely difficult. The plastic pin which is essential for the thing to work broke when the trigger was squeezed the first time. I am no hercules either. So I essentially don't know how it works since the pin that locks the balbearings in place to feed the coil broke. Wish I could exchange it for something else. Very disappointed. December 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great I bought this to unclog a floor drain that had a couple of 90 degree bends that I couldn't maneuver a manual snake around. Using the auto feed, I had the drain cleared in 5 min. January 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hated it It didn't help at all was awkward and hard to use. I did use it once and will not use it again. too hard to turn it not at all helpful I would return it if I could. January 12, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great snake This product works really well and contains the dirty snake internally so it can be cleaned outside without making a mess in the house. It was very easy to use but a lot of work to turn. It would be better if it had an attachment for an electric drill to power it. January 14, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by autofeed I had high hopes for it... but that trigger feed is not all its cracked up to be.. I've tried it manual, and locked, and it slips.. whatever I am dealing with in the pipe is probably about a 3rd of the 25 foot length.. the slipping feed then causes whatever is in the spool to get wound up inside.. it's a mess to get it all straightened up and rewound back to the starting point.. I've tried it 4 times now, and I am taking a break and writing this review.. I don't know what this clog could be that is so tough, it's a kitchen sink. and I am feeding straight through the pipe the P trap connects to. December 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved us a few hundred dollars We have an old house, and the drain pipes all seem to contain odd angles and bends. The bath drain was very slow (inches of water accumulated during a shower), I tried various approaches, nothing worked, first try with the kwik spin I removed a GIANT hairball. Unfortunately, the bath was then totally blocked. I spent a frustrating hour or so trying to reach the blockage, but to no avail, so called Roto Rooter- they arrived, and mentioned that the flat fee was $400+- I decided that was too much, and had another go with the Kwik-Spin, and finally (probably took another hour or so of trying to encourage the snake to go round some sort of bend or other) removed another plug of hair. So- long story short- it saved me a good bit of cash today, but especially if you have eccentric plumbing, may take quite a bit of perseverance. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use This was second visit in 3 years to this lady's house. Customer saw how easy it was to use that she bought it from me. January 11, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did the trick for a toilet clog Did the trick for an overloaded toilet that didnt want to plunge. Directions were easy enough, not sure what others are complaining about. Pull the trigger, push the button and rotate clockwise to extend, counter clockwise to retract. Takes a lot of rotation to get it to feed, but maybe that was a good thing. I have used powered ones before that a plumber friend let me use and it did make for a quicker job. The slightly more expensive version that you connect a drill to, may have been a better choice. For the money though i guess you cant go wrong. March 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by How do I untangle this thing? Did a great job clearing my shower drain but now it is completely tangled and I can not get it back into the handle. Anyone have any suggestions? I have tried to contact the company but they havent responded Help! January 6, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great product very handy Easy use also very compact and sturdy worked like a charm .its always ready on deck. January 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It Has Just what others are missing This has an advance when you turn and hold the trigger. Others you have to push and get even dirtier, Smooth enough my gloves did not rip. Like it a lot. December 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value! Does exactly what it is supposed to. Great Value. Now I don't have to bother my super every year! January 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Miracle Worker!!! This product is absolutely WONDERFUL!! My bathroom sink was draining into my tub. After doing a bit of online research I found that there was a blockage in the "main drain" (the pipe that the tub and sink drain into)so I rodded through the overflow on the tub and hit the blockage I pulled it out and there was a lot of lint and hair on the end, but it still wasn't draining properly. So I put it through a few more times and finally it was draining freely. I'm VERY HAPPY that I have a great product and I saved money by not having to hire a plumber so it was a win-win for me. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HIghly Effective and Economical This may not be a magic bullet but it's close. I used it to clean out a totally blocked bathroom sink drain line in the wall that lots of chemicals and other (shorter) mechanical methods didn't clear. I fed the Kwik-Spin in from the drain in the P-trap rather than from the top of the sink. Be prepared to spend a bit of time doing this because the feed rate is pretty slow. On the other hand, it navigated all the twists and turns in the in-wall plumbing and totally cleaned out the drain. For $25, you really can't beat it. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved me tons of Money! Roto Rooter wanted $399 to unclog the drain from the washer. Bought this for $33 and change and cleared the clog! December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Happy Snake in the Family Think I own about every tool there is. However, this is my first plumbing snake and it worked just fine on a 22 ft, 2" horizontal kitchen sink drain. Hand cranking was not difficult. After 1st penetration of clog, ran hot water through line. Some water backed up. 2nd snaking and water flush finished the job. I am a long ago retired chemical engineer and have always done my own plumbing and electrical work. Glad to have this new tool in may arsenal.Heartedly recommend it to others. May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Locking mechanism disqualifies This tool looks durable, but the trigger locking mechanism is impossible to engage. If the locking mechanism worked, this would be a good tool. As it is, it is impossible to use. January 15, 2015
  • 2016-06-25 T19:02:11.975-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_230, tr_230
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 138ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT