0095691413482

RIDGID

Model 41348

Internet #203203829

Store SKU #264587

Kwik-Spin

$24.97 /each
  • Easy to use and clean up after use
  • Saves money from not using a plumber
  • Reviewers find it more eco friendly and effective than chemicals

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The new and improved KWIK-SPIN is an excellent choice for clearing blockages from small drain lines in showers, sinks, and tubs. The patented AUTOFEED trigger automatically feeds and retracts the cable as the drum turns. The AUTOFEED trigger makes the job quick and simple.

  • Clean hands operation - avoid mess and minimize job-site cleanup
  • Easily feeds cable - trigger lock allows smooth, nonstop operation so you can get on to the next job
  • Trigger lock button eliminates hand fatigue
  • 25 ft. of high-strength, kink-resistant 1/4 in. max-core cable included
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

20 Questions86 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Kwik-Spin
Kwik-Spin

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
9 answers

How durable is this product? I have bought less expensive ones and there junk ! will this product stay together?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2013
On my third one now hope this one does the trick!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

Asked by
pittsburgh
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
it works very well ,I work in apt. complex opened 3 drains so far.can go right through top of bathroom sink after pulling plunger out and putting ball rod back in.dont use with drain cleaner,youll damage it.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
I would have this on my plumbing truck if I was still doing plumbing.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It will stay together but does not negotiate some angles in pipes (as I discovered). If you have angles in your pipes, I recommend using one powered by a drill. They cost a little more but are well worth the expense.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

March 25, 2014
Answer: 
This is the first one I purchase, and looks to be well constructed, however, it's usefulness is limited by the clomsy handling of the mechanism.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
FL
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2014
Answer: 
It may stay together but it also will not work.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
The item seems very durable - the only issue I had was the coil would fold back on itself when attempting to negotiate a tight corner or bend in the drain. It is ,of course, not nearly as stiff as one a plumber might have.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 4, 2014
Answer: 
it works for small jobs, but large jobs, sped the money for an electric one.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
I have use on one project. Extended us,e however. I did not use the turning handle but used it with my hands and worked well. I would not recommend for heavy duty use.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2013
Answer: 
This tool should last a number of years provided that it is used for the purpose in which it was designed for. The Kwik-spin is intended primarily for residential, non-commercial appliations. This tool should handle a number of drain problems that one would encounter in the home such as bathtub, lavatory and kitchen sink back-ups.
Thank you RIDGID
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
9 answers

Can this be used on a bathroom sink? Is the head small enough to go thru the sink opening?If not,please recommend one that will.

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Harold
January 13, 2013
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answers (9)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
As a retired master plumber from Texas, I can tell you that I wished I had one of these on my service truck, instead of the junk I had. A plumbers trick with any cable, is to place a small bend in the head end of the cable. This helps make the turns easier and causes a whipping action at the head instead of just a straight bore, so the cable scrapes the pipe better, for better cleaning.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
This cable would not fit the sink trap for me so I removed the P-Trap under the sink and entered the cable where the drain exits the wall.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Saco, ME
Read all my Q&A
August 3, 2013
Answer: 
without the sink stopper removed, the head will not fit through
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2013
Answer: 
It probably won't fit through the drain, the only thing that will would be a plastic Zip-It. If you remove the P-trap it will do great and you'll get the bulk of the clog in one shot rather than working it over and over.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Honolulu, HI, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2013
Answer: 
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent Read More
I would think that this tool would have trouble passing through the trap (180 degree turn). You could try it, but if it doesn't work, then try removing the trap. When dealing with a bathroom sink you should first try and remove the U-shaped trap (pipe) as most often the clog is in the trap.
If the clog is further down the drain line, snake the short, horizontal drainpipe until it meets the vertical vent pipe. If you still can't reach the clog, go onto your roof, locate the proper vent pipe and use this tool from that location. The snake will have no resistance until it either hits the clog or encounters the 90-degree elbow of the drainpipe. Once you feel resistance just squeeze the trigger while rotating the handle. You'll feel the snake advancing when the tip travels through the clog or elbow. GOOD LUCK! Read Less
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Maryland
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, the head is small enough to fit into a bathroom sink drain. I used mine very successfully on the shower drain which is much bigger. I think the head is about 1/2 inch in diameter. You should go to your local Home Depot and take a look at the size of the snake in person.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2013
Answer: 
This would work for bathroom & kitchen sinks, as well as the shower drain.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Schenectady, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2013
Answer: 
If your sink has an integrated plug, probably not. You need a minimum 1/2" opening for the cable ball (end) to fit. If your sink has something at the (sink/drain) connection to keep big items from falling into the drain, you may be able to wind the ball through and use this item as the cable is only 1/4".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2013
Answer: 
It depends on the size of the sink and in most cases the trap will need to be removed.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
This question is from Kwik-Spin
 
8 answers

How long is the cable?

This question is from Kwik-Spin
Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
October 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Firestone, CO
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 1, 2016
Answer: 
25 feet, but the actual length it extends could be less as the coil will likely curl in the pipe once the coil meets resistance, making the actual extended working length 20 feet or even less (just a guestimate).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Apple Valley
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 25, 2016
Answer: 
It's 25 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
The ones I have seen have 25 ft.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Baltimore, MD
Read all my Q&A
June 8, 2015
Answer: 
35' is claimed, but i've never measured it
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Diego
Read all my Q&A
February 28, 2015
Answer: 
25ft
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose, CA
Read all my Q&A
January 10, 2015
Answer: 
It is not full 25feet. There is a stopper towards the end and the usable cable length is probably a feet or two less than 25feet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 11, 2014
Answer: 
25 foot
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 9, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in RIDGID!
The cable is 25 ft. long.
Regards,
RIDGID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The clog is blackish and brownish and it clogging my drain toward the bottom of the pipe in the basement and I need something to unclog it the chemicals didn't work .
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Dallas Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 29, 2015
Answer: 
It will depend on what the stoppage is, and how far away you are trying to reach it from. Also, unstopping from downstream in a basement......get ready to be wet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Middletown, Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
Answer: 
It may. If there are angles in the pipes, this may not negotiate the turns (as I discovered). If you have many turns, buy one that is powered by a drill.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 21, 2014
Answer: 
No, your basement drain is most likely 4" or larger, this is beeter suited for sink or shower/tube drains. Call a Professional.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
semo
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I would think so,but sounds like it could be messy doing this way.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
San Jose,CA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
I don't think this opener can work for tough clog.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spring Branch, TX 78070, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 31, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, this device will work in any direction just keep forward pressure on the cable/spring coil as you feed it into the pipe.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 30, 2014
Answer: 
Let me say it this way, Nothing beats a FAILER but a try!!! I had no problem with it but I guess all work with this is a very slow process. Good luck with it...
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-08-25 T13:39:34.242-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 251ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works OK, cleared one drain. Works fairly well but hard to get around some corners. Difficult to impossible to keep the drive trigger latched, I suggest wrapping with string to keep the trigger pressed. Should have purchased the drill operated version, winding 25 feet of this is a real chore. Wish it was a little longer, really needed another 10 feet for one drain line. Couldn't get this to go through the drain in the tub, just not flexible enough to get around the very tight trap. Doesn't always get around joints in the pipes. January 15, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't work! Just before dinner on Saturday night I noticed both sides of the kitchen sink were not draining. As if I didn't have enough to do! I removed the elbow under the sink and saw and felt a lot of junk and knew the blockage was between the sink and the bathroom 15 feet away. I tried to force some water with a hose but that came back. I saw this product online and needed it right then and there so I checked it Home Depot had any. I spoke to one of the employees on the floor and he gave me a little advice but he said he would call a pro. Should have taken his advice, This product is made in Mexico and it is of poor quality. When I spun about a foot out in the store all seemed well. When I tried it at home, I got about four feet and then it started to get tangled. That trigger with the orange button did not work very well. I finally unscrewed the four screws and got to the end and tried to wind it back in and it did not work. The same guy at Home Depot said they would not take it back because of what the product is used for and Ridgid has a Full Life Warranty stamp on it. I am not taking more time and money to ship this back to maybe get a refund of just the price. I paid a guy $187 this morning to snake the pipe with a professional snake on a Sunday. Should have listened to the floor employee. Lesson learned at the school of hard knocks! May 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple solution to a recurring problem Worked perfectly to resolve the hair clog in my bath tub. After treating my drain with several bottles of drain cleaner, I eventually experienced a complete stoppage. For $30, I decided to give this option a try before calling the plumber. The Home Depot video was straightforward and guided me through the process. Took roughly 10-15 minutes and the hair clog was removed. Great tool to have! March 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made in USA! I had a plugged tub drain. I couldn't find my snake that was similar to the 10 dollar manual versions (most likely lent it out). I decided to look at Home Depots reviews and found the Rigid Quik Spin to have the best overall rating. This tool worked so well I was amazed. I have copper drain and cast iron main line. The hair plug was where the 1 1/2" drain met the main line. This snake went through each bend with ease. As soon as I felt it auger through the plug I pulled straight out without turning and a foot long clump of my girlfriends hair came out! Awesome and easy to use. I was done in less than 10 minutes! August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great must-have tool in the house This snake was easy to figure out how to use. It does tire my arm out after using it but it's a great tool to have in the house for those inevitable blocked drains. April 21, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NOT RECOMMENDED FOR TOILETS! Bought it for a clogged toilet and it would not work. The instructions are on the inside of the plastic wrapping and the first line is "Not recommended for toilets." Nothing in ad or website says that, much less on the product itself. April 16, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just as advertised So after spending 75 dollars for the plumber on a few occasions I decided to look into purchasing a tool similar to the one the plumber used. After reading the reviews on this product I decided to buy one, it took all of 15 minutes to un-clog a shower drain that I had previously tried liquid plumber on to no avail. I would recommend this product to all DIY's March 30, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Locking mechanism did not work Overall, the tool seemed well made (coil seemed sturdy, etc.) but the lack of a functioning locking mechanism unfortunately negates all that. Returned to Home Depot. April 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No muss, no fuss. It works..FAST! At first, I was a bit reluctant to spend the extra money for this product over a regular snake, but decided to give it a try. The "spin" mechanism is well worth the extra money and makes a clunky process easy, fast, simple and a lot less messy. I just "spun" the cable into the drain, worked the clog and spun it back. Took about a minute and the end of it pulled a big glob of hair out of the drain pipe about the size of a golf ball. Drain works great now! Well worth the $'s and A LOT cheaper than having a plumber do it! October 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not really useful Like so many others have commented; the locking mechanism doesn't really work well making it difficult to use this snake. Also the snake itself could be more rigid as it doubles over if the drain is wider than your average sink drain, but I guess it wasn't made for such pipes. February 28, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor functioning product This product looks nice but does not function well at all. Used it once and threw it away. It retracts ok, but the advancement of it is terrible. Directions are lacking as well. March 12, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This tool really didn't fix anything- Honestly, the whole purpose of buying a drain snake was to snake my drain. That unfortunately didn't happen in this instance. I ended up taking the drain apart, which I wanted to avoid doing instead of using the snake that was pretty much useless. Save yourself the money and the time and just take the drain apart. February 17, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by autofeed I had high hopes for it... but that trigger feed is not all its cracked up to be.. I've tried it manual, and locked, and it slips.. whatever I am dealing with in the pipe is probably about a 3rd of the 25 foot length.. the slipping feed then causes whatever is in the spool to get wound up inside.. it's a mess to get it all straightened up and rewound back to the starting point.. I've tried it 4 times now, and I am taking a break and writing this review.. I don't know what this clog could be that is so tough, it's a kitchen sink. and I am feeding straight through the pipe the P trap connects to. December 30, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I am so mad I followed the directions on the inside of the wrapper. Extended the snake down the overflow in the tub. I could not rewind the snake. I had to pull the snake out by hand, and it took several attempts to get it to stay inside the crank. This resulted in a mess. I probably got the 1 in 100 that didn't work, but that still means a lot of people out there are going to end up with a mess. Good luck. January 15, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by must have I saw this on This old House ,It work great on the first drain i tried March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drain Snake KWIK-SPIN cleared a hair clog out of the bathtub drian via the over-flow drain. Very simple, very easy, and a little bit disgusting. A plumber would have charged 5X to10X more than the price of the drain snake. Wife is happy, daughter thinks I'm awesome, and I saved $$. Win Win Win! February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handy Bought this in sale recently thought it would be a good idea to have in hand in case of a plumbing issue, and sure enough it got out to use and it works wonderfully. Saved me tons of money on renting a snake. February 25, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by workable Was fairly easy to use but is not as sturdy as it appears. The trigger is somewhat awkward to use while spinning the line. February 10, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rewind dont work, confusing autofeed button Had hard time using this. forrowk worked fine, rewinding took forever and wire left out. what is the use of autofeed when it does not work, i dont mind holding the trigger while winding and unwinding but in either case I had an issue with unwinding it. January 30, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Flimsy and worthless The instructions are printed on the plastic seal which makes reading them extremely difficult. The plastic pin which is essential for the thing to work broke when the trigger was squeezed the first time. I am no hercules either. So I essentially don't know how it works since the pin that locks the balbearings in place to feed the coil broke. Wish I could exchange it for something else. Very disappointed. December 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poorly made locking mechanism After just two uses locking mechanism wont work, it did the job but had it too long to return. February 9, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did the trick for a toilet clog Did the trick for an overloaded toilet that didnt want to plunge. Directions were easy enough, not sure what others are complaining about. Pull the trigger, push the button and rotate clockwise to extend, counter clockwise to retract. Takes a lot of rotation to get it to feed, but maybe that was a good thing. I have used powered ones before that a plumber friend let me use and it did make for a quicker job. The slightly more expensive version that you connect a drill to, may have been a better choice. For the money though i guess you cant go wrong. March 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by meh Its a two man project with this thing. One to crank and one to feed the line when youvget to the stoppage. I ended up calling the plumber anyway. February 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Saved us a few hundred dollars We have an old house, and the drain pipes all seem to contain odd angles and bends. The bath drain was very slow (inches of water accumulated during a shower), I tried various approaches, nothing worked, first try with the kwik spin I removed a GIANT hairball. Unfortunately, the bath was then totally blocked. I spent a frustrating hour or so trying to reach the blockage, but to no avail, so called Roto Rooter- they arrived, and mentioned that the flat fee was $400+- I decided that was too much, and had another go with the Kwik-Spin, and finally (probably took another hour or so of trying to encourage the snake to go round some sort of bend or other) removed another plug of hair. So- long story short- it saved me a good bit of cash today, but especially if you have eccentric plumbing, may take quite a bit of perseverance. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Did the job Had a blocked drain. This worked well and did the job as needed. February 10, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Locking mechanism does not lock This would be a good tool if locking mechanism worked. The cable would just not lock into the tool. Just kept slipping as I turned the tool. This is going back to try another brand February 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cleaned out the cleanout Cleaned out the cleanout, did what I needed done, didn't need a plumer February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It really works. With 4 kids the shower gets clogged on a regular basis. Whether it is my daughters' hair or small toys that come into the tub and down the drain, this tool helps pull the "foreign objects" out and clear the drain for a smooth flow. January 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great I bought this to unclog a floor drain that had a couple of 90 degree bends that I couldn't maneuver a manual snake around. Using the auto feed, I had the drain cleared in 5 min. January 20, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hated it It didn't help at all was awkward and hard to use. I did use it once and will not use it again. too hard to turn it not at all helpful I would return it if I could. January 12, 2015
  • 2016-08-07 T20:05:12.645-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_241, tr_241
  • loc_en_US, sid_203203829, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT