0075378010173

Roberts

Model # 10-17-8

Internet # 100389799

Store SKU # 132193

20 in. x 2-3/4 in. Pro Tapping Block for Laminate and Wood Floors

$12.48 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The ROBERTS 2-3/4 in. Tapping Block protects the edge of tongue-and-groove, laminate and wood flooring material and gently pushes the planks together while you hammer them into place. The block has a large handle for a sure grip.

  • Use to gently push tongue and groove planks together
  • Taps together laminate and wood flooring
  • Polypropylene body
  • Plastic handle
  • Use with a hammer with mallet like QEP model 60613

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Width (in.) 
2.75 

Details

Flooring Product Type 
Laminate Wood Plank 
Material 
Plastic 
Product Type 
Tapping block for installation of laminate floors 
Product Weight (lb.) 
0.8 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty 
To be free from manufacturing defects 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 106ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;

Customer Reviews

Rated 2.6 out of 5 by 43 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the price and easy to install It was so easy to install and the. Result is great, so proud I dit it my self. June 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Good, Broke after the first few taps, I will return! Not Good, Broke after the first few taps, I will return! December 16, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lg tapping block Not worth the money. Too large to get in smaller areas and awkward to use. Returned mine for a smaller metal one. September 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Laminate taping block This is a MUST HAVE tool for installing laminate flooring. Works exactly as intended. It is easy to hold onto and WORKS! July 7, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weak desgin I used this during a large flooring project. The quality just wasn't there. The plastic is weak enough to not damage the flooring you are installing however the block itself didn't make it all the way through the project. Due to being plastic several parts of it broke apart and by the end it didn't have a piece that wasn't broken. I ended up using a 6" piece of 2x4 I had lying around. I won't buy one of these again. April 22, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by junk For a product meant to be hit by a hammer for flooring install, it didn't last one room until it started to break. June 9, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by junk After a few blows with a rubber mallet on edge split...returned as soon as I can living 88 miles from a Home Depot. May 12, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tapping Block Purchased this larger tapping block after trying to use a tiny one that came in a set recommended. This one made the job MUCH easier. Reduced the number of thumb hitting to zero (after multiple ones with the small block) and was able to get a better angle on the board. The handle is a must when using to slide the block down the board when tapping. Seems to have handled the blows well, 3 rooms down with 2 more to go, no cracking or otherwise defects in the product. Highly recommend! Only reason for 4 stars was the cost. September 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay away I got through 3 planks before the lip broke. Switched sides and got one more plank set before it broke. March 7, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Did not work for our laminate This may work for other types of laminate or hardwood, but for the tongue and groove that we are installing, this will not work. It would break the tongue if used. We returned and bought a different tapping block from another retailer. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Screws damage laminate This tapping block works OK, not great but OK. The worst thing about it is that the two screws that hold the handle came out and damaged some boards before I noticed it and replaced the screws with longer ones. The whole design of the block could easily be improved. If you screw a handle to a piece of 2x4 you have something that probably works better and is certainly cheaper too. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Looks and feels great This tool is exactly WHAT I been looking for. Think This will do the trick. June 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Try to find something else. Went through 4 of these blocks installing 1100 sq ft of 1/2 in. composite hardwood flooring. The handle broke off on one and the tapping edges separated on the others. If there was another in-store option I would have tried it. Not a good value based on performance. Would not recommend. March 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Block was good I only had a few boards to install, after the second board the handle came off. I super glued the handle and screw. Then the other end came off. This should of been made of one peice, not two tiny screws to hold the handle. January 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by did not need Bought this as recommended for installation of laminate flooring, found we didn't really need it but glad to have it just in case! February 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by sorrys tool every bought this tool only lasted for 5 boxes of flooring 8 plank per box go figure sorry sorry January 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your money! Tapping block damaged the laminate ends (which are very fragile to begin with and need to be completely intact to avoid further problems with laminate installation). We ended up using a 6"-8" piece of 2x4 and basic hammer with no further chipping problems (wood absorbed some of the shock). Rating of "zero" if possible! March 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by You might to better with a piece of wood. After the handle broke off, it might as well have been a piece of wood. An expensive piece of wood. January 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Plastic junk Does not resemble the picture. If it did, it might be worth something. It is actually a chunk of dense-ish plastic in an I-beam shape. Started coming apart after 3 lengths of bamboo click-floor. On top of that, it's really about 1 inch thinner overall than it needs to be I am going to take this useless junk back for a refund. December 31, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The best of what I could find. I could find nothing better to do the job. Mine broke at around 170 sq ft of use. The screws that hold the handle on just don't do the job well. Home Depot exchanged the product for me. I like the length and the lips on the ends. I beat it fairly hard and the plastic tapping portion did not break. November 12, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by breaks too easy The product did not hold up to completion of the floor. The sides of the product broke down and started shattering. For a tapping tool, the material of construction left alot to be desired December 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible product As with many of the other reviews I found this product poorly designed and easily broken. Went thru 2 of them installing wood laminate in 1 large room and 2 walk in closets. Not only did it break easily it damaged several laminate planks in the process. April 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Totally necessary and functional. A tapping block is an absolute must for hardwood and laminate flooring installation nd this one is perfect. Very durable and has a convenient shape and size. Be sure to use the handle, it's there for a reason. I learned the hard way. Ouch February 17, 2008
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Plastic Junk The handle broke halfway through job and then pieces started chipping off the sides. Really was not hammering on it hard. Just tapping in. Cheap plastic junk. Just use a piece of scrap or a 2x4 January 12, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Breaks too easily This is a piece of junk. I went through 8 of these while installing a floor. Invest in a better metal one. February 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tapping block worked great Made installation of over 400 square feet of laminate flooring relatively trouble free. Only issue was using near walls due to length of tool. November 17, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worked Great. Did the Job Just Fine. Recommend The only think I would improve on is to use a harder plastic Hope it wasn't made in China....like everything else these days. August 28, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Light weight easy to handle. Didn't damage flooring Light weight easy to handle. Didn't damage flooring. The shape could be enhanced to give more room for hitting the edge. January 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by works good A bit expensive for a plastic tool but...it protects the edge of the floor well and is light weight. July 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great A simple adn inexpensive hand tool that made floor installation much easier. 100% better then the little tapping block that comes in the kits. November 17, 2011
  • 2016-07-28 T14:47:32.171-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_100389799, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 126ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT