Model # RM-65

Internet #202536089

Store SKU #976532

Store SO SKU #976532

Roofmelt Ice Melt
0852111000253

Roofmelt

Ice Melt

  • Simply toss tablets onto the ice dam in clusters
  • Roofmelt works to -20F Made of 100% Calcium Chloride
  • Tablets melt thru ice dams allowing water to drain safely
$1997 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25°F.

  • While safely on the ground toss a Roofmelt tablet onto the roof
  • Roofmelt tablet then melts its way down and settles on the roofs surface
  • Roofmelt begins to work when it comes into contact with snow and ice, the Roofmelt and water mixture begin to melt away the existing ice dam
  • Water drains from the roof to the ground, the ice dam and snow are safely eliminated
  • Available in 14 lb. bucket
  • 60 tablets per bucket

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Package Size (lb.)
14
Product Depth (in.)
8
Product Height (in.)
10
Product Width (in.)
8

Details

Ice Melt Features
Includes Calcium Chloride
Lowest effective temperature (F)
-25
Outdoor Living Product Type
Ice Melt
Product Form
Tablets/capsules
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Satisfaction guaranteed

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

I live in NY and go to florida each winter, if I put them up in Nov. do they last all winter

Asked by: trike
No these would not last for that long and that's because as they are melting the ice, they are dissolving as well
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21

Can i use this on roof with asphalt shingles

Asked by: Nsi
yes
Answered by: Smitty
Date published: 2017-02-21

Is this product suitable to use on a steel roof?

Asked by: Murph
this would work on steel roofs as well
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21

how often do I need to re-apply

how long will the tab work, before it needs to be re-placed with a new one
Asked by: mtriple777
reapply when there's a chance of ice possibly building up,
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_, sid_202536089, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Ice Melt is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 162.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad product Didn't melt anything!!! I put 15 in a line on the roof in the snow and ice. Total waste of money! Don't buy these things!
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from product did work but did not last very long had to use again for next storm beats on roof choppi... product did work but did not last very long had to use again for next storm beats on roof chopping off ice dam
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the only product that I have found so far that quickly takes care of ice buildup on roofs this is the only product that I have found so far that quickly takes care of ice buildup on roofs
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Up the ladder to drain no problem... Up the ladder to drain no problem
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It didn't work as advertised. It didn't work as advertised.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No effect on ice dam at all. No effect on ice dam at all.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as described ... Works as described
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use This and Salt Socks I use these tablets and Make my Own Roof Salt Socks.. Just use either Calcium or Mix Blend of Salt into Cut Pantyhose and make a Dozen of them in a 5 Gal HD Bucket in December and ready to go for Old Man Winter..Up here in Wi. I Have one of HD's Roof rakes just incase for a Heavy Snow or Build up.. But I can't work it, being Handicapped and the Guy who Plows my Driveway uses it on my roof. for me If & when Needs it. and I have HD's Gutter Leaf Covers that really just Extend your Eve's out another 6 In.. or with of your Gutter and that is a Good.thing. No Ice Build up in the Gutters..
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked exactly as described We had a terrible winter, with significant ice dams on our new home. These melted the ice dam from below, allowing water to drain off the roof. I ordered extra to have on hand for the future. The picture below is the ice dam that fell off my roof after melting from below. The roof melt tabs melt through the ice, to the roof and then drains under the ice instead of backing up into the attic.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big help! Have been using this product on the shadier edges of my roof that accumulate more snow and ice for the past couple of years, (especially where ice dams form)...have had a real problem some years with that. I don't have a nearby electrical outlet to install one of those warming cables, so roof melt, along with a roof rake (which I highly recommend if you don't have one), have been a great help in keeping things flowing on those shadier parts of my roof. If you can use the roof rake to get at least the bottom several feet of your roof free of snow, that will really help when the sun hits, and it will get things flowing, melting and moving.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and Fun to use The ice melt works great on the roof. It melted the snow and ran down the gutters. then the solution opened the downspouts. Also it was quite fun to walk around the house and trow the pellets up on the roof. I felt like a kid.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice idea, poorly implemented Like most things these days, this was a nice idea poorly implemented. In theory, it sounds great, in reality. Not so much. The biggest problem is, getting it in the right place on your roof. If you have a low enough roof, you can reach up, or stand on something to get it into position, then it works pretty well. Of course, if you can reach it, there are other cheaper ways of getting at the ice. For higher roofs, it's a balancing act. Most of the ones I threw up there either missed, or else rolled back down my roof and shattered, wasting the tablets. At what they charge for these things, that ain't cheap. Another issue is I wish they came in a container that I didn't need to use a crowbar to open
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ice dam removal Pro's: Removed our ice dams overnight - Thank-you Con's: just which we could get it in a larger bucket for the same money!
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product as advetized Had used them before about two years ago...... Worked as advertised..... I use a 16Ft extension pole, was for painting ceiling, with a measuring cup attached to the end..... The way I can drop the " pick " right where I want it, while being on the ground.... I try and drop them a few inches above the ice dams.... Works well for me.......
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to rig up an extension pole with a cup to hold the tablets. I was able to place the tablet... I had to rig up an extension pole with a cup to hold the tablets. I was able to place the tablets on the ice dams that were forming on my roof. Just do a few at a time or it becomes hard to control placement and they may roll off the roof if they aren't placed flat. The product works as advertised. The tablets bore holes down through the ice. They don't eliminate the dams but they melt enough ice to let the water pass under the dams.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Box Gutter Protection from Ice Purchased this product after we sustained tremendous interior damage from a ice dam within the box gutter in December, well we had twice the amount of ice and snow in Jan and Feb, and NO ice dams since using this. Very each to use - they are slightly smaller than hockey pucks and have a good weight to them. Very easy to lobe them up to the 3rd story roof into the ridge and box gutter. Wish I did this in December!! Oh and very roof friendly, no residue or salt stains which we were concerned since the roof is only 3 years old!
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money A few people recommended I try these tablets to break up some of the ice covering the roof of the back of my home that doesn't get sun. After roof raking, it became a sheet of ice. Because of that, these slide right off, hit the ground and break - useless. What tablets I was able to get onto the roof in the snow drifts, didn't melt at all. I realize it's not supposed to completely melt every square inch of ice, but it didn't do anything. At almost $20 a bucket, save the money and check whether or not your attic is adequately/properly insulated. That's the problem behind my ice dams. I thought this product would help me in avoiding damage until I can re-insulate. The product was completely useless to me.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken We opened the one box and nothing but powder in box haven't checked other box going back to store normally there might be one or two broken but this time all were gone. I know the product because I work at home depot and sell all the time in winter.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ice melt roof top Works great deep snow on roofs this works throw it on roof tops
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money I suppose if you are a major league pitcher and can throw one of these things to exactly the location they should be in, they would be ok. After several attempts at placement by tossing I gave up. Because they are round, all simply rolled right back off the roof and fell into the snow. Being white, they were impossible to recover. I finally decided that perhaps finding a way to get them up there by putting them into a bucket at the end of a pole might work. I poured the pucks out only to see them roll off the roof. Finally gave up.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Took time but did help with ice jams in roof... Took time but did help with ice jams in roof valleys.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work on ice dam on roof. Did not work on ice dam on roof.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easy to throw on the roof, but did not see any results. Used about 12 of the 19, and nothing. P... Easy to throw on the roof, but did not see any results. Used about 12 of the 19, and nothing. Put one on the ground on some ice, melted the ice just in the shape of the salt puck, but nothing around it. Would not buy again
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea. Works well. Poor implementation. The good news is that it does what it is supposed to do. Placing it in strategic places will break up the ice allowing the runoff to not back up onto the roof. The bad news is trying to get them to stay on the roof. Throwing them, as suggested, is haphazard and most of the time they end up rolling off of the roof. I finally took a roof rake, rigged a type of scoop on the end with some cardboard and tape, and PLACED the tablets on the roof where I wanted them. Even then, some would roll off and had to be redone. If you have the patience, they are worth having. They are also good for places where you can't scrape or have any roof coils.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works just as designed The product is intended to use on ice, not inches and inches of snow. If you have ice buildup near the edge of your roof, you will find this product useful. However, if you expect the pucks will melt eight inches of snow, start with a roof rake to expose the ice. Then you won't be wasting your money. Hence the name "ice" melt.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! Fast shipment as well. Was happy it arrived so quickly. Worked great! Ice jam melted quickly and leaked stopped within 12 hours.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saved our house We where lucky enough to have Home Depot selling it for the regular retail with free shipping. A good amount of sellers prices doubled or almost trippled during the bad snow here in New England. The product does work. ( we did roof rake as well) We had part of an ice dam fall off our roof and we were able to see the water channels the tablets created. My only compaint is they are hard to get on roof. (we have 3 floors) The best way I have found is an under hand toss. Just aim away from windows they could break them. I think if we were able to get them up there right after the storm the results would have been better. I ended up buy 3 more totes for next year!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money Don't waste your time or money on this product. I emailed the company's customer service as well as VP Tom O'Malley and told them I had a bad batch of their product. Mr. O' Malley did not respond but customer service asked for my address so they could send me a container to return the product for testing. They never did send me anything. So, poor product, poor customer service equals poor company. The product didn't melt jack. I tried it on the ground in a pile of snow to make sure. Again, do not buy this product.
Date published: 2014-03-18
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_162
  • loc_, sid_202536089, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 119ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT