Model # FG2215H2MICBL

Internet #100644802

Store SKU #383321

Rubbermaid 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
0071691413622

Rubbermaid

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

Was  $8.97
$6.97 /each

Save $2.00 (22%)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rubbermaid designed this 16.5 in. H x 23.9 in. W x 15.9 in. D Roughneck 18 Gal. Storage Tote to keep items out of the way and free up valuable floor space. This container can withstand areas with harsh temperatures of hot and cold, such as attics and basements. Roughneck containers are made with a durable material that's built to last.

  • Storage capacity of 18 Gal.
  • Sturdy polyethylene plastic construction
  • Room for all your linens, tools, sports equipment and more
  • Snap-on lid for secure storage
  • Built-in handles for safe transportation
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

17 Questions30 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
4 answers

What type of plastic is the bin constructed from? Is it archival quality?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
rth
January 5, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Westminster, SC 29693, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 20, 2014
Answer: 
Don't know the chemical composition of the container. The plastic is somewhat soft but very tough. Have used them for about 20 years to store and transport just about anything, clothing, tools, stuffed animals, business documents. Never had any problems.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
monterey park
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Roughneck containers are made with a durable polyethylene material for a ... Durable storage that will keep your things safe from the environment; Sturdy, built-in ..... a serial number printed on the label and imprinted into the plastic of the item.
That is a YES!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 8, 2013
Answer: 
They are made with a durable (yet slightly flexible) Polyethelene rubber/plastic that can take a beating, withstand moderate UV exposure, and is sturdy enough to handle stacking the totes with a full load.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2012
Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in our products!
The Roughtote storage boxes are made from low density polyethylene. They are designed for household use and have not been tested for archival properties, so we do not recommend them for specific preservation applications.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Will this take on water if it floods?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
Baton rouge
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in our products! The 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is made of polyethylene material for durability and strength. We cannot guarantee protection against acts of nature such as a flood.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Arizona, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 9, 2016
Answer: 
Its water tight up to the lid. However every year they make these a little thinner than the last. Your lucky to get a year out of them before they crack. Also due to the thin plastic you wont be able to carry them around with much weight in them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

September 9, 2016
Answer: 
This will fill with water if it is submersed.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Will these hold water?

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
Lancaster CA
Read all my Q&A
July 9, 2014
I need something this size for my swamp cooler to drain into.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Palmdale
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2015
Answer: 
Yes they will hold water. I use mine for a pondless waterfall that i have had for 3 years. No problem. I drain it in the winter. Mine is in the ground with earth holding the sides. If you were going to use this freestanding I would double it.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
October 27, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can soak items in a water bath in this tote or keep oily items contained.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for inquiring about the Rubbermaid 2215 Roughneck Tote. Rubbermaid totes are designed to hold household items, not liquids. The pressure of the water pushing out on the sides will cause the unit to break.
+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
 
3 answers

Is there a discount for purchasing 20 Rubbermaid 18gallon totes? model FG2215H2MICBL

This question is from 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
Asked by
DORK
New Jersey
October 3, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
monterey park
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes check on line shopping for discounts on multiple item purchase.
+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 17, 2013
Answer: 
They sell a 12 pack, but they are the same exact unit price as the individual. Currently $8.47 as of 9/17/13
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

October 4, 2011
Answer: 
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is an in store only item. To obtain pricing, discounts and availability you will need to contact your local Home Depot store with inquiries.
To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at
Read More
Hello Valued Customer,
Thanks for your question. This item is an in store only item. To obtain pricing, discounts and availability you will need to contact your local Home Depot store with inquiries.
To locate a store near you, please click on the “store locator” found at the top of each page. If you have any additional questions, please contact our Online Customer Service department at 800-430-3376.
Thanks!
Read Less
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:05:26.635-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100644802, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 124ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 326.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bin Placed a styrofoam cooler inside, cut a hole at the end of a long side of both containers, stuffed with wheat straw and VOILA! I have a perfect little feral cat shelter!!!
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck tubs in two sizes I bought this product recently from Rubbermaid and have purchased probably at least a total of 50 or more of these in more than one size and the only thing I wish was that they were available in the color Black. This way they wouldn't show the dirt as well as I know many others that do trade shows as myself and they use them for containing there inventory in there booths and because black is a color that doesn't stand out when your housing your extra storage containers and you don't always have a way to hide them black is much less obtrusive. Just a thought
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these Totes! These are absolutely the best Totes available! I have used others and they just don't compare. These stack really well where others tend to cave in with heavy items. These are easy to carry too even when really heavy. I woul d definitely recommend to anyone who is moving or storing items in stacks!
Date published: 2010-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All You Need The Roughneck Storage Box holds an enormous amount of stuff. The snap on lid makes it easy to move without the lid flopping off. The lid is also sturdy enough that you can put things on top without the lid caving in. Lastly it looks nice enough that you don't need to hide it.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from do not last a lifetime Roughneck containers are made with a durable polyethylene material for a lifetime of durability and strength. I have several 14 and 18 gallon totes that I purchased quite some time ago with cracked lids. Did not live up to claims of lifetime of durability. I was using them for indoor storage.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from okay the item is okay; but, the closure is not very secure---I have many Rubbermaid storage units I bought 20 years ago are much better made (I paid less for them too)
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, I have a wall full of them but... I have dozens of the 18 gal bins lining a wall in my gerage. The only thing stopting me from finishing my orgzination masterpeice is finding a way to get a label to stick to the freakin bin for more then a few hours.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Buy !! The Roughneck Storage Box is fantastic. We bought these years ago and they are still holding up. The are very sturdy and strong. They stack on one another just perfect. Very long- lasting.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from could be better these are o.k. but the problem is that the vertical base design is slightly flawed. the idea for the top is to allow stackability, but because this is so tall, it threatens bulging inward. another problem is that not much fits neatly inside of it, and therefor waste space, instead i recommend the 14 gallons, they are more stable and fit in tidier places the benefit of this bin is if you are storing liquids, then you are able to hold more, but i still feel that it is less stable.
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and dry for 20 years I bought these boxes 20 years ago, living in Central Florida in a motorhome. Kept all kinds of stuff in them, outdoors, on concrete patio. In the heat of summer I sprayed water onto the concave lids each morning.to protect the contents from the heat. When we drove cross country to Washington State, the boxes rode on our bed while we drove, and we stacked them on the patio at night. Now, in the far northwest corner of Washington they still provide extra storage outdoors keeping our stuff save and dry through blizzards and rainstorms. Books, cloth, weaving supplies, papers, all dry, safe and mold-free for 20 years. What a product!
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Arctic Luggage! These Roughneck Storage Boxes, we call them totes, are one of the best and most versatile inventions known to man! THESE ARE MAILABLE AT THE POST OFFICE! I teach in remote Alaskan fly-in villages, and this is a teaching staple! Most teachers use these boxes exclusively to mail and ship (by air, snowmachine, boat, barge, etc) everything. We drill holes through the lids and lips of the boxes, then use zip ties to close them up! The U.S, Postal Service accepts these, even the 17 gallon size. They are very common and I've never had one break or anything-they are guaranteed! Even in temperatures of 40 below 0, they do not split open or otherwise fail us! I write my name and other "home base" info on the sides in case the address label comes off, which has happened. These boxes can hold a load of things, and while you'll need muscles to move them, they are still taken at the post office. They are also handy for storing water once you're in a village-an essential in some places. We've used them for a small bathtub, and I think I've stored everything imaginable in them! I've been meaning to write to Rubbermaid for years, to ask them to drill holes in them for us ahead of time so that they would be uniform, but I've made a template for mine now. I've seen school district offices use these for books and other teaching supplies, library requests in the Alaskan "Bush". We use them to cart food in when we "go to town". Thousands and thousands of pounds of a variety of things are carted around in these Roughneck boxes in Alaskan villages regularly! Even when I stop teaching someday, I'll always have these dependable boxes around! They just last and last, don't crack like other brands. THERE IS NO EQUAL TO THESE ROUGHNECK BOXES! No adverse weather conditions affect these boxes! They are handled roughly and just keep going and going!
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied These are just what I was looking for. I bought these many years ago for storing product to sell at computer shows and over ten years later, they are still holding up even after the shows aren't. Today I use them for storing food. I love that they are durable, light and stackable. I searched other containers and none had all these important features as the Rubbermaid Roughneck. And buying online made it so convenient. Thank You.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Years of use I have used roughneck storage boxes for 40 years. I am a potter and I have stored glaze in them. The large one holds 150 lbs of wet glaze. Not one has ever failed. My recent order of 6 medium boxes are for downsizing my pottery in retirement. My son is carrying on the business, in fact he will carry all the pots to a craft show. They can be stacked 3 high without fear of collapse. They are the craftsmens workhorse. Thanks
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer beware The totes are great however Rubbermaid started making them nearly an inch smaller all around, but kept the lid size the same. The lid flies off because it no longer fits the smaller size. The labels are the same so you can't tell right away that the container is aller. All of the lime green ones are definitely the smaller size.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these containers! I looked at others, but remembered that I already had some that went through a prior basement flood in my old house. The only things that survived that flood were packed in these containers. So of course I pulled off a label (which managed to survive) and ordered the exact same ones! Therefore, I would have to say without reservation these are topnotch containers and I may order more if the need arises.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome products i love the storage bins...i keep winter stuff in the storage bins during the summer and vice versa, so it doesn't get musty and dusty...when i pull the clothing/toys/blankets out they still smell as fresh as when i put it away..i can't say enough good things about them :o) everybody should have these!!
Date published: 2011-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not As Advertised I bought this to store a large item and based on the dimensions of the box advertised on the Rubbermaid site. When I received the box my item did not fit because the advertised dimensions were based on measurements taken from the outer edges of the box which included a one inch lip. I will use the box to store other items, but it was disappointing transaction.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price!!!!! I bought these to store stuuf durimg my move. They hold so much, are so durable and sturdy. Definitely worth the price. Now I use them to store my winter/summer clothes in our garage.GREAT GREAT ITEM
Date published: 2010-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multipurpose Wonders I love all the roughneck totes. I have just about every size and I use them all over my house inside and out. The 3 gallon totes are perfect for crafts and kids toys. The larger sizes are great for storage of clothes and all my christmas stuff. They stand up to being dragged across my attic floor and stack neatly. I use them in my basement too which was helpful when it flooded. Anything that was in a roughneck was unharmed. I use the really big ones for soil out in my garden. It's been outside for several years and still hanging in there. I'm sad that some of my favorite stores are no longer carrying the roughneck totes.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Durable I purchased these for storing toys and supplies for our church nursery to replace the ones we had been using for more than a decade. The children also loved to empty them and climb on them or hide under them, so they were well used and gave us good service.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10-gallon totes We are a motorcoach company and we use these totes for all our Bingo supplies. They work wonders and they last a very long time. We have about 6-7 of them that have been here and used for 17 years now. We love them.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storage Containers I have about 60 of these. They are great for moving, organizing, and an even storing stuff on your outdoor deck. I even use them to tote wood in the winter for the fireplace. They have lasted for over 20 years.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What can you say.... These totes are great for so many purposes and I wanted a black one but dark blue is good and it should last for ever! You can find this size in big box hardware type stores but not always in this dark a color.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as durable as most Roughneck 18gal containers. These containers are not as durable as other colored Roughneck containers. As another reviewer said, they are far too rubbery. Being a long time Roughneck user, I found the lack of quality on these somewhat disconcerting. Compare the thickness of the plastic on these to other Rubbermaid roughneck 18 gal storage totes in stock and you'll see a discernible difference in thickness of plastic and in rigidity. Good as a cheap low cost alternative to store lightweight items, but if you plan on stacking over 3 high, I would recommend the other colored Roughneck containers.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Sturdy We bought this to use as a recycle bin. Working out great. Perfect size, the grey color is very light, blends into everything in the kitchen. Easy to clean. Seems like it will last a very long time.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck Tote This product is very good quality and very durable. I had the containers for 20 years they change the caller a little but still serving it's purpose .
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful Containers, But..... I use these for many things, they are the perfect size for me. But, they do not hold up to sunlight! I wish they were made in BLACK. I have some other brands that are black, and they last forever outside, but these are only good for a few months in the sun, then they start cracking. I have bought at least 20 of these in the past three years. They are a perfect fit to cover a Honda 2000 generator, by the way!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough bins! We love our bins. We bought over 30 of them for our basement storage shelves we built. The bins are awesome and very durable!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome storage I bought these and I am just thrilled with them. They are a great size and fit my space perfectly. I love Rubbermaid!
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best plastic tubs out there Rubbermaid roughneck tubs are the best, bar none. They hold up well over the years without cracking.
Date published: 2016-02-03
  • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_326
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 91ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT