Model # FG2215H2MICBL

Internet #100644802

Store SKU #383321

Rubbermaid 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote
0071691413622

Rubbermaid

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote

  • Storage Capacity of 18-gal
  • Snap-on Lid
  • Built in Handles
$897 /each

Choose Your Options

Pack Size
1

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Rubbermaid designed this 16.5 in. H x 23.9 in. W x 15.9 in. D Roughneck 18 Gal. Storage Tote to keep items out of the way and free up valuable floor space. This container can withstand areas with harsh temperatures of hot and cold, such as attics and basements. Roughneck containers are made with a durable material that's built to last.

  • Storage capacity of 18 Gal.
  • Sturdy polyethylene plastic construction
  • Room for all your linens, tools, sports equipment and more
  • Snap-on lid for secure storage
  • Built-in handles for safe transportation
  • 10-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

What type of plastic is the bin constructed from? Is it archival quality?

Asked by: Anonymous
Don't know the chemical composition of the container. The plastic is somewhat soft but very tough. Have used them for about 20 years to store and transport just about anything, clothing, tools, stuffed animals, business documents. Never had any problems.
Answered by: Ronh
Date published: 2016-01-07

Will this take on water if it floods?

Asked by: Teri
Thanks for your interest in our products! The 18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is made of polyethylene material for durability and strength. We cannot guarantee protection against acts of nature such as a flood.
Answered by: Rubbermaid
Date published: 2016-10-17

Will these hold water?

I need something this size for my swamp cooler to drain into.
Asked by: bry22
Yes they will hold water. I use mine for a pondless waterfall that i have had for 3 years. No problem. I drain it in the winter. Mine is in the ground with earth holding the sides. If you were going to use this freestanding I would double it.
Answered by: AVMAN
Date published: 2017-05-11

Is there a discount for purchasing 20 Rubbermaid 18gallon totes? model FG2215H2MICBL

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes check on line shopping for discounts on multiple item purchase.
Answered by: tomatogirl99
Date published: 2016-05-26
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18 Gal. Roughneck Tote is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 358.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and outstanding Home Depot experience I bought 10 sets (tote+lid) of these 18-gallon Rubbermaid totes on sale at Home Depot because of their outstanding durability in a hot attic (other cheaper brands had cracked their lids). When I got home, my wife found that the new lids fit two other Rubbermaid totes (10 gal and 18 gal) that we had filled long ago but were missing the tops. She snapped up 2 lids from the batch of ten totes that I had brought home and put them on the old totes to seal them. I tried to buy some replacement lids online but found that you had to buy them in packs of 10 and the unit cost was more expensive than what I paid for a full 18-gallon tote at Home Depot. I used chat on the Home Depot website to ask for a price on just a lid and the chat person said that they didn't have a price and suggested that I visit my local Home Depot and ask the manager of the storage container department if he could sell me two lids. I was shocked when the Home Depot storage department manager said that he couldn't sell them to me….but he gave me 2 lids and walked me out to the store exit. On the way, he explained that many people buy the totes but forget (or don't care about) the lids so they always have extra. Kudos to Home Depot for such a customer-friendly response! Lowes is closer to where I live but Home Depot will now get more of my business!!!
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storage, Lids go bad, no replacement lids!!! Great product that has lasted 8+ years, but if you store outside in the sun for one , or two, years the lids begin to erode and break apart. No problem...just buy a new lid you say, but Rubbermaid won't sell you just the lid :( to bad for Rubbermaid as this would allow continued use and prevent early departure to the recycler. Almost Excellant except...you can't buy a replacement lid!!!
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but there is a market for lids I've got a dozen of these. Lids are cracking on several. It's a commodity item, so I haven't kept the receipts. It's way too much trouble to take advantage of the warranty. However, it is extremely wasteful to throw out the whole bin just because of the lid. There is a market for lids! Rubbermaid, could you please respond to this demand by supplying lids on their own? Isn't that how capitalism works, suppliers respond to demand?
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable! Great color! I bought these for a business in which I transport heavier items back and forth to clients. They are quite durable. I only wish that they came in more colors.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, strong, seals well Like most reviews for these my experiences have been positive. These and the large 54 gallon roughneck are the best bins I have used(I am a bit of a bin freak so I have a good variety). They stack well, last forever and the way the lid sits provides the best seal. I have a few that have done probably 150,000 miles in my truck bed which are still going strong and they get tossed around quite a bit. They stay pliable in the cold and have not cracked down to -5. One huge plus for is that the blue tarp reusable bags that you get at Ikea fit over these things like a glove. While the bags are not seam sealed, the combo of the good seal of the lid and the Ikea bag have proven to be to watertight in my truck bed even in heavy rain for over 300 miles.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cats I bought this to make a roomy litter box for my two cats. One is older and its starting to affect her mobility so now she stands when she uses the box. I took a Dremel and cut a hole on the longer side for both of them to step in. They love it because its large and there's plenty of room. I find it cuts down on the mess. The entry hole I cut is just high enough that no litter gets kicked out and low enough for them to step in. The side with the cut out is obviously a little less sturdy now but I'm careful and its no problem. I totally recommend this.
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I shipped a motorcycle engine (95 lbs.) in one of these. put a board in the bottom and drilled holes to bolt up the top to the bottom and took it to greyhound that way. made it safely cross country. If it's strong enough for that it can do any household storage job I could ask.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reduced Quality We apparently had a previous version and loved them. But these are not as good as before. They are OK but wouldn't purchase them again. They are thinker and the lids do not stay closed as well.
Date published: 2015-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good storage product I like their sturdiness & stackability, however these containers have one major drawback. The outer surface is so slick that the typical 3X5 blank Avery labels found at office supply stores won't stick to them for very long. I tried wiping the label area first with 'Goof', then applying an Avery label, also using additional clear packaging tape around the borders of the label. Even after doing that they still stick poorly and eventually peel away. As a result, since these Roughnecks aren't transparent containers, it's hard to know what's inside unless you write on them with a black permanent marker, which seems a poor solution if you fill them with numerous items and routinely change the contents, as I do. It would be great if Roughneck would design and sell blank labels that have at least the same 'stickiness' as their original UPC code label. However, even these original labels will eventually peel away from the super-slippery Roughneck surface. I’ve asked at several Office Supply stores and they have no such 'extra-sticky' label for sale.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Storage, EZ stacking Roughtotes and the entire line of rough stuff from Rubbermaid is designed for the clutz in us all. I've had huge storage problems over the years, moving stuff from one attic to another. I've dropped these out of an attic to a floor with no damage. I've drilled holes in them and bought dozens of small locks to keep prying eyes out of them. You can store heavy papers or light weight xmas items and count on them to be protected. In Florida storing things in the heat can be brutal. The roughtotes held up for years while other brands cracked or broke. They are ez to stack, just take care to put the heavy totes on the bottom. Even then, they will not crack but might bend. Colors are limited but some different ones can be found so you can color code your storage. Roughtotes are one of the best items rubbermaid makes!
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK but not as good as before. I bought this to replace the exact same thing I bought perhaps 10 years ago. That container was thicker and more pliable than this one. I expect this one to last better than many you can buy today, but not as well as the one I bought 10 years ago.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dimensions not accurate Product is great but product dimensions are not the sizing at the bottom of the container ; they merely reflect the opening at the top of the container , therefore won't fit items that would be accomodated by the so called size because of tapering of the container from top to bottom .
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy tubs I bought 20 of these tubs to replace the packing boxes I bought from Uhaul. The boxes are collapsing and I am putting everything in tubs for storage. They are the perfect size.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from size and strength Used for fly in vacation to Ontario. Carried a lot safely and appreciated by pilot for it's ability to be handled and stored in the Beaver float plane easily.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great garage storage containers Great for pottery, garage items, and tools storage.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from do not last a lifetime Roughneck containers are made with a durable polyethylene material for a lifetime of durability and strength. I have several 14 and 18 gallon totes that I purchased quite some time ago with cracked lids. Did not live up to claims of lifetime of durability. I was using them for indoor storage.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from extremely durable! I have used the 'roughneck' storage containers for a number of years. I am a teacher and store books in a facility that is not climate controlled. The books are always in great shape when I open the containers each year. I was disappointed that I could not find a store in my area that sells the 'roughneck' division. I am so glad I was able to order them on-line!
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these totes After remodeling the house which meant moving out and then moving back in after it was done, we had to box up all of our stuff. Most of that was done with actual boxes with a few of the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes. After we moved back in, I built shelves that would fit these totes which meant that we were pretty much committing to buying more of these. Luckily, our local Home Depot had a green version that must have been discontinued as it was a few dollars off. We bought these, filled them and came back for more of the regular priced ones as the green ones were gone. I like the fact that I can probably put 50lbs of stuff in one without the tote having any problem at all. The lids are a little tricky to get on but once one gets the hang of it, they go on pretty easily and seal really well. They are also stack-able although with my shelving system, I don't really need to. Plus, these come with a 10 year warranty which is nice to have for something as simple as a tote. Overall, I would much rather spend the extra few dollars on these compared to the cheaper and less robust plastic storage totes.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lid doesn't fit storage perfectly I was on the market for storage, and someone recommended me this product. I bought 8 of them. When I was at home, I put the lid on every storage, 5 lids would not fit storage box perfectly (they did not lock at all - either the lids were too small or a bit too big). I went to the store to exchange them. Please make sure to put and lock the lid to the storage box to see that they fit before you leave the store to prevent you from having this problem. When I was at the store to exchange this products, I met with 2 customers who had similar problem.
Date published: 2010-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Durability Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great item with great pickup We ordered these from your store because the price was so much better than our other searches found. Plus, we ordered so that we could just load up when we arrived to get them, and they were neatly stacked, marked and ready to put into our vehicle. Cannot say too many fabulous things about the item, the price and the service.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these Totes! These are absolutely the best Totes available! I have used others and they just don't compare. These stack really well where others tend to cave in with heavy items. These are easy to carry too even when really heavy. I woul d definitely recommend to anyone who is moving or storing items in stacks!
Date published: 2010-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All You Need The Roughneck Storage Box holds an enormous amount of stuff. The snap on lid makes it easy to move without the lid flopping off. The lid is also sturdy enough that you can put things on top without the lid caving in. Lastly it looks nice enough that you don't need to hide it.
Date published: 2010-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Buy !! The Roughneck Storage Box is fantastic. We bought these years ago and they are still holding up. The are very sturdy and strong. They stack on one another just perfect. Very long- lasting.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not the same tote as 10 years ago... seems theyre making this with a lighter flimsier plastic than they used to, makes stacking high less possible....dissapointing, but still happy to be able to get the product
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from could be better these are o.k. but the problem is that the vertical base design is slightly flawed. the idea for the top is to allow stackability, but because this is so tall, it threatens bulging inward. another problem is that not much fits neatly inside of it, and therefor waste space, instead i recommend the 14 gallons, they are more stable and fit in tidier places the benefit of this bin is if you are storing liquids, then you are able to hold more, but i still feel that it is less stable.
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last We have had roughneck tubs here at my work for years. We actually bought our first set about 7 years ago and they are finally getting warn so we just bought more. I work for a school district in their print shop. We place all of our printed work to be delivered to the schools in these tubs. Our delivery drivers hand truck these tubs all over. Fantastic solution to our packaging problems. They stack well, last forever, take a beating with no problems.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable Arctic Luggage! These Roughneck Storage Boxes, we call them totes, are one of the best and most versatile inventions known to man! THESE ARE MAILABLE AT THE POST OFFICE! I teach in remote Alaskan fly-in villages, and this is a teaching staple! Most teachers use these boxes exclusively to mail and ship (by air, snowmachine, boat, barge, etc) everything. We drill holes through the lids and lips of the boxes, then use zip ties to close them up! The U.S, Postal Service accepts these, even the 17 gallon size. They are very common and I've never had one break or anything-they are guaranteed! Even in temperatures of 40 below 0, they do not split open or otherwise fail us! I write my name and other "home base" info on the sides in case the address label comes off, which has happened. These boxes can hold a load of things, and while you'll need muscles to move them, they are still taken at the post office. They are also handy for storing water once you're in a village-an essential in some places. We've used them for a small bathtub, and I think I've stored everything imaginable in them! I've been meaning to write to Rubbermaid for years, to ask them to drill holes in them for us ahead of time so that they would be uniform, but I've made a template for mine now. I've seen school district offices use these for books and other teaching supplies, library requests in the Alaskan "Bush". We use them to cart food in when we "go to town". Thousands and thousands of pounds of a variety of things are carted around in these Roughneck boxes in Alaskan villages regularly! Even when I stop teaching someday, I'll always have these dependable boxes around! They just last and last, don't crack like other brands. THERE IS NO EQUAL TO THESE ROUGHNECK BOXES! No adverse weather conditions affect these boxes! They are handled roughly and just keep going and going!
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from okay the item is okay; but, the closure is not very secure---I have many Rubbermaid storage units I bought 20 years ago are much better made (I paid less for them too)
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe and dry for 20 years I bought these boxes 20 years ago, living in Central Florida in a motorhome. Kept all kinds of stuff in them, outdoors, on concrete patio. In the heat of summer I sprayed water onto the concave lids each morning.to protect the contents from the heat. When we drove cross country to Washington State, the boxes rode on our bed while we drove, and we stacked them on the patio at night. Now, in the far northwest corner of Washington they still provide extra storage outdoors keeping our stuff save and dry through blizzards and rainstorms. Books, cloth, weaving supplies, papers, all dry, safe and mold-free for 20 years. What a product!
Date published: 2014-04-05
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_358
  • loc_, sid_100644802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 212ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT